View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 4 - 2 Dumbarton (Malonga, Fontaine, Cummings (pen), Keatings) FT

17-10-2015, 12:04 PM
Got that saturday feeling for first time in a while. Match thread for 3 points today. Confident we will score at least 3 today. Mon the hibees a.y team news etc

17-10-2015, 01:13 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CRhYZ6VWsAAHwPA.png:large

17-10-2015, 01:16 PM

Interesting.

17-10-2015, 01:16 PM

4-3-3 Lets go for it

17-10-2015, 01:17 PM
4 3 3

Lee Marvin
17-10-2015, 01:17 PM

Hanlon injured?!

Clear squad rotation from Stubbs here. 4-3-3?

17-10-2015, 01:19 PM
That is a very attacking line up. No idea why McGeouch's been dropped for Fyvie though.

17-10-2015, 01:19 PM
Good to see Keatings back.

17-10-2015, 01:20 PM
A load of changes

H18S NX
17-10-2015, 01:20 PM
Hanlon injured?

17-10-2015, 01:22 PM
Paul and Dylan out?!?

Lee Marvin
17-10-2015, 01:24 PM
Paul and Dylan out?!?

We have a lot of games coming up. Huge one Tuesday too.

I like the team.

17-10-2015, 01:33 PM
Bartley not starting?

17-10-2015, 01:34 PM
13-0 Hibs

17-10-2015, 01:34 PM
I reckon the top 4 will all win today.

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 01:36 PM
Looks a great team, looking forward to this one.

17-10-2015, 01:43 PM
It's certainly good to see Stubbs really changing thing up at home. He's maybe realised that the home performances haven't been great thus far, Aberdeen excepted, and reacted accordingly. Good to see.

17-10-2015, 01:48 PM
Strongest bench in ages. Not sure I'd have picked that team though but clearly Stubbsy is going rotate the squad through out the season

17-10-2015, 01:49 PM
Is it a different stadium announcer from usual?

17-10-2015, 01:55 PM
I'm on holiday , keep the updates coming please!! 👍

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 01:56 PM
Is it a different stadium announcer from usual?

Yes, wonder what happened to the other guy?

17-10-2015, 02:04 PM
Hanlon injured?!

Looks like Keatings in the hole with the other two up front.

17-10-2015, 02:04 PM
Very interesting changes. Showing our strength in depth now that we have some players back fit.

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 02:05 PM
Very poor crowd today, also not a fan of the slow music before kick-off, completely killed the atmosphere.

PETRIE OUT.

17-10-2015, 02:08 PM
Are refs just not going to give Hibs any penalties this season?

Penalty denied.

Probably injured :wink:

17-10-2015, 02:09 PM

Played a whole album by Zero 7

17-10-2015, 02:18 PM
15 mins gone no shots at goal.

As obvious as you can possibly get on a handball in the box, no penalty

A bright start. I've counted 138 Dumbarton fans!

17-10-2015, 02:20 PM
McGeouch with second quick ball return from bench. Still contributing.

17-10-2015, 02:22 PM
15 mins gone no shots at goal.

Are you at the game?

According to the BBC text

2:22 Attempt missed. Jordan Kirkpatrick (Dumbarton) right footed shot from outside the box is too high.

7:37 Attempt missed. William Gibson (Dumbarton) header from the left side of the box misses to the left.

11:09 Attempt blocked. Dominique Malonga (Hibernian) right footed shot from outside the box is blocked.

12:11 Attempt missed. David Gray (Hibernian) header from the centre of the box is too high.

17-10-2015, 02:23 PM
Pretty poor so far imo. Few wasted balls into the box and not tested their keeper at all. Still very slow.

17-10-2015, 02:24 PM
Goal Malonga!!

The 5001 SPFL goal

Outstanding goal

And as I say that Malonga scores an absolute raker.

1-0

My word. What a goal Malonga!

17-10-2015, 02:25 PM
Yeeesssss 1-0 Hibees:flag:

What a strike by Malonga!

Screamer

GlasgowHibee
What a brilliant goal from Malonga, pinged it right into the top corner.

GlasgowHibee
And it's 1-1, David Gray **** up.

Shocking defending!

1-1 comical defending by Gray. Ball slipped under Oxleys foot.

17-10-2015, 02:26 PM
Beauty from Malonga. :flag:

And in typical Hibs fashion it is 1-1

Cracking assist from David Gray.

1-1 comical defending and keeper hardly looked convincing either.

Nowt keeper can do after that!

Held on to that lead for ages :rolleyes:

And then we let me go right up the park and equalise, poor defending, just boot it out there

17-10-2015, 02:27 PM
I see there is a massive lag on Hibs TV.

17-10-2015, 02:27 PM
Malonga booked for **** all.

17-10-2015, 02:28 PM
Joke of a booking for Malonga

17-10-2015, 02:28 PM
Malonga booked for **** all.

Strange booking, ball seemed to hit him as opposed to anything deliberate.

Galahibby
17-10-2015, 02:29 PM

Exciting game then? :wink:

17-10-2015, 02:29 PM
Moment of brilliance from Malonga quickly followed by moment of nonsense from Gray!! Hibs all over!

17-10-2015, 02:30 PM
Joke of a booking for Malonga

He did put his hand up to it.

Fonts scores!

2-1 Fontaine header.

2-1 Hibs hopefully hang on to this lead :greengrin:flag:

Liam Fontaine 2-1 header

Fontaine scores, let's make this lead last more then 30 second

xyz23jc
17-10-2015, 02:31 PM
Someone should wake up the a******** at OAM then. Not a word! :confused:

17-10-2015, 02:32 PM

Too busy worrying about Hearts title challenge no doubt

17-10-2015, 02:33 PM

That's where I heard it. Charlie Mann at Easter Road.

xyz23jc
Sorry apparently 1-0 Hibs now!!! :confused: WTF

2 shots on target, 2 goals. Good ratio so far

17-10-2015, 02:35 PM
Great build up on the break, Henderson again lacks composure from close range.

17-10-2015, 02:35 PM
A very entertaining 5 minute spell.

17-10-2015, 02:38 PM
Check the Other games thread :wink:

17-10-2015, 02:38 PM
Rangers 1 down :greengrin

whoops

17-10-2015, 02:39 PM
rangers 1 down :greengrin

shhh!!!!

17-10-2015, 02:40 PM

whoops
Ffs I wanted to watch sportscene later

17-10-2015, 02:41 PM

whoops
ssshhhhh you will get flung oot....... :greengrin

xyz23jc
shhh!!!!

That should waken them up at OAM.....:greengrin

That was why I told folk to check the other thread :greengrin

xyz23jc

:greengrinhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

17-10-2015, 02:42 PM
Sorry apparently 1-0 Hibs now!!! :confused: WTF

Steam powered radio?
Go digital,you know it makes sense😝

17-10-2015, 02:42 PM
Malonga and keatings showing some good touches, passes and movement

17-10-2015, 02:44 PM
Acrobatic clearance stops it being 3. Great run and determination by JC.

17-10-2015, 02:45 PM
Some good play from Hibs now.

17-10-2015, 02:46 PM
An audacious attempt by Cummings from the bye line with keeper stranded - cleared off line.

Penalty!

Finally a PENALTY.

Cummings bundled over.

Penalty Hibs.

Cummings scores it!

Cummings Penalty 3-1

17-10-2015, 02:47 PM
Two fouls in the box in the space of a second, ref couldn't turn it down.

possession

68% v 32%

shots

6 v 4

corners

8 v 2

fouls

7 v 1

Superb penalty, 3-1.

Let's do this team now and put a bit pressure on the huns.

Pen to Hibees 3-1 c'mon the Hibs, c'mon the QOS :gwa::gwa::flag:

17-10-2015, 02:48 PM
Coolly dispatched by Cummings. On easy street now. See this one out and move on to Falkirk midweek.

17-10-2015, 02:48 PM
mon the muffin man

3 goals, should have went after all :lips seal

17-10-2015, 02:49 PM
Good half.

17-10-2015, 02:50 PM
I can't read this thread if you are going to tell me the score before I watch it on HibsTV. :greengrin

17-10-2015, 02:51 PM
We were so much better after we scored, even allowing for Grays mental block.

Keep this up and we could get a few here.

17-10-2015, 02:53 PM
Good first half, could have been more. I was about to say before half time I wpuld take cummings off and bring mcgeough on for more creativity in the middle as dumbarton will need to comit. But at 3-1 the might sit in now looking for damage limitation so keep as is and get an early 4th GGTTH

17-10-2015, 02:55 PM
Great first goal
Great delivery for the 2nd and good header from fontaine
Good pass and touch to win the pen then very cool dispatched

Hibs playing well, quite like keatings in behind, very neat and creates space for himself.

Awful goal to conceeded, don't know what gray was doing. Need to see it again but looked like oxley should of saved it. Seemed a bit weak and close to him as he got a leg on it. No one to blame for it though other than grey.

Passing about nicely and creating plenty of chances. Cummings unlucky not to score with his chop and Henderson should of scored imo

cjward2
17-10-2015, 02:56 PM
We should be able to get another couple of goals in the second half. Still think that Hibs lack penetration and it's nice to see shots happening from just inside the box. Fun first half to watch, and great for the kids watching there today.

cjward2
17-10-2015, 02:59 PM
If we get a fourth goal, would it not be an opportunity to put on some of our subs and give them a bit of game time.

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 03:02 PM
That Hibs kid thing from the halfway line is the highlight of every game, vet fun to watch.

:D

MartinfaePorty
17-10-2015, 03:05 PM
Didn't look like Oxley had much chance. Very close to his body so had to go with his left leg and managed to get something on it.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

17-10-2015, 03:05 PM
Why was there no card at the penalty? Must be a goal scoring opportunity, surely?!

17-10-2015, 03:06 PM
Are you at the game?

According to the BBC text

2:22 Attempt missed. Jordan Kirkpatrick (Dumbarton) right footed shot from outside the box is too high.

7:37 Attempt missed. William Gibson (Dumbarton) header from the left side of the box misses to the left.

11:09 Attempt blocked. Dominique Malonga (Hibernian) right footed shot from outside the box is blocked.

12:11 Attempt missed. David Gray (Hibernian) header from the centre of the box is too high.

Yes. None of the above were near the keeper.

17-10-2015, 03:08 PM
if things stay the same we will be 8 points behind Rangers - with a game in hand to go 5 points behind

not as bad as I thought it was actually

Hopefully QOTS can get the win

17-10-2015, 03:11 PM
if things stay the same we will be 8 points behind Rangers - with a game in hand to go 5 points behind

DON'T look at the 'Today's other games' thread

17-10-2015, 03:12 PM

And then we could well beat them at ER.

We need to keep winning before that though.

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 03:14 PM
Now 1-1 Rangers, former Yam Jason Holt scored.

17-10-2015, 03:16 PM
Dumbarton seem to be trying to shut up shop.

We're still creating though and with a bit of luck could have had a couple since the break.

17-10-2015, 03:20 PM
Keating taken out by a 'robust' challenge. Ref signals he played the ball, which means **** all as per the rules, and waves play on.

17-10-2015, 03:21 PM
4-1 Keatings. Great pass, superb finish.

17-10-2015, 03:21 PM
Get in Keatings

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 03:22 PM
Fantastic finish from Keatings.

17-10-2015, 03:22 PM
Superb finish from Keatings and great ball through

17-10-2015, 03:23 PM
Sensational pass from Stevenson for the goal there

17-10-2015, 03:23 PM
See Bobby Grant has bagged one for Fleetwood!!!

Hope that doesn't ruin the Football League Show for anyone! :D

17-10-2015, 03:24 PM
pleased for keatings getting a goal

17-10-2015, 03:24 PM
Multiple changes coming up

17-10-2015, 03:26 PM
Bartley on Keatings off

17-10-2015, 03:26 PM
Bartley replaces Keatings

17-10-2015, 03:28 PM
McGinn tries to curl one in from a tight angle when Malonga was free at the back post.

Fyvie off McGeough on.

17-10-2015, 03:28 PM
Fyvie off, McGeouch on

17-10-2015, 03:32 PM
Jase off Islam on

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 03:35 PM
4-2.

17-10-2015, 03:35 PM
4-2.

Scandalous defending again, chipped free kick into the box, free header from 6 yards guided into the net.

17-10-2015, 03:36 PM
4-2.

Scandalous defending again, chipped free kick into the box, free header from 6 yards guided into the net.

Maybe seeing the value of Paul Hanlon being in the team? record before this game was excellent, still, win on the cards, onward and upward

17-10-2015, 03:37 PM
and up steps our defence...same old

17-10-2015, 03:38 PM
4-2.

Defending is proving to be hibs soft centre.:confused:

17-10-2015, 03:40 PM
shots

13 v 9

17-10-2015, 03:40 PM
Raith 1 up

17-10-2015, 03:41 PM
Rubbish. Two bad goals conceded today but our goals against is up with the best in the league. Don't let that stop you though.....

I thought we had the best defensive record in Britain😕

Raith 1 up

**insert hillarious highlight show joke here**

17-10-2015, 03:42 PM

They could just insert it on the right bloody thread.

I think it's now deliberate.

17-10-2015, 03:43 PM

4 mins to go at Ibrox and still * - *

17-10-2015, 03:45 PM
no penalty for the buns yet...wtf's going on

Salisbury Hibby
4 mins to go at Ibrox and still * - *
Penalty coming, I'd bet.

Sent from my SM-A500FU using Tapatalk

Nevi_SOL

Spoke to soon

Oh dear seem to up setting multiple dot neters on here, just to add to it rangers have a penelty

Shock another pen at ipox

17-10-2015, 03:46 PM
Penalty coming, I'd bet.

Sent from my SM-A500FU using Tapatalk

correct. and SAVED

8221 attendance, 138 from Dumbarton.

Yaaassss

Nevi_SOL
Missed pen at ibrox

Spoke to soon

seriously ?? ****** hunbelievable

Green&White
Could write the script eh.

Missed pen at ibrox

that's better

:)

HibeeDave
17-10-2015, 03:47 PM
Missed pen at ibrox

they'll get another in added time

oldbiker
Keeper saves a pen against the currant buns

Shock another pen at ipox
Saved am I allowed to report that???

Was it Fathorn that missed it?

17-10-2015, 03:48 PM
Yup

Nevi_SOL
Was it Fathorn that missed it?

Aye just scored tho

Bang on. I'm impressed none of them were having a pish.

HibeeEmma

so predictable and frustrating

Spoke to soon.

foghorn missed haw haw

John McGinn MOTM.

Would have been Malonga for me but McGinn was quietly efficient.

GlasgowHibee
17-10-2015, 03:49 PM
foghorn missed haw haw

Scored a header though.

awk ffs the buns score :rolleyes:

**** sake we just get no luck at all

Typical Huns

17-10-2015, 03:50 PM

When people see that the HIBS thread has been updated they think something has happened at the HIBS match.

Instead we have people talking about OTHER GAMES when there is an OTHER GAMES thread.

It's very misleading.

17-10-2015, 03:51 PM
Can I add todays ref to the list of jokers we have had this season as well.

17-10-2015, 03:51 PM
awk ffs the buns score :rolleyes:

Saved the ref having to manufacture another penalty.

17-10-2015, 03:52 PM
aw mannnn

17-10-2015, 03:54 PM
When people see that the HIBS thread has been updated they think something has happened at the HIBS match.

Instead we have people talking about OTHER GAMES when there is an OTHER GAMES thread.

It's very misleading.

Getting angry about people posting about football on a football forum :faf:

17-10-2015, 03:54 PM
Now this game has been as good as played out:

Where was Section 43 or equivalent today? No one in the area at all, no drum and almost no singing at all.

17-10-2015, 03:55 PM

It's very misleading.
Seem to remember that following that rather ridiculous thread that GAMES which affect Hibs were fair game to REPORT, should be interesting on Tues as Falkirk have judt scored to put them 3 points behind hibs.

Hibtastic
17-10-2015, 03:55 PM

Especially scores that have an impact on us! Ridiculous really!

Good win for hibs though and 4 goals scored!

17-10-2015, 03:57 PM

Who's getting angry?

17-10-2015, 03:59 PM

Good win for hibs though and 4 goals scored!

As I recollect the Admins have said that the championship scores and the hertz score are fair game to be included in the matchday thread.

17-10-2015, 03:59 PM

It's ridiculous that people just can't put it in the right thread.

Like I said, I kept thinking that something important had happened at Easter Road.

17-10-2015, 04:03 PM
As I recollect the Admins have said that the championship scores and the hertz score are fair game to be included in the matchday thread.

Ah ok.

I'll stick to the BBC in the future if I want updates purely from our game. :greengrin

17-10-2015, 04:16 PM
It's ridiculous that people just can't put it in the right thread.

Like I said, I kept thinking that something important had happened at Easter Road.

Really?

17-10-2015, 04:21 PM
Hanlon injured?!

What a strong bench. Will be needed if we are in play offs. Could well be the thing that gets us promoted.

17-10-2015, 04:23 PM
Really?

Well, yes.

If the hibs match update thread has been updated then why are you surprised that some people assume that something has happened at the game?

Is that not the whole point of the thread?

Wales 16 south Africa 15

Hibtastic
17-10-2015, 04:25 PM
There is an app called flashscores that allows you to select the matches you want updates from! Might be useful for those that can't handle other scores being reported in the match thread.

17-10-2015, 04:29 PM
Hibs played very well today, thought Dom was fantastic and my motm. Silly goals to lose mind you and I wish Oxley would hurry up when taking goal kicks. We want to win by as many as possible but he seems to take forever.

Overall we could have scored 10 today I thought Dunbarton were that poor.

17-10-2015, 04:30 PM
Well, yes.

If the hibs match update thread has been updated then why are you surprised that some people assume that something has happened at the game?

Is that not the whole point of the thread?

Wales 16 south Africa 15

In theory yes. But of six pages and around 180 posts, how many are actually relevant to any events of real importance?

If you chased every single new post as a matter of grave importance, you'll end up with an intense pretty anti-climatic afternoon post-3pm.

17-10-2015, 04:31 PM
No Movement1
filthy minging bigots

No Movement2
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

No Movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No Movement4
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No Movement5
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

17-10-2015, 04:33 PM
I made a point of saying check the other thread when something happened that might be relevant.

17-10-2015, 04:43 PM
In theory yes. But of six pages and around 180 posts, how many are actually relevant to any events of real importance?

If you chased every single new post as a matter of grave importance, you'll end up with an intense pretty anti-climatic afternoon post-3pm.

S'pose.

17-10-2015, 04:46 PM
They could just insert it on the right bloody thread.

I think it's now deliberate.

I thought it was about English games?

Anyway, admins confirmed no issues with any scores including English on the thread so who cares if it is deliberate?

More people said they found scores in one place handy than those who didn't like it.

Are we really going to have this every week?

17-10-2015, 04:56 PM
Some folk like being awkward for the sake of being awkward and nothing will change that.

17-10-2015, 04:58 PM
Solid performance, took the foot off the gas early maybe with an eye on Tuesday.

17-10-2015, 05:03 PM
Some folk like being awkward for the sake of being awkward and nothing will change that.

What was the problem today?

IrnBru22
17-10-2015, 05:06 PM
Did anyone see Malonga's reaction after the 4th goal? Run straight to number 13 (who had just fouled him 30 seconds earlier) to celebrate in his face before celebrating with the rest of the Hibs team.

17-10-2015, 05:10 PM
Solid performance, took the foot off the gas early maybe with an eye on Tuesday.

Great for 70 mins, but lost shape and control by making 3 subs in quick succession. Big well done to Keatings and Fyvie, who looked fit a sharp after injury.

17-10-2015, 05:26 PM
Feruz needs to learn to stay on side.

Big game for us on Tuesday.

17-10-2015, 05:26 PM
Played well until the 3 subs. Good goal from Malonga but Keatings goal was a great move. Overall another decent 3 points but I thought Oxley was awful at the two goals. The first he tried to kick away and the second his positioning was poor.

17-10-2015, 05:28 PM
Played well until the 3 subs. Good goal from Malonga but Keatings goal was a great move. Overall another decent 3 points but I thought Oxley was awful at the two goals. The first he tried to kick away and the second his positioning was poor.

I'm not his biggest fan, but didn't stand much chance with the first goal after Gray gifted it to them.

17-10-2015, 05:29 PM
Did anyone see Malonga's reaction after the 4th goal? Run straight to number 13 (who had just fouled him 30 seconds earlier) to celebrate in his face before celebrating with the rest of the Hibs team.

I did notice that. The number 13 put himself about today.

17-10-2015, 05:36 PM
Played well until the 3 subs. Good goal from Malonga but Keatings goal was a great move. Overall another decent 3 points but I thought Oxley was awful at the two goals. The first he tried to kick away and the second his positioning was poor.If Oxley was awful what was the defending? Absolutely sold both goals.

17-10-2015, 05:38 PM

First one was nothing to do with Oxley. Once the boy was able to hammer it from so close in he had little chance. Thought he done well even getting a foot on it.

17-10-2015, 05:39 PM
Great for 70 mins, but lost shape and control by making 3 subs in quick succession. Big well done to Keatings and Fyvie, who looked fit a sharp after injury.

Fyvie for me was the poorest player for us. I honestly don't think he does enough and He wouldn't be in myfirst 11. Was delighted when we signed him as well but he's just not done enough in this league. Maybe he'll come good but Bartley would play in front of him every time for me.

Agree about the 70 mins though, subs came on and we lost that sharpness and shape a bit.

17-10-2015, 05:39 PM
What was the problem today?

Me apparently:greengrin

17-10-2015, 05:40 PM
Good performance for majority of game.

Thought Keatings did very well

Anybody know what was up with Hanlon today

17-10-2015, 05:47 PM
Feruz needs to learn to stay on side.

Big game for us on Tuesday.

Needs to figure out how to get involved in the game.

It shows where football is when players at his stage of development are owning Porsches!

17-10-2015, 05:49 PM
Happy with the three points and four goals. Hibs first and fourth goals were both excellent. I just came away feeling the shine had been taken off the win by two things.

One was conceding two very poor goals. To lose an equaliser straight from the kick off in the manner Hibs did was ridiculous. Any coach would be tearing his hair out looking at the way Hibs seemed to completely switch off / lose concentration at that goal. Strange really, considering Hibs as a team have been defending well in recent weeks.

4-2 was no way an accurate reflection on this match. One of these days Hibs will hammer some team 5 or 6 nil. Goal difference might be important at the end of the season.

The other thing was the fact that Huns, Falkirk, and Raith all won with very late goals. You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard the Huns had been awarded a late penalty, albeit they didn't score from it.

17-10-2015, 06:12 PM
Fair summary. Negatives: I'm concerned at how easy the Dumbarton goals were. Gifts. If we do this against a different type of team, that could decide a game.

Positives: good goals, decent enough going forward. First time I've managed along this season, but I like a number of players in the team and think we look pretty balanced with good skills around the pitch.

17-10-2015, 06:12 PM
First one was nothing to do with Oxley. Once the boy was able to hammer it from so close in he had little chance. Thought he done well even getting a foot on it.

I accept Gray's clearance was poor but the shot was not that close range and I thought Oxleys effort to kick it away with his left foot was pathetic. The second goal Bartley reacted slowly but Oxley positioning was poor, too far over to the right hand post. I just done think he is good enough

17-10-2015, 06:21 PM
Fyvie for me was the poorest player for us. I honestly don't think he does enough and He wouldn't be in myfirst 11. Was delighted when we signed him as well but he's just not done enough in this league. Maybe he'll come good but Bartley would play in front of him every time for me.

Agree about the 70 mins though, subs came on and we lost that sharpness and shape a bit.

Actually thought Fyvie was our best player after an inauspicious start. Centre of every thing and while he still goes backwards sometimes he was moving the ball across the park quickly and with intent.

We missed Paul Hanlon - anyone know why he was missing today?

17-10-2015, 06:28 PM

Gibson, he did the same for most of the match against Scott Allan in the last match, at their place

17-10-2015, 06:30 PM

You must have been at a different game from me. Admittedly he started slowly, but then came into a real game. We need to get him upto 100% fitness, and he'd be in my team every week

IrnBru22
17-10-2015, 06:34 PM
You must have been at a different game from me. Admittedly he started slowly, but then came into a real game. We need to get him upto 100% fitness, and he'd be in my team every week

I'd definitly have McGeouch starting ahead of Fyvie

17-10-2015, 06:35 PM

Seriously? Fyvie was as good as any Hibs player today. Bartley was awful when he came on so tricky decision for the manager.

17-10-2015, 06:35 PM
I accept Gray's clearance was poor but the shot was not that close range and I thought Oxleys effort to kick it away with his left foot was pathetic. The second goal Bartley reacted slowly but Oxley positioning was poor, too far over to the right hand post. I just done think he is good enough

Agree on the second one. Thought he was too far over.

17-10-2015, 06:37 PM
Actually thought Fyvie was our best player after an inauspicious start. Centre of every thing and while he still goes backwards sometimes he was moving the ball across the park quickly and with intent.

We missed Paul Hanlon - anyone know why he was missing today?

Don't think we did to be honest. Thought both central defenders were good and think McGregor gives us a bit of physicality we don't have.

17-10-2015, 06:42 PM
Don't think we did to be honest. Thought both central defenders were good and think McGregor gives us a bit of physicality we don't have.
Well I think we did :na na:.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Not sure he'd have been able to do much about the first but someone was missing at the second. Buuuuut, does anyone know why he was missing?

17-10-2015, 06:47 PM

Not sure he'd have been able to do much about the first but someone was missing at the second. Buuuuut, does anyone know why he was missing?

I assume he'll just have been rested. Sensible thing to do with a lot of games coming up. Same as McGeouch.

17-10-2015, 06:48 PM
Seriously? Fyvie was as good as any Hibs player today. Bartley was awful when he came on so tricky decision for the manager.

I thought Fyvie kept the ball moving well today. Generally speaking, I think he has more to offer than what he has shown in a Hibs top so far.

Agree about Bartley when he came on. Gave the free kick away for the second goal and then it was his man that scored.

Good goals from Dom and Keatings.

17-10-2015, 06:49 PM

Bartley sold it too busy grappling with the player and not looking at the ball.

17-10-2015, 06:53 PM
Dominic Malonga, Hibs class, every time. Makes me enjoy my football, throwback to better times.

17-10-2015, 07:35 PM

Agree about the 70 mins though, subs came on and we lost that sharpness and shape a bit.2 wonderful passes to Cummings that led to a clearance off the line and the penalty, Bartley simply does not make those 2 passes (not that that is something to hold against Bartley, that isn't his job). Thought he was good considering he was just back from injury.

Grey had a bit of a stinker IMO, crossing was very poor and absolute howler for their first.

snedzuk
17-10-2015, 07:49 PM
Dominic Malonga, Hibs class, every time. Makes me enjoy my football, throwback to better times.

Same here - KD strikes again today

17-10-2015, 08:10 PM
2 wonderful passes to Cummings that led to a clearance off the line and the penalty, Bartley simply does not make those 2 passes (not that that is something to hold against Bartley, that isn't his job). Thought he was good considering he was just back from injury.

Grey had a bit of a stinker IMO, crossing was very poor and absolute howler for their first.

I just don't think he's been good enough since we signed him. In this league he should be doing better and when Allan left thought he might step up. Granted he's been out but both me and my mate thought he was pretty poor. Mad how we see games differently, but that's football for you.

100% agree about Grey he's either carrying a niggle or he's simply lost form. Last season he was superb!

Thought big Ox may have done better with both goals we lost as well. He's been great for us recently and I'm sure (not that any were his fault) he'll be disappointed letting the first go past him and the second I thought he was to far over to the near post. Again not his fault just think maybe could have stopped both on another day.

17-10-2015, 08:21 PM
I just don't think he's been good enough since we signed him. In this league he should be doing better and when Allan left thought he might step up. Granted he's been out but both me and my mate thought he was pretty poor. Mad how we see games differently, but that's football for you.

100% agree about Grey he's either carrying a niggle or he's simply lost form. Last season he was superb!

Thought big Ox may have done better with both goals we lost as well. He's been great for us recently and I'm sure (not that any were his fault) he'll be disappointed letting the first go past him and the second I thought he was to far over to the near post. Again not his fault just think maybe could have stopped both on another day.

Often agree with your views TC but not today - think you need to watch Fyvie's performance again from today - it was him that took a grip of the game after about 15 mins and then was involved in almost everything of note for us....not sure he misplaced a pass after that....always available and was the best midfielder for the rest of his time on the pitch....good shift....my MOM ...

17-10-2015, 08:50 PM

Number 13 was Willie Gibson.

woodythehibee
17-10-2015, 08:54 PM

Stubbsy says he was rested. He said that we have enough options to rest players now, particularly with a lot of games coming up. McGregor and Fonts played well.

17-10-2015, 09:01 PM
Very harsh as Ox has been excellent for weeks now...I agree he never covered himself in glory today but neither did the back 4...Gray I'm particular was woeful today.

17-10-2015, 10:13 PM
Often agree with your views TC but not today - think you need to watch Fyvie's performance again from today - it was him that took a grip of the game after about 15 mins and then was involved in almost everything of note for us....not sure he misplaced a pass after that....always available and was the best midfielder for the rest of his time on the pitch....good shift....my MOM ...

Maybe i do mate, I just never seen it from him today. I'll watch the highlights though and see what he's like.

17-10-2015, 10:16 PM
Good performance and result. Well done Stubbs on an attacking formation. Big games coming up.

PPZPOL
18-10-2015, 08:29 AM
Good performance and result. Well done Stubbs on an attacking formation. Big games coming up.

Agree. Enjoyed Malonga and Cummings with Keatings off them. Keatings is busy, does things with a bit of energy and took up some great positions, we've really missed that. This was the first time for a while I can remember where I seen an opposition centre half in two minds whether to stick with his man or go in on Keatings. Normally teams sit in and don't have this problem and it all becomes a bit flat (like when Keatings went off). Pulling players out of position has been our biggest failing when we haven't won games we should have at ER especially.

Went flat at 4-1, would quite like a ruthless streak but after break and with
another game on Tuesday we can't complain too much that the foot came off the gas.

18-10-2015, 09:14 AM
Very harsh as Ox has been excellent for weeks now...I agree he never covered himself in glory today but neither did the back 4...Gray I'm particular was woeful today.

I think Gray could be dropped on Tuesday with Hanlon in at CH and McGregor at RB

18-10-2015, 09:55 AM
I think Gray could be dropped on Tuesday with Hanlon in at CH and McGregor at RB

I was thinking that myself, also think Boyle will start