View Full Version : Is it everyone else's fault Celtc are bowf in Europe?

08-11-2015, 07:39 PM
Over the last few days the MSM have been peddling the myth.

This is since Ole Gunnar Solskjaar seemingly said so in an interview. It seems to all be because there is no The Rangers in the top division. What do others think?

A statistic was on the radio that Celtc have only made it past Christmas in Europe 5 times on the last 35 years.

Whose fault was it when the other side of the arsecheek actually were competition?

08-11-2015, 07:43 PM
I'd like to take the credit for it personally.

08-11-2015, 07:47 PM
No it's just because they're not very good.

08-11-2015, 07:48 PM
Myth. Our coefficient was falling like a brick long before Rangers ceased to exist.

A more likely factor was this mess (http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-81816116.html).

08-11-2015, 07:48 PM
Got to be down to Ronnie who was brought in on the back of his European experience!

Nae way any criticism will stick to his assistant, his assistant won't allow it.

08-11-2015, 07:49 PM
Turkeys have a better chance of getting past Christmas than that lot through west. If they can't beat a wee Norwegian team with the budget they have then they only have themselves to blame.

08-11-2015, 07:50 PM

This is since Ole Gunnar Solskjaar seemingly said so in an interview. It seems to all be because there is no The Rangers in the top division. What do others think?

A statistic was on the radio that Celtc have only made it past Christmas in Europe 5 times on the last 35 years.

Whose fault was it when the other side of the arsecheek actually were competition?

Not directly but the fact that everyone else isn't up to the same standard as them does hinder them when they play in Europe.. Ruud Gullit mentioned that Ajax and PSV have the problem in Holland when they play lesser sides who defend deep , thus giving them lots of possession and because they are so much better they win easily a high percentage of the time.. When they play in Europe , teams are at a standard on par or maybe better than Ajax and PSV and the challenge is much greater and results aren't so easy to come by...

08-11-2015, 07:53 PM
I'd say seeing your club captain Lilian Gish'd slumped in a street eating a supper has more to do with it.

Scottish standards equates to very Scottish performances - until players get truly professional they'll never succeed at the highest level.

We are literally a pub league compared to other Euro leagues - all due to off field professionalism - for me anyway.

I just wish Celtic would stop whining - they bemoan lack of competition yet plunder the competitions players - their hypocrisy knows no bounds.

08-11-2015, 07:54 PM
Got to be down to Ronnie who was brought in on the back of his European experience!

Nae way any criticism will stick to his assistant, his assistant won't allow it.

Nothing to do with me :greengrin

08-11-2015, 07:54 PM
Meant to add I wonder how many games Solskjaer has been to in Scotland and how many good teams there are in Norway.

08-11-2015, 07:55 PM
Playing much lesser sides domestically every week doesn't seem to affect Bayern Munich when they play in Europe.

08-11-2015, 07:56 PM

I think it's wrong to think they or anyone are blaming the other teams.

It is correct though to say that the lack of competition hinders them in Europe. That can be a fact without the blame lying with the other teams who are just doing their best with what they have.

08-11-2015, 07:59 PM
When Celtc beat Barcelona, The Rangers were in the 2nd division.

08-11-2015, 08:00 PM
Meant to add I wonder how many games Solskjaer has been to in Scotland and how many good teams there are in Norway.

It's probably got more to do with the additional £25 million a year that Norway gets for its TV rights.

08-11-2015, 08:04 PM
There must be one good team - they are 12 points ahead of their nearest rivals. And neither of them are Molde...... :greengrin

08-11-2015, 08:17 PM
Playing much lesser sides domestically every week doesn't seem to affect Bayern Munich when they play in Europe.

Yeh but Bayern have far better players than Celtic who are technically and ability wise miles ahead of any player in our league.. Also the amount of money they receive from TV companies might also might something to do with it...

08-11-2015, 08:23 PM
It's as stupid and pish an argument that A'deen and St Johnstone are out the Europa Cup prelims because Hearts weren't in the SPL and spending money they didn't have.

They'll write any speculative wombat **** about the OF and regurgitate it for the morons to repeat in ****hole bars of Lanarkshire and Ayrshire until it becomes accepted as a 'truth' in their narrow-minded poison bigot world.

Scottish football is Tom Kite and Celtic are a poor side with a very bad manager. As much of a relative financial minnow they are compared to the big money European clubs, they should have been able to beat a team from Norwegian League - it isn't La Liga.

08-11-2015, 08:24 PM
It's quite the reverse, Celtic are failing Scotland. The champions of Scotland shouldn't be getting beat at home to the likes of Molde.

08-11-2015, 08:25 PM
It's as stupid and pish an argument that A'deen and St Johnstone are out the Europa Cup prelims because Hearts weren't in the SPL and spending money they didn't have.

They'll write any speculative wombat **** about the OF and regurgitate it for the morons to repeat in ****hole bars of Lanarkshire and Ayrshire until it becomes accepted as a 'truth' in their narrow-minded poison bigot world.

Scottish football is Tom Kite and Celtic are a poor side with a very bad manager. As much of a relative financial minnow they are compared to the big money European clubs, they should have been able to beat a team from Norwegian League - it isn't La Liga.

Not to mention that Molde are currently 6th in their League.....

08-11-2015, 08:26 PM
Yeh but Bayern have far better players than Celtic who are technically and ability wise miles ahead of any player in our league.. Also the amount of money they receive from TV companies might also might something to do with it...

But the sides Bayern play are far, far better in terms of technique than the sides Celtc play.

When Rangers were dominant domestically but typically failing in Europe - mid to late nineties - the argument was often made that it was down to a lack of a competitive league.

The reality is that Scottish football has been technically weaker for a long, long time. We might be able to turn that around and I think the SFA is serious about doing it but these thing happen over generations, not over a few years.

08-11-2015, 08:26 PM
No it's just because they're not very good.

I watched some of the Celtic game this week. They were utter *****.

08-11-2015, 08:27 PM
Not to mention that Molde are currently 6th in their League.....

Yip, 4 points behind rust and 6 behind grime.

08-11-2015, 08:27 PM
Apparently they miss having Derhun as competition......

Just admit it Celtc, you are great in Scotland as you poach all the best players from other teams, hence weakening your competitors. But in Europe you are Rafael Sheite and cannon fodder, you reap what you sow, suck it up.............

08-11-2015, 08:30 PM
Yip, 4 points behind rust and 6 behind grime.
That was a she joke. Go sit sit in the Bleachers....

08-11-2015, 08:35 PM
When Arsenal lost to Olympiakos a few weeks ago Wenger claimed that the weak standard of the Greek league was an advantage to them as it allowed them to concentrate their energy on Champions' League games. That would make the poor standard of Scottish teams an advantage for Celtic.

Football people are very good at blaming everyone else for their own deficiencies.

Bronson
08-11-2015, 08:42 PM
Such a Celtic thing to come away with.

"We'll steal your best players for buttons but if we're Tom Kite in europe then that's your fault for not challenging us domestically."

And they wonder why the rest of Scotland doesn't support them in europe. They still carry a false sense of grandeur from their success 50 years ago and can't accept that they're not a team these european clubs fear anymore.

08-11-2015, 09:05 PM

"We'll steal your best players for buttons but if we're Tom Kite in europe then that's your fault for not challenging us domestically."

And they wonder why the rest of Scotland doesn't support them in europe. They still carry a false sense of grandeur from their success 50 years ago and can't accept that they're not a team these european clubs fear anymore.

Again, it can be a reason without being the 'fault' of the other teams surely?

I've seen lack of competition mentioned a lot but I've never heard the blame being put on the other teams for it.

08-11-2015, 09:06 PM

They want more competition, yet they are unwilling to let the competition flourish by allowing fairer distribution of Prize/TV money and unwilling to let Scottish teams keep decent players for long lest teams develop a half decent squad around said players and start to challenge Celtic for the title.

Everything that they do and have done in the past 20 or so years has been to ensure that they and their (now deceased) Blue pals from Govan get the biggest slice of the pie and leave everyone else to fight for the pitiful scraps that are left.

portycabbage
08-11-2015, 09:16 PM
The whole premise of European competition is that the top teams (based on league position/cups etc) play each other, while the lower teams don't get in. It is going to be more competitive than domestic football for teams in Europe in general, otherwise what's the point of it?

08-11-2015, 09:32 PM
Until they take full responsibility for their results they will continue to get nowhere.

It's nobody's fault but their own.

gaz1875
08-11-2015, 09:33 PM
I think its a lot to do with the attitude foreign teams have when they play Celtic. Even an average team seems to get results, yet Scottish teams struggle. They don't seem to get worried or nervous they just go out, get stuck in and in most cases take something from the game.

08-11-2015, 09:36 PM
Celtic have reached a European final within the last 15 years. Did they thank Rangers for being good competition in the Scottish league and inspiring them in Europe at that point? Nah.

They beat Man Utd not too long ago and Barcelona what, 2-3 years ago?

Their manager is totally inept, their players aren't fit enough, their players aren't good enough considering how much they pay them.

Sort that out and they'll start doing better.

TheFamous1875
08-11-2015, 09:39 PM
If they and their neurologically mangled neighbours didn't chore everyone else's players but instead scouted their own, they'd be better off for it, as would all the other teams they bought players from.

More competition, more excitement, genuine chances for each team (including those two) to challenge each other to be the best they can be. It's the Old Firm that have ****ed this country's coefficient and generally ****ed Scottish football as a whole.

08-11-2015, 09:59 PM

They want more competition, yet they are unwilling to let the competition flourish by allowing fairer distribution of Prize/TV money and unwilling to let Scottish teams keep decent players for long lest teams develop a half decent squad around said players and start to challenge Celtic for the title.

Everything that they do and have done in the past 20 or so years has been to ensure that they and their (now deceased) Blue pals from Govan get the biggest slice of the pie and leave everyone else to fight for the pitiful scraps that are left.

Sums the real cause up nicely.

08-11-2015, 10:04 PM
If they and their neurologically mangled neighbours didn't chore everyone else's players but instead scouted their own, they'd be better off for it, as would all the other teams they bought players from.

More competition, more excitement, genuine chances for each team (including those two) to challenge each other to be the best they can be. It's the Old Firm that have ****ed this country's coefficient and generally ****ed Scottish football as a whole.

To be fair it was Aberdeen who scuppered the redistribution of tv money following the death of Rangers.

Agree with other point though.

08-11-2015, 10:18 PM
If Celtic want more competition domestically they can help themselves by not buying players from other teams in their league. It's an old excuse that doesn't wash. Celtic have historically signed rival clubs best players to strengthen their own position and weaken any potential threat - something they always deny.

More reasonable excuse this time out is their manager simply isn't up to much at all. Failed in almost every big game they've had so far this season.

08-11-2015, 10:19 PM
Stuff them. They have a self induced death wish. They're not happy unless they are demolishing every Scottish team in sight but they stupidly and perversely expect these teams to challenge them. 'Cake and eating it' springs to mind.

twiceinathens
08-11-2015, 10:36 PM
And if by some setoff inconceivable circumstances they achieved their wish to decamp to England who would they blame when the best they could possibly hope for would be an occasional outside chance of getting into at the qualifying rounds of the Europa League?

08-11-2015, 11:07 PM
Celtic are choosing to have a very (by their standards) cheap team and coaching staff at the moment to build a war chest for when rangers are in the league. They could choose to spend more and maybe do better in Europe, which would in turn lead to more prize money etc, but that's not a risk their board want to take.

Entirely their choice.

08-11-2015, 11:12 PM
Celtic are losers. Prefer to blame everyone else rather than look at their own failings - which have all been detailed above.

Slicer
09-11-2015, 06:03 AM
Celtic are choosing to have a very (by their standards) cheap team and coaching staff at the moment to build a war chest for when rangers are in the league. They could choose to spend more and maybe do better in Europe, which would in turn lead to more prize money etc, but that's not a risk their board want to take.

Entirely their choice.

Correct.

Buying 3 better-than-average players from Dundee United doesn't show much ambition for Europe. Guaranteed them the League Cup mind.

09-11-2015, 06:09 AM
Just have a look at how many ex Hibs players are in the celtic squad and your answer is staring you in the face.

GreenArmy1875
09-11-2015, 07:22 AM
I would say to a certain extent Celtic have suffered with The Rangers not being in the top league. A strong premier league with strong sides like The Rangers, Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would give them more competition and attract better players to our league IMO

09-11-2015, 09:02 AM
Celtic are on the horns of a dilemma. To be a force in Scotland £1,000,000 players gets you the sledgehammer you need to crack the nut. In Europe you need to spend considerably more than that just to compete, but that still doesn't guarantee a return on your investment.

To be fair to them they have uncovered a few gems and increased their re sale value, Hooper, Wanyama and Van Dijk for example. But after a season visiting Killie, Hamilton, Partick and ICT its not hard to see why ( apart from the money ) they would want to move on to England. Top flight grounds with 3 sides and plastic pitches, not to mention run down dumps like Dens park .... the whole thing screams 'you haven't made it yet son' ..... It doesn't help the others hold on to players either IMO.

If the Scottish government can spend £300,000,000 on a glorified school sports day packed with sports next to nobody gives a **** about I don't know why we cant find a way to get them to help out with the infrastructure of our so called 'national sport' In England close on £700,000,000 of public money has been spent to the benefit of one club FFS.

I know its a bit out of left field this ... but I'm convinced it a huge part of why our game is in the doldrums, if you look scruffy and small time, that's how players, fans, sponsors and media outlets you want to attract will see you ... They wont come and even if they do they wont stay.

09-11-2015, 11:17 AM
If the other Scottish teams had better players for Celtic/Rankers to poach they would
clearly do better in Europe, so I guess it must be our fault.
The problem with Scottish football is the Infirm & until we are shot of them it won't change.
They have the media in their pockets, the have the SFA/SPFL in their pockets.
They're a virus.

09-11-2015, 04:02 PM
Celtic are on the horns of a dilemma. To be a force in Scotland £1,000,000 players gets you the sledgehammer you need to crack the nut. In Europe you need to spend considerably more than that just to compete, but that still doesn't guarantee a return on your investment.

To be fair to them they have uncovered a few gems and increased their re sale value, Hooper, Wanyama and Van Dijk for example. But after a season visiting Killie, Hamilton, Partick and ICT its not hard to see why ( apart from the money ) they would want to move on to England. Top flight grounds with 3 sides and plastic pitches, not to mention run down dumps like Dens park .... the whole thing screams 'you haven't made it yet son' ..... It doesn't help the others hold on to players either IMO.

If the Scottish government can spend £300,000,000 on a glorified school sports day packed with sports next to nobody gives a **** about I don't know why we cant find a way to get them to help out with the infrastructure of our so called 'national sport' In England close on £700,000,000 of public money has been spent to the benefit of one club FFS.

I know its a bit out of left field this ... but I'm convinced it a huge part of why our game is in the doldrums, if you look scruffy and small time, that's how players, fans, sponsors and media outlets you want to attract will see you ... They wont come and even if they do they wont stay.

You really think the tax payer should provide money for football clubs when public services are creaking at the seams?

09-11-2015, 04:10 PM
Same old celtic, they've been beaten and of course its everybody elses fault, not theirs :rolleyes:

I'm sick of them greeting about having "no real competition" in Scotland. They poach every bit of talent that emerges in Scotland to use as bench warmers (look at what they did to Dundee utd last season!).

09-11-2015, 04:17 PM
The MAIN reason for Septic being 'Tom-Tit' in Europe is genuinely, authentic NEUTRAL referees - and that's something they can never handle.

09-11-2015, 04:27 PM
You really think the tax payer should provide money for football clubs when public services are creaking at the seams?

No I don't as a matter of fact .... But that doesn't seem to stop it happening and so long as it does I don't see why we shouldn't stick our snouts in the trough. I think the £14,000,000 spent turning Hampdump into an athletics stadium for 2 weeks, with no long term benefit to the stadium afterwards was the biggest waste of public money in history.

09-11-2015, 05:19 PM
It's definitely at least partly my fault.

The money I give to the Witch Doctor every season isn't wasted.

09-11-2015, 06:48 PM
Strachan took them to the last eight of the CL (?) but was punted because he wasn't Celtc minded. There success and their failures are down to their own actions.