View Full Version : Yogi to Arabs (betting suspended)

07-10-2015, 03:13 PM
Tommy Wright gave them the knockback .. so it looks like Yogi

07-10-2015, 03:19 PM

Money talks once more.

Up until now, Yogi has always maintained that Caley is the perfect Club for him and he couldn't be happier.

07-10-2015, 03:20 PM
See Pressley is away to Fleetwood so out of the running.

07-10-2015, 03:22 PM

Fleetwood or Dundee United and the obvious choice was Fleetwood. That's how far Scottish Football has slumped.

07-10-2015, 03:35 PM
Yogi to Utd . Then Butcher back to the Caley job .

07-10-2015, 03:42 PM
Unrelated to this topic but what's the script with Stubbs coming from nowhere to being favourite for the Rotherham job then dropping away again?

Did we knock back an approach?

07-10-2015, 03:44 PM
Money talks once more.

Up until now, Yogi has always maintained that Caley is the perfect Club for him and he couldn't be happier.

What else is a manager supposed to say to be fair?

07-10-2015, 03:46 PM
Unrelated to this topic but what's the script with Stubbs coming from nowhere to being favourite for the Rotherham job then dropping away again?

Not heard anything about that but could just be strange betting patterns affecting the odds or something

07-10-2015, 03:46 PM

It wasn't a criticism, just an observation.

As I said, money talks.

07-10-2015, 04:06 PM
Bad move for Yogi.

07-10-2015, 04:17 PM
Bad move for Yogi.

Agreed. He seems to work best at places where expectation levels are pretty low, yes disrespect to Falkirk and ICT by that.

07-10-2015, 04:29 PM

Fleetwood or Dundee United and the obvious choice was Fleetwood. That's how far Scottish Football has slumped.

Be getting more wages

07-10-2015, 04:30 PM
Butcher back to Caley?

He was at their game at the weekend against Ross County. Don't know why

07-10-2015, 04:42 PM

Because he wouldn't have got out of palmerston alive!

07-10-2015, 04:45 PM

I read on the daily mail Brentford were considering Stubbs

07-10-2015, 04:46 PM

Never knew they needed a new singer. :greengrin

07-10-2015, 05:17 PM

SP actually said he had no interest in coming back to Scotland. , at this time.

07-10-2015, 05:28 PM

Nothing to do with our game "slumping " but everything to do with their game being bloated out of all proportion.

07-10-2015, 05:39 PM
Think it's a good move for Yogi. Scottish Cup winners and in Europe. Realistically he can't take ICT any further

patch1875
07-10-2015, 05:55 PM
Sure his family is still in port seton so maybe being closer is appealing.

07-10-2015, 06:00 PM

Could always start talking pish about bags of sweets.

07-10-2015, 06:03 PM
Nothing to do with our game "slumping " but everything to do with their game being bloated out of all proportion.

Is the Fleetwood owner not worth a right few quid? Sure I read on here he is a good lad too from folk that went to hospitality down there.

07-10-2015, 06:16 PM
Is the Fleetwood owner not worth a right few quid? Sure I read on here he is a good lad too from folk that went to hospitality down there.

I've been down to Fleetwood a few times the chairman gave me a hospitality table for 12 people a couple of weeks ago against Port Vale.We got put in our own box and seats on the balcony and he paid for the lot.He is minted but is a down to earth man.

07-10-2015, 06:19 PM
Bad move for Yogi.

:agree: A man should know his limits and IMO Yogi has found his level.

07-10-2015, 06:38 PM
Sure his family is still in port seton so maybe being closer is appealing.

Yeah they are.

JJP
07-10-2015, 06:58 PM
Think he has taken ICT as far as he can take them. Plus the players that left in the summer were barely replaced so it's not like he has been backed. Good luck to him if he is moving to United.

07-10-2015, 07:03 PM

Nowt else to do on a Saturday Billy :greengrin

MountcastleHibs
07-10-2015, 07:05 PM
Yogi to Utd . Then Butcher back to the Caley job .

No danger. He's regarded as a narcissist up there.

07-10-2015, 07:15 PM
Nowt else to do on a Saturday Billy :greengrin

He could ways take up gardening :wink:

MJN1875
07-10-2015, 11:40 PM

I think it's more to do with how much fleetwood have improved.

In saying that they can't have improved that much employing that big doughnut!

08-10-2015, 11:24 AM

Don't think Dundee United actually offered Pressley the job though?

08-10-2015, 02:30 PM
I read on the daily mail Brentford were considering Stubbs

I read on the daily mail that by 2015 we would all be forced into speaking Romanian and converting to Islam.

08-10-2015, 03:03 PM
Agreed. He seems to work best at places where expectation levels are pretty low, yes disrespect to Falkirk and ICT by that.

Spot on IMO
I was told that by an old Hibbee , now no longer with us, a while back
" Likes to play his game at his own pace without great pressures being placed on him "

08-10-2015, 03:28 PM
Fuming! Fleetwood are my local team, enjoyed going to watch an ambitious club on the up, now they have stuffed the place full of Jambos, installed Pressley and Neil MacFarlane!! Not going back until they are gone😡

08-10-2015, 04:16 PM
United no longer interested in acquiring Tommy Wright as their new Manager according to Radio Scotland just now.

08-10-2015, 04:42 PM
I read on the daily mail that by 2015 we would all be forced into speaking Romanian and converting to Islam.

Ok, thanks for that 👍🏻

08-10-2015, 05:03 PM

Links?

MJN1875
08-10-2015, 06:17 PM

Good move for yogi imo. If he gets it right at Utd, he will get a good standard of offer in a few years.

08-10-2015, 06:21 PM
Good move for yogi imo. If he gets it right at Utd, he will get a good standard of offer in a few years.

Yeh he could follow Pressley at Fleetwood.Would they be Fleetwood Macs?

08-10-2015, 06:50 PM

The Arabs a bit of a poisoned chalice, are they not? A chairman who wants the lot yet limited resources and always liable to sell anyone who attracts bids.

Good luck to him, he probably thinks he has already achieved all he can at ICT, but I fear this won't end well.

08-10-2015, 10:39 PM
Ok, thanks for that 👍🏻

Chill out man, only messing!

08-10-2015, 11:02 PM

Like Houston

08-10-2015, 11:34 PM
Chill out man, only messing!

If it's any consolation, I laughed. :greengrin

Very interesting move for Yogi. Potential for it to be a rousing success or, in equal measure, an unmitigated disaster. In reality, I think it will fall nicely in between the two extremes that are being predicted. United are going through a phase not dissimilar to our own, post 2007. It will take a lot to galvenise the support, work with the board and replace the talent that they've lost, however there's no reason that Utd can't begin to make the kind of recovery that we hoped for, they still have a number of pretty talented youngsters (albeit no Armstrongs or Mackay-Stevens) and a fairly decent squad on paper. Best of luck to Yogi either way, he may well need it.

09-10-2015, 01:37 AM
If it's any consolation, I laughed. :greengrin

Very interesting move for Yogi. Potential for it to be a rousing success or, in equal measure, an unmitigated disaster. In reality, I think it will fall nicely in between the two extremes that are being predicted. United are going through a phase not dissimilar to our own, post 2007. It will take a lot to galvenise the support, work with the board and replace the talent that they've lost, however there's no reason that Utd can't begin to make the kind of recovery that we hoped for, they still have a number of pretty talented youngsters (albeit no Armstrongs or Mackay-Stevens) and a fairly decent squad on paper. Best of luck to Yogi either way, he may well need it.

Cheers for that! Agree with this too 👍

Robinho08
09-10-2015, 02:47 PM
Hope Yogi stays put.

Look at the history of ICT managers that have moved on:-

Paterson
Brewster
Butcher...

09-10-2015, 05:58 PM
ICT have rejected DU's approach

fishybeaver
09-10-2015, 08:07 PM
Mcintyre & Dodds

09-10-2015, 11:26 PM
ICT have rejected DU's approach

Yogi wants to go though, could get messy.

09-10-2015, 11:32 PM
Yogi wants to go though, could get messy.

I fear yogi could end up as their Pat Fenlon

MJN1875
10-10-2015, 12:04 AM

You mean save them from relegation, take them to two Scottish cup finals and finish top 6 next season?

Then leave them when they are still top 6 and they go down?

MJN1875
10-10-2015, 12:06 AM
Like Houston

Na, he's a hearts ******!

MJN1875
10-10-2015, 12:07 AM
[QUOTE=jacomoseven;4479650]The Arabs a bit of a poisoned chalice, are they not? A chairman who wants the lot yet limited resources and always liable to sell anyone who attracts bids.

God I thought you were talking about us for a minute there!

10-10-2015, 03:18 AM
You mean save them from relegation, take them to two Scottish cup finals and finish top 6 next season?

Then leave them when they are still top 6 and they go down?

No I mean, while still being a good bloke and all that, that he has been chosen from a small pond, with budget constraints in mind, and will struggle to take the team anywhere near the expectations of the supporters, and will be seen as continuing their decline before they inevitably part.

Hopefully they will avoid their neighbours in a cup final and steer clear of Malmo though:greengrin

10-10-2015, 08:41 AM
No I mean, while still being a good bloke and all that, that he has been chosen from a small pond, with budget constraints in mind, and will struggle to take the team anywhere near the expectations of the supporters, and will be seen as continuing their decline before they inevitably part.

Hopefully they will avoid their neighbours in a cup final and steer clear of Malmo though:greengrin

John Hughes has managed and coached at a far higher level (even excluding us) than Pat Fenlon ever had when he joined us.

10-10-2015, 08:49 AM
Fuming! Fleetwood are my local team, enjoyed going to watch an ambitious club on the up, now they have stuffed the place full of Jambos, installed Pressley and Neil MacFarlane!! Not going back until they are gone

Have you stopped watching Hibs too? :wink:

10-10-2015, 08:51 AM
Betting folk ken whit's going on.

10-10-2015, 09:44 AM
Hope Yogi stays put.

Look at the history of ICT managers that have moved on:-

Paterson
Brewster
Butcher...
Good point. Unless a real plum job in the EPL comes up or even say with the soapless ones, Yogi should stay enjoy the ride with ICT.

10-10-2015, 09:53 AM
Good point. Unless a real plum job in the EPL comes up or even say with the soapless ones, Yogi should stay enjoy the ride with ICT.

I really don't see Yogi being approached by an EPL club!

10-10-2015, 09:56 AM
I really don't see Yogi being approached by an EPL club!

Estonian Premier League!!

Sorry I'll get ma coat!!

pedroorange1875
10-10-2015, 12:08 PM
Estonian Premier League!!

Sorry I'll get ma coat!!

To be honest i cant see Flora or Levadia being interested in Hughes, however Sillamäe Kalev play his style of football and the only other team possibly in the frame would be Nõmme Kalju

10-10-2015, 01:15 PM

I'm sure they would take that just now.

Hopefully someone can be our John Hughes some time in the next decade.

10-10-2015, 02:12 PM
I really dislike Dundee United I know a couple of people that support them and they always give it the 'big team' chat when they talk about Dundee ect. I do like yogi but I hope he goes there and fails and Dundee United end up in the championship. Would be rather amusing

10-10-2015, 10:38 PM
Yogi to be named on Monday apparently!

10-10-2015, 10:42 PM

He's definitely made a boo boo.:cb

10-10-2015, 10:44 PM
He's definitely made a boo boo.:cb

😁 Right that's it, close this thread!!!!!!!

Bronson
10-10-2015, 11:04 PM

Bad move for both parties IMO.

Yogi's a lovely guy and I love seeing him do well but he's joining a club on the downward spiral in that case, he's better where he is.

Dundee Utd need a miracle worker at the minute, and Yogi is not the answer. They should have went for Steve Evans, did a great job at Rotherham.

SonOfDavidFrancey
10-10-2015, 11:08 PM
Bad move for both parties IMO.

Yogi's a lovely guy and I love seeing him do well but he's joining a club on the downward spiral in that case, he's better where he is.

Dundee Utd need a miracle worker at the minute, and Yogi is not the answer. They should have went for Steve Evans, did a great job at Rotherham.

Evans is the most horrible man in world football history.

10-10-2015, 11:12 PM

Why do so many people dislike him? Genuine question as it seems he is hated by a lot of people but always seemed ok to me

Bronson
10-10-2015, 11:31 PM

When he took Rotherham up he seemed a very likeable character however he does seem to be universally hated by so many down south, I never understood that. I could see this being a similar situation to Nigel Pearson - good manager but detestable and as such struggles to get a new club.

As for Evans' ability to do a job, he's definitely a good manager. Rotherham have been punching above their weight in that league for a while, he'd be a great appointment in that regard.

10-10-2015, 11:35 PM

Mcbookie still offering evens for Hughes

10-10-2015, 11:43 PM
Spoke to Yogi in the summer and he was joking saying that he should leave ICT now as it wouldn't get any better for him. That's maybe how he's actually thinking now. It's a risky one but I can see why he's tempted; bigger club, more money, fresh challenge, closer to his family. However, nobody that leaves ICT seems to do well anywhere else so I'm not confident for him

10-10-2015, 11:45 PM
the problems with dundee united run deeper, good luck to yogi if he is to be appointed their boss, he will need it!

10-10-2015, 11:48 PM
2/1 still with skybet

11-10-2015, 09:34 AM
Not sure that Yogi turns around teams on the way down. Would be a better job for the two guys at Ross County just now maybe.

11-10-2015, 09:35 AM
Didn't he throw a glass of red wine over Thompson a few years ago?

11-10-2015, 10:39 AM
For folk thinking of backing this, it wasn't from anyone in the game who told me it was a ICT fan who I worked with. I asked how he knew this and he said most folk up there have been told he's gone. I'll try find out for definite today.

aljo7-0
11-10-2015, 11:16 AM

:agree: :wink: :greengrin

hibbybob
11-10-2015, 06:26 PM
2/1 still with skybet

Yogi now 5/2 and Tommy Wright evens.

Other bookies have the complete reverse with TW as much as 4/1.

SonOfDavidFrancey
11-10-2015, 06:29 PM
When he took Rotherham up he seemed a very likeable character however he does seem to be universally hated by so many down south, I never understood that. I could see this being a similar situation to Nigel Pearson - good manager but detestable and as such struggles to get a new club.

As for Evans' ability to do a job, he's definitely a good manager. Rotherham have been punching above their weight in that league for a while, he'd be a great appointment in that regard.

http://twohundredpercent.net/?p=8698

The Steve Evans stuff goes back a long way - various elements of shifty behaviour ( see article) - but actually mainly because he's a dirty cheating wee ginger bassa

Bronson
11-10-2015, 09:01 PM
http://twohundredpercent.net/?p=8698

The Steve Evans stuff goes back a long way - various elements of shifty behaviour ( see article) - but actually mainly because he's a dirty cheating wee ginger bassa

I'm aware he got caught up in some dodgy dealings about 10 years ago, I assume that's what the article is about.

I'm not saying he's an angel and I'm not condoning what he done, but there's people in football who have done A LOT worse. If it was purely down to his managerial ability he'd be a shrewd appointment.

11-10-2015, 10:55 PM

Yes, but he followed it with a a glass of Sauvignon Blanc which is great for removing red wine stains.

12-10-2015, 08:19 AM
Yes, but he followed it with a a glass of Sauvignon Blanc which is great for removing red wine stains.

And it proves he learns as he goes along.

12-10-2015, 01:53 PM
Yogi now 5/2 and Tommy Wright evens.

Other bookies have the complete reverse with TW as much as 4/1.

Tommy Wright has signed a new deal at StJ and is going nowhere.

Whispers here are Arabs/Yogi have agreed terms..

12-10-2015, 01:56 PM

Cheers mate. Might just stick some cash on it.

12-10-2015, 02:14 PM
He was at 5/1 last night :grr:

12-10-2015, 03:00 PM

Why are people whispering? :tee hee:

12-10-2015, 03:21 PM
Why are people whispering? :tee hee:

13-10-2015, 10:13 AM

Now told Yogi not willing to walk out on ICT - and they won't release him.

Told there's a press conf. later today, and text just in suggests it's Mixu :confused:

I am sensing there is a lot of (wild) guessing going on amongst Arabs fans...

13-10-2015, 10:59 AM

Was the ICT fan who told you this Kenny Miller, by any chance? :greengrin

13-10-2015, 11:03 AM
It's Mixu

13-10-2015, 11:06 AM
It's Mixu

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/sport/football/dundee-united/mixu-paatelainen-ruled-out-of-running-for-dundee-united-manager-s-job-1.904010

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/exclusive-mixu-paatelainen-named-new-6625082

:confused: :greengrin

13-10-2015, 11:12 AM
Was the ICT fan who told you this Kenny Miller, by any chance? :greengrin

😂 Nah but may have well been!!!

13-10-2015, 11:14 AM
Now told Yogi not willing to walk out on ICT - and they won't release him.

Told there's a press conf. later today, and text just in suggests it's Mixu :confused:

I am sensing there is a lot of (wild) guessing going on amongst Arabs fans...

Glad I never took a punt on it then. I knew they wanted Yogi but clearly money has been the issue!

13-10-2015, 11:17 AM
So Mixu versus the Hibees in the cup eh! :cb

13-10-2015, 12:37 PM
Congrats to the Arabs on landing their 5th choice! :faf:

13-10-2015, 12:41 PM

13-10-2015, 12:45 PM
Mixu is a better manager than Yogi in my opinion. Didn't get a fair crack of the whip at ER. Tough job at Utd though.

13-10-2015, 12:55 PM

"Apparently" that's the key word! Not my fault they couldn't agree terms. But thanks for pointing it out 😂

13-10-2015, 12:55 PM
Congrats to the Arabs on landing their 5th choice! :faf:

My thoughts exactly 😁

13-10-2015, 01:05 PM
"Apparently" that's the key word! Not my fault they couldn't agree terms. But thanks for pointing it out 😂

Yip you definitely worded the post well.

13-10-2015, 06:02 PM
Mixu is a better manager than Yogi in my opinion. Didn't get a fair crack of the whip at ER. Tough job at Utd though.
Good luck to him, always liked him.

13-10-2015, 06:06 PM
Good luck to him, always liked him.

I've always liked Mixu and it was a shame it never worked for him here. Hope he does well with Utd (apart from the cup and when we play them) he seems to have done the right thing by taking time out after Hibs and then came back after watching other teams training and taking on board different methods.

13-10-2015, 06:09 PM
I've always liked Mixu and it was a shame it never worked for him here. Hope he does well with Utd (apart from the cup and when we play them) he seems to have done the right thing by taking time out after Hibs and then came back after watching other teams training and taking on board different methods.
Even after he left Hibs always complementary about the club, never a bad word said.

13-10-2015, 06:15 PM
Even after he left Hibs always complementary about the club, never a bad word said.

I could be wrong, but I can't recall any Manager having a bad word to say about us after leaving, with the exception of Malpas, who was only a number two anyhow......

13-10-2015, 06:16 PM

Yep I've honestly never heard Mixu say bad about us. I met him years ago before he was manager and he said he'd love to manage us in the future and was really passionate about us. Shame it never went the way he and the fans wanted but as you say he's always said good things since leaving.

13-10-2015, 06:17 PM
I could be wrong, but I can't recall any Manager having a bad word to say about us after leaving, with the exception of Malpas, who was only a number two anyhow......

Most usually just stay quiet where I think Mixu has said a few times that he cares about the club.

13-10-2015, 06:22 PM
Apparently Hughes could be back in the frame...

13-10-2015, 06:23 PM

Bizarre if true, with Mixu likely to be announced tomorrow

BS44
13-10-2015, 06:24 PM
Most usually just stay quiet where I think Mixu has said a few times that he cares about the club.

More likely confidentiality agreement for any that have left by mutual consent

13-10-2015, 06:24 PM

Don't, just don't 😁

13-10-2015, 06:25 PM
More likely confidentiality agreement for any that have left by mutual consent

That wouldn't stop them showing they care about the club though. They could still chat about fans/club in a good light. Mixu has always done that.

13-10-2015, 08:02 PM
That wouldn't stop them showing they care about the club though. They could still chat about fans/club in a good light. Mixu has always done that.

Godsahibby
14-10-2015, 09:50 AM
I hope no one took any of the next manager betting tips from Hibs.net!!!!

14-10-2015, 10:13 AM

Mowbray's refusal to say anything nice about us when he returned to ER with Celtc stuck in the craw. Mind you, he was clearly out of his depth in that job, so perhaps was just another sign of a man under pressure.

14-10-2015, 10:36 AM
According to the BBC Mixu has been appointed, three year contract.

14-10-2015, 10:37 AM

Mowbray's refusal to say anything nice about us when he returned to ER with Celtc stuck in the craw. Mind you, he was clearly out of his depth in that job, so perhaps was just another sign of a man under pressure.

Yeah that's right, I mind that! As you say I think the pressure was getting to him.

14-10-2015, 10:42 AM

He is definitely a number two!

14-10-2015, 10:49 AM

He took training this morning so you'd assume he's been appointed!

14-10-2015, 11:42 AM

Good luck to him. Love the big guy!

14-10-2015, 12:19 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

14-10-2015, 12:20 PM
All the best, Mixu, except against us. Top bloke.

14-10-2015, 12:36 PM
Ah, good old mixup.
Classy ! :rolleyes:

14-10-2015, 12:41 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

So you keep saying, gie it a rest eh?

14-10-2015, 12:46 PM

I think Mixu is a great appointment for them . He had Killie flying when he was there .

14-10-2015, 12:57 PM
Wonder if he'll take Kenny Sheils as his assistant

14-10-2015, 12:59 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

Calderwood, Butcher and Petrie are the main reasons we might well be facing a third season in Scottish football's second tier next season. But they wouldn't have been able to work their magic if it weren't for crap like this that got our "downward spiral" underway.

Mixu was a magnificent player for us, always was and always will be a great guy, he took the managerial job at Hibs at the wrong time but should any of us hold that against him? Absolutely not.

Best of luck Mixu, obviously except when you play us.

14-10-2015, 01:14 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

Bit harsh considering he done well with Killie and done alright with Finland. I don't get why folk want to have digs at him, when we had right **** ups like Butcher.

LALthehibeeGAL
14-10-2015, 03:28 PM

Calderwood, Butcher and Petrie are the main reasons we might well be facing a third season in Scottish football's second tier next season. But they wouldn't have been able to work their magic if it weren't for crap like this that got our "downward spiral" underway.

Mixu was a magnificent player for us, always was and always will be a great guy, he took the managerial job at Hibs at the wrong time but should any of us hold that against him? Absolutely not.

Best of luck Mixu, obviously except when you play us.

:aok::agree::top marks

:wink:lal

14-10-2015, 03:35 PM
So 5 managers later we are blaming Mixu for our current predicament? :rolleyes:

14-10-2015, 04:32 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

Get a grip

14-10-2015, 04:39 PM
Bit harsh considering he done well with Killie and done alright with Finland. I don't get why folk want to have digs at him, when we had right **** ups like Butcher.

Fenlon has a better record and you don't mind the digs at him.

14-10-2015, 04:42 PM
So 5 managers later we are blaming Mixu for our current predicament? :rolleyes:

I'm not.

Will Mixu be thinking he could or should have done some things differently at Hibs? With hindsight I'm sure he will and that's why I think he's a better manager now than he was with us.

Should we have been more patient with him? With hindsight I think we should, he got abuse at games (and on here) that was out of order for a rookie manager who had done so much for us as a player.

He is NOT the reason for why we are where we are now. But unfortunately he WAS at Hibs at the start of our slide. Had we shown a bit of patience and not come out with the "Mixup" crap then I honestly don't think the slide of sacking managers, starting from scratch, paying expensive compensation as we get rid of players and successive managerial staff off would have happened. He showed during his time in charge that he could organise a defence, grind out results in big games against Hearts, Rangers and Celtic, he gave Hanlon his debut. Did he not sign Sol Bamba? I remember him getting decent form out of guys like Dean Shiels who used to blow hot and cold under other managers. He deserved a chance to work on his weaknesses. The football wasn't always great but his Killie team played some great stuff so I'm sure he could have worked through it.

It's a really poor show that some folk (well - tbf, one) still choose to reach for the "Mixup" line and disrespect a guy that has almost unanimous respect from us on a day when he got a pretty good new job. A tough one, not a perfect one, but a good one.

14-10-2015, 04:46 PM

I didn't mind that at all because, for me the feeling was totally reciprocated. :cb

14-10-2015, 05:14 PM

Andy why bring him into it. What the poster said was a dig, I don't have digs at Fenlon I just state facts. 2 of the most humiliating defeats in our history, terrible football to watch and Fenlon himself admitting it was time to go so why bring him up!

I actually am starting to think you are Pat Fenlon.

wpj
14-10-2015, 05:30 PM

Cannae mind Fenlon scoring goals for us including a hattick against them tho. Didn't work out as manager but most Hibs fans will or should have an affection for Mixu. I don't dislike Fenlon but I definitely have fonder memories of Mixu 6-2!

14-10-2015, 05:32 PM
Cannae mind Fenlon scoring goals for us including a hattick against them tho. Didn't work out as manager but most Hibs fans will or should have an affection for Mixu. I don't dislike Fenlon but I definitely have fonder memories of Mixu 6-2!

Well said.

14-10-2015, 05:33 PM

It depends.

14-10-2015, 06:19 PM
Lets hope Mixu gets off to a resounding winning start in his first game in charge of the Arabs at the weekend.

14-10-2015, 06:22 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

Are you just bitter cos you realised you will never achieve as much as Mixu in your life?

14-10-2015, 06:33 PM
Andy why bring him into it. What the poster said was a dig, I don't have digs at Fenlon I just state facts. 2 of the most humiliating defeats in our history, terrible football to watch and Fenlon himself admitting it was time to go so why bring him up!

Come on now. You are happy to have digs at him so why pull someone else up for having a dig at another manager?

14-10-2015, 07:10 PM
Sorry, I thought he was mixup because he could mix it up as a player?

Didn't realise that was so seetheworthy.

14-10-2015, 07:21 PM
Come on now. You are happy to have digs at him so why pull someone else up for having a dig at another manager?

Im not though. He was a failure but wasn't the worst we've had! I have always stated what I think his failures are and unless I'm wrong that's not having a dig it's pointing out what many on here think as well. Nice enough guy but a poor manager in the end. No sly digs needed, just Hibs were too big.

So again I don't know why you brought him up or picked out my post when others have said the same?

14-10-2015, 07:24 PM

Aye nae bother.

14-10-2015, 07:25 PM

Is that bit in bold only applicable to this thread or all the time?

14-10-2015, 07:55 PM

It's definitely not on this thread.

007 Mickey Weir
14-10-2015, 08:05 PM
I am trying to remember Mixu's record as manager. What happened under him?

liamh2202
14-10-2015, 08:10 PM
I'm not.

Will Mixu be thinking he could or should have done some things differently at Hibs? With hindsight I'm sure he will and that's why I think he's a better manager now than he was with us.

Should we have been more patient with him? With hindsight I think we should, he got abuse at games (and on here) that was out of order for a rookie manager who had done so much for us as a player.

He is NOT the reason for why we are where we are now. But unfortunately he WAS at Hibs at the start of our slide. Had we shown a bit of patience and not come out with the "Mixup" crap then I honestly don't think the slide of sacking managers, starting from scratch, paying expensive compensation as we get rid of players and successive managerial staff off would have happened. He showed during his time in charge that he could organise a defence, grind out results in big games against Hearts, Rangers and Celtic, he gave Hanlon his debut. Did he not sign Sol Bamba? I remember him getting decent form out of guys like Dean Shiels who used to blow hot and cold under other managers. He deserved a chance to work on his weaknesses. The football wasn't always great but his Killie team played some great stuff so I'm sure he could have worked through it.

It's a really poor show that some folk (well - tbf, one) still choose to reach for the "Mixup" line and disrespect a guy that has almost unanimous respect from us on a day when he got a pretty good new job. A tough one, not a perfect one, but a good one.

100% spot on

14-10-2015, 08:26 PM
It's definitely not on this thread.

And he's back... I never said Yogi was defo going did I? Also said it wasn't from anyone in the know just a Caley fan. Also told this to someone who PM'd me as they were going to stick cash on it.

I think I have a stalker and I kind of like it!! 😎

14-10-2015, 08:27 PM

Everything all the time, in real life and in cyber space!!!!!

14-10-2015, 08:31 PM
I am trying to remember Mixu's record as manager. What happened under him?

Think we finished 6th twice maybe?

He gave Paul hanlon his debut at left back v ICT.

I'm sure other things happened as well, but that's the summary.

14-10-2015, 08:38 PM
Think we finished 6th twice maybe?

He gave Paul hanlon his debut at left back v ICT.

I'm sure other things happened as well, but that's the summary.

Beat the filth at Tynecastle with a reserve team.

14-10-2015, 08:49 PM
Beat the filth at Tynecastle with a reserve team.

Great night 👍🏼👍🏼

14-10-2015, 08:54 PM

Your fascination with Fenlon must border on trolling.

HappyHanlon
14-10-2015, 09:02 PM
Ah, good old mixup.

Deary Deary Me!

What a shan post - not Hibs class!

14-10-2015, 09:07 PM

Mixu never lost a cup final in disastrous fashion to them. He had the tactical nous to know how to set up a team of lesser quality than their opponents to defend.

14-10-2015, 09:15 PM

Aye right then. I'm sure it was another hilarious nickname made up by the Jambo's for one of our managers, as I'm pretty sure you are well aware. Mixu was a great player from us but was manager at the wrong time. Best of luck to him except when playing us

14-10-2015, 09:38 PM
Mixu never lost a cup final in disastrous fashion to them. He had the tactical nous to know how to set up a team of lesser quality than their opponents to defend.

14-10-2015, 10:17 PM

He didn't get to two successive cup finals either.

His win percentage is less than Fenlon's. He took over a decent team from the Mowbray and Collins era. Fenlon took over from Calderwood.

14-10-2015, 11:14 PM
Aye right then. I'm sure it was another hilarious nickname made up by the Jambo's for one of our managers, as I'm pretty sure you are well aware. Mixu was a great player from us but was manager at the wrong time. Best of luck to him except when playing us

Actually, the name was made up by hibs fans on this very forum. I'm sure if you rewind to then you'll see many of the posters here calling him it. Probably the same ones shooting me down for using it.

portycabbage
14-10-2015, 11:36 PM
He didn't get to two successive cup finals either.

His win percentage is less than Fenlon's. He took over a decent team from the Mowbray and Collins era. Fenlon took over from Calderwood.

Both Mixu and Fenlon were unbeaten for a season in league derbies (08-09 and 12-13).

Not saying they deserve a statue or anything, just thought I'd chuck in a stat!

15-10-2015, 01:24 AM
Actually, the name was made up by hibs fans on this very forum. I'm sure if you rewind to then you'll see many of the posters here calling him it. Probably the same ones shooting me down for using it.
It's a Shan name and not one I've used, Nor any of my mates who I go to the games with.

15-10-2015, 03:55 AM

He got a (cringeworthy) few nicknames on this site. Why you'd still regurgitate that is beyond me.

15-10-2015, 09:27 AM

You seem to remember a lot about when the name first came about for someone who was claiming you thought it was because of his ability to mix it up as a player?

15-10-2015, 10:20 AM
You seem to remember a lot about when the name first came about for someone who was claiming you thought it was because of his ability to mix it up as a player?

I take it you were one of them then, awfy touchy about that subject. Well done getting a manager who had us finishing top 6 in the big league sacked.

15-10-2015, 10:36 AM
I take it you were one of them then, awfy touchy about that subject. Well done getting a manager who had us finishing top 6 in the big league sacked.

Laughable.

If you like making derogatory comments about a former Hibs player and manager, at least have the courage to back them up.

15-10-2015, 10:53 AM
Please drop the witch hunt and leave Admin to run the site. There's already been posts deleted.
Thanks.

15-10-2015, 11:58 AM
Another football team, appoints someone as a manager. The impacts on our team are almost none, other than I would rather have played United in the Cup while they still did not have a Manager ( any Manager that is).

But we still manage to work it up into a pointless fight. Definitely not class, but definitely Hibs.Net.