View Full Version : Simply Unacceptable

Berwickhibby
08-08-2015, 03:55 PM
As it says on the tin....... Beaten by part timers....... Is this hitting the ground running :confused:

08-08-2015, 03:58 PM
Did it really surprise you? Typical hibs

08-08-2015, 04:00 PM
I'm not for a second suggesting Stubbs should be sacked but I do find it bonkers we gave him a new deal so close to the start of this season. Totally unnecessary and results are the sane as last year then he should be replaced at the end of the season, not given a third attempt at it.

andy1875
08-08-2015, 04:01 PM

I was just thinking along similar lines.

When you push the anger that we've just lost to part timers to one side, especially when you consider our pathetic slow start last year had us out the title race by October, then you remember that this is what we do.

Build the fans up, then shoot em down time and time and time and time and time again.

Usual sh*t, different season.

08-08-2015, 04:02 PM
Bottlers the lot of them

08-08-2015, 04:03 PM
good to see we have managed to hit the ground running again :rolleyes:

Woody70x2
08-08-2015, 04:06 PM
Have went from year on year season ticket holder, to a pick and choose supporter. Now I am looking at results hoping for something to change. Dreadful result, don't care if it was unjust - past caring. My passion for Hibs has gone.

08-08-2015, 04:07 PM
We need a goalkeeper. That's my last contribution for the day.

familyman
Wise Up, we have to hit the ground running,Hearts are top of the league and we are playing catch up already..
No excuses this season .none whatsoever...
Displays prior to today not great and 60:40 possession today still only ONE GOAL..and against a part time club!!!
We will not get a second chance, we have to win every week ,a necessity.
This result is a horrific start and a disgrace.
We have been asked to show our loyalty and come along, well it is a two way thing that! You have about 2 weeks to sort this.
Shocker.

The teams ineptitude to get results should really be investigated by now. We dropped needless points last season and our lack of ability to grind out results has been apparent for about 15 years.

08-08-2015, 04:08 PM
I'm not (yet) angry, more spewing.
I was really looking forward to the first home league game next week, thinking it would be on the back of a decent win at Dumbarton.
Now three points behind, we seem to always find a way to make progress hard.

08-08-2015, 04:10 PM
At least the clubs PR has improved.

08-08-2015, 04:10 PM
I'm not for a second suggesting Stubbs should be sacked but I do find it bonkers we gave him a new deal so close to the start of this season. Totally unnecessary and results are the sane as last year then he should be replaced at the end of the season, not given a third attempt at it.

I was pretty surprised at the contract extension, to be fair.

08-08-2015, 04:12 PM
I'm shocked by the result. I honestly thought we had our **** together and would perform today, but to lose at Dumbarton after all we've said about not repeating last season's poor start, is a sore one to take. The feel good factor has vanished already, and it will be interesting to read the match reviews of those who travelled.

Day one and seething already. Small wonder yams throw that word at us.

08-08-2015, 04:13 PM
At least the clubs PR has improved.

And the kits this season are nice.

Septimus
08-08-2015, 04:14 PM
Only heard on commentary but both goals from free kicks. Who, if anybody, is organizing our defense when free kicks are taken against us?

We have the makings of a club that has found its level

Sounds like it. Defence need sorted as well.

HappyHanlon
08-08-2015, 04:15 PM
Utterly rancid. The Scott Allan circus needs to be sorted out. Half hearted performance not helped by the fact he kept getting fouled.

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 04:18 PM
Utterly rancid. The Scott Allan circus needs to be sorted out. Half hearted performance not helped by the fact he kept getting fouled.

You think Allan was half hearted? I thought he had the most fight and effort out of all the team apart from maybe lewis. Fyvie was the biggest dissapointment for me today

HappyHanlon
08-08-2015, 04:23 PM
You think Allan was half hearted? I thought he had the most fight and effort out of all the team apart from maybe lewis. Fyvie was the biggest dissapointment for me today

Yup, I do. I want to see players committed to Hibs, not daft wee laddies with notions of joining that shower of bigots.

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 04:25 PM
Yup, I do. I want to see players committed to Hibs, not daft wee laddies with notions of joining that shower of bigots.

Ah so your speaking in general and not about his performance today? That makes more sense as we had one player who was worth his shirt today and it was him

08-08-2015, 04:26 PM
If Allan didn't play today we would have had zero creativity.

He was trying to make things happen - 2 set piece goals and lack of creativity / quality from others cost us.

08-08-2015, 04:28 PM
I'm listening to Radio Scotland right now. It is a sad fact that us losing away to Dumbarton doesn't even raise an eyebrow anymore.

familyman
08-08-2015, 04:34 PM
When exactly are we going to get another Pat Stanton!!!We have missed that type of player forever it seems.
Thank goodness I was a season ticket holder in the 70's, and still am..but then we expected to win every home game(and did 95% of the time)plus most away games..because we had skill yes but also a BELIEF
where is the latter?
Disgusted.

If Allan didn't play today we would have had zero creativity.

He was trying to make things happen - 2 set piece goals and lack of creativity / quality from others cost us.

08-08-2015, 04:37 PM
Hit the ground running, aye but in what direction?

https://youtu.be/UI8CWptOEm8

08-08-2015, 04:41 PM
Hibs certainly don't like doing things the easy way do they :rolleyes:

We need to get injured players back ASAP.

08-08-2015, 04:43 PM

we also have a few players that have found their level....i won't even name names :tin hat: and i still insist Butcher should have been left to carry on the player cull....then booted out :greengrin

08-08-2015, 04:53 PM

I'm sorry to say it but I think you have hit the nail on the head. The 'disappointment that never fails to disappoint',

08-08-2015, 04:55 PM
It's a total mess. After a farcical pre season I don't think Stubbs could name his strongest team if you asked him.

08-08-2015, 04:58 PM
The teams ineptitude to get results should really be investigated by now. We dropped needless points last season and our lack of ability to grind out results has been apparent for about 15 years.

Hibs have been a soft touch from top to bottom for years. Weak-minded players, managers, board members, all welcomed and accepted with open arms to the Hibernian "family". Dempster (and maybe Stubbs) look like a different breed, but culture change takes time. Can only hope they hang around long enough to see the project through and don't get disheartened after results like today.

08-08-2015, 04:59 PM
I'll put my tuppence worth in here too.

Point 1) The club, Leeann Dempster, Alan Stubbs, some posters on here, have all been pleading with lapsed supporters to return to ER, and for supporters who still go to try to get lapsed fans back to ER. After today's result, what does that say to anyone thinking of returning, never mind forking out for a season ticket? The answer, and the damage done, is surely obvious.

Point 2) This is the one that really sticks in the craw. The gap which seems to be developing between Hibs and Hearts is alarming and sickening, and this is what is making many Hibs supporters very angry now. I know I'm not just speaking for myself here. I also know it's the first game of the season, but where have we heard that one before? An appalling result today quite frankly.

The OP calls it simply unacceptable, but this sort of result has been what Hibs supporters have had to accept for some time now.

08-08-2015, 05:08 PM

Point 1) The club, Leeann Dempster, Alan Stubbs, some posters on here, have all been pleading with lapsed supporters to return to ER, and for supporters who still go to try to get lapsed fans back to ER. After today's result, what does that say to anyone thinking of returning, never mind forking out for a season ticket? The answer, and the damage done, is surely obvious.

Point 2) This is the one that really sticks in the craw. The gap which seems to be developing between Hibs and Hearts is alarming and sickening, and this is what is making many Hibs supporters very angry now. I know I'm not just speaking for myself here. I also know it's the first game of the season, but where have we heard that one before? An appalling result today quite frankly.

The OP calls it simply unacceptable, but this sort of result has been what Hibs supporters have had to accept for some time now.

Excellent post. Persuading my son to come along ain't easy........if Morton beat us it will be even tougher.

Why can't Stubbs instill some steel?

davym7062
08-08-2015, 05:09 PM
It's fine!!! We beat Morton next week then win at ibrox!!! No problem ahem

Green Fish
08-08-2015, 05:09 PM
I wasn't there today so can't comment on the performance but again it would seem from what I've read that again there was a lack in tempo, width, pace and penetration.

I am gutted, not bedwetting, but the management team have had months to address the issues that cost us dearly last season.

I've heard new signings talk of AS vision and ambition. Can you please tell me what these are as I'd love to know. AS, it's time for your talking to be done on the pitch. We'll back you all the way but it's time for you to step up. The thread title is correct, unacceptable.

Bobo
08-08-2015, 05:12 PM
Nothing ever changes at Hibs, still happily serving up embarrassment after embarrassment! They have to be the biggest underachievers in Scottish football.

Today's result shouldn't really come as a surprise following what must be one of the poorest pre-seasons ever ... a holiday in the sun, a totally underwhelming set of friendly fixtures and half the squad in A&E is hardly adequate preparation for the start of a new season!

The real crime, however, is not to address the failings of a very very poor defence, even for this level, and to re-sign possibly the worst keeper to ever darken the doors of Easter Road!

The season has barely started and we've already been humiliated at home to a very average Sevco and beaten by part timers in our opening league fixture! There's very little grit, determination and desire in our players and it's been missing for far too long. They lack belief and concede too many points to, so called, lesser teams. It's far from good enough and it's been said time and again for seasons now but nothing changes!

It's results that matter, nothing else, so they better get the fingers out now because spending last season in this league was embarrassment enough without having to endure the indignity of this 2nd season!

Wouldn't imagine there will be many who'll return to tolerate a 3rd.

08-08-2015, 05:15 PM
I'm sitting in a boozer in the middle of Dumbarton watching the Chelsea game, its a bit embarassing listening to their fans ripping the pish out of Hibs, I'm glad they don't know I'm a Hibby! I'm not sure theres much I could say anyway.

Penicuik Hibee
08-08-2015, 05:18 PM
Went to a pub in Portugal to get the results & was gutted to see we couldn't beat Dunbarton. A dreadful start to the season. But sad to see people getting on AS back already. He has done a great job so far & at the moment, he/the team needs our support.

Lets stick together. We have the makings of a good team but injuries have hit us hard. Lets judge the team in a few weeks. But at the moment, lets get over today and cheer on the team. GGTTH

08-08-2015, 05:20 PM
Nothing ever changes at Hibs, still happily serving up embarrassment after embarrassment! They have to be the biggest underachievers in Scottish football.

Today's result shouldn't really come as a surprise following what must be one of the poorest pre-seasons ever ... a holiday in the sun, a totally underwhelming set of friendly fixtures and half the squad in A&E is hardly adequate preparation for the start of a new season!

The real crime, however, is not to address the failings of a very very poor defence, even for this level, and to re-sign possibly the worst keeper to ever darken the doors of Easter Road!

The season has barely started and we've already been humiliated at home to a very average Sevco and beaten by part timers in our opening league fixture! There's very little grit, determination and desire in our players and it's been missing for far too long. They lack belief and concede too many points to, so called, lesser teams. It's far from good enough and it's been said time and again for seasons now but nothing changes!

It's results that matter, nothing else, so they better get the fingers out now because spending last season in this league was embarrassment enough without having to endure the indignity of this 2nd season!

Good points made, Bobo. It's long past time that the lack of steel running through the team and the club was resolved. We shouldn't have any problem winning games when not playing well in this league, but once again today we've been soft as ****, losing to a part time team. It simply cannot continue, otherwise we're doomed to second tier obscurity.

Oxley isn't good enough, though we've seen worse IMO, unbelievably, such is the number of terrible goalkeepers we've managed to sign over the years. A solid keeper and defence is always the key to consistency.

08-08-2015, 05:29 PM
A defence containing Hanlon and Stevenson isn't good enough. Wow! Who knew?

Everybody in Scottish fitba for the last 4 years except us it seems.

08-08-2015, 05:30 PM

We have one. Reguero. He will be in the sticks shortly if Oxley continues to make a James Hunt of things. Which he will as he isn't that good.

08-08-2015, 05:31 PM

Sadly mate no it didn't
I chose to do the garden rather than listen to the game never mind go to it.
This is the most uncaring I have been since following Hibs, sad

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 05:32 PM
We have one. Reguero. He will be in the sticks shortly if Oxley continues to make a James Hunt of things. Which he will as he isn't that good.

I've defended the ox in the past but he's had a nightmare start. Would like to see reugero get a shout

08-08-2015, 05:37 PM

I wouldn't say he is the worst but Oxley is the latest in a long line of duff goalkeepers, something that we seem to specialise in. The decision to travel on a jaunt to Spain to " train" in 40 degree heat is certainly another weird one. It wonder where Dumbarton went, oh I forgot, they were probably working!

08-08-2015, 05:40 PM
I've defended the ox in the past but he's had a nightmare start. Would like to see reugero get a shout

I like Alan Stubbs, I truly believe that he will go on to have a fantastic career as a manager, the problem is for us that he is going to make all the mistakes that develop him as a manager whilst he is at Hibs. The keeper situation is a complete disaster, we all seen it coming and have been proven correct.

08-08-2015, 05:44 PM
Excellent post. Persuading my son to come along ain't easy........if Morton beat us it will be even tougher.

Why can't Stubbs instill some steel?

Cheers green day. Stubbs, and several of his predecessors too. Bartley was supposed to do that I thought. Not a pop at Bartley BTW - the guy is just in the door. Time will tell with Bartley. Thing is, you don't have to be a big six foot four bruiser to be hard and very competitive. Look at guys like the late Billy Bremner, or Tommy Smith at Liverpool as examples off the top of my head.

It's not just about being physically tough either. Footballers need to be mentally tough too. Hibs teams it seems to me have been weak / lacking, mentally, for ages. There just doesn't seem to be that ruthlessness, will to win (a winning mentality), and never say die attitude that all top teams have.

Bobo
08-08-2015, 05:45 PM
I wouldn't say he is the worst but Oxley is the latest in a long line of duff goalkeepers, something that we seem to specialise in. The decision to travel on a jaunt to Spain to " train" in 40 degree heat is certainly another weird one. It wonder where Dumbarton went, oh I forgot, they were probably working!

I did say possibly the worst, remembering that we had Ma-Kalamby & Caig. :rolleyes:

Oxley though must be pretty close to the worst stats ever. Can't remember another keeper who has conceded the first, or only, attempt on his goal in so many games? He's a terrible keeper and should be dropped and replaced IMO.

08-08-2015, 06:02 PM
Not really surprised at all to be honest but still angry.

There should be no question at all of Hibs winning against Dumbarton.

It really is sad that we've got to the stage where people aren't really surprised that we're losing against part time sides.

It used to be the case that people would be expecting us to maybe struggle at places like Pittodrie and Tannadice. Now it's away at sides like Dumbarton, who have players who work proper jobs Monday-Friday before they train a few times a week at night.

I really don't know what to suggest any more. We've tried changing managers (several times) and that hasn't worked, if anything we've got worse, we've tried wholesale changes within the playing squad and that hasn't worked either. I give up trying to come up with a solution to Hibs' problems.

08-08-2015, 06:03 PM

Scarily, I don't think Oxley will be dropped. I wasn't there today, so I can't comment on his performance today but he is a horrific keeper.

The whole defence needs sorted. I really like Stevenson but we need two new fullbacks and another centre half.

08-08-2015, 06:04 PM
I did say possibly the worst, remembering that we had Ma-Kalamby & Caig. :rolleyes:

Oxley though must be pretty close to the worst stats ever. Can't remember another keeper who has conceded the first, or only, attempt on his goal in so many games? He's a terrible keeper and should be dropped and replaced IMO.

It's hard to remember a save he has made. The defence gets pelters on here yet there is very little that actually gets through to him. Unfortunately when it does it finishes up in the net. Rangers 6 on target, Falkirk 1 in the semi, the list is endless.

Ronster117
08-08-2015, 06:08 PM
Ah so your speaking in general and not about his performance today? That makes more sense as we had one player who was worth his shirt today and it was him
Scotty wants away "shocker"...... At least he has the opportunity.... As for us the fans, we are stuck with this under performing,lack of pride,passion,bottling mentality.....it's just so hard to say anything positive when we get let down time after time. Scott played well today, if I was him and could see what's happening I'd want to get away as fast as I could too

08-08-2015, 06:08 PM
There might be a bit more pride in playing for Hibs if we wore a Hibs strip. Why the need for purple shirts today? Least of our concerns though!

08-08-2015, 06:10 PM
There might be a bit more pride in playing for Hibs if we wore a Hibs strip. Why the need for purple shirts today? Least of our concerns though!

We did wear a Hibs strip. We were away and wore the away strip. I don't care if it was black bin bags what we wear has nothing to do with how we play.

08-08-2015, 06:16 PM
Not really surprised at all to be honest but still angry.

There should be no question at all of Hibs winning against Dumbarton.

It really is sad that we've got to the stage where people aren't really surprised that we're losing against part time sides.

It used to be the case that people would be expecting us to maybe struggle at places like Pittodrie and Tannadice. Now it's away at sides like Dumbarton, who have players who work proper jobs Monday-Friday before they train a few times a week at night.

I really don't know what to suggest any more. We've tried changing managers (several times) and that hasn't worked, if anything we've got worse, we've tried wholesale changes within the playing squad and that hasn't worked either. I give up trying to come up with a solution to Hibs' problems.

I am old enough to remember when Dunfermline were a top side and competing in Europe. Kilmarnock and Dundee winning league titles. Dunfermline are gone and though both Killie and Dundee have came back to a certain extent they will never regain their former glory. They are now miles ahead of us though and that is the worrying thing. When I came off the golf course and heard the result today I was not surprised and that sums it up. I will be at the Morton game next week but I cannot honestly say that I am looking forward to it. I fear it is going to be a long winter with only the prospect of a play off place to look forward too.

hibs4life
08-08-2015, 06:19 PM
Another early season disappointment and no excuses. However, a few years back whilst holidaying up north (like today), I remember listening to our first game of the season in the 2nd tier as we lost at home to Stirling Albion. That season we did turn things round though, so you never know...

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 06:20 PM
Scarily, I don't think Oxley will be dropped. I wasn't there today, so I can't comment on his performance today but he is a horrific keeper.

The whole defence needs sorted. I really like Stevenson but we need two new fullbacks and another centre half.

He made one good save and let in one bad goal IMO. Apart from that never had much to di

08-08-2015, 06:22 PM
I blame James McPake 😀😀😀😀

08-08-2015, 06:24 PM
Absolutely pathetic Hibs - I am intending being at ER for our first home league match next week but will have a hell of a job persuading anyone to join me at this rate. I have a number of friends who have been driven away by the serial ineptitude at ER in recent years and had hoped that the new season in store might have tempted some of them back.

But if the players wanted to puncture everyone's enthusiasm and get the fans on their backs from the off then they are doing a terrific job - they should hang their heads in shame - I usually hate to hear negativity emanating from the stands but the way I'm feeling right now I might just end up booing them ON to the park! FUDS!

08-08-2015, 06:25 PM

Part 2:- the yams appointed a better manager, simple as that. Nielsen would not tolerate the performances Stubbs does.

08-08-2015, 06:27 PM
Part 2:- the yams appointed a better manager, simple as that. Nielsen would not tolerate the performances Stubbs does.

Now there's a talking point :greengrin

08-08-2015, 06:29 PM
I was at Everton v Watford today and was congratulating myself on being able to say that you can pay folk 50K a week and they can still put on a **** game of football .. it was rank, 2 - 2 or not. Then I got a text from my mate to say that Hibs had lost 2 - 1. I couldn't give a crap about who was injured or whatever .................. We are a full time team, with a half million pound player in midfield, who went to Spain for a week to prepare for the season ................. and we lost to a bunch of part timers.... sorry but that's unacceptable .... there can be no excuses, just none. I like Alan Stubbs, I really do ....... but any more results like this between now and January and questions will have to be asked. We have players, facilities and a support the likes of Dumbarton can only dream about and they beat us .................. NOT GOOD ENOUGH ..... JUST NOT FROOOKING GOOD ENOUGH !!!!

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 06:30 PM

Starting to look like we should have went for Hartley "ducks"

08-08-2015, 06:30 PM
We did wear a Hibs strip. We were away and wore the away strip. I don't care if it was black bin bags what we wear has nothing to do with how we play.

You're right, but I wasn't being serious. A hellish start to the campaign, and the players owe it to us and them to rectify this as soon as possible. You can make excuses for poor quality players, but we have a squad that should be able to take care of most teams in this league.

08-08-2015, 06:33 PM
Starting to look like we should have went for Hartley "ducks"

I suggested it at the time and was slated.

Dobosz83
08-08-2015, 06:33 PM
Now now lads, you'll be labelled a drama queen by the people that have 7,000 posts and a start date before 2012. I was terrified after the toothless Ayr game and was called a drama queen for voicing concern.

We are all Hibs, this is unacceptable, end of. Utter embarrassment today on top of FAR too many. I'm raging.

For the record. I'm a season ticket holder in the east, I pay into HSL and my kids are Hibs Kids. Disgusted.

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 06:35 PM
I suggested it at the time and was slated.

Would have been a good appointment IMO. I'm still hoping Stubbs can do a job. Everything just seems a bit disjointed though

08-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Now now lads, you'll be labelled a drama queen by the people that have 7,000 posts and a start date before 2012. I was terrified after the toothless Ayr game and was called a drama queen for voicing concern.

We are all Hibs, this is unacceptable, end of. Utter ambatassnent today on top of FAR too many. I'm raging.

For the record. I'm a season ticket in the east, I pay into HSL and my kids are Hibs Kids. Disgusted.
Don't blame you ...... If there are 'reasons' for this result quite frankly I don't want to hear them ...... Its not acceptable .... end of story, I just am not interested in hearing how or why things went wrong ............ just win FFS !!!!

portyhibernian
08-08-2015, 06:38 PM
We rely far too much on Scott Allan, Dumbarton stopped him playing today and the result is we lost. At no point did we look like scoring and I thought the defence was a disaster. Bartley and Fyvie absolutely terrible today, Allan despite being fouled left right and centre ironically looked to be the only player who was bothered. Terrible performance, unacceptable result.

steviehibsleith
Paul Hanlon is never a CH Lewis Stevenson is never a good LB just a average utility man. We are where we are and will continue to be a Championship team while these two are in the team. When will we get a manager that can see this. And before anyone comes out and says all the managers they played under rated them, intersting that not one of them after leaving have come back with a offer for them.

We are all Hibs, this is unacceptable, end of. Utter ambatassnent today on top of FAR too many. I'm raging.

For the record. I'm a season ticket in the east, I pay into HSL and my kids are Hibs Kids. Disgusted.

Come on now, there are lots of posters using this board and a couple mis-understood the point you were making that night (which I thought was a fair post BTW) so lets not go down the drama queen road :dancer:

Agree 100% with your sentiment here too. Performances like today happen far too often and we don't seem to be learning. Time to roll the sleeves up and get stuck in.

08-08-2015, 06:39 PM
Would have been a good appointment IMO. I'm still hoping Stubbs can do a job. Everything just seems a bit disjointed though

Stubbs is starting to look a lot like fenlon. Lots of possession but not penetration, no excitement and no goals.

08-08-2015, 06:39 PM
You're right, but I wasn't being serious. A hellish start to the campaign, and the players owe it to us and them to rectify this as soon as possible. You can make excuses for poor quality players, but we have a squad that should be able to take care of most teams in this league.

Exactly 👍🏼

liamh2202
08-08-2015, 06:41 PM
We rely far too much on Scott Allan, Dumbarton stopped him playing today and the result is we lost. At no point did we look like scoring and I thought the defence was a disaster. Bartley and Fyvie absolutely terrible today, Allan despite being fouled left right and centre ironically looked to be the only player who was bothered. Terrible performance, unacceptable result.

Exactly how I seen it mate. I thought the movement off the ball in general was a big issue

08-08-2015, 06:44 PM
Exactly how I seen it mate. I thought the movement off the ball in general was a big issue

The movement off the ball, or lack thereof, today reminded me a lot of a Pat Fenlon side.

Lots of sideways passes 60 yards from goal but every pass about half a yard behind the intended target and no real way to develop any width or get in behind.

It was desperate stuff.

andy1875
08-08-2015, 06:45 PM
Stubbs is starting to look a lot like fenlon. Lots of possession but not penetration, no excitement and no goals.

Let's start slating the manager, comparing him to a manager who led us to our clubs worst ever result.

Today was a bad result, and yes last season wasn't great.

But if you think starting to criticise Stubbs, and think another manager witch hunt is what's required then think again.

Stubbs WILL get this right.

Like I said on another thread, bury this defeat and let's go again next week.

08-08-2015, 07:06 PM
Let's start slating the manager, comparing him to a manager who led us to our clubs worst ever result.

But if you think starting to criticise Stubbs, and think another manager witch hunt is what's required then think again.

Like I said on another thread, bury this defeat and let's go again next week. Sorry mate, but there has to come a point where a result is just unacceptable and at that stage everybody has to accept the blame ... including the manager ... If we don't get a grip, and quickly, we will be trailing the Huns by a mile come January ... I am a long way from optimistic following that result ............................... IMO the league is gone already ............... No matter what happens I will be at Easter Road every Saturday this season and the in seasons to come. But I'm not pretending any more .. The hard truth is, we will not win this league and if we do I will get Hearts for the cup tattooed on my arse !!! ...... FFS ... one game in and we are already gibbing it !!!

08-08-2015, 07:09 PM

Like I said on another thread, bury this defeat and let's go again next week.

He should have had it right by now, don't you think?

08-08-2015, 07:12 PM
You know the worst thing about today's result was that it was depressingly predictable. It was not a surprise (to me anyway).

A goal down within the first three minutes and I knew the writing was on the wall.

erskine-hibby
08-08-2015, 07:21 PM
Thought we would have kicked on, a bit like the jambos did last season (though not with totally the same results), after playing reasonably well last season. Seems though we are likely/defiantly starting this season as last. We can ill afford to do so, and let rankgers build up a comfortable lead. Stubbs better get it sorted, and soon!, if they are serious about getting back to the premiership next season.

08-08-2015, 07:28 PM
Sorry mate, but there has to come a point where a result is just unacceptable and at that stage everybody has to accept the blame ... including the manager ... If we don't get a grip, and quickly, we will be trailing the Huns by a mile come January ... I am a long way from optimistic following that result ............................... IMO the league is gone already ............... No matter what happens I will be at Easter Road every Saturday this season and the in seasons to come. But I'm not pretending any more .. The hard truth is, we will not win this league and if we do I will get Hearts for the cup tattooed on my arse !!! ...... FFS ... one game in and we are already gibbing it !!!

Some people have long memories. You never know :greengrin

08-08-2015, 07:45 PM
Thread title is spot on, getting beat by Dumbarton is unacceptable.

The only positive I can take from today is we will now be a great price to beat Rangers' tribute act in two weeks. I still think they are extremely average and that on our day we are better than them.

Unfortunately we are nowhere near consistent or strong enough against the rest of the teams in the league.

Fogzie
08-08-2015, 07:46 PM
One positive, John McGlinn , when he come on, he wanted the ball and wanted to drive forward. For me the strikers offered nothing today. Once we get that sorted out , we will be ok. it shocked me that we were 2-1 down and we took a striker off and replaced with a midfielder. WTF

08-08-2015, 07:48 PM
John McGlinn, unfortunate typo!

Fogzie
08-08-2015, 08:04 PM
yeah, unfortunate typo , but, the guy looks like a player. Wants to take responsibiltiy.

familyman
08-08-2015, 08:27 PM
Now there's a talking point :greengrinthe game is about scoring goals ,anyone listening it's been said so often!!!!
Certain players who were involved under Butcher remain, that is a problem as we can see only too well. Yes sadly and worryingly we observed the gap between the two leagues last season when Rangers played Motherwell, having first eliminated us..Hibs need a team that can bridge that gap NOW ,we are well off that standard and too many old faces still around...Horror show..the clock is ticking.

andy1875
08-08-2015, 09:24 PM
He should have had it right by now, don't you think?

"Getting it right" for this season will be judged for me after 10-12 games. Not 1.

We win next week and get a win at Ibrox, which is completely within our capabilities and all this will be forgotten.

On the flip side, if we lose at Ibrox, I agree it will be deemed a terrible start to the season, but let's cross that bridge IF we have to.

I think our squad is much better and with 1 or 2 more, will have as good a squad as Rangers. I see no reason to be downbeat.....yet :greengrin

08-08-2015, 09:51 PM
yeah, unfortunate typo , but, the guy looks like a player. Wants to take responsibiltiy.

Aye, he looked decent when he came on.

08-08-2015, 11:08 PM
There are lots of yams contributing to this and other threads today with negative comments, but it's hard to stay positive after today.

The result simply does not meet acceptable supporter expectations.

There are some, no doubt hoping to add crumbs of positivity, or perhaps simply because they truly believe,it suggest that after just one game our collective angst is misplaced and there is a long way to go.

And there IS a long way to go.

However, I will make this prediction and put the tin hat on.

If at any point Rangers are seven points ahead of us in the league table then we will have NO chance,of overhauling them.

After one game, we are three behind.

Not one point behind after three games, but three behind after ONE game.

Yes, nearly every game now is a 'must win' game for us.

08-08-2015, 11:10 PM
There are lots of yams contributing to this and other threads today with negative comments, but it's hard to stay positive after today.

There are some, no doubt hoping to add crumbs of positivity, or perhaps simply because they truly believe,it suggest that after just one game our collective angst is misplaced and there is a long way to go.

If at any point Rangers are seven points ahead of us in the league table then we will have NO chance,of overhauling them.

Fully agree with all this.

09-08-2015, 09:01 AM

Agreed - next 2 games are now even bigger.

Our 1st home game v Morton - (our home form has to improve this season - must win game)..

Then the 1st of the 3 out of 12 points up for grab against our main rivals - how will they play after the cup hammering !!

Struggle in either of these games and the pressure will grow even further and rightly so.

09-08-2015, 09:16 AM

This is my problem with Oxley. While he maybe doesn't make Zibi-esque howlers he just seems to save absolutely nothing. As soon as that boy put the ball down for the free kick yesterday I said it would be a goal, you could see it coming a mile away with how badly the wall was set up.

09-08-2015, 09:31 AM
The Cummings for Stanton sub has got me slightly worried. If your lone striker is Malonga then you basically don't have a striker so it was total madness from Stubbs! Any decent manager wouldn't take a striker off when your getting beat.

Then Boyle for Bartley smacked of "wtf do I do, just go on and try and score".

First time I'm actually starting to question Stubbs and he won't get the lee way from the fans that he got last season imo.

09-08-2015, 09:33 AM
The Cummings for Stanton sub has got me slightly worried. If your lone striker is Malonga then you basically don't have a striker so it was total madness from Stubbs! Any decent manager wouldn't take a striker off when your getting beat.

Then Boyle for Bartley smacked of "wtf do I do, just go on and try and score".

First time I'm actually starting to question Stubbs and he won't get the lee way from the fans that he got last season imo.

Malonga was far more effective than JC yesterday though