View Full Version : Stubbs to QPR?

05-11-2015, 06:16 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-boss-alan-stubbs-rangers-6777309

05-11-2015, 06:18 PM
Oh stop it. We all know what this is about.

Hun-sponsored unsettling of Hibs, the minute we look a threat. Not even transparent.

Daily record😂😂

05-11-2015, 06:20 PM
They can't upset us with player speculation, so let's try with the manager...so transparent it's not real

05-11-2015, 06:21 PM
Daily record😂😂

Warburton linked too. Any manager in a job would do well to stay clear of QPR

05-11-2015, 06:22 PM
Jeezo.

I think after the Scott Allan nonsense these underhand tactics aren't going to work again any time soon.

Hun-sponsored unsettling of Hibs, the minute we look a threat. Not even transparent.

The link is also saying Warburton is on their shortlist as well.

I agree that there'll be an element of trying to unsettle us but I do think it's inevitable clubs down south will be taking an interest in Stubbs.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-boss-alan-stubbs-rangers-6777309

Surely the warbler must be a better target given his credentials down south and his flying start at big spending the rangers in Scotland? not to mention his ability to spot a future England goalkeeper.

It's hilarious how it's not even subtle.

05-11-2015, 06:23 PM
They can't upset us with player speculation, so let's try with the manager...so transparent it's not real

Not even in the betting

Can't get the link to open Bingo .We have to accept that he is going to attract suitors given the job he has done turning us around .Would like to think he will want to finish the job here and get us Promoted before moving on ,but that may be best we hope for .
Other Teams seem able to hang onto good managers when we occasionally get a good one they seem to get linked with every job going

Two nights before QPR sacked their manager someone told me Stubbs was on their shortlist. I laughed it off but maybe there is something in this after all.

I don't think he'd go just yet personally, I also think they would get someone with more experience too.

05-11-2015, 06:24 PM
Warburton linked too. Any manager in a job would do well to stay clear of QPR

I don't really pay attention to English football that much but does their chairman not give them a decent amount of cash? Seemed quite loyal to their last manager as well?

05-11-2015, 06:26 PM
Nelson must be ready for a move?

05-11-2015, 06:26 PM
Two nights before QPR sacked their manager someone told me Stubbs was on their shortlist. I laughed it off but maybe there is something in this after all.

I don't think he'd go just yet personally, I also think they would get someone with more experience too.

Did you post it on here?

05-11-2015, 06:27 PM
I don't really pay attention to English football that much but does their chairman not give them a decent amount of cash? Seemed quite loyal to their last manager as well?

He does give them a bit of cash, but then tends to sack them all. Not sure how many he's gone through now, in quite a short time

05-11-2015, 06:27 PM

Watching Celtic I'd be more worried about them coming in and taking our whole defence!

05-11-2015, 06:28 PM
Stubbs has created something special here at the moment, I think he'd hate to leave without seeing us promoted first.

05-11-2015, 06:29 PM
Wee statement from the club again would be nice. Hold this Hun rag accountable to everything they print. Leeann knows how to deal with these things

05-11-2015, 06:30 PM
Nelson must be ready for a move?

All depends if the man pulling the strings fancies another crack down south after his previous failing.

05-11-2015, 06:30 PM
As much as Stubbs has done well, he's not actually achieved anything as such. That's not a criticism.

There are plenty managers out of work who have more experience than Stubbs. You never know but I would be surprised.

05-11-2015, 06:34 PM
As much as Stubbs has done well, he's not actually achieved anything as such. That's not a criticism.

There are plenty managers out of work who have more experience than Stubbs. You never know but I would be surprised.
:agree: We are doing well under Stubbs but he hasn't achieved anything yet. Why is Derek McInnes or Neilson not being mentioned?

05-11-2015, 06:36 PM
The Celtic job might be more of a concern....

05-11-2015, 06:37 PM
:agree: We are doing well under Stubbs but he hasn't achieved anything yet. Why is Derek McInnes or Neilson not being mentioned?

Mccinnes failed down south and I think the perception is that it's levein that's the brains of the operation at hearts.

The fact that Stubbs was a pretty high profile player in England will count in his favour too.

05-11-2015, 06:44 PM
Total tosh. The Daily Rancid is a worthless irrelevant comic just now.

All best ignored. End of discussion would be the best policy.

Lee Marvin

Or the Bolton job....

We are going to have to get used to this unfortunately

05-11-2015, 06:46 PM
Stubbs has created something special here at the moment, I think he'd hate to leave without seeing us promoted first.

We know in football, that that is not what happens.
If any approaches are made, the club will need to be firm in their refusal to even let them talk. No key member of staff should be allowed to leave before summer. This season is too important.

05-11-2015, 06:48 PM
Did you post it on here?

😉

05-11-2015, 06:50 PM
Or the Bolton job....

We are going to have to get used to this unfortunately
It's eneviatible the speculation.

He's doing a great job for us at the mo but can't see him moving anytime soon as he seems to have bought into everything the club is now trying to achieve. I hope he doesn't go until the job is complete.

05-11-2015, 06:51 PM
Did you post it on here?

Well I was going to but seems there's to many smart ***** on here now so keep my info for for who appreciate it 😁

05-11-2015, 06:52 PM
It's eneviatible the speculation.

He's doing a great job for us at the mo but can't see him moving anytime soon as he seems to have bought into everything the club is now trying to achieve. I hope he doesn't go until the job is complete.

This is how I see it too.

05-11-2015, 06:55 PM
Mccinnes failed down south and I think the perception is that it's levein that's the brains of the operation at hearts.

The fact that Stubbs was a pretty high profile player in England will count in his favour too.

I doubt Stubbs will even be on QPR's radar, he certainly won't be someone the QPR fans are looking at for their next Manager. You really have to live in London to understand just what a sideshow our football is to the average fan here. That's partly down to our low standards but also to the locals' usual ignorance of life outside London.

05-11-2015, 06:56 PM
Stubbs has created something special here at the moment, I think he'd hate to leave without seeing us promoted first.He has indeed created something happen, no doubt promted by Leanne Dempster. I can say though, that he is the only one of the coaching staff with a lenthy contract (in fitba' terms). his staff are on rolling contracts. Alan Stubbs has also moved to Mussie.

05-11-2015, 06:57 PM
I doubt Stubbs will even be on QPR's radar, he certainly won't be someone the QPR fans are looking at for their next Manager. You really have to live in London to understand just what a sideshow our football is to the average fan here. That's partly down to our low standards but also to the locals' usual ignorance of life outside London.

Even after Alex Neil?

05-11-2015, 07:01 PM
Even after Alex Neil?

Alex who? :wink:

After tonight's result I would be deaply concerned if Celtic sack their manager. Stubbs is likely to be the fans choice given his connections.

Even after Alex Neil?

Yeah, he doesn't register at all. I tend not to mention supporting Scottish football to avoid getting all the usual *****.

Even after Alex Neil?

Last time I checked Norwich weren't within the M25 haha

05-11-2015, 07:06 PM
After tonight's result I would be deaply concerned if Celtic sack their manager. Stubbs is likely to be the fans choice given his connections.

I don't think so. They'd want a bigger name or someone who has acheived something. And that's not a pop at Stubbs. I just don't think we need to worry about Celtic coming in for him.

05-11-2015, 07:07 PM

There's no way they'll get rid of Delia. They're guaranteed to win the league and are likely to go on a long winning run so there'll be no urgency to replace him.

The Bolton job is the one I'm concerned about.

05-11-2015, 07:11 PM
There's no way they'll get rid of Delia. They're guaranteed to win the league and are likely to go on a long winning run so there'll be no urgency to replace him.

The Bolton job is the one I'm concerned about.

Bolton are a shambles with no money. It'd be a poor decision for the sake of his career.

05-11-2015, 07:13 PM
Bolton are a shambles with no money. It'd be a poor decision for the sake of his career.

The fact he took the hibs job shows he's not scared of a challenge.

05-11-2015, 07:14 PM
They're so obvious it's pathetic.

05-11-2015, 07:16 PM
Well I was going to but seems there's to many smart ***** on here now so keep my info for for who appreciate it 😁

Fair enough - pity you never posted one when you were right though eh. :wink:

05-11-2015, 07:19 PM
The fact he took the hibs job shows he's not scared of a challenge.

By his own admission he wasn't aware of the size of the challenge. He will with Bolton.

05-11-2015, 07:25 PM
We all moan about the Glasgow media linking Stubbs with jobs to unsettle us. So far in this thread though, we've managed to link him with two jobs that aren't even vacant at the moment!

05-11-2015, 07:26 PM
That rag has been told time after time, We wont let anyone go to Rangers.

05-11-2015, 07:29 PM
We all moan about the Glasgow media linking Stubbs with jobs to unsettle us. So far in this thread though, we've managed to link him with two jobs that aren't even vacant at the moment!

We're not a national newspaper though, are we?

05-11-2015, 07:30 PM
Stubbs out oconnor in.........its the daily record way

05-11-2015, 07:33 PM
We're not a national newspaper though, are we?

Neither is the Daily Record

magpie1892
05-11-2015, 07:33 PM

Stubbs is not on QPR's 'radar'. Source: Les Ferdinand.

05-11-2015, 07:39 PM
Fair enough - pity you never posted one when you were right though eh. :wink:

😁👍🏼

05-11-2015, 07:39 PM
Neither is the Daily Record

:agree: :greengrin

05-11-2015, 07:54 PM
I think Stubbs is still learning, tactically. His eye for a signing is the best weve had. He has done a huge job with what he had to start and if wed stayed up we would be already be SPL force something those before couldnt do . He has turned it from day 1. Mowbray lasted 2 and a bit years with bettering a highly talented crop of youngsters and complimenting with some very good signings some terrible. I hate to say but Stubbs wont see the end of his contract at Hibs and the job he has done in short period is astounding.

05-11-2015, 08:08 PM

I thought we'd already played Rangers. Aren't Daily Hun a bit late with the unsettling stories?

stevie-bee
05-11-2015, 09:04 PM

Had that mentioned to me today , I was hoping for a Celtic win tonight to keep delia in a job

05-11-2015, 09:10 PM
Last time I checked Norwich weren't within the M25 haha
It's a long way from London especially travelling by tractor!

pundy man
05-11-2015, 09:13 PM
:hibeesCeltic maybe, they always try to steal our best ideas. If you know your history....

05-11-2015, 09:14 PM
It's a long way from London especially travelling by tractor!

Ipswich are the tractor boys😄

05-11-2015, 09:18 PM
Had that mentioned to me today , I was hoping for a Celtic win tonight to keep delia in a job

It's akin to the Mowbray situation. If ever Celtic pursue Stubbs, it won't be while he's the current Manager of Hibs.

05-11-2015, 09:23 PM
The Kerrydale Street natives are restless tonight. Want shot of Deilia for sure.

Plenty replacement names but no Stubbs so far.

Someone should tell them they should give Deilia till the end of the season without the dead hand of John Collins on his shoulder.

Jdawg
05-11-2015, 09:46 PM
The main thing is that The club now have a structure/ideology in place for when a member leaves.

Think Stubbs will be here this season and when (hopefully) we go up the season after. A top 3 finish in the top division then might see him go and he would deserve it.

05-11-2015, 10:26 PM
Yeah, he doesn't register at all. I tend not to mention supporting Scottish football to avoid getting all the usual *****.

Why ? I would never be embarrassed to say I follow Scottish football and more importantly Hibernian.

05-11-2015, 10:32 PM
Why ? I would never be embarrassed to say I follow Scottish football and more importantly Hibernian.

You've obviously never answered the moronic stereotypical nonsense spewed forth.

05-11-2015, 10:43 PM
Stubbs is destined for much better than QPR, Bolton or Celtic.

The Daily Record is destined for oblivion. Only the very best of the print media will survive digital competition. I can't see The Record lasting even another 5 years.

05-11-2015, 10:52 PM

Want a bet?

Alan Stubbs will NOT be appointed at a club higher in the league structure than the three clubs you mention.

Name your stake and email it to the Admins of the forum - I'll match it :aok:

05-11-2015, 10:59 PM
Not even in the betting

Some twat wil be hitting the petty cash at The Daily Rangers as we speak...

05-11-2015, 11:08 PM

The Daily Record is destined for oblivion. Only the very best of the print media will survive digital competition. I can't see The Record lasting even another 5 years.

if only true. media is here to stay.a weapon v the masses. a tool to brainwash by corrupt. all owned by same lizards. advertising.... news should be pure but money rules. fifa/uefa no interest in walk up fans or football. all about cash power control. sir alex biggest socialist sell out. he became the machine he fought at sheep but only to prove worth to other side. today he wouldnt stand a chance of same success.

05-11-2015, 11:10 PM

perhaps you could express your amazement that for a city with a population one and a half times the size of Scotland and 10 times as rich they only have two decent football teams :greengrin

06-11-2015, 12:23 AM
You've obviously never answered the moronic stereotypical nonsense spewed forth.

Eddiethedog I tend not to say it as I am usually told "oh you know **** all about football then" (I coach football for a living) "jock football is *****" "**** off back to jockland" and many more.

Scottish football (and being scottish in general) is looked at as absolute pish down my way, which is funny when you really think about it.

Islington Hibs
06-11-2015, 07:55 AM
There is going to be endless speculation every time an opportunity comes up. It is a compliment to him. One day he will go but hopefully not until it is job done here.

banarc7062
06-11-2015, 08:12 AM
All best ignored. End of discussion would be the best policy.

Agree. Surely in one respect it is a great compliment to the current Hibs position, management and players, that the weegies have got to get their rag to try unsettling tactics. GGTTH

06-11-2015, 08:24 AM
Want a bet?

Alan Stubbs will NOT be appointed at a club higher in the league structure than the three clubs you mention.

Just to be clear...you are saying he will NEVER manage a club higher than Bolton?

06-11-2015, 08:50 AM
Want a bet?

Thats a bit of a bold statement to make, if we go up and have a good season in the premier there will be bigger clubs looking at him im sure

06-11-2015, 09:00 AM
I'd happily wager a bet Stubbs manages a team in the Prem during his management! He's a young ambitious manager who's hard work is showing in the way we play and now getting results!

06-11-2015, 09:19 AM
History shows that the very instant Hibs look like they are heading in the right direction the media are onto our manager and players like limpets. Those players who were a laughing stock and butt of jokes on Sportsound one week, are destined for moves away to "bigger" clubs like Portsmouth, Bury and Wigan the next. That's the "punishment" for having the audacity for beating or threatening their beloved NewHuns.

Compare and contrast with the way the Yams romped away with the Champ last season and then hailed as potential challengers to Celtic - not a whisper about player transfers and only recently talk of Neilson.

06-11-2015, 09:47 AM

Eddiethedog I tend not to say it as I am usually told "oh you know **** all about football then" (I coach football for a living) "jock football is *****" "**** off back to jockland" and many more.

Scottish football (and being scottish in general) is looked at as absolute pish down my way, which is funny when you really think about it.

Why would you put up with that ***** when you have so much ammunition to respond with? If the English know so much about football why are less than a 3rd of EPL managers English? Why are less than a 3rd of EPL players English, the worst home grown proportion in Europe's top 5 leagues.

No English manager has ever won the EPL, two Scots have .. Ferguson 13 times and Dalglish once.

Since the EPL started only 2 English managers have won the FA cup, as have 2 Scots ..... but we lead 5 - 2 in total wins in that period.

In 60 years English clubs have only won the European cup / Champions league 12 times

In 34 years they have only won the UEFA Cup / Europa league 7 times

In 20 World cups the have only ever reached the final once

In 14 European championships not once have they reached the final

When they start banging on about Scottish football its worth reminding them that in club football, measured against their peers, their performance in Europe is at best average and in international football is nothing short of utterly pathetic.

06-11-2015, 09:54 AM
History shows that the very instant Hibs look like they are heading in the right direction the media are onto our manager and players like limpets. Those players who were a laughing stock and butt of jokes on Sportsound one week, are destined for moves away to "bigger" clubs like Portsmouth, Bury and Wigan the next. That's the "punishment" for having the audacity for beating or threatening their beloved NewHuns.

Compare and contrast with the way the Yams romped away with the Champ last season and then hailed as potential challengers to Celtic - not a whisper about player transfers and only recently talk of Neilson.

All of this.

Sportscene on the night we beat "their beloved Rangers (sic)" giving serious thought to Hibs winning the title - all agreed it was possible "if Hibs can hold onto their players".

06-11-2015, 10:03 AM

:agree: the one thing I have never really worked out is despite all the hype the yam haven't had as many players that bigger clubs want to buy, looking back a decade or so we have had plenty in comparison - they tend to have players who have reached the highest they will or will at best go to another Scottish club or the few mercenaries who were paid beyond their ability to come to the yam when Romanov was doing it with charities and others money.

06-11-2015, 10:04 AM

Absolutely correct, although I don't think we're the only team to suffer. Look at the stories of dressing room unrest which have emerged since Aberdeen looked like they might be serious contenders for the League this season. For now, it seems to have worked against the Dons so let's put any media speculation about the future prospects of our Manager and the players firmly on the back burner.

06-11-2015, 10:05 AM
Just to be clear...you are saying he will NEVER manage a club higher than Bolton?

What I meant was (in my opinion) he won't leave Hibs to join a team higher than QPR and/or Bolton. That is of course assuming that either don't plummet down the leagues like a lead weight.

There's too much money slushing around in the English Championship for clubs to take a 'gamble' on an unproven manager. While I'm not doubting that Stubbs will move on to better things, I'm not convinced that his next club will be in the upper reaches of the English Championship or the EPL.

You could make a case for him going to Celtic, but surely they would look to appoint a manager with CL experience.

Time will tell (and it was only a few weeks ago that folks were questioning his position).

06-11-2015, 10:05 AM
Want a bet?

Name your stake and email it to the Admins of the forum - I'll match it :aok: he might get the Maidstone gig if he gets us up. Stranger things have happened.😄

06-11-2015, 10:13 AM
What I meant was (in my opinion) he won't leave Hibs to join a team higher than QPR and/or Bolton. That is of course assuming that either don't plummet down the leagues like a lead weight.

There's too much money slushing around in the English Championship for clubs to take a 'gamble' on an unproven manager. While I'm not doubting that Stubbs will move on to better things, I'm not convinced that his next club will be in the upper reaches of the English Championship or the EPL.

You could make a case for him going to Celtic, but surely they would look to appoint a manager with CL experience.

Time will tell (and it was only a few weeks ago that folks were questioning his position).

Alex Neill has already been given as an example. Clubs will be looking at how he took a mid table championship club into the Premier league and are holding their own.

06-11-2015, 10:14 AM

Totally agree he would need to go to somewhere as a stop gap in the English lower leagues. Someone like Wigan if that job came up then if he did well it would open up bigger clubs further up the tree.

06-11-2015, 10:28 AM
The Daily Record are REALLY upset that we beat Rangers, aren't they? Has anyone checked on Keith Jackson to make sure he's ok?

06-11-2015, 11:14 AM
Can't get the link to open Bingo .We have to accept that he is going to attract suitors given the job he has done turning us around .Would like to think he will want to finish the job here and get us Promoted before moving on ,but that may be best we hope for .
Other Teams seem able to hang onto good managers when we occasionally get a good one they seem to get linked with every job going

While you're right, AS will attract suitors, it really is a laugh out loud moment when the record link him to a job the bookies aren't even quoting him on!

Pathetic.

06-11-2015, 11:19 AM
Stubbs will boss Everton one day

I fear Celtic beforehand

06-11-2015, 11:23 AM
Stubbs will boss Everton one day

I fear Celtic beforehand

Celtic in a few years is what I think too. But what I am confident about is whoever comes in will not only match Stubbs but hopefully take us on even more. LD has already said she wants everything in place so picking the next manager should be smooth and that they all have the same vision for the club.

Pretty much same as clubs like Southampton & Swansea.

06-11-2015, 11:54 AM
Celtic in a few years is what I think too. But what I am confident about is whoever comes in will not only match Stubbs but hopefully take us on even more. LD has already said she wants everything in place so picking the next manager should be smooth and that they all have the same vision for the club.

Pretty much same as clubs like Southampton & Swansea.

Absolutely and gone are the days a new manager comes in and bins everything and everyone and starts again. A proper end to end football strategy and plan means while first team coach is fundamental role it is part of a clear approach and succession plan.

06-11-2015, 12:02 PM
While you're right, AS will attract suitors, it really is a laugh out loud moment when the record link him to a job the bookies aren't even quoting him on!

Pathetic.

I would be less concerned if he was in the betting. The bookies aren't daft. They will frequently conceal the real contenders for as long as they can, while taking cash on nonentities and no-hopers,

06-11-2015, 12:09 PM
QPR planned a fire sale of their players when they got relegated, but couldn't move many on. So they have got a very expensive squad and hoped they could bounce back up to the EPL at the first time of asking.

They want an experienced manager who knows their division and get them results fast. Warburton a much more likely candidate than Stubbs.

06-11-2015, 12:09 PM
Absolutely and gone are the days a new manager comes in and bins everything and everyone and starts again. A proper end to end football strategy and plan means while first team coach is fundamental role it is part of a clear approach and succession plan.

Exactly.

These days you don't really have just a manager as such, so many coaches it's not up to one man alone.

06-11-2015, 12:16 PM
Why would you put up with that ***** when you have so much ammunition to respond with? If the English know so much about football why are less than a 3rd of EPL managers English? Why are less than a 3rd of EPL players English, the worst home grown proportion in Europe's top 5 leagues.

No English manager has ever won the EPL, two Scots have .. Ferguson 13 times and Dalglish once.

Dalglish ...:not worth

Since the EPL started only 2 English managers have won the FA cup, as have 2 Scots ..... but we lead 5 - 2 in total wins in that period.

In 60 years English clubs have only won the European cup / Champions league 12 times

FIVE times by the mighty Reds...who were reborn and rebuilt by Mr Bill Shankly, captained by a Scot and had the GREATEST of them all in their team for THREE of those European Cups. Oh aye, and the same King scored the winning goal in the first European Cup he won back in 78...

...and if you look into those wins, you'll see a big Scottish influence...as per the above European Cup point :greengrin

...then cheated :greengrin ...and were promptly slapped by us useless Jocks, thereafter making us the unofficial real and genuine and uncontestable World Championeeees.

...and as we all know, they cheated when they got a ropey penatly versus us back in the day. AND they have a tendency to greet all over the pitch like a shower of big nancy boys :na na:

When they start banging on about Scottish football its worth reminding them that in club football, measured against their peers, their performance in Europe is at best average and in international football is nothing short of utterly pathetic.

...and as I alluded to earlier, if you run out of time and cant be arsed supplying logic you need only utter one word that shuts the whole argument up. Just pronounce loudly, clearly and unmistakably

DALGLISH

ENDOF :thumbsup:

06-11-2015, 01:40 PM

Having tried those responses (particularly to Liverpool fans) before it still ends up with them being "right" about how Scottish football is mickey mouse somehow. So I tend not to bother anymore, I just quietly go about my own football coaching and get better results.

06-11-2015, 02:11 PM
There is going to be endless speculation every time an opportunity comes up. It is a compliment to him. One day he will go but hopefully not until it is job done here.

Has any Hibs manager done that? :confused:

06-11-2015, 05:29 PM
More mischief making from the Daily Ranger. Tomorrow's fish and chips wrapper.

QMU-1875
06-11-2015, 05:31 PM
Would help if our own pundits/football association didn't consistently talk our own game down.

06-11-2015, 07:37 PM
Has any Hibs manager done that? :confused:

Butcher? He certainly did a job on us.

06-11-2015, 09:23 PM
Stubbs quoted at 5/1 on Skybet now.