View Full Version : Who are your favourite clubs in other leagues?

sauzeelegod
04-08-2015, 02:26 PM
Are there any other teams you like or even look out for their results from other leagues/countries?

Italy
Spain
France
Germany
England etc

04-08-2015, 02:38 PM
Italy - AC Milan
Germany - Frankfurt/Dortmund/Bremen
France - PSG
Spain - Barca
England - Liverpool/Wimbledon

Mcpakeisgod
04-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Italy- udinese

Germany- Stuttgart

Spain- Villarreal

England- Derby

France - Lyon

Chibs
04-08-2015, 02:54 PM
Are there any other teams you like or even look out for their results from other leagues/countries?

Italy
Spain
France
Germany
England etc

No

04-08-2015, 02:54 PM
Only a couple in England.

Spurs - Inlaws are all Yiddos
Swindon - Local Team
Gillingham - bloke in my office supports them and goes to their games.

04-08-2015, 02:55 PM
Everton.

MKHIBEE
04-08-2015, 03:01 PM
Germany- Werder Bremen
Spain- Real Betis
France- Nantes
Italy- Inter

04-08-2015, 03:06 PM
Hibs

04-08-2015, 03:08 PM
Fiorentina
Benfica
Panathanikos

AZhibee
04-08-2015, 03:08 PM
Portland Timbers
Club America
FC Tucson
FC Juarez (est. 2015)
Spurs

04-08-2015, 03:15 PM
Spurs and Cardiff

04-08-2015, 03:15 PM
I'll enjoy watching Brechin vs Falkirk tonight in a friendly game.

Hopefully. :greengrin

04-08-2015, 03:16 PM
I'll enjoy watching Brechin vs Falkirk tonight in a friendly game.

Hopefully. :greengrin

Derek Riordan is featuring as a trialist for Brechin

happiehibbie
04-08-2015, 03:21 PM
None

04-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Newcastle and Marseille.

04-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Hibs

04-08-2015, 03:27 PM
No real interest in any other particular club but will have a wee lookie at Edinburgh City U15s now that my Nephew has joined them ..it was difficult to applaud him whilst he was at Tynecastle ...:lolyam:

04-08-2015, 03:29 PM
QPR, Hull, 1860 and Cagliari - not exactly a glory hunter :wink:

Torto7062
04-08-2015, 03:30 PM
1st Love =Hibs
English = Liverpool
Italian=International aka Inter Milan
German= Dortmund
Portuguese=Porto
Would love to go to one of they mad derby's in Brazil lol

04-08-2015, 03:31 PM
The Hammers and Inter Milan.

Mathias Jack
04-08-2015, 03:36 PM
Portland Timbers
Club America
FC Tucson
FC Juarez (est. 2015)
Spurs

Not really got any in other countries now, did when I was younger though. A couple of my mates and I have started following the Timbers though! Darlington Nagbe, what a player!

04-08-2015, 03:40 PM
I don't really follow anyone but hibs but have a soft spot for the following clubs.

St Pauli
Bohemians 1905
Athletic club Bilbao

04-08-2015, 04:02 PM
Hearts

04-08-2015, 04:04 PM
France Marseille
Germany Kaiserslautern
England Everton.

04-08-2015, 04:08 PM
Real Madrid.

04-08-2015, 04:12 PM
Arsenal - my Mums cousin played for them (and scored their very first European goal, ex Hibs player as well).

04-08-2015, 04:15 PM
Everton and Elgin City.

04-08-2015, 04:16 PM
No really. I have many connections to clubs outside of Scotland but no real affinity to any of them. Hibs are my only team, it's the only result I look for.

04-08-2015, 04:21 PM
Germany - I've got a soft spot for Fortuna Düsseldorf and have been to see my local club, TSV 1860, a few times

England - Halifax Town, no idea why.

Austria - Rapid Vienna, because I lived near their stadium for two years and they play in green.

04-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Palmeiras
Soft spot for West Ham at a push.

04-08-2015, 04:28 PM
The mighty shrimpers :agree::agree: Southend United.

04-08-2015, 04:41 PM
Barca
Aston Villa
Benfica
Inter Milan
Newells Old Boys

BarneyHibby
04-08-2015, 04:43 PM
Crystal Palace

04-08-2015, 04:44 PM
Boness utd.

04-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Arsenal
Lazio
Real madrid

04-08-2015, 04:54 PM
Italy - can't stand it
Spain - Barca right now due to front three
France - can't stand it
Germany - liked Dortmund but not that interested now
England - Liverpool

nellio
04-08-2015, 05:06 PM
Spurs and Cardiff

Cardiff for me too pal! Had a season ticket down the city for years before I moved to Edinburgh.

Nutmegged
04-08-2015, 05:07 PM
Never had a long term favourite team from other leagues, I'd just like any particular team that entertains me

From 91-94 I liked Aston Villa, from 93-96 I was big on Blackburn, from 95-97 I liked Newcastle, in 1993 I also liked Norwich, I grudgingly couldn't help but admire Man Utd from 98-01

I used to love watching Milan and Juventus in the early years of Goal Italia on Channell 4

Any team the original Ronaldo played for

I genuinely cannot stand any English Premiership team now and almost all the perochial yoyo clubs with their bloated squads filled with above average players on World Class wages, ruined the beautiful game, completely obliterated it.

sauzeelegod
04-08-2015, 05:20 PM
For me
Italy - inter
Spain - real Betis
France - Marseille
Germany - Dortmund
England - Liverpool

04-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Its really just Hibs. But:

England ........... Everton ... I have family in Liverpool
Germany ......... Werder Bremen ..... I like the name and they play in Green & White.
Italy ...... Fiorentina ..... Channel 4 footie coverage years ago
Holland ..... Utrecht ..... nae idea
Agentina ..... Newells Old boys .... why not?
USA .... Portland Timbers .... Green & White & great fans.

SJNB Hibby
04-08-2015, 05:33 PM
Arsenal - my Mums cousin played for them (and scored their very first European goal, ex Hibs player as well).

You talking Johnny McLeod?? I'm distantly related as well(mums sisters, husbands sisters husband)
He also played for Villa, who after my favourite English club after Palace---I could never support the Arse--he got me free stand tickets for a palace-Villa match in 70(?)

04-08-2015, 05:37 PM
The mighty shrimpers :agree::agree: Southend United.

hope they get beat on Saturday lol

04-08-2015, 05:43 PM
Actively support ...

Hibs
Newcastle United
FC Dnipro

Occasionally look out for results ...

Oldham Athletic
Club Brugge

04-08-2015, 05:47 PM
Only Man United, my mum is from Manchester and I have a lot of family in Salford/Urmston. Try to get to Old Trafford a couple of times each season with them.

dmc1875
04-08-2015, 05:48 PM
England - Liverpool
France - St Ettiene
Germany - Wolfsburg
Italy - none
Spain - Real Betis at a push (growing up as a kid loved their team with denilson, Joaquín, oliviera, assancao)
USA - New York Jets (that's their "football" isn't it? :wink:)

As you can see I had a knack as a younger kid to pick teams in green due to my love of all things Hibs.

liverpool was because they were sponsored by carlsberg like Hibs and it stuck ever since. Plus they had a green away kit :not worth:flag:

04-08-2015, 06:00 PM
Other football outside Hibs doesn't interest me in the slightest these days.

04-08-2015, 06:16 PM
Cardiff and Newcastle, for family reasons.

ManBearPig
04-08-2015, 06:16 PM
Newcastle
Monchengladbach
Barca(admire rather than support)
Colchester united

04-08-2015, 06:22 PM
Actively a fan of Everton and Southport in England.

Look out for results from Union Berlin, OH Leuven (Belgium), FC Copenhagen and Barca.

That's more than enough to be going on with :greengrin

sauzeelegod
04-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Quite a few Everton fans on here. Is that cos of the Stubbs link or did you follow them before? Genuine question by the way. I've always liked Liverpool but recently have looked out for Everton results so I'm genuinely interested.

04-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Newcastle getting a few mentions.

Roxyhibee
04-08-2015, 06:48 PM
No - only Hibernian, but as a wee boy in the 60's (almost always running around in a Hibs top.) I noticed one of my mates' dads (who was a Londoner) had a blue and white rosette in the fine china display cabinet along with the fancy dinner plates, etc..

It had one of those small flat foil cups in the middle with Leyton Orient around it and since then I check up on their position every now and then...sometimes only once or twice a season..!

04-08-2015, 07:01 PM
You talking Johnny McLeod?? I'm distantly related as well(mums sisters, husbands sisters husband)
He also played for Villa, who after my favourite English club after Palace---I could never support the Arse--he got me free stand tickets for a palace-Villa match in 70(?)

Yes that's him, I never saw him play as I was too young but he signed my 'Hibees' book and gave me a Scotland shirt that he wore I think against Czechoslovakia.

04-08-2015, 07:15 PM
Only Hibs for me.

I'll watch the big matches from England or occasionally in Europe but only in the hope of seeing a decent game and not because a particular team is playing.

04-08-2015, 07:41 PM
Liverpool as have had two rellies ( Scots) play at Annfield
Sampdoria as used to watch them when in Genoa ( working)
Barca , Just like watching them

04-08-2015, 07:54 PM
Italy - Fiorentina

Spain - Barca

France - St Ettienne

Germany - Wolfsburg

England - Loads :greengrin

04-08-2015, 07:58 PM
Hammers.

04-08-2015, 08:33 PM
Man Utd, Chelsea
Borussia Monchengladbach
St Etienne
Real Madrid
LA Galaxy

04-08-2015, 08:37 PM
Gais sweden
Everton
Juve
Barcelona
Arminia Bielefeld

micka_weer
04-08-2015, 08:42 PM
Arsenal
RC Lens
Olympiakos
Fortunately Düsseldorf (Matty Jack there at the moment)

Simmyalva
04-08-2015, 08:48 PM
Italy - Hellas Verona

Spain - Valencia

France - St Etienne

Germany - Kickers Offenbach

England - Bristol City

Adniston Burn
04-08-2015, 09:06 PM
Italy - SSC Napoli
Spain - Barcelona
France - St Etienne
Germany - Borussia Dortmund
England - Burnley

Mark79
04-08-2015, 09:08 PM
Fiorentina
Barca
Monaco

04-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Have lost all interest in football that doesn't concern Hibs. Genuinely have no idea who won the English League or the FA Cup last season and don't watch or read much about football in general these days. I have been dragged along to see Galway Utd a few times, and was there last night as they won 4-2 on penalties to beat Dundalk in the EA Sports Cup semi, getting to their first final in about 20 years. Despite seeing them a few times I wasn't the slightest bit tense or nervous during the shoutout against the much stronger and heavily fancied Dundalk, and took more enjoyment watching those around me making themselves ill throughout it all. Pleased that they won, but wouldn't really have been that bothered if they lost. Might like them more if they didn't play in maroon.

04-08-2015, 09:52 PM
Hibs
Newcastle
Deportivo la Coruna
Dortmund
Juventus
Tranent Juniors

04-08-2015, 09:56 PM
Hibs
Newcastle
Deportivo la Coruna
Dortmund
Juventus
Tranent Juniors

That'd be some tourney. Get the invites for next year out now! :agree: :greengrin

04-08-2015, 09:57 PM
Hibs, Spurs and East Fife

04-08-2015, 10:14 PM
Fiorentina - went a school trip to Florence and got a tour there early 90's

Anderlect - went there to see the Hibs

Granada - lived in Spain for a bit a few years ago, kind of flirted between them and Malaga but preferred Granada

Leeds Utd - had a wee bit of a liking for them in the 80's and 90's unknown reasons

Wexford Youths - hopefully they get promoted to the top flight for the first time this year

04-08-2015, 11:45 PM
The only interest I have in football from other countries is if I've got a bet on it.

DTS
05-08-2015, 12:00 AM
That'd be some tourney. Get the invites for next year out now! :agree: :greengrin

You mention a tournament I know this is totally off topic but it would be good if marathon bet could get a pre season tournament together of who they sponsor sure they've got us, Spurs, West Ham Derby and Fulham if I remember from the shoot the "o" challenge they done

05-08-2015, 02:01 AM
Hibernian
1. FC Köln

Scotland

05-08-2015, 03:09 AM
Hibs

Borussia Dortmund

Asante Kotoko in Ghana because I twice got to play in their stadium and it was the best atmosphere I've ever seen.

05-08-2015, 05:37 AM
Eng - Man City
Spain - Barca
Italy - AC Milan (used to play for a Sunday league outfit in their colours and have a pal with a ST for them fae Cumbernauld way..)

05-08-2015, 06:57 AM
Quite a few Everton fans on here. Is that cos of the Stubbs link or did you follow them before? Genuine question by the way. I've always liked Liverpool but recently have looked out for Everton results so I'm genuinely interested.

Personally been a supporter for years - my gran grew up a big fan and was at Goodison to see Dixie Dean score his record-breaking 60th goal.

Also had this top growing up

05-08-2015, 07:00 AM
England - Halifax Town, no idea

I will be at the shay next Tuesday, my mates had a family breavement and they were a Halifax fan.

Hopefully be a nice tribute for the wee lad only 17 too.

Johnny Clash
05-08-2015, 07:41 AM
Rotherham - if they buy Scotty Allan for a decent price!

05-08-2015, 07:46 AM
West Ham United
New England Revolution

05-08-2015, 08:03 AM
Wolfsberg

Lyon

Inter

Barca

Man U

Stokesy's on fire
05-08-2015, 08:06 AM
Everton and Elgin City.

Mon the city!! Sic itur as Astra

Stokesy's on fire
05-08-2015, 08:10 AM
1. Turkey-Besiktas black and white stripes likes Elgin City and I went on holiday there a few times and one of the Turks liked the Hibees as he loved Edinburgh he was a Besiktas fan so I chose to like them..not a massive fan but a club I like to see do well

2. England-Liverpool greatest side in England...👏😄

3. Italy- AS Roma! Rome Rome Rome

None of the above give me the same emotional attachment that Hibs have given me though.

E10 Rifle
05-08-2015, 08:43 AM
Leyton Orient

Billy McKirdy
05-08-2015, 08:50 AM
I always look out for the Luton result, been following them since 1983 and have seem many up and downs from relegating Man City to the League Cup win in 1988 and the 30 points deduction that led to the non league for 5 years, not the most attractive club and a dump of a ground and town but proud to be a Hatter :wink:

Coults1875
05-08-2015, 08:57 AM
Roma
Barcelona
Man Utd

McKenzie
05-08-2015, 09:00 AM
San Jose Earthquakes
Barcelona
Enjoy watching teams that play the right way such as Arsenal and Bayern.

WellingtonHibby
05-08-2015, 09:11 AM
Grimsby Town. Proud club, once managed by Bill shankley and back on the climb into the football league

05-08-2015, 09:14 AM
engerlund- Super Leeds

end of list

05-08-2015, 09:17 AM
I will be at the shay next Tuesday, my mates had a family breavement and they were a Halifax fan.

Hopefully be a nice tribute for the wee lad only 17 too.

Jeez, that's awful.

Newry Hibs
05-08-2015, 09:18 AM
I always look out for the Luton result, been following them since 1983 and have seem many up and downs from relegating Man City to the League Cup win in 1988 and the 30 points deduction that led to the non league for 5 years, not the most attractive club and a dump of a ground and town but proud to be a Hatter :wink:

A fellow Hatter! Brought up in Luton and went most weeks during the 80s and into the 90s - just before the Premier League started. Was there last season when visiting.

05-08-2015, 09:20 AM
:rolleyes: - naught like a bit of casual racism to get your Wednesday morning underway.

Yeah, very surprised that's no been deleted to be honest.

Jay
05-08-2015, 09:24 AM
Yeah, very surprised that's no been deleted to be honest.

Feel free to use the report post function, we admit that we do miss some 'errors in judgement' :)

Septimus
05-08-2015, 10:46 AM
Wormit Amateurs. Like much of Scottish grass roots football long since gone.

05-08-2015, 11:01 AM
I'm

Hibs
Spurs
Gais (Sweden)

In that order.

05-08-2015, 11:18 AM
Bolton Wanderers
Atherton Collieries

Keep a bit of an eye out for Bangor City in the Welsh Prem following a misspent youth guiding them to European Cup glory on Sensible World of Soccer.

05-08-2015, 11:22 AM
Bolton Wanderers
Atherton Collieries

Keep a bit of an eye out for Bangor City in the Welsh Prem following a misspent youth guiding them to European Cup glory on Sensible World of Soccer.

Matt, did Leigh never think of starting again or was it all too much hassle?

PS good luck for the play offs bud.

05-08-2015, 11:24 AM
Wellington Phoenix and thats it for me!!

05-08-2015, 11:27 AM
Matt, did Leigh never think of starting again or was it all too much hassle?

PS good luck for the play offs bud.
The junior set up still exists in it's entirety, and there is now an open age side again but they only play Sunday league. Without a home ground it's just a non starter really unfortunately. Certainly wasn't for the want of trying given how much time I used to dedicate to all manner of duties with them.

05-08-2015, 11:31 AM
The junior set up still exists in it's entirety, and there is now an open age side again but they only play Sunday league. Without a home ground it's just a non starter really unfortunately. Certainly wasn't for the want of trying given how much time I used to dedicate to all manner of duties with them.

Leaving the old ground seemed to end the dream. They used to do the best chip butties with mushy peas. Haha.

The new clubs these days are not the same. Like with Halifax the owners do not engage with the fans and its a nightmare and overpriced. Think that is why I don't attend these days. Pm me any Hibs games your going to this year and I will jump on train with you.

05-08-2015, 11:36 AM
England - Liverpool
Spain - Barca
Germany - Dortmund

West Upper
05-08-2015, 12:27 PM
Liverpool

05-08-2015, 01:27 PM

Most of the lads I went to school with were Liverpool fans. I was always a rebel so went with Everton. Went to a few games when Gray/Sheedy/Sharp etc played. Everton fans were brand new when they heard we were Hibs fans.

liamh2202
05-08-2015, 01:30 PM
Arsenal
RC Lens
Olympiakos
Fortunately Düsseldorf (Matty Jack there at the moment)

Is he still playing the Matty jack role?

05-08-2015, 10:52 PM
Not interested in any team other than Hibs, but did want to comment on mention of Johnny McLeod whom many on here would not have had the privilege to have seen

A superb left winger who seemed to be able to send the ball almost radar like from his left foot to Joe Baker's

I know Arthur Duncan has honorary legend status among us Hibbies, and I love him dearly,but it would be a toss up between mC Leod and Eric Stevenson for me as to who was the best left winger I've seen in a Hibs srip

Maybe Eric just shaves it on his ability to be fouled on the half way line, but land just inside the box:wink:

06-08-2015, 01:31 AM
Arbroath, Newcastle, Inter, Rapid Vienna. About it.

06-08-2015, 01:36 AM
Arsenal, Marseille, Bilbao, Genoa, Galatasaray, Panathnaikos, Hansa Rostock

Billy McKirdy
06-08-2015, 02:14 AM
A fellow Hatter! Brought up in Luton and went most weeks during the 80s and into the 90s - just before the Premier League started. Was there last season when visiting.

I knew there were a few of us on here, I'm also aware of a few **** too (Watford to those who don't know :greengrin)

My mate's a lifelong Luton fan from Stewkley & took me to a few games 82/3, followed them from distance since and been to only half dozen games really.

Great team under Pleat and seen first games from the Oak Road end, last game I went to was the JPT final v Scunny in 09 with 40000 other Hatters season we lost our status, could have killed us a club so delighted were back in the league proper again :top marks

06-08-2015, 06:54 AM
Everton for me since 1978. Andy King scored a great volley v Liverpool at Goodison to beat them there for the first time in something like 15 years. Match was on TV highlights and I thought it was a great goal. Everyone else at school at the time had decided to be Liverpool fans due to their success. I as already unique at school due to being a Hibby so thought why not have Everton as well.

06-08-2015, 07:45 AM
To many Barca fans on here for me :(

Hala Madrid :)

superbam
06-08-2015, 08:07 AM
Actively a fan of Hibs and St Patrick's Athletic here in Ireland.

Other teams I support from a distance: Rayo Vallecano, Olympique de Marseille, Union Berlin, Napoli

06-08-2015, 11:56 AM
Actively a fan of Hibs and St Patrick's Athletic here in Ireland.

Other teams I support from a distance: Rayo Vallecano, Olympique de Marseille, Union Berlin, Napoli

I keep an eye out for Union's results after being there watching Hibs a few years ago. Their fans were absolutely unreal.

Godsahibby
06-08-2015, 12:22 PM
Hibs are the only team I truely support and whose results actually mean anything to me.

I do look out for a few other teams who I have a soft spot for including Raith and Sheffield Wednesday / United (yes like them both as much, long story many have asked and argued with me about it!!!)

06-08-2015, 01:13 PM
Wouldn't say I actively support any of the teams below but like them and have a wee peak at the results. Hibs are the only team I support (Along with the patriotic backing i give to my national team).

If I had to rank them it would be in this order:

England - West Bromwich Albion
Turkey - Besiktas
Germany - Dortmund
Portugal - Lisbon
Spain - Betis
Italy - Fiorentina

06-08-2015, 01:33 PM
Cambridge united are my English team as my grandma came from there. Was at their stadium recently and got pictures taken with my hibs strip on, just spreading the hibs word down there

06-08-2015, 01:53 PM

Italy
Spain
France
Germany
England etc

Just two other leagues and teams

Scottish Development League - Hibs
SWF Premier League - Hibs

dalgetybayhibee
07-08-2015, 03:13 PM
I lived in Germany for 6 years and supported Fortuna Dusseldorf
Was always good value about 10 euros a ticket and massive derby against Cologne was always great atmosphere.

07-08-2015, 06:18 PM

I only support one club and that's Hibs.

At the moment I like the way Arsenal play football.

One team I've always liked is Ajax Amsterdam. That stems from watching their great team of the early 70s which included the great Johan Cruyff and Johan Neeskens. Ajax won three consecutive European Cups during that period. No small achievement when the tournament was a pure knock-out competition in those days IIRC.

Their red & white shirt is a classic too IMHO.

07-08-2015, 08:09 PM
I have a soft spot for Guingamp. Over the past 20 years I've been to quite a few of their matches though never really by choice. The town has a population of seven thousand odd and they have about 10k ST holders. They've won the French cup twice recently and just about hold their own in the top flight despite having the smallest budget in the league.

Hibs are the only team I'm really interested in though.

Soldiersteve
07-08-2015, 09:01 PM
WestHam and AFC Wimbledon for me.

07-08-2015, 09:04 PM
Look out for the Atlanta braves, the Baltimore orioles and the Rays.

SJNB Hibby
08-08-2015, 02:07 PM
Yes that's him, I never saw him play as I was too young but he signed my 'Hibees' book and gave me a Scotland shirt that he wore I think against Czechoslovakia.

I'm jealous----got a photo with him when I was 8---look like I've died and gone to heaven
Think he played in the 9 past haffey game against England
Believe when Hibs transferred him to the Arse for 40,000 quid,it was a record transfer fee between English and Scottish clubs

SJNB Hibby
08-08-2015, 02:07 PM

Lets go Blue Jays

08-08-2015, 02:26 PM
I have a soft spot for Bournemouth, having lived down there for 4 years...

Other than that, no real interest in any particular club!

08-08-2015, 02:33 PM
Sunderland 😕

Champions League- Barcelona as one of my sisters-in-law is Catalan. And it's nice to follow a team that wins sometimes!

08-08-2015, 03:07 PM
Buckie Thistle
Newcastle utd

08-08-2015, 06:45 PM
Lets go Blue Jays

They're certainly starting to do the business.

09-08-2015, 12:24 AM

Thought we were talking soccer clubs.

Go Gang Green. New York Jets #1. Jets, Jets, Jets :)

09-08-2015, 10:03 AM
Thought we were talking soccer clubs.

Go Gang Green. New York Jets #1. Jets, Jets, Jets :)

If we're talking other sports then my name is Eyrie and I'm a Philadelphia Eagles fan.

That's step one taken care of ....