View Full Version : Chinese munchy box

27-10-2015, 09:20 PM
Ok so have a night out on friday and have no mrs or kid on sat night. Normally my post hangover eats is a munchy box, you know the one, kebab meat, chips, pakora etc etc. However ive seen a few friends on Facebook raving about munchy boxes from the Chinese and well, it sounds like post hangover heaven.

Unfortunately they all live in Livingston or west side of Edinburgh.

So, does anyone know a Chinese that delivers in the leith area offering this mystical creation?

27-10-2015, 10:44 PM
Funny enough a mate mentioned one of these earlier this week,I've never heard of them before either.

28-10-2015, 10:04 AM
Have a search on google for "chinatown takeaway hilltown munchy box" doesnae look too appetising but, seems very popular. Couldnae find an Edinburgh version.

28-10-2015, 10:56 AM
Have a search on google for "chinatown takeaway hilltown munchy box" doesnae look too appetising but, seems very popular. Couldnae find an Edinburgh version.

Aye, ive done a google and some seemed great, others not so much.....and like you, couldn't find any in the leith area from googling it. I may just need to pick one up from somewhere in the west of edinburgh that my mates are getting them from, or stop off at Jaflong in longstone instead since I will be in the area :thumbsup:

05-11-2015, 03:08 PM
Think the Rice Box on ER is about to start doing them because I just sold them 1000 pizza boxes today for a 'new dish'.

05-11-2015, 04:07 PM
If your going to be near Jaffie's you could try Treasure Cottage over at saughton mains gardens... Their munchy box is a "starter box"

Spare ribs
Spring rolls
Chicken wings
Chicken parcels
And
Prawn toast

Works for me :-)

Oh... And it's £7.20

Mind you, Jaffie's is hard to go past :-/

05-11-2015, 08:14 PM
Think the Rice Box on ER is about to start doing them because I just sold them 1000 pizza boxes today for a 'new dish'.

Really, that sucks. Ive been 4 times ro ricebox because people were raving, everytime it was rank. But I know ill stumble by drunk one night and try it haha

05-11-2015, 08:14 PM
If your going to be near Jaffie's you could try Treasure Cottage over at saughton mains gardens... Their munchy box is a "starter box"

Spare ribs
Spring rolls
Chicken wings
Chicken parcels
And
Prawn toast

Works for me :-)

Oh... And it's £7.20

Mind you, Jaffie's is hard to go past :-/

Yeah it was last weekend, and I went foe the jaffa special ;-)

06-11-2015, 05:16 PM
Yeah it was last weekend, and I went foe the jaffa special ;-)

Ha ha! That'll teach me to read this stuff while having a "few" in the pub! ...... FWIW I tried it out after I posted.... NOT the pizza box you'd have expected, was a polystyrene thing, prob about half the size, maybe a bit more..... The Special was a better shout :D

07-11-2015, 05:32 PM
The good lady has informed me that the orchid in portobello does them.

07-11-2015, 06:10 PM
Nah the sauces would run everywhere.

08-11-2015, 03:02 PM
Craving one of these. Perfect hangover scran. Need to scout about for somewhere in Dundee that does them!

08-11-2015, 04:53 PM
Think they sound rotten.

08-11-2015, 05:35 PM
Think they sound rotten.

Yep me too.

08-11-2015, 08:27 PM
They are the dogs danglies

08-11-2015, 09:39 PM