View Full Version : Renfrewshire derby

21-08-2015, 04:22 PM
Are St Mirren playing Morton tonight? Very surprised this has got the go ahead on a Friday night if thay are. One of those games where things can still get a bit tasty before/after the game.

21-08-2015, 04:23 PM
Are St Mirren playing Morton tonight? Very surprised this has got the go ahead on a Friday night if thay are. One of those games where things can still get a bit tasty before/after the game.

Is this on TV?

21-08-2015, 04:27 PM
On Alba

21-08-2015, 04:29 PM

They've not played (in a league match) in 15 seasons but I'm sure the polis will be kept on their toes.

Just a pity it'll be watched with the sound down!

21-08-2015, 05:19 PM
They've not played (in a league match) in 15 seasons but I'm sure the polis will be kept on their toes.

Just a pity it'll be watched with the sound down!

They played each other in a cup game not to long ago. It might even have been the Renfrewshire cup final lol. Anyhow, there was plenty of bother after if, especially at the train station.

21-08-2015, 05:29 PM
I have been looking forward to watching this. I think Morton might sneek it.

21-08-2015, 05:35 PM
been looking forward to watching this game :agree:

21-08-2015, 05:37 PM
No love lost there.

21-08-2015, 06:20 PM
Thought it was on tv ?

21-08-2015, 06:21 PM
BBC Alba Andy.

21-08-2015, 06:22 PM
Thought it was on tv ?

It's actually Morton v St Mirren😀

21-08-2015, 06:23 PM
BBC Alba Andy.

It's actually Morton v St Mirren

Kent the minute i typed it :greengrin

21-08-2015, 06:29 PM
i see Birmingham v Derby co is on SP5, think i'l stick with the renfrewshire game :)

anon1875
21-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Was going to go until I found out Morton are charging 17 quid in lol

21-08-2015, 06:32 PM
maybe because it's a category AAA game :greengrin all police leave in weeg and surrounding areas cancelled

slight exagerration :)

21-08-2015, 06:33 PM
What kind of crowd is expected tonight?

21-08-2015, 06:35 PM

4,500 BBC said

21-08-2015, 06:35 PM

https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/634789713770061825/photo/1

:shocked:

21-08-2015, 06:36 PM
4,500 BBC said

Would have tought it would be more than that to be honest.

21-08-2015, 06:38 PM

Why are they wearing safety masks?

Just why?

21-08-2015, 06:38 PM
Keith Watson starts for St Mirren. Heard Ian Murray on the radio, he said Watson's been training all summer, and is ready to start?

21-08-2015, 06:40 PM

Just why?

It's a long tradition of intense dislike between the fans of both clubs with St Mirren fans suggesting that they might catch something nasty when breathing Greenock air. Daft, if you ask me but they're young laddies and obviously easily amused :greengrin

21-08-2015, 06:40 PM

Just why?
Because they don't want to breathe the Greenock smell :greengrin

21-08-2015, 06:45 PM
they Ferguslie park boys have a cheek eh

21-08-2015, 06:46 PM
It's a long tradition of intense dislike between the fans of both clubs with St Mirren fans suggesting that they might catch something nasty when breathing Greenock air. Daft, if you ask me but they're young laddies and obviously easily amused :greengrin

Aah that's disappointingly simple.

I thought it was some bizarre fashion thing like decorated hard hats in the 70s.

Anyway some atmosphere so far and looks like a lot of folk still outside.

21-08-2015, 06:47 PM
We dodged a bullet no getting Goodwin a couple of years ago

21-08-2015, 06:48 PM
they Ferguslie park boys have a cheek eh

You ever been there? Have of my school class came from there

21-08-2015, 06:50 PM
You ever been there? Have of my school class came from there

only read the news items about it....every few weeks

21-08-2015, 06:50 PM
only read the news items about it....every few weeks

A lot better than it was 30 years ago

21-08-2015, 06:51 PM
nice to see another ground that has standing :agree:

21-08-2015, 06:52 PM
Goal chopped off for St Mirren

andy1875
21-08-2015, 06:55 PM
Goal should have stood there.

The keepers get far too much protection and that for me, was a gentle coming together. No foul!

21-08-2015, 06:59 PM
well i think Morton have a wee cute physio, couldn't make her out properly last week :)

21-08-2015, 07:02 PM
Does anyone know where the rivalry comes from? Paisley is closer to Glasgow than Greenock so you would think Partick would be St Mirrens natural rival.

21-08-2015, 07:04 PM
Does anyone know where the rivalry comes from? Paisley is closer to Glasgow than Greenock so you would think Partick would be St Mirrens natural rival.

It's the same County

21-08-2015, 07:06 PM

And Dumbarton should be Morton's rivals.....

21-08-2015, 07:07 PM
The standard isn't brilliant..

21-08-2015, 07:08 PM
It's the same County

Yes and no.

They are both from the historic county of Renfrewshire but now Paisley is in Renfrewshire and Greenock is in Inverclyde.

21-08-2015, 07:13 PM

As the crow flies, however in distant times there's wasn't an Erskine Bridge, so fans would have to take the long way round

21-08-2015, 07:14 PM
Great wee move there by Morton. Good save by Langfield too, he's had a couple so far tonight.

St Mirren look utter garbage.

21-08-2015, 07:15 PM
St Mirren struggling a bit the last few minutes.

21-08-2015, 07:17 PM

Sure Clyde and Partick Thstle were traditionally rivals so maybe St Mirren went hunting elsewhere.

21-08-2015, 07:20 PM
I've never understood the Dunfermline Falkirk rivalry either but it's the one both sets of fans seem to go on about.

21-08-2015, 07:21 PM

Paisley's actually closer to Dumbarton that Greenock is.

21-08-2015, 07:24 PM
Morton should be a goal up

21-08-2015, 07:25 PM
I've never understood the Dunfermline Falkirk rivalry either but it's the one both sets of fans seem to go on about.

According to a Falkirk fans website it dates back to the 70s and 80s when both regularly scrapped it out for the old Division 2/New Division 1 title.

Dunfermilne Cowdenbeath was always the big Fife rivalry way back.

21-08-2015, 07:30 PM
According to a Falkirk fans website it dates back to the 70s and 80s when both regularly scrapped it out for the old Division 2/New Division 1 title.

Dunfermilne Cowdenbeath was always the big Fife rivalry way back.
I would suggest Pars v Rovers is the big one

21-08-2015, 07:42 PM
Paisley's actually closer to Dumbarton that Greenock is.

Just googled it, every day's a school day (not that I doubted you):wink:

21-08-2015, 07:46 PM
St Mirren are the only Championship club i would have signed for - Langfield

21-08-2015, 07:50 PM
Quality a bit lacking, a lot of hit and hope at the moment.

21-08-2015, 07:54 PM
How many did Hibs take down when they opened the season at Cappielow in 98? Never been TV footage I don't think.

21-08-2015, 07:56 PM
How many did Hibs take down when they opened the season at Cappielow in 98? Never been TV footage I don't think.
I was there, what a night. Lavety in injury time. Don't know the numbers but a decent support

buddies down to 10 men

21-08-2015, 07:56 PM
Red card St Mirren.

Stupid, stupid tackle.

21-08-2015, 07:57 PM
I was there, what a night. Lavety in injury time. Don't know the numbers but a decent support

buddies down to 10 men

Pee'd down for majority of game IIRC

21-08-2015, 07:58 PM
I can still picture him slotting it away and going bonkers :greengrin

21-08-2015, 07:59 PM

buddies down to 10 men

Went radge when Basher scored..1st game of the season and it was a midweek game tae.

21-08-2015, 08:00 PM
Red card St Mirren.

Stupid, stupid tackle.

Yes it was but never a red IMO

21-08-2015, 08:01 PM

Booking for me....

21-08-2015, 08:01 PM

It did.

I remember a cup replay at Cappielow as well the following season not against Morton (was it Clydebank?) were it was bloody freezing. Sure it was around January or February time.

21-08-2015, 08:03 PM

Hard to say. At first I thought it was, seeing the replay I think maybe booking.

Ref will say he was out of control and reckless is it's a red and by the letter of the law he's probably right.

Open terracing, a big travelling support, pouring rain and no holds barred football.

Really enjoying it so far.

buddies down to 10 men

Good 2500 at least. Excellent for a midweek game. We were lucky to get 3 points and they were spewing an ex-Buddy got the winner.

21-08-2015, 08:06 PM
Good 2500 at least. Excellent for a midweek game. We were lucky to get 3 points and they were spewing an ex-Buddy got the winner.

When you think about it the 90s seem a long time ago now.

I can remember being at that game, not having a mobile to text or phone the score to my mum and getting home to find out she had found out the result using teletext. Simpler times.

21-08-2015, 08:07 PM
No way that was high feet. This ref is an idiot and it's just as well that was saved.

21-08-2015, 08:08 PM
Hard to say. At first I thought it was, seeing the replay I think maybe booking.

Ref will say he was out of control and reckless is it's a red and by the letter of the law he's probably right.

You are probably right, maybe my age showing. There are a few defenders from the 60's and 70's who would be lucky to play double figure games a season if they played nowadays😃

21-08-2015, 08:08 PM
Goodwin being a thug again. Looks like he elbowed him

21-08-2015, 08:09 PM
I'm no lover of Jim Goodwin but if the St Mirren players challenge is a red than that tackle on him has to be a red as well. The boy kicked him in the head.

21-08-2015, 08:10 PM
It did.

I remember a cup replay at Cappielow as well the following season not against Morton (was it Clydebank?) were it was bloody freezing. Sure it was around January or February time.

Aye Clydebank we won 3-0.......Sauzee scored one I think

21-08-2015, 08:10 PM
I'm no lover of Jim Goodwin but if the St Mirren players challenge is a red than that tackle on him has to be a red as well. The boy kicked him in the head.

Thought Goodwin could also have got a red for how he went into the challenge too. Ref is losing control of this game.

21-08-2015, 08:11 PM
St. Mirren leaving it in a bit.

Goodwin being a thug again. Looks like he elbowed him

Refs a mug. That was more a red for Goodwin than the actual red card was. No idea why McCluskey was booked.

Thought Goodwin could also have got a red for how he went into the challenge too. Ref is losing control of this game.

Yep on second viewing he's not so innocent either. Wonder if both players staying down had an impact on the refs decision?

Goodwin saw him coming and got the sly elbow in. Dirty *******.

It's woeful football.

21-08-2015, 08:12 PM
a draw here would suit us me thinks

21-08-2015, 08:13 PM
Aye Clydebank we won 3-0.......Sauzee scored one I think

Thought it was against Dumbarton?

21-08-2015, 08:14 PM
Is that Charlie Adams brother in goal for Morton now?

Sure he was at Rangers at one point if it is the same Adam.

21-08-2015, 08:16 PM
a draw here would suit us me thinks

...or a morton win.

21-08-2015, 08:18 PM
Att. 5343

21-08-2015, 08:21 PM
Att. 5343

That will be higher than 3 of the 6 Premiership games this weekend.

21-08-2015, 08:25 PM
End to end horse **** here.

21-08-2015, 08:28 PM
Thought it was against Dumbarton?

Not the one I am thinking of, Clydebank at Cappielow (replay)

21-08-2015, 08:29 PM
Is that Charlie Adams brother in goal for Morton now?

Sure he was at Rangers at one point if it is the same Adam.

Aye, Grant Adam. :agree:

21-08-2015, 08:32 PM
Should have scored there

21-08-2015, 08:34 PM
Not the one I am thinking of, Clydebank at Cappielow (replay)

Just checked you're right again😀, but I could have sworn it was against the Sons

21-08-2015, 08:35 PM

The ref is useless. How's the boy got away without a booking there? Takes a swipe at Goodwin then kicks the ball away.

How was that a free kick to St Mirren?

The guy just tripped over after taking a swipe at fresh air! :faf:

21-08-2015, 08:36 PM
Comedy gold with Goodwins fresh air swipe there.

21-08-2015, 08:36 PM
Not a great game but how good does the packed centre of the terrace where the St Mirren fans are look?

Can't wait for a wee trip there.

21-08-2015, 08:37 PM
How's Watson looking?

21-08-2015, 08:37 PM
St Mirren are a bit like we were under Butcher. Horrible to watch like.

21-08-2015, 08:38 PM
0-0, full time.

21-08-2015, 08:39 PM

Yep.

Never been impressed with they style of football Murray had Dumbarton playing and doesn't look much better at St Mirren. 1 point from 9 so far would suggest it's both ugly and ineffective.

21-08-2015, 08:39 PM
Not a great game but how good does the packed centre of the terrace where the St Mirren fans are look?

Yeah it will look great from where I'm going to be. In the stand in case it rains. :greengrin

21-08-2015, 08:40 PM
has anyone ever been to a game in greenock and it has not been raining...mind tell the truth now

:(

21-08-2015, 08:41 PM
Long ball pish, especially from St Mirren. Can't see us losing points against either of that pair.

21-08-2015, 08:42 PM
has anyone ever been to a game in greenock and it has not been raining...mind tell the truth now

Last game of the season early 80's 0-0, i'm sure it was dry.

21-08-2015, 08:45 PM
Decent derby but both teams look shan.

21-08-2015, 08:56 PM

i'l take your word for it, my memory cells from that era are goosed :greengrin

21-08-2015, 08:57 PM
http://picasion.com/resize80/71a51565bc26980bab8bde801bdc91a4.gif

21-08-2015, 09:01 PM
http://picasion.com/resize80/71a51565bc26980bab8bde801bdc91a4.gif

21-08-2015, 10:41 PM

That is priceless

21-08-2015, 10:49 PM

If it's the match I'm thinking of, it was sunny and also Ally MacLeod's last game for Hibs.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=77907

22-08-2015, 09:09 AM
If it's the match I'm thinking of, it was sunny and also Ally MacLeod's last game for Hibs.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=77907I think it was Craig Paterson's last game.

22-08-2015, 09:13 AM

Looks the damage . Last time I were there it finished 3-3 in the mid 80s . no sure but thought we were in the opposite end . My abiding memory of the game was Mickey Weir scoring straight from the centre after they had scored . The wee man skinned half their team , then popped it in the net .

22-08-2015, 09:24 AM
I think it was Craig Paterson's last game.

If it was we didn't know it at the time (at least we didn't know he was going to the huns), but we knew for Ally.

22-08-2015, 09:29 AM
Looks the damage . Last time I were there it finished 3-3 in the mid 80s . no sure but thought we were in the opposite end . My abiding memory of the game was Mickey Weir scoring straight from the centre after they had scored . The wee man skinned half their team , then popped it in the net .

The weather was decent enough that day, IIRC it was his last game before he went down south.

I'm sure one of the Sunday papers compared Mickey to Jimmy Johnstone on the back of his performance that day.

22-08-2015, 09:29 AM
If it was we didn't know it at the time (at least we didn't know he was going to the huns), but we knew for Ally.I seem to remember a Craig must stay banner. Less than 3 months later he signed for the huns.

22-08-2015, 09:47 AM

I was there, along with around 1,800 other hardy souls. The week before, we played Thistle at home in front of just over 3,000.

The Bertie Auld era, football to make your eyes bleed.... but we did finish 6th

22-08-2015, 10:21 AM

I was there, along with around 1,800 other hardy souls. The week before, we played Thistle at home in front of just over 3,000.

3000 and they complain about the gate against Morton.

Jaz
22-08-2015, 10:27 AM

Ah Bertie Auld.

Once won manager of the month at Hibs and when asked said he'd have taken a draw!!

22-08-2015, 10:42 AM

And the folk who don't want to go to Ipox with there kids will certainly not want to take there kids through to Morton when we play them, nasty bunch who will say nasty things and no doubt ambush us nice fans after the game, was through there last season, FFS they were trying to attack OAPs and young kids.

Stay safe John. :tee hee:

22-08-2015, 10:45 AM

Relegation fodder so they are, Murray will be the first to be sacked in this league.

22-08-2015, 10:48 AM
Yeah it will look great from where I'm going to be. In the stand in case it rains. :greengrin

That stand is a death trap. :greengrin

24-08-2015, 07:36 PM

I was at both matches too. I got comps for the centre stand from Donald Park who was at Thistle at the time (and were relegated that season).