View Full Version : Which past Hibs Player would you add

03-11-2015, 11:40 PM
Was wondering about this earlier.

If you could pick one past Hibs player and add it to the present team, who would it be and why him?

My choice would be John O'Neil, not exactly needed in midfield at present but I believe he would make our present midfield shine beyond it's capabilities.

03-11-2015, 11:42 PM
A young fit Gary O'Connor :aok:

Mcpakeisgod
03-11-2015, 11:44 PM
Sauzee

03-11-2015, 11:45 PM
Scott Allan

03-11-2015, 11:46 PM
Loads of obvious ones but what about David Murphy - he'd be quality in that team.

03-11-2015, 11:46 PM
Russell latapy. Always latapy!

Mixu62
03-11-2015, 11:50 PM
Reckon the old Durie/Cowans partnership would lap up all these chances we create.

03-11-2015, 11:50 PM
Lawrie Reilly.

03-11-2015, 11:53 PM
Joe T... :woohoo:

04-11-2015, 12:03 AM
Loads of obvious ones but what about David Murphy - he'd be quality in that team.

:agree: and/or Whittaker.

04-11-2015, 12:20 AM
Derek Riordan

04-11-2015, 12:22 AM
Amadou Konte.

04-11-2015, 12:29 AM
Beastie

04-11-2015, 01:21 AM
What are you all talking about? No debate here.

Joe Baker scored 40 goals a season in a vastly superior league when he was playing for us back in the day.

In THIS league, a young, fit Baker Boy'd be scoring hat-tricks (plural) every game.

Joe simply WAS THE BEST. :not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

04-11-2015, 01:33 AM

Joe Baker scored 40 goals a season in a vastly superior league when he was playing for us back in the day.

In THIS league, a young, fit Baker Boy'd be scoring hat-tricks (plural) every game.

Joe Baker, but not Joe Harper right?

😜

04-11-2015, 01:35 AM
Rowan Vine

04-11-2015, 01:58 AM
Pat Stanton or Jimmy O'Rourke would do me, but they're getting on a bit now.

04-11-2015, 02:16 AM
Alen Ormen

04-11-2015, 07:06 AM
Benny Brazil

04-11-2015, 07:17 AM
Shades

04-11-2015, 08:02 AM
Pat mcginley latapy and sauzee........seen them all play and it was the baws

random sub
04-11-2015, 08:05 AM
Leigh Griffiths- would get those goals raining in

04-11-2015, 08:09 AM
Zbigniew Malkowski

04-11-2015, 08:10 AM
"Ah yes, the old What if ploy...." Stanton or Sauzee would improve any team anywhere - ever. But for this league and the packed defences - Alex Cropley. Great passer of the ball and pinpoint accuracy with passes long and short. Also chipped in with his own strike rate.

04-11-2015, 08:14 AM
Arthur Duncan flying down the wing and scoring plenty as well.

04-11-2015, 08:20 AM
Alan Gordon - all our players would have to do is continually lump a high ball into the box and it'd be a goal 9/10 ! I've never seen such a player for winning and scoring the high-balls like he did !!

04-11-2015, 08:36 AM
Anyone who doesn't say Sauzee isn't a football fan!

Bill Milne
04-11-2015, 08:37 AM
Mixu, led the line brilliantly and gave added heading ability.

04-11-2015, 08:44 AM
David Murphy, Boozy and Riordan.

04-11-2015, 08:46 AM
Griffiths. Best player I've ever seen play for Hibs.

Rasta_Hibs
04-11-2015, 08:47 AM
Joe Baker!!

Failing that Derek Riordan then Sauzee and then Latapy!!!

Tha Cabbage Kid
04-11-2015, 09:01 AM
would have to agree Sauzee would improve our current squad no end!!!

04-11-2015, 09:58 AM
Scott Brown

04-11-2015, 10:00 AM
Alex Edwards - genius. :not worth

xyz23jc
04-11-2015, 10:04 AM
Alex Edwards - genius. :not worth

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif:agree:http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gifAbsolutely, saved me posting the same Jim! http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

04-11-2015, 10:07 AM
would have to agree Sauzee would improve our current squad no end!!!

:agree: Sauzee for me

We don't concede many as it is, but imagine how good we'd be back there with Sauzee organising and sweeping in behind Hanlon and Fontaine or McGregor, then striding into the midfield to help support them when we have the ball.

04-11-2015, 10:22 AM
I'm happy with our squad but if I were to be critical I'd say we're a bit short out wide.

Mickey Weir would sort that. Or as we've often talked about a natural left-sided wide midfielder being needed, maybe Michael O'Neill would do the trick.

Not that I ever saw him play but I have it on pretty good authority that yon Gordon Smith chappie would walk into just about any team so you'd have to take him and build the team around him.

04-11-2015, 11:32 AM
I'm happy with our squad but if I were to be critical I'd say we're a bit short out wide.

Mickey Weir would sort that. Or as we've often talked about a natural left-sided wide midfielder being needed, maybe Michael O'Neill would do the trick.

Not that I ever saw him play but I have it on pretty good authority that yon Gordon Smith chappie would walk into just about any team so you'd have to take him and build the team around him.

Surprised nobody has mentioned a goalie. That's been our weakness for a long time.
I'd suggest either Goram, Rough or Leighton between the sticks would make a big difference.

04-11-2015, 12:38 PM
Franck Sauzee . Of players still playing , it's an on form Fletcher . Just shades it from Sparky .

7-Heaven
04-11-2015, 01:09 PM
Alex Cropley, Alex Edwards, Alan Gordon, Jimmy O'rourke and of course King Paddy :hibees

04-11-2015, 01:14 PM
Pat Stanton, Shades, brownlie, sauzee, to name a few

Bracksy
04-11-2015, 01:18 PM
Got to be Leigh - would score about 40 goals!

04-11-2015, 01:21 PM

Damn, was hoping to be the first to say him :greengrin

We are pretty solid at the back and midfield ...... what we are crying out for is a tricky wee bugger who can beat a couple of guys and score or set up chances, Mickey is just the man.

04-11-2015, 03:56 PM
Damn, was hoping to be the first to say him :greengrin

We are pretty solid at the back and midfield ...... what we are crying out for is a tricky wee bugger who can beat a couple of guys and score or set up chances, Mickey is just the man.

Micky Edwards for me.

04-11-2015, 04:18 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned a goalie. That's been our weakness for a long time.
I'd suggest either Goram, Rough or Leighton between the sticks would make a big difference.

One goaly has been mentioned.

I too was surprised that a goaly was not top of our list. Is this because Oxley had a good game against The Rangers and as fans we forget his last bad decision or is it because we genuinely don't think we needed one???

04-11-2015, 04:30 PM
Zemmama - Would tear teams about with his skill and vision alone

04-11-2015, 04:40 PM
One goaly has been mentioned.

I too was surprised that a goaly was not top of our list. Is this because Oxley had a good game against The Rangers and as fans we forget his last bad decision or is it because we genuinely don't think we needed one???

Barring some early slips against Rangers in the Petrofac and Dumarton in the league opener Oxley has been in superb form this season. I had question marks earlier on this season but he has gone on to put in some top performances since then, including Sunday.

Goalkeepers often seem a bit under appreciated. I think I took them for granted when I was younger because we always seemed to have excellent ones in Rough, Goram and Leighton (Burridge not too shabby either). But in recent years, having seen some of the jokers who managed to get to play for us I have a renewed appreciation of the art of goalkeeping. I never understand the logic in the phrase "it's a lot of money for a goalkeeper" because more than any position a goalkeeper can win you points single handed. Having confidence in a 'keeper's ability to bail you out when you need it most does wonders for a team.

Any of Leighton, Goram or Rough would be worthy of a mention in this thread. It's quite good fun choosing who from the players we've all seen in the past would complement the current crop best though and for me a new goalkeeper doesn't spring to mind first.

Although if you could have put Goram or Leighton at their best into Mowbray's team in place of Zibi…….

04-11-2015, 04:44 PM
Stanton for me

04-11-2015, 04:50 PM
Past player - gordon smith in prime could maybe win us spl.

Player still playing. Scott Allan as would add more creativity .

QUOTE=southern hibby;4495586]One goaly has been mentioned.

GGTTH[/QUOTE]

04-11-2015, 10:39 PM
"Ah yes, the old What if ploy...." Stanton or Sauzee would improve any team anywhere - ever. But for this league and the packed defences - Alex Cropley. Great passer of the ball and pinpoint accuracy with passes long and short. Also chipped in with his own strike rate.

That's along the lines I was thinking. Reckon a latter day Craig Brewster would bring young Jason along a treat.

hhibs
04-11-2015, 11:11 PM

Absolutely,followed by shades and as goalkeeper Jim Leighton.......sorry just greedy!

HappyHanlon
04-11-2015, 11:26 PM
Humphrey Rudge.

I'd get rid of Paul Hanlon, he's awful Rudge ahead of him all day long.

04-11-2015, 11:59 PM
Archie goal

05-11-2015, 12:27 AM
Matty Jack or David Murphy

06-11-2015, 11:15 PM
Tony Rougier :wink::greengrin

stu in nottingham
07-11-2015, 02:37 PM

Exactly mirrored my thoughts! I was just sitting here thinking that Joe would score 3-4 goals a game at this level! :wink:

ManBearPig
07-11-2015, 04:03 PM
David Murphy would be the only player for me that would add something and fit into style of plau

07-11-2015, 05:18 PM
A 28 year old Sauzee simply for his onfield leadership qualities :greengrin
Failing that
Bobby Johnstone
Alex Edwards
Pat Stanton
Anyone of them would bring that spark of genius to the team

cad
07-11-2015, 05:40 PM
Leigh, Cropley, or Wee Eck
The Baker Boy or Willie Hamilton whom Ive never seen play, but really Auld Hibs fans tell me they were something else magical even

07-11-2015, 05:52 PM
Alan Gordon - all our players would have to do is continually lump a high ball into the box and it'd be a goal 9/10 ! I've never seen such a player for winning and scoring the high-balls like he did !!

Probably the best headerer of a ball I have seen. the 7th goal in "that" game and an amazing diving header against Aberdeen being two that spring to mind

07-11-2015, 08:42 PM
Alex Cropley, outstanding player and hard as nails

07-11-2015, 08:44 PM
A 28 year old Sauzee simply for his onfield leadership qualities :greengrin
Failing that
Bobby Johnstone
Alex Edwards
Pat Stanton
Anyone of them would bring that spark of genius to the team

Alex Edwards now there was a player I loved to see as a very young boy, could ping a pass 70 yards onto a 10p piece. Would be worth Millions today

07-11-2015, 08:57 PM
Darren Jackson some of his play was brilliant link-up and lay offs clever player who capped it off appearing at France 98 think we would be good in our current side

Sauzee latapy and co would breeze it but Jackson for me lol

07-11-2015, 09:00 PM
Scott Allan

Who?

07-11-2015, 09:52 PM
Alex Edwards now there was a player I loved to see as a very young boy, could ping a pass 70 yards onto a 10p piece. Would be worth Millions today

Blank cheque even!!
Sad he never got the recognition he deserved , nationally

hibeeron
07-11-2015, 10:05 PM
Agree 100% with Alex Edwards but must put in the mix another flawed genius Willie Hamilton
Both Magicians with mercurial talent but?

Septimus
08-11-2015, 07:25 AM
Eddie Turnbull. Was he really as good as I remember?

Edson Arantes
08-11-2015, 05:51 PM
Has to be Sauzee.

HAS to be!

cmcd
08-11-2015, 05:57 PM
Anyone who doesn't say Sauzee isn't a football fan!

Depends how old you are

08-11-2015, 06:34 PM
Russell Latapy all day long

Norrieg
08-11-2015, 07:12 PM
Agree 100% with Alex Edwards but must put in the mix another flawed genius Willie Hamilton
Both Magicians with mercurial talent but?

Willie Hamilton !!! Best football player I ever saw.:flag:

08-11-2015, 07:38 PM
Ditto - Willie Hamilton.

Scott Allan couldnae lace his boots.

I saw Puskas at Easter Road. He couldnae lace Willie's boots either.

08-11-2015, 08:09 PM

I've probably posted this before, but I was lucky as a young fellah to see Hibs train at the JKC.
Mickey Edwards was planting dead balls from 50 yards, both feet, to anywhere anyone asked.
Erich Scheadler tried it once.....much as I loved him too.
In fact, come to think of it, he'd be the one I want brought back, with Alan Gordon giving him a lift.

08-11-2015, 08:21 PM
I've probably posted this before, but I was lucky as a young fellah to see Hibs train at the JKC.
Mickey Edwards was planting dead balls from 50 yards, both feet, to anywhere anyone asked.
Erich Scheadler tried it once.....much as I loved him too.
In fact, come to think of it, he'd be the one I want brought back, with Alan Gordon giving him a lift.
Shades was my hero back in the 70's all started with that crunching tackle and run to make a goal in the seven nil rout of the poppy thieves at their place

dchibs
08-11-2015, 08:27 PM
:agree:[QUOTE=JimBHibees;4495261]Alex Edwards - genius. :not worth[/QUO:thumbsup:TE]

cmcd
08-11-2015, 09:37 PM
Leigh, Cropley, or Wee Eck
The Baker Boy or Willie Hamilton whom Ive never seen play, but really Auld Hibs fans tell me they were something else magical even

As i have ssid many times before Willie Hamilton was a genious Having said that the 2 players i would have in todays team are Onion and Shades Two brilliant fullbacks who could not only defend but attack with pace

08-11-2015, 09:47 PM
As i have ssid many times before Willie Hamilton was a genious Having said that the 2 players i would have in todays team are Onion and Shades Two brilliant fullbacks who could not only defend but attack with pace

Out of the two it has to be Brownlie....

08-11-2015, 09:52 PM
Marvelous as Hamilton apparently was (I never saw him play) and Edwards was (I did see him play) I think I am glad they are not playing in the internet era. Can you imagine how much abuse they would have taken from the internet bampots with their, ahem, off-field indiscretions?