View Full Version : What a squad!

01-09-2015, 11:08 PM
Have to say I'm pretty pleased with the squad of players we have assembled. Look at the quality across all positions, now let's see what they can do on the park. In Stubbsy I trust.

01-09-2015, 11:14 PM
We have a very strong squad now, if I was being totally honest I would have liked to see another defender come in but we are now in a position where we'll have genuine options on the bench and we'll have players who can come on during a match and actually change games for us. I don't think that's been the case for a very long time.

Really excited about what Stubbs can do with this group of players this season.

01-09-2015, 11:18 PM
Stubbs has certainly been backed.

No excuses now. We just need to go and win week in, week out.

01-09-2015, 11:28 PM
must admit I am surprised, and delighted at what we have assembled. the LB position seems the weakest if wee Lewis is injured. the RB, we have Forster and he's played there. pleased we got Fontaine and McGeogh though and the wee Chelski boy looks exciting.

01-09-2015, 11:36 PM
Honestly feel we can get promoted now

01-09-2015, 11:45 PM
We have a very strong squad now, if I was being totally honest I would have liked to see another defender come in but we are now in a position where we'll have genuine options on the bench and we'll have players who can come on during a match and actually change games for us. I don't think that's been the case for a very long time.

Totally agree with all this, now we really do have options on the bench. Personally another left back wouldn't have gone amiss, but these are all good signings and a sign of intent too. Let's hope we can really kick on now, and make up the lost ground on Sevco etc.

The_Sauz
01-09-2015, 11:59 PM
must admit I am surprised, and delighted at what we have assembled. the LB position seems the weakest if wee Lewis is injured. the RB, we have Forster and he's played there. pleased we got Fontaine and McGeogh though and the wee Chelski boy looks exciting.

Both Fontaine and Hanlon can play LB :agree:

hibee6
02-09-2015, 12:05 AM
Could always revert to the 3-5-2 if Lewis got injured and play carmichael at wingback, lots of options

02-09-2015, 12:19 AM
cant argue about the big CBs playing left, if needed. maybe I'm greedy

GlasgowHibee
02-09-2015, 12:26 AM
Very happy with the squad, only position I feel we look weak in is the winger/fullback role.

02-09-2015, 07:18 AM
Being greedy I too would have liked another left back.

I would also have liked to see a few of the fringe players like Stanton. Martin, Crane & Dunsmore going out on loan.

All in all though its difficult to be unhappy with what we have got.

02-09-2015, 07:30 AM
Stubbs has certainly been backed.

No excuses now. We just need to go and win week in, week out.

I agree. The fans really need to start turning up again now too.

02-09-2015, 07:32 AM
I agree. The fans really need to start turning up again now too.

Agree

Hopefully we get a bit of momentum and the numbers start coming back

02-09-2015, 07:32 AM
Second best squad in Scotland.Getting them playing like that is something else though.

02-09-2015, 07:40 AM
Both Fontaine and Hanlon can play LB :agree:

Maybe but that doesn't leave much cover at CH - Forster seems to be permanently injured.

02-09-2015, 07:45 AM
Second best squad in Scotland.Getting them playing like that is something else though.

Nowhere near the second best in Scotland imho.

All for positivity but there needs to be at least a modicum of realism in there.

02-09-2015, 07:52 AM

Come and tell me that after we play the sheep.....

Looks to be a good mix of players and far more options for sure, however in essence this is the team that has lost twice to Rangers with a sprinkling of a few interesting unknowns....

Having said that, here's hoping we can kick on now! 👍

rodhibs55
02-09-2015, 07:54 AM

Agree with this.

Also think in a way we have hosed all over the currants with our transfer dealings. They wanted our best player and YPOTY from last year, didn't happen. We signed their POTY. They signed loans from Spurs and Arsenal, we signed a loans from Celtic and Chelsea. Add to that Mcgeoch, McGinn, Fyvie, Keatings, Fontaine, Gray, Carmichael, Boyle and compare them with their signings, I reckon we have the stronger squad by a country mile. Ox is also a better keeper than the one they signed.

Just need to put it all together on the park. Lots to get excited about.

02-09-2015, 08:19 AM
Honestly feel we can get promoted now

At the very least we should be making the playoff final.

02-09-2015, 08:50 AM
Agree with this.

Also think in a way we have hosed all over the currants with our transfer dealings. They wanted our best player and YPOTY from last year, didn't happen. We signed their POTY. They signed loans from Spurs and Arsenal, we signed a loans from Celtic and Chelsea. Add to that Mcgeoch, McGinn, Fyvie, Keatings, Fontaine, Gray, Carmichael, Boyle and compare them with their signings, I reckon we have the stronger squad by a country mile. Ox is also a better keeper than the one they signed.

Just need to put it all together on the park. Lots to get excited about.

We really dont they have signed well and started this season well also the players who were poor last season are sharper now. Warburton is a decent coach and we will have to be at our best to be higher than them in the league.

I am happy with our signings and we also have a strong squad which will make us hugely competitive in this league and should mean at minimum second place in this league.

02-09-2015, 08:52 AM

All for positivity but there needs to be at least a modicum of realism in there.

Agree nowhere near it but getting better.

02-09-2015, 09:09 AM

Steady now. We don't have a better squad than Celtic or Aberdeen. There's a big test coming for them in a few weeks vs Aberdeen then we will find out just how good they are.

02-09-2015, 09:19 AM
At the very least we should be making the playoff final.

Our squad seems far stronger than any team likely to finish 11th in the SPL.

Not going up this season would be a massive failure.

02-09-2015, 09:21 AM

I don't think we're a mile of quality wise, fifth best at worst. Even last season we arguably had a better side than Hearts player for player, but they actually attacked teams with pace and width and were a lot more clinical.

I'm excited about the two signings yesterday but I'd be a lot more comfortable had we signed a left back, even just for cover. Am I right in saying that our only natural wide players are Stevenson, Gray, Boyle and maybe Carmichael? That just isn't enough IMO. Nevertheless we should have the quality to be winning weekly in this league and we are more than good enough to be nipping the heels of The Rangers.

Iceman1875
02-09-2015, 10:07 AM
I can't wait for football manager 16! [emoji23]

At Easter Road we play...

02-09-2015, 10:07 AM

Funny things can happen in football. While a narrow defeat against the SPL side in a playoff final would not be good I'm not sure it would/could be called a failure. If we don't make the playoff final though, it can only be seen a massive failure.

Roxyhibee
02-09-2015, 10:14 AM
Didn't fear the Huns in any shape or form anyway and certainly don't now that Stubbs has expanded the squad with a good bit of quality. Ibrox game showed we can easily beat them next time we meet them at ER - and any other time. The pressure and expectancy is all on them til May.

And definitely looking forward to Aberdeen in a few weeks - shouldn't have any fear from them either, the bloated, arrogant

We have a bit variety in the team now - we got very predictable for those few final crucial games at the end of last season, mainly because we didn't have the players to change the shape/tactics before or during a game (Boyle being cuptied and injured didn't help..)

Lets pick up from the Raith game though and just keep getting the 3 points against the 'wee' teams every single week. It's going to be much harder for those sides to park the bus against us now we have a better squad and more importantly, different styles of players that can change a game coming off the bench..

02-09-2015, 10:51 AM

Just wish they were in Fifa too.

Nutmegged
02-09-2015, 10:57 AM
The midfield is definitely exciting, I don't rate Oxley and I feel we've went for quantity over quality up front, central defence looks as strong as I can remember, I love Gray but worry about the RB position when he doesn't play and while I like Lewis I'm still not convinced he's a good enough left back

02-09-2015, 11:13 AM

I believe there's only Celtc & Sheep with a better squad than us. The following players, who did not start the game last week, are now available to us.
Reguero, Fyvie, Malonga, Farid, Feruz, McGregor, Stanton, Carmichael, Boyle, Forster, Feruz, Martin & Anier. The great majority of these players would be starters in most top flight teams. Now it's a question of moulding them, getting results & for our part, supporting them.

Sproule Three
02-09-2015, 11:22 AM

We lost to Sevco last season who got absolutely horsed by the 11th placed team in the SPL last year in case people need reminded .
As has been said - good to remain positive but a good sniff of strong coffee might be required .

02-09-2015, 11:26 AM
IMO we have a better squad than last season, the club have done very well over the summer

The Leith Dutch
02-09-2015, 11:30 AM
Happy with the signings but a huge part of our problems in recent seasons has not been purely not having good enough players.

Our issues are getting the quality of player we have playing to their potential and playing together on the park.

I'd argue that we had the best squad in the league last season and that we had a squad of players who were an order of magnitude better than at least 2 or 3 of the teams who stayed up the season before. We just didn't play to that level.

02-09-2015, 11:50 AM
We lost to Sevco last season who got absolutely horsed by the 11th placed team in the SPL last year in case people need reminded .
As has been said - good to remain positive but a good sniff of strong coffee might be required .

One off games/results are meaningless. The 5th team in our league last season, who failed to make the play-offs, were very unlucky to lose the Cup final to the 3rd placed team in the Premiership. While I enjoyed the Well victories hugely they enjoyed more luck in those 2 games than we did all season. My main worry about any possible play-off in 8 months time is it may come against traditionally stronger teams such as Killie or Dundee Utd rather than the likes of Ross County or Hamilton. Still, if we can arrange for Willie Collum to get a few more Yam games we could have a late derby this season! :wink:

Sproule Three
02-09-2015, 12:05 PM
One off games/results are meaningless. The 5th team in our league last season, who failed to make the play-offs, were very unlucky to lose the Cup final to the 3rd placed team in the Premiership. While I enjoyed the Well victories hugely they enjoyed more luck in those 2 games than we did all season. My main worry about any possible play-off in 8 months time is it may come against traditionally stronger teams such as Killie or Dundee Utd rather than the likes of Ross County or Hamilton. Still, if we can arrange for Willie Collum to get a few more Yam games we could have a late derby this season! :wink:

In play offs one off games are far from meaningless - unfortunately.
We were better than Sevco all season but when it came down to the crunch - we lost AGAIN

To assume that we will be stronger than the 11th Placed SPL team is a wee bit foolish imo

02-09-2015, 12:13 PM

Thinking that myself...!!

02-09-2015, 02:09 PM

You don't have to, get the pre game editor and edit the squad to have all the players in there, obviously minus Allan, I did it this morning to see what they would be like. Anier is a beast and scores for fun, Feruz is still only 18 in game but I set up 2 tactics, 4-3-3 and a 3-4-3 both attacking and so far pre season averaging 4-5 goals per game.

I always do this when the summer window closes to see what the new squad will shape up like, it's not a totally new game as I'm 9 seasons into my normal FM game, just do it for a bit of fun. :greengrin

02-09-2015, 02:16 PM
You don't have to, get the pre game editor and edit the squad to have all the players in there, obviously minus Allan, I did it this morning to see what they would be like. Anier is a beast and scores for fun, Feruz is still only 18 in game but I set up 2 tactics, 4-3-3 and a 3-4-3 both attacking and so far pre season averaging 4-5 goals per game.

I always do this when the summer window closes to see what the new squad will shape up like, it's not a totally new game as I'm 9 seasons into my normal FM game, just do it for a bit of fun. :greengrin

Done the same. But I'm tempted to edit Insall's stats.

02-09-2015, 02:28 PM
Done the same. But I'm tempted to edit Insall's stats.!

I've not added him or Easton, I only did it to see just what the new squad would look and play like, I won't play it for long as it's just a curiosity thing.

02-09-2015, 02:32 PM
I've not added him or Easton, I only did it to see just what the new squad would look and play like, I won't play it for long as it's just a curiosity thing.

I'll be having a few quick seasons on this before FM16 is out.

02-09-2015, 03:47 PM
In play offs one off games are far from meaningless - unfortunately.
We were better than Sevco all season but when it came down to the crunch - we lost AGAIN

To assume that we will be stronger than the 11th Placed SPL team is a wee bit foolish imo

I agree but its also a wee bit foolish to read too much into any one set of results. We actually beat Yams over the course of last season, based on that we would be about top of Premier if we had gone up.
Here's a set of results over a shortish period of time that oldsters may remember.
Oldco 4-12 Eintracht Frankfurt, Eintracht 3-7 Real Madrid, Real Madrid 3-4 Barcelona, Hibs 7-6 Barcelona.
Based on that we should have won about 5 European Cups in the 60's!

02-09-2015, 03:51 PM
On paper it looks like a pretty strong group of players. That doesn't mean a great team though, its what the manager does with them that will determine if the whole can be as good as the sum of the parts appears to be.

Just a few observations:

We only have a development squad player as 'specialist' cover for an injury prone right back in David Gray.
I have a high regard for Stevenson ... but imagine having the likes of a David Murphy in that position .. he needs competition IMO

McGinn ...... Wow!!! .... From what he has shown so far I'm astonished this guy wasn't picked up by a Premiership club or decent sized English club, if he can improve on what he has shown so far we will be fighting a host of clubs off with a stick next June.

Feruz .... According to an article I read today Mark Wotta ( remember him ) compared this guy to "a young Romario" .... and yet the under 21s have ignored him for the last 2 years and he hasn't made a dent in 2 loan spells, one for a team so bad I could have got a game. Attitude, not ability, seems to be his problem ... The highway to fame and glory in this game is littered with the wreckage of players like that .... lets hope he realises it before its too late.

Anier ..... Social media is awash with Dundee Utd fans who would happily have driven this guy to Easter Road themselves ... hardly a ringing endorsement of his ability, two year old You Tube films as we all know are shaky evidence of current reality.

All that being said I live in hope that AS can get the best out of all the players he has at his disposal ..... If he can, even if we cant win the league I am convinced he will have a team capable of finishing a very close second and beating the 3rd place team and whatever team finishes 11th in the Premiership.

02-09-2015, 04:06 PM
Probably the most good quality mostly Scottish squad we have had for a long time!

Plenty of options in there, especially in the forward areas, going to be a hard job to keep those not picked happy, I suspect some rotation will be required.

02-09-2015, 05:11 PM
Probably the most good quality mostly Scottish squad we have had for a long time!

Plenty of options in there, especially in the forward areas, going to be a hard job to keep those not picked happy, I suspect some rotation will be required.

Music to my ears ....... players who can't get a start because the guys in position are keeping them out. It happens all the time with the better clubs with big squads. Professional attitude called for.

Gordy M
02-09-2015, 05:22 PM
On paper it looks like a pretty strong group of players. That doesn't mean a great team though, its what the manager does with them that will determine if the whole can be as good as the sum of the parts appears to be.

Just a few observations:

We only have a development squad player as 'specialist' cover for an injury prone right back in David Gray.
I have a high regard for Stevenson ... but imagine having the likes of a David Murphy in that position .. he needs competition IMO

McGinn ...... Wow!!! .... From what he has shown so far I'm astonished this guy wasn't picked up by a Premiership club or decent sized English club, if he can improve on what he has shown so far we will be fighting a host of clubs off with a stick next June.

Feruz .... According to an article I read today Mark Wotta ( remember him ) compared this guy to "a young Romario" .... and yet the under 21s have ignored him for the last 2 years and he hasn't made a dent in 2 loan spells, one for a team so bad I could have got a game. Attitude, not ability, seems to be his problem ... The highway to fame and glory in this game is littered with the wreckage of players like that .... lets hope he realises it before its too late.

Anier ..... Social media is awash with Dundee Utd fans who would happily have driven this guy to Easter Road themselves ... hardly a ringing endorsement of his ability, two year old You Tube films as we all know are shaky evidence of current reality.

All that being said I live in hope that AS can get the best out of all the players he has at his disposal ..... If he can, even if we cant win the league I am convinced he will have a team capable of finishing a very close second and beating the 3rd place team and whatever team finishes 11th in the Premiership.

With regards to feruz, im pretty sure he ruled himself out of playing for the under 21s? Tho that may have changed recently? Not 100% sure though.

02-09-2015, 05:26 PM
With regards to feruz, im pretty sure he ruled himself out of playing for the under 21s? Tho that may have changed recently? Not 100% sure though.

He said a couple of months ago he wanted to play for Scotland

02-09-2015, 05:27 PM

Just a few observations:

Good post NN.

I'm pretty sure Darren McGregor was signed as cover for right back as well as centre half.

The development players, namely Dunsmore and Crane won't play for the first team in the near future. The two of them plus Lewis Allan were circulated to clubs for loan deals but nobody to date have taken either.

I hope Stubbsy can get what we need out of the players, he obviously believes he can.

I remember when we signed Gary Smith there were hoots of derision on these boards but he turned out to be a fine signing, Jim Leighton was similar. We live in hope that AS can tame Feruz and that he sees something in Anier that Arab fans couldn't.

02-09-2015, 05:52 PM
I remember when we signed Gary Smith there were hoots of derision on these boards but he turned out to be a fine signing, Jim Leighton was similar. We live in hope that AS can tame Feruz and that he sees something in Anier that Arab fans couldn't.

Guilty as charged re Gary Smith. Mixu as well. I was so outraged that I e-mailed the board!

A change of club or manager can sometimes do wonders.

02-09-2015, 05:54 PM
Guilty as charged re Gary Smith. Mixu as well. I was so outraged that I e-mailed the board!

Email in 1999? Respect!

son of haggart
02-09-2015, 05:59 PM
An interesting window for you guys. A few observations from a Hearts fan

1. It's a big vote of confidence in AS from the board.
2. It is also a big challenge for him - he has a lot of midfield and attacking players to rotate and keep happy. On our side of the town it appears that Neilson has decided to go for quality over quantity (and we hope he has selected the right guys). There are risks in both strategies
3. It appears as a financial risk - not a Petrie style punt, so possibly backing up the stated withdrawal of Petrie from running the club/ holding the purse strings. It's a risk he didn't take in 2005/2006 so I would assume it's Dempster's doing/ influence
4. My take is he's gone for 4 or 5 players of whom he expects 2 or maybe 3 to come good. If 3, then he's done well, 1 and Hbs might struggle
5. I am surprised he hasn't gone for a keeper or further defender - perhaps he has out of contract players in mind or perhaps he is operating on the basis of simply outscoring the opposition, but your defence looks pretty threadbare.

Fascinating to see how some of them work out

I was particularly interested to see whether Jamie Insall works out - having watched a fair bit of English non league you occasionally see guys who you think could do a job in the scottish leagues ( I haven't seen Insall but I do remember thinking Clayton Donaldson was a class act when he played for Kingstonian, my local team)

02-09-2015, 05:59 PM

still got your AOL account?? :wink:

02-09-2015, 06:02 PM
Email in 1999? Respect!

It was 1998 and yes even Hibs had e-mail by then!

02-09-2015, 06:03 PM
still got your AOL account?? :wink:

Stalker :wink:

Probably took an hour for the e-mail to send but I thought it was worth it!

Cheshire Hibby
02-09-2015, 06:25 PM
Music to my ears ....... players who can't get a start because the guys in position are keeping them out. It happens all the time with the better clubs with big squads. Professional attitude called for.

Huge hope now. Agree with this post though!

02-09-2015, 06:52 PM
An interesting window for you guys. A few observations from a Hearts fan

1. It's a big vote of confidence in AS from the board.
2. It is also a big challenge for him - he has a lot of midfield and attacking players to rotate and keep happy. On our side of the town it appears that Neilson has decided to go for quality over quantity (and we hope he has selected the right guys). There are risks in both strategies
3. It appears as a financial risk - not a Petrie style punt, so possibly backing up the stated withdrawal of Petrie from running the club/ holding the purse strings. It's a risk he didn't take in 2005/2006 so I would assume it's Dempster's doing/ influence
4. My take is he's gone for 4 or 5 players of whom he expects 2 or maybe 3 to come good. If 3, then he's done well, 1 and Hbs might struggle
5. I am surprised he hasn't gone for a keeper or further defender - perhaps he has out of contract players in mind or perhaps he is operating on the basis of simply outscoring the opposition, but your defence looks pretty threadbare.

Fascinating to see how some of them work out

I was particularly interested to see whether Jamie Insall works out - having watched a fair bit of English non league you occasionally see guys who you think could do a job in the scottish leagues ( I haven't seen Insall but I do remember thinking Clayton Donaldson was a class act when he played for Kingstonian, my local team)

Cheers for your reasonably delivered views.

I'd disagree with your quality over quantity suggestion however, in the forward positions it seems to me that he's gone for quality AND quantity. Yes, Anier and Insall may not be the quality but Feruz, McGeouch, Henderson, McGinn are at least potential quality.

I reckon Oxley is fine for now, Alexander is the Hearts keeper and he's maybe a bit better all round than Oxley right now but he can't have much left in him. It's not a big gap and that's the case over the whole of the top 2 divisions outwith Craig Gordon and maybe the Dundee keeper.

Agree with you at left back however. I'm a big fan of Stevenson and as much as I'm happy to see him on the teamsheet every week it would be helpful to know we have capable cover. For the rest of defense, should Gray & Forster not both be out injured for long periods, at the same time then we're fine.

Do have to admit having slight concerns with us splashing the cash, especially should the worst case scenario happen and we don't go up once again. I'd think the Scott Allan cash that's available along with any ST and HSL budget must be going on combined wages for the season on the loan and short term options.

02-09-2015, 08:07 PM
Too much realism on this thread for my liking. When we've won the league by Burns Night, you'll all be feeling awfy stupid!

GGTTH :flag:

02-09-2015, 08:16 PM

Steady!

We need to take a step back and realise our position within the standings at the moment.

We are certainly improving and I'm very happy with our squad but we're a long way off the teams at the top of the Premiership right now.

son of haggart
02-09-2015, 08:23 PM

I'd disagree with your quality over quantity suggestion however, in the forward positions it seems to me that he's gone for quality AND quantity. Yes, Anier and Insall may not be the quality but Feruz, McGeouch, Henderson, McGinn are at least potential quality.

I reckon Oxley is fine for now, Alexander is the Hearts keeper and he's maybe a bit better all round than Oxley right now but he can't have much left in him. It's not a big gap and that's the case over the whole of the top 2 divisions outwith Craig Gordon and maybe the Dundee keeper.

Agree with you at left back however. I'm a big fan of Stevenson and as much as I'm happy to see him on the teamsheet every week it would be helpful to know we have capable cover. For the rest of defense, should Gray & Forster not both be out injured for long periods, at the same time then we're fine.

Do have to admit having slight concerns with us splashing the cash, especially should the worst case scenario happen and we don't go up once again. I'd think the Scott Allan cash that's available along with any ST and HSL budget must be going on combined wages for the season on the loan and short term options.

Thanks for your kind comments

I agree re Alexander, but I think Hearts fans recognise we need someone to fill the gap between Alexander and Hamilton and there is an expectation there might be another addition coming - i think Hibs are in the same place.

re the quality / quantity ting I think you have a lot of 'potential' players - not saying it wont work out, just that you are hoping you get a couple of big successes there - a reasonable chance if you have so many. In this respect it is interesting that Neilson was happy to release Keatings and Oliver. I was quite happy with that but many weren't - we'll see over the next few months which manager's judged it well, or maybe if both have.

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-09-2015, 01:11 PM

Im not worried too much about left back as we have hanlon and fontaine who can play left back if louie is injured also we have carmicheal to cover the wing back as boyle has played wing back also although not sure if boyle can play on the left?

im happy with ox at the back. im sure AS isnt concered either. im sure we will be looking to bring in a youngster at some point too

23-09-2015, 09:09 PM
Steady!

We need to take a step back and realise our position within the standings at the moment.

We are certainly improving and I'm very happy with our squad but we're a long way off the teams at the top of the Premiership right now.Aye miles eh?

23-09-2015, 09:14 PM
Come and tell me that after we play the sheep.....

Looks to be a good mix of players and far more options for sure, however in essence this is the team that has lost twice to Rangers with a sprinkling of a few interesting unknowns....

Having said that, here's hoping we can kick on now! Second best squad in scotland.