View Full Version : Refugees welcome!

31-08-2015, 08:47 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xlp1/v/t1.0-9/11960231_758107900961527_4046441444977851645_n.jpg ?oh=3e448451740e141c0345c62eac8a8789&oe=56652959

31-08-2015, 08:50 PM
Was that not the signing policy that led to our 2012 cup final squad?

31-08-2015, 09:00 PM
Wow. Looks like quite a big deal amongst fans at German football right now.

I like it.

Soldiersteve
31-08-2015, 09:01 PM
Well done the Germans in displaying compassion for desperate people. Class:top marks

31-08-2015, 09:04 PM
Horrible situation, only made worse over here by the insistence of our mainstream media calling them migrants!

31-08-2015, 09:13 PM
Horrible situation, only made worse over here by the insistence of our mainstream media calling them migrants!

The UK media is so one sided on this it beggars believe. About two days ago most networks were running with stories about immigrants who've been in the UK for several years speaking out against more immigration. Stomach turning stuff.

harpo
31-08-2015, 09:14 PM
As Hibs fans we should be more active in welcoming immigrants/refugees to our country. After all aren't we a club made up of immigrants? Our response to foodbanks with the help of our club made us all feel proud. It's maybe an idea to do the same with the immigrants/refugee crisis. Just putting it out there, what are peoples thoughts?

31-08-2015, 09:14 PM
Superb. I defy any parent (or indeed any human with emotions) not to be moved by the scenes of these desperate folk, most of whom had comfortable lives back in their homeland, begging for asylum from the chaos.

31-08-2015, 09:16 PM

Classy :aok:

31-08-2015, 09:18 PM

Yam? Horrible statement to a great post :idiot:

31-08-2015, 10:29 PM
http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/what-this-german-football-club-just-did-highlights-britains-shameful-record-on-refugees--ZkXGpcz8Hg

31-08-2015, 11:04 PM
http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/what-this-german-football-club-just-did-highlights-britains-shameful-record-on-refugees--ZkXGpcz8Hg

Hibs should do this!

Scotland has a proud record of accepting new arrivals - as we should, given how many Scots have travelled the world.

31-08-2015, 11:09 PM
Excellent stuff from German fans. The UK government reaction to the refugee crisis on EU borders is appalling. My ancestors where lucky enough to get into the UK in the days before compulsory passports. They'd now be classed as economic migrants with no chance of staying in Scotland.

I took a friend from Rwanda to Easter Road for the Morton game. He and his family live in Lochend. Both he and his wife have paid employment for those who that may be an issue for. He was interested to hear all about Hibs history. His own team in Rwanda also play in green and white so he felt at home! Not many black faces in the crowd at ER but he felt comfortable and enjoyed the game. Lets hope for more immigrants to Edinburgh coming along to watch the Mighty Cabbage :flag:

31-08-2015, 11:13 PM
Superb from the Germans.

Capt Mainwaring
31-08-2015, 11:36 PM
...and yet there is a fair proportion of Hibs fans that still find the Derek Riordan sing a long about Rudi Skacel amusing!!!

harpo
31-08-2015, 11:38 PM
Ignorance is bliss!

01-09-2015, 12:23 AM
...and yet there is a fair proportion of Hibs fans that still find the Derek Riordan sing a long about Rudi Skacel amusing!!!it was in a warped kind of way, but the majority of Hibernian fans, imho along with myself do feel for the current plight of many people throughout Europe,North and East Africa at this moment in time. the Skacel episode,.....well, he hardly endeared himself to opposing fans (especially us) with some of his actions. he also could not keep his gob shut, despite being fairly well educated and from a family that were hardly in the grubber. I think he liked to play the victim, and he was more of a villan than portrayed. suited the press to lay in to Derek Riordan at any opportunity. sorry Captain.:cb

01-09-2015, 02:38 AM
The whole refugee/immigration issue is both emotive and complex and hopefully will not divide the board.

Having said that, as an 'Economic refugee' who left Scotland, probably for its own good in 1974 for Australia, and later in life for a short time actually worked as a supervisor at Sydney's Villawood Detention centre, where 'illegals' were housed, at least I can offer a Hibs related tale to proceedings.

I volunteered to run various fitba activities for the inmates...gaining their trust and friendship.

People of all nationalities....even some who did not have one. Including suspected terrorists too.

I would lose players every now and then due to their forced deportation, but all went back to their native countries with an education having been received about Hibernian FC and some of them, also with an old Hibs strip.

So if ever you are in darkest Africa and the odd Hibs strip pops up of the late 90's variety....you never know

01-09-2015, 07:28 AM
Maybe best that as a Football Club and as Football Fans, we stay clear of getting involved in any Political issues.

We are the 1st to have a go at Rangers/Celtic when they try to make political statements eg Palestine flags etc in the crowd.

Immigration is currently a massive political issue and should be kept away from football grounds.

01-09-2015, 07:32 AM
Immigration is currently a massive political issue and should be kept away from football grounds.

I would say it's a humanitarian issue rather than a political issue.

01-09-2015, 07:37 AM
Brilliant stuff. Would love to see Hibs to do similar. This is the response from Germans who have a greater per capita intake of migrants than stuffy old Britain. Ashamed by the noises coming from Britain about this situation. Particularly when considering the UKs part in destabilising the areas where some of these people are coming from. Europe needs to step to the plate in general.

01-09-2015, 07:44 AM

But it's the EU politicians that are currently deciding on how to deal with the situation and debating spreading the refugees throughout the EU states so that they don't all end up in 1 EU country.

If Politicians are going to be the ones that make the decision on how the refugees are dealt with that sounds like a political issue to me.

AndyM_1875
01-09-2015, 07:52 AM
Given our club's historical founding I'd be quite happy for a "Refugees Welcome" banner to be displayed by the fans at Easter Road.
Its a humanitarian issue.

liamh2202
01-09-2015, 07:57 AM
I'd be happy if all these issues were kept away from our home ground all together.

01-09-2015, 07:58 AM
Given our club's historical founding I'd be quite happy for a "Refugees Welcome" banner to be displayed by the fans at Easter Road.

How many would you be happy to welcome to Easter Road?

AndyM_1875
01-09-2015, 07:59 AM

As what?
Fans or Players?

Torto7062
01-09-2015, 08:00 AM
Well done the Germans in displaying compassion for desperate people. Class:top marks

Desperate People.....mate I cannae see any Hertz flags 😂😂😂

01-09-2015, 08:01 AM
As what?
Fans or Players?

Fans or players

01-09-2015, 08:07 AM

One for every empty seat, exactly the same as any other person who wants to watch Hibs.

01-09-2015, 08:08 AM

In today's speak our founding fathers ( including my great grandfather ) would be called economic migrants. :confused:

01-09-2015, 08:09 AM

But 'Refugees Welcome' is a political message to a humaitarian problem.

As its EU politicians that are in the position of deciding how to deal with this humanitarian issue.

Surely we can just display a message 'Anyone that is in this country legally Welcome'

KdyHby
01-09-2015, 08:09 AM
Excellent stuff from German fans. The UK government reaction to the refugee crisis on EU borders is appalling. My ancestors where lucky enough to get into the UK in the days before compulsory passports. They'd now be classed as economic migrants with no chance of staying in Scotland.

I took a friend from Rwanda to Easter Road for the Morton game. He and his family live in Lochend. Both he and his wife have paid employment for those who that may be an issue for. He was interested to hear all about Hibs history. His own team in Rwanda also play in green and white so he felt at home! Not many black faces in the crowd at ER but he felt comfortable and enjoyed the game. Lets hope for more immigrants to Edinburgh coming along to watch the Mighty Cabbage :flag:

Well done to http://leithlinks4kids.com/ for donating season tickets to kids attending
http://www.mcfb.org.uk/

MKHIBEE
01-09-2015, 08:10 AM
It is but that doesn't stop the issue being used for political ends

01-09-2015, 08:10 AM
One for every empty seat, exactly the same as any other person who wants to watch Hibs.

Exactly, anyone that wants to come watch Hibs is welcome so why narrow it down to refugees?! Because it's a political statement that has no place in football.

superbam
01-09-2015, 08:12 AM

As its EU politicians that are in the position of deciding how to deal with this humanitarian issue.

Surely we can just display a message 'Anyone that is in this country legally Welcome'

FFS. Alan Partridge Hibs SC

01-09-2015, 08:13 AM
Maybe best that as a Football Club and as Football Fans, we stay clear of getting involved in any Political issues.

We are the 1st to have a go at Rangers/Celtic when they try to make political statements eg Palestine flags etc in the crowd.

"The only thing necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing."

Or as Edmund Burke might have put it - "stay clear of getting involved in any political issues ..."

The decision to "stay clear" is in itself a political decision, one that in this case allows the xenophobes of UKIP and the Daily Mail and their fellow-travellers free rein to spout their bile unchallenged.

Burke also said: "When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall, one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle."

Supposing there were a proposal to fly a banner at ER similar to the one I would hope that the club would agree to it rather than taking the weasel option of "keeping political issues out of sport" and lining up with the xenophobes.

We have a history, after all.

I always thought that at best politics is the process of applying social morality and responsibility to the way we run our country.

Unless of course you're David Cameron or whichever particular non-entity happens to be calling the shots in New Labour in the next while.

01-09-2015, 08:20 AM
Not wanting to get too esoteric, but aren't we all refugees from somewhere ?!

01-09-2015, 08:21 AM
Not wanting to get too esoteric, but aren't we all refugees from somewhere ?!

Yup. We're all just passing through. :agree:

therealgavmac
01-09-2015, 08:22 AM

Or as Edmund Burke might have put it - "stay clear of getting involved in any political issues ..."

The decision to "stay clear" is in itself a political decision, one that in this case allows the xenophobes of UKIP and the Daily Mail and their fellow-travellers free rein to spout their bile unchallenged.

Burke also said: "When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall, one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle."

Supposing there were a proposal to fly a banner at ER similar to the one I would hope that the club would agree to it rather than taking the weasel option of "keeping political issues out of sport" and lining up with the xenophobes.

I always thought that at best politics is the process of applying social morality and responsibility to the way we run our country.

Unless of course you're David Cameron or whichever particular non-entity happens to be calling the shots in New Labour in the next while.

Doddie, take a bow sir. Inspiring post! Gav

01-09-2015, 08:28 AM

Well said.

01-09-2015, 08:29 AM
The whole refugee/immigration issue is both emotive and complex and hopefully will not divide the board.

Having said that, as an 'Economic refugee' who left Scotland, probably for its own good in 1974 for Australia, and later in life for a short time actually worked as a supervisor at Sydney's Villawood Detention centre, where 'illegals' were housed, at least I can offer a Hibs related tale to proceedings.

I volunteered to run various fitba activities for the inmates...gaining their trust and friendship.

People of all nationalities....even some who did not have one. Including suspected terrorists too.

I would lose players every now and then due to their forced deportation, but all went back to their native countries with an education having been received about Hibernian FC and some of them, also with an old Hibs strip.

So if ever you are in darkest Africa and the odd Hibs strip pops up of the late 90's variety....you never know

Is Villawood out at Manly? If so I had the pleasure of spending four weeks there before being deported. 😀

On the main point, I find it disgusting that 5,000 people are living the way they are in Calais . We are both supposed to be civilised societies yet our governments allow it. I'll say that number again, 5,000. Less than we usually get at Easter Road. Lebanon has a population around 4 million, they have taken in 1.2 million refugees last figures I saw. Other countries in the region, the same. This country has a proud history of immigrants coming in and doing well, in fact the vast majority of us coming from immigrants of some type. It is political what is happening. The government is pandering ti the right wing scaremongers. Let them in.

01-09-2015, 08:31 AM
When since did we get involved in politics like this?

Time to close this thread, has nothing whatsoever to do with Hibernian FC.

01-09-2015, 08:37 AM

Sad for the folk involved but not something that hibs or we as a support should be involved in imo.

01-09-2015, 08:38 AM
Is Villawood out at Manly? If so I had the pleasure of spending four weeks there before being deported. 

On the main point, I find it disgusting that 5,000 people are living the way they are in Calvin. We are both supposed to be civilised societies yet our governments allow it. I'll say that number again, 5,000. Less than we usually get at Easter Road. Lebanon has a population around 4 million, they have taken in 1.2 million refugees last figures I saw. Other countries in the region, the same. This country has a proud history of immigrants coming in and doing well, in fact the vast majority of us coming from immigrants of some type. It is political what is happening. The government is pandering ti the right wing scaremongers. Let them in.

Nowhere near Manly....near Parramatta.

But if you were deported you would have been transported to there prior.

SON OF PADDY
01-09-2015, 08:39 AM
Is Easter Rd not situated in the People's Republic of Leith, All are welcome as far as I'm concerned !!

01-09-2015, 08:54 AM
Sad for the folk involved but not something that hibs or we as a support should be involved in imo.

Luna Landing
01-09-2015, 08:57 AM

Given that our club was founded by Irish immigrants fleeing from the famine to find a better life for themselves and their families I find these comments unbelievable. Of course Hibs should be seeking to support this great initiative by German football fans - this is what Hibs have always been about. Show some humanity guys.

superbam
01-09-2015, 08:58 AM

Well put mate :thumbsup:

liamh2202
01-09-2015, 09:00 AM
Given that our club was founded by Irish immigrants fleeing from the famine to find a better life for themselves and their families I find these comments unbelievable. Of course Hibs should be seeking to support this great initiative by German football fans - this is what Hibs have always been about. Show some humanity guys.

Why should how our club was founded have any bearing on what goes on now? What's unbelievable is that you want a divisive political topic taken up by our FOOTBALL club , would you then say its OK for rangers to sign their dittys because its what they have done in the past?

01-09-2015, 09:00 AM

Exactly.

Luna Landing
01-09-2015, 09:04 AM
Why should how our club was founded have any bearing on what goes on now? What's unbelievable is that you want a divisive political topic taken up by our FOOTBALL club , would you then say its OK for rangers to sign their dittys because its what they have done in the past?

run that by me again ?

superbam
01-09-2015, 09:08 AM

Showing solidarity with the world's most vulnerable people risking their lives to flee horrific circumstances

vs

celebrating the oppression and slaughter of a particular ethnic/religious group

You will have to run that one by me again too.

SON OF PADDY

Very well put Luna.

Good grief.

You post some absolute at times.

PS for the right wing ukip tory noel amongst us...

REFUGEES WELCOME

HiBremian
01-09-2015, 09:13 AM
The issue here in Germany is regarded more as a charity/humanitarian one - the politics revolves more around what to do with the neo-nazis trying to stir up hatred and confuse "refugee" with "immigrant". Perhaps the problem with the UK is that the MSM have been doing the job of the neo-nazis for them.

01-09-2015, 09:17 AM
Nowhere near Manly....near Parramatta.

But if you were deported you would have been transported to there prior.

Going back to 1973 mate. I have always been convinced it was Manly. It was definitely on the north head as we used to sit and watch ships coming in wondering which one I was getting sent home on. 😁

01-09-2015, 09:26 AM

:agree: Yep.

01-09-2015, 09:31 AM

So it's the "tough titties, I'm alright Jack" approach is it?

Unbelievable, especially given football's common appeal regardless of colour, religion, "immigration status" etc etc. Hibs and every other club, and support, have a big opportunity to at least make a visible statement, as they have in Germany, that the right wing, language of hate, complete hysteria that a good chunk of the mainstream media drum up regarding asylum seekers (not economic migrants) is not an accurate reflection of the majority of football fans, certainly not Hibs fans (or so one would hope)

As has been said elsewhere, the numbers the UK takes in compared to other countries of similar wealth is an absolute farce and the numbers of refugees seeking to get in via that god awful, Government accepted/approved hellhole in Calais is absolutely miniscule.

01-09-2015, 09:35 AM

Could you kindly clarify where you see the equivalence between a football club and support showing some human empathy to a group of people in dire straits, having gone through hell we can't imagine in their home country, and criticism of a bunch of fat, drunken neanderthals singing about battles and a country that are - in the most part - way before their time and now completely irrelevant in any society claiming to be civilized and forward thinking.

Much obliged.

hibbytam
01-09-2015, 09:37 AM

Because if the same attitude prevailed 140+ years ago we wouldn't have a club to support.
Because we have sympathy for people who are running away from war, torture and murder and because we stand against intolerant, bigoted nonsense.

01-09-2015, 09:46 AM
Certainly, it might encourage the morons who still persist with THAT song to rethink their moronic stance (though granted, I've not heard it in a wee while).

Horrific situation all over Europe. Sure, there's a political element to the story (mostly in the insufficient handling) but for me, it is a humanitarian problem. It isn't football and politics because it transcends political ideology, national boundaries or ideological conflict, and the often abhorrent views of our political class does not represent how the average person in the street feels seeing these scenes.

Caps tipped to the German clubs/fans who have made a great gesture to those in times of total strife.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 10:00 AM
Brilliant stuff. Would love to see Hibs to do similar. This is the response from Germans who have a greater per capita intake of migrants than stuffy old Britain. Ashamed by the noises coming from Britain about this situation. Particularly when considering the UKs part in destabilising the areas where some of these people are coming from. Europe needs to step to the plate in general.

Spot on! Whilst Assad was no angel he was no Sadam Hussain or Gadaffi. The UK government & William Haig in particular should feel thoroughly ashamed & directly responsible for the images we now see on a daily basis. That they now take no responsibility for the seeds they sowed 4 or 5 years ago in Syria is disgusting.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2235823/Britain-officially-recognises-Syrian-rebels-William-Hague-faces-fresh-calls-arm-opposition-forces.html

That worked out well eh William!! :furious:

liamh2202
01-09-2015, 10:21 AM
The connection is they are both subjects that cause divide and have nothing to do with football. If you want to protest about foreign policy do it elsewhere .

01-09-2015, 10:51 AM
Spot on! Whilst Assad was no angel he was no Sadam Hussain or Gadaffi. The UK government & William Haig in particular should feel thoroughly ashamed & directly responsible for the images we now see on a daily basis. That they now take no responsibility for the seeds they sowed 4 or 5 years ago in Syria is disgusting.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2235823/Britain-officially-recognises-Syrian-rebels-William-Hague-faces-fresh-calls-arm-opposition-forces.html

That worked out well eh William!! :furious:

Politicians like William Hague and Tony Bliar and George Bush One and Two mess with countries and regimes and situations they don't understand, then rely on people's short memories to get them off the hook.

And generally it works, in great part because when the whatsit hits the fan, there are always plenty of people to tout the line that "it's a horrendously complex situation so surely it's best we all stay out of it and leave it to the UN or NATO or OXFAM or whoever to sort it all out" line.

God forbid we should openly seek to put pressure on our political leaders to take responsibility for the human misery they cause with their cockeyed military adventuring. Who cares how many get killed as long as the PM gets his photo taken with his head sticking out the hatch of a tank? Or the Minister of Defence gets HIS photo-shoot "visiting the boys on the front line".

Showing common human decency in expressing humanitarian concern for people whose lives are in tatters RIGHT NOW, who have lost loved ones in ways we can hardly imagine (lucky us!), who don't know where they'll be living next week never mind next month, and who have no guaranteed sources of food or clean water for themselves or for what remains of their families - that is a million miles away from vicious sectarian ranting rooted in events of more than 400 years ago and fuelled by the equally sectarian politics of what has been for nearly a century now a foreign country.

Come to think of it - if more people in Scotland were more outspoken in condemning both sides of the sectarian community (they feed off each other constantly, so they're really one problem, not two) - but if more people spoke out about it and made their disapproval clear, maybe we wouldn't have such a big problem with the battle of the Boyne and Bobby Sands and his ilk as we do?

01-09-2015, 11:03 AM
So it's the "tough titties, I'm alright Jack" approach is it?

Unbelievable, especially given football's common appeal regardless of colour, religion, "immigration status" etc etc. Hibs and every other club, and support, have a big opportunity to at least make a visible statement, as they have in Germany, that the right wing, language of hate, complete hysteria that a good chunk of the mainstream media drum up regarding asylum seekers (not economic migrants) is not an accurate reflection of the majority of football fans, certainly not Hibs fans (or so one would hope)

As has been said elsewhere, the numbers the UK takes in compared to other countries of similar wealth is an absolute farce and the numbers of refugees seeking to get in via that god awful, Government accepted/approved hellhole in Calais is absolutely miniscule.
Aye cos that's what I said right enough
all said I don't think the club should be involved.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 11:12 AM
I'd be happy if all these issues were kept away from our home ground all together.

The connection is they are both subjects that cause divide and have nothing to do with football. If you want to protest about foreign policy do it elsewhere .

You've obviously failed to grasp that the majority of posters on this thread believe that some issues (like the plight of once normal families fleeing conflict zones and being murdered, conned, drowned, suffocated and god knows what else whilst en-route to anywhere they can keep their kids safe) are slightly more important than the dramas and headlines at Hibernian FC.

Normal people, with an ounce of compassion for their fellow man can't fail to be moved by these plight of these people and normal people want to make a statement in whatever forum they choose.

I'm not sure what drives you sir but you can take your questionable small-minded views elsewhere. This is a thread for people with a little compassion for people displaced by events and actions they had no control over.

Out of interest - what do you think of the Dnipro appeal that was founded by Hibs fans?

01-09-2015, 11:20 AM
Aye cos that's what I said right enough
all said I don't think the club should be involved.

To be precise, you said " not something that hibs or we as a support should be involved in"

Now, I don't think that - if we assume the majority of Hibs supporters to be relatively right-minded, compassionate beings - that the issue of what is right and wrong - on a humanitarian level - in terms of the treatment of a relatively small number of refugees, who have fled their homelands in fear of their lives, almost certainly lost loved ones and god knows what else is particularly divisive at all.

I'm willing to bet we are almost all united on that point.

This is not a debate about "Polish brickies coming over 'ere, taking our jobs" etc etc etc.

I would give my full support to any club or fan organised initiative to make the point loud and clear that at least Hibs and Hibs fans welcome refugees with open arms.

If you know your history and so on.

liamh2202
01-09-2015, 11:21 AM
You've obviously failed to grasp that the majority of posters on this thread believe that some issues (like the plight of once normal families fleeing conflict zones and being murdered, conned, drowned, suffocated and god knows what else whilst en-route to anywhere they can keep their kids safe) are slightly more important than the dramas and headlines at Hibernian FC.

Normal people, with an ounce of compassion for their fellow man can't fail to be moved by these plight of these people and normal people want to make a statement in whatever forum they choose.

I'm not sure what drives you sir but you can take your questionable small-minded views elsewhere. This is a thread for people with a little compassion for people displaced by events and actions they had no control over.

Out of interest - what do you think of the Dnipro appeal that was founded by Hibs fans?

What I see is a divisive subject and more than me on this thread would prefer it to be kept away from easter road thank you. The dnipro appeal is an excellent initiative and one I have given a fair bit to over the years. It also has nothing to do with politics as AFAIK was set up to donate to an orphanage in a city where we played a game. Calling someone small minded because they would like politics to stay away from football and vice versa is a strange comment. Everyone in our support is different and I don't see why as a support we should get involved in this kind of thing.. Let's say for instance we have people in our support who do not have the same view as you on the refugee situation? Does it affect them supporting our club? Why bring this crap to football at all? Same with the Irish politics rubbish, the homophobic crap and the independence argument. People go to football with one thing for sure in common. Why can we not stick with that?

01-09-2015, 11:24 AM

Rangers sing songs about hate.

What the German fans are doing is fueled by compassion.

01-09-2015, 11:27 AM
To be precise, you said " not something that hibs or we as a support should be involved in"

Now, I don't think that - if we assume the majority of Hibs supporters to be relatively right-minded, compassionate beings - that the issue of what is right and wrong - on a humanitarian level - in terms of the treatment of a relatively small number of refugees, who have fled their homelands in fear of their lives, almost certainly lost loved ones and god knows what else is particularly divisive at all.

I'm willing to bet we are almost all united on that point.

This is not a debate about "Polish brickies coming over 'ere, taking our jobs" etc etc etc.

I would give my full support to any club or fan organised initiative to make the point loud and clear that at least Hibs and Hibs fans welcome refugees with open arms.

If you know your history and so on.

We as a support = using the clubs name. If a group of people want to get together and help them then go ahead who am I to stop anyone. Don't make the mistake of thinking people not wanting the clubs name used don't care or aren't bothered.

01-09-2015, 11:29 AM
What I see is a divisive subject and more than me on this thread would prefer it to be kept away from easter road thank you. The dnipro appeal is an excellent initiative and one I have given a fair bit to over the years. It also has nothing to do with politics as AFAIK was set up to donate to an orphanage in a city where we played a game. Calling someone small minded because they would like politics to stay away from football and vice versa is a strange comment. Everyone in our support is different and I don't see why as a support we should get involved in this kind of thing.. Let's say for instance we have people in our support who do not have the same view as you on the refugee situation? Does it affect them supporting our club? Why bring this crap to football at all? Same with the Irish politics rubbish, the homophobic crap and the independence argument. People go to football with one thing for sure in common. Why can we not stick with that?

Don't like to be assuming - but I'm guessing that would include you? Your language and persistence on this thread does suggest so.

If "this crap" shouldn't be allowed anywhere near football, where should it be heard? Why draw the line at football, why not prevent it coming to the fore in any situation or location so we can all take the lazy, heartless ignorant view to it all?

01-09-2015, 11:31 AM

This forum is for "Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general".

A significant humanitarian campaign by German fans is as worthy a topic as any, and more so than many.

liamh2202
01-09-2015, 11:34 AM
Don't like to be assuming - but I'm guessing that would include you? Your language and persistence on this thread does suggest so.

If "this crap" shouldn't be allowed anywhere near football, where should it be heard? Why draw the line at football, why not prevent it coming to the fore in any situation or location so we can all take the lazy, heartless ignorant view to it all?

I think you may be surprised if we actually had a conversation about it. The topic I am against is politics and personal views in football. This in no way reflects my views on the political topics that are being discussed this time

01-09-2015, 11:40 AM

I don't particular want to get involved in this argument as it is a lot more complex than some people are trying to make out here, but every thread here is a thread for DEBATE. You have no right to close down other people's opinions. There are huge economic, social and housing problems that would have to be dealt with before we can take people in on a large scale. I would be happy for us to take our fair share of people who are in genuine danger, but it isn't a simple as saying "all refugees are welcome". If too many come in our own infrastructure could start to collapse and affect everyone here long term. Lots of people are suffering in this country now as it is.

If we had had better migration controls before, we would have been in a much better position to help more now, but that is another argument.

01-09-2015, 11:41 AM

This crap?????????????????????

01-09-2015, 11:50 AM
We as a support = using the clubs name. If a group of people want to get together and help them then go ahead who am I to stop anyone. Don't make the mistake of thinking people not wanting the clubs name used don't care or aren't bothered.

Oh, well that's a bit clearer then :greengrin

I don't understand why anyone would actively not want Hibernian's name associated with the idea of making refugees welcome, but variety is the spice of life I suppose.

01-09-2015, 11:56 AM

I don't think anyone is necessarily saying we should scrap singing Hibs songs and instead sing some kind of "you are very welcome all ye refugees" actually at Hibs games.

Also, the humanitarian desire to want to be seen as welcoming and inclusive to refugees has bugger all to do with politics as well. No one is saying Hibs or Hibs fans as a group should be getting involved in an ardently anti-Tory (or anti-establishment or whatever) march to the gates of 10 Downing Street or anything.

And please, pretty please tell me you are capable of having a slightly more nuanced view of the world and the issues (and severity and relevance thereof) in it than the highlighted sentence would seem to indicate.

01-09-2015, 11:58 AM
I don't particular want to get involved in this argument as it is a lot more complex than some people are trying to make out here, but every thread here is a thread for DEBATE. You have no right to close down other people's opinions. There are huge economic, social and housing problems that would have to be dealt with before we can take people in on a large scale. I would be happy for us to take our fair share of people who are in genuine danger, but it isn't a simple as saying "all refugees are welcome". If too many come in our own infrastructure could start to collapse and affect everyone here long term. Lots of people are suffering in this country now as it is.

If we had had better migration controls before, we would have been in a much better position to help more now, but that is another argument.

100% agree.

It is easy to protest and point fingers. But much harder to solve.

I personally have no answer. People are clearly desperate. But an open borders policy just cannot work imo. So before we start waving "refugees welcome" banners let's just make sure we are happy to allow unlimited numbers of people into UK. If not then the banner needs to have a number before the words "refugees welcome".

01-09-2015, 11:59 AM
Oh, well that's a bit clearer then :greengrin

I don't understand why anyone would actively not want Hibernian's name associated with the idea of making refugees welcome, but variety is the spice of life I suppose.

On a personal level I go to the football to go to the football I don't want that mixed up in political or social issues, granted there will be occasions where this happens just now but not on this scale. Football is a few hours during the week to forget about everything and the team are the only thing that matters I don't want that taken away from me. Hibs supporters actively bringing in political and social issues into the stadium isn't something I would be comfortable with.

01-09-2015, 12:03 PM
On a personal level I go to the football to go to the football I don't want that mixed up in political or social issues, granted there will be occasions where this happens just now but not on this scale. Football is a few hours during the week to forget about everything and the team are the only thing that matters I don't want that taken away from me. Hibs supporters actively bringing in political and social issues into the stadium isn't something I would be comfortable with.

In general I agree entirely.

Not in this specific case though for the reasons variously explained in earlier posts by myself and others.

Anyway, hopefully we will soon have signed Islam Feruz, a player who is a refugee success story who will bang in the goals to propel us back to the SPL and then eventually the Scottish Cup :greengrin

01-09-2015, 12:04 PM
In general I agree entirely.

Not in this specific case though for the reasons variously explained in earlier posts by myself and others.

Anyway, hopefully we will soon have signed Islam Feruz, a player who is a refugee success story who will bang in the goals to propel us back to the SPL and then eventually the Scottish Cup :greengrin

I think that's something we can all agree on!

01-09-2015, 12:12 PM
100% agree.

It is easy to protest and point fingers. But much harder to solve.

I personally have no answer. People are clearly desperate. But an open borders policy just cannot work imo. So before we start waving "refugees welcome" banners let's just make sure we are happy to allow unlimited numbers of people into UK. If not then the banner needs to have a number before the words "refugees welcome".

Germany takes in as many refugees seeking asylum - not economic migrants remember - in a month as Britain does in a year. Granted, there is more land mass in Germany than the UK but the actual population isn't that much bigger and you can't just relocate migrants to unoccupied countryside and say "crack on lads, best of luck"

The numbers of refugees that would represent a proportionate fair share for the UK to be taking in from the total "pool" of refugees trying to get into the EU would be - I reckon, some statto can probably prove or disprove this - under 1% of the current UK population.

In any case, the kind of number that the UK could accept in its entirety IMO.

There is no overwhelming "flood", "torrent" or "tsunami" (or other water based disaster phrase that the Daily Mail cares to invent) of refugees waiting at our borders.

nickwhibs
01-09-2015, 12:22 PM
Is this really about politics or is just about compassion for other human beings? For me it is the latter. This is a humanitarian crisis, just like the mass migrations after the Second World War. It's up to us as citizens, not just the powers that be, to welcome desperate people and treat them as we would like to be treated in their situation. A banner saying 'refugees welcome' is a symbol of compassion not to stir political unrest.

01-09-2015, 12:23 PM
Personally I've never had an issue with football taking up the fight with regards to 'political' causes. I would suggest that the support of many football fans, publicly and privately, to campaigns against racism, homophobia etc have played a role in the changing attitudes in general public life. Obviously there are other,mgreater forces at work but several thousand people in one place making a stand against a topic undoubtedly helps make a difference and maybe makes the racist or the homophobe or whatever a bit more wary about expressing their bile.

For me the current situation on our doorstep transcends politics, it's a humanitarian issue. Quite frankly the inaction of our political leaders, the language used by them and the way this is parroted in the press absolutely disgusts me. When I see words used like 'plague' and 'swarm' it genuinely sickens me, we are talking about human beings here ffs. Displaying banners saying 'refugees welcome' or a similar stand is not suggesting an open door policy on asylum or making a political point about migration. It should be seen and used as a way of putting pressure on world leaders to take action now. To show that ordinary people are moved and concerned by what they are seeing on their TV screens, that we feel compassion and sorrow for people who have lost pretty much everything. We are quite literally talking about life and death scenarios here and if Hibs fans or any other football fans for that matter followed the German lead it would make me immensely proud to be a supporter both of my club and of the game in general.

01-09-2015, 12:25 PM
Personally I've never had an issue with football taking up the fight with regards to 'political' causes. I would suggest that the support of many football fans, publicly and privately, to campaigns against racism, homophobia etc have played a role in the changing attitudes in general public life. Obviously there are other,mgreater forces at work but several thousand people in one place making a stand against a topic undoubtedly helps make a difference and maybe makes the racist or the homophobe or whatever a bit more wary about expressing their bile.

For me the current situation on our doorstep transcends politics, it's a humanitarian issue. Quite frankly the inaction of our political leaders, the language used by them and the way this is parroted in the press absolutely disgusts me. When I see words used like 'plague' and 'swarm' it genuinely sickens me, we are talking about human beings here ffs. Displaying banners saying 'refugees welcome' or a similar stand is not suggesting an open door policy on asylum or making a political point about migration. It should be seen and used as a way of putting pressure on world leaders to take action now. To show that ordinary people are moved and concerned by what they are seeing on their TV screens, that we feel compassion and sorrow for people who have lost pretty much everything. We are quite literally talking about life and death scenarios here and if Hibs fans or any other football fans for that matter followed the German lead it would make me immensely proud to be a supporter both of my club and of the game in general.

Fantastic post.

01-09-2015, 12:27 PM
Fantastic post.

nickwhibs
01-09-2015, 12:29 PM

Perfect summation. Well said PB!

GreenPJ
01-09-2015, 12:31 PM
Is this really about politics or is just about compassion for other human beings? For me it is the latter. This is a humanitarian crisis, just like the mass migrations after the Second World War. It's up to us as citizens, not just the powers that be, to welcome desperate people and treat them as we would like to be treated in their situation. A banner saying 'refugees welcome' is a symbol of compassion not to stir political unrest.

Surely the banner should just read "All are welcome".

The Club has done a lot and continues to do a lot in helping support and promote the Club in the community - this should continue and be the main mechanism for encouraging people (anyone of any background and circumstance) to come along and enjoy being part of Hibs. Fans then have their part to play in making people welcome at ER but that would apply to the Syrian who has had to flee his country to survive or the Cockney who has moved up from down South cause he wanted to.

People who are refugees will know they are refugees, continuing to give them that label when we are at a football game when we are all their for the same reason just helps remind them that ultimately they aren't there through choice.

01-09-2015, 12:35 PM
Its a difficult one .... economic migrants are one thing .... refugees fleeing conflict is quite another. Given our part in these conflicts I cant see how in any moral sense we can close our doors to Syrians or Iraqis especially. In a half assed attempt to oust two dictators we opened the door to every fanatic and nutcase in the region and as a result our government is ( lets be kind ) indirectly responsible for the murder, rape, torture and enslavement of thousands and thousands of innocent men, women and children. Not to mention the crimes being committed by ISIS against the cultural heritage of the region ..... a disaster for humanity in itself.

In an attempt to escape this hell and other conflicts in the region over 2,500 people have drowned in the Mediterranean sea since January ... not to mention the 70 odd poor buggers in the lorry and who knows how many others.

If we as a support were to come up with a banner saying "REFUGEES ESCAPING CONFLICT WELCOME HERE" ..... I would help paint the banner and hold a bloody corner.

nickwhibs
01-09-2015, 12:48 PM
Surely the banner should just read "All are welcome".

The Club has done a lot and continues to do a lot in helping support and promote the Club in the community - this should continue and be the main mechanism for encouraging people (anyone of any background and circumstance) to come along and enjoy being part of Hibs. Fans then have their part to play in making people welcome at ER but that would apply to the Syrian who has had to flee his country to survive or the Cockney who has moved up from down South cause he wanted to.

People who are refugees will know they are refugees, continuing to give them that label when we are at a football game when we are all their for the same reason just helps remind them that ultimately they aren't there through choice.

I'd agree with the part about 'all being welcome.' Although there is a wider message than just being welcome at a football stadium; it is in our community; in our country; in the EU.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 12:50 PM

You fail to grasp the fundamental point - people fleeing for their lives has nothing to do with politics and it's only a divisive subject if you don't agree that people showing support for refugees fleeing conflict zones is not the decent thing to do.

Is that what you are suggesting is divisive? Are you suggesting that people should not show support for people trying to escape from war zones with their families?

01-09-2015, 12:52 PM

This is an opinion and is just as valid as any others on here.

01-09-2015, 01:04 PM

Assumed
Guessed
Suggested

Could I suggest that assuming and guessing is no basis for an argument or even an opinion? By all means air your views but you shouldn't call people lazy,heartless and ignorant based on assumptions, suggestions and guesswork. The poster disagrees with you so your only reply should be reasoned, persuasive argument.

I can see both sides of the debate and will listen to both.

01-09-2015, 01:06 PM
I would support a "Refugees Welcome" banner at ER.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 01:12 PM

I don't want to be picky but you're defending someone who's main objectives were to block debate and close down other people's rights to express their support :wink: Sometimes you need to tell it like it is especially when a viewpoint seem particularly vulgar.

I absolutely agree with your other points - it's an impossible situation but to sit back and say & do nothing is just not on.

01-09-2015, 01:19 PM
See, normally I'd be up for keeping politics as far away from football as possible. We want our club to be as inclusive as possible, we're a fairly broad church and nobody should be made to feel uncomfortable at Easter Road because of their gender/ ethnicity/ religion/ sexuality/ political beliefs or whatever.

But this is different. The only people that I can see being offended or uncomfortable with this are the bigots, the zealots, the right-wing "send them all back" brigade who are brimming with a sense of entitlement all because they had the very good fortune to be born and raised in our country and in our age which - for all it's failings and controversies - if you look at turbulent world history should be considered to be a massive blessing.

It is an ugly mindset and that mindset necessitated the very creation of our club (and led to the creation of others).

Some folk might squirm but rest assured that it would be right people squirming and they'd have every right to.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 01:23 PM
Assumed
Guessed
Suggested

Could I suggest that assuming and guessing is no basis for an argument or even an opinion? By all means air your views but you shouldn't call people lazy,heartless and ignorant based on assumptions, suggestions and guesswork. The poster disagrees with you so your only reply should be reasoned, persuasive argument.

I can see both sides of the debate and will listen to both.

I'd suggest that his assumptions are highly accurate based on the content I've seen.

RMQ1967
01-09-2015, 01:24 PM
See, normally I'd be up for keeping politics as far away from football as possible. We want our club to be as inclusive as possible, we're a fairly broad church and nobody should be made to feel uncomfortable at Easter Road because of their gender/ ethnicity/ religion/ sexuality/ political beliefs or whatever.

But this is different. The only people that I can see being offended or uncomfortable with this are the bigots, the zealots, the right-wing "send them all back" brigade who are brimming with a sense of entitlement all because they had the very good fortune to be born and raised in our country and in our age which - for all it's failings and controversies - if you look at turbulent world history should be considered to be a massive blessing.

It is an ugly mindset and that mindset necessitated the very creation of our club (and led to the creation of others).

Some folk might squirm but rest assured that it would be right people squirming and they'd have every right to.

Superb post :not worth

01-09-2015, 01:27 PM

On the button as you so often are, S.

GreenPJ
01-09-2015, 01:33 PM
I'd agree with the part about 'all being welcome.' Although there is a wider message than just being welcome at a football stadium; it is in our community; in our country; in the EU.

This is where it starts to cross the line though imo. I agree with everything you are saying that they should be welcome in our community/country/EU, however, that stance should be taken through the ballot box, public demonstration etc not through a football game. The Club does and should do everything to support people in our community and actively encourage support for people who are in hard times but who/how we manage the world's problems are for another forum outside of football.

01-09-2015, 01:56 PM
Going back to 1973 mate. I have always been convinced it was Manly. It was definitely on the north head as we used to sit and watch ships coming in wondering which one I was getting sent home on. 

That would definitely be the old NorthHead Quarantine Station, which was closed about 1983.

Thought they only used it for people with infectious diseases......

01-09-2015, 02:01 PM
You fail to grasp the fundamental point - people fleeing for their lives has nothing to do with politics and it's only a divisive subject if you don't agree that people showing support for refugees fleeing conflict zones is not the decent thing to do.

Is that what you are suggesting is divisive? Are you suggesting that people should not show support for people trying to escape from war zones with their families?

I think the division comes when it is identified that some of the poor sods may be fleeing not because they are fear for their lives, but they are really fleeing poor economic conditions.

In other words they are just seeking a better life.

Can't blame them for that, but it gets complicated about queue jumping etc etc

That's what the issue is in Oz, ...most countries can take so many, but not ALL I suggest.....

01-09-2015, 03:20 PM
...and yet there is a fair proportion of Hibs fans that still find the Derek Riordan sing a long about Rudi Skacel amusing!!!

Derek apologised for getting caught up in a song that was being sung at the time about Skacel in a pub.

Surely it is a Hibs fans sing along about Skacel as it originated from the stands at ER, 1000s of fans singing it, where is there apology to Skacel.

Do you work for The Sun, that's the kind of thing they would say when the OP is nothing about Derek Riordan, sorry you can't work for The Sun as you would have mentioned another player as well. :aok:

01-09-2015, 03:32 PM

Sounds good.

01-09-2015, 03:34 PM
That would definitely be the old NorthHead Quarantine Station, which was closed about 1983.

Thought they only used it for people with infectious diseases......

Don't think I had any disease then. 😁

01-09-2015, 03:48 PM
Interesting thread.

For me, this is an Humanitarian situation, and the German fans have reacted with aplomb. Well done to all the clubs who've joined in the outpouring of compassion.

For those who think Politics and Football don't mix, I'll just leave this link to one of the most Famous club's in the world and their history. If you look at the section on the 30's you'll see it's all about Politics.

http://www.fcbarcelona.com/club/history

mmmmhibby
01-09-2015, 04:00 PM

Very fair post indeed. The Germans must have infrastructure in place as they recently took 800,000 refugees from various Non-EU countries. They numbers would be unsustainable for the UK.

sadtom
01-09-2015, 04:01 PM

Well said!
As for those posts talking about 'economic migrants'!? Are you talking about people fleeing famine and starvation? Cant imagine for a moment that that would have anything to do with a club like ours! (sheesh)
p.s.maybe, just maybe if we stopped plundering the poor countries in our world. Blowing the $41t out their peoples and stop arming a variety of nutters and psychos (cause it suits us) the overwhelming majority of refugees would be quite happy to stay where they are.
Great (sic) Britain. Conquers have the globe, slaughters and enslaves countless millions, steals the resources and ruins their livelyhoods...complains about immigration. Poor little old us.

01-09-2015, 04:47 PM
As always there are a range of opinions on things like this. For me, Ive only latterly realised that we were talking about a humanitarian crisis rather than immigration as such. This down to my stupidity, but also the way things have been talked about by our leaders/press. Football is a rare coming together of large groups of people in one place, with television coverage to boot. The population as a whole have very few outlets to publicly voice opinions, decisions are largely in the hands of a few. I can only see a positive message, if as many football clubs across the country were to make a statement in the way that the German club has.

01-09-2015, 06:00 PM
Are the views on this board representative of the wider country though?

I personally don't agree with most of the views on here and echo the thoughts that this issue should be kept away from football..

01-09-2015, 07:40 PM
This is a humanitarian issue but the solutions, like the posts on this thread, are political.

Surely this thread belongs on The Holy Ground?

Criswell
01-09-2015, 10:06 PM

It is true that our club was formed by Irishmen, however, as the whole of Ireland at that time was part of the UK, technically speaking they were not immigrants. It was just movement of labour.

01-09-2015, 10:14 PM
This is a humanitarian issue but the solutions, like the posts on this thread, are political.

Surely this thread belongs on The Holy Ground?

It's about something humanitarian that football fans are doing.

Of course it's a football discussion.

01-09-2015, 10:15 PM
It is true that our club was formed by Irishmen, however, as the whole of Ireland at that time was part of the UK, technically speaking they were not immigrants. It was just movement of labour.

They were refugees.

01-09-2015, 10:26 PM
But it's the EU politicians that are currently deciding on how to deal with the situation and debating spreading the refugees throughout the EU states so that they don't all end up in 1 EU country.

If Politicians are going to be the ones that make the decision on how the refugees are dealt with that sounds like a political issue to me.

Crazy logic. And the OF with Palestine and Israel flags, is just because the other had the other flag.

If Celtic was team Cat, all the Huns would be buying Dogs.

01-09-2015, 11:09 PM
This weekend 2500 refugees were lifted from the sea in all manner of crafts by the Greek coastguard. In recent times the unscrupulous people smugglers abandoned a 70 year old disabled woman at the foot of some cliffs on the island of Symi.15368
These people are not undertaking these risks because they fancy a holiday or an easy life. They are fleeing for their lives. If we can show an ounce of humanity in some form then I'm all for it.

01-09-2015, 11:45 PM
I don't want to be picky but you're defending someone who's main objectives were to block debate and close down other people's rights to express their support :wink: Sometimes you need to tell it like it is especially when a viewpoint seem particularly vulgar.

I absolutely agree with your other points - it's an impossible situation but to sit back and say & do nothing is just not on.nothing is impossible. everything is possible, and for the sake of basic humanity the current situation must be resolved, or the whole world will be polarised to a certain degree. I agree with your defence of the right to express yours and others' feelings.

01-09-2015, 11:47 PM
Surely the banner should just read "All are welcome"

Nae problem with refugees.

It's they Jambos and Huns I dinnae like.

01-09-2015, 11:52 PM
As always there are a range of opinions on things like this. For me, Ive only latterly realised that we were talking about a humanitarian crisis rather than immigration as such. This down to my stupidity, but also the way things have been talked about by our leaders/press. Football is a rare coming together of large groups of people in one place, with television coverage to boot. The population as a whole have very few outlets to publicly voice opinions, decisions are largely in the hands of a few. I can only see a positive message, if as many football clubs across the country were to make a statement in the way that the German club has.:agree:the real irony is, some people say this touchy subject should have nothing to do with football, a bit like saying basic hardship of the people who mainly go to football has all to do with football, but at the same time, the English league teams have just spent over $950 million in transfers. I gie up!

02-09-2015, 12:07 AM

Surely we can just display a message 'Anyone that is in this country legally Welcome'any refugee, in this country,is welcome, if they can get here, as far as I know about EU Rules.?

anon1875
02-09-2015, 12:09 AM
sheer class from the germans as usual

02-09-2015, 12:14 AM
Exactly, anyone that wants to come watch Hibs is welcome so why narrow it down to refugees?! Because it's a political statement that has no place in football.don't think you quite get it, do you. A refugee, is someone who is fleeing from conflict,danger,personal threat of his/her life. Life, well that is all about living, you know what I mean? eg: think I'll pop doon tae the shops for a half loaf, without the threat of being killed for nothing, or for wearing a red hat today. then I might cut the gress.

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 08:11 AM
The Reugees held up in Budapest are genuine and should be helped however IMHO 90% of the guys you see in Calais are economic migrants and because of this people in our country are rightly concerned, there needs to be refugee centres built so that the genuine ones can be resettled.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 08:20 AM
The Reugees held up in Budapest are genuine and should be helped however IMHO 90% of the guys you see in Calais are economic migrants and because of this people in our country are rightly concerned, there needs to be refugee centres built so that the genuine ones can be resettled.

Spot on post IMO , we need to sort out infrastructure for genuine refugees and its important to make the distinction between refugees and economic migrants.

02-09-2015, 08:27 AM
don't think you quite get it, do you. A refugee, is someone who is fleeing from conflict,danger,personal threat of his/her life. Life, well that is all about living, you know what I mean? eg: think I'll pop doon tae the shops for a half loaf, without the threat of being killed for nothing, or for wearing a red hat today. then I might cut the gress.

Thanks for the condesending, patronising response!!

Maybe we should be helping to address the issues that are causing these desperate folk to flee to Europe rather than open our doors.

Whatever folks views, it's a sensitive subject that EU politicians are currently in the process of attempting to resolve, therefore it's a political issue.

The Green Brigade have displayed political/controversial messages at Parkhead in the past and we've always been 1st to criticise that these messages have no place in football. I don't think this is any different.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 08:37 AM
There is clearly a divide on this board never mind the whole support. For that reason alone I think the topic should be kept away from easter road

02-09-2015, 08:42 AM

Genuine question as I have no idea of the background story of the guys you see in Calais......how do you know 90% are economic migrants as opposed to refugees fleeing tyranny? What are you basing this on?

magpie1892
02-09-2015, 08:48 AM
There is clearly a divide on this board never mind the whole support. For that reason alone I think the topic should be kept away from easter road

Agreed. And this discussion should be moved to 'The Holy Ground' also.

02-09-2015, 08:52 AM

Totally agree, it's nothing at all to do with football and we should be channelling our energy into support Hibs and focussing on getting back in to the SPL.

02-09-2015, 08:59 AM
Every time we discuss the state of the roads, our draconian licensing laws or the lack of policing at games, that is political. Attempts to raise funds for life-saving medical treatment or to purchase specialist equipment, that is also political.

To dismiss football fans attempts to show solidarity with refugees fleeing from their homes and countries as "political" and therefore not allied to us in any way is just madness, IMHO. OUR club was founded on the very ethos of helping those less fortunate and I couldn't a ***** if it's political or not to show support for desperate people, it's the bl00dy decent thing to do. Count me in if anyone wants to get a banner or the like sorted for the Alloa game, as if nothing else, it will show the authorities some of us actually do care and we're not just dismissing these poor people as "swarms of migrants" :aok:

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 08:59 AM
@FrazerBob
Having worked with displaced people in War torn countries for the last 20 years, it has given me a little insight of who, what when etc, when you look at Calais 90% of the people there are men aged around 18-40, the refugees I have seen are generally whole family's I.e husband, wife, kids and elderly (like what you see in Budapest, these are genuine refugees. Would you leave family behind in Syria?? I know I wouldn't. Obviously like I said in my last post, IMHO it's around 90% and it won't be far off it.
Refugee centres should be built in Spain, Itally, Turkey etc and be funded by every single country within the UN and properly staffed.

Gareth
02-09-2015, 09:16 AM
Having worked with displaced people in War torn countries for the last 20 years, it has given me a little insight of who, what when etc, when you look at Calais 90% of the people there are men aged around 18-40, the refugees I have seen are generally whole family's I.e husband, wife, kids and elderly (like what you see in Budapest, these are genuine refugees. Would you leave family behind in Syria?? I know I wouldn't. Obviously like I said in my last post, IMHO it's around 90% and it won't be far off it.
Refugee centres should be built in Spain, Itally, Turkey etc and be funded by every single country within the UN and properly staffed.

Sorry mate but I think you're just wrong here. A pretty large proportion of refugees in Britain, that is those recognised by the asylum process as refugees, are young single men. Part of the reason is that young men on their own can flee much easier.
Your 90% is a completely made up arbitrary number. The proportion who are refugees in any case can only be worked out once they go through a fair and transparent legal process.

02-09-2015, 09:18 AM
when you look at Calais 90% of the people there are men aged around 18-40

That's what BBC News and ITV News show you, young guys on mobiles with half decent clobber on. If you actually go to Calais, or watch news from a source which isn't British, I think you'll find more than plenty families with young children and elderly realtives who have risked everything to get there.

02-09-2015, 09:20 AM
Every time we discuss the state of the roads, our draconian licensing laws or the lack of policing at games, that is political. Attempts to raise funds for life-saving medical treatment or to purchase specialist equipment, that is also political.

To dismiss football fans attempts to show solidarity with refugees fleeing from their homes and countries as "political" and therefore not allied to us in any way is just madness, IMHO. OUR club was founded on the very ethos of helping those less fortunate and I couldn't a ***** if it's political or not to show support for desperate people, it's the bl00dy decent thing to do. Count me in if anyone wants to get a banner or the like sorted for the Alloa game, as if nothing else, it will show the authorities some of us actually do care and we're not just dismissing these poor people as "swarms of migrants" :aok:

Everything we do is 'political'. Ignoring an issue is almost as much of a statement as getting involved.

Showing solidarity and friendship towards fellow human beings in terrible hardship should not be controversial IMO.

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 09:29 AM
Sorry mate but I think you're just wrong here. A pretty large proportion of refugees in Britain, that is those recognised by the asylum process as refugees, are young single men. Part of the reason is that young men on their own can flee much easier.
Your 90% is a completely made up arbitrary number. The proportion who are refugees in any case can only be worked out once they go through a fair and transparent legal process.

Fair point but the people in Calais are trying to enter the country illegally and therefore don't get assessed properly, through a transparent legal process.

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 09:31 AM
That's what BBC News and ITV News show you, young guys on mobiles with half decent clobber on. If you actually go to Calais, or watch news from a source which isn't British, I think you'll find more than plenty families with young children and elderly realtives who have risked everything to get there.

Don't need the BBC etc to tell me what's in Calais I've been and worked there many times to make a honest opinion.

02-09-2015, 09:37 AM

Well said S.

RMQ1967
02-09-2015, 09:39 AM
Agreed. And this discussion should be moved to 'The Holy Ground' also.

Totally agree, it's nothing at all to do with football and we should be channelling our energy into support Hibs and focussing on getting back in to the SPL.

Oh for goodness sake! Does it really matter if it's in one location or another? Have you really that little compassion for the plight of these people that you rather it was hidden from your view? Is that really the what's most important in your life?

For whatever reason you don't agree with showing the same support as German fans but leave the people who do have some compassion to gather the support of like minded Hibs fans.

Gareth
02-09-2015, 09:49 AM
Fair point but the people in Calais are trying to enter the country illegally and therefore don't get assessed properly, through a transparent legal process.

And if you've worked in these issues you'll know that its all but impossible to do other than enter the country illegally. Going back to the beginning if the thread, Borussia Dortmund have helped more Syrian refugees than the UK Government. 'We' do everything we can to keep them out, more fences, dog etc, won't get involved in resettling refugees in any numbers and then complain that 'they' try to get here anyway, although its tiny numbers who try to get here.
What this also all shows is that decent humane behaviour from politicians can set a tone. merkel for all i dislike her politics has shown a leadership that the German population have reacted to. Contrast to ours!

HiBremian
02-09-2015, 10:02 AM

Werder fans on Sunday :aok:

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 10:10 AM
@Gareth
Hence the reason that I said before that refugee centres should be built around Southern Europe
I'm all for Refugees getting the correct and respectfull treatment that they deserve but we cannot get away from the fact that there is an element of economic migrants that overshadow this whole process.
Would I like to see a refugee welcome banner at Easter Road? If I'm being honest I don't care either way, def not against it though.

02-09-2015, 11:02 AM
Genuine question as I have no idea of the background story of the guys you see in Calais......how do you know 90% are economic migrants as opposed to refugees fleeing tyranny? What are you basing this on?
The people in Calais can't be said to be fleeing tyranny, they're in France!
This whole problem could be resolved if each country in Europe agreed to take a% share of all refugees. I hate watching British politicians on the news weaselling out of any questions asked on this topic.

02-09-2015, 11:14 AM
This whole problem could be resolved if each country in Europe agreed to take a% share of all refugees. I hate watching British politicians on the news weaselling out of any questions asked on this topic.

In order to get to Calais I would imagine that a lot of those poor souls there have travelled often thousands of miles in dangerous conditions, at the whim of unscrupulous people traffickers with little food and water for days, weeks even.

That's not the actions of people that are just out to make a few extra bob and for whom the push factors to leave their home country were purely economic. Just a general statement, I hasten to add, not a comment against you.

I agree with what you say re: the fair share % of all refugees. NIMBY-ism and fear mongering from the usual suspects make that difficult though.

02-09-2015, 11:21 AM
sheer class from the germans as usual

Your grandparents might disagree with that statement.

02-09-2015, 11:27 AM
Your grandparents might disagree with that statement.

Please tell me there is a :greengrin missing from this ............. Its 2015 FFS.

02-09-2015, 11:30 AM
This thread is getting like the referendum debate , dare to differ with the SNP line or be nice to refugees and you are given a hard time, what this has to do with the Hibs is beyond me !.

02-09-2015, 11:32 AM
In order to get to Calais I would imagine that a lot of those poor souls there have travelled often thousands of miles in dangerous conditions, at the whim of unscrupulous people traffickers with little food and water for days, weeks even.

That's not the actions of people that are just out to make a few extra bob and for whom the push factors to leave their home country were purely economic. Just a general statement, I hasten to add, not a comment against you.

I agree with what you say re: the fair share % of all refugees. NIMBY-ism and fear mongering from the usual suspects make that difficult though.
I'm aware of the reasons that they have fled from where they came from, but the fact that they are now in France means they have reached safety.

02-09-2015, 11:37 AM
It's terrible what's happening just now, families fleeing for their lives and taking chances crossing the sea in small boats or whatever. But on the other hand we are just a small island and surely we have to stop the amount flooding in. If it was controlled then fine but again the size of the UK can it really handle all these people?

I don't think there is an easy answer to the problems Europe faces but something has to be done to get help people help. The ones that come in just to get benefits and take the piss get my blood boiling. The genuine ones who come looking for a better life and work like the rest I feel for.

02-09-2015, 11:38 AM
There have been a few folk comparing this with what the so called 'Green Brigade' get up to at Celtic ........but so far as I can see they tend to either make statements about Irish issues, or clearly pick a side in a conflict EG the Palestinian / Israeli situation.

This isn't that as far as I can see ..... The only side being picked by the German fans is the side of basic human decency and I would like to think that is a cause we as a support would naturally be drawn to.

02-09-2015, 11:41 AM
It's terrible what's happening just now, families fleeing for their lives and taking chances crossing the sea in small boats or whatever. But on the other hand we are just a small island and surely we have to stop the amount flooding in. If it was controlled then fine but again the size of the UK can it really handle all these people?

I don't think there is an easy answer to the problems Europe faces but something has to be done to get help people help. The ones that come in just to get benefits and take the piss get my blood boiling. The genuine ones who come looking for a better life and work like the rest I feel for.

The fact we're "just a small island" doesn't stop us intervening in these countries' affairs when it suits us.

02-09-2015, 11:44 AM

It's not a small island, it's a huge island. A huge rich island that can more than afford to take in it's fair share of refugees and migrants.

02-09-2015, 11:46 AM
It's not a small island, it's a huge island. A huge rich island that can more than afford to take in it's fair share of refugees and migrants.

I think you have missed my point. I'm all for helping them if we can we should. I'm saying we just need to control the amount coming in.

02-09-2015, 11:48 AM
I think you have missed my point. I'm all for helping them if we can we should. I'm saying we just need to control the amount coming in.
I know what you're saying, my point was that we can and should be doing more to help.

02-09-2015, 11:49 AM
But are any of them Wingers?

02-09-2015, 11:57 AM

Australia is bigger, they dinnae seem to be too keen to help either.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 11:58 AM

Correct ., we as a country want to take less than our share and unfortunately more than our share want to come here. All IMO

02-09-2015, 11:59 AM

Generally speaking though, most people who manage into the UK want to settle in London and the surrounding areas which is under huge pressure to cope.

02-09-2015, 12:02 PM

Which of course isn't currently possible as a member of the European Union.

02-09-2015, 12:04 PM
I know what you're saying, my point was that we can and should be doing more to help.

Yeah, as someone else said we are always quick to stick our nose in when it suits. We need to make sure all that's in the European Union take a share and make sure they get the help needed.

Just letting anyone in and getting overrun could well bring the UK to its knees if it's left the way it is. It's a sad state of affairs that's for sure!

02-09-2015, 12:06 PM

Was speaking to my mate about this. I suggested we should leave the E.U He said disagreed and thinks we should stay in it. Yes it makes it easier to travel or set up a business abroad etc but is it really worth the hassle?

I honestly don't know the answer and coming out the E.U may cost us money who knows but it's a risk I'd be willing to take.

MKHIBEE
02-09-2015, 12:07 PM

We have agreed to take in 500 asylum seekers/ refugees. Hardly an amount thats going to cause any strain on our resources

MKHIBEE
02-09-2015, 12:10 PM
Are we talking about asylum seekers or European citizens here?

02-09-2015, 12:13 PM
We have agreed to take in 500 asylum seekers/ refugees. Hardly an amount thats going to cause any strain on our resources

It's clearly not working though is it? Look how many are getting in! We need to take some more and so should others! Because thousands are coming in weekly now.

02-09-2015, 12:41 PM
I wonder how many countries the folk in Calais have had to travel through to get to the North of France? I wonder what it is that is so bad about these countries.

02-09-2015, 12:45 PM
Generally speaking though, most people who manage into the UK want to settle in London and the surrounding areas which is under huge pressure to cope.
One of the current issues is that the whole thing is badly managed, which is why in some areas of the country immigration is a huge issue and others it's not an issue at all.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 12:45 PM
I wonder how many countries the folk in Calais have had to travel through to get to the North of France? I wonder what it is that is so bad about these countries.

That is the point I made earlier about taking our fair share but making sure it is only our fair share is a fine balance as we are seen as the best place in Europe to live for most of these people seeking a safe better life

Lester B
02-09-2015, 01:06 PM
That is the point I made earlier about taking our fair share but making sure it is only our fair share is a fine balance as we are seen as the best place in Europe to live for most of these people seeking a safe better life

Most of these people?? Places like Germany are taking many more than the UK. Compassion is something that shouldn't be based upon a quota.

02-09-2015, 01:18 PM
Apart from anything else our government has a huge share of the responsibility for creating the situation in the first place in Iraq and then destabilising Syria.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 01:40 PM
Most of these people?? Places like Germany are taking many more than the UK. Compassion is something that shouldn't be based upon a quota.

Germany is massive compared to Britain , picking up my language describing a group of people is just you being an idiot , there was no malice intended in my post but since I disagree with you I am obviously wrong

02-09-2015, 01:48 PM
Germany is massive compared to Britain , picking up my language describing a group of people is just you being an idiot , there was no malice intended in my post but since I disagree with you I am obviously wrong

Massive?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_European_countries_by_population

02-09-2015, 01:59 PM

Dare I suggest that if your own posting hadn't been quite so aggressive on this thread then your opinion may be taken on board a bit more readily.

Throughout the time you haver posted on here you have repeatedly complained about a lack of respect being show to your opinion yet seem unwilling to engage in grown up debate yourself. On this thread you have described the issue at hand as 'crap', described the issue of homophobia as 'crap' and called another poster an 'idiot'. Perhaps if your own language was a bit less inflammatory then people would be more willing to respect your opinion and partake in a debate with you.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 02:01 PM
Massive?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_European_countries_by_population

Yes,germany has the second biggest population in Europe and the biggest in the EU as well as the biggest economy.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 02:04 PM
Dare I suggest that if your own posting hadn't been quite so aggressive on this thread then your opinion may be taken on board a bit more readily.

Throughout the time you haver posted on here you have repeatedly complained about a lack of respect being show to your opinion yet seem unwilling to engage in grown up debate yourself. On this thread you have described the issue at hand as 'crap', described the issue of homophobia as 'crap' and called another poster an 'idiot'. Perhaps if your own language was a bit less inflammatory then people would be more willing to respect your opinion and partake in a debate with you.

I never described the issues as crap. But I stand by the fact that in the context of having homophobia , bigotry or political protests inside football stadiums is 'crap' that has no place there ,.

harpo
02-09-2015, 02:10 PM

OF the estimated 3000 people at Calais (YES 3000 not the "swarms" Cameron and the BBC would have you believe) many wish to enter the UK because they have family here or because they speak English.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 02:12 PM

Me being an idiot? Thanks for that. Read up on this and get back to me. I particularly recommend the Economist website article of yesterday which points out that out of 20 European countries surveyed UK is 15th in the number of refugees taken per 100K of population. I never said there was malice in your post by the way; just implied it was scaremongering nonsense.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 02:15 PM
I never described the issues as crap. But I stand by the fact that in the context of having homophobia , bigotry or political protests inside football stadiums is 'crap' that has no place there ,.

Oh dear, the ability to construct a sentence is going too.

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 02:25 PM
This thread is pointless fellas, if you want to bring a banner with Refugees Welcome then fill yer boots, I'm sure it would generally get a positive response, arguing on here however of who, how, why and when just goes around in circles, there are genuine questions the government need to address of how to best help refugees and also stop economic migrants, it's a sensitive subject with so many factors. I think this tread would be better suited in the Holly Ground, it's not a Hibs footballing subject and would be better served in there.

RMQ1967
02-09-2015, 02:31 PM

I'm honestly not trying to be smart but do you recognise the distinction between a political protest (independence vs union, against the war in Iraq or whatever) and a show of support for refugees fleeing from war zones?

It's like saying there's no place for a minutes silence before kick off for those lost in the world wars or 911 or those killed in the Glasgow disasters.

It's a reality for people and you'd need to be as hard as a witches heart not to sympathise with their plight.

liamh2202
02-09-2015, 02:41 PM
I'm honestly not trying to be smart but do you recognise the distinction between a political protest (independence vs union, against the war in Iraq or whatever) and a show of support for refugees fleeing from war zones?

It's like saying there's no place for a minutes silence before kick off for those lost in the world wars or 911 or those killed in the Glasgow disasters.

It's a reality for people and you'd need to be as hard as a witches heart not to sympathise with their plight.

I agree with you 100%. I would also be happy if none of the things you mention in your post found there way inside a stadium. Then we would have none of the arguments about poppy's( or no poppy's) what minutes silences are justified and what ones aren't etc. Like I have tried to put across. It is not the topic being discussed, its the division such things cause inside a ground when everyone may not agree. Its 2 hours a week I like to escape from the worlds different opinions and unite with like minded people to watch my team .

MKHIBEE
02-09-2015, 02:55 PM

It's clearly not working though is it? Look how many are getting in! We need to take some more and so should others! Because thousands are coming in weekly now.

Thousands of asylum seekers coming here every week? You have evidence of that?

02-09-2015, 03:04 PM

Thousands of asylum seekers coming here every week? You have evidence of that?

No of course he doesn't, because it's a load of pish. From the Syrian crisis Britain has taken in less than 200 - that's two HUNDRED - of the quarter million odd that have left Syria and tried to enter the EU.

02-09-2015, 03:08 PM

Wait, WTF does being a member of the EU have to do with asylum seekers fleeing conflict and persecution from outside the EU.

You'll have to help me out here.

02-09-2015, 03:09 PM

The European Union does not stipulate how many asylum seekers the UK takes in. It only allows free passage of other citizens of the EU. You are getting confused between Asylum seekers and economic migrants from the European Union.

The Pointer
02-09-2015, 03:14 PM
We ARE a tiny wee choc-a-block island and the last thing we need are thousands of fighting age young men coming here potentially sent by Daesh. Let's see in five years time how Britain is coping. Personally I don't want to wait. It's nothing to do with so-called 'racism', it's do to with protecting our country.

Green Man
02-09-2015, 03:16 PM
We ARE a tiny wee choc-a-block island and the last thing we need are thousands of fighting age young men coming here potentially sent by Daesh. Let's see in five years time how Britain is coping. Personally I don't want to wait. It's nothing to do with so-called 'racism', it's do to with protecting our country.

Protecting our country from what? Refugees fleeing a war torn country?

02-09-2015, 03:17 PM
Protecting our country from what? Refugees fleeing a war torn country?

Nope the Jihadis sent by IS apparently.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 03:19 PM

So called 'racism'? Potentially sent by Daesh?

Pathetic.

SDavey1992
02-09-2015, 03:26 PM
We could possibly move this thread now, It's got nothing to do with football anymore...

Lester B
02-09-2015, 03:28 PM
We could possibly move this thread now, It's got nothing to do with football anymore...

Agreed. We are but a bawhair from Godwin's Law now.

Green Man
02-09-2015, 03:30 PM
I actually think this thread is very timely in a Hibs sense, given we've just signed Islam Feruz. Sounds like a lot of posters wouldn't have wanted his family to come here in the first place.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 03:31 PM
I actually think this thread is very timely in a Hibs sense, given we've just signed Islam Feruz. Sounds like a lot of posters wouldn't have wanted his family to come here in the first place.

02-09-2015, 03:38 PM

.... you all know the tune..... now sing up....

"Islam Feruz is a decent refugee, a decent refugee..."

02-09-2015, 03:44 PM

Surely refugees want to integrate into society so why do we have to make a banner to single them out and 'welcome' them?

superbam
02-09-2015, 03:44 PM
Deary me, the irony. Rhetoric that was no stranger to Edinburgh once upon a time in relation to a certain immigrant population.

02-09-2015, 03:48 PM
No of course he doesn't, because it's a load of pish. From the Syrian crisis Britain has taken in less than 200 - that's two HUNDRED - of the quarter million odd that have left Syria and tried to enter the EU.

Wow, tad aggressive there no! I'm not just talking of Syrian people here! I'm talking all that's coming into the UK illegally. Sorry for upsetting you there. I don't have all the figures that's for sure but I certainly don't believe what's spouted by our Prime Minister or any other politician.

Anyway you are clearly an expert could you maybe call the UN and get them to sort it cheers now.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 03:49 PM
Surely refugees want to integrate into society so why do we have to make a banner to single them out and 'welcome' them?

You know when you look down at your palm and think: No it's just too small to apply to my face on this occasion? Well, that.

Green Man
02-09-2015, 03:53 PM

Yes they do want to integrate, which is significantly easier to do if you feel welcome.

02-09-2015, 03:55 PM
You know when you look down at your palm and think: No it's just too small to apply to my face on this occasion? Well, that.

Nice sensible response!! seems common on here, condesending, patronising post just because you disagree with someone's opinion.

02-09-2015, 04:03 PM
Wow, tad aggressive there no! I'm not just talking of Syrian people here! I'm talking all that's coming into the UK illegally. Sorry for upsetting you there. I don't have all the figures that's for sure but I certainly don't believe what's spouted by our Prime Minister or any other politician.

Anyway you are clearly an expert could you maybe call the UN and get them to sort it cheers now.

http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/rel/migration1/migration-statistics-quarterly-report/august-2015/stb-msqr-august-2015.html

There were 25,771 asylum applications (main applicants) in YE June 2015, an increase of 10% compared with the previous 12 months (23,515). The number of applications remains low relative to the peak number of applications in 2002 (84,132).
The largest number of applications for asylum came from nationals of Eritrea (3,568), followed by Pakistan (2,302) and Syria (2,204). A total of 11,600 people were granted asylum or an alternative form of protection.

Total immigration to the UK was over 600K, net immigration 330K.

Lester B
02-09-2015, 04:09 PM
Nice sensible response!! seems common on here, condesending, patronising post just because you disagree with someone's opinion.

That was an opinion?? Seriously? I agree with what Green Man says on the subject above and perhaps actually responding to the point rather than being incredulous would have been a more appropriate response in the circumstances.

02-09-2015, 04:14 PM

Germany has 144% of the landmass of the UK and 127% of the UK's population. It is certainly bigger than the UK but not massively so in my opinion. Last year the UK settled 10050 refugees whilst Germany managed to home 97275 and Sweden 39905. Benefits for refugees in the UK are about 66% of those in France per person.

The ugly truth is that the UK is a country that is influenced by the right wing rich. They are inherently racist and unfortunately they are able to bombard the average citizen with hateful messages about their fellow human beings. We seem to have adopted some kind of superiority complex in the UK. We also forget that much of our wealth was plundered and that the middle east and other world issues invariably have the UK and our boss the USA at their core.

The EU isn't even on the radar in terms of dealing with the Syrian crisis. Syria's near neighbours are helping most and are hugely affected by the large numbers fleeing for their life. The Lebonan has 1.2 Million Syrian refugees out of its 4.5 Million population.

I read some comments on Facebook today in reply to the SNP Government's statement, that we would be willing to take our share in Scotland and that the refugees would be better described as human beings. I thought that Scotland was a tolerant nation but the comments disturbed me greatly. Greedy individuals who would rather see a fellow human be killed than them lose out on a pint on a Saturday. I despair at the way the UK is heading and fear greatly that Scotland is going that way too.

We are all immigrants in reality and if you trace your bloodline far enough you will find immigrant blood in there somewhere. Britain may be broken but is is because of our greed and protectionism rather than any refugee or migrant.

Football is a working man and woman's sport. If we can't show support for our fellow humans who can.

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 04:48 PM
http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/rel/migration1/migration-statistics-quarterly-report/august-2015/stb-msqr-august-2015.html

Wow 300k in one year, that's the population size of Reading, I've lots of friends who live and work down in the South East, they say it's really starting to show a problem on the infanstructure such as NHS, housing etc

02-09-2015, 04:51 PM
Wow 300k in one year, that's the population size of Reading, I've lots of friends who live and work down in the South East, they say it's really starting to show a problem on the infanstructure such as NHS, housing etc

The flip side of that of course is that an institution like the NHS simply could not function without immigrant labour.

02-09-2015, 04:53 PM

So from asylum seekers, there was around 500 applications a week. That's applications, not folk being allowed in.

Less than 1 thousand a MONTH, not week, were actually granted asylum, in a country of not far short of 55-60 million people.

Those are the facts. Now of course, that's not including those migrants that go through hell to get into the UK illegally, but their numbers are likely to be smaller still, certainly way less than what would be a fair share % basis.

02-09-2015, 04:58 PM
So from asylum seekers, there was around 500 applications a week. That's applications, not folk being allowed in.

Less than 1 thousand a MONTH, not week, were actually granted asylum, in a country of not far short of 55-60 million people.

Those are the facts. Now of course, that's not including those migrants that go through hell to get into the UK illegally, but their numbers are likely to be smaller still, certainly way less than what would be a fair share % basis.
UK has over 64 million people

TheReg!
02-09-2015, 04:59 PM
Yes, totally agree, but the local councils are struggling to meet demands of the rapid growing population in the south east, the system down there can't cope, this is down to economic migrants from Eastern Europe not refugees may I add. I don't think the 300k number includes non EU migration? I'll have to check.

02-09-2015, 04:59 PM
The flip side of that of course is that an institution like the NHS simply could not function without immigrant labour.

... not forgetting the benefits to the economy that immigration can bring. More people paying tax, more people spending.

02-09-2015, 05:05 PM

Excellent point. Some of the hypocrisy here is unbelievable. The right wing media were stirring it when Romania and other countries got their foot in the door to the EU. Floods of nasty immigrants stealing our jobs and benefits. They haven't followed up with facts that the numbers coming over are vastly under what was estimated by Cameron's cohorts. Germany is setting a great example - and not just in football stadia. Unfortunately we will never be in a similar position thanks to our Tory friends in Westminster.

02-09-2015, 06:04 PM
Agreed. We are but a bawhair from Godwin's Law now.
Getting closer :)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-eu-34128087

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

02-09-2015, 06:05 PM
We could possibly move this thread now, It's got nothing to do with football anymore... lets keep it, as it has everything to do with humanity and life. surely the Hibs fans are humanitarian? love life, and want to share it with anyone that needs help? or have I got this totally wrong or just being silly?

Green Reaper
02-09-2015, 06:14 PM
Getting closer :)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-eu-34128087

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Cannot believe they are doing that!

Chibs
02-09-2015, 07:19 PM

Werder fans on Sunday :aok:
No offence mate but if that photo is real I'll believe craig whyte is a genuine guy.

02-09-2015, 08:35 PM
This is the reality of the situation facing us today. Do we turn our backs on these Human beings and let more of them drown in the Med?

The wee boys name was Aylan Kurdi, he was 3 years old.

I have already spoken with my MP and asked him to do whatever he can to help those desperate people.

02-09-2015, 08:52 PM
This is the reality of the situation facing us today. Do we turn our backs on these Human beings and let more of them drown in the Med?

I have already spoken with my MP and asked him to do whatever he can to help those desperate people.

The more of us that make it clear that we are not willing to see our politicians stand idly by the better. It's heartening to hear the voices of compassion coming to the fore on this one.

02-09-2015, 08:58 PM

Utterly obscene that this is happening in supposedly civilised countries.

That's the reality of this tragedy, a child that could just as easily be the son of someone on here, lying dead on a beach. In this instance a picture really does say a thousand words and I hope it strikes a chord with a few on this thread.

02-09-2015, 09:32 PM
Yes, totally agree, but the local councils are struggling to meet demands of the rapid growing population in the south east, the system down there can't cope, this is down to economic migrants from Eastern Europe not refugees may I add. I don't think the 300k number includes non EU migration? I'll have to check.

... not forgetting the benefits to the economy that immigration can bring. More people paying tax, more people spending.

The pressures on local authorities down south come from the fact that they have seen their funding cut by at least one-fifth in real terms since 2010. Their biggest spend is social care and most of that is on the elderly (generally not Polish or Romanian :wink:). The numbers of elderly are growing at incredible rates. We are better at keeping people alive. Often that includes keeping them alive in ill-health, with conditions that aren't fatal in their own right but require ongoing treatment and care on a daily basis, whether at home or in homes. That costs ever more billions.

I think we see lots of Poles etc coming here to work (and therefore pay taxes). Being of working age they don't use our really expensive health and social care services for themselves, to any great degree. They do help pay for them though.

Some of the ignorant and ill thought-out comments on this thread depress me. It's sad to see that some people are so easily manipulated into fear or hate.

What's reassuring is there's clearly a lot of humanity in many posts. Long may that be the case.

02-09-2015, 09:42 PM
I'm so disappointed this has been moved from the main forum.

02-09-2015, 10:06 PM

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xlf1/v/t1.0-9/11990593_10152963779626854_2594495331676672885_n.j pg?oh=b0c1e47f472f2ad093b134341e49fabc&oe=566A604F

02-09-2015, 10:12 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/11902509_10153730781319155_7333611394480669687_n.j pg?oh=dca79cdb27807b46f2bc367824e6b461&oe=56654D7B

RMQ1967
02-09-2015, 10:18 PM

Yeah it's pretty poor that anyone would consider this to be divisive. If ever there was a subject to unite on this deserves to be up there.

This is even more harrowing unfortunately;

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtp1/v/t1.0-9/11895943_1525935814363121_8677408432809152593_n.jp g?oh=4b2e2438f4d54b5f04775e96b9f00b16&oe=565D8220

I hope those who called for it to be hidden away sleep well in their beds tonight.

03-09-2015, 05:29 AM

This thread moved away from the football aspect of things very early on.
There's nothing stopping you or anybody else from trying to organise something similar to what the German fans have done at ER by reaching out to Hibs fans here.

03-09-2015, 07:34 AM
This thread moved away from the football aspect of things very early on.
There's nothing stopping you or anybody else from trying to organise something similar to what the German fans have done at ER by reaching out to Hibs fans here.

But if we did try and get something moving on the main board it would probably end up either here or even getting merged with this thread. This human catastrophe transcends football but football is intended to bring people together. I'm disappointed that the admin on here have decided to move this what started as and still is a football related topic to a forum that receives less traffic. All in my humble opinion of course.

Green Man
03-09-2015, 07:40 AM
Yeah it's pretty poor that anyone would consider this to be divisive. If ever there was a subject to unite on this deserves to be up there.

This is even more harrowing unfortunately;

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtp1/v/t1.0-9/11895943_1525935814363121_8677408432809152593_n.jp g?oh=4b2e2438f4d54b5f04775e96b9f00b16&oe=565D8220

I hope those who called for it to be hidden away sleep well in their beds tonight.

I'm conflicted over the newspaper front pages carrying this picture. I was horrified when I saw it - that's good, because maybe people who have been less than sensitive to the refugees' cause will fee the same way and be moved to change their stance. But these papers are going to be seen by children, who I do think should be sheltered from such harrowing images. I can understand why the papers have done it, and I agree with the publication of the pictures in general, but I'm not sure if having them on every newspaper front page is the right way to do it.

03-09-2015, 09:10 AM
Something that you can do, sign the petition.

change.org/refugeeswelcome

03-09-2015, 09:44 AM
UK has over 64 million people

Doh! Well then, makes the numbers looking to "flood" in an even smaller proportion of our population then.

03-09-2015, 10:02 AM

HiBremian
03-09-2015, 10:17 AM
No offence mate but if that photo is real I'll believe craig whyte is a genuine guy.

Any photo in the world might be photoshopped. The thing is, Werder fans are doing something:

http://www.faszination-fankurve.de/index.php?head=Werder-Ultras-sammeln-Spenden-fuer-Fluechtlinge&folder=sites&site=news_detail&news_id=10698

Edit: Admins, would this thread get moved back to the main forum if Hibs fans decided to organise a collection like this? You know, like the Dnipro Appeal.
Just asking.

03-09-2015, 10:26 AM
But if we did try and get something moving on the main board it would probably end up either here or even getting merged with this thread. This human catastrophe transcends football but football is intended to bring people together. I'm disappointed that the admin on here have decided to move this what started as and still is a football related topic to a forum that receives less traffic. All in my humble opinion of course.

As I said on the other thread if people want to use .net as a vehicle to get a banner sorted for the Alloa game I, personally, would be dlighted to see the site used in such a way and the MB would be the place for that. It was actually something I thought about trying to kickstart last night and had planned to contact a few people re looking into it this morning when I geta chance.

As it is I don't think there was any suggestion of doing anything of the sort in the OP. It was a post regarding the action of the German fans but moved wildly away from that and became a debate about immigration generally.

HiBremian
03-09-2015, 10:36 AM
As I said on the other thread if people want to use .net as a vehicle to get a banner sorted for the Alloa game I, personally, would be dlighted to see the site used in such a way and the MB would be the place for that. It was actually something I thought about trying to kickstart last night and had planned to contact a few people re looking into it this morning when I geta chance.

As it is I don't think there was any suggestion of doing anything of the sort in the OP. It was a post regarding the action of the German fans but moved wildly away from that and became a debate about immigration generally.

Just saw the cross-ref explanation on the Labour Party thread, PB. Brain in meltdown, but thanks for the explanation :agree:

03-09-2015, 11:27 AM
Yes,germany has the second biggest population in Europe and the biggest in the EU as well as the biggest economy.

:confused: But surely your point was that Germany has more space for incoming asylum seekers, due to being "massive" compared to over here... and now you're bigging up how many people already live there, compared to anywhere else in the EU?

Regarding you wanting to keep Easter Road for you attending games with like-minded people - I think you'll be doing very well to find many "like-minded" people in our football stadium.

03-09-2015, 12:41 PM

:not worth

03-09-2015, 12:59 PM
I am definitely up for organising a collection/banner. Can use the Leith Links PayPal a/c too, if that's what is decided :aok:

liamh2202
03-09-2015, 01:33 PM
:confused: But surely your point was that Germany has more space for incoming asylum seekers, due to being "massive" compared to over here... and now you're bigging up how many people already live there, compared to anywhere else in the EU?

Regarding you wanting to keep Easter Road for you attending games with like-minded people - I think you'll be doing very well to find many "like-minded" people in our football stadium.

Its funny Russell because on reflection I don't think we disagree on the subject of the refugees . I do though think other people are in agreement with me that its a subject that may not be best addressed at easter road. That has been backed up by this thread as I clearly wasn't alone across the small cross section of people using this board ( albeit I accept I'm in the minority)

03-09-2015, 01:39 PM
petition to have this debated in parliament.....Accept more asylum seekers and increase support for refugee migrants in the UK (https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/105991).

TheReg!
03-09-2015, 02:23 PM
What I would like to know is, apart from Iran, no other Arab league nations are forthcoming in taking in refugees, why not???

liamh2202
03-09-2015, 02:25 PM
What I would like to know is, apart from Iran, no other Arab league nations are forthcoming in taking in refugees, why not???

Everyone seems happy to palm the issue on to each other

03-09-2015, 02:28 PM
I am definitely up for organising a collection/banner. Can use the Leith Links PayPal a/c too, if that's what is decided :aok:

Can you pm the details please Suzy, I'll donate some cash:aok:

If it doesn't get off the ground you can donate it to the MCFB:aok:

03-09-2015, 02:33 PM
To be honest, I think countries like Germany and Sweden should be a bit less welcoming while every other European country needs to help out. It's bizarre that the terrible scenes I am seeing are from people desperate to get out of Hungary, a country where there is no conflict, to get to Germany.

The European union is fundamentally flawed if there is such a difference on key issues like asylum and the treatment and help people receive in each country.

It's not fair and every member should be taking in its fair share of genuine refugees. In fact, this isn't a German problem, it's a global problem.

03-09-2015, 02:35 PM
http://www.fcbayern.de/en/news/news/2015/press-release-030915-fcbayern-emergency-aid-for-refugees-030915.php

TheReg!
03-09-2015, 02:53 PM
Germany are making a big problem by letting it be a free for all in their own country, if they are happy to have so many refugees then they should go down to the Syrian border and pick them up. I'm sure there are procedures for all EU nations written in the treaty when it comes to administrating refugees. It's a complete farce and although credit can be given to Germany, in the long run they're going to regret the free for all, as when the refugees finally stop coming into their country the economic migrants from Africa and elsewhere wont. It has to be done by refugee centres set up by the UN with quotas given to each country under its banner, it is not a European problem as some would like to argue, it's a global problem and until it is I'm 100% behind David Cameron, the burden cannot be put in Europe! The Arab league nations should be ashamed of them selfs.

03-09-2015, 02:55 PM
http://www.fcbayern.de/en/news/news/2015/press-release-030915-fcbayern-emergency-aid-for-refugees-030915.php

Absolutely magnificent of Bayern to be doing this. What would you know, a Football club actively getting involved the fabric of their community.

"We at Bayern consider it our Socio-political responsibility to help displaced and needy children, women, and men supporting and assisting them in Germany".

Karl- Heinz Rummenigge
FC Bayern Munich Chairman

03-09-2015, 03:01 PM
To be honest, I think countries like Germany and Sweden should be a bit less welcoming while every other European country needs to help out. It's bizarre that the terrible scenes I am seeing are from people desperate to get out of Hungary, a country where there is no conflict, to get to Germany.

The European union is fundamentally flawed if there is such a difference on key issues like asylum and the treatment and help people receive in each country.

It's not fair and every member should be taking in its fair share of genuine refugees. In fact, this isn't a German problem, it's a global problem.

The Hungarian government hasn't raised a finger to help those people there. They're sleeping out under the stars with little or no food. Instead they're trying to forcibly transport them to camps by train. Europe 2015 or 1939?

03-09-2015, 03:08 PM
The Hungarian government hasn't raised a finger to help those people there. They're sleeping out under the stars with little or no food. Instead they're trying to forcibly transport them to camps by train. Europe 2015 or 1939?

True but on the other hand they don't want to stay either...their 'destination of choice' (and I use that very loosely) is Germany.

The answer is clearly to resolve the conflicts and troubles that are driving these people out of their countries in the first place...sadly that doesn't seem to be a focus of the international community at present but maybe these terrible scenes might help drive some global solutions.

03-09-2015, 03:23 PM
Well done Celtic.

http://t.co/Xk0HPs6T3W

03-09-2015, 03:27 PM
Well done Celtic.

http://t.co/Xk0HPs6T3W

03-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Germany are making a big problem by letting it be a free for all in their own country, if they are happy to have so many refugees then they should go down to the Syrian border and pick them up. I'm sure there are procedures for all EU nations written in the treaty when it comes to administrating refugees. It's a complete farce and although credit can be given to Germany, in the long run they're going to regret the free for all, as when the refugees finally stop coming into their country the economic migrants from Africa and elsewhere wont. It has to be done by refugee centres set up by the UN with quotas given to each country under its banner, it is not a European problem as some would like to argue, it's a global problem and until it is I'm 100% behind David Cameron, the burden cannot be put in Europe! The Arab league nations should be ashamed of them selfs.

You do know that in the Syrian situation, and in mass asylum flights in general, it is the immediate neighbouring countries or different regions of the same country that take in - by FAR - the highest % of refugees.

The "burden" (as you so poetically describe it) is not being disproportionately put onto Europe at all.

03-09-2015, 03:39 PM

If the stance that Cameron has taken so far on the Humanitarian issue is a reflection of his "British Values", then his moral compass is broken.

03-09-2015, 03:49 PM
This is a photo of Aylan when he was enjoying the stuff we all take for granted. Maybe it's a football thread after all guys.

03-09-2015, 04:29 PM

According to figures I have just seen:-

Lebanon have taken in 1.83million from Syria.
Jordan 630k
Iraq 226k
Egypt 142k

They're all in the Arab League.