View Full Version : Question jamie langfield

hibsboy07
11-08-2015, 11:23 AM
I see langfield has been released by Aberdeen
could he do a job for us?
I believe he is looking for a player/coach role.

Greenblood70
11-08-2015, 11:26 AM
We'd simply be replacing one crap goalkeeper with another - no thanks from me.

hibeemikey21
11-08-2015, 11:28 AM

Clangers?!?? Good god no!!

11-08-2015, 11:39 AM
Aw hell naw

11-08-2015, 11:41 AM
Signing for St Mirren

hibsboy07
11-08-2015, 11:49 AM
Lol I thought that would be the most popular
answer

11-08-2015, 11:59 AM
Is he better than Otley, it's close. He's not a great keeper, and for me signing him would be bringing in someone I think is not the standard of player that would improve us.

11-08-2015, 12:00 PM
Lol I thought that would be the most popular
answer

You can go back and tell your Client we said No.

11-08-2015, 12:03 PM
Can any of the showumni brothers do a turn in goals? If so I'd stick them in ahead of langfield

11-08-2015, 12:05 PM
Nooooooooooooo!

11-08-2015, 12:08 PM
There's a reason that he's known amongst the Aberdeen fans I know as Clangers, and it's not his consistently excellent goalkeeping skills.

So, a large No from me.

11-08-2015, 12:20 PM
He's not that good, but he's far better than we've got.

As someone has said already, he's signing for St Mirren anyway.

11-08-2015, 12:22 PM
There's a reason that he's known amongst the Aberdeen fans I know as Clangers, and it's not his consistently excellent goalkeeping skills.

So, a large No from me.
Just reinforced it for me. Nae way want a keeper who believes in knitted mice types that live on the moon and are in constant fear of a so called soup dragon.

Not unless it's budgie anyway[emoji1]

11-08-2015, 12:43 PM

We could use him as a perma-scapegoat.

11-08-2015, 12:48 PM
so no doubt when he plays for St Mirren against us ,he will have one of those days when he makes several great saves :greengrin

11-08-2015, 12:51 PM
He's not that good, but he's far better than we've got.

As someone has said already, he's signing for St Mirren anyway.

Wouldn't say he's far better at all. He's made loads of high profile howlers over the years. You don't get the nickname clangers for nothing. Oxley may have been poor on Saturday but over the piece he's been half decent and hasn't made too much an arse of himself.

11-08-2015, 01:51 PM
Has anyone ever identified a goalkeeper that would be universally accepted as good enough to play in goals for us? :)

11-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Has anyone ever identified a goalkeeper that would be universally accepted as good enough to play in goals for us? :)

Derek Soutar

11-08-2015, 01:54 PM
Billy the fish

Sioux
11-08-2015, 02:24 PM

Petr Cech :wink:

11-08-2015, 02:29 PM
Because we dominate most of our games what we need is one of those keepers who can spend 80 minutes with sod all to do and then still be awake enough to pull off a brilliant save when the time comes .... unfortunately keepers like that tend to be with bigger clubs than us. As for Langfield ..... no thanks.

11-08-2015, 03:09 PM
For some reason beyond my understanding he always seemed to have good games against Hibs, but otherwise I thought he was a really dodgy keeper. Here's a couple of examples:

https://youtu.be/Vj1Cga4uhjg

https://youtu.be/sz0sLSE64Nk

11-08-2015, 03:11 PM

Did you see him on Sunday? Played like Maka :greengrin

11-08-2015, 04:03 PM

He was awful at the weekend. Wouldn't last two mins up here! :greengrin

11-08-2015, 04:43 PM
The one thing that amazed me about Langfield was that Aberdeen regularly seemed to find goalkeepers worse than him to come in and compete for the gloves.

Derek Soutar, Scott Brown, Ryan Eason and David Preece to name a few.

11-08-2015, 04:45 PM
Can any of the showumni brothers do a turn in goals? If so I'd stick them in ahead of langfield

The way Oxley has started the season, I'd rather play one of the Marx brothers; even Harpo, who would only be able to communicate with the defence via that horn of his.

11-08-2015, 04:46 PM

Ideally Hibs would sign a goalkeeper of the same quality as say Jim Leighton or Andy Goram (leaving aside his off-field issues).

Sadly, goalkeepers of that quality are no longer within Hibs reach financially. The monetary rewards are far greater elsewhere, and they would in any case be reluctant to play at Scottish Championship level.

11-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Ideally Hibs would sign a goalkeeper of the same quality as say Jim Leighton or Andy Goram (leaving aside his off-field issues).

Sadly, goalkeepers of that quality are no longer within Hibs reach financially. The monetary rewards are far greater elsewhere, and they would in any case be reluctant to play at Scottish Championship level.

Indeed, and of course both were capable of the odd clanger or too as well!

11-08-2015, 07:49 PM

If we signed de Gea, people would complain that he isn't as good as Neuer.

And if we signed Neuer, people would complain that he isn't as good as de Gea.

12-08-2015, 03:34 AM
If we signed de Gea, people would complain that he isn't as good as Neuer.

And if we signed Neuer, people would complain that he isn't as good as de Gea.
What a cynic you are..... :wink:

12-08-2015, 04:42 AM

Dino Zoff (Admittedly he's getting on a bit now though)

12-08-2015, 07:08 AM

I though he'd had a new lease of life at The Rangers ;)

12-08-2015, 07:11 AM
I liked the boy that was at QOS on loan last season. Not sure if he's Scottish though pretty sure he is. Would also take Cammy Bell from rangers if he's no longer gonna be their number 1.

12-08-2015, 07:57 AM

Didnt command his box well enough at Easter Road in Nov 67!!

12-08-2015, 09:09 AM

Agreed and fancy getting beat by a shot from that distance. :greengrin

12-08-2015, 09:57 AM
I'm a bit fed up with us always going for rookie goalkeepers.

Given that 'keepers can often go on playing into their 40s (and often get better with age) I don't see why we always seem to have young ones making their mistakes for the first time.

A wee bit of experience between the sticks would be quite good for me.

I can't say I've ever really noticed Langfield, other than when his howlers have been pointed out on tv.

12-08-2015, 10:10 AM

Correct. He looked shell shocked having picked the ball out of his net five times. A great night & electric atmosphere at ER too.

12-08-2015, 02:01 PM
Did well to keep it down to five.

12-08-2015, 07:35 PM
Did well to keep it down to five.

Yep, it saddens me to see where Hibs are as a club now compared to then. I know all too well it was along time ago, but surely a club like Hibs should be well capable of at least qualifying for European football again.

That's just one more reason why HFC must get out of the Championship asap.

craigmounthibby
13-08-2015, 12:05 AM
Langfield is utter mince.

Stokesy's on fire
13-08-2015, 09:23 AM
If he's not good enough for a ***** club like Aberdeen then he's not good enough for us.