View Full Version : Official League Cup draw thread - Hibs v Aberdeen

27-08-2015, 12:00 PM
Takes place at 2.30pm today, haven't come across any 'live' streams of the draw yet. Hibs unseeded and are ball no 10. Would probably want to avoid Celtic or Aberdeen in my opinion

Seeded clubs and numbers
1 Celtic
2 Aberdeen
3 Inverness Caley Thistle
4 St Johnstone
5 Dundee United
6 Ross County
7 Kilmarnock
8 Motherwell

Unseeded clubs and numbers
9 Heart of Midlothian
10 Hibernian
11 Rangers
12 Falkirk
13 Raith Rovers
14 Livingston
15 Morton
16 Dunfermline Athletic

27-08-2015, 12:04 PM
The draw is being shown on the bbc website.

Coults1875
27-08-2015, 12:04 PM
Celtic please! Then a shock upset seeing Scott Allan sent off and
Dylan McGeouch scoring an extra time winner :greengrin:cb

27-08-2015, 12:05 PM
The draw is being shown on the bbc website.

Got a link to share

27-08-2015, 12:09 PM
Dundee utd at home again wouldn't be the worst draw. They really seem to be suffering the effects of selling all their best players.

27-08-2015, 12:13 PM
Celtic please! Then a shock upset seeing Scott Allan sent off and
Dylan McGeouch scoring an extra time winner :greengrin:cb

Allan cup-tied.

27-08-2015, 12:27 PM
Dundee utd at home again wouldn't be the worst draw. They really seem to be suffering the effects of selling all their best players.

True. Killie at home would give us a good chance too. Any away tie will be a challenge.

27-08-2015, 12:29 PM
Ross County or Inverness away, always a midweek trip in the Cup.....:greengrin

GlasgowHibee
27-08-2015, 12:29 PM
I think we'll get Celtic at home.

27-08-2015, 12:30 PM
St. Johnstone away.

Coults1875
Allan cup-tied.

Ah!! so he is

No thanks

27-08-2015, 12:43 PM
Got a link to share

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/34072064

Dave-O
27-08-2015, 12:49 PM
Celtic at home, hopefully make a few quid, done and dusted........concentrate on league. :greengrin

KdyHby
27-08-2015, 12:52 PM

Especially with Scotrail's Club 50 giving £10 return to anywhere in Scotland in September!

GlasgowHibee
27-08-2015, 01:05 PM
Anyone got a link? :confused:

Coults1875
27-08-2015, 01:06 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/34072064

27-08-2015, 01:07 PM

Three posts up? :confused:

GlasgowHibee
27-08-2015, 01:07 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/34072065

Link to the stream

GlasgowHibee
27-08-2015, 01:10 PM
Three posts up? :confused:

That wasn't linked to the stream, just the website. :aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

27-08-2015, 01:14 PM
That wasn't linked to the stream, just the website. :aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

It was linked to the article - you have to click one button for goodness sake :greengrin

Just resulting in a spinny wheel for me either way but it's a mickey mouse cup anyway, right? :wink:

27-08-2015, 01:23 PM
All I have is "live streaming follows shortly" .... thought the draw was at 2:00pm :confused:

Stuarty27
27-08-2015, 01:24 PM
Hearts at home would be a nice draw...

27-08-2015, 01:24 PM
All I have is "live streaming coming up shortly" .... thought the draw was at 2:00pm :confused:

It's at 2.30

27-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Can't draw them. Both unseeded.

27-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Hearts at home would be a nice draw...

Impossible, they're unseeded like us 👍🏼

Stuarty27
27-08-2015, 01:26 PM
Seeding in the Scottish League Cup, what a ******g nonsense

Stuarty27
27-08-2015, 01:27 PM
Home tie will be fine, means cup top up will have paid fir itself.

27-08-2015, 01:29 PM
Seeding in the Scottish League Cup, what a ******g nonsense

Agreed

Off the bar
27-08-2015, 01:31 PM
just seeing neil Doncaster makes me angry.

27-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Killie pies v poppy thieves
Livi v ICT
Ross co v Falkirk weans
sevco bigots v st.johnstone
Sellick v Raith rovers
Morton v Murrawell
Dundee utd v Dunfy
Cabbage v sheep

Killie v Hearts

Livi v ICT

Ross County v Falkirk

The Rangers v St Johnstone

Celtc v Raith Rovers

Morton v Motherwell

Dundee Utd v Dunfermline

Hibs v Aberdeen

GlasgowHibee
Aberdeen at home. :rolleyes:

Stuarty27
Dons at home!:thumbsup:

Aw no

Off the bar
Aberdeen at ER. tough draw

27-08-2015, 01:35 PM
Hibernian v Aberdeen

Dundee United v Dunfermline Athletic

Morton v Motherwell

Celtic v Raith Rovers

Rangers v St Johnstone

Ross County v Falkirk

Livingston v Inverness CT

Kilmarnock v Hearts

Great draw another home tie for the cup top up.

Not the greatest draw but the cup top is a bonus this season

Newry Hibs
Jeez - could they not get a shoe box that could take 8 teams on each side?

Should be a decent crowd and a good test for Hibs

Aberdeen at ER. tough draw

great tie though- exactly the sort of games we want to have more regularly...let's put them out!

27-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Couldn't have been much tougher for Hibs. At least it's a home.

27-08-2015, 01:37 PM
A good test of the current team's ability compared to Terry Butcher's All-Stars.

Another home draw for The Rangers I see.

portyhibernian
Difficult game but one we can win, wish I'd bought the cup top up! These cup runs costing a small fortune :greengrin

Should hopefully draw a big crowd ... at least 12,000 I hope.

Stuarty27
27-08-2015, 01:38 PM
Did anyone watch that live from the start!?

What an absolute amateur effort from BBC and SFA. They had the camera running for 5 minutes before it started and they had no idea camera was running. The guy had his iphone out one point!!

Shambles.

As for draw, happy with that, hopefully Dons bring thru big travelling support.

Couldn't have been much tougher for Hibs. At least it's a home.

Aye, a home draw is at least something, but it's going to be very tough. Aberdeen look a decent side now.

ManBearPig
Quite happy just wanted it at home and Aberdeen always a good test

Off the bar
27-08-2015, 01:39 PM
great tie though- exactly the sort of games we want to have more regularly...let's put them out!

yeah should be a good gate as well, we knocked them out the LC last time we went down at about the same stage (Stevie Crawford pen iirc) which gave us a good boost to kick on and win the league knowing we could mix it with 'premier' opposition. Same again would be perfect!

27-08-2015, 01:41 PM
£15 quid again hopefully get a crowd in.

27-08-2015, 01:41 PM

That's 6 home cup ties on the trot for us though :cb

Stokesy's on fire
27-08-2015, 01:42 PM
deligted we have drawn those cocky *******s!! Get intae that ***** hibs!!

27-08-2015, 01:42 PM
Tough test. Easiest team available for Hearts

27-08-2015, 01:43 PM
It never came up in my stream ... dunno what went wrong. Can the SPFL not at least get the bloody cup draws onto the radio or SKY sports news or something.

How the hell can you generate interest in bloody cup draws that take place at 2:30 on a work day that next to nobody can follow ........... frigging amatuers !!! :bitchy:

27-08-2015, 01:43 PM
Should be a decent crowd and a good test for Hibs

I hope BBC don't take this, we could get a good crowd of its not on TV

27-08-2015, 01:44 PM

They'll take the Rangers game

27-08-2015, 01:44 PM
yeah should be a good gate as well, we knocked them out the LC last time we went down at about the same stage (Stevie Crawford pen iirc) which gave us a good boost to kick on and win the league knowing we could mix it with 'premier' opposition. Same again would be perfect!

Followed by a 4-0 pumping away to St Johnstone in the next round. We got held up in traffic and eventually walked into the ground just as the 4th went in. Probably the worst game I've ever been to just for sheer waste of money(and there's been a fair few to choose from)

27-08-2015, 01:45 PM

Ehm, Hibs have already been drawn at home in four cup ties this season.

Anyway, fantastic draw for Hibs. I can't really see us winning, TBH, but it should be a good challenge and hopefully a decent crowd.

27-08-2015, 01:46 PM

Rangers v St Johnstone or Celtic v Raith Rovers are my wild stab in the dark for the games that will be televised.

27-08-2015, 01:47 PM
Would use this game as a test for next season if we were to go up.

27-08-2015, 01:48 PM
Ah well we usually put Aberdeen out

27-08-2015, 01:48 PM
Good draw a tough one but a test and if we play to our best more than capable of giving them a game.

fulshie
27-08-2015, 01:50 PM
Personally, I don't think we will win the league cup this season but, I think this draw will give us a good chance to see where exactly we are as a team. Aberdeen "in my opinion" are second best in Scotland so should be a very good test.

fulshie
27-08-2015, 01:51 PM
Rangers v St Johnstone or Celtic v Raith Rovers are my wild stab in the dark for the games that will be televised.

J Really! what makes you think that? lol

Off the bar
27-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Followed by a 4-0 pumping away to St Johnstone in the next round. We got held up in traffic and eventually walked into the ground just as the 4th went in. Probably the worst game I've ever been to just for sheer waste of money(and there's been a fair few to choose from)

I must have purged that game from my memory, Perth is one my least happy hunting grounds I don't think I've ever seen us win there, I can remember conceding a pen to one of the worst decisions ever up there, also seeing a game snowed off at half time, and getting one of the ****iest chip supers of my life on the way home.

27-08-2015, 01:53 PM
Almost the worst draw we could have got but at least it's another home draw.

27-08-2015, 01:53 PM

We have no room to talk. Over the last few years we have had very few away cup draws. Like a good awayday as well but didn't fancy Inverness, Aberdeen or Dinghell during the week.

27-08-2015, 01:55 PM
Good draw in many ways - touch opponents, but a home game, should be a good atmosphere and the players ought to be up for it, our team will have had more game time by then. Still, even at our "best" (whatever that is) I can't see us winning this, but - it's a cup tie, maybe we'll get lucky and surprise them with an upset?

27-08-2015, 01:57 PM
I think you'll actually see us put in our best performance against them.

27-08-2015, 01:58 PM
It never came up in my stream ... dunno what went wrong. Can the SPFL not at least get the bloody cup draws onto the radio or SKY sports news or something.

How the hell can you generate interest in bloody cup draws that take place at 2:30 on a work day that next to nobody can follow ........... frigging amatuers !!! :bitchy:

The cup draw process is by its very nature pretty dull to watch even if its the WC draw featuring Pele and a bevvy of naked ladies. They could do the draw itself at the bottom of the marina trench at 1.30 am on a Monday for all I care.

How/why they don't have the gumption to do it straight away after the last game of the preceding round is beyond me though.

woodythehibee
27-08-2015, 01:58 PM
Brilliant draw! Should be a cracking game.

Will be good to see us play against a side who actually want to attack. Would expect an open game :flag:

27-08-2015, 01:59 PM
They'll take the Rangers game

Have they settled their dispute with der Hun?

27-08-2015, 01:59 PM

Agree Fyvie will be keen to do well assuming he is fit for the game.

27-08-2015, 02:02 PM

That's entirely possible, as Aberdeen are certainly not going to park the bus against us.

Our best performances last season were invariably against teams that played an open game

27-08-2015, 02:08 PM

That's entirely possible, as Aberdeen are certainly not going to park the bus against us.

Our best performances last season were invariably against teams that played an open game

:agree: Dundee Utd at home was a cracker.

27-08-2015, 02:08 PM
Have they settled their dispute with der Hun?

Good shout. Be interesting chat that one!!!

pennyhibee
27-08-2015, 02:09 PM
Good we need to be playing teams like this Hope we get IcT or Celtic next

H18S NX
27-08-2015, 02:09 PM
Very tough game,home at least.

27-08-2015, 02:10 PM

If it comes close to last years game with Dundee Utd that will do for me .....It was a poor turn out by our fans for that one and those that didn't go missed a great game, lets hope we can get at least 10,000 home fans to turn out this time. Cant help thinking we will charge £20 for adults & £10 for kids .... if they do that will be reasonable IMO. Next to the Yams or Celtic this is the biggest draw we could have had.

Nae excuse for those who think attendance at league games against Morton & Raith Rovers etc is beneath them.

27-08-2015, 02:14 PM
If it comes close to last years game with Dundee Utd that will do for me .....It was a poor turn out by our fans for that one and those that didn't go missed a great game, lets hope we can get at least 10,000 home fans to turn out this time. Cant help thinking we will charge £20 for adults & £10 for kids .... if they do that will be reasonable IMO.

despite us going out, I think it was our best performance of last season...

Hopefully one better this game...

27-08-2015, 02:16 PM
Think we''ll get pumped.

27-08-2015, 02:17 PM
Great chance to get rid of the second favourites . They will bring down a decent support . Mon the cabbage .

JJP
27-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Looking forward to this one already. Will be a great test for our team.

27-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Think we''ll get pumped.

Why, the game is 4 weeks away, could hit some form before then

27-08-2015, 02:22 PM
Hearts are playing Aberdeen on Sunday 20th Sept, so our game will probably be on the Wednesday

27-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Think we''ll get pumped.

We might .............. But we need a test like this to get some idea of just exactly how good, or even competent, this team is. Dundee Utd were a better team when they played us last year than they are now and Hibs performance that night was a real eye opener and I think gave the team a real boost at the time. I'm hoping the same can happen this time ..... but with us going through obviously.

27-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Why, the game is 4 weeks away, could hit some form before then

Why? Because Aberdeen are far too good for us. Think we might give them a game but in the end they'll have too much for us and will beat us convincingly, IMO. Would love to be proved wrong of course!

QMU-1875
27-08-2015, 02:24 PM
Delighted with this draw bring them on!

27-08-2015, 02:35 PM
Any idea of the date?

27-08-2015, 02:36 PM
Dunno if we're talking about the same game but I remember going to a game at McDermid Park where we were getting pumped by half time. There was only 1 way in or out of the car park and it took us over an hour to get out after the game. Nightmare.

HibeeEmma
27-08-2015, 02:40 PM
Any idea of the date?

22nd Sept

27-08-2015, 02:42 PM
22nd Sept

Thanks.

27-08-2015, 02:43 PM
Any idea of the date?

See my post above

27-08-2015, 02:45 PM
Thanks.

Not been confirmed yet and as Hearts Aberdeen play on the Sunday would assume Wednesday 23rd most likely.

27-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Would we take a 1-0 og win against the sheep ?

Stokesy's on fire
27-08-2015, 03:21 PM
Would we take a 1-0 og win against the sheep ?

Beating the sheep is always fun I hope it's a Fyvie goal in the last minute that sends them crashing out.

27-08-2015, 03:29 PM
I'm actually delighted with this draw! A proper big game. Hopefully it gives our guys a taste of the kind of games we should regularly be involved in again, and we can get the win that will no doubt send confidence sky high. I'm confident we can knock them out at Easter Road. :flag:

27-08-2015, 04:10 PM
I'd rather have avoided them. But playing a team that actually want to play might bring out the best in us.

HappyHibby93
27-08-2015, 04:21 PM
I'm actually delighted with this draw! A proper big game. Hopefully it gives our guys a taste of the kind of games we should regularly be involved in again, and we can get the win that will no doubt send confidence sky high. I'm confident we can knock them out at Easter Road. :flag:

Agreed, pleased to get a good cup tie, should be worth the entry fee. We'll give these guys a game. A good crowd would be nice. Big Farid will be firing on all cylinders by then.

27-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Should be a good game. We played very well vs United and Ross County last season, no reason we cant at least push Aberdeen all the way.

27-08-2015, 04:59 PM
I think it'll be a good game and as massive underdogs we might spring a wee surprise. Equally Aberdeen will be licking their lips at getting serial underachievers, albeit away from home.

27-08-2015, 06:21 PM
22nd Sept

It will be Wednesday 23rd as Aberdeen play Hearts on Sunday 20th.

27-08-2015, 06:28 PM
Dunno if we're talking about the same game but I remember going to a game at McDermid Park where we were getting pumped by half time. There was only 1 way in or out of the car park and it took us over an hour to get out after the game. Nightmare.

yes that was the game were mcleish was mega angry with the team that night , we were awful.

27-08-2015, 06:34 PM
I assume the dandies are quite happy with it?

27-08-2015, 06:36 PM
How are gate receipts worked out in cups ? For example this match 12000 crowd with 8000 paying average of 15 quid per head and 4000 ( guess ) with cup top up . So 60000 quid each but would we have to also pay Aberdeen 30000 ( half of top ups paying same price ) ? If so home draws are obviously not good for club finances .

27-08-2015, 06:42 PM
I think it'll be a good game and as massive underdogs we might spring a wee surprise. Equally Aberdeen will be licking their lips at getting serial underachievers, albeit away from home.

Would hardly use the phrase 'massive underdogs'. We've got a Premier League standard team consisting of many players that a lot of clubs up there wouldn't mind having. Underdogs yes, but hardly massive. Won't be surprised in the slightest if we win this game.

27-08-2015, 06:51 PM
Aberdeen messageboard...

''Should be straightforward enough.

They look toothless.''

''Great draw''

''HIBS AWAY YEEEEEEEEEHAAAAA''

''Delighted with that.''

''Cracking draw I think, very winnable tie against a **** team, decent ground, good atmosphere.''

''Easy''

''Definitely going down for this. Need revenge for a certain semi final.''

C'mon Hibs, hope we wipe the floor with this lot!!!! :cb:take that:giruy2:

27-08-2015, 06:57 PM
Aberdeen messageboard...

''Should be straightforward enough.

They look toothless.''

''Great draw''

''HIBS AWAY YEEEEEEEEEHAAAAA''

''Delighted with that.''

''Cracking draw I think, very winnable tie against a **** team, decent ground, good atmosphere.''

''Easy''

''Definitely going down for this. Need revenge for a certain semi final.''

C'mon Hibs, hope we wipe the floor with this lot!!!! :cb:take that:giruy2:

Can't blame them for being confident of a win, since they're by far the second best in the country at the moment and they're playing against a team from the league below.

But I do hope we wipe any smug grins from their faces in a few weeks' time.

27-08-2015, 06:58 PM
Aberdeen is a club of delusion and fuddery. Hope we do them again and Richard Gordon is there to see it.

27-08-2015, 07:03 PM

They were drawn away in the first two rounds of the Petrofac cup (Hibs then Ayr United). They are at home to Livingston in the next round of that competition.

In the first two rounds of the League Cup they were drawn at home to Peterhead, then away (last night) to Airdrie. :confused:

andy1875
27-08-2015, 07:04 PM
I'll be on my honeymoon when the game is on so will miss the game. Nightmare :greengrin

Ach well, a night out whilst watching the Hibees in Icmeler will have to do. I'll start laying the foundations with the wife to be now.

27-08-2015, 07:13 PM
Don't think it's quite fair to use this game as an acid test for how we'll do next year. Should both sides put out strong teams then you have to expect Aberdeen to win. They've taken advantage of the gap left by the old Rangers and have left the field chasing.

They have a winning mentality, this is a very tough test and hopefully there is a good crowd. Do remember that 1-0 win over them in the first div season, great night.

As posted before I do also remember the 4-0 hiding in Perth. Paul Tosh's last game, it was like he'd won a competition to play. First time I saw Kenny Miller play.

27-08-2015, 07:15 PM
The Sheep certainly wont come to ER and "park the bus". So for one thing we might see a decent match, and it might work in Hibs favour if (and only if) they take their chances and defend well.

27-08-2015, 08:05 PM
Good run of results in the run up to it and sensible pricing (IMO a tenner and a fiver) and we'd get a ~14000 crowd I think with a decent Sheep end. Take note Hibs.

looking forward to a 'proper' game as the novelty of playing the likes of Dumbarton is wearing thin rapidly.

27-08-2015, 08:11 PM
Good run of results in the run up to it and sensible pricing (IMO a tenner and a fiver) and we'd get a ~14000 crowd I think with a decent Sheep end. Take note Hibs.

looking forward to a 'proper' game as the novelty of playing the likes of Dumbarton is wearing thin rapidly.

Agree with your sentiments Sean but the pricing aint gonna happen,

We paid £15 for Montrose and £15 for Stranraer so no way will it be £10 for the Sheep.

27-08-2015, 08:14 PM
Agree with your sentiments Sean but the pricing aint gonna happen,

We paid £15 for Montrose and £15 for Stranraer so no way will it be £10 for the Sheep.If that's the case there'll be under 10000 Hibby's which will totally detract from what should be an occasion.

Easter Road is total ***** when it's half empty. Cutting prices would at least show an intent to fill what's been a bit of a white Elephant for the last 5 years.

27-08-2015, 08:21 PM

The novelty wore off for me about a year ago when I was sitting at Recreation Park, or the Indodrill Arena or whatever it's called nowadays, and watching us lose to Alloa.

I can't wait until we're back in the Premiership, watching us play against teams who are putting ten men behind the ball every week is really painful to watch.

27-08-2015, 08:31 PM
Anyone got Stubbsy's mobile number?

Attack, attack, attack...tempo, tempo, tempo.

We're like a tramps version of Barcelona. Or a night with me and the missus...tippy tappy with no penetration.

Grim.

StevieBoyKdy
27-08-2015, 08:36 PM
Was wanting Aberdeen or Celtic so happy. Good test for us to see how far we have come and how far we have to go. Aberdeen will
be confident and rightly so. Let's hope we give them a wee surprise.

27-08-2015, 08:39 PM
Anyone got Stubbsy's mobile number?

Attack, attack, attack...tempo, tempo, tempo.

We're like a tramps version of Barcelona. Or a night with me and the missus...tippy tappy with no penetration.

Grim.

To be fair, Stubbs has got things by and large right against decent sides. Possession in these games keeps them off your backs, and they are a bit more open to a decent counter. Tempo Tempo I agree with, but all out assault vs aberdeen could see us fleeced. If he's being cheeky, McInnes will follow the example set by Falkirk, Raith Rovers, Dumbarton et al..

27-08-2015, 08:40 PM
Was wanting Aberdeen or Celtic so happy. Good test for us to see how far we have come and how far we have to go. Aberdeen will
be confident and rightly so. Let's hope we give them a wee surprise.

To be fair I was wanting us to draw out the worst team possible so I was hoping for Kilmarnock at home.

Didn't want Aberdeen as early as the last 16.

27-08-2015, 08:42 PM
If you're going to win it you have to beat a good team on the way. Happy with this and the Yams in the next round would be fine (or another good outing to Killie).

Nutmegged
27-08-2015, 09:25 PM
In my opinion this is the toughest draw we could have got, Celtic obviously have the best players and the strongest squad but too often they tend to take these early rounds in the League Cup for granted and get pumped out but Aberdeen are desperate to put a marker down to secure their status as the 2nd best club in the Country, I'd have preferred Kilmarnock but this is the tie of the round without question and I hope Easter Road is rocking for it.

E10 Rifle
27-08-2015, 09:29 PM
Easy:flag:

27-08-2015, 09:43 PM
First thoughts were that Aberdeen were not a team we wanted to draw, but now that I`ve got used to the idea, a midweek cup-tie under the lights against a decent Aberdeen side is something to be really looking forward to. Hopefully it can attract a good crowd into Easter Road for what could be an entertaining encounter.

lugz
27-08-2015, 10:21 PM
Beggers belief how anyone thinks we can win this one, we're talking about the 2nd/3rd best team in the premiership vs the 2nd best team (sometimes) in the championship.

Their fans will travel in numbers looking forward to a party on behalf of us.

Sorry to burst peoples bubble.

27-08-2015, 10:35 PM
Beggers belief how anyone thinks we can win this one, we're talking about the 2nd/3rd best team in the premiership vs the 2nd best team (sometimes) in the championship.

I really don't see that much of a difference between the bottom of the SPL and the championship. Yeah, they're doing ok just now and think they're back in the big time whilst happily ignoring the fact they just got humped out of the Europa league qualifiers by a team of Albanian goat herders or something. We have the players and ability to hurt most teams in Scotland, all we need is a little bit of luck, a little bit of belief, a department you seem to be sadly lacking in. It isn't happy clapping, it's reality - we can do this, and I for one believe it firmly. GGTTH

27-08-2015, 10:42 PM

Well let's just no bother turning up then eh?

Away and ram that pathetic, defeatist attitude where the sun doesnae shine :aok:

lugz
27-08-2015, 10:46 PM
Well let's just no bother turning up then eh?

Away and ram that pathetic, defeatist attitude where the sun doesnae shine :aok:
And what has caused that "pathetic, defeatist attitude"?

28-08-2015, 12:50 AM
If that's the case there'll be under 10000 Hibby's which will totally detract from what should be an occasion.

Easter Road is total ***** when it's half empty. Cutting prices would at least show an intent to fill what's been a bit of a white Elephant for the last 5 years.

Aye ..... But at what point exactly would you like Hibs to start making money? The attraction of what could be a good game against the 2nd best team in the country who haven't visited Easter Road for nearly 18 months should surely be enough to attract folk through the gates at a reasonable price ... £20 for adults ... £10 for kids.

Like it or not the loss of the derby has cost us close on probably £100,000 in gate receipts alone ... How much do you think Wednesdays game made Hibs. Forgetting about cup top ups lets pretend everybody paid at the gate on the night and there were no students or pensioners paying £10

Crowd = 5,224

3/4rs adults = 3,918 x £15 = £58,770
1/4tr kids = 1,306 x 5 = £6,530
Total gate receipts = £65,300

Say it cost £10,000 to put the match on .... Police, stewards, electricity etc. That leaves £55,000 half of which goes to Stranraer leaving £27,500 for Hibs, before tax. I have no idea what the tax is, but I would guess its not unreasonable to shave £2,000 off the £27,500 leaving £25,500.

That amount of money wouldn't even pay the weeks wages for the players in the squad that night. Never mind our whole playing staff. coaches, physios etc etc.

Given the cup top ups and the fact that a crowd of 5,224 paying £15 for adults, £10 for students / OAPs and £5 for kids probably didn't even give a return of £65,300 in total at exactly what point do we look to try and make a reasonable profit so that if nothing else we can remain a full time club. There is a time and place for reduced prices .... IMO this game isn't it.

SJNB Hibby
28-08-2015, 01:10 AM
In my opinion this is the toughest draw we could have got, Celtic obviously have the best players and the strongest squad but too often they tend to take these early rounds in the League Cup for granted and get pumped out but Aberdeen are desperate to put a marker down to secure their status as the 2nd best club in the Country, I'd have preferred Kilmarnock but this is the tie of the round without question and I hope Easter Road is rocking for it.
Then Aberdeen away would have been tougher---but I agree with you point

Stokesy's on fire
28-08-2015, 06:12 AM

Aberdeen aren't that good. We can beat the sheep no pressure on us their arrogant ***** bag support will think they have won before a balls even been kicked and that suits us fine.

I hope our support turns up for the league cup game we can't let manky supports like Aberdeens come into our ground and think they own the place.

Stokesy's on fire
28-08-2015, 06:14 AM
Aberdeen is a club of delusion and fuddery. Hope we do them again and Richard Gordon is there to see it.

👍

28-08-2015, 07:40 AM

Sorry to burst peoples bubble.Do you actually watch football? If the better team always won it would be boring, thankfully that doesn't actually happen.

Don't worry, you haven't burst the bubbles of anyone who knows anything about football. Anything and everything can happen on the day.

28-08-2015, 07:42 AM
Good draw, looking forward to it.

28-08-2015, 07:47 AM
Tough draw no doubt about it.

lugz
28-08-2015, 08:14 AM
Do you actually watch football? If the better team always won it would be boring, thankfully that doesn't actually happen.

Don't worry, you haven't burst the bubbles of anyone who knows anything about football. Anything and everything can happen on the day.
Just being realistic, this is a team who have lost 3 games this season including against Dumbarton. Now all of a sudden that's going to change and we'll beat the second best team in the league above us...no chance.

The gulf between top 6 and championship is massive.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

28-08-2015, 08:19 AM
Just being realistic, this is a team who have lost 3 games this season including against Dumbarton. Now all of a sudden that's going to change and we'll beat the second best team in the league above us...no chance.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using TapatalkI'm being realistic, not you. There is never ''no chance'' in football. If you can muster 1 shot on goal you can win. We took Dundee United all the way last season and were 1 kick away from dumping them out, never guess who they beat over 90 minutes in the semi? Aberdeen.

If I had to put my life on it I'd say no, we wont win but it certainly isn't impossible. Gulf also isn't THAT big, Fyvie, McGinn, Fontaine, McGeough and a few more would all be fighting for places in top 6 teams.

Stokesy's on fire
28-08-2015, 09:12 AM

Should we be scared of Aberdeen? Derek Mciness has came out and said his best player is Andrew Considine....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWFGL4kbgVc

28-08-2015, 09:41 AM

Did you actually read the other posts before you wrote that?

The vast majority are saying we have little chance but are hoping for a good game and a big occasion, with fingers crossed that we might upset the odds.

What do you want people to do, just decide we've got no chance and not bother turning up?

28-08-2015, 09:44 AM

I think the score lines in the earlier rounds show that Hibs have a reasonable chance in this game. Aberdeen are good however lost to Dundee in the Scottish last season, who this week lost to a League 1 team in the cup. Bottom line is that the players in the Hibs squad are more than capable of giving Aberdeen a decent game in a one off match.

28-08-2015, 10:26 AM
We'll need to marked improvement in form and performances between now and the Dons game to have a chance. It isn't impossible by any means; Aberdeen aren't Barcelona, but we'll need to step up our game big time.

Stokesy's on fire
28-08-2015, 10:39 AM
We'll need to marked improvement in form and performances between now and the Dons game to have a chance. It isn't impossible by any means; Aberdeen aren't Barcelona, but we'll need to step up our game big time.

I think we will see a decent battle between Darren Mcgregor and Adam Rooney. All we need is one good break forward and aberdeens bottle will crash like it normally does in the cups.

28-08-2015, 10:53 AM

I agree there is nothing wrong with being realistic, but you are going too far by saying "no chance". That's just daft. One thing I've learned watching football (especially cup ties) over the years is that anything can happen.

The Sheep will be favourites no doubt about that, but if you look at some of the results so far in this competition lower league teams quite often knock out clubs from higher leagues. Dunfermline & Raith Rovers to name just two from the last round. There might have been others I can't recall.

I disagree that the gulf between the top 6 in the Premier league and the Championship is massive. Depends of course on how you define "massive". IMHO I don't think there's all that much to choose between most of the Premiership (I exclude Celtic) and Hibs and The Rangers especially.

EDIT: The last time Hibs played the team currently at the top of the Premier league, Hibs won 2-0.

james62
28-08-2015, 12:02 PM
This thread depresses me as it sums up how far we've fallen. For many years in the last 20 (even in bottom 6 seasons) we finished above Aberdeen and now we draw them in the cup at home and the general opinion is that we have little or no chance of winning the tie.

28-08-2015, 12:05 PM

jesus!

28-08-2015, 12:13 PM
I can't wait for this game. Playing against the utter dross in this division is boring, playing the sheep in front of a big crowd, with a good atmosphere will be a welcome change. I also think there's every chance we can beat them, they will come and try and play which will suit us.

28-08-2015, 12:32 PM

That's the spirit.

snedzuk
28-08-2015, 05:36 PM

too much bleating on this thread

(sorry!)

28-08-2015, 06:32 PM
I can't wait for this game. Playing against the utter dross in this division is boring, playing the sheep in front of a big crowd, with a good atmosphere will be a welcome change. I also think there's every chance we can beat them, they will come and try and play which will suit us.

Yip, this is a game i will attend and look forward to it too.

lugz
23-09-2015, 08:46 PM

Come on then, lets be having it! Hahahaha

What an idiot i am!

Enjoy your night everyone!!! :-)