View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 1 - 1 St Mirren (Boyle) FT

Hibby_G
26-09-2015, 07:59 AM
Team news??, weather??, who is going to it today:thumbsup::thumbsup::gwa::gwa:

26-09-2015, 08:04 AM
Oh oh! ... You're brave.... Thought Pretty Boy was on the hook for this? :wink:

Any ways..... Let's see what today brings, hopefully we build on mid weeks performance!

Hibby_G
26-09-2015, 08:08 AM
Oh oh! ... You're brave.... Thought Pretty Boy was on the hook for this? :wink:

Any ways..... Let's see what today brings, hopefully we build on mid weeks performance!

lol i just noticed that someone else was meant to be starting this .... oh well:greengrin:wink::greengrin:wink:

26-09-2015, 08:11 AM
We'll re-open this nearer kick-off :aok:

26-09-2015, 01:12 PM
#HFCvSMFC: Oxley, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, Henderson, McGinn, Boyle, Cummings http://t.co/h0Z7Al04Pd

26-09-2015, 01:16 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/26/a94e802c49c043b5a7e7e24d6151681f.jpg

Mcpakeisgod
26-09-2015, 01:21 PM
Christ our squad is just fantastic

26-09-2015, 01:21 PM
No sign of Keatings, sadly. Nor Feruz.

26-09-2015, 01:22 PM
4-5-1 ish? Or Boyle up with JC?

I think McGregor unlucky to be the one to miss out when we go with a back 4. And I'd have liked to see big Dom get a start.

Still, a settled side should mean consistency.

26-09-2015, 01:25 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/26/a94e802c49c043b5a7e7e24d6151681f.jpg

Still annoys me how many players we've signed are still injured.

26-09-2015, 01:26 PM
Still annoys me how many players we've signed are still injured.

Is Anier injured or out of favour?

26-09-2015, 01:27 PM
is feruz injured?

26-09-2015, 01:28 PM
4-5-1 ish? Or Boyle up with JC?

I think McGregor unlucky to be the one to miss out when we go with a back 4. And I'd have liked to see big Dom get a start.

Still, a settled side should mean consistency.

I'd think it will be Boyle and Cummings up front. When we get everyone fit our bench is going to be unreal.

26-09-2015, 01:30 PM
Is Anier injured or out of favour?

Had surgery before joining us this summer so still recovering fitness.

26-09-2015, 01:32 PM
Well if we fail to take 3 points today I think we all know who's to blame.....

26-09-2015, 01:32 PM
is feruz injured?

Yes hamstring.

26-09-2015, 01:49 PM
How long is Craig Flanigans notice period?

The news of him.going to Rangers broke weeks ago but he still seems to be hanging about.

26-09-2015, 01:50 PM
One of my German mates has travelled over for the game. Hibs have never lost when he's been there. Good omen. GGTTH

Green&White
26-09-2015, 02:01 PM
One of my German mates has travelled over for the game. Hibs have never lost when he's been there. Good omen. GGTTH
This his 2nd game aye? [emoji12]

26-09-2015, 02:11 PM
Yes hamstring.

Keatings not making bench is a surprise so injury must be worse or he has aggravated it again in training which is a blow to him getting and staying match fit .Feruz if injured must be overdoing it in training to impress ,Anier didn't realise he had an op so assume will be ages before he is match fit and Farid ,well I have given up on when we may see him
Long winded way of saying just as well Cummings and Malonga will be high on confidence after Wednesday as we seem reliant on our two top scorers from last season ,despite all the additions to the squad up front .
Would like to see Boyle get on scoresheet and add goals to his other attributes .

Moan the Hibs ,let's do this

26-09-2015, 02:14 PM
Come on Hibs. Let's keep the feel good factor going

26-09-2015, 02:15 PM
Gutted missing this one after Wednesday. Touch and go about getting there. Quick (sic) visit to A & E with my daughters pit the tin lid. Here and OAM....

Suburban Hibby
26-09-2015, 02:20 PM
Any updates?

Ffs

1-0 St Mirren.

Horrible defending and a very sluggish start by us.

26-09-2015, 02:22 PM
Plenty time Hibs. Get the finger oot tho!

GlasgowHibee
pretty poor defending, need to up our game.

berwickhibee
Guaranteed wet fish in the face:agree: plenty of time to fix this Hibs. 3-2 hibs

1-0 St Mirren.

Horrible defending and a very sluggish start by us.
Some times you could almost write the script.:agree:

26-09-2015, 02:23 PM
Some times you could almost write the script.:agree:

Everytime!

GlasgowHibee
26-09-2015, 02:25 PM
Not sure if the players are tired, or if St Mirren just want it more, but the difference in pace and urgency is astonishing.

Northern Hibby
26-09-2015, 02:25 PM
Everytime!

Consistently inconsistent 😞

26-09-2015, 02:26 PM
If there is a world record for the amount of sideways passes in one game, we would beat it today.

26-09-2015, 02:27 PM
I am jacks fear of winning

HibeeEmma
26-09-2015, 02:28 PM

Is he there yet?

26-09-2015, 02:30 PM
If we don't give ourselves a shake we are going.to drop points here. We have been horrible so far.

26-09-2015, 02:30 PM
This is the exact situation when passing around the box and being patient does not work.

Take the ****in' initiative.

26-09-2015, 02:33 PM
Not sure if the players are tired, or if St Mirren just want it more, but the difference in pace and urgency is astonishing.
Frankly it does my nut when professional footballers talk of being tired when asked to play 2 games in a week.

cjward2
26-09-2015, 02:36 PM
Come on Hibs. Stick it in the net.

26-09-2015, 02:37 PM
I'm the simple solution to complex problems

cjward2
26-09-2015, 02:38 PM
Too much playing or crossing it into the box, we need some shots from the edge of the box. The long range efforts are waaaaay off.

26-09-2015, 02:39 PM
Any chance of some updates.....

Need to have a think about how to break this team down. They are all behind the ball when we have it and they look organised.

This is the exact situation when passing around the box and being patient does not work.

Take the ****in' initiative.

You mean "This is the exact situation when passing around the box and being lazy does not work."

It never ceases to amaze me the lack of commitment & effort by some players (a lot in fact).
If you watch the top teams they never stop running - in a constructive way as opposed to the headless chicken way.

Big L
26-09-2015, 02:40 PM
Bring on Malonga for gods sake!!

HibeeEmma
26-09-2015, 02:42 PM
Any chance of some updates.....

After Wednesday's win seems people got themselves along to Easter Road to see Hibs do a, well a Hibs!

Let's hope we can turn this around. It's early yet :flag:

26-09-2015, 02:42 PM
No point beating Aberdeen if we can't score against the smaller sides.

Need far more consistency to get promoted.

26-09-2015, 02:43 PM
Need to have a think about how to break this team down. They are all behind the ball when we have it and they look organised.

Every team we have played in the league for the last 14 months, Hearts and Rangers excepted, have played like this and we still seem a million miles away from being comfortable dealing with it.

Very frustrating to watch today.

26-09-2015, 02:44 PM
At last

Gooooooal Boyle

Made our defending look positively Beckenbaueresque.

Decent crowd?

GlasgowHibee
Goal, Martin Boyle :flag:

1-1 Boyle.

Cummings really does need to improve his overall play in this game, because if he's not scoring he's like a man short today.

Hank Schrader
No point beating Aberdeen if we can't score against the smaller sides.

Need far more consistency to get promoted.

No Sherlock...

Get in!!

26-09-2015, 02:45 PM
Yeesssss Boyle 1-1

Love it! Great build up and fine finish by Boyle.:flag:

cjward2
Boyle gooooooooaaaaaallllll. Header from a Gray knock down.

Cummings really does need to improve his overall play in this game, because if he's not scoring he's like a man short today.

I thought he was very poor on Wednesday, with the obvious exception of scoring a great goal.

26-09-2015, 02:46 PM
describe the goal please?

26-09-2015, 02:47 PM
No Sherlock...
Silly response to a perfectly valid point.

26-09-2015, 02:47 PM
Half time.

Pretty poor but it's there for the taking now.

26-09-2015, 02:48 PM

A goal is when the opposition player puts the ball over the line

Cross into David Gray who nodded it back for Boyle to score with a diving header

Ball into box, knock down, finish from a few yards out.

26-09-2015, 02:49 PM
Initiative taken, goal secured.

cjward2
Half time 1-1.

Diving header from Boyle after Gray heads it back across goal front

26-09-2015, 02:50 PM

Cross to the far post knocked back by Gray and finished with a nice diving header by Boyle.

26-09-2015, 02:51 PM
Who's the famous player/whatever on at half time?

26-09-2015, 02:51 PM
Grant Brebner on the pitch at HT, my day is made :greengrin

26-09-2015, 02:52 PM
St Mirren will play the same way second half, but we need to try something different.

26-09-2015, 02:53 PM
St Mirren will play the same way second half, but we need to try something different.

No they have to swap ends so will play the other way.

26-09-2015, 02:53 PM

I won the strip! Always liked Grant Brebner, good lad.

How do I claim it?

26-09-2015, 02:54 PM
there front 2 have worked there asses off

quite impressed with, particularly Callum Gallagher up front

took his goal really well too

26-09-2015, 02:54 PM

How do I claim it?

Main reception after game.

26-09-2015, 02:55 PM

How do I claim it?

West reception isn't it?

I'd only want it if it was Brebner's strip!

26-09-2015, 02:59 PM

How do I claim it?

You have to run on the pitch and rugby tackle whoever made the draw within 60 seconds of it being announced...

26-09-2015, 02:59 PM

Streaker?

26-09-2015, 03:00 PM
West reception isn't it?

I'd only want it if it was Brebner's strip!

Calm down, this is a Family Forum!

26-09-2015, 03:03 PM

I thought he was very poor on Wednesday, with the obvious exception of scoring a great goal.

Exactly. We've had our fair share of dud strikers who couldn't play and couldn't score. Now we've got one who puts the ball in the net and STILL that's not good enough for some.

26-09-2015, 03:05 PM
Its dead on here. Everyone else at the game, whats the crowd like?

26-09-2015, 03:08 PM

It is a collection of people with a common interest assembled within four stands - but we don't have time for that right now.

26-09-2015, 03:09 PM

Underwhelmed

26-09-2015, 03:11 PM

Some funny one liners though :greengrin

26-09-2015, 03:12 PM
Trying to pass the ball through eight players in the penalty box. ?

26-09-2015, 03:13 PM
Goodwin elbows Fontaine in the back as hr walks past, linesman looks right at it and stands like a spare prick at a wedding doing nowt.

26-09-2015, 03:17 PM
Goodwin elbows Fontaine in the back as hr walks past, linesman looks right at it and stands like a spare prick at a wedding doing nowt.

Another cowardly player that needs sorted in the tunnel!

26-09-2015, 03:18 PM

Exactly. We've had our fair share of dud strikers who couldn't play and couldn't score. Now we've got one who puts the ball in the net and STILL that's not good enough for some.

Better now

Stevenson totally mi****s a cross, clangers flapping like a baby eagle and it hits the bar.

26-09-2015, 03:19 PM
BBC has Hibs with 65% possession... but it's still 1-1

Sounds familiar.

26-09-2015, 03:21 PM
Boyle put through by Gray. Poor effort easily saved.

cjward2
Would have been a belter of a goal from Stevenson if it went in at the far top corner.

Beginning to open them up

26-09-2015, 03:24 PM
Beginning to open them up

They are embarrassing.

Supposed to be promotion candidates and more defensive than the likes of Alloa have been and that's saying something.

Awful to watch.

26-09-2015, 03:25 PM
The king.is getting stripped on the bench.

26-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Great.cut back Boyle, Henderson fluffs his shot and blocks it himself.

Malonga on for Boyle. Should have been JC hooked imo.

26-09-2015, 03:31 PM
Malonga free.header from 4 yarrds.right at the keeper.

They are embarrassing.

Supposed to be promotion candidates and more defensive than the likes of Alloa have been and that's saying something.

Awful to watch.

Not a surprise really. Ian Murray probably dreaming of a point today.

They are embarrassing.

Awful to watch.

I don't think they have parked the bus. 2 banks of 4 for sure but always leaving 2 up front.

We just have not been good enough so far.

26-09-2015, 03:35 PM
Saints had a backline of eight players for that last attack and we can't get through

itslegaltender
26-09-2015, 03:36 PM
Crowd is 8911 according to bbc

26-09-2015, 03:38 PM
St Mirren player booked for a farcical dive.

Awful dive there

Henderson off, Carmichael on.

26-09-2015, 03:40 PM
Every team we have played in the league for the last 14 months, Hearts and Rangers excepted, have played like this and we still seem a million miles away from being comfortable dealing with it.

This is the main thing that makes me question Stubbs' abilities as a Manager.

26-09-2015, 03:41 PM
Thompson booked.for a pretty awful swipe from behind on Hanlon.

26-09-2015, 03:42 PM
A goal for Hibs would be very pleasing!!

26-09-2015, 03:43 PM
Final pass today has been brutal. Never seen so many players overrun the ball

26-09-2015, 03:44 PM

Your asking a lot for it to work two games in a row But here's hoping Aldo

26-09-2015, 03:44 PM
Back to the same old issues.today.

Too ponderous, no plan b, no cutting.edge and a lack of ideas in the final 3rd.

HibeeEmma
26-09-2015, 03:45 PM

Last minute goal :agree::agree:

Your asking a lot for it to work two games in a row But here's hoping Aldo

Worth a try Ronnie!!

Bring on the Deeks! 😎

26-09-2015, 03:46 PM
I wonder who we will get in the play offs :greengrin

26-09-2015, 03:47 PM
I don't mean this to be a dig at Lewis Stevenson, but when we have as much of the ball as we do on the flanks, we need much better quality from him and indeed Gray on the other side.

When we are trying to open teams up, its vital that both wide players are stretching the pitch, and both players always see an awful lot of the ball, but they really dont have great quality when crossing or trying to create an opening.

26-09-2015, 03:47 PM
With all due respect to St Mirren but it's games like this that'll lose us any chance of automatic promotion.

26-09-2015, 03:48 PM
Back to the same old issues.today.

Too ponderous, no plan b, no cutting.edge and a lack of ideas in the final 3rd.
Disappointing to read that. Lack of consistency will kill us.

26-09-2015, 03:49 PM
With all due respect to St Mirren but it's games like this that'll lose us any chance of automatic promotion.

Yep.

You can't drop points to St Mirren and Dumbarton in the 1st round of fixtures if you have serious title aspirations. Not good enough.

26-09-2015, 03:51 PM
Yep.

You can't drop points to St Mirren and Dumbarton in the 1st round of fixtures if you have serious title aspirations. Not good enough.

And that is why we get the crowds that we do.

26-09-2015, 03:53 PM

Sadly spot on Aldo and it's not scoring that's the issue not the defence

26-09-2015, 03:54 PM
Yep.

6 wins on the bounce with clean sheets to boot and we're not good enough?

Both Falkirk and Raith now 2 points ahead of Hibs. Disappointing after Wed euphoria.

Christ our squad is just fantastic

Really?

Aye it isn't

26-09-2015, 03:55 PM
Dreadful result. Bad day, even Newport County look like winning.

Disappointing result but we are not going to beat everyone every week. Some need to calm down.

To win the league? No we're not.

26-09-2015, 03:56 PM

You thought their goal was good defending?

26-09-2015, 03:56 PM
Its a Hibs result, we have been doing it for decades.

26-09-2015, 03:57 PM
We were dreadful today. St mirrens game plan was obvious too. Another game stifled by Ian Murray

26-09-2015, 03:57 PM

Correct we are not in the top league and if we want to get there you simply must win every game

26-09-2015, 03:58 PM
Our horrific injury list means we have limited options to change it around.

Feruz
Farrid
Keatings

Coukd all offer something different whwn we wanna change it.

InterviewLoI
26-09-2015, 04:00 PM
Disappointing result but we are not going to beat everyone every week. Some need to calm down.

Rangers have beaten everone every week...

26-09-2015, 04:01 PM
To win the league? No we're not.

Now 7 games undefeated, if we keep this form up and don't win the league we'll be bloody unlucky

26-09-2015, 04:02 PM
Now 7 games undefeated, if we keep this form up and don't win the league we'll be bloody unlucky

In this league, undefeated is not a barometer of success.

mcfly
26-09-2015, 04:02 PM
Had all the ball and i didn't see Langfield make a save.

Poor tactics - not enough width and we must learn how to break teams down that defend in numbers.....

Sorry but Stevenson isn't good enough - eckersley must get a chance soon.

Overall disappointing and 2 dropped points

AL-Qaholik
26-09-2015, 04:03 PM

We're currently fourth!! We will also very likely be 11 points adrift of top by this time tomorrow.

26-09-2015, 04:07 PM

Put another way we have dropped, a minimum, 8 points in the 1st quarter. If we keep that form up and win the league we'd be bloody lucky.

26-09-2015, 04:08 PM

Our league form is played 7, won 4, drawn 1, lost 2. If we keep up that form, we'll be lucky to finish 2nd.

26-09-2015, 04:10 PM
Just not good enough.
Oh well on words and up words

Bobo
26-09-2015, 04:21 PM
True to form, after a decent result on Wednesday, that today was a languid pile of turd devoid of any desire!

There was no movement off the ball, our passing/final ball was pathetic and playing the first 70 minutes with one man up front was criminal!

That was as poor a performance as you'll see all season and our lack of ambition is baffling, it will be the Play-offs for us again this season unfortunately.

26-09-2015, 04:21 PM
We're currently fourth!! We will also very likely be 11 points adrift of top by this time tomorrow.

At this point, both clubs have played the same number of games so I think the current 8 points is significant, not what DerHun might do with one extra game played.

However, to be this far behind already is criminal.

shamo9
26-09-2015, 04:26 PM
Same problem as last season courtesy of Ian 'boring' Murray. We just don't look like we have an effective gameplan to break down 10 men behind the ball. For all the possession in the second half there was very few clear cut chances
and lots of sloppy and impossible balls tried due to there being no outlet.

When we're below par like today we need a plan
b. A big target man up front to play the easy ball to, wide players with pace to make the pitch
bigger. Hopefully the injured strikers coming back might give us those options.

Also Boyle is wasted up front. He never gives up and got his goal today but he'd cause so many more problems out wide running at people. What's the point of trying to deliver crosses to Boyle in the box and what's the point of having Cummings drop back 40 yards to get a touch of the football? Square pegs, round holes.

26-09-2015, 04:26 PM
Our league form is played 7, won 4, drawn 1, lost 2. If we keep up that form, we'll be lucky to finish 2nd.

And our current form for the last 7 games is won 6 drawn 1. Surely hope that we are beginning to put together the type of run required to win the league.

26-09-2015, 04:35 PM
And our current form for the last 7 games is won 6 drawn 1. Surely hope that we are beginning to put together the type of run required to win the league.

Nae bonus points for the cup games unfortunately. It's the league games where we need consistency. The only thing thats been consistent in the last 12 months is our inconsistency!

Glasgow Hibee
26-09-2015, 04:40 PM

I'm sorry Hibby Kay-Yay but this sort of complacency baffles me. We should be delighted if we are in the top three or four in the top league, content if we are in the top half, frustrated if we are in the lower half, worried if we are in the bottom two or three. If we are are even in the second league we should be angry and if we can't get out it the first time and are currently sitting in fourth place all hibs fans should be raging.

26-09-2015, 04:42 PM

Selective stats can make you look good. But look at the league table, and ask if we are heading for a strong title challenge?

26-09-2015, 05:02 PM
Selective stats can make you look good. But look at the league table, and ask if we are heading for a strong title challenge?

No, we aren't heading for a strong title challenge and never were. We have a budget a fraction of Der Hun and they were always going to come good.

Realism and common sense told me from day one that we are aiming for 2nd and gear up for play-offs.

26-09-2015, 05:02 PM
No presence up front just now.

26-09-2015, 05:03 PM

Hardly selective when it's current form. Just to be clear, I want us to win the league and I have been disappointed with the start of the campaign but I am delighted with our current form. For those that say we should win every game, I say wake up and smell the coffee. The Rangers are not going to win every game.

26-09-2015, 05:04 PM
No, we aren't heading for a strong title challenge and never were. We have a budget a fraction of Der Hun and they were always going to come good.

Realism and common sense told me from day one that we are aiming for 2nd and gear up for play-offs.

The Rangers budget is not an excuse for the points we've dropped this season.

26-09-2015, 05:10 PM

But it does make sense for their start.

26-09-2015, 05:12 PM

We can perhaps use that as an excuse for losing when playing them but not against the other clubs that have a fraction of our budget.

26-09-2015, 05:15 PM

Fair enough, and I agree that the league is well out of the picture. However we are fourth, and just not scoring enough goals, in spite of our recent winning run.

Just for once Id like to be involved with a Hibs team that put common sense and realism into the bin and did something special. Wednesday was a taster. Today was back to not good enough. Hearts took their destiny into their own hands last season, and wiped the floor with the very limited teams in this division. We are still not looking like we can do that. And budgets have little to do with it.

26-09-2015, 05:25 PM
A frustrating day at the office and should have won easily we might have to accept 2nd as our most realistic target now.

As for st mirren I hope they don't have any promotion ambitions this season as they are utter garbage. Sitting in with 11 men behind the ball, time wasting from kick off and a bunch of hacking *******s. Yeah I'm a bit frustrated after today but time will show they are no better than a mid table championship side. Also their fans cheering as if they scored when Thompson halfed Hanlon, I hope you are in this league for a very long time. I was hoping for a proper game today but obviously not.

26-09-2015, 05:31 PM
But it does make sense for their start.

Falkirk and Raith are above us too, what's your excuse for that?

26-09-2015, 05:34 PM

How many games have we played? We will easily finish well above them. West Ham are 3rd in the EPL. Early days

26-09-2015, 05:37 PM
I have to say the result today didn't come as a great shock. Not to me anyway FWIW.

How many times has the Hibs support witnessed their team producing a result like Wednesday night's, then simply fallen flat and failed to follow that result / performance up in the next match?

That said, St Mirren were a awful today. Fouling and time wasting throughout the match. Ian Murray - take a bow. They were the latest in a procession of teams who have visited ER last season, and now this one, who had no intention of playing football and / or coming out and trying to make a game of it. It's murder to watch and simply frustrating. No wonder people stay away.

Until Hibs can learn how to start scoring goals, every week, against these packed defences they won't get out of this league IMHO. After today, winning the Championship is looking like it's beyond Hibs. 64% possession but only 3 shots on target according to match stats is simply not good enough. The irony is that St Mirren only had one shot on target and that was their goal presumably.

When are referees going to start doing something about visiting goalkeepers blatantly wasting time? I don't mean wasting a few minutes at the end of a match. I mean throughout the whole 90+ minutes. Another poor weak referee today.

Also, to think that Hibs may have been thinking of possibly signing Goodwin once upon a time. Jeez.

26-09-2015, 05:53 PM

My excuse? Our poor start is there for all to see. If we keep up our current form (which a lot seem to be ignoring) then we'll soon be climbing the league.

26-09-2015, 05:55 PM
Both Falkirk and Raith now 2 points ahead of Hibs. Disappointing after Wed euphoria.

Disappointment after disappointment, bit of hope occasionally! The Hibs way!

26-09-2015, 05:57 PM
Same old lack of width. I thought Stubbs was addressing this with the signings of Boyle and Carmichael. It asks far too much of Gray and in particular Stevenson to be both full back and winger.

Poor first half but no lack of effort in the second. First game I've seen where we have really missed Scott Allan.

26-09-2015, 06:04 PM
This was typical Hibs and typical of a side that battled harder than they normally do against lesser teams for a point. Hibs showed lack of guile and drive to break St M down, failing in the final third. I counted just two shots on target in the second half (both McGinn long range efforts) which is simply not good enough.

On a side note, pleased to say I've never, EVER seen a Hibs team start time wasting from the 5th minute of any match, against anyone. St Mirren are meant to be one of the contenders for a PO place. It was embarrassing.

26-09-2015, 06:07 PM
Disappointment after disappointment, bit of hope occasionally! The Hibs way!

Jeezo chill out.

26-09-2015, 06:10 PM
Same old lack of width. I thought Stubbs was addressing this with the signings of Boyle and Carmichael. It asks far too much of Gray and in particular Stevenson to be both full back and winger.

Poor first half but no lack of effort in the second. First game I've seen where we have really missed Scott Allan.

Neither player has enough quality with delivery or guile to beat a man and create opportunities on a regular basis.

And their crossing is awful too.

26-09-2015, 06:17 PM

St Johnstone have a fraction of Der hun's budget, it didn't stop them out playing them for the most part on Tuesday and and dumping them out of the cup. It also didn't stop hearts walking last season's championship in a canter. Going by your logic, we should never be dropping lousy points at Dumbarton and at home to St Mirren!

26-09-2015, 06:38 PM
St Johnstone have a fraction of Der hun's budget, it didn't stop them out playing them for the most part on Tuesday and and dumping them out of the cup. It also didn't stop hearts walking last season's championship in a canter. Going by your logic, we should never be dropping lousy points at Dumbarton and at home to St Mirren!

Yes St J did beat them (in a one-off game) and we beat the sheep (in a one-off game). :flag:

Hearts prepared for the Championship a year before they were in it. We were a shambles (Butcher effect) and Huns were also a shambles (various effects)

.... To be honest, I can't be arsed explaining.

Stats, history and experience tell me we were never going to win this league.

#pragmatism

26-09-2015, 06:43 PM
Neither player has enough quality with delivery or guile to beat a man and create opportunities on a regular basis.

And their crossing is awful too.

Agree also would like to see more overlaps. Lewis or David get the ball very rarely does the midfielder then go round the outside to create space they are always left in a one on one which both struggle with. The movement of the forwards could be better also.

26-09-2015, 06:53 PM
Agree also would like to see more overlaps. Lewis or David get the ball very rarely does the midfielder then go round the outside to create space they are always left in a one on one which both struggle with. The movement of the forwards could be better also.

By making the overlap you also take one of their men out of the middle. It amazes me that we haven't tried to change our style when the one we have just isn't reliable against teams who park the bus.

I'm not a huge Malonga fan but he should have been on way earlier today. One twos on the edge of the box or driving into the box need to be tried far more often than they are and the movement of the forward players is very poor when we are parked on the edge of the box. We need to be pulling players out of the centre and trying to create a bit of confusion. I would even stick one of the centre halfs up for the last 10 just to give them something to think about, rather a big hit man of course but they seem to all be in the infirmary

26-09-2015, 09:07 PM
Yes St J did beat them (in a one-off game) and we beat the sheep (in a one-off game). :flag:

Hearts prepared for the Championship a year before they were in it. We were a shambles (Butcher effect) and Huns were also a shambles (various effects)

.... To be honest, I can't be arsed explaining.

Stats, history and experience tell me we were never going to win this league.

#pragmatism

I'm pleased, it didn't seem to be going anywhere. :greengrin

26-09-2015, 09:24 PM
3 points today or win on wed.... Give me the three points every day of the week. Loved beating Aberdeen was a fantastic night, but the League is far more important than the league cup!

I said after the Aberdeen game we it would be typical Hibs to either lose of draw, so for me no real shock!

portyhibernian
27-09-2015, 09:04 AM
Not read the whole thread so not sure if it's been discussed already but I thought Stubbs got it wrong yesterday and should have stuck with the 3-5-2 from Wednesday. We wouldn't have conceded the goal that we did with a covering McGregor IMO, and means Stevenson and Gray can stay further forward instead of having to continuously run back to receive the ball then run forward again. It's clearly the formation that works best for us and the way Stubbs wants to play.

27-09-2015, 10:42 AM

I don't think it's lack of width or lack of decent balls into the box. We have endless balls whipped in, some bad and some good. What we don't have is anyone who can attack these balls or is good in the air. Cummings just gets bullied by defenders, Malonga can't jump and Boyle has no chence. We really need Farid back and what's up with this Anier fella, has he fell down a hole or something. Don't tell me he's injured too after Stubbs saying he was fit and would hit the ground running. :dunno: