View Full Version : Hibs 3 v Dundee Utd 0 match updates

Pages : 1 [2]

rodhibs55
04-11-2015, 08:25 PM
McGinn substitution doesn't seem to have worked, United on top now.

Going by the updates on here, they are due a wee spell. Confident we can hold out though. We are a different animal nowadays.

04-11-2015, 08:25 PM
11891 attendance 1700 Utd fans.

That's a superb crowd btw for a Wed nite game!

04-11-2015, 08:26 PM
Think Farid is getting stripped.

Did I hear that right, 11,821 :confused:

11891 attendance

1700 Utd fans.

Reasonable turn out from us. If we can keep this season going, we may start to see our attendances creep upwards.

04-11-2015, 08:27 PM
Malonga off, Farid on

04-11-2015, 08:27 PM
11891 attendance

1400 Utd fans.

That's a superb crowd btw for a Wed nite game!

Brilliant stuff... :agree:

04-11-2015, 08:28 PM
How things have changed, we have 4g now

Off-topic... is 4G only on certain mobile networks in the US? I was in Texas/Louisiana in September, never once had a sniff of 4G and the 3G was hellishly slow at times. In Weimar, TX I actually got GPRS mobile internet, which I've not seen for about 10 years.

By European standards, you'd think you were in 2011 based on mobile internet speed or 1983 based on petrol prices.

El adagui misses an open gowl

Boyle lays it on a plate for a dream comeback but Farid trips over the ball with the goal at his mercy

04-11-2015, 08:29 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_scotland_mw?lang=en

Fab - merci

Off the bar
Malonga off, Farid on

Great to see Farid back

Lol El Alagui.

McGinn MOTM

Tha Cabbage Kid
All the best farid !!!!!!!!!!!

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk

04-11-2015, 08:30 PM
Boyle rounds the keeper, shot blocked, Cummings follow up brilliantly saved.

Keeper can't kick for toffee but he's some shot stopper.

04-11-2015, 08:32 PM
McGinn MOTM

Seems to be a wee pattern emerging.

What a quality signing this lads has been and is going to be.

4 minutes

11891 attendance

1400 Utd fans.
Fabulous!

Hibs fans sound great over the radio :aok:

NYHibby
04-11-2015, 08:33 PM
Off-topic... is 4G only on certain mobile networks in the US? I was in Texas/Louisiana in September, never once had a sniff of 4G and the 3G was hellishly slow at times. In Weimar, TX I actually got GPRS mobile internet, which I've not seen for about 10 years.

By European standards, you'd think you were in 2011 based on mobile internet speed or 1983 based on petrol prices.

No, Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint all have LTE networks. Maybe your phone doesn't support the right LTE bands.

04-11-2015, 08:34 PM
This has been easy.

Tha Cabbage Kid
04-11-2015, 08:35 PM
Full time?

Ronster117
04-11-2015, 08:35 PM
No one left in the cup will want Hibernian ......:gwa:

04-11-2015, 08:36 PM
3-0 Lewis with a massive deflection.

More accurate relection on the game. And that's FT.

Denverhibby

Nothing wrong with $2.23 a gallon, and yes it depends on what network your on for 4G

Tha Cabbage Kid
No one left in the cup will want Hibernian ......:gwa:
True that

No, Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint all have LTE networks. Maybe your phone doesn't support the right LTE bands.

iPhone 5S. I was getting AT&T and T-Mobile – maybe it was part of the deal they have with 3 (my network at home) that you don't get 4G.

Lewis!

:gwa:

Off the bar
Super Lewis Stevenson!!!!!! 3-0 great nights work

Ronster117
There's the icing on the cake

04-11-2015, 08:37 PM
Lewis Stevenson, 3-0 :greengrin

That's 5-0 on aggregate against SPL opposition this season.

EH6 Hibby
Probably already been asked but when's the draw?

Well done Hibs:flag:

04-11-2015, 08:38 PM
That Aussie Hearts tw@ getting it tight and rightly so.

rodhibs55
From Germany again.
Thanks to all for the updates. Great result, only travelling home tomorrow no work, so away to get pi**ed and celebrate

Off the bar

Monday

Magnificent stuff, lets continue this kind of performance against the teams in this division, and we may challenge for the title after all.

Nothing wrong with $2.23 a gallon, and yes it depends on what network your on for 4G

No wonder you lot drive everywhere, it's essentially free.

Still Monday :greengrin

Denverhibby

Monday and what's the odds of us getting Celtic

Brilliant result. Fantastic

And now 12 games undefeated winning 11 of them in all competitions...surely a record is close to being broken?

Tha Cabbage Kid
04-11-2015, 08:39 PM
Well done lewis!!!!!!!

Brilliant. Well done Hibs, gutted I wasn't there. On to the next one. 😁

Clinical. :thumbsup:

Islington Hibs
what a shame we are in the championship. There is every indication if we were in the SPL we would be well up there.:flag:

04-11-2015, 08:40 PM
I see the BBC have decided we're now acceptable of basic human rights. I preferred it when they hated us. It feels strange.

A few wee mistakes tonight, but over all a very comfortable win

hctroubador
Once again many thanks to everyone for providing updates. Between this on one screen, and Chelsea v Dynamo on the other it's safe to say no work has been done for the past couple of hours. Owe it all to you fine folks! Bring on Celtic in the Cup Final please!

04-11-2015, 08:41 PM

Looking a lot more positive even if we dont manage to win the league this season and have to try and get promoted through the play-offs :agree:

We have a team with a backbone for the big games at long last

04-11-2015, 08:41 PM
Well done Hibs, victory with some style, and could have been more.

Off the bar
04-11-2015, 08:42 PM
Anyone know when the highlights will be up?

Did anyone watch Farid at the end. Just curious of his reaction was this maybe his last swansong

Preston is waxing lyrical! He can certainly talk. I'll give him that.

Anyone know when the highlights will be up?

Going by the timing of the draw, I'd guess early December.

I see the BBC have decided we're now acceptable of basic human rights. I preferred it when they hated us. It feels strange.

It's nice being under the radar... let's hope the run continues even though theres a lot of media hype for us.

04-11-2015, 08:44 PM
Did anyone watch Farid at the end. Just curious of his reaction was this maybe his last swansong

I didn't think so.

He was putting himself about and gave a wee round of applause to the fans but nothing excessive that suggested he was done.

Bay Area Hibees
Magic sitting following this in meeting in San Francisco hard to explain to folks why I'm bouncing !!!

HibernianJK
Anyone know when the draw for the next round is?

04-11-2015, 08:45 PM
3 and easy, well done Hibs, job done with the minimum of fuss.

:gwa:

BarneyHibby
04-11-2015, 08:45 PM
Brilliant Performance! Well Done!!!:hibees:gwa:

04-11-2015, 08:46 PM
It's nice being under the radar... let's hope the run continues even though theres a lot of media hype for us.

The whole thing is a pantomime – put the boot into the teams that are doing badly, overhype the teams that are doing well.

I didn't think so.

He was putting himself about and gave a wee round of applause to the fans but nothing excessive that suggested he was done.

That's good to hear. With rumours that he's giving it one last go and the fact he hasn't been near the development team or 1st team in a few weeks I had feared he had broken down again

Excellent result. Like to continue to see progress against teams who shut up shop

2 to 1 .. :greengrin

04-11-2015, 08:47 PM

Nothing to fear of any team :flag:

04-11-2015, 08:51 PM
Well done Hibs. What a great result and the recent run of form is impressive. After missing the Aberdeen, rangers and Utd games not sure if I should go along to the semifinal! Fantastic!! Was a bit surreal listening to the radio and hearing Preston etc talking us up. Made me real a wee bit queasy to be honest. Bet it made him feel the same😂😂😂

04-11-2015, 08:51 PM
Nope once a grade a yam roaster always a grade a yam roaster!

I may have mentioned this before but I blew up his electrics when I worked with Telewest :greengrin

04-11-2015, 08:55 PM
Fantastic result. :flag:

I think he was just appreciative of the support he got.

Celtic will certainly be hoping they don't get us !

04-11-2015, 09:01 PM

He is a disgrace to the race!:wink:

04-11-2015, 09:03 PM
The whole thing is a pantomime – put the boot into the teams that are doing badly, overhype the teams that are doing well.

Hibs07p
04-11-2015, 09:05 PM
SPFL will be wanting 3 decent attendances at Hampden and they will be hoping that we don't face Celtic in the semi. I think we will play St J.

04-11-2015, 09:07 PM
Best game of football I have seen at ER in quite some time. Outstanding from Hibs. Their keeper made some great saves and we missed a few sitters so it could easily have been more than 3 tonight.

04-11-2015, 09:08 PM
Surely if we get St Johnstone it will be at somewhere like Tynecastle instead of Hampden.

A bit disrespectful to make us play at a lesser stadium mind.

04-11-2015, 09:12 PM
Surely if we get St Johnstone it will be at somewhere like Tynecastle instead of Hampden.

A bit disrespectful to make us play at a lesser stadium mind.

The League Cup semis are held at the weekend now, doubt they move it to Tynie rather than Hampden

Off the bar
04-11-2015, 09:12 PM
Hibs now 11 wins and 1 draw in last 12 all competitions Sevco 10 wins 2 defeats we are THE form team at the moment if we can get another 3-4 wins on the bounce and the hun drop a point or 2, we can be top of the league by Xmas!!!

04-11-2015, 09:16 PM
I may have mentioned this before but I blew up his electrics when I worked with Telewest :greengrin

Good work :thumbsup:

04-11-2015, 09:18 PM
The League Cup semis are held at the weekend now, doubt they move it to Tynie rather than Hampden

Did Hearts not play ICT at ER on a Saturday or Sunday in a semi final 2 or 3 seasons back?

04-11-2015, 09:21 PM
Great performance. Bossed it from start to finish. The spell before the first goal was the best we've played in years. Fyvie my MoM.

04-11-2015, 09:22 PM
Celtic will certainly be hoping they don't get us !

Respectfully, :greengrin I don't really think Celtic will give two hoots to any team they meet in any Scottish competition.

04-11-2015, 09:24 PM

I think Dundee United played Aberdeen a couple of seasons ago at Tiny?

04-11-2015, 09:29 PM
Only listened online but sounds like we absolutely owned them. Well played Hibs, especially after all the hard work on Sunday. Hopefully more of the same at the weekend.

04-11-2015, 09:40 PM
Hibs were absolutely brilliant tonight all over the pitch. Every player played their part. Fyvie and Hanlon particularly outstanding and Keatings looks some player; his ball control is second to none.

Happy days:flag:

high bee
04-11-2015, 09:41 PM
Nice wee write up from the BBC:

Hibernian strolled impressively into the semi-finals of the Scottish League Cup with a commanding victory over Premiership outfit Dundee United.
A thumping first-half hit from full-back David Gray, a Jason Cummings penalty on the hour and a deflected Lewis Stevenson shot in the last seconds put Alan Stubbs' team into the last four.

United had a chance to make a fight of it when Simon Murray was put through 12 minutes from time, but Mark Oxley in the Hibs goal denied the striker.

The Championship promotion hopefuls now join Celtic, Ross County and St Johnstone in the semi-final draw on Monday.

This wasn't so much the clash of two teams but the clash of two cultures.
Hibs are buzzing these days. They're making chances and scoring goals, they're conceding little at the back and playing with verve and hunger all around the pitch.

United had the comfort of a win, at last, against Ross County at the weekend, but their recovery was halted emphatically in its tracks right from the get-go.

We wondered if Hibs could match the high-octane tempo they showed when beating Rangers on Sunday - and they did.
In the opening 15 minutes, they carved out three decent chances, their front three of Cummings, James Keatings and Dominique Malonga causing havoc.

United didn't know what to do with any of them. Behind the front three, John McGinn, tidy as you like, pulled the strings. All around the pitch, Hibs displayed a hunger for work and an accuracy in possession that Mixu Paatelainen's side couldn't get near.

The opening goal came on the back of more of that heavy pressure. Keatings had just forced a save from Michal Szromnik in the United goal, a prelude to Mark Durnan pulling off a goal-saving tackle on Cummings.
The United goal was being peppered so often that it was inevitable that the breakthrough would come.

It arrived courtesy of Gray, who rifled a shot past Szromnik in the midst of the onslaught.

The visitors had to content themselves with playing on the break - and it rarely worked.

McGinn almost made it 2-0 direct from a corner, Szromnik scrambling madly to keep it out. It was a frenetic scene in the United defence and a story of their night.

They were vulnerable so often. A sitting duck to a team that is bursting with ideas and goal-threat.

Paatelainen would have given his players a rocket at the break, but it did no good. Less than a minute into the new half, Keatings thumped a shot off Szromnik's post.

United had a moment, when Ryan McGowan flicked an effort on goal, but Stevenson dealt with it comfortably enough and away went Hibs again.
Chances came in a steady flow and soon the second goal arrived too. John Rankin was done for handball in the box and Cummings punished him.
There was scarcely a shred of doubt that he would put it away. The striker has now scored in his last six games. A precious goal machine.
Murray had that chance late on, but he fluffed it. Farid El Alagui came off the bench for Hibs and fluffed one of his own, the fluff to beat all fluffs. It didn't matter.

Stevenson might have been fortunate to see his shot at the end deflect past Szromnik, but the three-goal advantage was entirely just.

Four, five or six goals would have been just. The gulf in class was that wide.

04-11-2015, 09:43 PM
Hibs were different class.

Well worth the effort to attend from West Yorkshire!

Hibs were absolutely brilliant tonight all over the pitch. Every player played their part. Fyvie and Hanlon particularly outstanding and Keatings looks some player; his ball control is second to none.

Happy days:flag:

Malonga has that title I reckon.

Dundee Utd can consider themselves very lucky they got away with only 3 nil tonight. 6 or 7 nil would have been a more accurate reflection on tonight's game.

Hibs annihilated them. The only thing Hibs fell down on was their finishing.

It was a great sign seeing the whole Hibs team in a huddle at the end of the match.

blindsummit
04-11-2015, 09:48 PM

I think that's it NYHibby. The 4G bands are different. A UK phone won't receive them up and vice versa. 3G is usually OK.

Off the bar
04-11-2015, 09:49 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=_qwoPqTqVz8 found a video of the first goal on twitter great hit from gray

04-11-2015, 09:49 PM
Dundee Utd can consider themselves very lucky they got away with only 3 nil tonight. 6 or 7 nil would have been a more accurate reflection on tonight's game.

Hibs annihilated them. The only thing Hibs fell down on was their finishing.

It was a great sign seeing the whole Hibs team in a huddle at the end of the match.

Yep, although the Utd keeper made some cracking saves to deny us more goals.

Hanlon my man of the match, closely followed by Fyvie but there were no failures tonight.

Superb performance

shamo9
04-11-2015, 09:51 PM
Well done to Oxley as well for making a good save 1 on 1 after 77 minutes. We dominated the match but last year we were undone time and again by losing silly goals against the run of play. We've improved in every area :aok:

04-11-2015, 09:52 PM
Only listened online but sounds like we absolutely owned them. Well played Hibs, especially after all the hard work on Sunday. Hopefully more of the same at the weekend.

We did. 6 or 7 wouldn't have flattered us. Tremendous performance. This team improves with every game.

04-11-2015, 09:55 PM
Brilliant performance from the team tonight, 3-0 certainly doesn't flatter us. Controlled it from start to finish and played some fantastic stuff. :thumbsup::flag:

Brilliant boys! Absolutely Brilliant! Keep it up :thumbsup::flag:

04-11-2015, 09:55 PM
Yep, although the Utd keeper made some cracking saves to deny us more goals.

Hanlon my man of the match, closely followed by Fyvie but there were no failures tonight.

Superb performance

04-11-2015, 09:58 PM
No sluggish second half performance which was good! We really are flying and St. Mirren will put 11 men behind the ball it's a cert!

Stubbs deserves huge credit for putting a team capable of going on this run. Most in form team in the country, and I can add FACT to that because it is indeed true! 😁

ElginHibbie
04-11-2015, 10:00 PM
Did Hearts not play ICT at ER on a Saturday or Sunday in a semi final 2 or 3 seasons back?

I think they played each other at ER in two consecutive season, think both went to penalties

04-11-2015, 10:01 PM
Hard to say who was MoM after such a wonderful team display. Pace, movement, determination made it our best display for a long time. Easy to pick United's best play, their goalkeeper was brilliant and saved them from a total hiding.

Since1875Hibs
04-11-2015, 10:03 PM
Really enjoyed that tonight!

04-11-2015, 10:04 PM
Well done to Oxley as well for making a good save 1 on 1 after 77 minutes. We dominated the match but last year we were undone time and again by losing silly goals against the run of play. We've improved in every area :aok:

Yes, good point. An excellent save and remember Oxley had hardly anything to do all night until then so his concentration level was spot on.

04-11-2015, 10:20 PM
Yes, good point. An excellent save and remember Oxley had hardly anything to do all night until then so his concentration level was spot on.

Oxley has been superb this season, I was one of his biggest critics as well. Well done with the one on one as its sometimes easy to let standards drop when you have nothing to do during a game.

04-11-2015, 10:25 PM

That was so pleasing

Absolute roaster fudbaws

04-11-2015, 10:32 PM
Oxley has been superb this season, I was one of his biggest critics as well. Well done with the one on one as its sometimes easy to let standards drop when you have nothing to do during a game.
Yup the Ox has won me over too...been outstanding this season since the petrofac cup game...having such a solid defence in front of him helps too but we'll done the big man

04-11-2015, 10:39 PM
There was a phase of play in the 2nd half when we must have put 25-30 passes together and unfortunately their goalie made a save from Malonga(?) Would have been goal of the season.

04-11-2015, 10:49 PM
Barcelona or Real Madrid wouldn't have managed to keep up with us in that first half :agree: and if it wasn't for their keeper having several crackin saves we could quite easily have had at least 6....FACT :thumbsup:

5-zip v two SPL teams...pfftt

04-11-2015, 10:55 PM
Best game of football I have seen at ER in quite some time. Outstanding from Hibs. Their keeper made some great saves and we missed a few sitters so it could easily have been more than 3 tonight.

Yup, I'd agree with that. Best performance I've seen from a Hibs team for a long time, thoroughly enjoyed it - and it looked as if the players did too. Won't single out anyone 'cos the whole team was immense tonight. Only the keeper saved United from a real hammering, without his efforts we could easily have doubled the scoreline. And isn't it nice to see so many smiling faces leaving Easter Road after a game - long may it continue.

04-11-2015, 11:01 PM
Home now.
Fantastic performance again.
Lovin' being a Hibby just now. ⚽️👍

Hannah_hfc
04-11-2015, 11:05 PM
Amazing performance tonight from Hibs, can't remember the last time I turned up to ER and was so confident of a us winning!

Sat with some Dundee Utd fans on the train back, praised how well Hibs played and dreading if their team go down next season. Some decent chat on the train home anyway

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

04-11-2015, 11:17 PM
Fantastic performance by Hibs .... 5 - 0 wouldn't have flattered us, the Utd keeper was superb.

The whole team was on their game and some of our play was excellent ... 11 man of the match contenders tonight and the crowd was great :aok:

£20 to get in ...... worth every last penny http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

StevieBoyKdy
04-11-2015, 11:23 PM
Anyone else expected that tonight? I've been saying all week to work mates we'll take United to the cleaners. Thankfully it won't be egg of my face tomorrow just £££ £20 on Hibs 11/8 easy easy easy money.

Great at performance and well done to the fans. Love the floodlight nights

04-11-2015, 11:28 PM
http://www.snspix.com/image/11399773_400_400_0_0_fit_0_e499c0a17cb7d74a24c6981 ae44d00f6.jpg

Hope it hurt ya hearts ****. :aok:

04-11-2015, 11:30 PM
oh aye, and how the heck did farid miss that open goal :eek:

04-11-2015, 11:32 PM
Love this. This is a TEAM.

04-11-2015, 11:43 PM
Can I just add, thought Collumn was good tonight and had to overrule the useless East linesman a few times.

Jim Herriot
04-11-2015, 11:44 PM
Just seen the goals on Hibs TV. Lewis really needs to work on his goal celebrations.

05-11-2015, 07:17 AM
What was the attendance last night? 😳
I missed the announcement.

05-11-2015, 07:25 AM
http://www.snspix.com/image/11399773_400_400_0_0_fit_0_e499c0a17cb7d74a24c6981 ae44d00f6.jpg

Hope it hurt ya hearts ****. :aok:

Always makes it a bit sweeter when theres an ex yam in the opposition :greengrin:giruy2:

Don't worry "gowser" just flash a couple 5-1 signs and everything will be ok :aok::dummytit::na na:

05-11-2015, 07:26 AM
Love this. This is a TEAM.

Brilliant togetherness and team spirit, fantastic to see :thumbsup:

05-11-2015, 07:26 AM
Anyone got any photos of the players huddle after the 3rd goal

Billy
05-11-2015, 08:16 AM
Anyone got any photos of the players huddle after the 3rd goal

05-11-2015, 08:30 AM

Cheers Billy

05-11-2015, 08:54 AM
Did McGinn go off injured? I thought it was just a tactical switch but the BBC last night made it sound like he had to go off due to injury?

H18S NX
05-11-2015, 09:07 AM
11,800/1400 away fans.

05-11-2015, 10:11 AM
what's the caption for this then

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/464/cpsprodpb/10433/production/_86511666_stubbs-paatelainen1.jpg

i reckon mixu is saying *%&* the hertz

05-11-2015, 04:26 PM
Had a wee look on a Utd site to see what their thoughts on Mixu were, and found this thread - not many posts on it, but still very complimentary about us: -

http://boards.footymad.net/dundeeunited-mad/2109717446/#B6uTOLoqmuATVBTC.97

05-11-2015, 04:52 PM
what's the caption for this then

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/464/cpsprodpb/10433/production/_86511666_stubbs-paatelainen1.jpg

i reckon mixu is saying *%&* the hertz

Is that just an unfortunate moment or is he actually going mad? :confused:

05-11-2015, 04:55 PM
Had a wee look on a Utd site to see what their thoughts on Mixu were, and found this thread - not many posts on it, but still very complimentary about us: -

http://boards.footymad.net/dundeeunited-mad/2109717446/#B6uTOLoqmuATVBTC.97

I read that earlier today and you have to give the United fans credit for their honesty in their assessment of the match last night. Good to get the credit that we deserve.

05-11-2015, 04:57 PM
I read that earlier today and you have to give the United fans credit for their honesty in their assessment of the match last night. Good to get the credit that we deserve.

Think this is their main fans site, natives not happy

http://eastfootball.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49

05-11-2015, 04:58 PM

We did play well so it is good to see them acknowledge this.

I does make me feel bad about being as scathing as I have about them but they were truly dreadful.

I fear for them, especially as we know what it is like to be in the position they're in right now. Selling your best players, not replacing them, disconnect between fans and chairman, starting to get through managers, latest appointment was a popular player at the club………..

05-11-2015, 05:12 PM
Just seen the goals on Hibs TV. Lewis really needs to work on his goal celebrations.

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/05/e5f341ee68b9be25bbe3fb12ad7b2360.jpg

Better? [emoji3]