View Full Version : Hibs 2 vs Raith Rovers 0 Match Thread.

29-08-2015, 11:23 AM
Need to up our game today after Wednesday nights performance.

Will Stubbs make any changes to the team today, could we see Stevenson being dropped to the bench for this one, hasn't been at his best the last few games, maybe a wee rest needed.

Midfield need to do better and get forward to help the strikers out as well as doing there defensive duties, take our chances when they come along and we will win the game, Daly, if he plays for Raith could be a handful for our back 3, if we go that way, the worry would be set pieces in to our box and Daly getting on to them, defenders need to be on there toes today.

3-1 Hibs.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

29-08-2015, 01:31 PM
Even this early in the season this has fallen into the must win categorie. Have to hope hibs have their shooting boots on as Raith will be well up for this one.

29-08-2015, 01:33 PM
I predict a low scoring game.

I think that's a safe bet.

4-0 hibs

Keating starts today, Gray back in for McGregor

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNlAYReXAAA3iwt.png:large

29-08-2015, 01:35 PM
A confidence winning win is needed today...3 or 4 goal victory margin as opposed to hanging on waiting for the final whistle with a one goal lead.

Today could be the day

29-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Serious lack of width in our midfield again and no Carmichael on the bench. Is he injured as well?

29-08-2015, 01:38 PM
3 centre halves needed against the mighty Raith Rovers?

29-08-2015, 01:39 PM
Need to up our game today after Wednesday nights performance.

Will Stubbs make any changes to the team today, could we see Stevenson being dropped to the bench for this one, hasn't been at his best the last few games, maybe a wee rest needed.

Midfield need to do better and get forward to help the strikers out as well as doing there defensive duties, take our chances when they come along and we will win the game, Daly, if he plays for Raith could be a handful for our back 3, if we go that way, the worry would be set pieces in to our box and Daly getting on to them, defenders need to be on there toes today.

3-1 Hibs.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

silver ,You predicted a big win midweek ,and it was Turgid.So hope you are right this time :agree:

29-08-2015, 01:40 PM

Except there aren't 3.

29-08-2015, 01:41 PM
Forster on the bench, good good, players back to provide competition is needed

29-08-2015, 01:43 PM
Raith look like they will be wearing navy, is that not a bit of a colour clash?

29-08-2015, 01:43 PM
Game available anywhere? Forth?

SneakersO'Toole
29-08-2015, 01:44 PM
Carmichael injured again? Not even on the bench.

29-08-2015, 01:49 PM

Eh?

29-08-2015, 01:49 PM
Except there aren't 3.

Two and a half?:greengrin

29-08-2015, 01:50 PM
4-1-3-2?

29-08-2015, 01:54 PM
Crowd looks like it could be far from spectacular again today.

29-08-2015, 01:56 PM
Diamond formation again, hopefully we have the right players for it today.

29-08-2015, 01:57 PM
Bigger queues than normal at the turnstyle but doesnt look over busy in the ground.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

29-08-2015, 01:59 PM
Few folk saying it took a while to puck up tickets and get in, so maybe more to come but the crowd's fairly sparse at the moment.

Looking forward to the game, no complaints over tge starting line-up.

'Mon the Hibs!

29-08-2015, 02:01 PM
Doon the slope 1st half.

29-08-2015, 02:01 PM
Changing ends. Hibs shooting down the slope first half.

29-08-2015, 02:03 PM
So much for an early goal, Petrie:@ :@

Updates sincerely appreciated as always

Are we 3-0 up yet?

😉

29-08-2015, 02:04 PM
Great early, pacy move involving Keatings, Cummings and McGeough. Keatings shoots over.

29-08-2015, 02:04 PM
Good chance for Keatings but he put it over. McGeouch has started well.

29-08-2015, 02:05 PM
Nice bit of play there.

29-08-2015, 02:09 PM
Good play by McGinn but shot over.

29-08-2015, 02:10 PM
McGinn makes space for a shot but shoots over.

Stevenson had a chance to cross just before but hesitated and hit the 1st man after being closed down.

29-08-2015, 02:11 PM
Good play by McGinn but shot over.

Just saw that about 60 seconds later. HibsTV is lagging Hibs.net. Evidence yet again that this is the primary news source for all things Hibs.

29-08-2015, 02:12 PM
McGinn half volley from distance, saved comfortably.

29-08-2015, 02:13 PM
Another good shot from McGinn.

We've started quite well.

29-08-2015, 02:14 PM
1-0 St Johnstone

The natives will be revolting. And angry too.

Fontaine header blocked at a corner. Another to follow

29-08-2015, 02:15 PM
Hanlon misses a torally free header, he makes contact he scores.

It's like that Movie "Minority Report". Comments on here predict what will happen 60 seconds later.

The broadcast delay must be there to catch any vile swearing in the background and dub it out.

Where are these 3 centre halves of whom you speak ?

29-08-2015, 02:16 PM
Keatings put through but his touch is heavy, tackle made.

Free kick Hibs edge of the D now.

Free kick edge of the box. Goal's coming imho.

Keatings hits.the wall.

El Bakhtaoui scores again...

29-08-2015, 02:17 PM
free kick hibs....keatings hits the wall

Free kick edge of the box. Goal's coming imho.

That'll be that jinxed them eh :greengrin

Cummings pounces on a mostake but heavy touch and keeper saves

GlasgowHibee
We're playing well, need to capitalise on our pressure though.

29-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Cummings misses one on one. Won a corner but Raith clear.

29-08-2015, 02:21 PM
Hanlon heads another chance over.

29-08-2015, 02:22 PM
possession

62% 38%

shots

6 v 0

on target 2

Dav1986
29-08-2015, 02:22 PM
Seems like we are piling on the pressure but need to make these chances count!

29-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Brilliant opening 20 minutes from us. Playing with pace and knocking on the door. Have to think a goals on the way very soon.

29-08-2015, 02:24 PM
Goooooaaal

Keatings with a stunner

Goal!! Keatings from the edge of the box. Well deserved.

St.mirren 1 Livi 1 (pen)

goal keatings :thumbsup:

Keatings 1-0 :thumbsup:

29-08-2015, 02:25 PM
Keatsy!!! 1-0 Hibs.

Goal!!!!!! I've said it for weeks folks JAMES KEATINGS is the ingredient we've been missing!

29-08-2015, 02:26 PM
Where are these 3 centre halves of whom you speak ?

One is playing in midfield:greengrin

Off the bar
Yessssss

Just sat down with a coffee and a donut. Superb! Keatings your a gem! :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

we want :7: but :6: will do

MileHighBees
29-08-2015, 02:27 PM
Great goal and well deserved.
We've started so much better than the last 2 home games.

JHFC
Lewis Allan scores

lewis allan scores for forfar

Lewis Allan scores for Forfar.

29-08-2015, 02:28 PM
Henderson cross/shot just wide.

We're playing really well here.

Pile it on Hibs.

Get in

29-08-2015, 02:29 PM
Cracking goal!

29-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Oh jamesie keatings, he used to be a jambo but he's alright now! :flag:

29-08-2015, 02:31 PM
Keatings down injured.

29-08-2015, 02:31 PM
Brilliant attacking play today. This is much more like it! Teams will struggle to live with us if we play like this and keep it up. 2nd goals on the way.

29-08-2015, 02:32 PM
But he"s up if a bit limpy.

livi hibs 1875
29-08-2015, 02:33 PM
Oh jamesie keatings, he used to be a jambo but he's alright now! :flag:

Or ...oh jas and jamsie , they used to be jambos but there all right now

29-08-2015, 02:37 PM
Good save from Oxley.

29-08-2015, 02:37 PM
Oxley makes a fine save after a bit of kamikaze stuff from Fontaine.

29-08-2015, 02:38 PM
Centre back all over Cummings chasing a long ball, Jase beats him to the ball, he falls over, free kick Raith.

29-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Last five mins have been quite scrappy, Raith getting into it. Cummings nearly through but ref gives a foul. Looked like the boy went down very easily and the ref bought it.

29-08-2015, 02:40 PM
Telling you, he pulled off an outstanding diving save midweek and that save there wasn't too shabby either. People have to stop doubting him regarding shot stopping because he's clearly showing he's more than capable!

29-08-2015, 02:41 PM
Telling you, he pulled off an outstanding diving save midweek and that save there wasn't too shabby either. People have to stop doubting him regarding shot stopping because he's clearly showing he's more than capable!

In the last three games he's played a lot better saving shots he wouldn't have last season.

29-08-2015, 02:43 PM
In the last three games he's played a lot better saving shots he wouldn't have last season.

Encouraging stuff from Oxley.. :thumbsup:

Indeed mate

We need to get this lifted again and see it to Ht, been a bit too scrappy last 5.

29-08-2015, 02:47 PM
Hamilton beating Hearts 1 -0, Celtic 2-1 up

Hopefully a couple more from Hibs to come.

29-08-2015, 02:47 PM
Frustrating end to the half. Should have been a couple up instead we allowed Raith a few sniffs

Very good for 35 minutes though.

29-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Half time 1-0. Deserve to have the lead but we've been very slack since the goal.

29-08-2015, 02:49 PM
Better start but after the goal we have switched off.

Don't know why we can't push on for a second.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

29-08-2015, 02:51 PM
Dundee Utd 2 down at HT.

Potential play off opponents for us or Rangers?

MileHighBees
HT 1-0
I think Hibs did exactly what we all wanted today.
Fast start - Create chances - Score opening goal.
It was all Hibs for the first 35 mins then Raith came into the game for the last 10.
Hopefully we start the 2nd half same as the 1st and get more goals.
Very impressed with McGinn and McGeouch in the early stages when we were well on top.

Raith were coming into it at the end of the half but pretty solid so far from hibs and a peach from Keatings

29-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Their keeper hasn't made a save.

That's good in that we're winning, but it speaks volumes about our presence up front.

Cummings link play has been woeful.

29-08-2015, 02:53 PM

That's good in that we're winning, but it speaks volumes about our presence up front.

Id like to see Malonga and Keatings together this half

Sent via the bushes @ EM

29-08-2015, 02:54 PM

Their keeper has made a couple saves.

29-08-2015, 02:55 PM
59 posts without a criticsm of Lewis Stevenson
Must be a record surely :greengrin

29-08-2015, 02:55 PM
Poor end to a decent half. Dissapointed Cummings hasn't been given a sniff of a chance as of yet.

29-08-2015, 02:57 PM

Apart from the long range effort from McGinn, the 1 on 1 blocks from Cummings and failing to get anywhere near the goal you're spot on D.

29-08-2015, 03:00 PM
Poor end to a decent half. Dissapointed Cummings hasn't been given a sniff of a chance as of yet.

Had that one chance where he ran straight at the keeper, but due to his lack of desire to take a shot with his right foot he let a golden chance go to waste.

Fancy McGinn to score at some point today, already gone close a couple times

29-08-2015, 03:01 PM
Hamilton beating Hearts 1 -0, Celtic 2-1 up

Hopefully a couple more from Hibs to come.

Pleasing stuff all round! :agree:

29-08-2015, 03:02 PM
silver ,You predicted a big win midweek ,and it was Turgid.So hope you are right this time :agree:

Confident i will go on and have a good run Ronnie.

29-08-2015, 03:02 PM
Apart from the long range effort from McGinn, the 1 on 1 blocks from Cummings and failing to get anywhere near the goal you're spot on D.

Aye, apart from them! :greengrin

29-08-2015, 03:03 PM
Dundee Utd 2 down at HT.

Potential play off opponents for us or Rangers?

I think United are the new Hibs. Lose their best players, squad demotivated, falling like a stone. Good luck with that.

29-08-2015, 03:04 PM
How come the score isn't highlighted on the thread title. .....poor show indeed

29-08-2015, 03:05 PM
Shocking back pass by Gray puts Ox in all kind of trouble. Does well to get a toe to the ball or it was a penalty and a red.

29-08-2015, 03:06 PM
Early shout for a pen for Raith after Gray short with a pass back. Thought it was a penalty, guy beside me reckoned Oxley took the ball. Raith head just wide after that.

'Mon Hibs!

29-08-2015, 03:07 PM
How come the score isn't highlighted on the thread title. .....poor show indeed

Always gotta moan about something you lot :greengrin

29-08-2015, 03:08 PM
2-0 Cummings.

Tap in after a Lewis cross and flick from Keatings.

29-08-2015, 03:08 PM
the muffin man 2-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup:

29-08-2015, 03:09 PM
And it's number 2! Cummings!

Forever_Green93
Yas!!!!!

Tell you what McGinn is looking like some player today, makes everything look so simple.

29-08-2015, 03:10 PM
Great ball in from Lewis helped on by a nice touch from Keatings

29-08-2015, 03:10 PM
Pressure off now, hopefully we go on and stick a few more in now. :thumbsup:

29-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Goal! Hibernian 2, Raith Rovers 0. Jason Cummings (Hibernian) left footed shot from the right side of the six yard box to the bottom left corner. Assisted by Lewis Stevenson

livi hibs 1875
Pressure off now, hopefully we go on and stick a few more in now. :thumbsup:

Another couple and we jump a place

King scores for Hertz

MileHighBees
Another good goal :thumbsup:

29-08-2015, 03:12 PM
poppy thieves equalise *%$*s

29-08-2015, 03:13 PM
Get in JC!

29-08-2015, 03:14 PM
possession

58% 42%

shots

9 v 3

on target 4 v 1

corners

4 v 3

29-08-2015, 03:14 PM
4-1-3-2 seems a decent system with the players we have, McGeouch and Henderson are both capable of playing on the flanks, with Keatings having more movement to link with JC.

Off the bar
29-08-2015, 03:15 PM
Nice!

29-08-2015, 03:16 PM
Or ...oh jas and jamsie , they used to be jambos but there all right now

29-08-2015, 03:16 PM
Referee getting whistle happy about the Raith keeper stealing a yard or 2 in his own box.

29-08-2015, 03:18 PM
Raith player passe it straight at Oxley when.clean through. Sloppy stuff.

29-08-2015, 03:19 PM
Very strong bench too. Especially with players like Boyle and malonga who can come and get a goal.

Presume Fyvie and carmichael are out injured? Plus farid to come back it doesn't look too bad

29-08-2015, 03:19 PM
Malonga on, Keatings off.

Decent full debut

MileHighBees
29-08-2015, 03:21 PM
Raith now pushing more people forward to try to get back into the game.
We need to be able to break quickly and take advantage.

29-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Malonga with a lovely bit of skill in the middle.of.the park starts a move that won us a corner.

29-08-2015, 03:26 PM
Cummings 1 on 1 tried to dink the keeper a la Farid but he stood up well.

29-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Oxley saves again. Thought he could have held it but no harm done.

29-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Jason was free down right side after nice header from Gray, but makes a meal of the finish, needs to better in those situations. Will come with experience though

29-08-2015, 03:29 PM
Ball in the net but whistle had already gone.

29-08-2015, 03:30 PM
Oxley saves well again

gtf hertz 1-2 &%*$s

Oxley with another good save

Goal disallowed, ref says Fontaine climbing at the back post. Probably right.

Oxley makes another good save. Potential motm performance from him today.

29-08-2015, 03:32 PM

You just have typed that and jinxed him just before his flap at that corner.

29-08-2015, 03:35 PM
Confident i will go on and have a good run Ronnie.

My spy's are Reporting back that we are looking comfortable and Big Dom Showboating Are they at the Wynd up or am I missing a really good performance

29-08-2015, 03:36 PM

I'd rather he never got the opportunity for MOTM. :greengrin

29-08-2015, 03:36 PM
hertz player takes a dive in the penalty box, hamilton players not too happy, yellow card for princess bauwbag and a red for clum paterson, cheater boy, willie collum over at the sidelines after paterson threw his shinpads in to the accies crowd, McTattie yellow carded ...and he's on the bench lol

29-08-2015, 03:37 PM
Mcgeough replaced by Martin.

29-08-2015, 03:40 PM
8484 attendance.

29-08-2015, 03:40 PM
8484 attendance.

500 odd Raith fans if I heard correctly

29-08-2015, 03:41 PM
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No Movement2
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

No Movement3
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No Movement4
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

Moving up5
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

Moving down6
Dumbarton (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/dumbarton)

another goal for us and we will overtake RR in alphabetical order :)

29-08-2015, 03:42 PM
hamilton equalise 2-2 55 yarder :greengrin

29-08-2015, 03:43 PM

No Movement2

No Movement3

No Movement4

Moving up5

Moving down6

Grim viewing that a huns win tomorrow already puts them six clear. We need to go on a run of wins desperately.

29-08-2015, 03:43 PM
Hamilton equalize

2-2

29-08-2015, 03:44 PM
hamilton equalise 2-2 55 yarder :greengrin

Poor result for the champions elect that.

Good boy Crawford.. Now another one please.

Grim viewing that a huns win tomorrow already puts them six clear. We need to go on a run of wins desperately.They were 6 clear this morning?

Bartley off McGreggor on

29-08-2015, 03:45 PM
McGinn MOTM

Absolutely correct decision imo.

29-08-2015, 03:46 PM
Hamilton 3-2 :greengrin

Nice little victory with goals from our strikers

McGinn MOTM. Would have gone for McGeouch myself

3-2 hamilton

29-08-2015, 03:47 PM

Pleasing

Mcginn is quickly becoming my favorite player. Great wee lad.

No Movement2

No Movement3

No Movement4

Moving up5

Moving down6

A draw would suit us tomorrow, here's hoping.

Hamilton 3-2 up on Hearts :>)

Oh now this is going very Carlsberg for me.

BTW, cracking job they are doing with Hamilton on crowds of 2Kish?

MileHighBees
McGinn MOTM

Absolutely correct decision imo.

Looks like he could be a very important player for us this season

HappyHibby93
Poor old jambos... 3-2 accies

29-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Carlsberg anyone😁

SJNB Hibby

For YOU!!?? I'm watching the Mighty Eagles beat Chelski as well

Mcginn is quickly becoming my favorite player. Great wee lad.

Superb player.

Good on the ball, good.off the ball, passes well, runs with it, tackes and will have a pop too.

29-08-2015, 03:49 PM

They're debt free don't ya know :greengrin

29-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Poor old jambos... 3-2 accies6 minutes of extra time.

29-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Pleasing

VERY :agree:

A draw would suit us tomorrow, here's hoping.

Hamilton 3-2 up on Hearts :>)

yup :agree:

Hibs win

Hertz lose

Scotland thumping the Italians at Murrayfield

carlsberg indeed :)

still 6 mins to play at Hamilton though after the earlier stramash

That should wipe the smugness out their faces for a while

Pleasing

Pleasing, I fell of my bloody seat laughing 😂😂😂😂

29-08-2015, 03:51 PM
6 minutes of extra time.

Have they had their penalty yet?

29-08-2015, 03:52 PM
Have they had their penalty yet?

they did try but poor clum paterson got red carded for his wee dive i think

That should wipe the smugness out their faces for a while

But, but, but....... I thought they were going to go through the season unbeaten?

😀

FT ER 2-0 3 points and a clean sheet...pleasing

1-1 FT in paisley,

MileHighBees
29-08-2015, 03:53 PM
FT 2-0
Very good win and performance - huge improvement
Especially against a team that caused us lots of problems last season
Another perfect HTV stream too
Well done Hibs

29-08-2015, 03:53 PM
For YOU!!?? I'm watching the Mighty Eagles beat Chelski as well

I like Arsenal, and happy that Aberdeen and Celtic are winning/have won, and clearly we are doing the business, while Hearts aren't. As far as it goes, the stars have aligned.

29-08-2015, 03:54 PM
Nade misses a good chance for 4 for accies...the big lump o lard

29-08-2015, 03:54 PM
500 odd Raith fans if I heard correctly

Any Raith fan I've ever met or known has been odd! :-)

29-08-2015, 03:55 PM
Hibs win, Hearts losing, Chelsea lose.

Hopefully Rangers lose tomorrow, none of this draw pish, and it will be a decent weekend.

29-08-2015, 03:55 PM
Good win for hibs, pleasing.

29-08-2015, 03:56 PM
Great result today , under pressure to win. Well done the Hibbies 👍

29-08-2015, 03:56 PM
hertz players surrounding the referee at FT, demanding to know why every other referee falls for the diving in the box, so why didn't he

29-08-2015, 04:03 PM
Thanks for the updates.

I'm off for a kip

It's 2am here in sunny Sydney

hertz players surrounding the referee at FT, demanding to know why every other referee falls for the diving in the box, so why didn't he

I'm sure the SFA will have an enquiry to find out why Hearts didn't get their (now compulsory) penalty.

A Hibs win, Hertz defeat and 'One Man Breaking Bad' tonight in the festival...if Carlsberg did Saturdays :greengrin

29-08-2015, 04:06 PM
A Hibs win, Hertz defeat and 'One Man Breaking Bad' tonight in the festival...if Carlsberg did Saturdays :greengrin

No Magic Mike XXL for you Suzy?

livi hibs 1875
29-08-2015, 04:06 PM

Do you think it will take off, I can claim royalties

29-08-2015, 04:07 PM

I saw that last year, it's excellent, oh and great day for results

29-08-2015, 04:09 PM
VERY :agree:

yup :agree:

Hibs win

Hertz lose

Scotland thumping the Italians at Murrayfield

carlsberg indeed :)

still 6 mins to play at Hamilton though after the earlier stramash

FFS Mate! I have the Scotland game recorded, was going to watch it after the Spurs game.

29-08-2015, 04:11 PM
Hibs win
Leeds win
Whoever hertz are playing win
Scotland win at ruggerby

couple of becks blue for me tonight

29-08-2015, 04:12 PM
Good win for hibs, pleasing.

Just need to focus on playing well and those early season jitters will be forgotten.

The season has just begun.

29-08-2015, 04:13 PM
FFS Mate! I have the Scotland game recorded, was going to watch it after the Spurs game.

sorry :wink:

29-08-2015, 04:16 PM
Hibs very good today. No poor performance through the team. McGinn outstanding. Keatings very good next to JC. Keatings hold his hammy after the whistle. We do look like a good team when the other team tries to play football.

29-08-2015, 04:16 PM
arrrgggh just realised our game is postponed next week for the Scotland games

29-08-2015, 04:19 PM
Good result against a team that are doing ok and could have caused us problems.

Still can't believe the champions elect lost in the top flight.

29-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Just noticed nade is at Hamilton. Was wondering why we never conceeded.

29-08-2015, 04:29 PM
Hibs played much better than Wednesday.

We did get a bit of luck (boy fluffed his 1 on 1 and am not sure the goalie didn't take the boy out from Grays back pass).

Hibs need to put more pressure throughout whole game. Positives from today are that john McGinn is getting better each week. Cracking player.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

29-08-2015, 04:33 PM

Why's that, Hibs are hardly chock full of Internationals?

29-08-2015, 04:33 PM
Fairly comfortable. Good to see Keatings get a goal.

What the hell has happened to David Gray? Very poor and not for the first time this season.

MileHighBees
29-08-2015, 04:39 PM
Why's that, Hibs are hardly chock full of Internationals?

Think Cummings and someone else (McGinn ?) in u21s
Malonga away too, maybe ?

29-08-2015, 04:39 PM
Hibs very good today. No poor performance through the team. McGinn outstanding. Keatings very good next to JC. Keatings hold his hammy after the whistle. We do look like a good team when the other team tries to play football.
All of this. Once we got 2nd, was never in doubt. As noted previously, 1 goal is never enough.

29-08-2015, 04:41 PM
We looked much better without Fyvie in the midfield. great to see Keatings getting a goal too

29-08-2015, 04:44 PM
I thought Hibs played very well today. The midfield seemed more balanced without Fyvie IMO. Bartley sat and let the others go! I'd keep with that side next game.

Keatings looked good as well, and to top it off I had Keatings first scorer hibs 2-0 😎

29-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Thought today was boring but at least we won and won easy. McGinn was the stand out player

29-08-2015, 04:59 PM
Thought today was boring but at least we won and won easy. McGinn was the stand out player
Really, your the only one that seems to think that based on this thread.:confused:

29-08-2015, 04:59 PM

Not forgetting goggle eyes Craig Whyte making a reappearance to claim security on the old clubs cash.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13634356.Company_linked_to_Craig_Whyte_makes_claim _on___18m_oldco_Rangers_plc_creditors_pot/

Not that this really effects the new club, but Dave King was expecting a few million from the divvy up, and he might have used it to keep SS Sevco afloat.

29-08-2015, 05:10 PM
Lovely performance from the hibees today, solid at the back and looked good going forward.

29-08-2015, 05:13 PM
Extra time to get injured players fit and to try out things in Training for our next game .But it would of been nice to go again and keep the momentum going

29-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Really, your the only one that seems to think that based on this thread.:confused:

Nah, me too, I thought it was pretty turgid & I'm a happy clapper.
Hoping once Stubbs gets the shape right things will start flowing but at the moment it's a bit clunky.

Better tempo. More passes forward a bit earlier. Much better.

We did switch of a bit after we scored though. We are also pretty narrow still so they were getting a lot of joy wide and git plenty crosses in.

What makes you think it was boring? Wednesday was boring that was a good performance from everyone on the park.

Honestly find that baffling?

29-08-2015, 05:19 PM
Grim viewing that a huns win tomorrow already puts them six clear. We need to go on a run of wins desperately.

They were 6 ahead before today's game though? We haven't lost any ground on them this week at the very least. May even be better after tomorrow.

29-08-2015, 05:23 PM
Fairly comfortable. Good to see Keatings get a goal.

What the hell has happened to David Gray? Very poor and not for the first time this season.

He really hasn't got going this season yet. Thought Stevenson was equally poor for large stretches but hopefully his assist will have boosted his confidence. Neither player have hit the standards they're capable of yet this season, for whatever reason.

I thought the Raith left back was excellent in possession, would be a good addition to our squad

29-08-2015, 05:26 PM
Was really impressed with Bartley first 30 mins - my MOTM to that point. Best game in a Hibs shirt and looks like he'll do a job for us this season :aok:

29-08-2015, 05:27 PM
They were 6 ahead before today's game though? We haven't lost any ground on them this week at the very least. May even be better after tomorrow.

Anyone know if their game is on or off next weekend?

29-08-2015, 05:31 PM
Maybe we can spend the next couple of weeks practising heading-constantly second best all over the park.

29-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Hibs win, with a better performance.

Hearts beaten and cannae take it.

Liverpool destroyed at home.

Chelsea beaten at home.

Not a bad day all in all.

29-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Anyone know if their game is on or off next weekend?

I'm not sure what internationals - if any - they have but maybe a few young boys in under 21s? Does Shiels still make the NI squad?

29-08-2015, 05:59 PM
need to update my carlsberg list after watching a recording of the rugby league challenge cup final

Hibs win
Leeds utd win
chelsea lose
hertz lose
Scotland clobber Italy at murrayfield
Leeds Rhinos beat HKR in the rugby league challenge cup final in a record 50-0 clobbering

what a day :greengrin:cb

29-08-2015, 06:01 PM
Extra time to get injured players fit and to try out things in Training for our next game .But it would of been nice to go again and keep the momentum going

that's true, but still would have preferred keeping this winning momentum going :)

29-08-2015, 06:04 PM
What makes you think it was boring? Wednesday was boring that was a good performance from everyone on the park.

I found the game boring. Hibs huffed and puffed and then scored. The second half was the same. Raith offered very little going forward. It was a dull game. The performance of McGinn was the highlight. I was happy to win but it was not a very enjoyable game

29-08-2015, 06:08 PM
I found the game boring. Hibs huffed and puffed and then scored. The second half was the same. Raith offered very little going forward. It was a dull game. The performance of McGinn was the highlight. I was happy to win but it was not a very enjoyable game

If that's how you seen it fair enough. Thought we looked good on the ball and should have scored more! Played at a good tempo (unlike wed) More of the same please for me.

29-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Thought the team had a shape to it at last especially in the first half and Keatings looks a player. Fell into their usual sleep mode after the second goal though but much better performance . Unfortunately Henderson doesn't look match fit and Malonga, other than his 10 second cameo, does not look interested.

29-08-2015, 06:13 PM
Carmichael didn't even make the bench today I noticed.

29-08-2015, 06:14 PM

Take it you missed Wednesday's game . Cause today's was much better .
That's three clean sheets in a row at the Leith San Siro . Also thought Malinga looked up for it when he came on . Hibs win , they lose 😀
Going to enjoy a few glasses of red tonight .

29-08-2015, 06:19 PM
Carmichael didn't even make the bench today I noticed.

He's injured

29-08-2015, 06:25 PM
He's injured

Didn't realise that. What's the injury? Hopefully not a bad one.

29-08-2015, 06:26 PM

It's hibs,not Barcelona.

29-08-2015, 06:31 PM

I'm sorry but that is utter rubbish, first half hour Hibs played at an excellent tempo and that was my most enjoyable day at Easter Road in a while.

29-08-2015, 06:32 PM
Much better performance today. Still far from a dazzling display of football but certainly better. My ratings for today:

Oxley - 7 made some absolutely fantastic saves but flapped a few times instead of commanding and taking the ball from the air.
Stevenson - 6 not a great game from him today, too many failed crosses
Hanlon - 7 didn't do much wrong really
Fountaine - 7 see Hanlon
Gray - 6 lost the ball quite a lot today but nothing major wrong
McGinn - 8 MoTM, exciting player who looks like he has been a very good signing
Henderson - 7 not a bad game but can see he still has a lot of learning to do
Bartley - 7 good solid player with a suprising wee bit of pace on him
McGeough - 8 contender for MoTM
Keatings 8 - great goal, he will be a key player for us this season I reckon
Cummings 7 - buzzed about and got his goal. Think him and Keatings will make a good pairing

29-08-2015, 06:33 PM

You thought we huffed and puffed in that opening 20mins?

Jeez, you probably thought Labour would win the general election too....

29-08-2015, 06:34 PM
Take it you missed Wednesday's game . Cause today's was much better .
That's three clean sheets in a row at the Leith San Siro . Also thought Malinga looked up for it when he came on . Hibs win , they lose 😀
Going to enjoy a few glasses of red tonight .

No I was there and today was better but still boring

29-08-2015, 06:36 PM
You thought we huffed and puffed in that opening 20mins?

Jeez, you probably thought Labour would win the general election too....

The game last 90 mins not 20 mins. Not sure what the GE has to do with Hibs playing a boring style of football. But for the record I did want Labour to win the election

29-08-2015, 06:38 PM

I guess it's all about opinions. I thought we started quite lively and played some decent stuff. Shots at goal and some nice inter-play between mid/attack.

It was refreshing to finally start to see a fully fit team at long last emerge through the injury stricken start to the season. McGinn, Henderson et al will only improve.

Second half wasn't the same? In fact it was very different from where I was sitting. We scored very early and then didn't quite get the same rhythm as we did in the first.

Maybe not the greatest performance I've ever seen but if games like today are 'boring' then you're in for a long slog watching Hibs.

Important thing is 3 points, clean sheet and some confidence moving forward. On a side note I quite like their left back. :agree:

29-08-2015, 06:45 PM
A guy came up to me after the match (miles from Easter Road) and said we were lucky. I told him that we weren't lucky but needed to make more of our chances. Now he was was maybe not at the game or a Jambo on the wind up. Not sure but no way were we lucky. Not the best of games but we certainly didn't at any point in the match look like we weren't going to win.

29-08-2015, 06:45 PM
The game last 90 mins not 20 mins.

Yes, well thank you for that nugget of information.

However, since you thought we huffed and puffed in the opening 20 that was what I was picking you up on as you know. You can have your opinion but it's quite clearly at odds with the vast majority.

I don't see anyone proclaiming us as the finished article based on a good 20 minutes, but there was a distinct improvement in performance and tempo. Build on that and I'll be a lot happier.

29-08-2015, 06:47 PM
It should be noted that Hibs beat Raith Rovers today, a team who during the week beat Hamilton Accies, conquerors of "The Famous" today. Haw haw. :greengrin

A much better game than Wednesday ..... At least Raith only had 6 men behind the ball for most of the game instead of 10. For the first half hour Hibs moved the ball better than they have all season. A great goal by Keatings after which the game got a bit disjointed .. that continued into the 2nd half but apart from a few flurries in our box we never looked like not winning this one.

Second half wasn't the same? In fact it was very different from where I was sitting. We scored very early and then didn't quite get the same rhythm as we did in the first.

Spot on, that's exactly how it went. I think lucky was looking the wrong way for most of the match :greengrin

29-08-2015, 06:48 PM
Nah, me too, I thought it was pretty turgid & I'm a happy clapper.
Hoping once Stubbs gets the shape right things will start flowing but at the moment it's a bit clunky.
Proves the old adage you can't please all of the people all of the time.

29-08-2015, 06:53 PM
Yes, well thank you for that nugget of information.

However, since you thought we huffed and puffed in the opening 20 that was what I was picking you up on as you know. You can have your opinion but it's quite clearly at odds with the vast majority.

I don't see anyone proclaiming us as the finished article based on a good 20 minutes, but there was a distinct improvement in performance and tempo. Build on that and I'll be a lot happier.

Here here :agree:

If we can stay I think this team just need to get a few wins and build confidence. Start to believe they can gub teams in this league. Today was a marked improvement. Keatings coming in will make a huge difference for me. I was impressed with his 60 mins today.

29-08-2015, 06:57 PM

Aside from the boring tag, I would agree. We did huff and puff.

Thought we remained quite sloppy in a number of areas. Great to get the win but expect much more from Henderson, McGeouch, Gray, Stevenson and Cummings. McGinn was excellent and the centre halves were solid.

I'm sure we will get there and hopefully look back on this as another slow start.

29-08-2015, 07:02 PM

Agree thought it was good and some really good play at times. Keatings was excellent and Jason should copy his work rate an d intelligent runs. Thought defence looked ropey at times. Midfield was good with Dylan and McGinn who looks an excellent signing were both great.

29-08-2015, 07:02 PM
Proves the old adage you can't please all of the people all of the time.

True. I suppose it boils down to what people are looking for. If it's a 5-0 stroll then you'll be bored more often than not. Today I was looking for (in this order):

3 points
Game time for new players
Higher tempo
Solid goalkeeping
No injuries
Less seagulls

I got this so I'm happy. I also enjoyed watching some of our individual performers like Keatings, McGinn, Bartley, Henderson.

Not a vintage performance but far from boring.

29-08-2015, 07:08 PM
Bore me every week and win 2-0 please.

Win every game by a boring two nil and we are up.

29-08-2015, 07:25 PM
Oh aye. Malonga. Soccer genius.

29-08-2015, 07:29 PM
Oh aye. Malonga. Soccer genius.

Best piece of skill from a Hibs player in donkeys.