View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 2 - 0 Aberdeen (Cummings, Malonga) FT

Pages : 1 [2]

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-09-2015, 08:35 PM
woop woop!!! Malonga!!!!!!! ja big dancer!:greengrin

HFC_NYC
Based on schoolboy reasoning, we're now the best team in Scotland. http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

What did the 2nd goal look like?

Played through and beat both Aberdeen centre backs. Fantastic goal.

Hopefully Carlsberg do Wednesday's as well

2-2 Hearts. Anyone want them to go through so we can get them at ER in the next round?

Na, get them out now, mon killie

Carmichael absolutelt leatherd

Could well have been a red. Shocking tackle

I've been called many a thing but never an octopus!! :-)

Handy :greengrin

Who the **** are aberdeen? :greengrin

Green Reaper
What a great goal by big Dom

What did the 2nd goal look like? Don't know Spike I'm keyboard warrioring the nite

Oh my god Hibs please

Hannah_hfc
23-09-2015, 08:36 PM
Just on a break at work and saw the score! Amazing from Hibs!

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Hahaha get in there Hibs! Sell out on Sat :greengrin

Toss maybe not

stormchild
The suspense here is killing us. Sitting in gran canaria glued to iPad when we should be enjoying ourselves....we are now....GGTTH

Hibs extracting the urine here.

Ronster117
Partyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy:not worth:not worth:not worth

3-2 jamboids

It's just a shame we won't get the pink ones in later rounds :greengrin

:greengrin You reckon ?

3-2 Hearts, last minute goal. Lucky ******* again.

23-09-2015, 08:37 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssss

I hear you loud and clear nephew.

Being driven to work on Sydney's crowded roads...other cars must wonder why I am dancing:greengrin

Hearts winning 3-2. Next round at Easter Road?

Jammy Gunts!

BRING THEM ON!!! :flag:

3-2 jamboids

Typical!

Killie are ****ing rotten.

What a result for us tonight. Fantastic from Stubbs and the players. :gwa:

Bring on the mutants

23-09-2015, 08:38 PM
Hopefully Carlsberg do Wednesday's as well

Apparently not, but I have predicted that after brushing aside Aberdeen, we would do the Flumps at Easter road in the Quarters.

leithsansiro
Nicholson scores for the yams.
Bring them on at Easter Road!

FT :thumbsup:

lugz
I stand corrected and will fully accept all pelters coming my way!

Hearts at home next round. Make it happen soccer gods.

Na, get them out now, mon killie

Hearts win its destiny we will get them in next round

23-09-2015, 08:39 PM
Awesome hibees!

I hear you loud and clear nephew.

Being driven to work on Sydney's crowded roads...other cars must wonder why I am dancing:greengrin

Hope we get the sum next round

xyz23jc
Hibees Hibees Hibees Hibees....! Pwoud, so very pwoud! http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif:greengrin:greengrin:gwa:

Draw not 'til Monday....It's going to be a looooong wait :greengrin

23-09-2015, 08:40 PM
Fantastic result by Hibs, against all the odds. :thumbsup:

Ronster117
Gonna have a bad head in the morning. Yaaaaasssssssssssssssssss

Silversand
😀✌👌

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

I want them to get Smellic away in next round. Dont want them anywhere near the ground!

xyz23jc
Richard Gordon...."Seek! As a proverbial..." Pleasing! Malonga world class apparently... :greengrin

Honestly Malonga has that bit of quality that nobody else in the team has!

23-09-2015, 08:41 PM
:flag:Great result. Great goals. Great defending.

23-09-2015, 08:42 PM
Hearts at home next round. Make it happen soccer gods.

I'd prefer sevco . Oh wait :greengrin

23-09-2015, 08:42 PM
Hearts away please :greengrin

23-09-2015, 08:43 PM
Hope we get the sum next round

Not sure we can is the draw not seeded next round? if so both of us would be unseeded.

Fantastic result for the Hibees. :thumbsup:

23-09-2015, 08:44 PM
:flag:Great result. Great goals. Great defending.

The complete performance - well done Hibs.

Malonga - there must be a place for an unpredictable talented footballer player in a Hibs team - the goal proves why.

Honestly Malonga has that bit of quality that nobody else in the team has!

100%, just doesn't show it enough

Get ****ing in there hibs! Massive statement!

23-09-2015, 08:45 PM
What a fantastic result considering they wiped the floor with the lucky cheats.

Well done Hibs!!

:hibees

23-09-2015, 08:45 PM
Not sure we can is the draw not seeded next round? if so both of us would be unseeded.

Unseeded in qf I think

23-09-2015, 08:46 PM
100%, just doesn't show it enough

Has to do it now though :agree:

23-09-2015, 08:48 PM
We just made the top team in Scotland's top league look very, very average at best.

Stax
Well done boys, great to be through to the next round. A real marker put down and should give the team a real confidence boost. Ggtth

Absolutely fantastic Hibs, 2 of the best goals you will see and a performance that more than matched the best team in the country at the moment.

Fantastic Hibs. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

pontius pilate
23-09-2015, 08:51 PM
Well done to everyone at the club. What a fantastic result and could be the massive boost too kick in the next few weeks and have the belief we can do this

Brilliant just brilliant Hibs.

23-09-2015, 08:53 PM
We just made the top team in Scotland's top league look very, very average at best.

TBH I haven't been that impressed whenever I've seen them this season. But I wanted to keep that quiet until after tonight's game!

Joe's ice cream
23-09-2015, 08:55 PM
For all those doubting the team selecton prior to kickoff think it's clear to see what AS had in mind and why he went with this selection

Green Diet
23-09-2015, 08:55 PM
How unpredictable Hibs are. Just when we are almost certain to disappoint again,the team comes up with a performance is that is both awesome and baffling at the same time.

The love affair continues...

Ronster117
23-09-2015, 08:56 PM
For all those doubting the team selecton prior to kickoff think it's clear to see what AS had in mind and why he went with this selection
The boy knows football..........:gwa:

23-09-2015, 08:56 PM
That's how you handle top flight opposition!

23-09-2015, 08:57 PM
Pop

23-09-2015, 08:58 PM

Dont think its seeded from now on, not 100% sure though! Well done Hibs!

23-09-2015, 08:59 PM
Cummings hairdoo though haha #zingking

23-09-2015, 08:59 PM
Hibs are current holders of the Scottish football belt

23-09-2015, 09:00 PM
Absolutely fantastic. Was thinking Just the other day how good a squad Stubbs has built. I think it's very strong. Just need the consistency. Hopefully this pushes us on.

23-09-2015, 09:01 PM
Hibs are current holders of the Scottish football belt

Rod will love that. He loves a bit of belt - tightening :greengrin

23-09-2015, 09:03 PM
Great night fantastic fans, team performance and goals, but have to say special mention to Lewis, thought he. Had a cracking game tonight both defensively and going forward

Dont think its seeded from now on, not 100% sure though! Well done Hibs!

Just checked, draw is not seeded!

Now where did i put my statement about us having the second best squad in Scotland?

Cummings hairdoo though haha #zingking

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xlt1/v/t1.0-0/s480x480/12032969_10153735636389884_918057046251932675_n.jp g?oh=18e8c75256fffb9afd43183df59b3821&oe=5691ED1A

23-09-2015, 09:06 PM
Unseeded in qf I think

It is unseeded.

23-09-2015, 09:06 PM
We lose 6 goals at home in our first game then have 6 consecutive home clean sheets! Only Hibs can do this & that's why we love them despite everything!

23-09-2015, 09:09 PM
We lose 6 goals at home in our first game then have 6 consecutive home clean sheets! Only Hibs can do this & that's why we love them despite everything!

it's no coincidence that this happens when some key new players are fit and the squad is stronger....on a related point - I have to say, as one of his biggest critics - top marks to Oxley for stronger performances and more consistency..

Great performance, need to build on this result but I think we will do well 👍

In all the clamour to praise bit part players like Stubbs, Malongs, Cummings and Fontaine are we not all forgetting the real hero of the evening?

The starter of the match updates thread of course. Surely I keep my place for Saturday now?

23-09-2015, 09:13 PM
Did Rooney even get a touch tonight? Some performance from the back 3.

ACLeith
23-09-2015, 09:18 PM
In all the clamour to praise bit part players like Stubbs, Malongs, Cummings and Fontaine are we not all forgetting the real hero of the evening?

The starter of the match updates thread of course. Surely I keep my place for Saturday now?
Works for me. Do you want to start it now just to be sure?

23-09-2015, 09:18 PM
Great performance from all the players. Top marks to Stubbs for getting the formation absolutely right. I didn't fancy us at all but just when you wonder how Hibs will win, they put in a display like that with two great goals.

Ooh to be.......

23-09-2015, 09:19 PM

You what happens on Saturday though lol

23-09-2015, 09:20 PM

You took it on when no one seemed to want to so ,yep credit where credits due and we need the win on Saturday so you are the man in possession :agree:

Greenblood70
23-09-2015, 09:21 PM
Im spent after that - the celebrations after Malonga slalomed thru the Aberdeen defence for the second nearly finished me.

Hanlon marshalled that defenc superbly tonight, midfield dug in even when the going got tough, and what can you say about Jason and King Dom - two goals of absolute quality.

If for whatever reason your a lapsed supporter and are capable of getting along finincially, come out and support this team. They wont fail for lack of trying or heart and there is a decent team in there. We are still gelling, it can and will get better. Do yourself a favour and get back to ER and fall back in love with the Hibees!

23-09-2015, 09:23 PM
Well that was a very pleasant suprise. Well done hibs.:agree:

23-09-2015, 09:23 PM

Thought the thread was the lowlight of the evening tbqh

23-09-2015, 09:27 PM
Brilliant performance tonight by the boys. Aberdeen had 1 shot on target all night, I lost count of ours. Two amazing goals, almost passed out when Dom scored. Best night a ER for a while, 6 clean sheets, first team to shut Aberdeen out, real quality up front, couldnae be happier tonight, well, if I'm picking holes I would have liked to have seen the puddle drinkers knocked out, but apart from that :thumbsup:

Stokesy's on fire
23-09-2015, 09:27 PM
Where's that MC-don guy wh posted on here last season when you need him? Get it clean up them! They are so sour about this one as well I love it

23-09-2015, 09:30 PM
Managed to just make the game. Oxley has been superb this season, really turned the screw, has his defence well organised. Distribution is great, handling great, doesn't appear to be making any rash judgement calls and has again pulled off a good save at 0-0.

Delighted for him, at the end you could see what the clean sheet meant

23-09-2015, 09:32 PM
Just back. Stubbs tactics were spot on. We played well and contained their "flair" players. This was a v strong Aberdeen side, and not playing hugely defensive championship sides seems to suit us.

Oh, and two brilliant goals.

23-09-2015, 09:37 PM
Best performance for years, and two magnificent goals.

23-09-2015, 09:39 PM
I loved seeing celebratory tweets from players not in team including Keatings, Feruz & Fyvie. Shows great team spirit.

23-09-2015, 09:42 PM
Hibs done the supporters proud tonight. The whole team played well and another clean sheet.

Malonga's goal is one of the finest I've seen at ER for a long time. A piece of pure brilliant footballing skill.

23-09-2015, 09:42 PM
That was quality. Especially the last half hour or so.

Thought Malonga was in slow motion but what a goal.

When's the final? Hope it's no snowing again. :greengrin

23-09-2015, 09:43 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/154828-wednesdays-football/

All a bit quiet over there tonight :greengrin

23-09-2015, 09:48 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/154828-wednesdays-football/

All a bit quiet over there tonight :greengrin

I don't normally go there but one clown said

Amnesiac
Today, 11:17
Hope Aberdeen go all out against hibs tonight, could be 6 or 7 if they go for it, i suspect they'll stop at 4.

:yamlaugh:

23-09-2015, 09:49 PM
I don't normally go there but one clown said

Amnesiac
Today, 11:17
Hope Aberdeen go all out against hibs tonight, could be 6 or 7 if they go for it, i suspect they'll stop at 4.

:yamlaugh:

:lolyam::lolyam::jamboclow

SirPsychoHibee
23-09-2015, 09:55 PM
The last half hour tonight was amazing. Two great goals and tactics spot on. Roll on Saturday :top marks

ACLeith
23-09-2015, 10:04 PM
The last half hour tonight was amazing. Two great goals and tactics spot on. Roll on Saturday :top marks
Tonight was the best I've felt leaving the ground since 4-0 against the forces of darkness last year. But Saturday is CRUCIAL, we have to kick on and get 3 points.

lugz
23-09-2015, 10:04 PM
Just saw a hearts fan on twitter saying "imagine losing your unbeaten run to hibs"

Hahahahaha!!

23-09-2015, 10:08 PM
Fantastic ...

Best atmosphere this season

All those not going ... You know it makes sense .... Get back and see a team with the bit between their teeth

McGinn and McGeough are a fantastic pairing

Brilliant when Dylan was ripping them apart honking in and out and pirouettes all round them

Jam is looking in .... That's how you beat the best team in the country ... Play fitba not hoofball 😉👍

That's all

23-09-2015, 10:10 PM
Just saw a hearts fan on twitter saying "imagine losing your unbeaten run to hibs"

Hahahahaha!!

Obviously blotted out when they came to Easter Road.

23-09-2015, 10:11 PM

Hahahahaha!!

well the dafty yamboid should know himself what it's like (unbeatable pfftt)...whit a roaster

23-09-2015, 10:12 PM
A goal for us right now would go down a treat!!

Great timing 😄 I'm off to bed, Can you say.. "Cat will get his end away tonight" 🙏🏼

lugz
23-09-2015, 10:15 PM
well the dafty yamboid should know himself what it's like (unbeatable pfftt)...whit a roaster

Just been blocked by them hahaha

23-09-2015, 10:19 PM
what a nice feeling coming away from ER knowing that we more than matched a top league team...and a team at the top of the top league at that, thought we would have lost this tie 3-zip oops, can't even think of any player having an off day either, another clean sheet(Mcgregor hanlon and fontaine were braw) and as for both goals... superb, and well done the stubbmeister for getting that formation pretty well spot on

23-09-2015, 10:27 PM

Hahahahaha!!

Username G.Burley

23-09-2015, 10:38 PM
Malonga's goal

http://cs403316.vk.me/v403316515/a77/sHXyJ7q3034.jpg

23-09-2015, 10:41 PM
any word on when the DVD of tonights game will be available :hyper

23-09-2015, 10:42 PM
We need to keep playing 3-5-2 :agree: it suits the players we have.

seanshow
23-09-2015, 10:47 PM
Everyone played well, but McGinn again for me class act for such a young man :wink:

The linesman was infuriating in the first half I counted 5 offside decisions he missed for the sheepies could have caused us big time, what a bell end.

I had a feeling we were going to win at around 60 min mark just the way the game was going, but the goals were fantastic,Dom more than made up for his sitter on Saturday with that solo effort tonight. That's why you go and support your time for joyace results like that!

'Top o the league, Your havin a laugh' :flag:

ps - its only one game, back to basics against Stmidden on Saturday, we need the points.

23-09-2015, 10:54 PM
I loved seeing celebratory tweets from players not in team including Keatings, Feruz & Fyvie. Shows great team spirit.

There is definitely a great team spirt at Easter road ATM,

Billy
23-09-2015, 11:00 PM
Full Match now on Hibs TV :thumbsup::flag::flag:

23-09-2015, 11:05 PM
17 Boyle (Bartley - 89' Booked )

35 Cummings (Malonga - 85' Booked )

01 Oxley Booked

didn't realise bartley got a yellow card, he was only on a couple of minutes :confused: was it him that gave away the foul just outside the box over at the west stand ? and why did malonga get booked, for taking his top off i guess ? and ermmm...when/why did oxley get booked, gawd i missed a lot :greengrin

23-09-2015, 11:07 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfl1/v/t1.0-0/s480x480/12043222_833569880091842_6861757386499501046_n.jpg ?oh=8fffe654571bb58fafdf3c0176e8aecb&oe=56A5DC31

23-09-2015, 11:10 PM
17 Boyle (Bartley - 89' Booked )
35 Cummings (Malonga - 85' Booked )

01 Oxley Booked

didn't realise bartley got a yellow card, he was only on a couple of minutes :confused: was it him that gave away the foul just outside the box over at the west stand ? and why did malonga get booked, for taking his top off i guess ? and ermmm...when/why did oxley get booked, gawd i missed a lot :greengrin

Oxley got booked for time wasting near the end, bartley got booked for a nothing foul over at the West stand as you said which was seconds after the shocking Aberdeen tackle on Carmichael (I think) which should have been red and Malonga for taking his shirt off.

23-09-2015, 11:13 PM
Oxley got booked for time wasting near the end, bartley got booked for a nothing foul over at the West stand as you said which was seconds after the shocking Aberdeen tackle on Carmichael (I think) which should have been red and Malonga for taking his shirt off.

aah i didn't miss that one..seeing as it was in front of me, i thought the referee was indeed going to flash the red for that one :agree: the aberdeen players were getting a tad flustered at that time :greengrin

23-09-2015, 11:30 PM
just a wee bit of trivia

This was the first time the clubs had met in this competition since 1998, when a Stevie Crawford goal knocked Aberdeen out.
And like then, the second tier Hibees would prevail.

results of league cup ties v aberdeen

Hibs wins 10
Draws 6
Aberdeen wins 7

Stokesy's on fire
23-09-2015, 11:48 PM
just a wee bit of trivia

This was the first time the clubs had met in this competition since 1998, when a Stevie Crawford goal knocked Aberdeen out.
And like then, the second tier Hibees would prevail.

results of league cup ties v aberdeen

Hibs wins 10
Draws 6
Aberdeen wins 7

Didn't we knock them out the Scottish cup when we were last down as well?

23-09-2015, 11:58 PM
Go to the beach

I live half a block from the beach. To be honest I was kind of longing for cobblestones and old windy wee European streets with Tapas and Sangria every second doorway! :greengrin

24-09-2015, 12:28 AM
https://www.facebook.com/HibernianRetro/videos/833621900086640/?pnref=story

Goals here.

Hannah_hfc
24-09-2015, 01:14 AM
I see some of the Aberdeen fans are giving it the ' its only the league cup anyway ' attitude.

.... Which certainly wasn't the case when they won it a couple of seasons back!

Green Diet
24-09-2015, 02:05 AM
https://www.facebook.com/HibernianRetro/videos/833621900086640/?pnref=story

Goals here.

Thanks for that link. Both goals are top quality! Malonga's effort is a goal of the season candidate and considering Cumming's goal was the first and more important, didn't he take it well.

24-09-2015, 03:24 AM
Fair play to Derek McInnes for being gracious in defeat. The two wallopers in charge at the PBS could learn a little bit about humility from those comments....

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/34343980

24-09-2015, 04:30 AM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;4471606]Fair play to Derek McInnes for being gracious in defeat. The two wallopers in charge at the PBS could learn a little bit about humility from those comments....

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/34343980[/QUOTE

I can't really dislike McCinnes, always fair and will give credit where it's true. Hope Aberdeen can go all the way this season

24-09-2015, 04:41 AM
I see some of the Aberdeen fans are giving it the ' its only the league cup anyway ' attitude.

.... Which certainly wasn't the case when they won it a couple of seasons back!

So are the Bigots .... happy they can now focus on the Petrofac Cup :thumbsup:

24-09-2015, 05:21 AM
I still say Dom should have taken the ball round the keeper!!! :greengrin

24-09-2015, 05:39 AM
Felt this result coming and very pleased we can play 352 and that mcgregor got a game. No doubt back to playing a packed defence on saturday but shows that if/when we go back up we will be ready for the step up.

24-09-2015, 08:49 AM
Didn't we knock them out the Scottish cup when we were last down as well?

1996/97 season, we were 9th in the league at the time

23rd jan SC 2-2 at ER

28th jan replay 0-0 at pittodrie

we won the replay 5-3 on penalties after extra time

then we got beat in the next round by sellick after a replay

24-09-2015, 09:29 AM
Great result and a very good display by the team, AS got the tactics spot on and you can see the squad gelling better with every game being played, we need to keep up that tempo and that performance against the smaller Championship teams. We all called for width in the team but AS seems to like the modern way by playing wingbacks for the width, he now has cover for them which was a worry last season as both Gray and Stevenson tired near the end. 2 cracking goals too particularly Dom's brilliant solo effort. :thumbsup:

24-09-2015, 12:51 PM
What a difference a couple of weeks makes. Free tickets offered to high school kids a few weeks back struggled to "sell". Today - offered at 11am all gone by lunch!

Coults1875
24-09-2015, 12:59 PM

23rd jan SC 2-2 at ER

Did we not beat them in 2012 ? I'm sure griffiths scored at hampden.

24-09-2015, 01:00 PM

We were in the Premiership at the time.

24-09-2015, 01:05 PM

we did indeed and we also beat them in the SC at ER in 2013, but the poster was asking about 97/98 season :)

24-09-2015, 01:21 PM
we did indeed and we also beat them in the SC at ER in 2013, but the poster was asking about 97/98 season :)

We were down in the 98/99 season though and your post was about the 96/97 season.

25-09-2015, 12:30 PM
Fair play to Derek McInnes for being gracious in defeat. The two wallopers in charge at the PBS could learn a little bit about humility from those comments....

25-09-2015, 07:17 PM

Gracious, defeat and Hearts would be front page news!

25-09-2015, 07:33 PM

23rd jan SC 2-2 at ER

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlSlja_dfsY