View Full Version : Saints v Sevco

25-10-2015, 10:50 AM
Fancy Rangers to sneak a 2-1 today but it'll be interesting to see what kind of challenge they will face in Paisley. Hopefully, Saints can sneak something and give us a chance to close the gap at the top even more next week.

25-10-2015, 10:55 AM
I posted on the points difference thread I expect a comfortable Rangers win today.

St Mirren are utter garbage and Ian Murray will be lucky to see the season out. We should have beaten them a few weeks back and I genuinely think they will struggle to make 4th place.

I'd love to see Rangers drop points today but I think it will be next week before that happens.

25-10-2015, 10:58 AM
I posted on the points difference thread I expect a comfortable Rangers win today. St Mirren are utter garbage and Ian Murray will be lucky to see the season out. We should have beaten them a few weeks back and I genuinely think they will struggle to make 4th place. I'd love to see Rangers drop points today but I think it will be next week before that happens.

Der Hun will stroll it IMHO.

25-10-2015, 11:04 AM
What times kickoff?

25-10-2015, 11:04 AM
What times kickoff?

12.30 I think

25-10-2015, 11:34 AM
Is this on tv?

25-10-2015, 11:40 AM
Is this on tv?

Bt sports

25-10-2015, 11:50 AM
Can only really see a fairly routine and comfortable win for The Rangers, unfortunately.

As Pretty Boy said, we should have tucked St Mirren away comfortably when we played them. They're not good.

25-10-2015, 11:54 AM
Can only really see a fairly routine and comfortable win for The Rangers, unfortunately.

As Pretty Boy said, we should have tucked St Mirren away comfortably when we played them. They're not good.

Neither are qots but they ran them close recently.

The rangers are rightly favorites but I wouldn't completely dismiss st mirrens chances.

If tavernier was to tweak a hammy I wouldn't be overly disappointed.

25-10-2015, 11:56 AM
Neither are qots but they ran them close recently.

The rangers are rightly favorites but I wouldn't completely dismiss st mirrens chances.

If tavernier was to tweak a hammy I wouldn't be overly disappointed.

Tavernier and Lee wallace to tackle each other and put themselves out for the rest of the season in a non career threatening manner please.

25-10-2015, 11:58 AM
Tavernier and Lee wallace to tackle each other and put themselves out for the rest of the season in a non career threatening manner please.

They don't have to miss the season, just until we were confirmed as champions.

25-10-2015, 12:21 PM
Hibs challenge of late not even mentioned on BT Rangers as yet...according to fat pie man Boyd...Sevco players are fitter than EVERY other team in league...yawn

25-10-2015, 12:22 PM
Looking at The Rangers bench, they are struggling if they get a couple of injuries.

25-10-2015, 12:29 PM
Looking at The Rangers bench, they are struggling if they get a couple of injuries.

Just saying that exact thing to my mate. I know it's an "IF" but injuries to a couple of key players could test them big time. Decent first pick team but there squad doesn't look very strong.

Hibeewilly
25-10-2015, 12:30 PM
I fancy a draw which will do us fine anything else is a bonus - 1-1:agree:

FRes Hibbie
25-10-2015, 12:31 PM
Skybet were offering 9/1 for a st mirren win last night. I know they're not great but at home that seems pretty long!

25-10-2015, 12:34 PM
Goodwin a cert to be sent off now.

25-10-2015, 12:35 PM
5 mins in and a yellow for Goodwin already

25-10-2015, 12:35 PM
Goodwin carded for a trip on Halliday!! That's the start of the Officials "protecting" Warbs players. Media done there job this week then...

25-10-2015, 12:36 PM
I see they are still singing about guarding that 17th century wall

25-10-2015, 12:40 PM
Bt Sport conveniently don't have a good replay of the penalty shout.

It's like watching and listening to Huns TV.

25-10-2015, 12:41 PM
Start the conspiracy theories...

25-10-2015, 12:41 PM
St Mirren are the better team by a long way.

25-10-2015, 12:43 PM
BT Sports is very biased towards the huns. I thought McCall was going to say "We can't expect Rangers to win every game"....he instead said "we can't expect Rangers to win every game 3 and 4 nil". Their arrogance knows no bounds.

25-10-2015, 12:45 PM
That lad Mallan looks a bit of a livewire. Some lovely wee touches so far.

25-10-2015, 12:47 PM
Hibs will need to man mark Kenny Miller next week. He has still got it - a real handful.

25-10-2015, 12:51 PM
I've said it numerous times; if you get at this Rangers defence they don't look comfortable at all. The keeper also makes a lot of passes that put players under pressure. It should be very possible to score agains them.

25-10-2015, 12:53 PM
WTF was that?

25-10-2015, 12:54 PM
Saints need a goal they have been on top but need a goal from this spell

25-10-2015, 12:55 PM
Ffs

**** off man.

They have been pish and then score from nowt. Langfield wants shooting, should never get beat from that angle with a shot at chest height. Clangers indeed. Stupid haircut and tache as well.

Shocking goalkeeping from Langfield there.

25-10-2015, 12:56 PM
1-0 Huns keeper should have got it, I thought it was a deflection at first.

Langfield has had a mare! He's let it go thinking it's going wide!

liamh2202
Clangers tried to let it go wide.... Tube

25-10-2015, 12:57 PM
Knew St Mirren would pay for not taking chances...wtf was Clangers doing there??

Deary ****ing dear:rolleyes:

Tut tut from Langfeild.. That is rookie GK 101 and he's starting his coaching !

25-10-2015, 12:58 PM
How has that Kiernan not been booked yet?

25-10-2015, 12:59 PM
Nae wonder Langfield gets called Clangers! That's criminal goalkeeping.

25-10-2015, 01:00 PM
hows that no a booking for Kiernan???

25-10-2015, 01:01 PM
**** off man.

They have been pish and then score from nowt. Langfield wants shooting, should never get beat from that angle with a shot at chest height. Clangers indeed. Stupid haircut and tache as well.
Wondered what young Rolf was doing in goals when I switched on....

25-10-2015, 01:03 PM
Saintees singing "you're not Rangers any more" :-)

25-10-2015, 01:11 PM
How has that Kiernan not been booked yet?

Because he plays for Rangers.

25-10-2015, 01:12 PM
The rangers don't half get the 50/50 calls.

Anyway stuff this rugby time.

25-10-2015, 01:16 PM
Kind of form from Langfield that would have given both Zibi and Clown sleepless nights had he been on our books in the Mowbray era.

25-10-2015, 01:22 PM
Have to say St Mirren playing the right way against them. Pressing high up the park and getting close to each man. Rangers leaving 2 on 2 at the back when they go forward and if St Mirren break Kiernan just brings someone down to give them time to get men back. How the hell has he not been carded?!

25-10-2015, 01:25 PM
I see they are still singing about guarding that 17th century wall

Strange how it is Derry's walls in the song yet they refuse to call it anything but Londnderry.

25-10-2015, 01:26 PM
Funny how Steven McLean seems to be reffing a lot of the Rangers bigger games... Was humpy at Ipox when we played them too... The non existent hamd ball against Dylan that lead to the only goal

25-10-2015, 01:46 PM
Stuart McCall just mentioned our "dubious penalty" at Falkirk. They just cant help themselves!

25-10-2015, 01:47 PM
Stuart McCall just mentioned our "dubious penalty" at Falkirk. They just cant help themselves!

Unbelieveable...yet fails to mention that Sevco have been awarded abiut a dozen pens this season

Northern Hibby
25-10-2015, 01:48 PM
Is it still 1-0?

25-10-2015, 01:51 PM
Is it still 1-0?
Yes

25-10-2015, 01:51 PM
Is it still 1-0?

Yes...still mostly St Midden too

IrnBru22
25-10-2015, 01:52 PM

What was the context?

liamh2202
25-10-2015, 01:53 PM
I reckon all the small dubious decisions that rangers get wind me up more than the big ones

25-10-2015, 01:54 PM
Why have they got a 4th official for this game yet none on Tuesday at our game?

25-10-2015, 01:54 PM
I've been watching the sunderland v Newcastle derby. An unbelievable result, sunderland won 3-0 yet Newcastle were the far superior team throughout.

25-10-2015, 01:55 PM
What was the context?

"I may be a ginger tit, but Why are Hibs getting pens like that when the SFA are paying them to help the Rangers"

25-10-2015, 01:55 PM
You only get a 4th official in our league if the games on tv.

liamh2202
25-10-2015, 01:56 PM

I think its only for telwvised games

I've been watching the sunderland v Newcastle derby. An unbelievable result, sunderland won 3-0 yet Newcastle were the far superior team throughout.

Just finished and tbh Collochini needs to have a long hard look at himself. Woeful defending and he cannot have any complaints about the red card.

Only games on tv have a fourth official in this league.

Because it's on TV

25-10-2015, 01:59 PM
Hmm, sounds bloody stupid to me. What's tee difference?

25-10-2015, 01:59 PM
Only games on tv have a fourth official in this league.

Why is that? To make it appear bigger time than it is? Other than ordering managers about and holding up subs boards I'm not sure they really contribute that much.

25-10-2015, 02:00 PM

I'm a Newcastle fan and it felt like watching Hibs play Hearts.

25-10-2015, 02:05 PM
On the evidence of what I've seen today, I'll be very disappointed if we don't win next week.

What was the context?

He mentioned that Hibs have won their last three difficult games and are not far behind Rangers. The commentator quickly changed the subject but not before McCall had mentioned THAT penalty.:rolleyes:

The Rangers are average and look dodgy at back through middle.

St Mirren could play until xmas and not threaten.

25-10-2015, 02:06 PM
Game stretched now. Can see the buns getting a pen...

25-10-2015, 02:10 PM
The Rangers are average and look dodgy at back through middle.

St Mirren could play until xmas and not threaten.

I switched off at half time. St.Mirren look quite poor and offer nothing up front. If the commentators think Saints have been decent then Rangers truly have been up against pure dross this season.

25-10-2015, 02:16 PM
Why is that? To make it appear bigger time than it is? Other than ordering managers about and holding up subs boards I'm not sure they really contribute that much.

That's exactly what I think as well.

25-10-2015, 02:17 PM
Other than few long ranfe efforts from Agnew..Saints have created nothing against a poor sevco performance

25-10-2015, 02:20 PM
Bring on the ****s. :aok:

25-10-2015, 02:23 PM
Judging by that performance today they will drop points this season and we have nothing to fear next Sunday

danderchook
25-10-2015, 02:24 PM
Its the wee things that bug me Goodwin got away with murder against us but got booked for his first tackle against the Rangers !!!

IrnBru22
25-10-2015, 02:27 PM
Foderingham rolls the ball out pretty much straight to a saints player, he seems to do this quite alot with his kicking aswell. Hopefully we can capatalize on it next week

25-10-2015, 02:29 PM
Rangers don't seem to have much depth to their squad, unlike Hibs. If they were to pick up some injuries to a few key players, they would be bringing in untried players.
When you think of our injury list this season, Farid, Boyle, Carmichael, Forster, Fyvie and Malonga etc, it's only about now we're almost upto full squad

25-10-2015, 02:31 PM
Rangers don't seem to have much depth to their squad, unlike Hibs. If they were to pick up some injuries to a few key players, they would be bringing in untried players.
When you think of our injury list this season, Farid, Boyle, Carmichael, Forster, Fyvie and Malonga etc, it's only about now we're almost upto full squad

Carmichael - I totally forgot about him. Is he injured just now or just not able to get in the squad?

25-10-2015, 02:34 PM
Carmichael - I totally forgot about him. Is he injured just now or just not able to get in the squad?

I think the way AS has us set up Boyle and Carmichael will get very little game time at the moment, the wide is still from Gray and Stevenson.

25-10-2015, 02:37 PM
Foderingham rolls the ball out pretty much straight to a saints player, he seems to do this quite alot with his kicking aswell. Hopefully we can capatalize on it next week

I have said this every time I watch The Rankers, all you have to do is put pressure on him and he'll flap !

25-10-2015, 02:47 PM

Think he must be injured, as he hasn't played for the development team of late, came on against Aberdeen and did well

25-10-2015, 03:34 PM
That's eleven straight wins out of eleven in this league for the newco. Other than Hibs, there seems to be no serious or realistic opposition to them in this league.

I also suspect some teams are scared of them, based purely on their name and past reputation, and are usually beaten before a ball is kicked.

It's going to be very difficult for Hibs to overtake them IMO, unless the newco suffer several injuries to key players (I don't wish that on any player BTW - even them). Aside from that, Warburton is being quoted today about signing players in January "who are already equipped to play for Rangers (sic) in the Premiership next season." That is very presumptious if that's what he actually said, but there is no doubt he/they think they are going to win the league.

Hibs simply have to win next week to have any chance of stopping them doing that. That's probably the easy part. The hard part is then for Hibs to continue winning, week after week.

25-10-2015, 04:14 PM
That's eleven straight wins out of eleven in this league for the newco. Other than Hibs, there seems to be no serious or realistic opposition to them in this league.

I also suspect some teams are scared of them, based purely on their name and past reputation, and are usually beaten before a ball is kicked.

It's going to be very difficult for Hibs to overtake them IMO, unless the newco suffer several injuries to key players (I don't wish that on any player BTW - even them). Aside from that, Warburton is being quoted today about signing players in January "who are already equipped to play for Rangers (sic) in the Premiership next season." That is very presumptious if that's what he actually said, but there is no doubt he/they think they are going to win the league.

Hibs simply have to win next week to have any chance of stopping them doing that. That's probably the easy part. The hard part is then for Hibs to continue winning, week after week.
On the other hand are a few cracks starting to appear in their armour...? They have gone from blowing teams away every week to now scraping wins, many teams now appear to have sussed out how to combat them better. This quarter of fixtures they have to go to Easter Rd and then Starks Park and Falkirk...plenty time yet for them to drop points.
As for signing premiership players, with what exactly?? Most of their signings in summer were loans...

25-10-2015, 06:53 PM
On the other hand are a few cracks starting to appear in their armour...? They have gone from blowing teams away every week to now scraping wins, many teams now appear to have sussed out how to combat them better. This quarter of fixtures they have to go to Easter Rd and then Starks Park and Falkirk...plenty time yet for them to drop points.
As for signing premiership players, with what exactly?? Most of their signings in summer were loans...

I don't have any inside knowledge of the state of play of finances at newco, and I don't really care unless it means they go into administration and are deducted 25 points.

However, part of the article I read today basically says Warburton has "also confirmed that he fully intends to continue exploiting the loan market, having done it successfully in England prior to joining (The) Rangers, where he is giving time to Arsenal's Gedion Zelalem & Spurs pair Nathan Oduwa & Dom Ball."

Warburton goes on to say "so if we can access that market & get the one, two, three players we think can make a difference and add value beyond what we already have then we've got to use it. We have to." Make of that statement what you like...

IMHO clubs don't have to spend huge amounts of money anyway to get the quality of player needed to compete in the Scottish Premiership. They just need to sign the right players, whether they be on long term contracts or on loan for 6/12 months. The fact that most of their summer signings were loans as you say (were they? - I'm not sure) doesn't seem to have done them any harm, so far.

Like you, I believe there is time for them to drop points. But that applies to Hibs too I'm afraid. How many will each team drop between now and the end of the season? Who knows? I would rather Hibs were 8 points in front right now.

PS: This is not a criticism, but Hibs scraped wins against Falkirk & RR. It doesn't matter how games are won at the end of the day. It's simply winning week after week which wins titles.

25-10-2015, 07:20 PM
Its the wee things that bug me Goodwin got away with murder against us but got booked for his first tackle against the Rangers !!!

I think the ref was itching too book someone after the handbags incident earlier. Goodwin might have got away with a talking to otherwise...