View Full Version : That Dundee Derby! - Great advert for Scottish football

11-08-2015, 08:41 PM
What a game that was! End to end, brilliant saves, great atmosphere, and a frantic finish! Delighted to sit down to rare Scottish games like this and watch games that involve teams I have any ties to whatsoever, and be entertained!

James Mcpake 30 seconds from the end, I bet the big man loved that one! :agree:

11-08-2015, 08:42 PM
What a save from Scott Bain! Had no right to keep that out then they run up the other end and equalise. Astonishing! The lad is some keeper btw

11-08-2015, 08:43 PM
Great game. A long time since I have seen one as exciting as that. Great advert for Scottish fitbaw!

11-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Great game!!! High intensity stuff, good to watch

11-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Yep that was a very good game

Very rarely watch other Scottish game but was willing Dundee on .... Mainly fuelled for my great dislike of that ******* Ryan McGowan

high bee
11-08-2015, 08:45 PM
As the commentator said, it's the number one Derby in Scotland this year. Let's hope we can do something about that next year.

11-08-2015, 08:50 PM
Definitely deserved a thread of its own. For as much as people love to stick the boot into Scottish football, we need to praise it when it righty deserves to be praised. Some really good skillful players on show in that game! The boy 'Spittal' for Dundee United looked some prospect! Loved the United fans singing loud and proud 'Theres only 1 team in Dundee, one team in Duuuundee' at the 80th minute 2-0, only to have egg all over their faces at 2-2.

I had 2 American friends over at the house and even they got caught up watching it and particularly were engrossed in the 2nd half! I may or may not have led them on that most Scottish games are like this :greengrin

GlasgowHibee
11-08-2015, 08:50 PM
Brilliant game, atmosphere looked electric! Delighted for McPake too.

Dobosz83
11-08-2015, 08:51 PM
Fantastic entertainment all round tonight. Better than every televised block buster from the Premiership over the weekend across Sky and BT.

Spittal showed some quick feet and class with his 2 finishes, United fans jubilant, end to end, Stewart with a screamer, time wasting, world class save in the 90th, up the other end, dramatic equaliser, fans on the park etc.

Will be tuning in for this again in future.

JJP
11-08-2015, 08:51 PM
Excellent entertainment. Congratulations to McPake. What a goal that was from Greg Stewart as well.

11-08-2015, 08:53 PM
Fantastic entertainment all round tonight. Better than every televised block buster from the Premiership over the weekend across Sky and BT.

Spittal showed some quick feet and class with his 2 finishes, United fans jubilant, end to end, Stewart with a screamer, time wasting, world class save in the 90th, up the other end, dramatic equaliser, fans on the park etc.

Will be tuning in for this again in future.

Summed up perfectly :agree:

11-08-2015, 08:54 PM
Brilliant game, atmosphere looked electric! Delighted for McPake too.

Highlights the importance of fans packed into a small area and how that can generate atmosphere.

11-08-2015, 09:00 PM
Dundee Derbies have generally been good entertainment when I've watched them over the last few years.

Ricky Bobby
11-08-2015, 09:04 PM
Fantastic advert for our game. Rather watch that than some of the premiership primadonnas' any day. Great intesity throughout, and no lack of ability. Take a bow both teams.

11-08-2015, 09:06 PM
Great game. Wonder what the viewing figures were as that deserved a decent audience and may have tempted a few to tune into a Scottish game again.

Ricky Bobby
11-08-2015, 09:10 PM
IMO a 16 team league would promote more games like this. More potential derbies without the teams becoming jaded at facing each other four times a season.

11-08-2015, 09:11 PM
Great game. Barca game been good tae

11-08-2015, 09:12 PM
Hard lines 'Gowzer' ya flamin' fanny [emoji112] Great game

11-08-2015, 09:12 PM
Bet John Collins put his foot right through his telly having to watch this. Neither Dundee or Utd will ever produce a player clever enough for Celtc

11-08-2015, 09:13 PM
Great game, hope all our players watched that because we need a derby! The atmosphere, the build up.. Just get us out this league and show some passion like these boys tonight.

11-08-2015, 09:15 PM
Weren't we all told that McPake was finished? Career ending injury.:cb

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 09:25 PM
Dundee have made some very decent signings over the summer

11-08-2015, 09:28 PM
Weren't we all told that McPake was finished? Career ending injury.:cb

He was told by two specialist's one in England one in Ireland if he keeps playing with the way his back is he will face severe pain later in life. His choice was to carry on.

Doesn't mean he should have!!!

11-08-2015, 09:33 PM
Bet John Collins put his foot right through his telly having to watch this. Neither Dundee or Utd will ever produce a player clever enough for Celtc
Probably identified another 3 players for January's transfer window, after all cant have competion for the mighty celtic.

11-08-2015, 09:47 PM
Brilliant game, was impressed by the quality on display from both teams. Was way better than the EPL live games that I saw over the weekend.

Iceman1875
11-08-2015, 09:59 PM
Great game, got a wee soft spot for Dundee and glad to see Thomson and Mcpake doing well.

At Easter Road we play...

11-08-2015, 10:06 PM
Great game, got a wee soft spot for Dundee and glad to see Thomson and Mcpake doing well.

At Easter Road we play...

Not good enough for Hibs and found their level :hmmm:

11-08-2015, 10:09 PM
Not good enough for Hibs and found their level :hmmm:

TB's decision

11-08-2015, 10:55 PM
What a game that was! End to end, brilliant saves, great atmosphere, and a frantic finish! Delighted to sit down to rare Scottish games like this and watch games that involve teams I have any ties to whatsoever, and be entertained!

Rubbish game

We need The Rangers back in the top flight to make our game more credible

c31
11-08-2015, 11:06 PM
It showed all that's wrong with our footballers, every player was poor in possession and about 90% of passes went astray. If people are happy enough watching crap then fair enough.
One team left in Europe till next week says it all about Scottish football.

11-08-2015, 11:15 PM
It showed all that's wrong with our footballers, every player was poor in possession and about 90% of passes went astray. If people are happy enough watching crap then fair enough.

Taking the piss?.....surely taking the piss?!

11-08-2015, 11:45 PM
I wish I'd known it was on. I'm in Vancouver and had the day to myself as Mrs R was at a conference.

Mind you, we're 8 hours behind. I'm not even sure I was awake!

Are there highlights on the BBC?

12-08-2015, 12:03 AM
Was a great game played in a brilliant atmosphere. Stewart for Dundee is an excellent player. Also thought Donaldson and Spittal for Utd were very good - only 19 years old.

12-08-2015, 02:41 AM
#armageddon

12-08-2015, 04:34 AM
I wish I'd known it was on. I'm in Vancouver and had the day to myself as Mrs R was at a conference.

Mind you, we're 8 hours behind. I'm not even sure I was awake!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/33873782

12-08-2015, 07:06 AM
Great game. Wonder what the viewing figures were as that deserved a decent audience and may have tempted a few to tune into a Scottish game again.

The Barca vs Seville game was on so doubt the viewing figures will be that great. I didn't even know the Dundee derby was even being played last night but even if I did, I'd have stuck with the Spanish. Was another cracking game by the way.

12-08-2015, 07:46 AM

Mental.

12-08-2015, 08:47 AM
Mental.

Absolutely the comparison with the utter junk that was on at the weekend in the best-est league in the world. Stoke Liverpool and Man U Tottenham were terrible to watch. Good atmosphere excitement pace energy and no little skill also with a lot of very talented young kids on show. Great game.

Barry Hearn was spot on with the chronic talking down of our game especially from people in charge of our game. It has its faults however also has alot going for it.

12-08-2015, 09:22 AM
Mental.

I can't comment on the game because I didn't see it but think the point the poster is trying to make is that great entertainment isn't nessessarily good quality.
I saw some great games last season watching Peebles Rovers in the EOS 1 St Div.

Ricky Bobby
12-08-2015, 09:33 AM
I can't comment on the game because I didn't see it but think the point the poster is trying to make is that great entertainment isn't nessessarily good quality.
I saw some great games last season watching Peebles Rovers in the EOS 1 St Div.

The thing about last nights game was it was not just played at a high tempowith a great atmosphere in the ground. There was a lot of quality shown by both teams with qualit goals scored. If that was an EPL game they would all be telling us how it is the greatest league in the world.
Lets big up Scottish football when its deserved.
The poster who said the game was full of misplaced passes is fishing

12-08-2015, 09:36 AM
... I'm in Vancouver...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/33873782

Can't watch that outside the UK, sadly.

12-08-2015, 09:37 AM
The thing about last nights game was it was not just played at a high tempowith a great atmosphere in the ground. There was a lot of quality shown by both teams with quality of both teams. If that was an EPL game they would all be telling us how it is the greatest league in the world.
Lets big up Scottish football when its deserved.
The poster who said the game was full of misplaced passes is fishing

Agree there was alot of quality on show especially from kids like Spittal who scored two excellent goals and also just missed his hat trick. It was played at a full pace and physicality however there was loads of quality also. If it had been an EPL game as you say you would never hear the end of it. We do need to talk up our game more especially given how easy it is to watch live football.

12-08-2015, 10:27 AM
TB's decision

:agree: Did Butcher do anything right during his catastrophic time in charge at ER?

Largshibby
12-08-2015, 10:44 AM
Yep that was a very good game

Very rarely watch other Scottish game but was willing Dundee on .... Mainly fuelled for my great dislike of that ******* Ryan McGowan

He might be an ex jambo but if our players worked as hard as he did last night we wouldn't be where we are.

12-08-2015, 10:45 AM
:agree: Did Butcher do anything right during his catastrophic time in charge at ER?

Well, there was the camouflage decorated Dug Outs and promotional material that would have been more suited to the warmongering Rangers Support...

So no, he didn't

12-08-2015, 11:13 AM
I would have went to the pub to watch it coz I'm in Liverpool just now, but when I saw Barca v Seville was on I was pretty sure the pub would be showing that rather than a Scottish game. Sounds like it was a cracker though. That's why there's nothing better than watching a derby match, it doesn't matter who it is, the fact that you know its vital for both sets of players and fans always make them worthwhile as a neutral.

12-08-2015, 11:18 AM

He got us relegated from the Premier League.

Which, to be fair, did actually take away the fear of being relegated from the Premier League.

12-08-2015, 11:23 AM
He got us relegated from the Premier League.

Which, to be fair, did actually take away the fear of being relegated from the Premier League.

12-08-2015, 11:23 AM
I would have went to the pub to watch it coz I'm in Liverpool just now, but when I saw Barca v Seville was on I was pretty sure the pub would be showing that rather than a Scottish game. Sounds like it was a cracker though. That's why there's nothing better than watching a derby match, it doesn't matter who it is, the fact that you know its vital for both sets of players and fans always make them worthwhile as a neutral.

I agree. :agree:

You know that any flashpoint could kick off at any time, or that any hat-trick or good performance could elevate a journeyman pro to legendary status overnight.

Dundee, Stoke, South Wales, Pompey/ Soton, Bristol, any overseas one - they may not register on the worldwide football scale but they are normally immensely watchable.

To be honest, the most tedious derby in world football is the utterly predictable, hackneyed, hate-filled Glasgow bun-fight.

12-08-2015, 11:25 AM
If BT and Sky actually start showing games where both teams feel as though they can win the game rather than just showing Celtic , they might get themselves some entertaining football!

12-08-2015, 01:58 PM
If BT and Sky actually start showing games where both teams feel as though they can win the game rather than just showing Celtic , they might get themselves some entertaining football!

Thought it was on Sky? So presumably they are doing what you want?

MileHighBees
12-08-2015, 03:26 PM
Can't watch that outside the UK, sadly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzKJzme2rDU

12-08-2015, 03:28 PM

12-08-2015, 04:12 PM

I missed it but will record a replay on FSP. Sounds like a great game to watch. Pity you told me the score. :greengrin

12-08-2015, 04:42 PM

The SPFL Youtube channel has gone from being decent (save for the week long wait for non top league games..............) to being pish this season. As far as I can see, they no longer upload game by game highlights, just a "all the goals" reel per week.

Poor show IMO :agree: