View Full Version : Question Hibees or Hibbies

Billy
01-11-2015, 03:28 PM
For a bit of fun.

I've noticed a few times that some people use the term Hibbies on here and Twitter. Other like myself write it as Hibees.

I've always written Hibees or singular Hibby.

What is your preferred option or do you have a completely different spelling:confused:

01-11-2015, 03:32 PM
Hibees is correct imo.

As the song says 'Hibee hibernian'. Not hibby hibernian

01-11-2015, 03:33 PM
It's a tough one, but i suppose I would say that I am a Hibby that supports the Hibees.

Billy
01-11-2015, 03:36 PM
Not that it matters as we are all one big happy Hibee :greengrin family.

Just interested to see what most of us write or say when we talk about ourselves. :thumbsup:

01-11-2015, 03:38 PM
i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...a single female hibs fan is a hibbyette, a group of female hibs fans are hibbyettes...end of

Billy
01-11-2015, 03:40 PM
i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...female hibs fans are hibbyettes

:greengrin:not worth

01-11-2015, 03:40 PM
i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...female hibs fans are hibbyettes

Please tell me you aren't serious.

I am a Hibee. End of.

01-11-2015, 03:43 PM
oh aye and something else

it was the coo shed, it was never a 'cave' caves are underground dammit...therefore>>> it WAS the coo shed...or cow shed for politeness

01-11-2015, 03:44 PM
Team: Hibees

One Fan: Hibby

Two Or More Fans: Hibbies.

01-11-2015, 04:09 PM
One fan: Hibee
2 or more fans: Hibees

Simple.

01-11-2015, 04:23 PM

Correct.

And an individual Hibs player is a Hibee (unless of course they're a Hibs-supporting Hibee, which would make them a Hibby).

01-11-2015, 04:24 PM
One fan: Hibee
2 or more fans: Hibees

Simple.

01-11-2015, 04:26 PM
I've always been a Hibee.

01-11-2015, 04:37 PM

Sums it up perfectly. :thumbsup:

Stax
01-11-2015, 04:44 PM
Me, my auld man, my laddie and my late grandad are all, or were, Hibby's that support the Hibees :greengrin

01-11-2015, 04:59 PM
I say someone's 'a good Hibby' and that I'm off to see the Hibees :greengrin

01-11-2015, 05:39 PM
Hibbie for me ..:gwa:

01-11-2015, 06:03 PM
i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...a single female hibs fan is a hibbyette, a group of female hibs fans are hibbyettes...end of

We've just done a local straw poll, all four of us, and this is the answer:thumbsup:

01-11-2015, 06:12 PM
Many years ago, when the number 1 bus was a circle route, there used to be a guy who would get on somewhere around Fountainbridge iirc, and proudly, and repeatedly, announce to everyone on the bus, "Ah'm a Hibby". :greengrin

I prefer to shout "Come on Hibs" than "Come on Hibees", but "Hibees, Hibees, Hibees" is fine.

I'm a Hibby and my pals are Hibbies. Female Hibs fans are Hibbies too.

Baby fans are Hibettes.

01-11-2015, 06:18 PM
I'm a Hibby but when I'm at game I shout for the Hibees.

01-11-2015, 06:21 PM
In my wee super duper Collins Scots dictionary, published 1995, it defines:

Hibee (pronounced High-bee or Hib-bee). A Hibee is a supporter of Hibernian Football Club, who are nicknamed the Hibees.

01-11-2015, 06:31 PM
This thread would be like shooting fish in a barrel for the Grammar Police.

Stax
01-11-2015, 06:59 PM
This thread would be like shooting fish in a barrel for the Grammar Police.
Your avatar States you are a Hibs private members prediction winner there are also several members viewing this thread. I thought members' was the correct term, saying that I got c for o grade English so I'm sure someone will correct me :slipper:

01-11-2015, 09:47 PM

Correct

01-11-2015, 09:52 PM

01-11-2015, 10:37 PM

This :agree:

01-11-2015, 10:44 PM
oh aye and something else

it was the coo shed, it was never a 'cave' caves are underground dammit...therefore>>> it WAS the coo shed...or cow shed for politeness

Always called it the Cave, never heard it called the coo shed until a couple of years ago on here. Will always be the Cave to me ! :greengrin

01-11-2015, 10:54 PM
Hibby`s , Hibee`s, Hib`s... or even Hibo`s... im a Hibby... :greengrin

01-11-2015, 10:57 PM
Your avatar States you are a Hibs private members prediction winner there are also several members viewing this thread. I thought members' was the correct term, saying that I got c for o grade English so I'm sure someone will correct me :slipper:

I've no idea what my avatar states as I didn't write the accompanying text and I can't see it on my mobile anyway.

02-11-2015, 11:10 AM

This :agree:

I am a Hibby, who along with other Hibbies goes to watch the Hibees.

02-11-2015, 11:16 AM
Never say hibees except at the start of the game.
But that is when I am singing it along with you lot.

I am a hibby.

We are hibbies/hibbys.

The team are hibbys

02-11-2015, 12:09 PM
With apologies for quoting another chap's signature ....

"I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." (Lawrie Reilly :not worth)

It's entirely up to others how they speak of themselves, and I'm not going to fall out about it, but what's good enough for Last-Minute Reilly has to be good enough for me.

HIBEE. :flag:

02-11-2015, 12:21 PM
With apologies for quoting another chap's signature ....

"I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." (Lawrie Reilly :not worth)

It's entirely up to others how they speak of themselves, and I'm not going to fall out about it, but what's good enough for Last-Minute Reilly has to be good enough for me.

HIBEE. :flag:

I say Hibby, You say Hibee. I say Fyvie, you say Fivee.

Hibby
Hibee
Fyvie
Fyvee

Lets call the whole thing off :greengrin

Billy
03-11-2015, 12:18 PM
Looks like Hibee/Hibees is the winner :wink::greengrin

Still calling myself a Hibby though :greengrin

Thanks to everyone who responded to the thread :not worth

Jim_in_Canada
03-11-2015, 03:32 PM
It's a tough one, but i suppose I would say that I am a Hibby that supports the Hibees.

I agree with that !