View Full Version : Rugby World Cup

Pages : 1 [2]

18-10-2015, 04:11 PM
Yeah, yeah , you've told us before many times .

Least you know I was right. Awful rule that. They mentioned a pen try and it made me laugh.

18-10-2015, 04:15 PM
Aussies just the wee bit quicker with the offloads and the breakdown and that's helping them move us about easier than we are managing.

18-10-2015, 04:21 PM
great try :)

18-10-2015, 04:22 PM
Get ****ing in there. Superb stuff with a bit luck thrown in. Seymour redeems himself.

Get it right up that mouthpiece Moore, always chatting away to the ref, same last week against Wales.

18-10-2015, 04:23 PM
fs laidlaw man :(

18-10-2015, 04:23 PM
1 point in it. All to play for, edge of the seat time!

18-10-2015, 04:25 PM
i hope maitland never takes up football

18-10-2015, 04:25 PM
Couple of try saving tackles there, great game.

18-10-2015, 04:27 PM
try straight from our own poor line out, australia don't have to be good when we can't do the basics

18-10-2015, 04:28 PM
Sake man. What a place to lose a line out.

18-10-2015, 04:29 PM
ye olde famous glorious failure

18-10-2015, 04:30 PM
Ffs what's been going on with the line outs? Have we won one?

18-10-2015, 04:30 PM
It ain't over yet. We're still well in the game.

18-10-2015, 04:32 PM
tough decision take the penalty or whit

Laidlaw back as top scorer

18-10-2015, 04:32 PM
3 points here and back to within a score.

18-10-2015, 04:34 PM
Should be a good last 10 now. Need to secure possession here.

18-10-2015, 04:35 PM
hogg just hasn't found his kicking distance at all this tournament

18-10-2015, 04:36 PM
rain...should suit us :greengrin

18-10-2015, 04:37 PM
told yi :thumbsup:

Unbelievable, truly unbelievable. Get in there. What a gift.

Yas!!

bringbackbenny
Wow!!!!

18-10-2015, 04:39 PM
plzzzzzzzzzzzz don't give away a penalty

18-10-2015, 04:39 PM
Got away with that. Time for cool heads and Laidlaw to play the captains role

Hannah_hfc
18-10-2015, 04:40 PM
5 minutes Scotland!! Come on!

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

18-10-2015, 04:42 PM
Rain certainly helped us edge him into touch there.

C'mon.

**** sake

terrible line out yet again

18-10-2015, 04:44 PM
ah well so close...absolutely gutting when it's self-inflicted

18-10-2015, 04:44 PM
That is so, so frustrating.

Do the hard part and then throw it away at our own line out

18-10-2015, 04:45 PM
How to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory in 1 easy step.

Hannah_hfc
18-10-2015, 04:46 PM
What a sore one.

Never did I think Scotland would give Australia a game like that! Proud of them but to lose right at the death like that. Agonising

18-10-2015, 04:47 PM
Really really unlucky.

If we could work a line out we'd be through.

Laidlaw makes the other conversion and we'd be through.

Great performance though and standard glorious failure!

18-10-2015, 04:48 PM
Sair yin!

18-10-2015, 04:49 PM
Surely that should have been a scrum for a knock on at the line out, not a penalty?

18-10-2015, 04:51 PM
Laidlaw criticising the ref for the penalty decision.

18-10-2015, 04:53 PM
And Lawrence Lawrence Dalagllio backing him up.

18-10-2015, 04:55 PM
Greig laidlaw lost for words......can understand that.......as he said why no TMO ?

18-10-2015, 04:57 PM
Vern Cotter looks and sounds like he's about to burst into tears.

18-10-2015, 05:00 PM
Surely that should have been a scrum for a knock on at the line out, not a penalty?

That's what I said to my dad sitting next to me. Terrible decision but it was a bad line out though. It must truly hurt right now. Scotland's chance was right there and taken away at the death!

18-10-2015, 05:01 PM
More so in Rugby than football the big teams always get the decisions. As Ian McGeechan said if that was New Zealand or one of the other big nations no chance they get sin binned like Maitland did.

Also the winning penalty should have been a scrum.

18-10-2015, 05:04 PM
More so in Rugby than football the big teams always get the decisions. As Ian McGeechan said if that was New Zealand or one of the other big nations no chance they get sin binned like Maitland did.

Also the winning penalty should have been a scrum.

It's just baffling he didn't even ask the TMO as the ref on the other QF did with the potential sending off.

They use it all the time for everything and a game changing decision that happened in 2 or 3 seconds and they don't bother.

18-10-2015, 05:06 PM
Gavin Hastings said if he see's the referee he'll kill him, he is absolutely raging

18-10-2015, 05:09 PM
Still don't understand how its a pen??

18-10-2015, 05:14 PM
If the last contact with the ball came from a Scottish player then it's a penalty. It actually came off an Australian player though so it should have been a scrum.

It happened in a split second though so very hard for the referee to call it, hence why the ref should use the TMO to decide on a decision.

I actually think there is a good chance Australia may have drawn a penalty from the resulting scrum, they had the upper hand when Nel and Ford went off, but that is beside the point.

Only consolation is the useless ref has ruled himself out of being handed the final.

18-10-2015, 05:29 PM
A sair yin, no doubt about that. I noticed in the first game v Japan that our lineout play was poor when the replacement hooker came on for Fordy.

If I'm being honest, I thought that the Aussies were marginally the better team but to lose the game in the manner we did is hard to take.

Ah well, I'll be supporting the All Blacks next weekend and I can't see South Africa even running them close.

18-10-2015, 05:35 PM
A sair yin, no doubt about that. I noticed in the first game v Japan that our lineout play was poor when the replacement hooker came on for Fordy.

If I'm being honest, I thought that the Aussies were marginally the better team but to lose the game in the manner we did is hard to take.

Ah well, I'll be supporting the All Blacks next weekend and I can't see South Africa even running them close.

Reckons the Argies can run Australia close?

18-10-2015, 05:41 PM

Based on today's performace - definately. The Argies have come a long way in World Rugby in a relatively short period of time.

18-10-2015, 05:42 PM

I think they'll put them out. Too many hard games for the Aussies will catch up with them.

As for today - gutted. Why have a TMO and not use him? Why didn't he butt in and tell the ref?

As for the line out that led to it, deary me.

18-10-2015, 05:45 PM
interesting, if any players have even looked at each other the TMO steps in, that referee was only to happy to blow the whistle immediately...i'd put a wad of cash on him NOT getting the gig for the final

anyway, can't see the other teams in the six nations rubbing there hands for a shot at us next year, like they have been for a while now, onwards and upwards hopefully

18-10-2015, 05:56 PM
I think they'll put them out. Too many hard games for the Aussies will catch up with them.

As for today - gutted. Why have a TMO and not use him? Why didn't he butt in and tell the ref?

As for the line out that led to it, deary me.

I've said before the "smaller nations" in the rugby world don't get the decisions. It's interesting that the full story behind Gray and Fords three match suspension has still not been explained.

Hopefully we'll find out eventually.

18-10-2015, 06:24 PM
If the last contact with the ball came from a Scottish player then it's a penalty. It actually came off an Australian player though so it should have been a scrum.

It happened in a split second though so very hard for the referee to call it, hence why the ref should use the TMO to decide on a decision.

I actually think there is a good chance Australia may have drawn a penalty from the resulting scrum, they had the upper hand when Nel and Ford went off, but that is beside the point.

Only consolation is the useless ref has ruled himself out of being handed the final.

Disagree he had a perfect view no Scottish hand was anywhere near the ball.

Also just before it Hogg is taken out late. Certain pen.

18-10-2015, 06:33 PM
Disagree he had a perfect view no Scottish hand was anywhere near the ball.

Also just before it Hogg is taken out late. Certain pen.

It doesn't have to be a hand, any contact with a Scottish player would have resulted in a penalty. Strauss was competing for the ball with Phipps , it was marginal as to who made the last contact, not clear cut so the TMO should have been consulted.

18-10-2015, 06:48 PM
interesting, if any players have even looked at each other the TMO steps in, that referee was only to happy to blow the whistle immediately...i'd put a wad of cash on him NOT getting the gig for the final

anyway, can't see the other teams in the six nations rubbing there hands for a shot at us next year, like they have been for a while now, onwards and upwards hopefully

Do you reckon youse could win the 6 nations at long last? Play like youse did today and improve on defending those line-outs then a potential good chance. Youse ran the Aussies a hell lot more closer than what we did. Then again Wales did really well considering the list of injuries they had.

18-10-2015, 06:52 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joubert_syndrome

18-10-2015, 06:54 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joubert_syndrome

Interesting.

18-10-2015, 07:59 PM
Looking like a NZ vs Australia final..........tough one for the ABs vs South Africa, but I reckon they will be no match for NZ. As for Argentina.......despite improving dramatically since joining the rugby championship in 2012....I'd be surprised if they get past the Aussies.

18-10-2015, 09:07 PM
Can't see past NZ after watching the QFs.

18-10-2015, 09:41 PM
That's what I said to my dad sitting next to me. Terrible decision but it was a bad line out though. It must truly hurt right now. Scotland's chance was right there and taken away at the death!

Chance of a lifetime thrown away - literally - with that clumsy lineout. That's going to hurt for a long, long time...

18-10-2015, 10:40 PM
Do you reckon youse could win the 6 nations at long last? Play like youse did today and improve on defending those line-outs then a potential good chance. Youse ran the Aussies a hell lot more closer than what we did. Then again Wales did really well considering the list of injuries they had.

not saying we will win it but we certainly won't be the whipping boys like we have been the last several years,i'm looking forward to closer games :) we can certainly beat the French at murrayfield this time, i wasn't impressed with them at all at this WC(imo)and not just because they got annihilated by the all blacks, and i think we will beat them at Murrayfield, unfortunately next year is our turn for 3 away games(italy,ireland and wales) with england our other home game

Looking like a NZ vs Australia final..........tough one for the ABs vs South Africa, but I reckon they will be no match for NZ. As for Argentina.......despite improving dramatically since joining the rugby championship in 2012....I'd be surprised if they get past the Aussies.

the all blacks will breeze past the springboks...np's

19-10-2015, 06:54 AM
The assault on Hogg concerned me most. Penalty and a yellow I'd say and the match outcome might have been different. All in all though we have hope for the 6 nations ahead when only a year ago we were dead ducks. What a difference a decent coach makes!

19-10-2015, 09:54 AM
We're in good company. Joubert refereed the 2011 WC Final in NZ which NZ won 8-7 against France. The French were very unhappy about a lot of his decisions and again a lot of neutrals agreed with them.

Oddly enough, he had also refereed the semi against Australia which took NZ through. I've never heard of anyone getting a semi AND a final in the same World Cup, and the hosts win both?

From the Guardian report: "All New Zealand did was win, which was presumably all they wanted to do in order to end their famour 24-year drought. They had hosted the tournament beautifully but when it came to the showdown the derived disproportionate benefit from home advantage, including a few free gifts from a referee who spent the first half infuriating even neutrals by giving virtually every decision to the men in black."

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/blog/2011/oct/23/rugby-world-cup-final-france

The Telegraph: "The All Blacks were obliged to hang on grimly, and if Craig Joubert, the referee, had not been so generous to the host nation, then perhaps France might have completed the transformation from pool-stahe chumps to champs."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/rugby-world-cup/8844197/Rugby-World-Cup-2011-New-Zealand-8-France-7-match-report.html

That's just the first two I googled. There are a lot more where those came from.

In rugby a lot of decisions aren't clear-cut. In football, for instance, a whether a goal was or was not scored from an offside position can almost always be settled post-match in a slo-mo replay. Rugby allows a lot more to the referee's judgment and discretion - probably too much - and replays aren't going to be clear.

It's not whether 10% or 15% of his decisions are questionable or questionable. 10-15% of his decisions almost certainly will be questionable or wrong. The question is whether the ones that are questionable or wrong are consistently in favour of one team.

The problem with Joubert seems to be that when he gets it wrong, or gives a questionable decision that can be justified in terms of the laws of the game, he does so in favour of one team against the other.

http://sportsscientists.com/2011/10/rugby-world-cup-the-ref-debate/ (http://sportsscientists.com/2011/10/rugby-world-cup-the-ref-debate/)

The 2011 Rugby World Cup raised concerns about the way matches were officiated and decisions given. The officiating in this one seems to suggest that the ruling bodies have to meet those concerns urgently. Some of the officiating, and disciplinary decisions, in this WC have been diabolical, and what's worse, they seem to have tended to operate against the smaller nations in favour of the bigger teams.

Joubert didn't have to go to the TMO on this decision, but a wise man would have at least consulted his touch judge and had a good long look at the big screen in the stadium before making his decision.

But his arm was up as soon as he blew the whistle, which left a lot of people convinced that he was just itching to award the Australians the penalty. I think he could have called an Australian scrum instead awarding them of the kick.

The trouble is, whichever way he went - penalty or scrum to Australia - was going to give the result to one team or the other. If he'd awarded the Aussies the scrum, we'd have surely played out time.

Apologies for the long post.

19-10-2015, 03:01 PM
The assault on Hogg concerned me most. Penalty and a yellow I'd say and the match outcome might have been different. All in all though we have hope for the 6 nations ahead when only a year ago we were dead ducks. What a difference a decent coach makes!Might not have. Did we not get our final try just after that as Australia tried to pass the ball along the back roughly where they picked it up from his clearance? If play had been called back for a pen that might never have happened.

19-10-2015, 06:22 PM
Might not have. Did we not get our final try just after that as Australia tried to pass the ball along the back roughly where they picked it up from his clearance? If play had been called back for a pen that might never have happened.

Don't think so? We scored in about 72m and the tackle was 77m ish?

19-10-2015, 07:47 PM
Might not have. Did we not get our final try just after that as Australia tried to pass the ball along the back roughly where they picked it up from his clearance? If play had been called back for a pen that might never have happened.

No the Hogg penalty was in the 77th minute after we scored our last try.

24-10-2015, 08:01 AM
Semi Final weekend has arrived.

The weather forecast is not great for this afternoon's All Blacks v Springboks tie and this could work in favour of the South Africans but I'll still go for an All Blacks victory by ten to fifteen points.

Tomorrow's Argentina v Australia is slightly more difficult to call. I've a feeling the Argies may well have peaked against Ireland in the quarters so for that reason alone I'm going to go for an Aussie victory.

I'm looking forward to both these ties, this particular World Cup has been very entertaining and I'm sure the game of rugby will have won over many new fans all over the world.

24-10-2015, 09:23 AM
NZ and Australia to progress. Aussies have been the best team in the tournament so far and All Black's were on a different planet against France, starting to peak at the crucial stages.

24-10-2015, 11:52 AM
NZ and Australia to progress. Aussies have been the best team in the tournament so far and All Black's were on a different planet against France, starting to peak at the crucial stages.

I think the All Blacks have been above everyone else so far. I can't stand South Africa so hope NZ progress. No idea about tomorrow but it'd be nice to see Argentina do it, make a chance from the usual suspects getting to the final.

24-10-2015, 07:24 PM
Great result for the all blacks.......much better second half saw them squeeze past SA......fitting end for a number of players......pretty sure Richie, Dan, Ma'a, And a couple others will close out their AB careers on Sat.....here's hoping a wee win against the wannabes.

24-10-2015, 07:47 PM
Great result for the all blacks.......much better second half saw them squeeze past SA......fitting end for a number of players......pretty sure Richie, Dan, Ma'a, And a couple others will close out their AB careers on Sat.....here's hoping a wee win against the wannabes.

I think you're right, could be several AB's about to make their swansong. Some legends of the sport will make their exits in a weeks time. Think it'll be a very emotional pitch at the final whistle, whatever the result.

'Mon the All Blacks :greengrin

24-10-2015, 08:04 PM
Was there a penalty that was turned round by the TMO in the second half. Thought there weren't allowed to do that.

24-10-2015, 08:20 PM
Was there a penalty that was turned round by the TMO in the second half. Thought there weren't allowed to do that.

Yeah Jim......pen to SA changed to pen to NZ when they saw the neck high challenge on the TMO

24-10-2015, 08:21 PM

The TMO can only be used for determining a try or in situations involving potential violent play.

24-10-2015, 09:27 PM
Yeah Jim......pen to SA changed to pen to NZ when they saw the neck high challenge on the TMO

I tuned in just in time to see that. Quite baffling bearing in mind last weeks explanation of the controversial Aussie penalty.

25-10-2015, 09:48 AM
I tuned in just in time to see that. Quite baffling bearing in mind last weeks explanation of the controversial Aussie penalty.

They're allowed to intervene for foul play.

25-10-2015, 03:10 PM
Aussies extracting the urine. Line up for the semi against the Argies.:greengrin

25-10-2015, 04:51 PM
The best team over the 80 minutes lose AGAIN. Australia are a very lucky side, and rugby is a strange strange game.

25-10-2015, 07:53 PM
The best team over the 80 minutes lose AGAIN. Australia are a very lucky side, and rugby is a strange strange game.

Australia were the better team today. I think they could get a hiding next week but they were definitely the best team today - 4 tries to 0.

26-10-2015, 06:22 AM
Australia were the better team today. I think they could get a hiding next week but they were definitely the best team today - 4 tries to 0.

I agree however again they seemed to get the benefit of the decisions. The ref seemed to be saying penalty then changed his mind for yellow however to me seemed a yellow. Commentators were saying stick on scrum pen at half time then seemed a huge forward pass for final try with touch judge (Clancy from Ireland who I have never liked) bang in line. Should have went to TMO given how important it was. Hope they both lose in the final.

26-10-2015, 05:55 PM
surprisingly this will be the first final between the All blacks and Wallabies, glad the final doesn't clash with our game against sevco :greengrin Argentina v South Africa on Friday night

it was odds on Nigel owens would get the final

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/34622241

Nigel Owens will referee Saturday's World Cup final after being selected by tournament organisers World Rugby.

30-10-2015, 07:01 PM
Bronze medal play off time. I love the Argie national anthem - it's all a bit mental!

31-10-2015, 12:35 PM
Decent game last night. Can't wait for the final. I think it will be a great game. I want NZ to win. McCaw retiring after final and I can't think of a more fitting way for him to bow out than by lifting the trophy. Best player of all time in my opinion. Total machine

31-10-2015, 12:37 PM
Bizarre timing for the final.

Is it because X Factor is on :greengrin

31-10-2015, 03:34 PM
Decent game last night. Can't wait for the final. I think it will be a great game. I want NZ to win. McCaw retiring after final and I can't think of a more fitting way for him to bow out than by lifting the trophy. Best player of all time in my opinion. Total machine

I think his team mate Carter deserves that accolade.

31-10-2015, 04:04 PM
Half time. New Zealand looking fairly comfortable at the moment. They've had the bulk of the pressure and Australia have rarely threatened the All Blacks line.

31-10-2015, 04:07 PM
game was over with the try before HT...but it's deffon over now at 21-3 after 43 mins

31-10-2015, 04:16 PM
that was a bad tackle by the all blacks player, sin-bin..ouch

wallabies take full advantage 21-10

ooooooh aussies certainly are taking advantage of a player in the sin-bin...21-17, good game

31-10-2015, 04:38 PM
What a drop goal by Carter. Quite a swansong if they hold on to win.

Hannah_hfc
31-10-2015, 04:55 PM
Very good final to watch! All Blacks worthy winners

31-10-2015, 05:18 PM
You'd think the All Blacks coach could crack a smile. He looks like he'd rather be anywhere else in the world right now.

Anyway good final and worthy winners, the best team in the tournament won it.

31-10-2015, 05:24 PM
A fitting end to a wonderful tournament. I've thoroughly enjoyed the last few weeks although I'm still mystified over some of the rules, but there again even the most ardent of rugby fans find the same.

ano hibby
31-10-2015, 05:45 PM
ABs outstanding. Fitting end to a great tournament.
If there's been a better more dominant sporting team in my lifetime I can't think of it.

31-10-2015, 07:54 PM
ABs outstanding. Fitting end to a great tournament.
If there's been a better more dominant sporting team in my lifetime I can't think of it.

The consummate professionals if ever there was and right down to the last detail. Even their boots are "all black," - no hideous yellows or pinks for these guys!

Chip shop Joe
31-10-2015, 08:36 PM
I do agree that the All Blacks are immense but in my opinion the Barca team a few years ago that won the champions League, la liga, copa del rey and I think the super cup pip them as the best team ever although I do concede that the All Blacks have longevity but then again not as much competition as Barca.

31-10-2015, 08:40 PM
Good game eh ?......fitting end for 6 AB's.....Carter was not going to be on the losing side tonight, what a Kicker of the ball that guy is....and he's signed for Racing in France next season...£100k a year....paltry when you think of equivalent players in the soccer world.
Have to say what a try from Nonu......great end to a great tournament.

31-10-2015, 11:08 PM
Dan Carter's France deal is worth $3 million NZD per season!

01-11-2015, 09:38 AM

Oops :doh: nice one Steve.....that's more like it.......must stop reading the sun ;-)

01-11-2015, 09:52 AM

Worth every penny too!

01-11-2015, 10:50 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/34692025

One young rugby fan left Twickenham with the ultimate souvenir after Sonny Bill Williams handed him his winner's medal.

i wonder if in years to come sonny bill might regret doing it :greengrin

to answer my own question...no he won't regret it because he's been given another one :)

01-11-2015, 07:52 PM
Everyone seems to miss Liam messam gave him his Beenie too.......the lad got a good deal for going on the park