View Full Version : 10 Biggest supports in Scotland

JOD
14-08-2015, 07:50 PM
Always discussing various size of support --------thought I would at Twitter an see the number of followers for the various main clubs. Here is top ten.

Tic= 290k
Huns=190k
Sheep=44.6k
Vermin=40.8k
Hibees=33.9k
Arabs=27.6k
1986=19.2k
Caley=16.3k (surprise)
Perth Sts =16.3k

On this basis we are the 5th biggest supported team in Scotland. What do we think ? Considering the past few years I don't think that is too bad !!!

14-08-2015, 07:58 PM
You're basing these numbers off of....Twitter?!

I don't even use Twitter, as don't many other Hibee friends I know.

14-08-2015, 08:00 PM
Always discussing various size of support --------thought I would at Twitter an see the number of followers for the various main clubs. Here is top ten.

Tic= 290k
Huns=190k
Sheep=44.6k
Vermin=40.8k
Hibees=33.9k
Arabs=27.6k
1986=19.2k
Caley=16.3k (surprise)
Perth Sts =16.3k

On this basis we are the 5th biggest supported team in Scotland. What do we think ? Considering the past few years I don't think that is too bad !!!
Surely attendance stats will confirm we have the 5th best crowds in the country - even in the second tier? And not having a go bud, but this "size" type of thing isn't what I'd expect from our side of Edinburgh.

14-08-2015, 08:02 PM
They missed a zero off the yams figure :cb

14-08-2015, 08:03 PM
You're basing these numbers off of....Twitter?!

I don't even use Twitter, as don't many other Hibee friends I know.

Causes too much trouble out of nothing :rolleyes:

14-08-2015, 08:05 PM
ICT get a big following due to the boy that does their Twitter.

14-08-2015, 08:06 PM
ICT get a big following due to the boy that does their Twitter.

What's he so good at?

14-08-2015, 08:08 PM
What's he so good at?

I'm not sure I want to know.

14-08-2015, 08:12 PM
I'm not sure I want to know.

A lot of the followers came from the Celtic semi, story is here (http://babb.telegraph.co.uk/2015/04/inverness-ct-reach-first-ever-scottish-cup-final-twitter-account-goes-into-hilarious-meltdown/).

14-08-2015, 08:31 PM
What is this Twitter??

14-08-2015, 08:38 PM
What is this Twitter??

It's just a Scottish fad

14-08-2015, 08:49 PM
Saw thread title and assumed it was because we`re playing Morton tomorrow . Until only a few years ago they had a good support ( bigger than at least 4 of the Premiership teams now ) and I hope they help our funds by having at least 1000 at ER tomorrow .

Stokesy's on fire
14-08-2015, 08:54 PM

Tic= 290k
Huns=190k
Sheep=44.6k
Vermin=40.8k
Hibees=33.9k
Arabs=27.6k
1986=19.2k
Caley=16.3k (surprise)
Perth Sts =16.3k

Yams hate to say it have loads more fans than the sheep. But twitters no measure of a support. The sheeps Twitter had less followers than Hibs up until they won a cup then they crawled out the woodwork. ICT account is banter I follow that for a laugh

Galahibby
14-08-2015, 08:54 PM
A lot of the followers came from the Celtic semi, story is here (http://babb.telegraph.co.uk/2015/04/inverness-ct-reach-first-ever-scottish-cup-final-twitter-account-goes-into-hilarious-meltdown/).

That's brilliant! :tee hee:

14-08-2015, 08:59 PM
Don't have twitter either.

14-08-2015, 09:28 PM
What on earth has the amount of twitter followers got to do with a clubs support?

JOD
14-08-2015, 09:55 PM
Jeez folks lighten up !!! I was only looking at Twitter to compare interest in our major clubs to see how we stood up and as in every club there will be supporters who havnae a clue what

social media is !!!

Some posters on here awfy sensitive nowadays. :-)))

14-08-2015, 11:22 PM
I would say those Twitter figures are a pretty accurate reflection of actual support size. I would possibly swap Aberdeen & Hearts and definitely swap St Johnstone and ICT, other than that, spot on. Where are Motherwell, Killie, Partick & Hamilton?

14-08-2015, 11:41 PM
Jeez folks lighten up !!! I was only looking at Twitter to compare interest in our major clubs to see how we stood up and as in every club there will be supporters who havnae a clue what

social media is !!!

Some posters on here awfy sensitive nowadays. :-)))

Good work ! Looking forward to your supermarket survey.

15-08-2015, 07:07 AM
I would say those Twitter figures are a pretty accurate reflection of actual support size. I would possibly swap Aberdeen & Hearts and definitely swap St Johnstone and ICT, other than that, spot on. Where are Motherwell, Killie, Partick & Hamilton?

Would defo have thought Partick would have been top 10. Do they not have a few celeb fans and fans in the media who would follow them but not go to games?

JOD
15-08-2015, 07:27 AM
Good work ! Looking forward to your supermarket survey.

being done as I type

:-) those little faces don't work on my PC :-(

JOD
15-08-2015, 07:36 AM

Oops missed Well=19.2k

Buddies=13.6k
Killie=13.2k
Partick=12.5k
Bairns=10.4k

All others -10k

Staggies=2.4k pretty accurate reflection of supports I'd say.

gegs70
15-08-2015, 07:55 AM
These are all people who like the club aren't able to or don't go along to ever game?

15-08-2015, 08:57 AM
They are the people in the queue for the next cup final ticket allocation.

15-08-2015, 09:55 AM

Tic= 290k
Huns=190k
Sheep=44.6k
Vermin=40.8k
Hibees=33.9k
Arabs=27.6k
1986=19.2k
Caley=16.3k (surprise)
Perth Sts =16.3k

Facebook page likes:

Celtic 1.368 million
Rangers 491.5k
Aberdeen 65.5k
Hibernian 45.4k
Dundee United 38.2k
Heart of Midlothian 27k
St Johnstone 22k
Motherwell 20.4k
Dunfermline 15.9k
St mirren 14k
Falkirk 9.7k
ICT 7.8k
Partick thistle 7.2k
Raith Rovers 3.5k

Compare this to random English teams

Stoke 560k
NUFC 1.69M
Man United 66m
Man City 19.4m
Chelsea 43m
Liverpool 25.9m
Everton 2.1m
Bournemouth 125k
Norwich 562k
Doncaster 125k
Rotherham 27.7k
Cardiff City 452k
Swansea 948k

15-08-2015, 10:34 AM
Is it true most tweeters are only able to use one hand?

15-08-2015, 10:38 AM
The only numbers that really matter are the numbers passing through the turnstiles.

CelticEnd
15-08-2015, 10:56 AM
The only numbers that really matter are the numbers passing through the turnstiles.

In the old days maybe.

Nowadays even having a big support can only take you so far.

I'd hazard a guess that Hibs are as big a team as Swansea -in terms of core support- and check the difference in resources

15-08-2015, 11:20 AM
In the old days maybe.

Nowadays even having a big support can only take you so far.

I'd hazard a guess that Hibs are as big a team as Swansea -in terms of core support- and check the difference in resources

30 years ago I would say we were very similar in size, us possibly slightly bigger....I used to go to The Vetch on occasion and they would have very similar crowds to us in the 80's. Now, they are FAR bigger than us, thanks to the growth in football down south and Swansea getting their act together in the nick of time.