View Full Version : Dublin

Northern Hibby
21-10-2015, 12:25 PM
Heading off to Dublin tomorrow, as a Hibernian fan is there any place that is a must see?

Iceman1875
21-10-2015, 12:40 PM
I was over a few weeks ago and rocked a hibs shirt for a day and a few people recognised the shirt/club. One thing I went to see was Shamrock Rovers ground, didn't see Pat mind you!

At Easter Road we play...

Northern Hibby
21-10-2015, 12:50 PM
I was over a few weeks ago and rocked a hibs shirt for a day and a few people recognised the shirt/club. One thing I went to see was Shamrock Rovers ground, didn't see Pat mind you!

At Easter Road we play...

Think i'm getting to old to be walking around on Holiday, with my wife, wearing a Hibs top, but I do have a cheeky wee black Nike Number with Hibs Badge on it. :wink:

hibbypostie
21-10-2015, 12:58 PM
Heading off to Dublin tomorrow, as a Hibernian fan is there any place that is a must see?

I was there a couple of years ago and would defo recommend these

~http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186605-d191025-Reviews-Kilmainham_Gaol-Dublin_County_Dublin.html

~http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/st-michans-church

21-10-2015, 01:49 PM
I'd recommend a trip to Croke Park and the museum..jamieson distillery tour at Smithfield really good..cobblestone in Smithfield for a great pub with best trad in town..Dinnae bother with temple bar, it's crap..have a walk along the canal and turn at portobello..nice bars and restruants going down there to Camden st to Georges st..long haul bar, library bar for something different...Phoenix park is worth a stroll and kilmainham jail well worth a trip

Plenty of great stuff on on Sunday as its a bank holiday....us girls playing at whelans...pitty I'm there but running the marathon Monday so best behaviour required

21-10-2015, 01:51 PM
Johnny Foxes

Tom Hart RIP
21-10-2015, 02:36 PM
Croke Park was good and so was the Aviva Stadium. The gpo building in oconnell Streets worth a look. Kilmainham jail was good as well. Bus tour is also worthwhile.

21-10-2015, 02:46 PM
Avoid the Temple Bar area if you're going out for a drink - plenty of other great pubs in the city that WON'T rip you off for succumbing to a tourist trap.

Northern Hibby
21-10-2015, 02:48 PM
I'd recommend a trip to Croke Park and the museum..jamieson distillery tour at Smithfield really good..cobblestone in Smithfield for a great pub with best trad in town..Dinnae bother with temple bar, it's crap..have a walk along the canal and turn at portobello..nice bars and restruants going down there to Camden st to Georges st..long haul bar, library bar for something different...Phoenix park is worth a stroll and kilmainham jail well worth a trip

Plenty of great stuff on on Sunday as its a bank holiday....us girls playing at whelans...pitty I'm there but running the marathon Monday so best behaviour required

My Daughter is at UCD so me my Wife and other Daughter, daughters both Gaelic speakers so sure we will be taken to Traditional music spots :agree:

Johnny Foxes

Hope it's better than the 1 in Inverness :confused:

What I mean is, is there anything important to us ?

Mathias Jack
21-10-2015, 02:53 PM
The Guinness Factory...obviously!

Northern Hibby
21-10-2015, 03:04 PM

Obviously!!

:rules:

21-10-2015, 03:32 PM
there's a street called either Hibernian st or Hibernia st somewhere just outside the center.

21-10-2015, 03:56 PM

Brewery :wink:

It was very good as was the jail.

21-10-2015, 05:16 PM
My Daughter is at UCD so me my Wife and other Daughter, daughters both Gaelic speakers so sure we will be taken to Traditional music spots :agree:

Scots or Irish Gaelic? My mother was from Syke but unfortunately I only know a few words...

21-10-2015, 05:40 PM

Oops thought I'd replied...Yeah Cobblestone is a hidden gem..Tourists there but its a proper session pub rather than done for tourists...Some amazing musicians and a nice buzz about the place..Whe I first moved to Dublin knew no one and lived in the square, was practically my living room ;-)

https://youtu.be/_lFGCgS3dwU

21-10-2015, 07:31 PM

Can't see my post but if it's been removed I'd still strongly recommend a trip to Kilmainham Jail. It's important to some of us! And you'll find it interesting.

Northern Hibby
21-10-2015, 08:46 PM
Scottish garlic but she's doing a bit of Irish whilst there, Guinness getting done obviously the jail sounds good, is that where James connelly was shot?

21-10-2015, 08:49 PM
Scottish garlic but she's doing a bit of Irish whilst there, Guinness getting done obviously the jail sounds good, is that where James connelly was shot?

Aye.

Northern Hibby
28-10-2015, 06:41 PM
Past celtic shop in Jervis shopping centre in Dublin 3 times on 3 different days nota sole inside, very pleasing ;-)

28-10-2015, 08:37 PM
Brewery :wink:

It was very good as was the jail.

Messy night was it...? :greengrin

29-10-2015, 02:26 PM
Past celtic shop in Jervis shopping centre in Dublin 3 times on 3 different days nota sole inside, very pleasing ;-)

Never is...Hope you had a great time..I was in Dublin for the marathon on Monday..Horrible weather! Managed a quick pint in Foggy Dew before heading west again..