View Full Version : Semi Final Venue

Torto7062
04-11-2015, 10:40 PM
Surely the semi final against either teams should be at Hampden due to the amount of Hibbys that will go.

I'd imagine a County v Saints semi would be at Tannadice if we get the Hooped Junkies

04-11-2015, 10:43 PM
Would have thought if we get St J or Ross County game would be at Tynecastle.

04-11-2015, 10:44 PM
Another semi vs St Johnstone at Swiney would do for me

Neutral ground packed to the rafters,I hate a half empty Hampden for a Semi final. Another Tynie one would do. If it's Hampden I wont go.

Surely the semi final against either teams should be at Hampden due to the amount of Hibbys that will go.

I'd imagine a County v Saints semi would be at Tannadice if we get the Hooped Junkiessorry to disagree. Gorgie for us against any of them bar Celtic. ICT played the gorgie mob at ER, remember, and we played the Saintees in gorgie if you can remember their "streaker" :greengrin

Hampden

04-11-2015, 10:46 PM
Somewhere that would be full for me

Neutral ground packed to the rafters,I hate a half empty Hampden for a Semi final. Another Tynie one would do.:agree:

Kings Park in Dalkeith

No way Gorgie please, we'd also need to give them a share of the gate, anyone other than non season tickets holders will struggle to get a ticket

pundy man
04-11-2015, 10:47 PM
:hibeesHampden, we will take at least 15 thousand so no ground outside Glasgow would be big enough .

04-11-2015, 10:49 PM
Hampden for me whoever we play, granted it's a dump but we'd be taking 20,000 plus based on current form and there's no suitably sized ground to accommodate all fans who'd want to attend.

04-11-2015, 10:52 PM
If we get celtc you'll be lucky if 10000 go

04-11-2015, 10:54 PM
Hampden for me whoever we play, granted it's a dump but we'd be taking 20,000 plus based on current form and there's no suitably sized ground to accommodate all fans who'd want to attend.

I don't think we would be taking 20,000 to a league cup semi final just now.

04-11-2015, 10:58 PM
Tynie for me.

04-11-2015, 11:02 PM
Funny feeling half ST might just get a bit more popular. If it's the wee greens then Hampden, St J's the PBS or one of Dundee teams grounds, RC at the sheep.

04-11-2015, 11:03 PM
I'd rather a full Tynecastle with 3 stands packed with Hibbies than 13000 of us rattling about in a half empty Hampden.

04-11-2015, 11:04 PM
I'd rather a full Tynecastle with 3 stands packed with Hibbies than 13000 of us rattling about in a half empty Hampden.

Hearts are away that weekend at Ross County, which will be cancelled anyway

04-11-2015, 11:12 PM
No way Gorgie please, we'd also need to give them a share of the gate, anyone other than non season tickets holders will struggle to get a ticket
Thats why we have season tickets...

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

04-11-2015, 11:15 PM
Neutral ground packed to the rafters,I hate a half empty Hampden for a Semi final. Another Tynie one would do. If it's Hampden I wont go.
Why not? Surely you support the team not the venue. I'm not trying to be a smart arse here by the way.

04-11-2015, 11:22 PM
Shame the PBS has a deathtrap of a main stand and such a small capacity - plus one of the smallest pitch sizes in Scottish football - not completey ideal for our passing game.

Good memories from the previous St J semi there though!

04-11-2015, 11:30 PM
I hate hampden; nightmare to drive to, no public transport, half empty at semi finals.

04-11-2015, 11:36 PM

I think everyone who wanted a ticket would get one if it was at Tynecastle. We would get three out of the four stands if it was against St Johnstone or Ross County which would be around 14000 tickets. I think that would be enough to cater for our needs.

007 Mickey Weir
04-11-2015, 11:43 PM
If it's Ross County would Tannadice not be the venue?

Holds over 14k

04-11-2015, 11:45 PM
I hate hampden; nightmare to drive to, no public transport, half empty at semi finals.

If ever a football ground could benefit from being made into a shopping centre, this is the one. No diss intended on Tynecastle or Ibrox.

04-11-2015, 11:48 PM
If Hibs draw Celtic in the semi-final would it be played at Ibrox or Hampden?

Or is it already a foregone conclusion that all semi-finals will be played at Hampden?

04-11-2015, 11:58 PM
Didn't manage that versus Falkirk in the Scottish so doubtful.

04-11-2015, 11:59 PM
I was under the impression the league cup had changed and semis were now both played at hampden and on a weekend.

I'd probably rather tynie tbh. Hampden is rubbish and would be half empty.

05-11-2015, 12:01 AM

Holds over 14k

They made ICT travel down to play at ER against the yams which to be fair was harsh on ICT.

05-11-2015, 12:10 AM

Holds over 14k
Well you'd think so, or possibly Dens, but even though it balances up the travelling distance for both teams I'm not sure that's what'll happen.

05-11-2015, 12:12 AM
[QUOTE=lord bunberry;4496264]Why not? Surely you support the team not the venue. I'm not trying to be a smart arse here by the way.[/QUOTE

Because I just can't bring myself to go to Hampden again after recent disappointments I have vowed to never return. May sound daft but that's my decision and I'm sticking to it semi or finals I wont be there.

05-11-2015, 12:24 AM
anywhere other than the asbestos arena, stinking filthy mingin cesspit...FACT

05-11-2015, 12:27 AM

I'd imagine a County v Saints semi would be at Tannadice if we get the Hooped Junkies

Wish they would start coming to ER......

davhibby
05-11-2015, 12:29 AM
I wouldn't mind Pittodrie if we get County. No chance at all that we'd play any game in Dundee, we'd have more demand than either capacity

05-11-2015, 12:29 AM
To answer the thread title, my boxers at about 2140! :-o

05-11-2015, 12:40 AM
Tannadice would more than accomodate those of us who bother to go on a regular basis :agree:

05-11-2015, 12:42 AM
Tannadice would more than accomodate those of us who bother to go on a regular basis :agree:

05-11-2015, 12:47 AM
If its Ross County then Pittodrie could be a good shout ... 22,000 capacity.

05-11-2015, 01:34 AM

Well that's all right then....who cares about the fans that don't bother on a regular basis. They are not real fans anyway right?

As for the OP It's a sad indictment of Scottish football that there is effectively no modern football ground of a 20-25k capacity available to host this type of match situation when ER is out the picture.

Thinking back to the St J semi I remember being in the old stand at Tynie...it really blew me away how old it was in design compared to new stadia even though I thought I remembered the old stand at ER quite well. Quite how it's STILL in use I have no idea the thing must be ready to fall down on its own accord and that's before you consider any laws or regs.

GlasgowHibee
05-11-2015, 01:48 AM
If its Ross County then Pittodrie could be a good shout ... 22,000 capacity.

Wouldn't mind that, Pittodrie is one of my favourite stadiums.

05-11-2015, 06:39 AM
Because I just can't bring myself to go to Hampden again after recent disappointments I have vowed to never return. May sound daft but that's my decision and I'm sticking to it semi or finals I wont be there.

Aye right. :faf:

You'll be there.

05-11-2015, 06:50 AM
If it's Celtic it will be Hampden but I'm not comfortable with Tynecastle should it be one of the other two.

I thought their main stand had a certain charm about a decade ago but now it surely must be unsafe. If we are made to play there we should hand the tickets for the top tier of the main stand back and leave it empty. Either that or let county or saints occupy their main stand giving us the other three.

I wouldn't wipe my erse with that stands "safety" certificate and like so much else achieved by that club it seems a bit dodgy.

I'd rather put up with the travelling and go to Pittodrie.

05-11-2015, 08:34 AM

No public transport? Its served by 2 train stations and there's plenty of buses go up by it fom the city centre.

05-11-2015, 08:38 AM

Holds over 14k

Or Aberdeen. Great if its a 3 o'clock kick off but what if the games moved to 12.30 for TV.
Anyone know if both semis will be on the telly?

05-11-2015, 08:47 AM
Wouldn't mind that, Pittodrie is one of my favourite stadiums.

It's a dump. Dreary, cold and lifeless like the fans who usually occupy it.

05-11-2015, 08:48 AM
Or Aberdeen. Great if its a 3 o'clock kick off but what if the games moved to 12.30 for TV.
Anyone know if both semis will be on the telly?

Only one on tv last year

05-11-2015, 08:56 AM
Wouldn't mind Pittodrie if we were playing Ross County.

Will be Tynecastle if we're playing St Johnstone and Celtic at Hampden, with Hibs getting the usual disproportionately lowered allocation in the "Rangers" end.

05-11-2015, 09:17 AM
I don't care where it is played, could be Wembley, as longs as Hibs win then that's good enough for me.

thebigman1875
05-11-2015, 09:57 AM
sorry to disagree. Gorgie for us against any of them bar Celtic. ICT played the gorgie mob at ER, remember, and we played the Saintees in gorgie if you can remember their "streaker" :greengrin

I remember the big guy well !

05-11-2015, 10:01 AM
Id rather it was played at Huddersfield Town.

I think it will be at Hampden though.

05-11-2015, 10:18 AM
Well that's all right then....who cares about the fans that don't bother on a regular basis. They are not real fans anyway right?

As for the OP It's a sad indictment of Scottish football that there is effectively no modern football ground of a 20-25k capacity available to host this type of match situation when ER is out the picture.

Thinking back to the St J semi I remember being in the old stand at Tynie...it really blew me away how old it was in design compared to new stadia even though I thought I remembered the old stand at ER quite well. Quite how it's STILL in use I have no idea the thing must be ready to fall down on its own accord and that's before you consider any laws or regs.

Can remember being in the Wheatfield stand none of the seats had numbers on them, total farce.

05-11-2015, 10:19 AM
Id rather it was played at Huddersfield Town.

I think it will be at Hampden though.

With it now being a weekend it will IMO be at Hampden.

05-11-2015, 10:22 AM
Common sense would suggest it being at Pittodrie (if County) or Tynecastle (if St J).

So it will be at Hampden, obviously.

05-11-2015, 10:31 AM
No public transport? Its served by 2 train stations and there's plenty of buses go up by it fom the city centre.

It's 'served by two train stations' really means it's halfway between two train stations that are served by a crappy slow service 20 minutes walk from the ground! And leaving aside having to change stations in the weedge as well. It always feel like an ordeal getting to and from Hampden...its usually quicker for me to get to and from St James Park ffs!

05-11-2015, 10:59 AM
I'm happy enough with Hampden, or even Tynecastle as long as I don't have to sit in the main stand. Just hoping it isn't a daft kick off time.

05-11-2015, 11:55 AM
It may have already been mentioned but I can't be bothered reading all the posts.

When is the draw for the semi final?

Cheers. :aok:

05-11-2015, 11:58 AM
Common sense would suggest it being at Pittodrie (if County) or Tynecastle (if St J).

So it will be at Hampden, obviously.

Would seem crazy to drag 15,000 Hibs fans to Pittodrie

05-11-2015, 11:58 AM
It may have already been mentioned but I can't be bothered reading all the posts.

Monday afternoon

05-11-2015, 12:01 PM

Monday

05-11-2015, 12:01 PM
Monday afternoon

Cheers.

Typical. Four teams to draw out a hat and it takes five days to organise what a couple of three year olds could do in a couple of minutes.

I want Hearts in the semi final.

What? They got knocked out. When did that happen.

05-11-2015, 12:08 PM
I'd rather it was Hampden than Pittodrie TBH.

05-11-2015, 12:18 PM
Why would anyone seriously want to go to Pittodrie over Hampden? Yes, its in the weej and often lacking soul. It's also less than an hour's drive, less on the train and much easier to get to overall.

Or perhaps we could all make the jolly up north to Aberdeen where we are guaranteed a warm welcome from the sheep and their associated radges who have nowt better to do than hate everyone (us) included ! :confused:

Hampden methinks.

05-11-2015, 12:25 PM
It's 'served by two train stations' really means it's halfway between two train stations that are served by a crappy slow service 20 minutes walk from the ground! And leaving aside having to change stations in the weedge as well. It always feel like an ordeal getting to and from Hampden...its usually quicker for me to get to and from St James Park ffs!

You're slavering mate. Mount Florida is a five minute stagger from Hampden. And you can get a train directly into central from Edinburgh.

05-11-2015, 12:28 PM
You're slavering mate. Mount Florida is a five minute stagger from Hampden. And you can get a train directly into central from Edinburgh.

Maybe im a slower walker than you. Or maybe im just pished most of the time i do that journey...

05-11-2015, 12:29 PM
Why would anyone seriously want to go to Pittodrie over Hampden? Yes, its in the weej and often lacking soul. It's also less than an hour's drive, less on the train and much easier to get to overall.

Or perhaps we could all make the jolly up north to Aberdeen where we are guaranteed a warm welcome from the sheep and their associated radges who have nowt better to do than hate everyone (us) included ! :confused:

Hampden methinks.

Definitely.

I'm sure Stubbs would Like current team to familiarise themselves with hampden as well.

05-11-2015, 12:30 PM
I'd rather it was Hampden than Pittodrie TBH.

Me as well. Takes 3 hours from Dingwall to Aberdeen. 3 1/2 from Dingwall to Glasgow.

It would be stupid to have us all travel that far.

Be a much bigger crowd at Hampden.

05-11-2015, 01:22 PM

Some of our best semi finals have been at half filled Hampdens, I have some great memories agianst Rangers, Aberdeen, Livi and especiLly Falkirk. Why miss out just because of venue?

05-11-2015, 01:24 PM
When are the semifinals played?

05-11-2015, 01:25 PM
Only to be confronted with a two mile queue of people waiting to get on the station and surrounded with police horses crapping everywhere.

05-11-2015, 01:30 PM
When are the semifinals played?

30/31 January

05-11-2015, 01:38 PM
30/31 January
Thanks

05-11-2015, 01:44 PM
Only to be confronted with a two mile queue of people waiting to get on the station and surrounded with police horses crapping everywhere.

That's big time football for you.

05-11-2015, 06:58 PM
Thinking outside the box, Bloomfield Road, Blackpool would be good for me😜

06-11-2015, 10:01 AM
That's big time football for you.

10 minute walk to Carntyne station and no queue.

06-11-2015, 10:11 AM
Monday afternoon

Can I get Radio Scotland in Belfast? :confused:

06-11-2015, 10:12 AM
Can I get Radio Scotland in Belfast? :confused:

In hoping their will be a live stream on the BBC Scotland site, don't think it will be on the radio

06-11-2015, 10:13 AM
In hoping their will be a live stream on the BBC Scotland site, don't think it will be on the radio

Can I get internet access in Belfast? (Only joking):wink:

06-11-2015, 11:03 AM
[QUOTE=lord bunberry;4496264]Why not? Surely you support the team not the venue. I'm not trying to be a smart arse here by the way.[/QUOTE

What a decision that is

06-11-2015, 12:03 PM
[QUOTE=Scouse Hibee;4496414]

What a decision that is

Yes it's mine. Makes a change from not bothering yer erse until the big games though don't you think?

06-11-2015, 12:21 PM
[QUOTE=Alex Trager;4497461]

Yes it's mine. Makes a change from not bothering yer erse until the big games though don't you think?

Haha it does indeed. The opposite in fact.

06-11-2015, 06:20 PM
Would have thought if we get St J or Ross County game would be at Tynecastle.

It's not big enough for the number of Hibbies that would want to go.

We regularly get 17-18k for Semi Finals at Hampden but we'd only get around 13k tickets for the PBS.

I'd love it if the game was at Murrayfield, tho.

:duck:

mcfly
06-11-2015, 06:37 PM
Tynecastle suits me. Personally people who come out the woodwork for big games have no complaints if they don't get a ticket.

Simple fact is if u want a ticket buy a half season ticket support the team .

This team and the manager deserves a big support.

StevieBoyKdy
06-11-2015, 06:41 PM
No matter who we get I want it at Hampden. Big pitch. **** Tynie total **** whole why some fans hope we play there I have no idea

davehiby
06-11-2015, 06:44 PM
30/31 January

ma birthday ken what present im looking for :agree: :flag:

06-11-2015, 06:53 PM
ma birthday ken what present im looking for :agree: :flag:

On both days?

06-11-2015, 06:54 PM
Tynecastle suits me. Personally people who come out the woodwork for big games have no complaints if they don't get a ticket.

Simple fact is if u want a ticket buy a half season ticket support the team .

This team and the manager deserves a big support.

I'll be over, glory hunting, as per...

06-11-2015, 07:01 PM
My underpants.

06-11-2015, 07:12 PM
Hampden.

_hucks_
07-11-2015, 12:16 AM

What about those of us who would make a special effort for a bigger game like this? Folks work weekends, others live away from Scotland. I fit into both categories, if people like me can be accommodated, why shouldn't we be?

07-11-2015, 12:33 AM
What about those of us who would make a special effort for a bigger game like this? Folks work weekends, others live away from Scotland. I fit into both categories, if people like me can be accommodated, why shouldn't we be?

You can be accommodated, after the core support have purchased there can be a general sale.

Bronson
07-11-2015, 12:34 AM
If it's Celtic it'll be at Hampden, if it's County or St Johnstone it'll be at Tynecastle. I doubt any other venues will be taken into consideration.

07-11-2015, 07:28 AM
Lunacy we have to wait until Monday for the draw.

Let me guess, it will be at 14:39, when everyone is at work.

Total Bollox!

07-11-2015, 08:07 AM
Lunacy we have to wait until Monday for the draw.

Let me guess, it will be at 14:39, when everyone is at work.

Total Bollox!

After the game on Weds would have been ideal.

07-11-2015, 08:35 AM
I suppose because it is a while until the semi final there is no rush to make draw.

Have never really understood the thinking of making the draw at a time most people are at work. It used to be great after a cup win to return to car, or if you had been listening to radio coverage to then get the draw within an hour of the culmination of that day`s ties. Works better with The Scottish Cup to be fair when most games were played on a Saturday, where a venue would be selected (usually the game selected for radio commentary) and the draw made at a time most fans were on their way home from games across the country. The draw had an extra bit of spice being made immediately after the days drama. Now most only learn of draw by logging onto the internet on their phones. I`ve often texted a mate who is a fanatical Hibs supporter with draws only to get a reply saying how had forgot all about it due to the bizarre times of them.