View Full Version : Best players you have seen play for us.

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:05 PM
Sorry this came up on another thread but I think it deserves one of its own.

I picked

latapy, sauzee, griffiths, Murphy, Harper, oconnor, riordan, brown, Thomson, agathe and zitelli

Have I missed anyone? Does anyone disagree?

04-10-2015, 09:08 PM
Would add Archibald to that list, and remove Agathe.

Darren Jackson, Jim Leighton, and Andy Goram would go on to it.

04-10-2015, 09:09 PM
Jim Leighton

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:10 PM
Would add Archibald to that list, and remove Agathe.

Darren Jackson, Jim Leighton, and Andy Goram would go on to it.

I was born in 83, my memories of goram and Leighton aren't great although I wouldn't disagree with that.

As little time as agathe played he's defo on the list. He was a class above for us.
That game against Dundee......

stevie-bee
04-10-2015, 09:10 PM
Fletcher,Archibald ,
Harper?

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:11 PM
Fletcher, ?

Good for us, but not good enough to go on that list imo

04-10-2015, 09:11 PM
John collins

04-10-2015, 09:12 PM
I was born in 83, my memories of goram and Leighton aren't great although I wouldn't disagree with that.

As little time as agathe played he's defo on the list. He was a class above for us.
That game against Dundee......

Born in 83 so that's Kevin Harper on your list then and not Joe asI thought it was.

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:13 PM
John collins

Again I saw him play but can't remember him as I was so young. Would agree with that though.

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:14 PM
Born in 83 so that's Kevin Harper on your list then and not Joe asI thought it was.

Yeah sorry I should have put the first name in.

04-10-2015, 09:14 PM
Benny Brazil.. :wink:

04-10-2015, 09:16 PM
Keith Wright

04-10-2015, 09:16 PM
Leigh Griffiths, Derek Riordan, David Murphy, Scott Brown, Russell Latapy, Franck Sauzee,

04-10-2015, 09:17 PM
George Best might deserve a mention too!

04-10-2015, 09:17 PM
Matty Jack purely for that goal against Utd, I've got a Utd fan in work who still rages at that!!

04-10-2015, 09:18 PM
Kenny Dalglish & Keith Wright what a partnership that was.

04-10-2015, 09:19 PM
Alan Rough - John Collins

04-10-2015, 09:22 PM
Crunchie
Weir

04-10-2015, 09:24 PM
Apart from the glaring ones mentioned so far, Michael O'Neill was one of my all time favourites. Superbly skilful and clever player on his day.

04-10-2015, 09:25 PM
Tommy McIntyre
Joe McLaughlin

04-10-2015, 09:26 PM
Good for us, but not good enough to go on that list imo

Fletcher was brilliant for us and scored two goals in a cup final win. You've got Didier Agathe on your list who was at Hibs for about 3 months. Made a big impact and scored a great goal, but doesn't belong on an all time list IMO.

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:28 PM
Fletcher was brilliant for us and scored two goals in a cup final win. You've got Didier Agathe on your list who was at Hibs for about 3 months. Made a big impact and scored a great goal, but doesn't belong on an all time list IMO.

I just mean the best quality you've seen in a hibs shirt for how top quality a player they were for us no matter how long they were there. Fletch for me was class but not as good as anyone on my list.

04-10-2015, 09:34 PM
Shades, Willie Hamilton, Eric Stevenson, Peter Cormack, Pat Stanton, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, Alex Edwards, Arthur Duncan, Frank Sauzee, Derek Riordan.

There are many other very good players I've missed out as my list would get too long.

04-10-2015, 09:35 PM
Mcallister, Jackson, Wright, michael o neill, pat mcginlay
Sauzee, latapy, Zitelli, John o neill
Murphy, riordan, brown
Griffiths

Chip shop Joe
04-10-2015, 09:41 PM
Tony Rougier! Now there was a player. Granted only every 10 games but on his game he was absolutely different class.

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:43 PM
Tony Rougier! Now there was a player. Granted only every 10 games but on his game he was absolutely different class.

Trying to work out who was the worst striker between him lavety and Crawford!

Hank Schrader
04-10-2015, 09:46 PM
Russell Latapy
Franck Sauzee
David Murphy
Liam Miller
Scott Brown
Derek Riordan
Merouane Zemmama
Scott Allan
Darren Jackson
John Collins
Anthony Stokes

Chip shop Joe
04-10-2015, 09:49 PM
Trying to work out who was the worst striker between him lavety and Crawford!

I would say Lavety[emoji1] had high hopes for him after paying I think it was about 200 grand. Had a few moments but never consist.

gringojoe
04-10-2015, 09:50 PM
Ally MacLeod

04-10-2015, 09:50 PM
Where to start, John Brownlie, best RB I've ever seen, Pat Stanton, Jimmy O'rourke, Alex Cropley, John Blackley, Riordan, Latapy, Sauzee, Cormack, Archibald, off the top of my head.

c31
04-10-2015, 09:52 PM
Alex (Mickey) Edwards - my favourite when I was a lad. He's exactly what we need just now, a great player with the attitude that's sadly missing or been train'd out of players now...

04-10-2015, 09:53 PM
John Blackley was my life long favourite until Franck came along........

seanshow
04-10-2015, 09:54 PM
Kenny Dalglish & Keith Wright what a partnership that was.

Dalglish was amazing in that testimonial match,...set Keith Wright up with 2 or 3 goals? with defence splitting passes and left the park to a standing ovation, I wonder what age he was at that point, incredible.

04-10-2015, 09:57 PM
Dalglish was amazing in that testimonial match,...set Keith Wright up with 2 or 3 goals? with defence splitting passes and left the park to a standing ovation, I wonder what age he was at that point, incredible.
Are there any pictures of Kenny Dalglish in a Hibs top?

MJN1875
04-10-2015, 09:58 PM
I would say Lavety[emoji1] had high hopes for him after paying I think it was about 200 grand. Had a few moments but never consist.

Was a bad period for hibs that!

H18S NX
04-10-2015, 10:00 PM
Willie Hamilton,Joe Baker,Alex Edwards,Eric Schaedler,Steve Archibald,many many more.

04-10-2015, 10:07 PM
Zoubir

04-10-2015, 10:08 PM
I loved watching Erich Schaedler.

David Murphy was brilliant left back too, but a different type of player.

I remember one time when Shades had been taken out jumping for a header and when he got to his feet, it was obvious he didn't know what had happened or who had done him. I shouted, "it was the number 8 Eric" and he gave me the thumbs up.

Sure enough, a few minutes later, the number 8 ended up on the wrong end of a, er, "robust" Schaedler tackle. :greengrin

04-10-2015, 10:21 PM
Brian Rice was a very good/classy player for us.

04-10-2015, 10:35 PM
Bobby Duncan, Colin Stein, Peter Cormack

04-10-2015, 10:43 PM
Ivan Sproule and Gordon Durie were favourites of mine but not mentioned elsewhere.

04-10-2015, 10:52 PM
Ally MacLeod

Which one?

04-10-2015, 11:06 PM
Sorry this came up on another thread but I think it deserves one of its own.

I picked

latapy, sauzee, griffiths, Murphy, Harper, oconnor, riordan, brown, Thomson, agathe and zitelli

Have I missed anyone? Does anyone disagree?1st reading of this post to be honest. fairly sober, at the time of writing and I do have to answer with: lump them all together, and they come close to = Paddy Stanton.

05-10-2015, 06:54 AM

Yes there is one somewhere as remember seeing it.

05-10-2015, 06:59 AM

Dalglish was 40 years old.

WellingtonHibby
05-10-2015, 07:54 AM
Jorge Claros

05-10-2015, 08:31 AM
I'll throw Mickey Weir into the mix, maybe not the best but he was my hero as a kid !

ACLeith
05-10-2015, 08:36 AM
WARNING - old codger alert!!

Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond.

05-10-2015, 08:44 AM
Decent squad!

Keepers: Rough, Goram, Leighton

Defenders: Brownlie, Schaedler, Blackley, McNamara, Sauzee, Laursen, Whittaker, Murphy

Midfielders: Cormack, Stanton, Bremner, Edwards, Cropley, Weir, McAllister, O'Neill, Collins, Latapy, Brown, Beuzelin

Forwards: Stein, O'Rourke, Gordon, Duncan, MacLeod, Best, Archibald, Jackson, Wright, Riordan, O'Connor, Fletcher, Griffiths

Newcastlehibby
05-10-2015, 09:35 AM
Don't forget Bobby Duncan and Peter Marinello.

gringojoe
05-10-2015, 09:52 AM
Which one?

The round one:thumbsup:

05-10-2015, 09:53 AM
1st reading of this post to be honest. fairly sober, at the time of writing and I do have to answer with: lump them all together, and they come close to = Paddy Stanton.

Absolutely. Pat was simply THE BEST. Outstanding in almost every position on the park - I think the only position I didn't see him play was goalkeeper. I have to say that in my opinion the vast majority of the players mentioned on this thread simply weren't fit to lace the Great Man's boots.

Exceptions to the above - Joe Baker, Willie Hamilton, Franck Sauzee, and obviously the Famous Five whom I didn't see.

Dalglish - he guested in a testimonial. That doesn't make him a Hibee, even if he does squeak in on a technicality.

And IMO Pat was the better player.

hibbybrian
05-10-2015, 10:02 AM

05-10-2015, 10:07 AM
Dominique Malonga

rodhibs55
05-10-2015, 10:14 AM
Decent squad!

Keepers: Rough, Goram, Leighton

Defenders: Brownlie, Schaedler, Blackley, McNamara, Sauzee, Laursen, Whittaker, Murphy

Midfielders: Cormack, Stanton, Bremner, Edwards, Cropley, Weir, McAllister, O'Neill, Collins, Latapy, Brown, Beuzelin

Forwards: Stein, O'Rourke, Duncan, MacLeod, Best, Archibald, Jackson, Wright, Riordan, O'Connor, Fletcher, Griffiths

Pretty much covers all I would agree with, possibly add Zitteli though.

05-10-2015, 10:39 AM

Or even Zitelli? :greengrin

I'm amazed that no one has yet mentioned the magical Benny Brazil. :not worth

05-10-2015, 11:01 AM
Or even Zitelli? :greengrin

I'm amazed that no one has yet mentioned the magical Benny Brazil. :not worth

Benny has been mentioned - you missed it old guy 😀

05-10-2015, 11:10 AM
It always upsets me when these threads are allowed to get onto page 2 without a mention of the spectacular and mercurial............

YANNICK ZAMBERNARDI :top marks

No, but seriously, Beuzelin was class. Rarely seen a player with better awareness of what was immediately around him. Used to control the ball and ball possession without actually touching the ball if that makes sense. He'd take a first touch and then use his body magnificently to keep it before playing the right pass. His performance in the 1-0 win over Rangers at Ibrox under Collins was right up there with the best I've ever seen.

fulshie
05-10-2015, 11:11 AM
The 2007 league Cup winning side wasn't too bad for relative recent times. :thumbsup:

05-10-2015, 11:17 AM
Matty jack. Ulrik laursen. David murphy. Scott brown. Riordan. Griffiths . Mark libra. Sauzee. Latapy. Tsamatulski. Michael oneil. Shaun dennis. Yogi

Matty_Jack04
05-10-2015, 11:28 AM

I loved tony as a lad backed him everytime the old man shot him down, those once in a blue moon games meant so much to me

05-10-2015, 11:32 AM
Scott Allan

05-10-2015, 11:42 AM
Ivan Sproule and Gordon Durie were favourites of mine but not mentioned elsewhere.

Sproule is up there with my all time favourite players.. but I wouldn't put him under the "great" or "classy" players list.

Still a hero though :greengrin

05-10-2015, 11:48 AM

Aye possibly....Peter Marinello as well although I was far too young to notice that Peter couldn't actually cross a ball, he could only dribble (usually past about 5 players at a time!).

05-10-2015, 12:10 PM
What about Des Bremner? Outstanding player in an otherwise poor period IMHO

hibsfan7
05-10-2015, 12:26 PM
Turnbulls tornadoes
joe baker
all of mowbrays team
liam miller
antony stokes
scott alan

05-10-2015, 12:32 PM
Malonga....

05-10-2015, 01:05 PM
Neil Martin was an extremely underrated player. IIRC he scored close to 90 goals for us in not much more than 100 games. I remember him scoring 8 goals at ER in 4 days against Alloa & Falkirk! A personal favourite was John McNamee, described by Sir Pat as the hardest man he ever met. That'll do me!

Ricky Bobby
05-10-2015, 01:17 PM
George Mccluscky,Steve Archibald and Franck are probably the most gifted players i have seen playing for us. A pity they were just slightly past their best.

05-10-2015, 01:25 PM
In my lifetime

Le God
latapy
Riordan
Griffiths
Zemamma
Matty Jack
Paco Luna (might just be my age but I remember his as being sheer class)
Rob Jones
On his day Bamba

alexhibs
05-10-2015, 01:32 PM
Pat McGinlay:flag:

05-10-2015, 01:32 PM
Neil Martin was an extremely underrated player. IIRC he scored close to 90 goals for us in not much more than 100 games. I remember him scoring 8 goals at ER in 4 days against Alloa & Falkirk! A personal favourite was John McNamee, described by Sir Pat as the hardest man he ever met. That'll do me!

Agreed, spot on but I would like to add Joe ( the penalty king) Davis and another fine full back in Chris Shevlane. Johnny Hamilton and Johnny Graham were fab for us along with "the new George Best", one of our own, Peter Marinello.

cmcd
05-10-2015, 01:56 PM
I have always carried a torch for Neil Martin who had a fantastic goals to games ratio Could sit here all day talking about great players Special mention for Willie Hamilton-Joe Baker Pat Stanton John Brownlie infact all the Tornadoes and the one and only Gordon Smith ( At the end of Hibs career) I was very young

05-10-2015, 02:01 PM
I trust I will be forgiven for using the "age" card ( I'm 83 )but in my 75 years watching Hibs ONE MAN stands out amongst many " great " players I have enjoyed watching !!
GORDON SMITH
" Prince of Wingers"

05-10-2015, 03:36 PM
Willie Hamilton and Eric "the rebel" Stevenson. Also the afformentioned Tony Rougier - you never quite knew what he would come up with.

05-10-2015, 03:51 PM
Surprised Gordon Hunter hasn't been mentioned anywhere.

Our defence looked lost whenever he was out injured or suspended, he could tackle as well as any defender I've seen play for Hibs.

Big player in a cup winning team, had a few memorable tangles with McCoist and Hateley who were doing the business against some pretty impressive defences at the time.

05-10-2015, 04:13 PM
This question wiII bring answers from whatever decade you grew up in

I missed the famous five and grew up with TurnbuIIs Tornadoes every one of which were great pIayers!

The most stand out pIayer for me has aIways been PAT STANTON and aIways wiII be!

I was fortunate to see George Best grace the jersey and of course Franck Sauzee

Mickey Weir, Keith Wright and the GoIden Generation of Tony Mowbrays era take a Iot of beating too

Iatapy set the pIace aIight nearIy everytime he pIayed

These are onIy a few of my favourites and there are many more who had us on the edge of our seats with excitement HopefuIIy there wiII be many more to come in the future!

05-10-2015, 04:21 PM
Franck Sauzee without a shadow of a doubt.

I was growing up when he was playing for us and I don't think I'll ever see a player who is anywhere close to being as good as him.

I remember bumping in to him at the golf range one day (I'd only be about 14 or 15) but he stood and talked to me for about half an hour as well.

ACLeith
05-10-2015, 04:38 PM
I trust I will be forgiven for using the "age" card ( I'm 83 )but in my 75 years watching Hibs ONE MAN stands out amongst many " great " players I have enjoyed watching !!
GORDON SMITH
" Prince of Wingers"

A good case can be argued for Gordon being regarded as the greatest Scottish player ever, never mind for us!!

MJN1875
05-10-2015, 04:55 PM
Scott Allan

Steady mate he's no even as good as Liam Henderson!

05-10-2015, 04:55 PM
Kevin Mcallister aka wee crunchie isn't the best I've seen but would be in my top ten great wee player.

05-10-2015, 05:30 PM
The Bakerboy was my hero as a young lad but I did see my Dads hero Gordon Smith who was incredible as well. I also saw the great Pat Stanton and all the others mentioned but for sheer excitement it has to be Joe Baker.

Mark79
05-10-2015, 05:51 PM
Pires and vieira

05-10-2015, 06:00 PM
What about Des Bremner? Outstanding player in an otherwise poor period IMHO

A VERY poor period - IIRC he was signed late 1971! Not a lot of talent at ER at that time .... :wink:

Though in fact you're right - he was at the club throughout the 1970's and had to watch the Tornadoes team being disassembled around him. Great players leaving (for big money as a rule) to be replaced by numpties.

I think he was the last of that team to go - to Aston Villa where he won English Div One Championship and the European Cup medals.

And we got him for pennies from Deveronvale in the Highland League.

MJN1875
05-10-2015, 06:25 PM
Pires and vieira

That's cheating!

05-10-2015, 09:24 PM
A good case can be argued for Gordon being regarded as the greatest Scottish player ever, never mind for us!!

Amen to that !:top marks
Strange thing was , looking back, that because of the " Famous Five" we had these five brilliant guys to talk about/discuss/ get excited about
If Gordon had been the only one playing I think your suggestion would have been accepted nationally
A privalege to have watched him play , meet with him and drink in his pub :greengrin

Galahibby
05-10-2015, 10:37 PM
WARNING - old codger alert!!

Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond.

Ok, you win, no-one can really compete with that :aok:

For me, it has to be Sauzee, no-one else has come close in my time. And although not at their peak, not many people can say they saw George Best and Kenny Dalglish play for their team. More recently I would say Leigh Griffiths and Scott Brown. Although it pains me deeply to say it, Andy Goram was a class act (on the pitch at least!) Someone else mentioned Stevie Archibald, he was something else as well. :flag:

Septimus
06-10-2015, 07:37 AM
Tommy Younger.

06-10-2015, 07:44 AM
I started watching hibs in 2000 so have missed a few of the greats. Still got to see the likes of Sauzee and Latapy which was an amazing way to start. Thought we'd always be that good! Riordan is the most talented player I've seen play for us after those two.

ACLeith
06-10-2015, 08:00 AM
Ok, you win, no-one can really compete with that :aok:

For me, it has to be Sauzee, no-one else has come close in my time. And although not at their peak, not many people can say they saw George Best and Kenny Dalglish play for their team. More recently I would say Leigh Griffiths and Scott Brown. Although it pains me deeply to say it, Andy Goram was a class act (on the pitch at least!) Someone else mentioned Stevie Archibald, he was something else as well. :flag:

OK, putting aside my unfair advantage :wink:, outwith the "Famous 5", the 3 greatest players I have seen were Joe Baker, Pat Stanton and Frank Sauzee. Joe replaced a legend and became one himself; even my Dad, who saw the FF at their peak, which sadly I missed by a few years, rated Pat Stanton as good enough to play in that team and Sauzee was a privilege to watch, even in the twilight of his career.

MM19
06-10-2015, 02:23 PM
A VERY poor period - IIRC he was signed late 1971! Not a lot of talent at ER at that time .... :wink:

Though in fact you're right - he was at the club throughout the 1970's and had to watch the Tornadoes team being disassembled around him. Great players leaving (for big money as a rule) to be replaced by numpties.

I think he was the last of that team to go - to Aston Villa where he won English Div One Championship and the European Cup medals.

We even got Joe ward for him too.

The great Pat Stanton was my favourite along with Big John McNamee. I wish we had a centre half like him now.

06-10-2015, 03:05 PM
Shades, Willie Hamilton, Eric Stevenson, Peter Cormack, Pat Stanton, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, Alex Edwards, Arthur Duncan, Frank Sauzee, Derek Riordan.

There are many other very good players I've missed out as my list would get too long.

esjorto
06-10-2015, 04:48 PM
One advantage of being old!!!
As kids we all rattled of the Hibs team: Younger; Govan, Shaw; Combe, Paterson, Buchanan; Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond.

Very shortly after that I saw Joe Baker, Johnny Macleod, Lawrie Leslie, Joe Davis, John Fraser, Davie Gibson, then a bit later we had Peter Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Pat Quinn, Neil Martin, John MacNamee, Jim Scott, then Jimmy O'Rourke, Pat Stanton, Colin Stein.
Far too many to remember them all.
I have always thought Gordon Smith the greatest Hibs player ever ( just check his goal scoring record - in all games 364 goals: incredible for a winger, Joe Baker would always be my pick as the most exciting player I ever saw. In one season when they played 34 games, he missed one game through injury yet scored 42 goals in 33 games. If you mention these stats to people, especially Celtc and Huns you should see the blank stare you get - one of utter refusal to believe!
I moved to Canada in 1967 so apart from the occasional visit home I only see Hibs on TV. Players like Sauzee, Latapy, Riordan, Griffiths etc.
Fortunately memories last for ever. The Barcelona game, the Real Madrib game, the League Cup final v Kilmarnock!!

gordie18
06-10-2015, 07:35 PM
We've had a lot of decent players, some not stand out but in my 50 plus years of Hibs adventure I'd give a special mention to the following....Andy Goram, John Brownlie, Erich Schaedler, Pat Stanton, John McNamee, Franck Sauzee, Alex Edwards, Ally MacLeod, Alan Gordon, Derek Riordan and Arthur Duncan. Subs Jim Leighton, Graham Mitchell, George Stewart, Russell Latapy, Michael O'Neil, Leigh Griffiths. Think they would hold their own in the modern game!

Sent from my HTC Desire 510 using Tapatalk

06-10-2015, 07:51 PM
John Collins Steve Archibald Franck sauzee Russell latapy Derek riordan

06-10-2015, 08:07 PM
Ally MacLeod

I concur,our very own Andy Richie.

06-10-2015, 09:22 PM
All of the above. Soft spot as well for Ulrik Laursen.

06-10-2015, 09:26 PM
Kevin Mcallister aka wee crunchie would be in my top ten.

You must be joking.

06-10-2015, 09:28 PM
You must be joking.

I thought Crunchie was largely terrible at Hibs. He had s good career elsewhere but I don't think he ever quite did it here.

06-10-2015, 09:30 PM
I thought Crunchie was largely terrible at Hibs. He had s good career elsewhere but I don't think he ever quite did it here.

Phew! I knew it couldnae just be me. :-) He was good at telling folk how much he loved Falkirk while he was here though.

portycabbage
06-10-2015, 09:35 PM
In my lifetime

Le God
latapy
Riordan
Griffiths
Zemamma
Matty Jack
Paco Luna (might just be my age but I remember his as being sheer class)
Rob Jones
On his day Bamba

Was just thinking of Paco Luna when I read this. Took the ball down on his chest well, which is an odd thing to remember about a player. Maybe not ahead of the likes of Riordan, but good player and was sorry when he left.

proud_and_green
06-10-2015, 09:36 PM

Hated it when he left, was my favourite player! Was Bobby Smith brought in when he went south.

06-10-2015, 10:10 PM
Watched Hibs each season since 1994 so:-

Keith Wright
Kevin McAllister
Michael O'Neil
Russell Latapy
Le God
David Murphy
Boozy
Mixu
Deek