View Full Version : Is Alan Stubbs the right man to get Hibs up?

Greenworld
24-08-2015, 01:41 PM
I almost hate myself for posting this but was discussed by 6 hibs fans at the weekend my self included all of us over 50 so we go back a lot of managers . I was surprised that 4 out of the 6 thought that the risky appointment is proving just that.
Not a witch hunt , goals aside I dont think we are far away, but interested in what others think.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

24-08-2015, 01:42 PM
deary me, Yes

24-08-2015, 01:42 PM
That Italian manager Julio Viagra would get us up.

24-08-2015, 01:47 PM
In answer to the question posed - YES. YES. YES. A thousand times YES :gwa:

24-08-2015, 01:49 PM
He has my backing 100%:agree:

24-08-2015, 01:52 PM
He is the the manager so right now he is the only manager who can get us up. I've not heard anyone suggest we should get rid of him.

24-08-2015, 01:57 PM
I hope so, but have serious doubts about him.

24-08-2015, 01:58 PM

24-08-2015, 02:08 PM
I have no doubts about him. His team are very good. He manages players well on a 1:1 basis. He does have plenty to learn. But in my view he will go on to manage at a Prem level in a few years time.

24-08-2015, 02:14 PM
We wont know the answer to that question until the end of the season. Up until that point we need to back the team and give him the benefit of any of our doubts. I for one am a little worried by a couple of things, but will continue to support him , the team , and the club ...

24-08-2015, 02:16 PM
He has my backing 100%. I am ever hopeful he can rid himself of "the winning **** all" mentality bred into him at Everton.

TheFamous1875
24-08-2015, 02:18 PM

Apparently Erect Cantona's looking to blood himself into management, Erections he'd be a stick-on to take us up. Nothing set in staun though, could all just be premature phallacy.

fulshie
24-08-2015, 02:21 PM
This is a question that shouldn't be asked so early in the campaign. Am all for people having opinions but we should be backing Stubbsy and standing tall together. GGTTH

Nemo
24-08-2015, 02:37 PM
i really like stubbsy, i think the players like and respect him too

not the most insightful or tactical comment, but there you go.

24-08-2015, 02:39 PM
He has my backing 100%. I am ever hopeful he can rid himself of "the winning **** all" mentality bred into him at Everton.

However he can comfort himself in the knowledge that he played for the only club with integrity and the rightly proclaimed for the People's club in that city. :greengrin

Nemo
24-08-2015, 02:41 PM

I see what you did there.

24-08-2015, 02:45 PM
The fact that after all the rebuilding and good work between Stubbsy and Dempster that an unlucky 1-0 defeat at Ibrox has raised questions over the mans job. He has my backing and will do for the foreseeable future

24-08-2015, 02:49 PM
Far too soon to be doubting Stubbsy...its a big YES from me. As most have already posted we need to unite as a support and get behind the club...nothing is won or lost after 3 matches!!

24-08-2015, 02:51 PM
I'll admit that I'm one of the people who questioned the decision to give him a new contract at the start of this season, as I don't think he's done anything to deserve one, but I've never had anything but belief that he's capable of getting us promoted.

24-08-2015, 02:55 PM
Yes

24-08-2015, 02:58 PM
However he can comfort himself in the knowledge that he played for the only club with integrity and the rightly proclaimed for the People's club in that city. :greengrin

The Peoples club a Jose type Moyes distraction tactic!

24-08-2015, 02:58 PM
Certainly has my support to continue as manager, though that's a different question to whether he will get the team promoted. Only time will tell on that. It won't be easy this season, but fingers crossed.

Slim Shady
24-08-2015, 03:02 PM
The background work and whole restructuring of the playing side of the club has been implemented by Alan Subbs. Hibs were miles behind on this considering the facilities we have at EM and no wonder we haven't seen any benefits of East Mains.

This now in place it still won't happen in one two season but we will see the benefits of Stubbs off field work in years to come.

However, promotion is a must and I really don't think it will happen this year (automatic). We are assembling an excellent young squad which would do well on the Premiership. Just need to get there. If we had a decent striker we are close to having a squad that resembles Tonys- era.

24-08-2015, 03:16 PM
The Peoples club a Jose type Moyes distraction tactic!

Not sure they two people should be in the same sentence. :greengrin

Nemo
24-08-2015, 03:20 PM
I think we should be talking about this instead naw :agree:
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3867085.1440412229!/image/3237051666.jpg_gen/derivatives/carouselWideDeriv_352px/3237051666.jpg‘Free the Nipple’ protesters go topless in Edinburgh
(http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/free-the-nipple-protesters-go-topless-in-edinburgh-1-3867088)

That poor wee lassie's fell look, hud tae get a couple o plasters.

24-08-2015, 03:25 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3867085.1440412229!/image/3237051666.jpg_gen/derivatives/carouselWideDeriv_352px/3237051666.jpg‘Free the Nipple’ protesters go topless in Edinburgh
(http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/free-the-nipple-protesters-go-topless-in-edinburgh-1-3867088)

Is that the only photo of the 'Free the Nipple' protestors without a nipple in it?

Off the bar
24-08-2015, 03:32 PM
wow thats thrown a curve ball into the thread! Reminds me of an interview with Jim Duffy on sportscene many years ago when they were ribbing him about a picture of Duffy and the 2 finalists of miss Dundee (insert your own joke here), they were making all the usual cracks about options up top when Duffy chipped in that they'd been lacking 'penetration' that season, cue a very quick cut back to the studio and a change of subject!

24-08-2015, 03:38 PM
Given the shambles we were in 12 months ago, he's done a remarkable job. Not sure anyone else could have done much better. Time to judge Stubbs will be at the end of the season. IMO our promotion hopes will be determined by a lot more than the manager. LD's transformational changes at Hibs are key.

24-08-2015, 03:42 PM
Yes he is

24-08-2015, 03:46 PM

24-08-2015, 03:51 PM
100% backing from me. Even if we don't go up this year our club is getting stronger and will do well to hold on to our management team for a number of years.

24-08-2015, 03:53 PM
Is that the only photo of the 'Free the Nipple' protestors without a nipple in it?

There's a few totally topless blokes ones going aboutif that floats your boat

24-08-2015, 04:26 PM
He has my backing but juries out imo.

24-08-2015, 04:37 PM
Without a huge amount of cash like rangers i reckon most managers would be in the same predicament. ...we will pick up but i reckon we will be here another season

24-08-2015, 04:43 PM
Remind me just who was the last "safe pair of hands" appointment?

It was supposed to be TB? And before him Blobby? Even with the dosh McLeish petered away... Maybe it was Yogi with his fourth place?

See, when it comes to Hibs nothing is simple.

Alan's the man for me for now happy to have him on board but even he's learning his trade.

24-08-2015, 04:44 PM
cabt believe this is being questioned. 100% yes.

24-08-2015, 04:45 PM
Yes

24-08-2015, 04:47 PM
Ask me again at the end of May.

24-08-2015, 04:47 PM
It's not unwelcome, quite the opposite, but interesting that we've gone from criticising managers for cup final and European results or not getting higher into the top six to backing a manager who has been losing at the likes of Dumbarton and Alloa and shipping six goals at home to Rangers.

I like him a lot but we have to see much better this year surely?

24-08-2015, 04:50 PM

Your edit is the funniest thing about this post :tee hee:

24-08-2015, 05:06 PM
It's not unwelcome, quite the opposite, but interesting that we've gone from criticising managers for cup final and European results or not getting higher into the top six to backing a manager who has been losing at the likes of Dumbarton and Alloa and shipping six goals at home to Rangers.

I like him a lot but we have to see much better this year surely?

Not much better-surely just one place higher?

24-08-2015, 05:07 PM
Yes. He'll get us up.

24-08-2015, 05:13 PM
First manager I've had confidence in for a while. He inherited a shambles and has played a big role in turning things around.

We've had a shaky start, due to injuries and a certain destabilising influence, but onward from here. This team WILL improve.

24-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Yes I believe he is.

Nutmegged
24-08-2015, 05:39 PM
Is Stubbs the man to get us up? I'd say Yes although it might take longer than we'd normally expect a Hibs manager to take, unprecedented times in the Championship with ourselves Hearts and Sevco all in it, I do think we would have beaten Motherwell in the Play-Off's a few months ago.

Stubbs will take us up, if not this Season then definitely next.

24-08-2015, 06:08 PM
Never has a Hibs manager had to inherit such a shambles as we were and then been faced with the perfect storm that was last years Championship. As far as I can see AS has done as good a job as any other manager a club in our position could have hoped to attract in the same situation.

He does do the odd thing I don't agree with ............... Our poor choice of opposition in pre season being one. On Sunday I would have taken a chance on young Dunsmore when Gray got injured and hooked Carmichael for McGough further forward.

But I am sure Stubbs will come good ..... Of course, as back up I'm still hoping that football legends Regan and Doncaster will help us out :greengrin

bill the hibby
24-08-2015, 06:14 PM
Definitely the man to take us forward, his inexperience shows at times where he makes the wrong subs or sets the team up with the wrong tactics but we seen it click last season when we went on our run, hopefully more of that this season

24-08-2015, 06:34 PM

24-08-2015, 06:55 PM
Jury is still out! He makes some strange decisions when trying to change a game IMO. I keep hearing about how much of a shambles he inherited etc etc, but other teams have been in worse positions and turned things around in one season. My issue is that he doesn't seem to be able to get the best out the players or team consistently.

Everything seems to to be a bit of a struggle, if we want promotion then we need to be dominating most of our games start to finish and putting games out of sight. Last season and what I have seen this season is that we are still struggling to do that.

Cheshire Hibby
24-08-2015, 07:21 PM
We wont know the answer to that question until the end of the season. Up until that point we need to back the team and give him the benefit of any of our doubts. I for one am a little worried by a couple of things, but will continue to support him , the team , and the club ...

My thoughts also. Will keep the faith and keep supporting him, LD and the club.

yekimevol
24-08-2015, 07:55 PM
Im seriously in shock over this thread; The Gaffer has gotten us to a scottish cup semi final last year and 2nd in the league. This season and last we have been up against ... physically powerful teams and to make it worse this season a team with a massive budget that will decimate all. If this was any other two championship seasons we would have went up both times as champions.

Allan fixed a shocking situation last year and brought the feel good factor back to easter road, giving time this season he will do it again (Bear in mind; boyle, carmichael, keatings, McGinn his signings for the new season are injured or short of full match fitness due to injury's in the preseason).

24-08-2015, 08:28 PM
Im seriously in shock over this thread; The Gaffer has gotten us to a scottish cup semi final last year and 2nd in the league. This season and last we have been up against ... physically powerful teams and to make it worse this season a team with a massive budget that will decimate all. If this was any other two championship seasons we would have went up both times as champions.

Allan fixed a shocking situation last year and brought the feel good factor back to easter road, giving time this season he will do it again (Bear in mind; boyle, carmichael, keatings, McGinn his signings for the new season are injured or short of full match fitness due to injury's in the preseason).Not disagreeing with most of this but reaching the cup semi last year was no achievement given the easy draw we got and I`d say the semi defeat was one that certainly got people questioning at least Stubbs as manager even if we were unlucky to lose .

24-08-2015, 08:48 PM
First manager I've had confidence in for a while. He inherited a shambles and has played a big role in turning things around.

We've had a shaky start, due to injuries and a certain destabilising influence, but onward from here. This team WILL improve.

I think this is still relevant to a small degree, but a year on we should have cleared the cobwebs.
Given that Rangers are far improved from last year, my benchmarks for assessing the season;

We should be strong enough for 2nd at least. If Rangers do a Hearts and storm it, Id be surprised if we could match that.
We should be good enough to win both play off matches - but of course you can play well and lose.
If we finish 3rd or worse, or blow it in the play offs, then its not meeting expectations.

Im pretty sure that Alan Stubbs understands what our weakness are (taking chances, defensive lapses). We have an improving squad, I think we will go up this time round, and Alan will enter the SPL on a bit of high, hopefully slightly better gates/money etc..

Folk like Scott Alan need identified early, and punted (in the nicest possible way for cash if possible), in order to keep the squad tight and willing to go the extra mile for each other.

Stubbs is still learning, but Im 100% behind the guy.

24-08-2015, 09:04 PM
I think this is still relevant to a small degree, but a year on we should have cleared the cobwebs.
Given that Rangers are far improved from last year, my benchmarks for assessing the season;

We should be strong enough for 2nd at least. If Rangers do a Hearts and storm it, Id be surprised if we could match that.
We should be good enough to win both play off matches - but of course you can play well and lose.
If we finish 3rd or worse, or blow it in the play offs, then its not meeting expectations.

Im pretty sure that Alan Stubbs understands what our weakness are (taking chances, defensive lapses). We have an improving squad, I think we will go up this time round, and Alan will enter the SPL on a bit of high, hopefully slightly better gates/money etc..

Folk like Scott Alan need identified early, and punted (in the nicest possible way for cash if possible), in order to keep the squad tight and willing to go the extra mile for each other.

Stubbs is still learning, but Im 100% behind the guy.

You state we should be good enough to win both play off matches But what we don't know at the end of a tiring season is ,who will be suspended,who will be injured ,and if we finish the season like we started it ,injury wise ,that would hamper our chances and which players are tired eg like Stevenson was last season but we had no cover due to injuries .
So these unknown factors mean it can still be a bit of a lottery come the final two games
So the players we bring in before the window slams shut need to be capable of playing in the first team and making an impact as they may be needed at the Business End of the Season .

bookert
24-08-2015, 09:06 PM

Allan fixed a shocking situation last year and brought the feel good factor back to easter road, giving time this season he will do it again (Bear in mind; boyle, carmichael, keatings, McGinn his signings for the new season are injured or short of full match fitness due to injury's in the preseason).
Tin hat on, but citing cup semi final given who we played and subsequently got beat by, ain't much of an argument.

Purple & Green
24-08-2015, 09:17 PM
We still don't win enough winnable games. Giving sevco a six point start is making things hard for ourselves. Winning through four or six play off games is a big ask.

Stubbs? I'm like many of you, I want to believe.

Sent from my iPhone, apologies for the random capital letters and autowrongs

24-08-2015, 09:17 PM
You state we should be good enough to win both play off matches But what we don't know at the end of a tiring season is ,who will be suspended,who will be injured ,and if we finish the season like we started it ,injury wise ,that would hamper our chances and which players are tired eg like Stevenson was last season but we had no cover due to injuries .
So these unknown factors mean it can still be a bit of a lottery come the final two games
So the players we bring in before the window slams shut need to be capable of playing in the first team and making an impact as they may be needed at the Business End of the Season .

I agree with what you are saying. All I mean is that I believe that Stubbs will have a team/squad that is better than Falkirk, QOS, St Mirren/2nd bottom SPL team. I agree that all kinds of things can go wrong in the playoffs, I just believe that Stubbs has got us good enough to be considered as favourites to win by this route. Unfortunately, unless Rangers have some sticky patches, Im not convinced we will win the league. But I wouldn't call Stubbs a failed manager should this end up being the case.

25-08-2015, 12:09 AM
He still has my backing but I am starting to ask a few questions.

He inherited a total shambles and did a great job to get us turned round and moving in the right direction again so quickly. His signings have been of a high standard and his decisions relating to who joins and who leaves have been generally excellent.

The "Scott Allan saga" really wasn't a situation of his making and he dealt with it as well as could ever have been expected.

I get frustrated that we never seem ready for the start of a season. The 3 points you get for winning the first game are worth as much as those if you win the last game and by not being prepared for the start of the season we've handed Rangers a massive psychological boost. They're going about creating a "fear factor" that based on Sunday's performance they really don't deserve - I don't see any reason why we couldn't/ shouldn't have been doing the same.

I get an air of complacency about him. It's fine to have confidence but I just think that at too many critical points this season we'll find ourselves bemoaning the fact that we missed chances and deserved to get more from games, whereas I tend to think you get what you deserve from games where you don't take your chances.

Hope I'm wrong though.

Nutmegged
25-08-2015, 12:56 AM
We still don't win enough winnable games. Giving sevco a six point start is making things hard for ourselves. Winning through four or six play off games is a big ask.

Stubbs? I'm like many of you, I want to believe.

Sent from my iPhone, apologies for the random capital letters and autowrongs

You're first point is 100% correct and indisputable, I'm not sure it's a Stubbs trait though, it is definitely a Hibs trait, we don't win anywhere near enough winnable games and we certainly don't win anywhere newr enough winnable big games

25-08-2015, 05:55 AM
Difficult to say. He failed in his first season, the reasons put forward were the slow start, team not yet built, unfit players, inherited shambles ... etc. He wanted to put that right so that this season we get off to a good start - he's failed to do that comprehensively.
It's too early to say we won't win the title or make it through the play-offs, but nothing about his team currently convinces me that they can do either. It could yet all come good though ...

25-08-2015, 06:30 AM

Same for me. He's obviously a great man-manager. The rest is still to be seen.

25-08-2015, 06:50 AM
Of course. Excellent manager

25-08-2015, 07:17 AM

With the squad we've got we should be destroying teams in this league.

I know it's only the start of the season but so far, it looks like we are making the same mistakes as last season.

To support that, i know we've played 433 so far but it looks like he's stocking our squad to go with the diamond again.

We've only got 3 players that can play wide and after binning Harris, he's actively trying to shift Stanton meaning that it'll drop us down to 2. Hearts wingers enabled them to romp this league last year. Playing with the diamond is alot easier to defend against as opponents only really need to defend the width of the box.

The other thing that concerns me is Stubbs always seems to take an age to make a sub. The Henderson situation on Sunday was ridiculous. He was blowing out his hole from about 55 mins leaving us 1 short in midfield for most of the second half and he decides to sub him in the 88th minute. :confused:

Arch Stanton
25-08-2015, 09:20 AM
And who exactly was the better option that would have safely overcome rangers to win the league at a canter? The underlying assumption of this thread is that such a person exists after all - Stubbs was 'riskier' than who exactly?

And of course this safe manager would have recruited prolific goal scorers, lightning fast wingers, a creative yet resolute midfield and of course a rock solid defence - yes, I suppose that does make sense.

25-08-2015, 09:43 AM
I think Stubbs is the man but with any rookie manager he makes mistakes in either tactics, personnel etc, what we need is for Stubbs to learn as quickly as possible from his mistakes.

My biggest worry with Stubbs is his insistence with young players with potential, this in itself is good that we have a manager looking towards the future but we're still missing that wee bit of experience especially in the midfield, McGinn, Henderson, Stanton, Handling and even McGeouch are all fairly young aged between 19-22 years. You could say Bartley is that experienced guy but even I was surprised he didn't play on sunday, the holding midfielder to allow attacking players the freedom.

Getting the out of contract guys signed was good but the farce of the injuries and the squad looking like they were not ready prep wise is a concern, also the delay to get any form of cover for the back 4 raises a few questions on his management.

For me the jury is still out, my glass is half full and not half empty.

ScapeGoat
25-08-2015, 05:59 PM
I'm trying boys. must try harder.

Big L
25-08-2015, 07:20 PM
I hope he stays for a very long time I like the football we play a destined for bigger things!!nd I can't believe that anyone would consider getting rid. You have to remember the mess we were in at the start of last season and the quality of players he has brought to the club! I'm not saying for a minute that everything in the gardens rosie but when you consider the limited funds available to him you have to wonder what he could achieve with bags of cash to spend. Mark my words, the day will come when we as Hibs fans will be sorry to see him leave because Stubbs is going places, he is destined for bigger things!!

AL-Qaholik
25-08-2015, 11:13 PM
Good football. Decent recruitment policy. Mediocre results. I have faith but it's dwindling a bit...

Chibs
26-08-2015, 12:16 AM
Alan Stubbs is the real deal in my opinion.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHrLPs3_1Fs&list=RDZS0WvzRVByg&index=3

Tinribs
26-08-2015, 01:41 AM
I almost hate myself for posting this but was discussed by 6 hibs fans at the weekend my self included all of us over 50 so we go back a lot of managers . I was surprised that 4 out of the 6 thought that the risky appointment is proving just that.
Not a witch hunt , goals aside I dont think we are far away, but interested in what others think.

I think he is the right man for the job, but then i am only 45 and not over 50. Maybe those extra years will make me lose my brain. Though i doubt it.

147lothian
26-08-2015, 07:58 AM
Stubbs is the best we can get, he was no 2 for long enough in the premiership, could have remained no 2 but wanted to be his own boss, his signings and the way he has the team playing speaks for itself IMO, I think the players buy into his footballing philosophy, remember when we thought we had a proven spl manager in Butcher, that's what can happen, and who else could we attract in the championship? in Stubbs I trust!

26-08-2015, 08:14 AM
If only he would stop playing so many defenders at home against teams who are sitting in. Against Morton we had Gray Hanlon Fonts Stevenson plus defensive mid Bartley. Absolutely no need. Lets have two up front and wingers out wide in a 352 at home.....starting tonight please.

26-08-2015, 09:02 AM
If only he would stop playing so many defenders at home against teams who are sitting in. Against Morton we had Gray Hanlon Fonts Stevenson plus defensive mid Bartley. Absolutely no need. Lets have two up front and wingers out wide in a 352 at home.....starting tonight please.

This, I said on the team thread that 3 defenders should cope with 1 striker and an attacking midfielder, lets attack these teams and start to dominate them.

26-08-2015, 09:12 AM
I think this thread is more interesting than some are giving it credit for. We could just consider the facts and one fact is he didn't get us promotion last season. If you stop at that then you'd conclude that he wasn't the right man. You could look deeper in to the situation and also for any impression of improvement. I think we all get some impression of improvement and therefore probably conclude that we could possibly go one better than last season. I prefer gut instinct, which can change as time goes on but so can statistics. My gut instinct is that we will win promotion this season, perhaps as champions and perhaps not but my instinct is we will win promotion. Do I attribute all of the factors that could lead to our promotion to the manager? No I don't but the question is can he win us promotion and that implies considering the teams around us and those who might finish at the bottom of the SPL.

26-08-2015, 10:45 AM
I think this thread is more interesting than some are giving it credit for. We could just consider the facts and one fact is he didn't get us promotion last season. If you stop at that then you'd conclude that he wasn't the right man. You could look deeper in to the situation and also for any impression of improvement. I think we all get some impression of improvement and therefore probably conclude that we could possibly go one better than last season. I prefer gut instinct, which can change as time goes on but so can statistics. My gut instinct is that we will win promotion this season, perhaps as champions and perhaps not but my instinct is we will win promotion. Do I attribute all of the factors that could lead to our promotion to the manager? No I don't but the question is can he win us promotion and that implies considering the teams around us and those who might finish at the bottom of the SPL.

Ultimately he will be judged based on whether or not he gets promotion.

But you have to acknowledge that it has been a daily unprecedented few years for Scotland's second tier.

(With the benefit of hindsight) to expect him to inherit Butcher's omnishambles and finish above Hearts' well-prepared outfit last season would have been beyond unrealistic. He improved all aspects of our team in a short space of time, apart from our ability to create and take clear-cut chances and kill teams off in the final third. This was ultimately our undoing in the semi-final and in the play-off. So in spite of the poor start last year, he didn't miss by much.

This year, unfortunately, it looks like Rangers have got their act together and will take a bit of beating. I still hold out hope that we can challenge and finish above them but even if we don't we may still do it via the playoffs. It's a bit of a lottery but still possible.

When you set your standards and aim high (as I think Hibs, Dempster and Stubbs himself have) yet fall slightly short then ultimately it still has to be classed as a failure. But that doesn't necessarily tell the whole story.

If we went up this year via the play-offs and held onto our current squad then I'd be confident we'd be able to at least hold our own in the Premier League next year. On paper, failing to win the league at either attempt might appear to be a failure but I'd say that that would actually be a successful outcome.

26-08-2015, 11:18 AM
Would this thread actually be here if Cummings had scored one of his many chances and if rangers hadnt been awarded a non-free kick then managed to convert with perfect precision accuracy?

I dont think so.

Most of the "issues" folk have with Stubbs are being magnified because of this start to the season. We went from having a good chunk of our team out (including our "best" player turning up for half the match) and getting slapped heavily to losing by one goal to the closest rivals we have in the space of weeks....

If we are failing to turn over teams consistently between now and Christmas, then questions need asked.

Not now, particularly in the manner by which we lost to rangers. It doth not compute....:aok:

26-08-2015, 11:21 AM
Yes. He has an eye for a player and has made some great signings where as managers in the past have brought in un-heard of journey men.

Theres no doubt that he still has a lot to learn but hes still young for a manager and is new to the role but I think he is the right man.

26-08-2015, 12:01 PM
Stubbs is the best we can get, he was no 2 for long enough in the premiership, could have remained no 2 but wanted to be his own boss, his signings and the way he has the team playing speaks for itself IMO, I think the players buy into his footballing philosophy, remember when we thought we had a proven spl manager in Butcher, that's what can happen, and who else could we attract in the championship? in Stubbs I trust!

I'm not disagreeing with the majority of your post but Stubbs was a youth coach at Everton, not assistant manager.

26-08-2015, 12:13 PM
We have a manager in his first managerial role, we have to expect some mistakes. However I have been really impressed with how quickly he has stepped up to it.

I fully believe he will get us back to where we should be, so yes he is the correct manager.

26-08-2015, 03:10 PM
I can't see anyone else better than Alan at the moment.

If we're bottom at Xmas I suppose Yogi Hughes might fancy another shot. He may be joining us in the Championship next year anyway!

familyman
26-08-2015, 03:52 PM
It is all to easy to find fault and no one is perfect, but L.D and board appointed him and while it is a concern he is a managerial novice who has made some errors..who hasn't? He is I believe a sincere man who will give 100% and seems to me at least while perhaps taking a little longer than I had personally hoped to sort it all out he has indeed a good overview of what is wrong with the team and how to correct it..no -one could do better at this time..He cannot be expected to turn around YEARS of underfunding of the team in one season, but he clearly said last time around we will not be going through this play off carry on again .if at all possible ,that perhaps was a result of the tension last season and our failure to gain promotion.He will be very aware of our stuttering start and also trying to stay positive with his press releases etc ,while at the same time improving the team as best he can..He has my full vote and backing ,but like so many of us we wish it would all happen sooner rather than later....the turmoil in the Butcher period has left that feeling .
Once we actually start putting the ball in the net against the best then we will know we are on the way back fast.If the team show the same belief as Alan then we will have little to worry about.

26-08-2015, 04:47 PM
Playing devils advocate here but what happend IF we don't win promotion or at the very least, make the playoff final?

26-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Playing devils advocate here but what happend IF we don't win promotion or at the very least, make the playoff final?

If both of these things happened , I guess he would have to go.

If however we run Rangers close but narrowly Miss out on automatic promotion , and lose despite putting in a good final performance - I'd give him another year.

26-08-2015, 09:04 PM
No he's not. Cleary hasn't learned anything from last season and could be argued weve went backwards since then. Four centre mids didn't work then and it doesn't work now. Sorry to say but were garbage and that's not just based on tonight

26-08-2015, 09:08 PM
If we don't get up this year then I'm afraid he's failed and I'd like us to try something new. However, I believe he will get us up - probably via playoff.

ScapeGoat
26-08-2015, 09:09 PM
No he's not. Cleary hasn't learned anything from last season and could be argued weve went backwards since then. Four centre mids didn't work then and it doesn't work now. Sorry to say but were garbage and that's not just based on tonight

It`s not the ideal result - far from it - but the players are under no illusions what I expect. There were too many who were not at it today.

26-08-2015, 09:12 PM
I'm not suggesting for a second we should get rid of him but alarm bells are ringing for me.

26-08-2015, 09:14 PM
First time I've begun to doubt Stubbs tonight.

Had the wrong tactics in the first half, nothing worked. The same team and set up appeared after second half.

It's either stubbornness or total tactical ineptitude.

Regardless of injury problems it seems the team is totally demotivated, Stubbs seems unable to get them fired up.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

E10 Rifle
26-08-2015, 09:15 PM
It`s not the ideal result - far from it - but the players are under no illusions what I expect. There were too many who were not at it today.

Not sure I agree with his assessment. I think there were some fairly competent individual performances; for me our tactics were to blame for such a dull game; that's down to him and his staff.

26-08-2015, 09:15 PM

Had the wrong tactics in the first half, nothing worked. The same team and set up appeared after second half.

It's either stubbornness or total tactical ineptitude.

Regardless of injury problems it seems the team is totally demotivated, Stubbs seems unable to get them fired up.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

I agree with this.

It is dreadful at times.
Really

26-08-2015, 09:29 PM
Not sure I agree with his assessment. I think there were some fairly competent individual performances; for me our tactics were to blame for such a dull game; that's down to him and his staff.

I agree with this. Most worrying aspect is we have some very talented players yet are struggling big time against opponents ranging from poor to absolute *****.

26-08-2015, 09:35 PM
To coin a phrase - the whole is vastly less than the sum of it's parts.

26-08-2015, 09:37 PM
I really just don't know.

A lot of people are waxing lyrical about the players in our squad yet we dropped a hell of a lot of points last season, have dropped 6 points and been horsed out a cup already this season and huffed and puffed to unconvincing wins against 3 piss poor teams.

There has to be a problem somewhere and the insistence on playing the game at walking pace is certainly part of that and that must be coming from the manager. Stubbs has to change something about how we approach games against the lesser lights this season or he's going to find us well adrift from Rangers and himself under pressure in not time.

Godsahibby
26-08-2015, 09:44 PM
A year in the job and still does not have the tactics in place to break down teams who sit in and when things are obviously not working a there is an unwillingness to change.

I don't believe we should be looking elsewhere, Stubbs is the man for the job. He is young and he does need to learn from his mistakes because more performances like that the fans will soon start to get on his back.

26-08-2015, 09:45 PM
By the sound of it tonight was a good game to miss.

If Stubbs can evolve his tactics to include pace and width, then yes.

If he persists with trying to bore the opposition into submission with tippy-tappy tedium then I have my doubts.

brassmonkeybar
26-08-2015, 09:46 PM
After tonites lacklustre display (not the first ive watched this seadon either) then im not sure he is. He doesnt seem to know how to or just doesnt want to change things during a game when things arent happening. May be stubbornness and hopefully not a lack of tactical nous, but it certainly makes it easy for opposition managers to set up against us

26-08-2015, 09:46 PM
We need to change our style and be more direct.

We can't afford to score 1 goal and hang on - teams showed last season 1v0 usually isn't enough.

I really hope before the transfer window shuts he signs a left wide midfielder who can score some goals and another striker who has a presence to mix it up.

Last season it was a slow start with a squad not ready...

This season it's a pretty slow start and the excuse of injuries / time to gel..

We have no excuses this season and I fear unless we change our style - teams will do exactly what happened last season against us and take a few points off us here and there.

26-08-2015, 09:47 PM
A lot of clowns on here. Most fickle fan base in the world. After all the hard work in the past years to get fans back to Easter road and get the fans loving the club again, people are doubting after 5 games this season. Pitiful, just pitiful...

edwards
26-08-2015, 09:50 PM
I still think Stubbs will get us there, It was always going to be a hard game tonight, couldn't make this one but didn,t come across as a rip roaring success. Keatings fist 10 minute spell and feel he will be a good partnership with with Cummings and need Farid backs soon. Heard Malonga wants away as another club is interested and feel Stubbs has ran out of patience with him.
Not even seen the team for tonight but sure once our new players are more settled in we will move forward. Didn't think there was anything wrong with Stubbs tactics at Ibrox and basically we should have won.
The cups the cup how many times Have I seen the hibs put out by teams like this the list is endless. :rolleyes:

26-08-2015, 09:51 PM
A lot of clowns on here. Most fickle fan base in the world. After all the hard work in the past years to get fans back to Easter road and get the fans loving the club again, people are doubting after 5 games this season. Pitiful, just pitiful...

Some of us never stopped loving the club and didn't need to be enticed back because we never left and yes I'm having doubts. If that makes me a clown so be it.

I'd say ignoring the evidence before my eyes and pretending we are a brilliant team ready to mount a serious challenge for the title would make me more of a clown but there you go.

26-08-2015, 09:52 PM
Some of us never stopped loving the club and didn't need to be enticed back because we never left and yes I'm having doubts. If that makes me a clown so be it.

I'd say ignoring the evidence before my eyes and pretending we are a brilliant team ready to mount a serious challenge for the title would make me more of a clown but there you go.

We're a striker away from being title contenders. Anyone with a pair of eyes on Sunday would have seen that.

E10 Rifle
26-08-2015, 09:55 PM

Sorry you're wrong - this doubting thread was started after 4 games.

26-08-2015, 09:56 PM

I have a real phobia of clowns can you PM me who they are 😳

inglisavhibs
26-08-2015, 09:56 PM
I'm not suggesting for a second we should get rid of him but alarm bells are ringing for me.
Tonight was really worrying for me. The balance of the team was all wrong from the start with four central midfielders and width only provided by full backs. No disrespect to McGregor or Stevenson but they are hardly players who will cause fear in opposition defenses. We then had Boyle who is a wide player playing as an ineffective striker, he doesn't have the guile, touch or awareness to play up front. Our play is laboured and slow in midfield allowing teams to get behind the ball all too easily. Eventually we have to play it wide but normally to the full backs where it all just grinds to a halt. First touch forward where possible should be the instruction to our midfield whereas we are happy to turn back all too often. We were toothless as a team and created very few real chances. Also worrying is our fitness level, how can part time Stranraer finish stronger than us? It's early days for this season but for me the manager hasn't learned a great deal from last term.

26-08-2015, 09:58 PM

It's either stubbornness or total tactical ineptitude"

The last line is the worry. Stubbs has built his own team and I suspect the money involved in signing the guys he's brought would suggest he's been backed to the hilt by the board?

What worries me is that he's not getting the best out of what would seem to be a pretty talented squad. Hindsight is a great thing, but I question getting rid of Booth and leaving us without competition for Stevenson. Wide left has still not been addressed! Too many central midfielders and not enough width. It was screaming out last season, we had no plan B and it's still the case.

It is asking a lot of a rookie manager and maybe that is the key. Stubbs needs to get the tactics right, however, I can't help thinking we've shot our bolt. The window is closing and we lack in key areas. Is there anything left to spend . Probably not and if that's the case then we make do. Unfortunately, that is the managers responsibility and if we don't achieve the target, Stubbs will pay the price

26-08-2015, 09:59 PM
We're a striker away from being title contenders. Anyone with a pair of eyes on Sunday would have seen that.

Playing well against teams who actually had attacking intent wasn't a problem last season and probably won't be this season either.

It's the other 32 games this season where we play teams that have no intention to do anything other than sit with 10 men behind the ball that will be the problem, exactly as it was last season. It's not a striker we lack. It's drive, tempo, creativity and cutting edge.

We played a team tonight who have started this season with 2 defeats in League 1 including a 4-0 pumping from Peterhead and I don't even need one hand to count how many chances we created. If people are happy seeing the ball passed to death at walking pace 60 yards from goal then good for them but it's a problem that cost us last season and has already cost us this season and will continue to do so.

26-08-2015, 10:01 PM
Sorry you're wrong - this doubting thread was started after 4 games.

Scary stuff!

26-08-2015, 10:01 PM
In one word, no

26-08-2015, 10:04 PM
Playing well against teams who actually had attacking intent wasn't a problem last season and probably won't be this season either.

It's the other 32 games this season where we play teams that have no intention to do anything other than sit with 10 men behind the ball that will be the problem, exactly as it was last season. It's not a striker we lack. It's drive, tempo, creativity and cutting edge.

We played a team tonight who have started this season with 2 defeats in League 1 including a 4-0 pumping from Peterhead and I don't even need one hand to count how many chances we created. If people are happy seeing the ball passed to death at walking pace 60 yards from goal then good for them but it's a problem that cost us last season and has already cost us this season and will continue to do so.

To be fair, I understand the frustration from some fans but again, tonight we had 20 odd shots on goal, 14 on target and scored 1 goal. Now for me, that's been our biggest downfall. If we get in a striker who scores more chances than he misses then we'll be laughing. Look at the game from Sunday and some of the chances we missed. If we had taken our chances then we'd be sitting here praising Stubbs after thumping them at Ibrox but in football, if you don't score, you don't win and that's where the problem is just now, in my opinion and I think Stubbs knows that and will rectify that before the window shuts on Tuesday.

inglisavhibs
26-08-2015, 10:06 PM

Spot on mate, we have strikers who can score goals but our lack of drive, pace, strength and ability to beat a man from the midfield and wide areas means far too few chances in games where teams sit back.

26-08-2015, 10:12 PM

This is the answer :agree:

We can play well against attacking teams - if we were in top league I actually think we would be ok.

However like last season it's teams that park the bus - sit in.

We must have a PLAN A - PLAN B and PLAN C to break them down - Shots from distance / dribble past players / long balls - passing like Barca without Messi and co doesn't work for us as we don't have the players to wear teams dow consistently.

26-08-2015, 10:16 PM
This is the answer :agree:

We can play well against attacking teams - if we were in top league I actually think we would be ok.

However like last season it's teams that park the bus - sit in.

We must have a PLAN A - PLAN B and PLAN C to break them down - Shots from distance / dribble past players / long balls - passing like Barca without Messi and co doesn't work for us as we don't have the players to wear teams dow consistently.

The problem is we don't pass the ball like Barcelona, or a very much watered down variant.

They pass the ball quickly and move it all over the place drawing teams out to them then have the pace and guile to get in behind when they achieve that. When they lose the ball they hunt in packs to get it back and can move the ball 50 or 60 yards in 3 passes and a few seconds.

We pass the balls across the back line 4 or 5 times then end up floating an aimless chip towards the strikers as we run out of options and still have a wall of opposition players in front of us.

26-08-2015, 10:17 PM
We have too many similar players in McGinn, Fyvie and McGeough. They all play pretty little passes that go nowhere. We still lack pace and don't have a decent striker. I just don't think we are good enough to challenge for the league

26-08-2015, 10:18 PM
I personally think AS mentality is for EPL football and definitely not our game. Our balance tonight was shocking, we looked slow all over the park and when we played the game faster we scored all be it from an OG ( though I believe we would have scored that if defender never ).

Stranraer finished the game stronger and looked hungrier and at home with one striker on against Stranraer ( no disrespect to them ) but it's not what I want to watch. Oxley's time wasting at the end was in my opinion where we are, scared to loose a goal because we can't score 2 or 3 in a game and kill a team off.
So my summery is AS can pick a player and the board as far as we know have backed him well, but and I'm not being negative just honest in my opinion someone needs to give AS lessons on tactical awareness and how to change a formation if needed .
One last thought we had yogi with three strikers up front and AS with one, I know for tonight's game which I would have preferred.

26-08-2015, 10:20 PM
The problem is we don't pass the ball like Barcelona, or a very much watered down variant.

They pass the ball quickly and move it all over the place drawing teams out to them then have the pace and guile to get in behind when they achieve that. When they lose the ball they hunt in packs to get it back and can move the ball 50 or 60 yards in 3 passes and a few seconds.

We pass the balls across the back line 4 or 5 times then end up floating an aimless chip towards the strikers as we run out of options and still have a wall of opposition players in front of us.

That's true - maybe not a good comparison.

Like Malmo last night they press really well - something I wish we would do more - lack of fitness?

Our slow build up - means teams get back and organised and waste little effort as we are so slow on the ball.

26-08-2015, 10:22 PM
We need to get Malonga back in. Around the semi final period last year we learned surely that we play better with him. Get Malonga and Keatings in and give them a few games.

26-08-2015, 10:28 PM
We need to get Malonga back in. Around the semi final period last year we learned surely that we play better with him. Get Malonga and Keatings in and give them a few games.

You'd drop Jason? I think he is our main goal threat looks lively as well.

26-08-2015, 10:31 PM
You'd drop Jason? I think he is our main goal threat looks lively as well.

I would just now, yes. I just don't really get it with him. As a team I think we need something else. We are struggling to score against some pretty poor teams.

I'd play Malonga and I don't think him and Cummings work as a pair.

26-08-2015, 10:33 PM
I would just now, yes. I just don't really get it with him. As a team I think we need something else. We are struggling to score against some pretty poor teams.

if I needed a current Hibs player to score to save my life. I'd choose Jason every time...He will end up our top scorer this season. i wouldn't drop him

26-08-2015, 10:37 PM
if I needed a current Hibs player to score to save my life. I'd choose Jason every time...He will end up our top scorer this season. i wouldn't drop him

He might but maybe at the expense of the team getting more goals generally. He scored plenty last year but we weren't convincing as an attacking team.

26-08-2015, 10:39 PM
I've always been right behind Stubbs and remain so but alarm bells are starting to ring for me. He has signed a whole lot of really good players who should do enough even on an off day to breeze most of the teams we're up against. For the vast majority of games we totally outplay our opponents but I can't remember the last game I've sat and watched Hibs take a team apart, scored loads and look like the team we should be with the players we have (the Rangers games last season apart). I was on holiday for the Montrose game so can't comment on that one.

It doesn't seem to matter who we bring in, our shooting, free kicks, corners and general attacking play is ineffective. In one off games you get this but over the course since we've been in a lower division is worrying to say the least.

We really need this to change fast or I for one will be having my doubts and I really don't want to go down that road again right now.

26-08-2015, 10:39 PM
He might but maybe at the expense of the team getting more goals generally. He scored plenty last year but we weren't convincing as an attacking team.

nobody else is scoring. that can't be because of Jason..I wouldn't drop the one who is.

26-08-2015, 10:42 PM
I've always been right behind Stubbs and remain so but alarm bells are starting to ring for me. He has signed a whole lot of really good players who should do enough even on an off day to breeze most of the teams we're up against. For the vast majority of games we totally outplay our opponents but I can't remember the last game I've sat and watched Hibs take a team apart, scored loads and look like the team we should be with the players we have. I was on holiday for the Montrose game so can't comment on that one.

It doesn't seem to matter who we bring in, our shooting, free kicks, corners and general attacking play is ineffective. In one off games you get this but over the course since we've been in a lower division is worrying to say the least.

We really need this to change fast or I for one will be having my doubts and I really don't want to go down that road again right now.

It's early in the season. After an unsettling summer. Keep the faith.

26-08-2015, 10:43 PM
nobody else is scoring. that can't be because of Jason..I wouldn't drop the one who is.

He's not helping others to score is he? The way we play we need more of a focal point up front and someone who can bring others into the game.

He will score goals, of course he will but with who we have in the squad and who we are up against we should be getting a barrow load of them from all over.

26-08-2015, 10:48 PM
We didn't get more goals last season because our midfield didn't back the strikers up with their share of goals, to suggest that Cummings is the problem because he scores goals is a first even for this site.

26-08-2015, 10:55 PM
We didn't get more goals last season because our midfield didn't back the strikers up with their share of goals, to suggest that Cummings is the problem because he scores goals is a first even for this site.

So part of the game of a striker isn't to bring the midfield in and create opportunities for them?

It's just all about either scoring or missing with little in between and that is not working for the team overall.

26-08-2015, 11:00 PM
I would love to be proved wrong but for me we will still be in this league next season through AS inexperience.

So far he's been unable to change formation when needed and doesn't seem to be able to grasp the idea that we should be playing high tempo football from the off in this division trying to steamroller teams NOT tippy tappie pish looking to hang onto 1 nil leads against part time footballers.

Maybe he likes this slow tempo possession football because our players stamina and conditioning are not up to the required standard. :rolleyes:

Like I said I hope Alan proves me wrong on all counts. GGTTH.

26-08-2015, 11:01 PM
He's not helping others to score is he? The way we play we need more of a focal point up front and someone who can bring others into the game.

He will score goals, of course he will but with who we have in the squad and who we are up against we should be getting a barrow load of them from all over.

One of the most bizarre posts I have ever read regarding a striker and his goals. After 30 odd years of watching top class football and one of the best goalscorers of his era I never once heard him being described as not helping others to score goals!

26-08-2015, 11:05 PM
One of the most bizarre posts I have ever read regarding a striker and his goals. After 30 odd years of watching top class football and one of the best goalscorers of his era I never once heard him being described as not helping others to score goals!

Sorry but what are you on about?

26-08-2015, 11:10 PM
Sorry but what are you on about?

My thoughts exactly.

26-08-2015, 11:19 PM
My thoughts exactly.

I've no idea who you are talking about as one of the best goal scorers of his generation or the relevance to Jason Cummings.

If you don't get my simple point then maybe you should watch football for the next 30 years a bit more closely.

A striker can't just be about scoring goals, perhaps unless you are talking about an exceptional return that carries the team to where it should be.

Think Mixu or Brewster as examples of what I am saying we need.

A striker that scores a goal every week could be less use to a team than one whose presence and general link up play means the team score two or three instead.

Nothing really bizarre about that concept.

26-08-2015, 11:22 PM

FWIW I think I'm with you on this.

I like Cummings, I think he's our best striker, his all-round play is improving and as was mentioned elsewhere if there was a Hibs striker who had to score to save my life then it would be him.

But we cannot ignore the fact that it is just not happening for us in the final third. And you cannot just pick your best players and shoehorn them into a formation - you have to have a game plan and players who complement each other (look at England wrestling for a decade or so over what to do with Lampard and Gerrard when it was clear they couldn't play together).

Whilst I 100% don't think he is the problem - I don't even think he is in the least bit deserving of criticism - sometimes you have to face uncomfortable truths and take difficult decisions. For the good of the team we may need to try a forward line that doesn't have Jason in it.

Although I'd like to see him get a shot in a 3-5-2 with either Farid or Keatings. If Keatings is mobile and clever then maybe that's exactly what he needs.

26-08-2015, 11:24 PM
I'm going to reserve judgement until after the raith rovers game in Saturday. First time I've seen Hibs in the flesh since we lost to QOTS at ER last season.

And if we loose on Saturday I'll stay away, promise :greengrin

26-08-2015, 11:24 PM
So part of the game of a striker isn't to bring the midfield in and create opportunities for them?

It's just all about either scoring or missing with little in between and that is not working for the team overall.
Of course it is and holding the ball up and bringing others into play may not be his strongest attribute, but he's still young and learning his trade. I don't know of any team in the country who would consider dropping their main goal threat, we need to be bringing in someone to do the job your talking about.

26-08-2015, 11:25 PM
I've no idea who you are talking about as one of the best goal scorers of his generation or the relevance to Jason Cummings.

If you don't get my simple point then maybe you should watch football for the next 30 years a bit more closely.

A striker can't just be about scoring goals, perhaps unless you are talking about an exceptional return that carries the team to where it should be.

Think Mixu or Brewster as examples of what I am saying we need.

A striker that scores a goal every week could be less use to a team than one whose presence and general link up play means the team score two or three instead.

Nothing really bizarre about that concept.

Haha that's ludricous, strikers score goals and you want them to score as many as possible with the midfield and other team mates chipping in when they can. To suggest you would be happy to sacrifice a strikers return so that others can score is indeed a concept, one that needs to go back to the drawing board or an FM game as it has no place in the real game. Cummings is not a fantastic footballer, he is a goalscorer, poacher who delivers the goods he will never be anything else in my opinion.

26-08-2015, 11:34 PM
SH, not taking sides on this but I think what A74 is trying to say Cummings scores goals but when does he lay it on for others to score. If he laid the ball into others more often then the team could maybe score 2-3 not just the one he puts away.

Disclaimer, if that's not what A74 is on about then I too am goosed at his point he's trying to make, if this is his point then I agree with him 100% Cummings needs to understand the game is a team sport and not just about him trying to shoot at every opportunity when an easier option for a goal is available.

26-08-2015, 11:35 PM

I like Cummings, I think he's our best striker, his all-round play is improving and as was mentioned elsewhere if there was a Hibs striker who had to score to save my life then it would be him.

But we cannot ignore the fact that it is just not happening for us in the final third. And you cannot just pick your best players and shoehorn them into a formation - you have to have a game plan and players who complement each other (look at England wrestling for a decade or so over what to do with Lampard and Gerrard when it was clear they couldn't play together).

Whilst I 100% don't think he is the problem - I don't even think he is in the least bit deserving of criticism - sometimes you have to face uncomfortable truths and take difficult decisions. For the good of the team we may need to try a forward line that doesn't have Jason in it.

Although I'd like to see him get a shot in a 3-5-2 with either Farid or Keatings. If Keatings is mobile and clever then maybe that's exactly what he needs.

I agree with all the views here. Some poachers like Jason are fantastic to have in your team but Andy's also right that strikers need to play for the team and bring others into play to get goals, which Jason tries to do. But we're crying out for a proper front man, Farid would fit the bill but will he ever be fit to do it?

26-08-2015, 11:40 PM
I would love to be proved wrong but for me we will still be in this league next season through AS inexperience.

So far he's been unable to change formation when needed and doesn't seem to be able to grasp the idea that we should be playing high tempo football from the off in this division trying to steamroller teams NOT tippy tappie pish looking to hang onto 1 nil leads against part time footballers.

Maybe he likes this slow tempo possession football because our players stamina and conditioning are not up to the required standard. :rolleyes:

Like I said I hope Alan proves me wrong on all counts. GGTTH.

Agree with this. Hopefully he proves me wrong too. If we're still down here next season. I want him out despite what the guy has done for the club. A club the size of us shouldn't be stuck down here for 3 seasons.

QMU-1875
26-08-2015, 11:40 PM
Being honest the last two home games have been absolutely boring to watch. We got the results but more out of luck than anything else. Very worrying times for us, again.

JJP
27-08-2015, 12:21 AM
Do we have to do this at the beginning of every Hibs manager's second season :rolleyes:

27-08-2015, 12:30 AM
I didn't go tonight as I was working but listening to everyone's thoughts on the game it's quite amazing that after most of the transfer window and 3-4 games into the new season we are worse than what we were last season, how on earth can we have more money in the pot due to share issues, yet we are now playing Fenlonesque football.

We cried out for width and pace, we have Carmichael and Boyle with Harris off to QOS, so no one else if they two get injured.

Stevenson seems to be having a real mare this season, he's been very steady for about 3 seasons then suddenly he's turned into a very poor player overnight.

Cummings is still young and his form is inconsistent, Malonga looks even more uninterested than he did last season, both struggling for goals, Farid well, who knows when??

The injuries are a big concern, the Dutch bloke laughed at Stubbs methods, maybe he was right and we've over worked them.

Pre season was an absolute joke, not enough friendlies, none against bigger decent teams to test ourselves, they've started the season looking anything but sharp, there's fit and then there's match fit.

We very rarely play with any pace and when you look at the squad we don't have that much pace there, it is a worry.

The squad still looks very very unbalanced, too many central midfielders, not enough width and far too any players suddenly losing all kind of form. We have gone from an exciting entertaining team we were all happy to watch, to a bunch of blokes who look like they've just been pushed onto the park 5 minutes before kick off and haven't a clue how to play with each other.

27-08-2015, 05:42 AM

Were you there tonight?

Did you see the tactical failings, we had a pretty decent striker in Jason on the park, it's not as if he missed a glut of chances? There is no creation so he doesn't get a sniff.

What would you expect a new striker to do to make us a super team?

27-08-2015, 05:44 AM
I didn't go tonight as I was working but listening to everyone's thoughts on the game it's quite amazing that after most of the transfer window and 3-4 games into the new season we are worse than what we were last season, how on earth can we have more money in the pot due to share issues, yet we are now playing Fenlonesque football.

We cried out for width and pace, we have Carmichael and Boyle with Harris off to QOS, so no one else if they two get injured.

Stevenson seems to be having a real mare this season, he's been very steady for about 3 seasons then suddenly he's turned into a very poor player overnight.

Cummings is still young and his form is inconsistent, Malonga looks even more uninterested than he did last season, both struggling for goals, Farid well, who knows when??

The injuries are a big concern, the Dutch bloke laughed at Stubbs methods, maybe he was right and we've over worked them.

Pre season was an absolute joke, not enough friendlies, none against bigger decent teams to test ourselves, they've started the season looking anything but sharp, there's fit and then there's match fit.

We very rarely play with any pace and when you look at the squad we don't have that much pace there, it is a worry.

The squad still looks very very unbalanced, too many central midfielders, not enough width and far too any players suddenly losing all kind of form. We have gone from an exciting entertaining team we were all happy to watch, to a bunch of blokes who look like they've just been pushed onto the park 5 minutes before kick off and haven't a clue how to play with each other.

Good post.

Unfortunately if the performance isn't better on Saturday Stubbs will be under pressure.

27-08-2015, 05:53 AM

I have doubted him at times but thought he done an excellent job of being just that at Ibrox. We're at the point now where you have to start questioning why our system isn't working to suit our best players

27-08-2015, 06:44 AM
Stating the obvious, Raith is a big match for Hibs and Stubbs. Don't care how Hibs win games at the moment, as long as we win. We can't afford to lose/draw winnable matches waiting for players to recover form, injuries to clear and Stubbs to find his best formation.

IMO Stubbs is the right man, he deserves credit for building an excellent squad of players - easily the best in the Champ (excl Sevco). But the pressure is now firmly on him to find how best to use them, and for the players to repay his faith in them.

27-08-2015, 06:59 AM
I hope Stubbs is the man to take us up. Doubts after playing a daft formation with 4 central midfielders and 1 up front. Should have been 3-5-2.

Saturday's game will be a tough test.

27-08-2015, 07:11 AM
Stating the obvious, Raith is a big match for Hibs and Stubbs. Don't care how Hibs win games at the moment, as long as we win. We can't afford to lose/draw winnable matches waiting for players to recover form, injuries to clear and Stubbs to find his best formation.

IMO Stubbs is the right man, he deserves credit for building an excellent squad of players - easily the best in the Champ (excl Sevco). But the pressure is now firmly on him to find how best to use them, and for the players to repay his faith in them.

I'm not sure the latter is the case.

We have a very good squad however, we are central midfield heavy, we lack a creative player in there, we have no cover at left back (and an average one in pole position) and we have very little wide option up top with not left sided player. On top of this we have a team with no naturally fast players (Boyle aside).

I would say we have squad of individually good players but there were gaping holes in the balance of our side that have not been addressed. I've not heard Stubbs once mention the 'balance' of his side.

27-08-2015, 07:17 AM
Do we have to do this at the beginning of every Hibs manager's second season :rolleyes:

"Do we have to do this" because that is what a lot of us are saying about watching Hibs. You can't expect anything else when you see our performances in relation to our supposedly very decent squad.

E10 Rifle
27-08-2015, 07:25 AM

S.

Agree, if they're not going to be played as wingers what are they in the side for? I'm concerned about Carmichael though, he doesn't look much of a player to me on the early evidence.

renato
27-08-2015, 07:55 AM
Agree, if they're not going to be played as wingers what are they in the side for? I'm concerned about Carmichael though, he doesn't look much of a player to me on the early evidence.

Carmichael will a be a great player for us when 1) he's match fit / sharp and injury free and 2) Stubbs plays him in his natural position, right wing. The boy was class for QOS and we subsequently snap him up, yet shove him out on the left because we still haven't signed a left winger yet.

All very frustrating.

27-08-2015, 08:00 AM

I think he's doing quite well at bringing others into the game. Did so in the Petrofac game, won a penalty in that game, laid one on a plate for Henderson at the weekend.

The question shouldn't be Malonga or Cummings, they both need to play! The 5 wins on the bounce to end last season, we mostly played 4-3-3 with those 2 and Boyle up front rotating. That's the way to go

Stubbs has to realise that he can only pick a maximum of 3 from Fyvie, McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson, Bartley etc. And at least one of the 3 needs to get into the box regularly

As others have said, it's more about the tempo than the team selection IMO

27-08-2015, 08:13 AM

It's the Terry Butcher school of football logic.

Drop the striker who scores the goals that makes him the League's top scorer and replace him with someone else.

The opposition are then confused and become scared because they don't know where the danger is coming from.

Simples.:cb

hibbymick
27-08-2015, 08:16 AM
It's the Terry Butcher school of football logic.

Drop the striker who scores the goals that makes him the League's top scorer and replace him with someone else.

The opposition are then confused and become scared because they don't know where the danger is coming from.

Simples.:cb

IMO its an experienced striker he needs beside him to help him develop. We need a Mixu or a Brewster beside him.

27-08-2015, 08:22 AM
I really just don't know.

A lot of people are waxing lyrical about the players in our squad yet we dropped a hell of a lot of points last season, have dropped 6 points and been horsed out a cup already this season and huffed and puffed to unconvincing wins against 3 piss poor teams.

There has to be a problem somewhere and the insistence on playing the game at walking pace is certainly part of that and that must be coming from the manager. Stubbs has to change something about how we approach games against the lesser lights this season or he's going to find us well adrift from Rangers and himself under pressure in not time.

I can just imagine the turmoil that would ensue if i had written that post. Stubbs has been brought in to take us into the SPL or whatever its called these days, and season one he failed.

Season 2 has started poorly, but we will be one of the clubs that reach the play offs, i'm certain of that.

Should we go up, then he will be the right man, if we don't then he's not. Unprecedented times these last 2 season may be, but you have to remember we built the foundations of the club, new stadium, new training centre, ALL the tools are in place for us to have a good chance of challenging in the top tier of Scottish football.

I like Stubbs, i like the way he speaks but ultimately this is a results business, and there has to be a certain amount of enjoyment too.

I watched the Morton game the other week, and to be perfectly honest, it was boring. No atmosphere, no urgency and little to get me excited about coming back soon.

27-08-2015, 08:22 AM
IMO its an experienced striker he needs beside him to help him develop. We need a Mixu or a Brewster beside him.

Is that not Farid? Need him fit and available.

27-08-2015, 08:24 AM
Haha that's ludricous, strikers score goals and you want them to score as many as possible with the midfield and other team mates chipping in when they can. To suggest you would be happy to sacrifice a strikers return so that others can score is indeed a concept, one that needs to go back to the drawing board or an FM game as it has no place in the real game. Cummings is not a fantastic footballer, he is a goalscorer, poacher who delivers the goods he will never be anything else in my opinion.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you aren't being deliberately thick about this. I'm not criticising Cummings. He is can important player but as a team we are struggling to score goals overall. Yes I'd be happy for a striker to score less if the team scored more. To suggest anything else is crazy.

Are you suggesting if your striker scores in a 1-1 draw you would be happier than if we win 2-1 with two midfielders scoring?

hibbymick
27-08-2015, 08:25 AM
Is that not Farid? Need him fit and available.

Hopefully.

27-08-2015, 08:26 AM
Players appear to have confidence issues. There is no swagger in the team. They should be expecting to hump team like last night and Raith on Sat.

27-08-2015, 08:26 AM
Hopefully.

Farid will not be rushed. another Farid type player will be joining very soon.

hibbymick
27-08-2015, 08:31 AM

27-08-2015, 08:42 AM
Last season I really enjoyed watching the team pass the ball and considering how Butcher had us play it was like a different sport.

We are now at a crossroads as we have similar players as the year before - opposition teams know how we play but we aren't adapting or mixing it up.

Even people on here with limited understanding of the game can see we need pace and width still.

I like Stubbs and want him to be successful - he conducts himself in a good manner etc but this season there are no excuses and it's all about results.

27-08-2015, 08:48 AM

Some players take longer to settle at a bigger club but agree have seen him in three games now and tidy but don't see any pace and hasn't had impact .

The problem for Stubbs just now is fitting the new players in and players coming back from injury ,and then McGregor is signed ,and before Transfer Window we will sign another player possibly two .

We missed the runs of Gray wide right last night as that caused Moton all kinds of problems and led to Cummings goal .last night the ball was coming to Cummings but he was having to control it and faced a packed defence ,everyone was resorting to trying to hit the ball through a packed defence making it easy to block the ball for defenders .
It is the same problem as last year minus the dribbling skill of Dare I say it Scott Allan and his occasional ability to play that defence splitting pass .

Some players looked tired and jaded at times and yet they will need to go again against Raith which was a team that caused us problems in a couple of games but especially sitting in and hitting on the break .
One issue that Stubbs identified was that the Midfield needed a player with power and drive ,that could break moves up but start our own attaching moves .that player was Bartley and he hasn't featured in the last two games .
So we are still trying to figure out where to play players to get best oot of team

Islington Hibs
27-08-2015, 08:56 AM
A random look at these posts is quite interesting - while most back him disquiet is building a bit.

As far has I am concerned he has had a near impossible task. Last season we did pretty well considering the competition falling just short.

This season we on paper have a good team but so far are not firing on all cylinders. It is made all the more galling by Hearts success but that is not Stubbs fault. Again promotion is a tough gig. The Rangers have 4-5 our gates and our budget. I would agree we should come second and still think we will but the problem is not really Stubbs- it was the mess he inherited and the bad luck to go down with Hearts and Rangers in the same league.

We need to get real here- while we all desperately want back in the top division the odds of doing so were always going to be 50/50 at best and if we do probably through the play-off's so I would not just judge our manager on promotion-frankly it is a bonus if we do achieve it (and that is not lack of ambition it is harsh economic reality). We have
had is it 10 managers in as many years which is an embarrassing joke. Stubbs is our first manager for quite a time that I think may well be the real deal and while we may lack the cutting edge we are playing some decent football- promotion or not, unless this season is a disaster, he deserves our support.

As an aside I think Dempster is not the hire and fire sort- I would be fairly confident she will run with him next season whether we go up or not.

27-08-2015, 09:06 AM
It's very early days in the season and we're clearly lacking confidence, but things can change quickly. A couple of games where we score a few goals and we're back in business.

Should we fail to be win promotion, should we stay with Stubbs for a third season, or would you want change no matter what?

27-08-2015, 09:18 AM
SH, not taking sides on this but I think what A74 is trying to say Cummings scores goals but when does he lay it on for others to score. If he laid the ball into others more often then the team could maybe score 2-3 not just the one he puts away.

Disclaimer, if that's not what A74 is on about then I too am goosed at his point he's trying to make, if this is his point then I agree with him 100% Cummings needs to understand the game is a team sport and not just about him trying to shoot at every opportunity when an easier option for a goal is available.

He did that last week and Henderson missed. I think some people are expecting a bit much from Jason if they think he's going to score most of our goals and set up the rest. What are the other players going to do.

27-08-2015, 09:23 AM
As others have said on this thread, its tempo were missing, no use passing it all over the place and keeping posession if theres no real penetration, we need to be playing a more uptempo game, 1-0 against stranraer is just not good enough and please dont tell me about the players we have on papwer are bla bla bla its not going to wash without actually trying to attack. Pick up the pace and get stuck in. It worked for the yams with less quality than us.

27-08-2015, 09:28 AM
I think it's a disgrace that some people are questioning Alan Stubbs. After last night's game, I've decided that he is, in fact, a Tactical Genius.

He set out his team to play in such a way as to bore the opposition into submission. It worked perfectly, as the Stranraer player was obviously nearly comatose when he knocked the ball into his own net.

We need to up our game a bit for the weekend and try to get the goalie to fall asleep half way through the match.

27-08-2015, 09:28 AM
It's very early days in the season and we're clearly lacking confidence, but things can change quickly. A couple of games where we score a few goals and we're back in business.

Should we fail to be win promotion, should we stay with Stubbs for a third season, or would you want change no matter what?

A much needed bit of perspective.

We have signed 4 new midfielders and a new striker. We've lost our key midfielder from last season. We've had bad luck with injuries up front.

Yes, it's been a slow start but let's show a little patience, please. This is not a squad of journeymen and cloggers. Give them a little time to gel.

27-08-2015, 09:31 AM
We need a player with the X factor. A midfielder/ striker who scores goals, makes chances. What about yon guy at Dunfermline, he could be our Russel Latapy. If weve got any cash left we should test the water with a Rangers bid ( very low).

Greenworld
27-08-2015, 09:32 AM
That is good to hear we desperately need someone experienced up top that could help JC no end also

27-08-2015, 09:35 AM
I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you aren't being deliberately thick about this. I'm not criticising Cummings. He is can important player but as a team we are struggling to score goals overall. Yes I'd be happy for a striker to score less if the team scored more. To suggest anything else is crazy.

Are you suggesting if your striker scores in a 1-1 draw you would be happier than if we win 2-1 with two midfielders scoring?

Thanks for giving me the benefit of the doubt I'm delighted. Now you're being silly, would I be happier with a 1-1 draw rather than a 2-1 win.......what do you think? I couldn't care less who scores as the result is all that matters. My thoughts are that the lack of goals from our midfield cannot in any way be laid at the blame of our striker. Plenty of strikers in the game have been good at one thing only thing....putting the ball in the net, to criticise the striker for not bringing the midfield into it is not right. The team is struggling to score goals overall because they are not breaking teams down, getting behind them and playing without any real width or tempo.

27-08-2015, 09:38 AM
.... Give them a little time to gel.

I don't really understand that argument.

If the whole set up of the team, and presumably the instructions from the manager, is to play in a slow and predictable manner, then the players are following that instructions to the letter.

Where does the gelling part come in?

27-08-2015, 09:49 AM

Who is making way, Farid or Malonga?

Still can't believe we went one up top last night, if Malonga can't get a start in these types of games then Stubbs maybe doesn't now rate him.

27-08-2015, 09:52 AM
Some players take longer to settle at a bigger club but agree have seen him in three games now and tidy but don't see any pace and hasn't had impact .

The problem for Stubbs just now is fitting the new players in and players coming back from injury ,and then McGregor is signed ,and before Transfer Window we will sign another player possibly two .

We missed the runs of Gray wide right last night as that caused Moton all kinds of problems and led to Cummings goal .last night the ball was coming to Cummings but he was having to control it and faced a packed defence ,everyone was resorting to trying to hit the ball through a packed defence making it easy to block the ball for defenders .
It is the same problem as last year minus the dribbling skill of Dare I say it Scott Allan and his occasional ability to play that defence splitting pass .

Some players looked tired and jaded at times and yet they will need to go again against Raith which was a team that caused us problems in a couple of games but especially sitting in and hitting on the break .
One issue that Stubbs identified was that the Midfield needed a player with power and drive ,that could break moves up but start our own attaching moves .that player was Bartley and he hasn't featured in the last two games .
So we are still trying to figure out where to play players to get best oot of team
I have to say that if as you claim some of our players looked tired and jaded that something is far wrong. A few games into the season fit young men should in no way be either tired or jaded, even playing 2 games a week.

27-08-2015, 10:06 AM
I think nearly everyone agrees that, finishing apart, we played pretty well against Sevco on Sunday. Last night we were up against a wall of orange jerseys - Stranraer packed their defence from start to finish. Once the players have had more time to gel we'll have more tricks up our sleeve to break down such opposition.

I remain positive and 100% behind Stubbs and his methods.

27-08-2015, 10:06 AM
I don't really understand that argument.

If the whole set up of the team, and presumably the instructions from the manager, is to play in a slow and predictable manner, then the players are following that instructions to the letter.

Where does the gelling part come in?

Rangers have half a new team and they've managed to gel nicely and are playing decent football, whilst banging in the goals. Nothing to do with gelling, poor pre season prep, possible over training giving injuries to players and still having an unbalanced squad. Stubbs stumbled upon the diamond last year and it worked until teams sussed us out, he went 4-3-3 when Boyle came in as it gave us width and pace, so what does he do in the window buy more central midfielders?? we needed one from last year a DM that can put a bit of dig into the team, Bartley and now he's not even being quoted.

There are a lot of question marks at the moment with Stubbs and his coaches and the more we struggle the more people will feel disgruntled, the fans will turn if things do not change soon.

27-08-2015, 10:10 AM

Do we need another injured forward ;-)

27-08-2015, 10:11 AM
He did that last week and Henderson missed. I think some people are expecting a bit much from Jason if they think he's going to score most of our goals and set up the rest. What are the other players going to do.

Yes he did but and on another day we could have scored from them.
I'm not say that he didn't I'm only saying what I think A74 is trying to put across.

27-08-2015, 10:14 AM
.... "Give them a little time to gel."

every new team needs time to gel. Look at Sevco, they are toiling to thrash every team they play by four or five goals. Once they gel, they'll be taking double figures off some teams.

27-08-2015, 10:17 AM
I think nearly everyone agrees that, finishing apart, we played pretty well against Sevco on Sunday. Last night we were up against a wall of orange jerseys - Stranraer packed their defence from start to finish. Once the players have had more time to gel we'll have more tricks up our sleeve to break down such opposition.

How many seasons have we been waiting for the team to gel now? Hearts didn't need time last year, Rangers haven't this year. If the players are fit and know their role in the team then we should be capable of breaking down packed defences now.

27-08-2015, 10:21 AM
Thing that concerns me the most is that I don't think the players know what they're doing.

We are poor at defending set pieces.

We are poor when we have free kicks or corners, I shall leave throw ins for another day.

When we get a free kick the players all just seem to look at each other as if to say who is going to take this one then, do they not look at these things in training.

To conclude, we always look like conceding from opposing free kicks but never look like scoring from our own.

Not ideal.

27-08-2015, 10:24 AM
Thing that concerns me the most is that I don't think the players know what they're doing.

We are poor at defending set pieces.

We are poor when we have free kicks or corners, I shall leave throw ins for another day.

When we get a free kick the players all just seem to look at each other as if to say who is going to take this one then, do they not look at these things in training.

To conclude, we always look like conceding from opposing free kicks but never look like scoring from our own.

Not ideal.

We were talking about this last night. I've absolutely no idea what we do on the training ground. Our free kicks and corners are absolutely woeful.

27-08-2015, 10:36 AM
Stubbs gave his reaction to last night's game in the Evening News, with the usual, 'tough game when they put ten behind the ball', etc, but the bit that stuck out to me was when he said.... "we rushed things a bit at times".

Eh?

Ryan69
27-08-2015, 10:43 AM
I really like Stubbsy but the football is eye bleeding!

We just cannot break down teams,and cannot score goals.

If things don't change quick....we're going to have another Butcher situation.

Why was he given another contract? It's absolute madness....and was only to deflect at tension from the Scott Allan farce.

Jury is out big time.....but no matter what we will be stuck with him.

27-08-2015, 10:51 AM

Why was he given another contract? It's absolute madness....and was only to deflect at tension from the Scott Allan farce.

Stuck with him? What if when all players are fit and we are doing well. Then he ends up going to a better club. Maybe need to calm down a tad, I don't like the football just now either but I'm not cutting my wrists just yet over Stubbs. Butcher was far, far worse doesn't even come close to him.

27-08-2015, 10:53 AM
Stubbs gave his reaction to last night's game in the Evening News, with the usual, 'tough game when they put ten behind the ball', etc, but the bit that stuck out to me was when he said.... "we rushed things a bit at times".

Eh?

I assume he means we rushed the decision making and instead of looking up and picking the right pass the players forced it and didnt work the opening. If we are going to play possession and passing based football the players need to learn when to pass, when to move, when to shoot etc, this will come with time but we have players, especially in midfield now, who should be able to control a game.

Interestingly though I though we looked at our most dangerous at Ibrox when we broke quickly on the counter attack, I guess when teams sit deep and condense the space we are still finding it harder to break down as there is no space to get players into and as we have the ball for the majority of the time we cant hit them quickly into the space behind them as we did against Rangers when they pushed forward.

We need to mix it up a bit and get that ball out to the wingers and attackers quicker to give them a chance to attack whatever wee bits of space open up for them.

Ryan69
27-08-2015, 11:00 AM
Stuck with him? What if when all players are fit and we are doing well. Then he ends up going to a better club. Maybe need to calm down a tad, I don't like the football just now either but I'm not cutting my wrists just yet over Stubbs. Butcher was far, far worse doesn't even come close to him.

Understand what your saying however....we were in a better league under Butcher and most likely scored more goals in it too.

27-08-2015, 11:09 AM
Happy to back Stubbs for the season. Debating this just adds another pressure we dont need. Lets just see if we get promoted either by winning the league or through the playoffs we'll all be delighted.

27-08-2015, 11:09 AM
We were talking about this last night. I've absolutely no idea what we do on the training ground. Our free kicks and corners are absolutely woeful.

Totally agree.

27-08-2015, 11:32 AM

It was a piss poor pass from Cummings on Saturday, he should have played the ball forward for Henderson not a straight pass to him, the lad Henderson had to check his run because of the rubbish pass from JC, JC needs to play with his head up and see what is around him and then make the right pass.

27-08-2015, 11:42 AM

Seemingly that was how Airdrie set out to play against the huns last night, the huns seemed like they had no problems breaking down the Airdrie defence, how are Hibs not doing the same against Stranraer, FFS they could have snatched a goal in the last few minutes when there No 10 ran past 3-4 Hibs players and got in to the box but he hit his shot over the bar, why were we sitting so deep in defence for the last 10 minutes of the game letting Stranraer players running at us.

27-08-2015, 12:02 PM
It was a piss poor pass from Cummings on Saturday, he should have played the ball forward for Henderson not a straight pass to him, the lad Henderson had to check his run because of the rubbish pass from JC, JC needs to play with his head up and see what is around him and then make the right pass.

In JC's defence I think the Sevco player defended very well making it as difficult as possible in a 2 on 1 situation. His positioning meant that it was hard to get the perfect ball for Henderson - in hindsight it probably would have been better for Henderson to first time it back to Cummings for him to finish.

27-08-2015, 12:06 PM

Eh?
Yip bit worrying as he also said we had to be patient and could have scored more than 1 goal, I wasn't aware that we had scored any goals, but there you go. Some of his pronouncements begining to sound a bit like Pat Fenlon in his latter days.

27-08-2015, 12:09 PM

^^^
Total rubbish.

27-08-2015, 12:12 PM
He should have just had a shot himself being greedy is good for a striker :greengrin

27-08-2015, 12:13 PM

Even in the wide range of opinions you get on .net, this is a stand out.

27-08-2015, 12:15 PM
Even in the wide range of opinions you get on .net, this is a stand out.

27-08-2015, 12:18 PM
He should have just had a shot himself being greedy is good for a striker :greengrin

Last thing we need is another injured player. :greengrin

27-08-2015, 12:18 PM

Ridiculous post and to even mention Stubbs and Butcher in the same breadth is laughable. Disappointing we are struggling at the moment however the bottom line with last night was getting through. Look at the scores of Premier teams on Tuesday some got knocked out and others scrambled though after ET.

There have been a few players brought in just recently and yes it will take time to build understanding between each other and how we play. We are short up front IMO and also need a better left back. With injuries and new players it will take time however a couple of wins where we are getting clean sheets would do the trick.

Nemo
27-08-2015, 12:37 PM
I agree with this.

It is dreadful at times.
Really

Its not Alan Stubbs fault.

This slow ,tentative, pedestrian play has raised its head a few times over the last few years.

Does the green and white half of Edinburgh actually want or even enjoy goin to the fitba? ( IF so show it then!! FFS!! or stop going)

(football crowds have an unbelievable ability to shape the nature of a football teams performance.)

cause everytime ive been recently, its like sections of the crowd have just been waiting almost expecting to get beat/produce a sub-standard performance...

...and then act accordingly, with sections of the crowd booing/almost jeering, upon occasion.

I think the support needs to have a long good look at itself sometimes.

Don't know about you but i certainly don't produce my best or most confident performance under those circumstances.

Im telling you its a confidence thing, nothing else, you watch, if/when we start to get results this team will begin to fly.

27-08-2015, 01:07 PM

This slow ,tentative, pedestrian play has raised its head a few times over the last few years.

Does the green and white half of Edinburgh actually want or even enjoy goin to the fitba? ( IF so show it then!! FFS!! or stop going)

(football crowds have an unbelievable ability to shape the nature of a football teams performance.)

cause everytime ive been recently, its like sections of the crowd have just been waiting almost expecting to get beat/produce a sub-standard performance...

...and then act accordingly, with sections of the crowd booing/almost jeering, upon occasion.

Don't know about you but i certainly don't produce my best or most confident performance under those circumstances.

Im telling you its a confidence thing, nothing else, you watch, if/when we start to get results this team will begin to fly.

Your post is a work of fiction!

Nemo
27-08-2015, 01:08 PM
Your post is a work of fiction!

on ye go then, carry on??

27-08-2015, 01:26 PM
We always seem to take two steps back in order to go forward but only end up taking one step forward, or at least that's how it feels.

27-08-2015, 01:44 PM

The whole team do that, when we pass we pass to where the man is not in front for them to run on to. the amount of time players need to check their runs to get the ball is crazy, it's one of the reasons we are so slow going forward.

27-08-2015, 01:48 PM

Ah, fans fault again! I don't think you have been recently as this season I think the crowds have been far more positive. Yes you get the odd idiots that are never happy unless they are moaning but overall it's been more positive from the stands than previous seasons.

27-08-2015, 01:52 PM
^^^
Total rubbish.

It's not really though, is it? Stubbs actual record of results in the second tier is poor. Our record last season against full time sides was awful.

He's got to get promoted this season because he's actually underachieved since arriving.

Just because he's not Terry Butcher doesn't automatically make him good.

27-08-2015, 02:06 PM
It's not really though, is it? Stubbs actual record of results in the second tier is poor. Our record last season against full time sides was awful.

He's got to get promoted this season because he's actually underachieved since arriving.

Just because he's not Terry Butcher doesn't automatically make him good.

Just re-read the post to see if there is any truth in it - but nope. AS built a coherent team last season, that played well and scored goals. We fell short at the end of the season but the level of improvement was clear for all (at least most) to see.

We've had a stuttering start this season but lots of the same players, plus promising additions. I expect us to click into gear soon, and when we do these early jitters will be forgotten.

Have we not learnt by now that emptying the manager in the autumn is not the way to go?

27-08-2015, 02:08 PM
Just re-read the post to see if there is any truth in it - but nope. AS built a coherent team last season, that played well and scored goals. We fell short at the end of the season but the level of improvement was clear for all (at least most) to see.

We've had a stuttering start this season but lots of the same players, plus promising additions. I expect us to click into gear soon, and when we do these early jitters will be forgotten.

Have we not learnt by now that emptying the manager in the autumn is not the way to go?

Couldnt agree more. Did a very good job last year and needs to be given time to do the same.

Nemo
27-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Ah, fans fault again! I don't think you have been recently as this season I think the crowds have been far more positive. Yes you get the odd idiots that are never happy unless they are moaning but overall it's been more positive from the stands than previous seasons.

The fans have been slightly better this season i agree,

but here's the thing, what do we want the atmosphere to be like at ES? and for the future?

I'm never happy unless there's white hot, very vocal, going mental support,

I 'm like that as a person (passionate) but that gets elevated with anything hibees, so when i go to ES i'm looking for that also amongst the support...

...that ES would be a ****ing nightmare for the opposition, because of the fans.

My post was certainly not intended to be a Finger wagging, blame the fans, it's aw they're fault kind of thing, however i do think it would kickstart this young team into gear quicker

Okay just re-read my original post...Maybe it was a WEE bit finger wagging :tsk tsk:

27-08-2015, 03:20 PM

I agree with you and i said it at the game, he should have been greedy and took it on himself as there goalie is dodgy, i asked Mr Riordan after the game what he would have done, squared it or be greedy, reply was, be greedy as your the striker and should be confident enough to take the shot on.

28-08-2015, 07:47 AM
Seemingly that was how Airdrie set out to play against the huns last night, the huns seemed like they had no problems breaking down the Airdrie defence, how are Hibs not doing the same against Stranraer, FFS they could have snatched a goal in the last few minutes when there No 10 ran past 3-4 Hibs players and got in to the box but he hit his shot over the bar, why were we sitting so deep in defence for the last 10 minutes of the game letting Stranraer players running at us.

Also think people are forgeting that Oxley had to pull of a cracking safe earlier in the game. If that had gone in it could have been a very different story and thread.

28-08-2015, 09:38 AM
Also think people are forgeting that Oxley had to pull of a cracking safe earlier in the game. If that had gone in it could have been a very different story and thread.

Agree lets not forget the mighty JTs going to ET against Forfar, Motherwell going to ET against East Fife and Dundee, Hamilton, Partick Thistle all being rolled over by teams in lesser divisions.

28-08-2015, 09:43 AM

Are you a pro footballer.?

28-08-2015, 09:46 AM
The fans have been slightly better this season i agree,

but here's the thing, what do we want the atmosphere to be like at ES? and for the future?

I'm never happy unless there's white hot, very vocal, going mental support,

I 'm like that as a person (passionate) but that gets elevated with anything hibees, so when i go to ES i'm looking for that also amongst the support...

...that ES would be a ****ing nightmare for the opposition, because of the fans.

My post was certainly not intended to be a Finger wagging, blame the fans, it's aw they're fault kind of thing, however i do think it would kickstart this young team into gear quicker

Okay just re-read my original post...Maybe it was a WEE bit finger wagging :tsk tsk:

ES :confused:

28-08-2015, 09:47 AM
...what do we want the atmosphere to be like at ES?

...so when i go to ES

...that ES would be a

What and where is ES exactly?

28-08-2015, 09:53 AM

Think he means ER ( Easter Road )

28-08-2015, 09:53 AM

East Stand :dunno:

28-08-2015, 12:18 PM

Me too. It seems to me that JC so far this season is actually passing with a view to receiving back rather than playing the best pass available. That would mean he is more interested in scoring himself than having someone else in the team score. He did however have assists last season so he can do it if/when he puts his mind to it. Unless he links up better that could be his downfall this season if Farid returns and another comes in. Malonga has shirked getting stuck in at times but shows strength at holding the ball with his back to defence. We could certainly do with a Mixu/Brewster type for holding up and linking up play. Mixu apparently was very difficult to take the ball from and a perfect example of his link up play was the one two with Latapy for the sixth in the six two game.

28-08-2015, 04:10 PM
I can just imagine the turmoil that would ensue if i had written that post. Stubbs has been brought in to take us into the SPL or whatever its called these days, and season one he failed.

Season 2 has started poorly, but we will be one of the clubs that reach the play offs, i'm certain of that.

Should we go up, then he will be the right man, if we don't then he's not. Unprecedented times these last 2 season may be, but you have to remember we built the foundations of the club, new stadium, new training centre, ALL the tools are in place for us to have a good chance of challenging in the top tier of Scottish football.

I like Stubbs, i like the way he speaks but ultimately this is a results business, and there has to be a certain amount of enjoyment too.

I watched the Morton game the other week, and to be perfectly honest, it was boring. No atmosphere, no urgency and little to get me excited about coming back soon.

I raised the question after the 2-6 Sevco game. I don't think there's any harm in looking at the situation that we're in and challenging perceptions.

I'm behind Stubbs 100% at the moment, but that doesn't mean I think he's got or is getting everything right.

My biggest concern is that after the terrible start we made to last season, we left ourselves out of the title race very early on. We dropped numerous points early on in games we should have been expecting to win.

It cost us automatic promotion through winning the league, and ultimately cost us promotion through the play-offs.

Stubbs hand picked his coaching staff, he has a better set up than any other manager in this league, and I'd include The Rangers in that because they've only just got their act together, and yet we don't look like we're seeing the benefit of it.

I think the board have backed him well enough, you look at the signings he's made and the stance we took over Scott Allan, so ultimately Stubbs is accountable.

We're 6 points behind a The Rangers side that looks at this early stage like running away with the league. Who can say that the're confident that we're about to go on a 10-15 game winning run, or even a 15 game undefeated run?

The Rangers are playing the same sides as us, that will pack their defence and try and sneak a win or a draw, but they're putting a few goals past them, we're not.

Of course you can look at our injury situation and say that if Keatings, El Alagui, Boyle, Carmichael etc had been available from day one then we might be in a better position, but with the squad we have even without these players we should be comfortably putting Championship sides away.

I think Stubbs is the right man at the moment, but unless we go on a good run starting tomorrow, then there's every chance that my opnion will change based on the evidence in front of us.

28-08-2015, 04:18 PM
I raised the question after the 2-6 Sevco game. I don't think there's any harm in looking at the situation that we're in and challenging perceptions.

I'm behind Stubbs 100% at the moment, but that doesn't mean I think he's got or is getting everything right.

My biggest concern is that after the terrible start we made to last season, we left ourselves out of the title race very early on. We dropped numerous points early on in games we should have been expecting to win.

It cost us automatic promotion through winning the league, and ultimately cost us promotion through the play-offs.

Stubbs hand picked his coaching staff, he has a better set up than any other manager in this league, and I'd include The Rangers in that because they've only just got their act together, and yet we don't look like we're seeing the benefit of it.

I think the board have backed him well enough, you look at the signings he's made and the stance we took over Scott Allan, so ultimately Stubbs is accountable.

We're 6 points behind a The Rangers side that looks at this early stage like running away with the league. Who can say that their confident that we're about to go on a 10-15 game winning run, or even a 15 game undefeated run?

The Rangers are playing the same sides as us, that will pack their defence and try and sneak a win or a draw, but they're putting a few goals past them, we're not.

Of course you can look at our injury situation and say that if Keatings, El Alagui, Boyle, Carmichael etc had been available from day one then we might be in a better position, but with the squad we have even without these players we should be comfortably putting Championship sides away.

I think Stubbs is the right man at the moment, but unless we go on a good run starting tomorrow, then there's every chance that my opnion will change based on the evidence in front of us.

A pretty fair and accurate assessment as always Matty.

A poster a few posts up made the point that Stubbs improved US last year. I don't think anyone can dispute that, albeit the starting point was very low. However it won't unreasonable to think we should have kicked on and improved again this year, thus far there's little evidence of that and we're in real danger of having a start every bit as bad as last season.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
28-08-2015, 04:32 PM
A pretty fair and accurate assessment as always Matty.

A poster a few posts up made the point that Stubbs improved US last year. I don't think anyone can dispute that, albeit the starting point was very low. However it won't unreasonable to think we should have kicked on and improved again this year, thus far there's little evidence of that and we're in real danger of having a start every bit as bad as last season.

I think this is a really good point.

My own reservations (small as they are, but due to our start id have to be honest and admit that they are growing) is that we seem to have completely the same inadequacies as last season. So why have they not been addressed?

For what its worth, i actually thought there was a decent tempo to our play for the first 10 mins or so of each half against Morton, but its like the players just retreat to a comfort zone and start passing laterally.

Interestingly, there was an article on Guardian yesterday written about Louis Van Gaal and Man Ud that made a lot of similar points. Basically saying that dominating possession for possession's sake was blunting Man Us attacking edge.

We were chatting after the match on Wednesday night, and i wonder if we actually need to have less possession, let other teams do a bit more with the ball to let them get into the game. Maybe its no coincidence that our best performances last season and so far this season have come against teams where we don't dominate possession to the same extent.

Perhaps we need to sit deeper, not go chasing and harrying in their half, and actually let teams have more possession, let their players move about a bit and try and then catch them a bit more out of position and gvie us more space to attack?

Just a though, because so far this season, we have EXACTLY the same failings as last season - and you have to point the finger at the manager for that, because frankly there are not many players in the Rangers team that i would swap for our players, yet they look a far stronger team. Ditto Hearts last season.

28-08-2015, 04:35 PM

Let's wait for the transfer window to close, everyone can settle down and focus on football again. We've got a job to do this season, and that's back our team for promotion.

Form, speculation and injuries have not been our friends this summer, but things will improve.

28-08-2015, 04:56 PM
Let's wait for the transfer window to close, everyone can settle down and focus on football again. We've got a job to do this season, and that's back our team for promotion.

Form, speculation and injuries have not been our friends this summer, but things will improve.

I think most fans know it will improve when injuries clear up, the new players gel and they're all match fit. The thing most of us are worried about is by the time it does it'll be too late, like last season.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
28-08-2015, 05:01 PM
I think most fans know it will improve when injuries clear up, the new players gel and they're all match fit. The thing most of us are worried about is by the time it does it'll be too late, like last season.

Rangers have near enough an entire new team, and yet they seem to have gelled quickly. Most of our signings are players we had last season too.

Nemo
29-08-2015, 10:33 AM

Ha ha Ive nae idea what ES is,

i think i was caught between writing "easter rd" in full then thinking "taking too long"

so shortened it to what was meant to be "ER" and ended up with ES :dunno:

to be fair i was feeding the wee one at the time, only had one hand

either that or im gettin auld