View Full Version : FA Football aficionados -World class players with beards.

04-09-2015, 05:50 PM
I'm away with 3 other Hibbies for a golfweekend watching the pish that Scotland is offering us against Georgia.

We're looking at Steven Fletcher's beard.

Socrates is the only world class player we can think of.

Football and beards don't mix.

Sort it Strachan.

04-09-2015, 05:59 PM
I don't know why the thread title says FA by the way.

Cluny Hibs
04-09-2015, 06:13 PM
George Best. :aok:

04-09-2015, 06:16 PM
Villa of Spurs comes to mind

04-09-2015, 06:21 PM
Sergio Batista from the 86 argentina wc winning team.

04-09-2015, 06:25 PM
Ex chelsea physio

04-09-2015, 06:30 PM
Ex chelsea physio

Eva carnerio?

hibbybrian
04-09-2015, 06:30 PM
Gerd Muller and Paul Breitner both sported beards and they were no bad footballers :greengrin

04-09-2015, 06:32 PM
Eva carnerio?

Is she brazilian?

04-09-2015, 06:32 PM
Gerard pique would maybe get a game in scotland's defence. At least if Charlie mulgrew was injured.

04-09-2015, 06:34 PM
Footballers apart R vine

hibbybrian
04-09-2015, 06:35 PM
Gabrielle Batistuta :not worth would have got a game for Scotland surely :wink:

04-09-2015, 06:35 PM
Alexi Lallas?!

04-09-2015, 06:40 PM
Chris Henderson (who is also Scottish but didn't make the squad).

renato
04-09-2015, 06:46 PM
Pirlo....

stu in nottingham
04-09-2015, 06:46 PM
http://cdn.images.express.co.uk/img/dynamic/131/590x/476849091-471318.jpg

renato
04-09-2015, 06:58 PM

Good timing :greengrin

No Pirlo, no party. Quality beard, quality player.

Gus
04-09-2015, 07:00 PM
Rowan Vine

04-09-2015, 07:25 PM
How awesome would Valderama have been with a big springy beard!

04-09-2015, 07:26 PM

7-Heaven
04-09-2015, 07:36 PM
the Brazilian who smoked 20 fags a day, cannie mind his name, was he not their captain. 80's I think did he not have a beard?

Socrates, just remembered :)

04-09-2015, 07:42 PM
the Brazilian who smoked 20 fags a day, cannie mind his name, was he not their captain. 80's I think did he not have a beard?

Socrates, just remembered :)Socraties qualified doc

highland hibbee
04-09-2015, 07:43 PM

Socrates, just remembered :)

Aye that was Socrates, none of the Scotland players tonight could have laced his boots, but at least they can hide their faces behind their fungal growth. Didn't some Hibs players have to shave their beards off in the 70's btw. Oh and probably as close as Scotland would get with a beard and world class, Danny McGrain?

04-09-2015, 07:48 PM
No facial hair allowwd at old huns suits &ties to training changed club&days

04-09-2015, 07:49 PM
I'm away with 3 other Hibbies for a golfweekend watching the pish that Scotland is offering us against Georgia.

We're looking at Steven Fletcher's beard.

Socrates is the only world class player we can think of.

Football and beards don't mix.

Sort it Strachan.

Can't believe no one's mentioned Stevie Archibald yet!

Not just a beard but a ginger one at that :thumbsup:

04-09-2015, 07:52 PM
That lad Beckham sported a beard from time to time. He done ok.

Roy Keane done a job. Pirlo l, think he's been mentioned. Olaf Melberg could defend, bearded or not.

04-09-2015, 07:54 PM
Danny McGrain - great player!

04-09-2015, 08:04 PM
And now that I'm thinking about it, we have a winner.

I could remember him, but had to Google to confirm his name.

We're talking that great Bulgarian side of the mid-90s (Stoichkov, Balakov, Kostadinov et al)

Ladies and gentlemen, the one and only Trifon Ivanov

04-09-2015, 08:25 PM
And now that I'm thinking about it, we have a winner.

I could remember him, but had to Google to confirm his name.

We're talking that great Bulgarian side of the mid-90s (Stoichkov, Balakov, Kostadinov et al)

Ladies and gentlemen, the one and only Trifon Ivanov

That's not a beard!!!

At best, that is advanced 5 o'clock shadow,

04-09-2015, 08:41 PM
That's not a beard!!!

At best, that is advanced 5 o'clock shadow,

That's him just after his morning shave.

This is him by the time he's finished his breakfast (bacon and black pudding doubler with a mug of builder's tea in case you were wondering)

04-09-2015, 08:47 PM
Robert Prosineki?

Stax
04-09-2015, 09:10 PM
http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://www.easterroad.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/socrates.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.theguardian.com/football/2012/jan/25/1&h=702&w=550&tbnid=FX3Cg9-IEJ8Z6M:&docid=f2qvDxrYnlxV4M&ei=swfqVe6OK6HB7gag452ICg&tbm=isch&ved=0CB0QMygAMABqFQoTCK60l6Ck3scCFaGg2wodoHEHoQ

04-09-2015, 09:11 PM
http://www.footballerswines.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Pirlo-wine.jpg

04-09-2015, 09:19 PM
sergio Ramos.

04-09-2015, 09:28 PM
Aye that was Socrates, none of the Scotland players tonight could have laced his boots, but at least they can hide their faces behind their fungal growth. Didn't some Hibs players have to shave their beards off in the 70's btw. Oh and probably as close as Scotland would get with a beard and world class, Danny McGrain?

Cough, played for Hibs, sported a beard at Spurs. Steve someone, bought to replace Maradona at some Spanish minnow.

04-09-2015, 09:35 PM
Cough, played for Hibs, sported a beard at Spurs. Steve someone, bought to replace Maradona at some Spanish minnow.

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/3444338485/449a606e23d2e2f18286aedd251ed4e0_400x400.jpeg

stevano archibaldo

04-09-2015, 09:36 PM
Everton Guess Who star - Tim Howard

04-09-2015, 10:30 PM
I think we've proved that if you want to be a world class footballer, you are far more likely to achieve that if you don't have a beard. I pity any fitba playing hipster bairns out there.

04-09-2015, 10:48 PM
James Dayton (ex-Kilmarnock).

05-09-2015, 06:01 AM
James Dayton (ex-Kilmarnock).

I don't think you've quite grasped the definition of "World class" :greengrin

05-09-2015, 07:56 AM
Paul Hartley

05-09-2015, 08:05 AM
Joe Harper had a beard for a time when he was with us. Sure Doddie will be along to verify his favourite player.

Mixu62
05-09-2015, 08:32 AM
Jimmy Hill. Oh wait, you said world class

05-09-2015, 09:15 AM
There are plenty that have fluttered with the odd beard but I've tried to go for a few that we are used to seeing with beards (i.e. it wouldn't cause comment if they were to run out on the pitch next week with a beard).. and real beards at that:

Gattuso
Arda Turan
Xabi Alonso
Casillas
De Rossi
Pires (that was a beard)

05-09-2015, 09:28 AM
Socrates was an exotic Brazilian genius ..... Gerd Muller was a gun slinging Teutonic hit man ..... Andrea Pirlo is a laid back 'dude' who looks like he's thinking about sad poetry as he strolls about the pitch. ... Beards look cool on them coz they make them cool.

Steven Fletcher is a bang average bottom half EPL player and his beard makes him look like a fanny the same as 99% of his peers.

Beards look great on Jolly Jack Tars, American biker gangs and Shot Putters .... on professional football players they just look daft. ... the afore mentioned geniuses ( and Jimmy Boco ) excepted.