View Full Version : Good luck Malmo

Pages : 1 [2]

25-08-2015, 09:08 PM
Lays crisps are amazing. Anyone know where you can buy them here? Seem to get them all over the rest of Europe no problem.

Lays are the same Crisps as Walkers, owned by PepsiCo. They felt they couldn't change the name in the UK from Walkers to Lays due to the consumer franchise with the name!

25-08-2015, 09:09 PM
Hahaha. What a brilliant random post.

Think DH1875 he saw the perimiter advertising boards at the game tonight

25-08-2015, 09:10 PM
Walkers should release the Lays Paprika flavour in the UK. Immense.

Anyway back on topic, Celtic lol.

25-08-2015, 09:11 PM
Lays crisps are amazing. Anyone know where you can buy them here? Seem to get them all over the rest of Europe no problem.
£3.90 for a 170g bag on Amazon :aok:

BurghHibby
25-08-2015, 09:11 PM
Expect to see Van Dijk leaving before Monday night now.

£10m my erse!!

25-08-2015, 09:12 PM
Walkers should release the Lays Paprika flavour in the UK. Immense.

Anyway back on topic, Celtic lol.

Walkers Paprika flopped a few years ago. Massive flavour in Germany, but the consumer taste buds didn't like it too much here.
Back on topic, Celtic are ooot

25-08-2015, 09:14 PM
£10m my erse!!

And I thought we were bad at set plays. Wonder if Peter Houston will come out tonight and say Celtic have a soft centre?

25-08-2015, 09:14 PM
Celtc are constantly selling their players - Dick Van Dijk will be going now. You can't do that if you want regular Champions League football; the elite level.

25-08-2015, 09:15 PM
Think DH1875 he saw the perimiter advertising boards at the game tonight

Yeah, was on the boards at the back of the players being interviewed as well. They really the same as walkers? If we take salt & vinegar as an example, do you think they taste the same? I don't, Lays are defo better.

25-08-2015, 09:17 PM
Sutton wanted to deck that presenter, raging lol

Stop plundering Scottish Club for player's on the cheap, then bemoan the lack of competition. Reap what you sow.......

25-08-2015, 09:18 PM
£10m my erse!!

Where is he going for £10 million. Everyone seems to think its a done deal. Also, anyone know if its true their other CB tonight is on £25k a week?

25-08-2015, 09:19 PM
Sutton wanted to deck that presenter, raging lol

Stop plundering Scottish Club for player's on the cheap, then bemoan the lack of competition. Reap what you sow.......

"Don't put words in my mouth", pointing at the wee presenter :-D

25-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Where is he going for £10 million. Everyone seems to think its a done deal. Also, anyone know if its true their other CB tonight is on £25k a week?

He came from Man City, so must have been offered good money to move on, he's hopeless though

BurghHibby
25-08-2015, 09:30 PM

Norwich interested seemingly

25-08-2015, 09:41 PM
Celtc.

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

25-08-2015, 09:46 PM
Celtic are poor. Players they've signed are never going to take them anywhere in Europe.

That young guy Allan might do the business for them.:greengrin

25-08-2015, 09:47 PM
That young guy Allan might do the business for them.:greengrin

Wonder if we were due an extra payment if they got through?

25-08-2015, 09:56 PM
Girfuy celtc

25-08-2015, 09:59 PM

The sour cream and onion or the cheddar cheese flavour you get in the USA are awesome, mind you so is the size of the bags and the price but they're yummy none the less.

25-08-2015, 10:00 PM
Anybody miss the good old days when a few clowns sustained the delusion that it was beneficial when a Scottish club won in Europe due to the coefficient?

bookert
25-08-2015, 10:04 PM
Totally disagree with that. Going to a Premiership side - Liverpool would have been my choice - would have been the making of him. Instead of progressing he's become a big fish in a small pond.
Totally outplayed tonight. Their midfield played round him and Biton.

25-08-2015, 10:22 PM
£10m my erse!!

I dinnae think Kim Kardashian insures hers for that much! :-)

25-08-2015, 10:29 PM
Anybody miss the good old days when a few clowns sustained the delusion that it was beneficial when a Scottish club won in Europe due to the coefficient?

Agree with your thoughts and although I have no love for Celtic whatsoever I do think the way things are going the Scottish game is fast becoming the backwater of European football. When clubs like Celtic, whether we like it or not are one of Europe's big clubs (fan base/history) struggle so badly to qualify for the CL, it really does show this country up. Years ago no one in Europe were prepared for the Scottish get into them attitude but now we all try to play like the Europeans with a fraction of the budget and Europe's cast off fringe players. This is all down to the ludicrous TV deals we don't have and others like England do. I don't want Celtic to get richer or stronger but it is worrying that our top team can't hack it.

25-08-2015, 10:59 PM
I had £50 on malmo at 2/1 I was going to do £100 but I bottled it

Nazz
26-08-2015, 03:52 AM
Here in Asia, it's Lay's crisps. Cucumber flavour is surprisingly refreshing, but I'm still hunting for salt & vinegar.

26-08-2015, 06:35 AM
Anybody miss the good old days when a few clowns sustained the delusion that it was beneficial when a Scottish club won in Europe due to the coefficient?Yes. Doesnt matter if 40 Scottish clubs qualified for europe. Theyd still all be out by the 3rd rd.

26-08-2015, 07:08 AM
Agree with your thoughts and although I have no love for Celtic whatsoever I do think the way things are going the Scottish game is fast becoming the backwater of European football. When clubs like Celtic, whether we like it or not are one of Europe's big clubs (fan base/history) struggle so badly to qualify for the CL, it really does show this country up. Years ago no one in Europe were prepared for the Scottish get into them attitude but now we all try to play like the Europeans with a fraction of the budget and Europe's cast off fringe players. This is all down to the ludicrous TV deals we don't have and others like England do. I don't want Celtic to get richer or stronger but it is worrying that our top team can't hack it.

Years ago celtic wouldn't have had to go three rounds just to qualify. The format is all wrong and you'll rarely see a club from a smaller league do well these days. No danger the champions of Scotland should have to go through three rounds when other countries have 3&4 teams at a time in the comp.

26-08-2015, 07:32 AM

I think it's mainly due to some nations being allowed to have multiple teams enter the competition after the qualifying rounds and other nations having to qualify against other small teams before they get a shot at the real money. The dice are heavily loaded in favour of the richest leagues and that won't change anytime soon because money rules the game.

26-08-2015, 07:36 AM
Years ago celtic wouldn't have had to go three rounds just to qualify. The format is all wrong and you'll rarely see a club from a smaller league do well these days. No danger the champions of Scotland should have to go through three rounds when other countries have 3&4 teams at a time in the comp.

Beat me to it. The Champions League is bought nowadays and then won. The paradox is that we're paying towards our own demise, you just have to have a look at any school playground in Scotland and see what football shirts the kids are wearing

26-08-2015, 07:51 AM
The paradox is that we're paying towards our own demise, you just have to have a look at any school playground in Scotland and see what football shirts the kids are wearing

Pointed this out a few weeks ago. We were at the sports centre in Maryhill, Glasgow and when we came out there was a kids football team training. Must have been 20-30 kids there and just about all of them had either a Barca, Real Madrid or Chelsea shirt on. Only 2 of them had a celtic shirt and none had a rangers all of which seemed a bit strange given we were in Glasgow. Highlight though was the wee guy running about in his Hibs shirt :)

26-08-2015, 10:50 AM
The biggest question from last night is who will Van Dijk join in the next few days and also how completely overrated is he. His defending will be hugely exposed in EPL IMO.

26-08-2015, 11:05 AM
Nae joy celtic :na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na:

Delighted.

ENDOF

26-08-2015, 11:39 AM
The biggest question from last night is who will Van Dijk join in the next few days and also how completely overrated is he. His defending will be hugely exposed in EPL IMO.

Will teams be queuing up to sign a centre-half who plays for a team who lost that many goals from corners/ crosses into the box against a team like Malmo?

(I say that having not seen in any detail who was picking up who at the goals, but at a distance they didn't look like goals any centre-half would be very happy about losing).

He sprays a few nice passes about but a defender's bread and butter is basic defending, no?

26-08-2015, 12:44 PM
Had a wee peek at Kerrydale Street this morning and one point that was almost universally agreed upon was Celtic look unfit and disinterested.

Not sure of the truth in that but an interesting accusation to level at a side with John Collins involved. It's well forgotten now but despite his commitment to fitness, being unfit was an accusation made about his Hibs team as well before he left, including by Mixu who replaced him.

26-08-2015, 12:52 PM
Had a wee peek at Kerrydale Street this morning and one point that was almost universally agreed upon was Celtic look unfit and disinterested.

Not sure of the truth in that but an interesting accusation to level at a side with John Collins involved. It's well forgotten now but despite his commitment to fitness, being unfit was an accusation made about his Hibs team as well before he left, including by Mixu who replaced him.

That's honestly not how I remember it.

Our form had certainly dropped off by the time he left but I remember us looking in tip top shape when we beat Rangers at Ibrox. There was a clip on youtube for a while of us playing keep-ball - the movement to keep that going so late in the game and against a good side was a joy to behold.

There was certainly something "not right" by the time he left, I'm sure he alienated much of the playing staff with his management style and his signings were simply crap.

But I don't remember ever thinking we weren't fit.

I would say that it has been a comment of pretty much every incoming Hibs manager though going right back to Mowbray. Every one of them has criticised the condition of the players as they came in and we trusted every one of them to turn it around. I have absolutely no idea who was ever right or wrong but I keep on hearing about how fit our current crop are yet see less evidence on the park that this is the case.

Sometimes games at the very highest level are decided by the finest of margins though and (I'm purely speculating here) sometimes players don't look like they want to go the extra mile for certain managers/ management teams/ management styles/groups of teammates. That could possibly be mistaken for lack of fitness. That's why managers like Mowbray or Stubbs would - for me - carry a lot of favour over the likes of John Collins or Terry Butcher. And why we might look "fitter" now we've got Scott Allan away.

Zorro
26-08-2015, 12:57 PM
I don't care that Celtic never made it through last night.

I care that the greed of the champions league has turned Europe's top competition into a nepotistic money making machine where the self-interest of the richest clubs from the richest countries is all that matters.

26-08-2015, 12:59 PM
Will teams be queuing up to sign a centre-half who plays for a team who lost that many goals from corners/ crosses into the box against a team like Malmo?

(I say that having not seen in any detail who was picking up who at the goals, but at a distance they didn't look like goals any centre-half would be very happy about losing).

He sprays a few nice passes about but a defender's bread and butter is basic defending, no?

Agree entirely he was hopelessly caught out for the vital second away goal in the first leg, went for the header and lost it leaving the guy he was originally marking to score the goal.

26-08-2015, 01:05 PM
Commons not happy with the chefs comment that his team looked scared last night and were frightened to take the ball and do something with it.

26-08-2015, 01:08 PM
Commons not happy with the chefs comment that his team looked scared last night and were frightened to take the ball and do something with it.

Did seem a very odd comment and can imagine the players not liking it much.

26-08-2015, 02:46 PM
Did seem a very odd comment and can imagine the players not liking it much.

Maybe Commons looking for a move now that they are out the CL.

26-08-2015, 02:50 PM

Don't think Mixu claimed the players were unfit.

As with us, I wonder if an intensive pre-season is making Celtc look a little slow. It's still very early in the season for Scottish teams.

26-08-2015, 04:29 PM
I don't care that Celtic never made it through last night.

I care that the greed of the champions league has turned Europe's top competition into a nepotistic money making machine where the self-interest of the richest clubs from the richest countries is all that matters.

Nutmegged
26-08-2015, 04:34 PM
The autopsy is well underway, must admit I did enjoy this analysis of events last night, actually highlights how poor Ronny Deila's game plan was

https://insidescottishfootball2012.wordpress.com/2015/08/26/the-fear-that-was-closer-to-home/

26-08-2015, 04:43 PM

I think cause Scottish football has sunk so low that they now have play qualifying rounds.
After last night and last year as well I can see why, they're no very good a would get thumped had they got through

26-08-2015, 04:57 PM
I think cause Scottish football has sunk so low that they now have play qualifying rounds.
After last night and last year as well I can see why, they're no very good a would get thumped had they got through

I think too many excuses are made for our top teams.

There will be gnashing and wailing about the standard of opposition in Scotland and the low budget that Celtic have but they were undone by Malmo by not being able to defend against a basic cross into the box. 3 goals from corners and another one when they failed to defend and clear a cross. Footballing basics. The analysis in a post above of Delia's tactics is a fair one too, but there is no way that Celtic can blame anyone other than themselves for the fact that they were knocked out.

It's been the same for years, they make excuses but fail to square up to their own shortcomings.

A decent manager can create and motivate a side that can do a lot on not much money. It's too easy just to give in to bigger sides. Somebody mentioned a while back that this will be the 7th year in a row that Ross County have finished above us. Do you hear them moaning about not having as much money as us? No, they just go out and do the best with what they have and by using it cleverly they've consistently got the better of us.

Same with us accepting mediocrity at International level just because we're a small country. Fine, we're not as big as Germany, England or Brazil but what about Croatia, Denmark, Ireland or Portugal - even Wales.

We were minging when we recently got into Europe but in truth we shouldn't have been there and it was an embarrassment watching us represent the country in the way we did. Hopefully we'll be better prepared the next time we get a crack at it but the reason we were crap was entirely 100% of our own making.

Aberdeen didn't do too badly this year, they came through a tricky tie and were a bit unlucky in another. We don't seem to hear too many excuses from them and I hope to see them do better still if they get there again next year.

MoscowHibs
26-08-2015, 06:42 PM

What flavour ye needing, I will take ye back from Russia if ye like. The bacon is braw.