View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 1 - 0 Greenock Morton (Cummings) FT

15-08-2015, 12:52 PM
Hopefully no one minds if I start this but looking forward to the game today on a pleasant afternoon in Edinburgh.

Will be interesting to see how the boys react now that the Allan saga is over hopefully positive with a decent win.

Also hopefully get a glimpse of Liam Henderson even if it is only from the bench.

Team should be announced shortly.

Cammy
15-08-2015, 01:04 PM
Hopefully no one minds if I start this but looking forward to the game today on a pleasant afternoon in Edinburgh.

Will be interesting to see how the boys react now that the Allan saga is over hopefully positive with a decent win.

Also hopefully get a glimpse of Liam Henderson even if it is only from the bench.

Team should be announced shortly.

Has the team lineup been announced?

15-08-2015, 01:14 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CMc8ToPWsAA_Elb.png:large

Has the team lineup been announced?

Yes but not posted here :shhhsh!:

Carmichael & Boyle start, Henderson on the bench :gwa:

ManBearPig
15-08-2015, 01:15 PM
Cummings benched?!

Looks like 4-3-3 to me

StarMan10
Holy Mary mother of god we have wingers!!

Cummings benched?!

Malonga upfront himself. 😩

Dublin07
15-08-2015, 01:16 PM
Looks like 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1. Think this is the way to go using pace from wide.

The Leith Dutch
15-08-2015, 01:17 PM

Cummings on the bench is a surprise. As is Henderson - although a pleasant one.

Presumably 2 CM battlers in Bartley and Fyvie, McGinn as playmaker, Boyle and Carmichael as width and Malonga through the middle?

Kaff
15-08-2015, 01:19 PM
I'm happy with the look of that, assuming these players play to their potential where does Dylan slot in as first pick?

rosco-hibee
15-08-2015, 01:20 PM

On paper that is a decent line up, and that should be worthy of dispatching any team in this division.

Come on Hibs, get it done!

Would have thought Cummings ahead of Malonga in this formation but Stubbs sees them in training so we'll see how it goes.

bill the hibby
Very happy with the team, so good to see wingers, feeling a 3/4-0

supershotmo
Cummings on the bench is a surprise. As is Henderson - although a pleasant one.

Presumably 2 CM battlers in Bartley and Fyvie, McGinn as playmaker, Boyle and Carmichael as width and Malonga through the middle?

Take it that we are keeping the number 10 shirt for the new signing

15-08-2015, 01:21 PM
Henderson gets unusual squad number for a midfielder

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CMc8wqCWcAAtKho.jpg:large

15-08-2015, 01:21 PM

Scored last week?

15-08-2015, 01:22 PM
8-2 Hibs.

Looks decent enough to me.

1 through.the middle is fine if you have support and service which we should have in that line up.

CL0762

I don't think Cummings suits the lone striker role, Malonga is much more suited to it in a system that players wingers.

15-08-2015, 01:24 PM
Would imagine its a 4-3-3 when we have the ball and 4-5-1 when we dont.

15-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Pace to get in behind which is important. With one up top it's very important that the MF get beyond Dom at every opportunity.

Let's do this Hibs!!

ruthven_raiders
15-08-2015, 01:26 PM

To celebrate his new 3 year contract with celtic 😉

15-08-2015, 01:27 PM
Henderson looks a big tall lad. A good bit bigger than the other subs.

15-08-2015, 01:28 PM
Henderson looks a big tall lad. A good bit bigger than the other subs.

A very young bench we have today.

15-08-2015, 01:31 PM
I'm happy with the look of that, assuming these players play to their potential where does Dylan slot in as first pick?

I think Dylan can compete for RM as well as central midfield.

15-08-2015, 01:32 PM

That's the amount of bids The Rangers put in for Scott Allan, and the amount of times LD told them to bolt.

15-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Interesting line-up and good to see us starting to get the new signings fit. We absolutely must win today. Regardless of how we play or how many chances we create we must go to Ibrox with 3 points here.

With Henderson and Cummings on the bench we have options as well.

15-08-2015, 01:35 PM
I don't think Cummings suits the lone striker role, Malonga is much more suited to it in a system that players wingers.

Yes would agree . Needs a bit more experience under his belt to play that role

15-08-2015, 01:35 PM
Good team. Pleasant surprise that we've made a few changes.

15-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Watching big Dom warm up and he must be themost laid back man on the planet. No doubting he's putting the effort in but he looks like he's out for a Sunday afternoon stroll between excercises.

Kaff
15-08-2015, 01:39 PM
I think Dylan can compete for RM as well as central midfield.

Yes, with Farid and Keatings fit and Henderson assimilated with the squad then there is strong competition for the midfield and forward areas.
Be interesting if underscore is right and we are going to sign a defender imminently? Jordan forster back asap will help of course.

Edit Given his squad number does anyone think Henderson may be a LWB in a 352? I have seen him described more as an attacking midfielder but just wondering?

15-08-2015, 01:42 PM
Watching big Dom warm up and he must be themost laid back man on the planet. No doubting he's putting the effort in but he looks like he's out for a Sunday afternoon stroll between excercises.

Seems to enrage certain supporters but I've always enjoyed that element in a player.

15-08-2015, 01:44 PM
Seems to enrage certain supporters but I've always enjoyed that element in a player.

There's nowt wrong with it. He knows his own body and how hard he has to work to get warmed up. It's basic people that get annoyed by this.

That team on paper should hammer every team in this division. Wish I was there as I think we're going to put on a show.

15-08-2015, 01:48 PM

Boyle played up top for the development squad on Tuesday

s2hart
15-08-2015, 01:51 PM
Is the game covered on the radio? I can't subscribe to Hibs TV yet.

Ronster117
15-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Just been listening to stubbsy on radio Scotland, no more excuses....all the problems have been sorted and now there is no excuses.....cummon the cabbage time to start the season

ionahibby
15-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Just listened to Stubbs on radio scotland,sounds like he put a rocket up the players backsides last week. In his words " we had a private issue last week i had a chat with the players and reinforced what we expect from them and it ended amiclably" interesting words from stubssy

15-08-2015, 01:53 PM
The 1000 Morton fans seems a bit of a fallacy. Lucky if there's 300 at the moment.

15-08-2015, 01:55 PM
That's the amount of bids The Rangers put in for Scott Allan, and the amount of times LD told them to bolt.

15-08-2015, 01:56 PM
The 1000 Morton fans seems a bit of a fallacy. Lucky if there's 300 at the moment.

I'd say more like 200http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/08/15/51cd734f7801cbaa290c7abb7b4f6462.jpg

PiemanP
15-08-2015, 01:57 PM
Pleased stubbs has mixed things up a bit, there's a lot more width and pace in the team now. Would have played Reguero, but that team should be able to beat Morton without the goalie getting his kit dirty.

15-08-2015, 02:00 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/08/15/73fc04c31e09846f24fae584771c9fea.jpg

15-08-2015, 02:01 PM

Will be three up.

15-08-2015, 02:01 PM
Let's do this Hibs.

Off the bar
15-08-2015, 02:02 PM
C'mon the hibs! Lets have this won by half time!

15-08-2015, 02:04 PM
Anyone got a radio link

15-08-2015, 02:06 PM
Ref has a blue shirt on underneath

15-08-2015, 02:07 PM
Good start.

Great chance but Fontaine misses a header from about 3 yards.

15-08-2015, 02:10 PM
Leaving #10 for McGeouch.

15-08-2015, 02:13 PM
Malonga, Carmichael and Boyle constantly switching positions in.the opening few minutes.

Bit scrappy after a lively start.

Kaff
15-08-2015, 02:15 PM
Malonga, Carmichael and Boyle constantly switching positions in.the opening few minutes.

Bit scrappy after a lively start.

Thanks for the updates PB, keep them coming please!:thumbsup:

15-08-2015, 02:16 PM
Gimps winning 1-0.

15-08-2015, 02:16 PM
My usual plea to keep the updates coming.

Relying on them in the wee sma hours in pitch black Sydney..

15-08-2015, 02:17 PM
2 nil to the yams

Ronster117
15-08-2015, 02:17 PM
Gimps winning 1-0.
2-0 now for them

15-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Malonga wide from 25 yards after a neat bit link up.

Hearts 2-0

Off the bar
Another plea for updates! I'm on holiday at the moment so .net is the only source of information.

15-08-2015, 02:20 PM
My usual plea to keep the updates coming.

Relying on them in the wee sma hours in pitch black Sydney..

Same here from Malta :flag:

Yuillsy
15-08-2015, 02:20 PM
Hearts 2-0

**** them, this thread is about Hibs!!!

15-08-2015, 02:21 PM
McGinn well wide from distance.

15-08-2015, 02:22 PM
One thing you can't accuse Morton off is siting.in, they are pressing us high up the park.

15-08-2015, 02:24 PM
Good build up, Gray cuts back, Malonga shoots tamely at the keeper from 5 yards.

15-08-2015, 02:26 PM
Fontaine booked.

Over ran the ball and dived in, poor challenge.

15-08-2015, 02:26 PM
Who gives a **** about Hearts??

15-08-2015, 02:27 PM
Cheers PB, also looking for updates in Calgary.

Are we creating chances??

Mcginn almost slips Boyle in, last ditch tackle cuts it out.

Kaff
15-08-2015, 02:28 PM
Are we creating chances??

WillHill has us 1 shot on target 5 off target

Ronster117
15-08-2015, 02:29 PM
Willie Miller thinks the game is so bad it will get football stopped

Who gives a **** about Hearts??

Are we going to get this every week? I and many others care about how our biggest rivals are getting.

WillHill has us 1 shot on target 5 off target

Cheers for that. At home with a sick daughter!

Dumbarton 1 up at St Mirren

Dumbarton beating St mirren

15-08-2015, 02:30 PM

He's a sport sound roaster! Don't listen to him!

15-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Was Gibson the boy we were linked with a few years ago?

15-08-2015, 02:31 PM
Was Gibson the boy we were linked with a few years ago?

Not sure but was he the one at Killie??

hibbymick
15-08-2015, 02:31 PM

Willie millers a hole.

15-08-2015, 02:32 PM
Should have been 1 down. Gray dives in, cut back and Oxley saves from about 8 yards.

15-08-2015, 02:33 PM

He's not far wrong.

Really disjointed and scrappy. Fans getting nippy.

15-08-2015, 02:33 PM
Fyvie shoots from 20 yarfs, easy save.

15-08-2015, 02:34 PM
Lame stuff. Doesn't matter where we have the ball, we have the whole Morton side in front of us. More urgency required in the play.

this thread is about Hibs!!!

Savile and others updates are normally on another thread.

Should have been 1 down. Gray dives in, cut back and Oxley saves from about 8 yards.

We really need to be getting a few early goals to calm the nerves.

Ronster117
Lame stuff. Doesn't matter where we have the ball, we gave the whole Morton side in front if us. More urgency required in the play.
I did think stubbsy had us up for this....grrr

Are we going to get this every week? I and many others care about how our biggest rivals are getting.

Then why not create a "other games" thread and post Hearts and other teams updates there? This is the match day thread, I and a lot of others would rather just read about this game.

Edit - quoted wrong person, meant to quote the Hearts score updater

15-08-2015, 02:35 PM
He's not far wrong.

Really disjointed and scrappy. Fans getting nippy.

If only we had someone to put their foot on the ball in the middle of the park.:whistle:

haagsehibby
Trying to walk the ball into the net all the time. Would like to see someone having a dig from time to time.

Is it just me or is this ref against us?

15-08-2015, 02:37 PM
Big penalty shout, Boyles legs taken away just as he went to shoot.

Boyle booked for diving but looked a stonewaller to.me.

15-08-2015, 02:38 PM
If only we had someone to put their foot on the ball in the middle of the park.:whistle:
Crying out for an out and out goal scorer

15-08-2015, 02:38 PM
Got a HibsTV trial :)

Looked a penalty to me.

15-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Great free kick McGinn, Gray header kept out by a brilliant point.blanj save.

Morton break and Oxley saves a 1 on 1 well.

15-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Big penalty shout, Boyles legs taken away just as he went to shoot. Boyle booked for diving but looked a stonewaller to.me.

So much for running at defenders with pace. Fouled and the ref books the player for diving.

Am I being paranoid?? Are we going to get any breaks??

15-08-2015, 02:40 PM
A goal would really calm the fans down. Apologies for stating the obvious :greengrin

Carmichael sold the jerseys, The Ox bails us out.

Gray good header great save.

Really frustrating to watch. Defence hoof 9 times out of ten aimlessly. Midfield chip long balls 9 times out of ten. Boyle and carmichael when ger it try to run at players whixh is good. Ref AGAIN seems to be against us. Im actually sick of saying it stonewall pen turned down, boyle booked. Free kick outside box when foul on malonga was in box. and most frustrating thing is gray seems half the player from last season

15-08-2015, 02:42 PM

Had a perfect view, was a stonewaller.

15-08-2015, 02:43 PM
Who is the ref? Any chance its the gers blogger from the Record?

Sent via the bushes @ EM

Mortons game plan is working the ref is on their side and the fans are extremely negative

MileHighBees

Agree that it should have been a pen
Think the booking might have been for dissent by Boyle
Game's finally come to life a bit after that incident though
Chances at both ends

Nazz
Like this one: http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?302890-Today-s-other-games&p=4442268#post4442268

Then why not create a "other games" thread and post Hearts and other teams updates there? This is the match day thread, I and a lot of others would rather just read about this game.

Had a perfect view, was a stonewaller.

Tell you what I am even more convinced we are up against it before we even start each game!

Decisions constantly going against us. Even out over the season apparently... Ma arse they do.

15-08-2015, 02:44 PM

Edit - quoted wrong person, meant to quote the Hearts score updater

I don't know about anyone else but I tend to stick to this thread for the duration of the game. It's good to get updates for other games of interest. It happens every week and has done for years, what is the problem? There usually is an "other games" thread but it tends to get abandoned pretty quickly. Nobody is asking for Accrington Stanley updates, just those of interest to most Hibs fans, of which I would include Hearts games. Especially as actual match updates are very few and far between as most folk there are too busy watching the game. If they were 2-0 down nobody would get upset about it being posted.

15-08-2015, 02:44 PM
McGinn shoots wide from distance again.

15-08-2015, 02:46 PM
Gray header cleared off the line.Bartley makes a crucial tavkle on.the break.

McGinn takes a better dead ball than Allan.

Sounds like the much maligned Oxley has kept us in it with a couple of good saves.

I don't know about anyone else but I tend to stick to this thread for the duration of the game. It's good to get updates for other games of interest. It happens every week and has done for years, what is the problem? There usually is an "other games" thread but it tends to get abandoned pretty quickly. Nobody is asking for Accrington Stanley updates, just those of interest to most Hibs fans, of which I would include Hearts games. Especially as actual match updates are very few and far between as most folk there are too busy watching the game. If they were 2-0 down nobody would get upset about it being posted.

Accrington losing 1-0 :greengrin

How have Hibs played anyone?

15-08-2015, 02:47 PM
Header back across goal, just out of Fontaines reach really, gets a nod in it and keeper saves.

Half time.

Sounds like the much maligned Oxley has kept us in it with a couple of good saves.

He's played well today.

Agree with this.

Very grateful for ALL updates

0-0 ht

GlasgowHibee
Poor standard of game, but we should be winning - Morton have looked fairly decent on counter attacks. Just need one goal to put the game to bed.

15-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Boooo! Nil nil HT.

15-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Doesn't sound very inspiring.

Bring Cummings on for second half?

Yuillsy
15-08-2015, 02:49 PM

Fair point FB, A couple of Hibs goals would certainly change mood.

Bring Henderson on.

Mortons game plan is working the ref is on their side and the fans are extremely negative
Cant blame the fans for being negative if as reported the game is poor. Hibs apparently playing slooow football to begin and no goal threat, according the sports sound roaster Millar, but confirmed by others.

MileHighBees

:agree: Few good saves by both keepers.

HT 0-0
Some strange refereeing as per usual

Bring Henderson on.

Will give the fans a lift :agree:

Hannah_hfc
15-08-2015, 02:50 PM
I'm relying on this thread for updates as well however wanting the next post to say Hibs have scored and having 3/4 posts tell me the yams have scored instead is a tad frustrating and I'm sure those speaking up feel similar.

Tbh since they are no longer in the same league as us I really couldn't give a flying one what their score is. Each to their own.

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Not great, Malonga having a mare. All very slow, again. Penalty not been given seemed to spur us on a bit.
McGinn looks pretty good.

Accrington losing 1-0 :greengrin

How have Hibs played anyone?

Boooo!

Poor first half. Not overly sure there are any changes crying out to be made. Plan will be to stick at it.

Off the bar
He's played well today.

Cheers for the updates PB, much appreciated as .net is the only way to follow sometimes, if you could commentate on a couple of hibs goals that would be brilliant!

From when I tuned in games been open yet scrappy. Nobody really stood out, Carmichael most involved and either done really well or really poor.

Cheshire Hibby
:agree: Few good saves by both keepers.

HT 0-0
Some strange refereeing as per usual

How is Malonga doing?

Doesn't sound very inspiring.

Bring Cummings on for second half?

Yep. We've had very little from Dom.

15-08-2015, 02:51 PM
Slow and ponderous. Only look threatening wgen Carmichael Boyle or Mc Ginn are on the ball. Refs having a mare.

15-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Malonga and Gray both having poor games, usually two of my favourite players.

Boyle and McGinn have looked sharp and dangerous though.

15-08-2015, 02:52 PM
That was some half. ...rangers better watch out

15-08-2015, 02:53 PM
I'm relying on this thread for updates as well however wanting the next post to say Hibs have scored and having 3/4 posts tell me the yams have scored instead is a tad frustrating and I'm sure those speaking up feel similar.

Tbh since they are no longer in the same league as us I really couldn't give a flying one what their score is. Each to their own.

Fair doos. The problem might be then that as soon as goal goes in, be it for us or anyone, loads of folk post it so you get numerous repeated posts. Personally, I couldn't care if they were playing in the Maybury League, I want to hear they're getting gubbed! :flag:

2-1 to the Merricks now by the way!

Mango Man
Can we just not score a couple of early goals to make us relax a bit more, the longer it goes on the more dread builds and then we inevitably lose a sucker punch of a goal, it's becoming a weekly thing. Watching that mob flying in the top league doesn't help. No justice in this world.

Started very poorly, came back into it end of the half. Should have had a penalty.

How is Malonga doing?

Struggled to get involved, shooting and passing has been below par when he has had the ball.

15-08-2015, 02:54 PM
"No urgency" was the text I received. Sounds simliar to last week then?

Take Bartley off for a more attack minded formation. The ball is moving to slow from back to front.

Ref not happy about the Scott Allan saga. We should know better than to humiliate Sevco.

Cheshire Hibby
15-08-2015, 02:55 PM
Struggled to get involved, shooting and passing has been below par when he has had the ball.

Thanks, was afraid of that!!

15-08-2015, 02:56 PM
Henderson.and Cummings both warming up seperatley, and more vigourously, than the other subs before rejoining the main body.

Hannah_hfc
Fair doos. The problem might be then that as soon as goal goes in, be it for us or anyone, loads of folk post it so you get numerous repeated posts. Personally, I couldn't care if they were playing in the Maybury League, I want to hear they're getting gubbed! :flag:

2-1 to the Merricks now by the way!

If Hibs were cruising 4 nil and someone put a post saying By the way the yams are losing 5 nil I'm sure I'd let that pass :greengrin

Hibs last five minutes was excellent.

No idea why we can't demonstrate a little urgency though? Spent the first 35 minutes trying to let Morton score.

First time seeing Bartley, unsure. Distribution is poor and seems unable to jump upwards. He is a strong lad though and broke up some attacks.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

15-08-2015, 02:57 PM
Ref not happy about the Scott Allan saga. We should know better than to humiliate Sevco.

I believe he supports another of our play off rivals not The Rangers - no surprise there was no penalty, he wouldn't want us getting to far up the league.......bairns eh :cb

Nemo
15-08-2015, 02:58 PM
Got a HibsTV trial :)

How do you get the trial?,

had a wee looksy on the hibs tv as im thinking of getting it but want a wee trial first, if poss.

Looked just to be a straight registering.

15-08-2015, 03:00 PM
How is Malonga doing?

Terrible. Missed an absolute sitter. Will be a frustrating season again if we don't start taking our chances.

15-08-2015, 03:01 PM
Poor game, McGinn working hard and looks decent. Carmichael best for Hibs. Dom looks more disinterested than normal. Gray very poor early on but great headers in their box towards end of half. Hibs edging it but they could easily have scored a couple of times. Ox in way but very poor finishing from them. In upper west at Dunbar end and looked a pen to me. Ref and west stand lino as clueless as I have seen.

15-08-2015, 03:02 PM
Oxley's done well. We are too pedestrian, really lack urgency. Gray's had a shocker and nobody has really stood out. That said, should have had two penalties imho.

15-08-2015, 03:03 PM
Oxleys made a couple of saves. Fair play to him, hope it continues.

MileHighBees
15-08-2015, 03:03 PM
How is Malonga doing?

Had probably the best chance of the game with a close range shot from Gray's cross but hit it poorly for an easy save for the keeper.
Don't think any Hibs player was outstanding in the first half.
Need to improve and quickly.
Morton aren't great but they looked as capable of scoring as Hibs did.

Cheshire Hibby
15-08-2015, 03:04 PM
Terrible. Missed an absolute sitter. Will be a frustrating season again if we don't start taking our chances.

Thanks, as previous post, I don't have faith in him as a lone striker. Needs a partner.

15-08-2015, 03:06 PM
Keeper fluffs a clearance, Mcginn tripped over the ball whilst looking for the 40 yard 1st time lob.

15-08-2015, 03:08 PM
Malonga header easy save after Fyvie had a shot blocked from just outside the box.

All came from Carmichael passing.it out the park and the linesman, 3 yards away, giving Hibs a throw.

15-08-2015, 03:09 PM
Thanks, as previous post, I don't have faith in him as a lone striker. Needs a partner.

Going back to the post that said Dom looked lazy in the warm up...

ive seen a lot of guys warm up well and have a good game

ive seen others warm up well and have a stinker

So theres some element of lottery, i accept

but heres the thing

Every player I've seen have a crap warm up has had a poor game

i just don't understand why any athlete would approach their work in a lazy fashion, practically guaranteeing an under par performance

15-08-2015, 03:11 PM
McGinn strike draws a good save. Corner.

Cummings stripped.

15-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Cut back by Gray, Malonga leaves it for Hanlon who scoops well over the bar from close range.

15-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Going back to the post that said Dom looked lazy in the warm up...

ive seen a lot of guys warm up well and have a good game

ive seen others warm up well and have a stinker

So theres some element of lottery, i accept

but heres the thing

Every player I've seen have a crap warm up has had a poor game

i just don't understand why any athlete would approach their work in a lazy fashion, practically guaranteeing an under par performance

Scored a good few goals last season for us

15-08-2015, 03:13 PM
Great turn and strike from McGinn, good save.

15-08-2015, 03:14 PM
Wonderball from Lewis, cut back from Gray and Hanlon slides in to hit it over under pressure.

Had probably the best chance of the game with a close range shot from Gray's cross but hit it poorly for an easy save for the keeper.
Don't think any Hibs player was outstanding in the first half.
Need to improve and quickly.
Morton aren't great but they looked as capable of scoring as Hibs did.
Youve confirmed and summed up exactly what sports sound have reported at start of 2nd half. Disappointing.

Bartley off, Cummings on.

15-08-2015, 03:15 PM
Goaaaaal Cummings.

1st touch from a Gray cut back.

Yesssssssssssssssssss bout time 1-0 Hibees :gwa2::flag::flag:

Is that Cummings first touch??

Goaaaaal Cummings.

His first touch?

15-08-2015, 03:16 PM
Didn't take jase long!!

Get ****ing in there.

Cummings to the rescue :greengrin

MileHighBees
Great goal :thumbsup:
Just what we needed

Hannah_hfc
Thank god for that! Come on the Hibees!

His first touch?

Yep..

Couldn't have been on 30 seconds.

15-08-2015, 03:17 PM
First touch from Cummings.

Great threaded ball from Fyvie, cut across by Gray and JC knew where to be. Simple.

Ronster117
Yeeessss time to kick on another 3 please

Glesgahibby
Yeaass!!
Come in hibs,let's kick on now!!

Take Bartley off for a more attack minded formation. The ball is moving to slow from back to front.

Called it.

Now that's a reaction to being dropped! :thumbsup:

HibeeHendo
I understand the need to rotate the team and giver others a chance but he should never have started on the bench.

Cheshire Hibby
Great goal :thumbsup:
Just what we needed

Phew!!

15-08-2015, 03:18 PM
Save. Great move

Sent via the bushes @ EM

15-08-2015, 03:19 PM
Almost. 2.

Keeper makes another fine save from a Cummings header. Who.is he? He's played well.

15-08-2015, 03:20 PM
I really really feel Jason has to start, hibs have to be set up to accommodate him, thats my opinion anyway.

That's an impact :greengrin

57:10 Goal scoredGoal! Goal! Hibernian 1, Morton 0. Jason Cummings (Hibernian) left footed shot from the centre of the box to the centre of the goal. Assisted by David Gray with a cross.
57:08 SubstitutionSubstitution Substitution, Hibernian. Jason Cummings replaces Marvyn Bartley.

dmc1875
Our defence is atrocious

We're at 6s and 7s at back here.

Couple of minutes of Morton pressure end with a goal kick to Hibs.

15-08-2015, 03:21 PM
We're at 6s and 7s at back here. Couple of minutes of Morton pressure end with a goal kick to Hibs.

Hopefully as mentioned by someone yesterday a defender is in the radar.

15-08-2015, 03:23 PM
Looked so much better since we've gone 442

15-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Cummings pushed in the back when going up for a header. Ref not interested.

15-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Hopefully as mentioned by someone yesterday a defender is in the radar.

Completley pointless if it isnt a signing that is better than what we currently have. We must improve our back 4 .. That for me is a new centre half and a new left back.. I wont even go there with the goalie

15-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Cummings pushed in the back when going up for a header. Ref not interested.

Seems to be a pattern here PB... Red not interested

15-08-2015, 03:26 PM
Completley pointless if it isnt a signing that is better than what we currently have. We must improve our back 4 .. That for me is a new centre half and a new left back.. I wont even go there with the goalie

Indeed.

15-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Carmichale replaced by Henderson.

Carmichael off for henderson

Late to the party but yessss a goal :flag:

Cummings shoots just over. He's added a bit much needed urgency.

15-08-2015, 03:28 PM
We need impartial foreign refs in Scotland being that we are incapable of producing our own.

15-08-2015, 03:31 PM
Henderson loses the ball but wins it back, beats a man, wins a 60/40 against him then plays in Boyle who wins a corner.

15-08-2015, 03:32 PM
Mon the cabbage, get the job done.

15-08-2015, 03:33 PM
Good tenacity, strength and skill from Henderson. Thought he was a bit studds up at the end though, coulda been booked I thought.

15-08-2015, 03:35 PM
Clever free kick, Hanlon header easily saved.

15-08-2015, 03:36 PM
Gray goes.to the ground with no one near him holding his leg.

Worrying.

15-08-2015, 03:38 PM
Gray goes.to the ground with no one near him holding his leg.

Worrying.

FFS. Hopefully it's nothing too serious.

15-08-2015, 03:39 PM
8923 attendance.

570 from Morton.

Pretty pish.

Hope he's alright. At least we've not used all our subs yet too.

He's up and on but looks uncomfortable.

15-08-2015, 03:40 PM
Just about shat myself when i looked at the score. ..thought it said morton was 1 up....phew

15-08-2015, 03:41 PM
Fyvie MOTM.

Soldiersteve
15-08-2015, 03:41 PM
8923 attendance.

570 from Morton.

Pretty pish.
Agreed, and thats without my ST being used yet!

15-08-2015, 03:42 PM
Boyle off, Stanton on

Boyle off, Stanton on.

8923 attendance.

570 from Morton.

Pretty pish.
Not great, but to a degree understandable.

15-08-2015, 03:44 PM
Henderson just about plays Cummings in. Bit too much on the pass.

15-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Henderson tees up Stevenson, shoots well wide.

15-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Henderson just about plays Cummings in. Bit too much on the pass.

Hes no scott allan

15-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Henderson looks a cracking player who the **** was Scott Allan [emoji48]

Ronster117
15-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Hes no scott allan
Who?

15-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Kamikaze defending again as fontaine knees it back into danger in his own box, Gray half clears a header, Henderson loses the ball and Morton shoot over.

15-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Who?

Some wee weegie phanny with a curtains haircut in 2015.

15-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Some wee weegie phanny with a curtains haircut in 2015.

Curtains are sooooo 90s

Tinribs
15-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Hes no scott allan

He's four years less experienced than Scott, give him a break

15-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Jason Cummings has worked his socks off today since coming on.

Won us a corner a couple of minutes ago through chasing down and half blocked a clearance there as well through sheer persistence.

15-08-2015, 03:51 PM
Stanton.shot well saved.

Full time.

Off the bar
15-08-2015, 03:51 PM
Stanton.shot well saved.

Full time.

Good result.

Thanks again for the updates PB

15-08-2015, 03:52 PM
Oh well 3 points. Still making hard work of games that we should be cruising.

Right, wins a win.

More urgency required and we really need to start taking our chances

That will do. Off the mark!

MileHighBees
FT 1-0
Happy with the win
Much better 2nd half
Still plenty of room for improvement though
Cummings maybe fired up after losing his starting sport and played well when he came on
Impressed with Henderson too

Ronster117
Not the emphatic win we wanted, but a wins a win.
well done :flag:

15-08-2015, 03:53 PM
Yay we won....whod have thunk it

7 Up
15-08-2015, 03:54 PM
Hibs juggernaut gets rolling. :greengrin

Hannah_hfc
15-08-2015, 03:54 PM
Important win. Our season has started. SA saga well and truly behind us so time for the team to go onwards and upwards from here.

15-08-2015, 03:55 PM
Hugely important to get the win today. Hopefully Gray just took a knock as we'll need him at Ibrox.

macd123
15-08-2015, 04:00 PM
The whole team will always look jittery without a solid defence. We have 2 weeks to sort it out.

green.and.white
15-08-2015, 04:05 PM
We won, that's all that matters. On to the next one :flag:

15-08-2015, 04:07 PM
We won, that's all that matters. On to the next one :flag:

Correct.

CL0762
15-08-2015, 04:09 PM
Felt a bit sorry for Carmichael today, think he was just trying a wee bit too hard to impress. Fyvie was woeful at times but provided a fantastic through ball to Gray for the cross for Cummings.

JC looked lively when he came on.

Not the best performance however we could've had about 5/6 today but for poor finishing/good goalkeeping and an utterly ***** referee.

Bring on next weekend!

Soldiersteve
15-08-2015, 04:12 PM
Felt a bit sorry for Carmichael today, think he was just trying a wee bit too hard to impress. Fyvie was woeful at times but provided a fantastic through ball to Gray for the cross for Cummings.

JC looked lively when he came on.

Not the best performance however we could've had about 5/6 today but for poor finishing/good goalkeeping and an utterly ***** referee.

Bring on next weekend!
Pretty sure we won't have any dodgy decisions against us next week! :greengrin

bigstu
15-08-2015, 04:13 PM
Like watching paint dry. It could be a long season...

15-08-2015, 04:18 PM
Well at least it's a win, but it won't bring the crowds back. Another win next week please and perhaps a bit of belief will return?

bigstu
15-08-2015, 04:21 PM
Well at least it's a win, but it won't bring the crowds back. Another win next week please and perhaps a bit of belief will return?

The crowds will drop off further if we continue to play like that. Good to win but zero entertainment

15-08-2015, 04:21 PM
Morton played with 10 behind the ball all game. Very hard to break down. Hibs far to slow with the passes in midfield. Despite what some are saying I didn't see much wrong in defence. Gray got done twice. But the CH had about 2 mistakes between them the whole game. Midfield need to have much more movement tho. We had to resort to long diagonals due to our middle players hiding.
Henderson was best player on the park when he came out. Industry, power, talent. He'd be my first pick next week. Boyle also very good. I wouldn't have Dom in the starting 11 next week. He may have talent but he didn't close down the defence.

15-08-2015, 04:26 PM
Result in bag. :thumbsup:

15-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Positives -

3 points
Home win
No goals conceded
Good to see Boyle, Carmichael, McGinn and Henderson get game time
Makes a change having strength off the bench
Well taken goal
Excellent save by Oxley for the 1v1 at 0v0
Another goal for Cummings 3 now this season

Negatives
Still play too narrow and slow
Think he got tactics wrong - play 2 up front - do we need a defensive midfielder at home ?
Our shooting is still pretty woeful
Killing games off once 1v0 up

Wasn't free flowing entertaining stuff today but 3 points was a must. We need to becareful we don't become a predicatale Fenlon type side.

Was good to see the new players - Henderson looks quality and McGinn will continue to get better. Thought Boyle caused problems all day and worked hard.

high bee
15-08-2015, 04:51 PM
8923 attendance.

570 from Morton.

Pretty pish.

I won't be counting the dots again, must've been a lot of missing ST holders.

Nothing to do with my counting.

high bee
15-08-2015, 04:54 PM
We were poor first half, better 2nd half.

What summed us up was when Morton broke on us and committed men forward. Oxley saves well as played it out and we sit with the ball 20 yds out from our goal with no urgency to break on them. By the time we reach the half way line they have 10 men behind the ball again.

Henderson looks very good, drives forward and has real class on the ball, looks miles nice this league IMO.

Oxley had a good game and we were time wasting against Morton. Those 2 things are concerning.

15-08-2015, 04:54 PM
Desperate to see out a 1-0 win.

We have no leaders and no ruthless streak.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

15-08-2015, 05:04 PM
With better refereeing decisions, this game could, and should have been safely put away before half time. Morton are a tall outfit and long balls were predictable and easy for them to defend against. We had no threat whatsoever down the left as neither Stevenson or Carmichael would take on their right back down the line. After the substitutions in the second half we were more direct, quicker and more threatening. Henderson must be first pick for next week and I think once they all settle in we'll have a better team than last season. We were never really troubled at the back although a couple of mistakes could have let them in. Oxley done well today, and overall I am a lot more positive about this season than I was last week. Onwards and upwards.

15-08-2015, 05:05 PM
Agree - still missing real drive and leaders - would like to see Fontaine and Gray take charge more often.

Also think we pass it to the deep centre backs from Gk when really Oxley could take ball further up - our slow build up allows teams to get organised and park 2 buses.

We rarely saw any quick breaks - happy to play 4-4-2 at home / let teams come at us a little then hit them on break.

bill the hibby
15-08-2015, 05:09 PM
Not going to dress it up, was pretty dire to watch, the long balls from defence we sometimes play are a punt to nowhere, what's so hard about trying to play it into a channel I stead of a long straight ball down the middle. Still no tempo to our play but players are still learning about each other's game. Not a great game, pretty boring but let's take our first three points of the season and move on

15-08-2015, 05:09 PM
We need to be killing off these types of games in the first half, we need to be far more ruthless.

However its 3 points and a clean sheet. If the same happens next week then we'll be delighted.

Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk