05-10-2015, 09:48 PM
On BBC 1 now.

MJN1875
05-10-2015, 10:04 PM
On BBC 1 now.

Good watch so far.

GGTTH07
05-10-2015, 10:27 PM
Seems a good, down to earth guy supringsly!

05-10-2015, 10:47 PM
Yes was a good watch,he came across really well,just a boy who loves to play football. Scored some crackers in his time and well respected by others.

05-10-2015, 10:53 PM
His goal against Arsenal for Everton gives you goosebumps everytime you watch it.

06-10-2015, 04:00 AM
Great watch. Really enjoyed it.

gorgie greens
06-10-2015, 05:47 AM
must admit i cant stand the guy but after watching this he has changed my opinion , family man and just seems a really nice guy

06-10-2015, 06:04 AM
must admit i cant stand the guy but after watching this he has changed my opinion , family man and just seems a really nice guy

Thats what they want you to think. :greengrin

06-10-2015, 06:05 AM
Yes was a good watch,he came across really well,just a boy who loves to play football. Scored some crackers in his time and well respected by others.

What about his barnet though. :greengrin

06-10-2015, 07:09 AM

He's not really though is he? How many hookers has he had?

06-10-2015, 07:13 AM

Don't know? How many?

06-10-2015, 07:41 AM
Will this be on I player?

06-10-2015, 07:48 AM
Don't know? How many?

The subject of the granny hookers was omitted, Linekers deep probing questions didn't probe that deeply! There was a scene where he was driving around Croxteth showing where he grew up and an old dear came over to chat to him, I thought this is it, but alas no.

06-10-2015, 07:53 AM
Does buying sex define one as a person?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

06-10-2015, 08:03 AM

It makes you a dirty.

06-10-2015, 08:27 AM
The subject of the granny hookers was omitted, Linekers deep probing questions didn't probe that deeply! There was a scene where he was driving around Croxteth showing where he grew up and an old dear came over to chat to him, I thought this is it, but alas no.

That sounds like a sensationalist topic, when he was a young man....not sure it is anywhere near an important topic considering what he has done in life....

06-10-2015, 08:32 AM
It makes you a dirty.

Are you talking from experience? :greengrin

06-10-2015, 08:36 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b06g67xt/rooney-the-man-behind-the-goals

06-10-2015, 08:54 AM

Makes no difference he's a nice family guy and a decent down to earth bloke.

06-10-2015, 09:06 AM

It would give hints to a persons character if they were doing it while in a long term relationship.

06-10-2015, 09:16 AM
It would give hints to a persons character if they were doing it while in a long term relationship.

Or he was a silly laddie who has possibly learned from his mistakes

06-10-2015, 09:26 AM
Or he was a silly laddie who has possibly learned from his mistakes

Couldn't have learned much when the 'silly laddie' repeated the mistake in his mid 20s.

06-10-2015, 09:26 AM
Are you talking from experience? :greengrin

I'm too poor for that lark. I get a hard enough time when the missus sees I transferred £20 into my SkyBet account!

06-10-2015, 10:01 AM

I don't know the full story about Rooney. Do we know whether his partner was aware of what he was doing? Did she give her consent?

As you say, it's hints, but only that. IMO, it's the deception (if there was such) that would be the issue.

06-10-2015, 10:12 AM
The "granny-pumping" was hinted at (I think) when Colleen suggested that he had done some silly things when he was young.

It's between the pair of them really. If she has found it in herself to forgive him then it's nobody else's business. Every relationship has its ups and downs and rocky moments, especially (I would imagine) one that started when they were at school and one that is so high-profile.

I did enough bloody stupid things in my teens and early twenties so wouldn't want to criticise him too much.

06-10-2015, 10:29 AM
Thats what they want you to think. :greengrin

He's probably not much bothered what you think

06-10-2015, 10:32 AM
Thought he came across really well. Seemed a down to earth guy who remembered where he came from and doted on his family. He appeared totally in love with the game as well.

Ok so he made a few daft mistakes when he was younger. I defy anyone on here to claim they haven't done so.

06-10-2015, 10:42 AM
Thought he came across really well. Seemed a down to earth guy who remembered where he came from and doted on his family. He appeared totally in love with the game as well.

Ok so he made a few daft mistakes when he was younger. I defy anyone on here to claim they haven't done so.

I've made a few mistakes in my time, but if I had anywhere near the kind of money he's had....god knows what would have become of me! :greengrin

andy1875
06-10-2015, 11:00 AM

Very much this.

The majority of young lads make mistakes, you learn and get on with life. Rooney is no different just because he's a football player.

On the documentary, I loved the story about after his first goal against Arsenal when they won. The team went out to celebrate but because he was only 16, couldn't go out with team mates. He went back to Croxteth to meet pals and ended up playing at the back of the houses playing football at the garages.

Fantastic and easy to forget he was still only a bairn.

06-10-2015, 11:03 AM
Thursday night is date night, Wayne & Colleen Rooney will be at a cinema or restaurant errr somewhere in Liverpool :-)

06-10-2015, 11:04 AM
Will this be on I player?

Yes on iPlayer now bud. Also recommend the Steven Gerrard one aswell, pretty short but a decent watch.

06-10-2015, 11:08 AM

Of course he is in love with game it pays him 300k a week, all for kicking a football:rolleyes:

06-10-2015, 11:44 AM
Couldn't have learned much when the 'silly laddie' repeated the mistake in his mid 20s.

I done loads of daft things in my teens leading into my mid 20's that i wouldnt dream of doing now. People change

Tom Hart RIP
06-10-2015, 11:50 AM
I saw him score one of his first goals for Everton at Eastet Road. Had no idea then he was only 16.

hibeemikey21
06-10-2015, 12:24 PM
The "granny-pumping" was hinted at (I think) when Colleen suggested that he had done some silly things when he was young.

It's between the pair of them really. If she has found it in herself to forgive him then it's nobody else's business. Every relationship has its ups and downs and rocky moments, especially (I would imagine) one that started when they were at school and one that is so high-profile.

I did enough bloody stupid things in my teens and early twenties so wouldn't want to criticise him too much.

I thought it was quite funny as Colleen said that people do silly things, learn from their mistakes and "never do them again" (clearly referring to Wayne's use of prostitues when cheating on her).

Hasn't he done that on at least 2 occasions now??

06-10-2015, 12:35 PM
Of course he is in love with game it pays him 300k a week, all for kicking a football:rolleyes:

Some footballers don't really like football - it's just a job to them. I think that's the difference that's being made here.

06-10-2015, 01:20 PM
He's probably not much bothered what you think

OK :greengrin

GreenOnions
06-10-2015, 01:46 PM

I don't exactly remember reading that in Sartre's "Being and Nothingness". Could maybe be described as evidence of being a person?:hmmm:

06-10-2015, 02:03 PM
I don't exactly remember reading that in Sartre's "Being and Nothingness". Could maybe be described as evidence of being a person?:hmmm:

Yeah, but didn't he say DoBeDoBeDooooo..... or was that Sinatra? I forget what the graffiti used to say. :greengrin

Actually, old J-P wasn't shy of the company of other women either, but with the consent of his missus.

I can just hear Wayne and Colleen in their next Hello interview.... "well, yer know.... if it's awl right for Gene Paul and Simon.... don't knock it, wack."

GreenOnions
06-10-2015, 03:03 PM
Yeah, but didn't he say DoBeDoBeDooooo..... or was that Sinatra? I forget what the graffiti used to say. :greengrin

Actually, old J-P wasn't shy of the company of other women either, but with the consent of his missus.

I can just hear Wayne and Colleen in their next Hello interview.... "well, yer know.... if it's awl right for Gene Paul and Simon.... don't knock it, wack."

Yes, there was more of Sartre in Sinatra than Rooney I think - or would I be arrested for saying that? :offski:

Mcpakeisgod
06-10-2015, 05:11 PM
Makes no difference he's a nice family guy and a decent down to earth bloke.

Wouldn't think behaviour like that would make him a family man, Christ
Might be a nice guy

06-10-2015, 05:28 PM
Might be a nice guy

How many wife and kids did he have when he behaved like that?

H113EE5
06-10-2015, 08:54 PM
I saw him score one of his first goals for Everton at Eastet Road. Had no idea then he was only 16.

So did I.. Everton took him off before he was sent off. Even at that age, he was well up for the physical sie of the game

06-10-2015, 09:03 PM
Might be a nice guy

Aye okay then!!!!!

06-10-2015, 09:11 PM
Aye okay then!!!!!

He has a point surely? The usually accepted definitions of good family man don't generally cover multiple occasions of adultery with prostitutes. Or any other women really.

His wife was reportedly pregnant during the seven times he is alleged to have seen one of the prostitutes.

06-10-2015, 09:12 PM
Lineker? Prober? Throbber aye. A scripted PR freebie from a friendly media. I think Rooney is a marvellous football player and everything else is of no interest when it's tarted up this way.

06-10-2015, 09:37 PM
I enjoyed the programme thought he came across as decent down to earth guy

06-10-2015, 09:37 PM
Wayne came across as a nice chap but a bit boring. Typical footballer in fact. His wife is very nice. Good luck to them all.

06-10-2015, 10:02 PM
Some footballers don't really like football - it's just a job to them. I think that's the difference that's being made here.

There was and interview with Assou-ekotto where he said he loved football as a lad with his mates, when he went pro it stopped being fun and became a job. He didn't socialise with team mates or anything, it was simply a way to make money.

06-10-2015, 10:22 PM
He has a point surely? The usually accepted definitions of good family man don't generally cover multiple occasions of adultery with prostitutes. Or any other women really.

His wife was reportedly pregnant during the seven times he is alleged to have seen one of the prostitutes.

Did you watch the programme? Regardless of what has happened in the past he is now a settled and content family man and came across as such.If his wife can forgive, what anyone else thinks is immaterial.

07-10-2015, 12:23 AM
Staple EPL fare - ie: bland PR pish for consumerist drones.

Kept waiting for the Oul' Slapper to make an appearance to spice things up.

We'll probably have to wait till menopausal retirement and alcoholic meltdown in a 7-10 years before Rooney gets even remotely interesting again, and where he want be shielded by the big club/EPL/sponsors cartel of minders. Coronation Street far more exciting.

Mcpakeisgod
07-10-2015, 08:04 AM
How many wife and kids did he have when he behaved like that?

One pregnant wife so the story goes

Mcpakeisgod
07-10-2015, 08:08 AM
I'm not saying it hasn't changed him and all that, its just hard to refer to him as a family man with that behaviour previously. Each to their own eh

07-10-2015, 08:30 AM
Very good watch, he's a good father regardless of his past and clearly learnt from some bad decisions. Some on here maybe should get off their high horse before judging others.

07-10-2015, 08:31 AM
Aren't these programmes meant to paint you in a great light? It's a PR stunt like the 'at home with David Cameron' type bull**** you get before a general election?

Rooney may or may not be a nice guy but this was hardly warts and all television.

In the end though does it really matter? He's just an expensively paid footballer and people like watching celebrities lifestyles.

Mcpakeisgod
07-10-2015, 09:28 AM
Very good watch, he's a good father regardless of his past and clearly learnt from some bad decisions. Some on here maybe should get off their high horse before judging others.

Just morals

07-10-2015, 09:34 AM
Just morals

He was stupid, but he was also young! Should that mean he's a bad person or not a good family man now? No it doesn't. He made mistakes as I'm sure you have in life. Does that mean you have no morals for some of the things you have done?

07-10-2015, 09:50 AM
There was and interview with Assou-ekotto where he said he loved football as a lad with his mates, when he went pro it stopped being fun and became a job. He didn't socialise with team mates or anything, it was simply a way to make money.

Sergio Porrini said the same kind of thing - although playing for Rangers will probably do that to you.

Not quite the same, but Casillas once famously said that he loved football but hated playing it. When he wasn't on official club or international duty, he refused to discuss it at all with mates/family etc. This was probably about 10 years ago and he said he might feel differently if he ever left Real Madrid - I wonder if moving to Porto has changed his view.

07-10-2015, 10:01 AM
Aren't these programmes meant to paint you in a great light? It's a PR stunt like the 'at home with David Cameron' type bull**** you get before a general election?

Rooney may or may not be a nice guy but this was hardly warts and all television.

In the end though does it really matter? He's just an expensively paid footballer and people like watching celebrities lifestyles.

Agree a bit like a Hello photo shoot, it is there to make the subject more normal and likeable.

07-10-2015, 10:06 AM
Staple EPL fare - ie: bland PR pish for consumerist drones.

Kept waiting for the Oul' Slapper to make an appearance to spice things up.

We'll probably have to wait till menopausal retirement and alcoholic meltdown in a 7-10 years before Rooney gets even remotely interesting again, and where he want be shielded by the big club/EPL/sponsors cartel of minders. Coronation Street far more exciting.

Shame he's so rich, because the classic post-football job of overweight pub landlord looks perfect for Rooney.

He was built like a man at 16, he'll be built like a house at 40.

Mcpakeisgod
07-10-2015, 11:01 AM
He was stupid, but he was also young! Should that mean he's a bad person or not a good family man now? No it doesn't. He made mistakes as I'm sure you have in life. Does that mean you have no morals for some of the things you have done?

Just my opinion, he wasn't thinking of his family when he done that was he ? Nope, stupid man

07-10-2015, 11:04 AM
Just my opinion, he wasn't thinking of his family when he done that was he ? Nope, stupid man

How do you know that he didn't have his wife's consent?

Morality isn't absolute, it's subjective..... and that's us back to Sartre again. :greengrin

Mcpakeisgod
07-10-2015, 11:06 AM
Consent o cheat on her!? Is that actually a thing haha!

07-10-2015, 11:07 AM
Consent o cheat on her!? Is that actually a thing haha!

It's not cheating if she gave her consent. :wink: