View Full Version : Development league game v Falkirk

10-08-2015, 07:42 PM
We're away at Falkirk tomorrow, 7pm ko. I'm going along. Wonder if we'll see Boyle and Carmichael get a run out, and possibly McCabe/Insall, if there still with us

11-08-2015, 08:00 AM
How much do these games normally cost? I stay nearby and was thinking of going along

11-08-2015, 08:37 AM
How much do these games normally cost? I stay nearby and was thinking of going along

It's free entry at Falkirk tonight, but Hibs charge £5 for home games

11-08-2015, 08:51 AM
Even better! Thanks

Northern Hibby
11-08-2015, 11:02 AM
Is there a development team fixture list?

11-08-2015, 11:27 AM
It's free entry at Falkirk tonight, but Hibs charge £5 for home games

BW can you keep an aye out for the lad from Wigan.

11-08-2015, 12:09 PM

It's usually on the official site. Kick off time and the venue can sometimes change at relatively short notice though.

11-08-2015, 12:19 PM

Better to look on the SPfl site under development league, appears on there before Hibd let you know. Kick off times can change with a couple of days notice

11-08-2015, 12:19 PM
BW can you keep an aye out for the lad from Wigan.

Will do

11-08-2015, 12:20 PM

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/fixtures/youth

11-08-2015, 01:59 PM
We're away at Falkirk tomorrow, 7pm ko. I'm going along. Wonder if we'll see Boyle and Carmichael get a run out, and possibly McCabe/Insall, if there still with us

Apologies for the obvious question - is the game at the Falkirk Stadium?

11-08-2015, 02:01 PM
Apologies for the obvious question - is the game at the Falkirk Stadium?

Sure is, and Falkirk usually have catering on, selling hot food and drinks

11-08-2015, 02:14 PM
What does it cost to get in? Sorry just seen its zero, might go along...

11-08-2015, 02:29 PM
What does it cost to get in? Sorry just seen its zero, might go along...

It's free

11-08-2015, 05:10 PM
It's free

A Trialist is playing. 😉

11-08-2015, 05:13 PM
Guessing it's the guy from Wigan?

11-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Drat, nice night as well and would have enjoyed it.Unfortunately other business stands in the way. 😠

11-08-2015, 05:27 PM
Guessing it's the guy from Wigan?

Billy will find out. But based on team sheet number it's a defender.

11-08-2015, 06:01 PM
Billy will find out. But based on team sheet number it's a defender.

It's not Balogun

11-08-2015, 06:05 PM
Our trialist is playing left back, he's on the far side from me

11-08-2015, 06:07 PM
Are you playing right back?

11-08-2015, 06:10 PM
It's not Balogun

C'mon Billy, was expecting a photo of the trialist there!

11-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Our trialist is playing left back, he's on the far side from me

Wee game of guess who.....

Is he a youngster?
Is he foreign?

11-08-2015, 06:12 PM
in the other U20 game, top marks to the William Hill employee

St Mirren FC U20 (23', 26', 33')3 - 1 (3')The Rangers FC (Glasgow) U20

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 06:17 PM
1-0 Falkirk. Horrible bounce off astro.

11-08-2015, 06:17 PM
Good to see Carmichael and Boyle getting minutes.

11-08-2015, 06:18 PM

Is he a youngster?
Is he foreign?

Youngster

1-0 Falkirk, ball came off the surface, but goalie should have done much better

11-08-2015, 06:18 PM

Is he a youngster?
Is he foreign?

You will need to wait till the trialist is on the near side then Billy can ask him his name and find out anything you want to know :greengrin

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 06:31 PM
"@HibsOfficial: 4: Dick heads a corner over the bar for Falkirk, the first real chance of the match" :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin

11-08-2015, 06:36 PM
Is Lee Miller the trialist for Falkirk?

11-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Fingers oot Hibs, got them on the nights bet!

11-08-2015, 06:40 PM
Is Lee Miller the trialist for Falkirk?

11-08-2015, 06:43 PM
2-1 Hibs Boyle and Crane

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 06:43 PM
2-1 Crane

Kaff
11-08-2015, 06:44 PM
1-2

Boyle and Crane

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 06:44 PM
Nice to hear "goes past a defender" on the Hibs Twitter, not herd that for a while

11-08-2015, 06:46 PM
Nice to hear "goes past a defender" on the Hibs Twitter, not herd that for a while

Boyle playing up top, and his pace is frightening.
Left back trialist looks like Leighton Baines, but don't think it's him

11-08-2015, 06:47 PM

Any good though?

11-08-2015, 06:47 PM
Youngster

1-0 Falkirk, ball came off the surface, but goalie should have done much better

Our goalie shopping over the summer does not sound like it's been a success. He didn't look great at Dunfy either.

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 06:53 PM

It's interesting he's playing boyle up top, imagine scott allan popping balls over the other teams defence for him to run onto, full proof tactics...anyone want to give me the shirt and tie now :greengrin

11-08-2015, 07:00 PM
It's interesting he's playing boyle up top, imagine scott allan popping balls over the other teams defence for him to run onto, full proof tactics...anyone want to give me the shirt and tie now :greengrin

I'm sure that was outlawed after the Vinnie Jones/Gazza incident? :cb

You're shirt and tie remain in the wardrobe for now :na na:

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 07:08 PM
I'm sure that was outlawed after the Vinnie Jones/Gazza incident? :cb

You're shirt and tie remain in the wardrobe for now :na na:

Sorry I should've said hitting balls or floating balls...im going to just not use the word balls

11-08-2015, 07:10 PM
Sorry I should've said hitting balls or floating balls...im going to just not use the word balls

Great to here the name Boyle back on the pitch though. Likewise Carmichael.

We need (and this isn't meant to sound funny) more penetration. Players who can make things happen in the final third. A wee burst of pace or just being direct.

That's why I like McGeough, always looks to head toward goal - make something happen.

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 07:18 PM
2-2. Falkirk "trialist" aka Lee Millar

11-08-2015, 07:25 PM
'Desmond' in Falkirk

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 07:26 PM
3-2 Hibs. Oliver Shaw.

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Any more on who the young LB is?

11-08-2015, 07:36 PM
Hibs down to 9 men, Sinclair and trialist off injured

11-08-2015, 07:37 PM

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 07:37 PM

Great

11-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Christ even the Trialists are getting crocked!!

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 07:40 PM
Any more on who the young LB is?

Don't know. Off now. Falkirk player took him out and then went for him again.
Hibs made all 3 subs and the trialist and Sinclair both off injured. Didn't look good for Sinclair. Shoulder injury.
Playing last 10 minutes or so with 9 men.

Astro turf or hubs fitness and training methods We really are going through a bad run of luck re injuries .
Out of interest Billy had the Trialist done enough in the game up till then too suggest he had potential

Sinclair came back on. Trialist can't continue

11-08-2015, 07:41 PM

He'll be signed tomorrow then :greengrin

11-08-2015, 07:43 PM
Sinclair came back on. Trialist can't continue

Sinclair hasn't come back on, looks like a shoulder injury he's got

Nevi_SOL
11-08-2015, 07:43 PM

Getting announced tomorrow then?

11-08-2015, 07:48 PM
amazing that even the trialists are off injured, hibs class.

11-08-2015, 07:53 PM
How unlucky are Hibs with injuries, with injuries and the cup that shall not be named, beginning to feel we are cursed:rolleyes:

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 07:54 PM
Is it just coinsedence? It's seems like we are incredibly unlucky

3-3. Freekick into the top corner. Last minute of injury time.

3-3 Now......

11-08-2015, 07:55 PM

FT :wink:

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 07:57 PM
3-3.

berwickhibee
11-08-2015, 07:57 PM

Hardly surprising,happens all the time. Pleased Boyle and Carmichael got a run out:thumbsup:

11-08-2015, 08:01 PM
Hardly surprising,happens all the time. Pleased Boyle and Carmichael got a run out:thumbsup:

Anything Hibernian is getting a kicking at the moment :rolleyes:

11-08-2015, 08:03 PM
Anything Hibernian is getting a kicking at the moment :rolleyes:

Quite......Rather tedious now

11-08-2015, 08:05 PM
Quite......Rather tedious now

Not as tedious as it actually happening though.

11-08-2015, 08:07 PM

Whatever......

11-08-2015, 08:11 PM

Are you aware we played last 10 with 9 men?

11-08-2015, 08:11 PM
Disappointing to lose a late goal but at the end of the day it's a development game and Boyle and Carmichael getting game time is more important than anything tonight.

11-08-2015, 08:12 PM
For anyone who was there, how did Boyle and Carmichael get on?

11-08-2015, 08:24 PM
Are we likely to see Boyle and Carmichael get some game time on Saturday ?

11-08-2015, 08:26 PM
hopefully from the start

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 08:28 PM

Really hope so, hopefully stubbs has realised pace and width has been missing

11-08-2015, 08:29 PM
Are you aware we played last 10 with 9 men?

I was just defending a fellow realist. Not concerned with u20 results. More concerned with our injury list.

11-08-2015, 08:34 PM
hopefully from the start

Really hope so, hopefully stubbs has realised pace and width has been missing

:aok: Hope so guys.

11-08-2015, 08:36 PM
Both Boyle and Carmichael were taken off early so i'd assume we'll see them at some point on saturday. Surprised not to see Insall playing tonight, he still with us or been punted?

stevie-bee
11-08-2015, 08:39 PM
Did anybody find out who the LB was and was he any good ,

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 08:54 PM
Is it just coinsedence? It's seems like we are incredibly unlucky

Falkirk player fouled him and,what looked like to me, stamped on him.
Sinclairs injury was in a bit of stramash, didn't really see what happened, surrounded by Falkirk players.
Thought Falkirk were dirty at times and didn't get pulled up, but going by their coach's behaviour in the last game we played against them at Ainslie Park last season, I'm not surprised.

11-08-2015, 08:56 PM
You have to feel sorry for the trialist. He's injured, may not get a contract and will need to recover before he can try elsewhere. Chance you take, I suppose

11-08-2015, 08:57 PM
Falkirk player fouled him and,what looked like to me, stamped on him.
Sinclairs injury was in a bit of stramash, didn't really see what happened, surrounded by Falkirk players.
Thought Falkirk were dirty at times and didn't get pulled up, but going by their coach's behaviour in the last game we played against them at Ainslie Park last season, I'm not surprised.

Their coach is Alan maybury :rolleyes:

Hope sinkys injury isn't to bad, he has been unlucky the past year with small injuries

11-08-2015, 08:58 PM

Ozy, both players going off tonight were as a result of tackles. Sinclair looks like it could be some sort of dislocation, but I hope it's not as serious. The trialist got a kick in the calf/knee after going past a Falkirk player, he tried to play on, but he couldn't

Twiglet
11-08-2015, 09:14 PM
Their coach is Alan maybury :rolleyes:

Hope sinkys injury isn't to bad, he has been unlucky the past year with small injuries

Didn't look good. He'd just come on too. Kitty took him straight down the tunnel, came out a few minutes later and called down his dad.

Really don't like Maybury. Dirty coach and dirty team. He had a go at the Hibs bench at one point. The Hibs bench were just watching the match and then he's suddenly having a go at them. Think Joe McBride told him where to go. Seemed to come out of nothing.

11-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Didn't look good. He'd just come on too. Kitty took him straight down the tunnel, came out a few minutes later and called down his dad.

Really don't like Maybury. Dirty coach and dirty team. He had a go at the Hibs bench at one point. The Hibs bench were just watching the match and then he's suddenly having a go at them. Think Joe McBride told him where to go. Seemed to come out of nothing.

Fingers crossed that both players are going to be ok.
Just home, good performance from Boyle, made some great runs behind the Falkirk defence, and he's really really quick. Carmichael had a quieter match, played 45 mins in central midfield, the game time would do him good though!
Some really decent performances from some of the young lads, and it was so cruel for the 9 men to lose a goal in stoppage time.

11-08-2015, 09:46 PM

Think his dad has taken him to hospital from what I've read on Twitter. I've sent kitty a message asking how he is

11-08-2015, 10:01 PM

Maybury is a muppet.....Fits in well with their odious manager

AlanRuff
11-08-2015, 10:25 PM
Pretty sure Kitty told Sinclairs dad that he had dislocated his shoulder.

muthillhibee
11-08-2015, 10:27 PM

Started off when Hibs had a corner near the end and tried to run down the clock as only had 9 players. All kicked off after Alex Smith shouted "hurry the **** up and get it in ****ing play"

Then later continued when Alan Combe tongue in cheek shouted at their bench "Oooh wasting time by making a sub" to which Smith then shouted back "shut it you".

McBride and Maybury exchanged similar verbals. Surprised linesman/referee didn't intervene as it was all clearly heard from the stand.

11-08-2015, 10:29 PM
Started off when Hibs had a corner near the end and tried to run down the clock as only had 9 players. All kicked off after Alex Smith shouted "hurry the **** up and get it in ****ing play"

Then later continued when Alan Combe tongue in cheek shouted at their bench "Oooh wasting time by making a sub" to which Smith then shouted back "shut it you".

McBride and Maybury exchanged similar verbals. Surprised linesman/referee didn't intervene as it was all clearly heard from the stand.

"development" obv stops with Coaches then. dicks.

bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 10:42 PM
Really hate falkirk

12-08-2015, 01:32 AM
"development" obv stops with Coaches then. dicks.

:greengrin Sad but true.

12-08-2015, 07:17 AM

Im guessing you know him? I know him and his mrs and he is anything but a muppet

12-08-2015, 08:23 AM
Can anyone clarify how Boyle and Carmichael played?

"And on the day that 67-year-old Norwich resident Mary Leese has woken from a three-year coma, we’ll be asking – what’s the best night’s sleep you’ve ever had?"

12-08-2015, 10:32 AM
Fingers crossed that both players are going to be ok.
Just home, good performance from Boyle, made some great runs behind the Falkirk defence, and he's really really quick. Carmichael had a quieter match, played 45 mins in central midfield, the game time would do him good though!
Some really decent performances from some of the young lads, and it was so cruel for the 9 men to lose a goal in stoppage time.

Can anyone clarify how Boyle and Carmichael played?

"And on the day that 67-year-old Norwich resident Mary Leese has woken from a three-year coma, we’ll be asking – what’s the best night’s sleep you’ve ever had?"

12-08-2015, 10:35 AM
Cheers. That's good Boyle is looking quick as his injury was a nasty one.
Would hope Carmichael can get game time on Saturday as we back need a player that is willing to beat a man.
Hopefully with McGinn and Boyle we can begin to go forward with purpose.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

12-08-2015, 10:50 AM
Im guessing you know him? I know him and his mrs and he is anything but a muppet

He seems to be acting like a muppet in the last few U20 v Hibs

12-08-2015, 10:54 AM

I know Alan personally and he's anything but a muppet, a real gent in fact, maybe the extra commitment of being the development chief is getting to him as what's been said about him is out of character.

12-08-2015, 11:09 AM

Bully for you.... He comes across as a muppet within the game, that OK with you?

12-08-2015, 11:11 AM
I know Alan personally and he's anything but a muppet, a real gent in fact, maybe the extra commitment of being the development chief is getting to him as what's been said about him is out of character.

He has previous for acting like a muppet in the last few u20 games......Might be different off the field, away from the games, but he has previous at the games.....

12-08-2015, 11:24 AM
In other news I see Ricky S has been given the u21 role. What a joke. SFA should be directed by Spielberg.

12-08-2015, 12:09 PM
Bully for you.... He comes across as a muppet within the game, that OK with you?

Im not going to get into a debate about it, if you think that then fire in

12-08-2015, 12:16 PM
He has previous for acting like a muppet in the last few u20 games......Might be different off the field, away from the games, but he has previous at the games.....

Hence the reason why I say it's out of character for him, maybe the pressure of the job too much for him.

Funny how he was getting praise for the work he did with the kids when he was here, difference between being a coach and manager.

12-08-2015, 02:22 PM
Any news on Sinclair's injury?

As an aside on a more positive note, I think Ollie Shaw's going to be a player!

andrew70
12-08-2015, 02:29 PM
Any news on Sinclair's injury?

As an aside on a more positive note, I think Ollie Shaw's going to be a player!

Dislocated shoulder I seen him say on twitter earlier.

Shaw has all the raw talent to make it IMO just about how Hibs help him to develop in the next couple of years.

12-08-2015, 02:55 PM

Shaw has all the raw talent to make it IMO just about how Hibs help him to develop in the next couple of years.

And we were very close to dumping him under the previous regime. I saw him as a 14yo. Hopefully he can be a big player for us in years to come.

andrew70
12-08-2015, 03:04 PM
And we were very close to dumping him under the previous regime. I saw him as a 14yo. Hopefully he can be a big player for us in years to come.

That doesn't surprise me. Hibs have tried to empty a few young players out the door on numerous occasions.

Scott Martin being one.

Re: the bit about developing in my last post, I think this is vital.

We've had plenty of extremely good youth players but when it came to the ages of 18-21 many of them suddenly stagnated.

This may be down to the individual but I feel there's a coaching gap that needs to be addressed before we see the the real fruits of our academy and what is, in the main, a terrific set-up at East Mains.

12-08-2015, 03:10 PM

The way he took his goal last night, was that of a natural striker. Needs to fill out a bit though

andrew70
12-08-2015, 03:30 PM
The way he took his goal last night, was that of a natural striker. Needs to fill out a bit though

That will come with age and experience. It's not so much about the need to get bigger but the knowledge of how to beat a bigger man i.e. defender.

An intelligent player can win any battle even if they concede height or strength to their opponent. He'll fill out with the strength and conditioning guy - Green IIRC but as you noted above he has the predatory instinct of a natural striker who will improve given more and more game time in the development league.