View Full Version : Referee

12-09-2015, 08:15 PM
Absolutely appalling, miles behind the game allowed 2 or 3 shockers to go unpunished. When Chopra was flying into tackles he was 60 yards away. Looked like a stonewall pen on Keatings in first half which would have totally changed the game. The letting off of the left back near the end for the most obvious yellow ever summed the incompetent up.

Rangers get two penalties a game we get none.

RedHibby
12-09-2015, 08:20 PM
The ref's poor performance today is exactly what I expect from the incompetent people that manage our game.

12-09-2015, 08:22 PM
Poor from referee and linesmen.........

SFA keep saying we have good refs, sorry but that is just nonsense:ostrich:

12-09-2015, 08:24 PM
That referee was one of the worst I have seen and that is saying something. How a few of their players did not get booked is beyond me.

Irony is he didn't even see the incident where he actually booked anyone as he was looking the other way and relied on the linesman.

Archie70
12-09-2015, 08:26 PM
You can add in the deliberate pass back, the time wasting goalie and failing to let their player back on when he had been off getting treatment. Lennon was going ballistic.

12-09-2015, 08:31 PM
He was an incompetent fud.

12-09-2015, 08:33 PM
You can add in the deliberate pass back, the time wasting goalie and failing to let their player back on when he had been off getting treatment. Lennon was going ballistic. All other things are open to his interpretation of things but these two were snickers. He was too busy speaking to Stubbs about something he forgot about the boy. Useless.

12-09-2015, 08:33 PM

About as accurate a summary as you'll see all evening. :agree:

He was utterly clueless.

12-09-2015, 08:34 PM
Absolutely appalling, miles behind the game allowed 2 or 3 shockers to go unpunished. When Chopra was flying into tackles he was 60 yards away. Looked like a stonewall pen on Keatings in first half which would have totally changed the game. The letting off of the left back near the end for the most obvious yellow ever summed the incompetent up.

Rangers get two penalties a game we get none.

Terrible Jim, only a few weeks into the season and we have seen flange after flange at Easter Road. The ref today thought he was doing a good job by constantly telling everyone to calm down. He was that good, he didn't know that the ball was on the centre circle.

That sums it up well:greengrin

woeful refereeing display ....gave a freekick when their number 5 dived when Liam Henderson run past him ...then laughed about it when Dylan asked him about it ....the challenge by the number 5 on Boyle near the end was a no brainer booking, to name but a few !! I am the type who usually goes with the ref's bad decisions balance out over a season particularly big decisions penalties etc, but i reckon there is something amiss in us not getting decisions ..the penalty thing is becoming a unfunny joke, i reckon 7-8 good claims and probably 5 stonewallers so far ,,,how many given !!!!

The refereee today was ably assisted by the east stand linesman who I think is still to get a decision right yet ... 4 offside decisions in the second half all wrong ..missed their centre half having a go at Keatings when the ball was on the other side of the pitch but no doubt in his line of vision or in fact that's not possible cos his vision was wrong all afternoon ....going to be a long season if we have to put up with this all year !!!

12-09-2015, 08:35 PM
Not that incompetent when you consider how the first goal came around.

12-09-2015, 09:06 PM
From not seeing the obvious pass back to not knowing the ball was on the centre spot after the goal to not booking the boy for the foul on Boyle to not giving us a penalty.

Anything I've missed? Aw aye, think Cummings was offside for our first.

12-09-2015, 09:06 PM
woeful refereeing display ....gave a freekick when their number 5 dived when Liam Henderson run past him ...then laughed about it when Dylan asked him about it ....the challenge by the number 5 on Boyle near the end was a no brainer booking, to name but a few !! I am the type who usually goes with the ref's bad decisions balance out over a season particularly big decisions penalties etc, but i reckon there is something amiss in us not getting decisions ..the penalty thing is becoming a unfunny joke, i reckon 7-8 good claims and probably 5 stonewallers so far ,,,how many given !!!!

The refereee today was ably assisted by the east stand linesman who I think is still to get a decision right yet ... 4 offside decisions in the second half all wrong ..missed their centre half having a go at Keatings when the ball was on the other side of the pitch but no doubt in his line of vision or in fact that's not possible cos his vision was wrong all afternoon ....going to be a long season if we have to put up with this all year !!!
It gets worse every week, what has to happen before we get a penalty given. As for the offsides from East linesman WTF.

portyhibernian
12-09-2015, 09:12 PM
Thought Cummings was clearly offside for our first, keatings should have had a penalty, they got away with a few challenges which should have been bookings. Expect nothing less from our referees though, been utterly woeful for as long as I've been attending football.

Unrelated to today's game but I actually remember a game about 4 years ago we had against ICT (I think) at Easter Road when Charlie Richmond was the ref and had to get a police escort down the tunnel because he'd managed to enrage both sets of fans with his diabolical display. Anyone else mind that??

12-09-2015, 09:18 PM
Bring the Maltese back.He was a joy to watch.Our so called refs could learn a lot from them:thumbsup:

12-09-2015, 09:34 PM

Case closed.

12-09-2015, 09:36 PM
I love to say it was just this clown but it seems these clowns just roll up with their own rule book.

I thought the way he let the keeper away with the time wasting in the first half was just hilarious. It got to the stage the keeper was taking the piss out of him. The foul on Keatings was as clear a foul as ye can get but what topped it off was the scything challenge on Boyle which could arguably have been a red only merited a talking to.

Tbf it's probably a lot down to the level we're playing at. Considering what's regarded as the countries top referees (Thomson today🙈), it's no real surprise the officials at this level are also honkin.

The guy today reminded me of yer Saturday amateur ref who didn't give a **** and just wanted his £40

12-09-2015, 09:50 PM
Bring the Maltese back.He was a joy to watch.Our so called refs could learn a lot from them:thumbsup:

:agree: all the more impressive considering the extra scrutiny he was under as a stand-in

12-09-2015, 10:03 PM
I thought the guy was a star turn. I haven't laughed as much at a game for a long time. Forget the umpteen blunders, losing the ball when it was sitting on the centre spot was a cracker. All that was missing was the little car and the buckets of water!

12-09-2015, 10:10 PM
In the first half the linesman flagged for an Alloa throw, we took it and the ref just played on. That was the standard we were working with today.

12-09-2015, 10:20 PM
He let their No 5 away with murder. The guy committed at least 6 fouls in the 2nd half alone without a card. The East linesman still hasn't got a decision right.

12-09-2015, 10:25 PM
He was rotten today. He was asking for the ball shouting over to the hibs bench after we scored not knowing it was on the centre circle 😂

12-09-2015, 10:33 PM

Hertz dick

13-09-2015, 12:28 AM
One of the worst I can remember. Absolutely disgraceful that he's fetching a wage for that [emoji35] How was their no 5 not booked? Doesn't even make sense. How come we get NO penalties despite having valid appeals every week? Awful

13-09-2015, 12:53 AM
What happened in the 2nd half when it looked like someone had committed a foul and he grabbed the ball and walked into the middle of the pitch and gave a drop ball, bizarre

13-09-2015, 02:04 AM
Garbage performance and shows we don't only complain when we lose. Desperate to keep his cards in his pocket when there was only one team at it.

13-09-2015, 08:10 AM
Get used to it, guys.

This is how it's going to be. The decree has gone down from the SPFL heid yins that The Huns must be back at the top table next season and no one, least of all the Hibees, must be allowed to get in their way.

Corruption in football isn't confined to the head offices of FIFA.

13-09-2015, 08:19 AM
He was terrible. I would have been annoyed has his performance not been so ludicrously and ineptly amusing.

13-09-2015, 08:25 AM
It got to the point that I wondered how on earth he could be so incompetent it surely couldn't be possible. Then the "where's the ball" incident convinced me he was in fact ****** blind!

13-09-2015, 08:34 AM
It got to the point that I wondered how on earth he could be so incompetent it surely couldn't be possible. Then the "where's the ball" incident convinced me he was in fact ****** blind!

Yeah, that and the weird drop ball incident. What was that all about?

13-09-2015, 08:45 AM
The way I see it, a referee should be able to officiate at any level from Div 3 to SPFL and be consistent. The ability of the players will change but the rules are the same.

TrinityHibs
13-09-2015, 08:54 AM
What happened in the 2nd half when it looked like someone had committed a foul and he grabbed the ball and walked into the middle of the pitch and gave a drop ball, bizarre

Their 9 went right thro the back of Dylan. No foul given. Gray put in a very hard challenge on him and then got up and had a word about the tackle. Again no foul given. There was bit of pushing an shoving and mibbees the odd bad word. Bartley was acting peace maker.The bold hero then books Gray and their 9 and then went walkabout.

13-09-2015, 09:08 AM
The Gray and chopra incident was a total farce. Chopra made a lunging tackle and got away with it, then David Gray made the same tackle, still the ref didn't blow for a foul. Then chopra squared up to Gray (not the other way around) and Gray got booked. What for?

13-09-2015, 09:16 AM
The Gray and chopra incident was a total farce. Chopra made a lunging tackle and got away with it, then David Gray made the same tackle, still the ref didn't blow for a foul. Then chopra squared up to Gray (not the other way around) and Gray got booked. What for?

Eh? Gray went looking for Chopra not the other way around. Were you the ref today ;-)

13-09-2015, 09:18 AM

It was a perfect example of what happens when a ref is having a howler and doesn't have control of a game or the respect of the players.

He didn't punish Chopra's bad tackle so Gray lunged in in a similar fashion, then handbags etc.

If the ref spots an obvious foul at the start, none of it happens.

As it stands, he gets the opportunity to make 4 bad calls in the space of a minute.

Not that the outcome of the game was changed by any of it (and not that we were the sole victims of it) it has to be said that that was one of the most consistently ditheringly incompetent refereeing performances I have ever seen.

It was exactly like a poster mentioned above, a Saturday morning ref pitching up for an easy £40 not wanting to do anything for his money after somehow being promoted to a big game because the real ref had a big night out on Friday night and didn't turn up.

13-09-2015, 10:52 AM
A ref must be truly awful when your team wins comfortably and yet the ref is condemned for being inept. I thought he was very poor as were his assistants but even though I witnessed it, I'm still surprised at the number of posts about it, justified though they are.

13-09-2015, 10:57 AM
The standard of refereeing in this league (and others) is very poor, and seems to be getting worse.

In particular, they just don't seem to have a clue as to how to deal with goalkeepers time wasting. How many times must we sit watching goalkeepers at ER literally take the piss with the amount of time they waste during a match? It starts from the first whistle, right throughout the game until Hibs eventually manage to break them down and score. It spoils the game, and people are paying their hard earned cash wanting to be entertained.

They "coaches" of these teams are largely to blame. They set out the game plan and tactics, and time wasting is obviously part of that.

Would it be too much to expect the clowns running our game to have a look at this, and issue instructions to referees to come down hard on this form of cheating? Yes, it probably would.

13-09-2015, 11:03 AM
The one thing we can't really complain about is goalies wasting time as Oxley is just as guilty of doing it to the extreme when it suits us.

13-09-2015, 11:04 AM
Ref and west stand side linesman both looked about 2 stone overweight to me. Ref was regularly miles behind play, I'd question if his fitness was up to scratch although I know there are fitness tests so he must make the grade.

All 3 officials yesterday were utterly shocking but let's be honest they were pretty much as we have come to expect from Scottish referees.

13-09-2015, 11:06 AM
In the first half the linesman flagged for an Alloa throw, we took it and the ref just played on. That was the standard we were working with today.

I forgot about that, Chopra was going nuts.

The pass back was the icing on the cake for me, every single person in the ground saw that was a pass back except for the 3 officials.

Woeful.

13-09-2015, 11:07 AM
The one thing we can't really complain about is goalies wasting time as Oxley is just as guilty of doing it to the extreme when it suits us.

Not right from the start of a match, and throughout the match thereafter. He sometimes does it during the last few minutes of a match if Hibs are winning.

"Doing it to the extreme" - no he doesn't.

13-09-2015, 11:08 AM
He played a good advantage that led directly to the first goal!:duck:

13-09-2015, 11:17 AM
Not right from the start of a match, and throughout the match thereafter. He sometimes does it during the last few minutes of a match if Hibs are winning.

Come off it, I've seen him doing it with 20 plus to go against the so called big team and The Rangers.

13-09-2015, 11:29 AM
Yeah, that and the weird drop ball incident. What was that all about?

He got the drop ball incident spot on tbf. Play stopped because of the handbags between Gray and chubby Chopra. There was no foul so a drop ball had to be done. I was more raging that Hibs didn't contest it in the middle of the park and let them pass it all the way through to Oxley

13-09-2015, 11:34 AM
Come off it, I've seen him doing it with 20 plus to go against the so called big team and The Rangers.

My point is Oxley does not go out to waste time right from the start of matches, and continue to do so throughout the match, as part of a deliberate game plan set out by Alan Stubbs.

Like the Alloa goalie did yesterday for example. No doubt under instructions from Danny Lennon to break up play, frustrate the Hibs players, and of course get the home fans on the Hibs players' backs the longer the game went on without Hibs getting a goal. I could have written the script yesterday before a ball was kicked.

The referee should have booked the Alloa goalkeeper yesterday, in the first half, when it became clear to everyone in the ground what he was doing. Except the referee it seemed. Just another in a long line of examples of referees not doing their jobs properly.

PS: Goalkeepers at most clubs will waste a bit of time towards the end of matches, if their team is winning, to try to run the clock down. That's not the same as what we witnessed yesterday, and most weeks now at ER.

13-09-2015, 11:40 AM
He got the drop ball incident spot on tbf. Play stopped because of the handbags between Gray and chubby Chopra. There was no foul so a drop ball had to be done. I was more raging that Hibs didn't contest it in the middle of the park and let them pass it all the way through to Oxley

The drop ball was the correct way to restart the game.

It's the distance he wandered looking for somewhere to restart the game I had the problem with, 50/60 yards away from where play was stopped.

13-09-2015, 11:42 AM
Worrying thought - if the standard of refereeing in the second tier is so poor, do we have enough decent referees for an expanded top flight?

13-09-2015, 11:48 AM
The drop ball was the correct way to restart the game.

It's the distance he wandered looking for somewhere to restart the game I had the problem with, 50/60 yards away from where play was stopped.

It was dropped where the ball was when he stopped the play, which again is correct

13-09-2015, 12:02 PM
Don't agree.

IMO He was incorrect.

2 refs here (? ) with differing opinions.

13-09-2015, 12:08 PM
The drop ball was correct, he stopped the game to deal with the incident so could only re-start with a drop ball.

Bizarrely, that was about all he got right all game.

Just watched the goals again, and I'm pretty sure Cummings is offside for the first goal.

13-09-2015, 12:14 PM

Chopra also caught Gray late hence why David wasn't amused on top of the lunge on Dylan. The ref was 60 yards away blissfully unaware of the incident.

13-09-2015, 12:22 PM
Worrying thought - if the standard of refereeing in the second tier is so poor, do we have enough decent referees for an expanded top flight?

You mean as good as Craig T & Willie C? Incompetence by Scottish refs is widespread, not just confined to outside the Prem. FWIW I think Calum Murray is by far our best ref, which is why we hardly ever get him, but I know the players like the way Stevie Mc & Bobby M try to ref the game, ie communicate in a friendly fashion & treat them like adults. Too many, CT in particular, act as if they're doing us all a favour by being there.

13-09-2015, 12:28 PM
Don't agree.

IMO He was incorrect.

2 refs here (? ) with differing opinions.

So where should he have dropped it?

13-09-2015, 12:34 PM
Where the ball was when he stopped play. That's not where he restarted it. Went walk-about. 😳

13-09-2015, 12:41 PM
Where the ball was when he stopped play. That's not where he restarted it. Went walk-about. 😳

The ball was away over close to where he dropped it at the time the game was stopped. Remember it took him a while to realise anything was going on and we had possession of the ball close enough to where it ended up being dropped

13-09-2015, 02:42 PM
You mean as good as Craig T & Willie C? Incompetence by Scottish refs is widespread, not just confined to outside the Prem. FWIW I think Calum Murray is by far our best ref, which is why we hardly ever get him, but I know the players like the way Stevie Mc & Bobby M try to ref the game, ie communicate in a friendly fashion & treat them like adults. Too many, CT in particular, act as if they're doing us all a favour by being there.

:agree: I see Leigh Griffiths could be in bother for daring to criticise Craig Thomson after yesterday's game at Aberdeen.

LG claimed Thomson should have sent Considine off for the foul which conceded his penalty. The article goes on to refer to "an afternoon of contentious decisions by Thomson". It seems to happen far too often with Thomson, but what's new? Nothing changes.

13-09-2015, 03:54 PM
I've had a google, and in engerlund clubs mark a referees performance after a game. It isn't clear whether this is the case in Scotland...at least using any search terms I used.

If anyone can confirm that they are, how is this marking done? Is it a straight points out of ten thing or are different criteria applied or comments appended?

Again, if they are marked, is there any publication of the accumulated data which is available to the clubs and joe public, or is it a case of the SFA or whatever body just filing it in the waste basket?

Seems to me that there is absolutely zero accountability for these t***ers and this needs to change for the good of the game

Time for a Referees Complaints Committee

13-09-2015, 04:01 PM
I've had a google, and in engerlund clubs mark a referees performance after a game. It isn't clear whether this is the case in Scotland...at least using any search terms I used.

If anyone can confirm that they are, how is this marking done? Is it a straight points out of ten thing or are different criteria applied or comments appended?

Again, if they are marked, is there any publication of the accumulated data which is available to the clubs and joe public, or is it a case of the SFA or whatever body just filing it in the waste basket?

Seems to me that there is absolutely zero accountability for these t***ers and this needs to change for the good of the game

Time for a Referees Complaints Committee

Dunno about these days but it was done in the past. When Pat Stanton was manager he used to send his form in on a Thursday for the coming Saturday fixture. Always gave them 0 out of 10.

13-09-2015, 04:07 PM
Dunno about these days but it was done in the past. When Pat Stanton was manager he used to send his form in on a Thursday for the coming Saturday fixture. Always gave them 0 out of 10.
The problem is that the marks from some individuals were not taken seriously and effectively ignored. Didn't know that about Pat Stanton but I attended a meeting many many years ago when Ernie Walker stated that Jim McLean did the same thing and because of that they never took his views on board.

13-09-2015, 04:09 PM
The problem is that the marks from some individuals were not taken seriously and effectively ignored. Didn't know that about Pat Stanton but I attended a meeting many many years ago when Ernie Walker stated that Jim McLean did the same thing and because of that they never took his views on board.

As if Ernie Walker would have anyway.

We all know the pecking order in Scottish football. Top two places never change.

13-09-2015, 04:13 PM
As if Ernie Walker would have anyway.

We all know the pecking order in Scottish football. Top two places never change.
I'm not really disputing the last part but like it or not, if an individual contributes nothing to a system which (in theory at least) is meant to help, then they will be treated as such. In anything, not just football........

13-09-2015, 04:24 PM

This is THE biggest myth in football!! It's a get out clause for refs to give so called bigger teams dodgy decisions. Funny how it's always spouted by pundits when so called big sides get *****y penalties!!

13-09-2015, 04:49 PM
I'm not really disputing the last part but like it or not, if an individual contributes nothing to a system which (in theory at least) is meant to help, then they will be treated as such. In anything, not just football........

In theory. :cb

13-09-2015, 05:46 PM
Ref and west stand side linesman both looked about 2 stone overweight to me. Ref was regularly miles behind play, I'd question if his fitness was up to scratch although I know there are fitness tests so he must make the grade.

All 3 officials yesterday were utterly shocking but let's be honest they were pretty much as we have come to expect from Scottish referees.

Funny enough , I was watching them warming up by running back and forward along the half way line and I thought to myself, aye this could be interesting. The West side linesman looked extremely top heavy and the East guy run as if his legs were tied together at the knee.

jingler1954
13-09-2015, 05:48 PM

Yes he does we go one goal up and Ox wastes time all game.That annoys me.

13-09-2015, 06:02 PM

Is that because he does it against your team? :greengrin

13-09-2015, 06:18 PM

So if Oxley "wastes time all game" presumably that also includes before Hibs go one goal up too? Have I got that right?

13-09-2015, 06:39 PM
This is THE biggest myth in football!! It's a get out clause for refs to give so called bigger teams dodgy decisions. Funny how it's always spouted by pundits when so called big sides get *****y penalties!!

It's true though.

Every time Septic get a dodgy decision in their favour, the refs make sure that Sevco Huns get one as well. And every time a decision is given against one of them, a dodgy decision will be given in their favour ASAP.

14-09-2015, 01:50 PM
One of the worst I can remember. Absolutely disgraceful that he's fetching a wage for that [emoji35] How was their no 5 not booked? Doesn't even make sense. How come we get NO penalties despite having valid appeals every week? Awful

Do you really have to ask? The answer is obvious.

14-09-2015, 02:12 PM
He played a good advantage that led directly to the first goal!:duck:

Probably because he didn't see that it was a foul in the first place.

As for the "where's the ball" incident, Stevie Wonder had to shout and tell him it was on the center spot.

14-09-2015, 02:48 PM
Probably because he didn't see that it was a foul in the first place.

As for the "where's the ball" incident, Stevie Wonder had to shout and tell him it was on the center spot.

Regarding the advantage played for the goal, the ref did everything right (I know!) he waved play on, acknowledging there had been a foul, and then went back and booked the Alloa player after the passage of play had finished with a goal.

I think folk maybe missed that because of the celebrations.

14-09-2015, 04:14 PM
Regarding the advantage played for the goal, the ref did everything right (I know!) he waved play on, acknowledging there had been a foul, and then went back and booked the Alloa player after the passage of play had finished with a goal.

I think folk maybe missed that because of the celebrations.

I'm afraid folk missed it because it didn't happen! Chopra was only Alloa player booked & that happened 5 mins before our goal. From looking at TV highlights it doesn't seem to me that ref even spots the foul.