View Full Version : Twenty Seven Years ago today......

12-11-2015, 07:06 PM
The Archiegoal :not worth

12-11-2015, 07:07 PM
One of my all time favourite goals....................

12-11-2015, 07:09 PM
One of my best memories at football, the gorgie Rd end was bouncing 😀

12-11-2015, 07:09 PM
One of my best memories at football, the gorgie Rd end was bouncing 

T'was bedlam....................

12-11-2015, 07:10 PM
I'm sure he'd appreciate a tweet re this anniversary. I dinnae do Twitter although I'm sure its been posted on here before that Archie does.

Just over 3 weeks before I started working at Meadowbank House, scary!

12-11-2015, 07:11 PM
One of my best memories at football, the gorgie Rd end was bouncing 

I was actually fortunate enough to speak to the man himself a few years back about it. He said it was the most mental celebration he'd ever seen on a terrace.

It was utter pandemonium

12-11-2015, 07:12 PM
Twenty seven years ago? Unforgettable though.

12-11-2015, 07:14 PM
My first trip to tyncastle

semaj64
12-11-2015, 07:27 PM
Happy days, cannot believe it was 27 yrs

12-11-2015, 07:32 PM
I'm sure he'd appreciate a tweet re this anniversary. I dinnae do Twitter although I'm sure its been posted on here before that Archie does.

Just over 3 weeks before I started working at Meadowbank House, scary!

Someone already tweeted him and it's been retweeted by SA.

Not sure if the guy posts on here....

@Smurf_Boy_73: @SteveArchibald8 27 years ago to the day since the best ever nonchalant goal celebration! What a great day that was at Tynecastle! #GGTTH

AinsterHibs
12-11-2015, 07:40 PM
My auld man took me, not sure if it was this one. Still a great player for us though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luB0aej4_rE

12-11-2015, 07:43 PM
My auld man took me, not sure if it was this one. Still a great player for us though.

Thats the one.....

Kano with a goal and an assist...............

12-11-2015, 07:45 PM
Stunning goal on a very memorable, jump about like an idiot, day :greengrin

12-11-2015, 07:45 PM
That celebration is something I'll bore my future grandchildren with hopefully :greengrin

Absolute carnage

12-11-2015, 07:53 PM
Right up there with the best that strike, oozed class did Archie, proud to have taken part in that celebration, one of my fav ever Hibs goals 👍

12-11-2015, 08:03 PM
Can remember it like it was yesterday, what a goal

12-11-2015, 08:51 PM

That stand opposite the camera looks awfully familiar.

I wonder why!? :confused:

12-11-2015, 09:01 PM
We had a man sent off early in the first half ( might have been Kano ) was total bedlam when that goal went in . Can't remember ever celebrating a goal more than that one ,
Class personified was Mr Archibald

12-11-2015, 09:15 PM
We had a man sent off early in the first half ( might have been Kano ) was total bedlam when that goal went in . Can't remember ever celebrating a goal more than that one ,

Just checked, Gordon Rae was sent off.

12-11-2015, 09:17 PM

Kano managed to score a fine goal instead (and an overhead kick to set up Archie).

Simkin911
12-11-2015, 11:06 PM
One of my favourite Hibs games.... And have the celebration photo signed by the man himself.... 👍

13-11-2015, 05:17 AM
Kano managed to score a fine goal instead (and an overhead kick to set up Archie).

Oh Kano rise like a salmon if I remember correctly , or a brown trout if you're Finnish 😀

Flanny boy
13-11-2015, 05:39 AM
Twenty seven years ago? Unforgettable though.
I feel auld but yes unforgettable indeed.unbelievable scenes :flag:

craigmounthibby
13-11-2015, 08:32 AM
Watching it still gives me goosebumps. One of the best goals ever.

13-11-2015, 09:31 AM

IIRC it was the chief '******* in the black' Davie Syme that was in charge that afternoon, and he sent Gordon Rae off because Hibs had the cheek to go one up.

He also added on about fifteen minutes of injury time, where Hertz scored once and then missed a sitter.

13-11-2015, 09:56 AM
Just before my time. It's a nice goal and classy celebration but, pardon my ignorance, what were the circumstances to the game that led to the crazy celebrations.

13-11-2015, 10:00 AM
Just before my time. It's a nice goal and classy celebration but, pardon my ignorance, what were the circumstances to the game that led to the crazy celebrations.

'Cos it was Hibs.

13-11-2015, 10:08 AM

Yams held the whip hand since they came up in 83. We beat them for first time since their promotion a year previously, Gorams second game if I remember correctly. This was probably a Tynie win for quite some time. Ten men as well.

13-11-2015, 10:57 AM
Brilliant night and brilliant celebrations which continued long in to the night on returning to Alloa:greengrin

patlowe
13-11-2015, 11:04 AM
'Cos it was Hibs.

Haha, ask a silly question...

Seriously though, this was before my time watching Hibs but derby goals at Tynie are always met with a pretty mad celebration. Derby goals in difficult or unexpected circumstances = particularly mad celebration (See John O'Neill goal during Sauzee regime; Shiels when we came from behind; GOC when down to 10 men at ER). Seems pretty clear to me! :greengrin

13-11-2015, 11:05 AM
Was right behind the goals when that went in, watched the ball roll towards us and into the net. Everybody went completely radge, celebrations were mental!

13-11-2015, 04:44 PM
Absolutely bedlam in the away end when that went in ...... Fantastic goal Fantastic night

Purple & Green
13-11-2015, 05:33 PM
It might be on ihibs istr it was Edinburgh ref bill crombie.

IIRC it was the chief '******* in the black' Davie Syme that was in charge that afternoon, and he sent Gordon Rae off because Hibs had the cheek to go one up.

He also added on about fifteen minutes of injury time, where Hertz scored once and then missed a sitter.

13-11-2015, 05:37 PM
Absolutely bedlam in the away end when that went in ...... Fantastic goal Fantastic night

As a 12 year old when Archie scored i ended up miles away from my dad when the carnage set in, I didn't give a toss as i was celebrating like a lunatic with the other hibs fans, I swear to god hand on heart that maybe have been 27 years ago but i truly do remember it clear as day.

Purple & Green
13-11-2015, 05:37 PM
It was hearts supporting crombie - it was another 8 years before he got to ref another Edinburgh Derby.

Crombie was famously the ref on 3rd may 1986, Google is a right good giggle reading hearts fans opinions on one of their own

13-11-2015, 09:01 PM
Brilliant night and brilliant celebrations which continued long in to the night on returning to Alloa:greengrin
A night I'll always remember. Great win, mental atmosphere and celebrations and you bought a round🍻