View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs Vs The Rangers
Absolute shocker, this is why so many on here were not wanting him signed and wanted better.
25-07-2015, 12:37 PM
1-3 - so I was wrong!
And people on here wanted Mark Oxley back?
Absolute Joke!
Very poor from Oxley.
Berwickhibby
**** off Oxley ...... That is pathetic
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Oxley!
Oxley should have saved that
From complete control a crazy ten minutes and 3-1 down, someone mentioned self destruct earlier and you couldn't describe it better. Oxley should never be beaten at that angle.
Great save oxley, shot wasn't even going in
25-07-2015, 12:38 PM
I think the only chance we had of keeping Allan was winning this game. He'll definitely be away if this turns into a ****ing rout.
Shocking mistake from Oxley. Deary me
Mark Oxley starting where he left off from last season. He's pish!!!
Jesus wept, if this is anything to go by then we are nowhere near where we need to be. Some of the defending and goalkeeping has been truly awful today.
To be beaten at that angle is simply not good enough.
25-07-2015, 12:39 PM
Fontaine deadly slow, Oxley simply dreadful.
Waghorn might have to downgrade his "basic" assessment of us. Grim...
Someone is going to get hurt as well some of these tackles going unpunished are worse than what Handling got sent off for at the start of last season.
whiskas
Oxley didn't exactly cover himself in glory but our defence (particularly Fontaine ) just let him stroll through and get a free shot a goal! FFS
Hannah_hfc
Forster looking like he's pulled something but continuing on
Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
How was that not a booking?
20 odd years I've been a Hibee can't remember the last time we took a good throw in
Must be more than that, I remember speaking to Alex Miller about that and he said that they'd practiced for years and the players just couldn't do it lol
Hannah_hfc
25-07-2015, 12:41 PM
Forster now down, hope it's not serious
Spudster
MacGregor seems a nice enough guy but he's just been repeating himself.
Sounded like he was reading from a script
Add Forster to our list of injuries.
Christ now Forster is injured as well.
Forster's hammy gone, another 4-6 week injury
forster injured now....crocs ******* FC
25-07-2015, 12:42 PM
How many players out injured now? 8?
Maybe the Dutch guy was right after all
Scott getting his kit on
Things can only get better.
Forster off injured.... What a disaster we are having.
Hamstring for Forster, and sevco looking much hungrier and better on the ball. :rolleyes:
They are all over us just as we were all over them in the first half, only they are making it count.
Hannah_hfc
Allan on
coco22
I think the only chance we had of keeping Allan was winning this game. He'll definitely be away if this turns into a ****ing rout.
I think the outcome of this game will have no impact on us keeping or selling Allan for what it's worth, especially as he is only just on the park
25-07-2015, 12:43 PM
Where is our defence???
We seem to have folded. No fight at all.
If we dont get this sorted, we are going to get humped by 5 or 6 here.
hibbymick
This is shocking defending.
25-07-2015, 12:44 PM
That's him cup tied for this big cup competition. Surely they'll not want him now. :-)
Where is our defence???
Still in la manga I reckon.
coco22
We could get pumped here unless we get a grip
Talk about Allan's head not being right, looks like the whole teams heads are not right.
25-07-2015, 12:45 PM
We should of been 2 or 3 up in the first half, how many times did this happen last season? The new signings better be ready to slot in and make a difference soon.
25-07-2015, 12:45 PM
From 35 minutes onwards we have been terrible. Bad defending, completely lost our shape and Rangers look a lot sharper and fitter.
25-07-2015, 12:46 PM
From 35 minutes onwards we have been terrible. Bad defending, completely lost our shape and Rangers look a lot sharper and fitter.
Looks like we've run our race. Not a single player showing anything.
They're all over us now. This could be a real hiding.
Get a grip, Hibs.
We look awful, it's like travelling back in time a year or so
Spudster
25-07-2015, 12:47 PM
Most worrying thing I've read all day. I thought last season they were the most unfit team I've ever seen in football.
Couldn't care less about this cup. What I do care about is that because we played a strong team in this joke of a competition we now have another two injuries to important players. It's the last thing we needed.
Eh?
25-07-2015, 12:48 PM
We need at least 3 players to come in or we will finish second. The Huns look sharp!
thebausburst
Very dissapointing but lets try and keep things in perspective this is not Hibs starting 11 and we've not got any of the new signings on the park.
Penalty hibs
Talk about Allan's head not being right, looks like the whole teams heads are not right.
The 2 are probably linked.
And now we have a booking for innocuous tackle on... Scott Allan.
penalty us scored the muffin man 2-3
2-3
coco22
That's what we need....come on
The lack of cohesion at the back is frightening, and these are the same players that played together last season. Penalty Hibs. Yes 2-3
25-07-2015, 12:49 PM
It's only a Diddy Cup anyway.
Looked a pretty soft penalty to me. Let's take advantage though.
andy1875
That's us now got an injury list consisting of:-
Forster
Bartley (not fit yet)
Handling
Boyle
Keatings
Carmichael
Farid
Malonga (hobbled off after 20 minutes, injured or not)?
You just couldn't make it up.
Lovely pen.
Well done Cummings! Lets get right into them!!
He always scores against them.
Hannah_hfc
25-07-2015, 12:50 PM
3-2 more bearable
Can't help but notice Allan looking like he'd rather not be on the pitch right now but awkward when both sets of fans are singing his name
Didn't even know Miller was still with Rangers
Very dissapointing but lets try and keep things in perspective this is not Hibs starting 11 and we've not got any of the new signings on the park.
Get with the program man - no room for sensible comments here. You need to be hysterical to be one of the gang.
Jesus Christ!
Ffs
Ffs.
oh dear 2-4 embarrassing now
Oxley daydreaming
25-07-2015, 12:51 PM
Oxley again
Not again FFS
TowerHibs
We need at least 3 players to come in or we will finish second. The Huns look sharp!
It's middle of July
Can oaxley touch the cross bar?
****sake
Another goal Oxley should've gotten nearer to it.
Keeper takes a step back he touches that over the bar. Not Oxley's finest hour this.
More terrible defending. No pressure on the attacker. We look unfit.
andy1875
Decent strike.
Oxley posted missing......again.
Shock
It's middle of July
I know that, I'm saying nows the time to bring them in.
Oxley .......... Huge mistake by Stubbs.
More world class goalkeeping, should have been a routine save
Oxley just doesn't move his feet! Could be a few more goals yet!
Way to go, Hibs. Just back off and let them get in a curly shot.
If it isn't the defence that is sleeping it's Oxley, very poor from him
25-07-2015, 12:52 PM
Maybe we should have done what some people suggested and play the kids in this game.
They surely couldn't have done any worse.
Get Oxley to ****. Pathetic
Oxley.
The end.
hibbymick
Another bit of schoolboy defending. Was stubbs really a defender ???
Is the back up keeper any good?
So easy for them. Halliday not closed down quickly enough and Oxley not reacting well enough.
There's live cycling on ITV4 and Eurosport 1 HD
Hannah_hfc
Whole team needs to wake up! Not good
Berwickhibby
25-07-2015, 12:53 PM
Oxley can GTF .... How could he not save that ...... Pathetic
Lets be honest, on a positive note, it is impossible we will play as bad as this again this season, literally all of them are having a mare.
Is the back up keeper any good?
No
PiemanP
That's us now got an injury list consisting of:-
Forster
Bartley (not fit yet)
Handling
Boyle
Keatings
Carmichael
Farid
Malonga (hobbled off after 20 minutes, injured or not)?
You just couldn't make it up.
Do questions need to be asked on our training routines? That's too big a list to be 'unlucky'
Stubbs, Yogi and Mowbray all cracking defenders who couldn't organise a defence, go figure?
25-07-2015, 12:54 PM
Maybe a mistake signing Oxley up because he's a good lad and not because of his goalkeeping abilities?
Oxley has to be second choice from now on. Is the Spanish chappie any good?
Well at least Allan's being professional
Who says his head isn't in it, what a run by Allan and commitment too.
whiskas
Way to go, Hibs. Just back off and let them get in a curly shot.
That's my take on it- 2 hibs players backing off giving him all the time in the world to pick his spot. If he'd kept it out it would have been a wonder save tbh
Dan Sarf
No
What about Mrs Oxley?
Stevenson should have leathered that at the goalie, great run by Allan though
Aldoo
25-07-2015, 12:55 PM
Stubbs, Yogi and Mowbray all cracking defenders who couldn't organise a defence, go figure?
Or spot a reliable goalie.
Mobray
Hughes
Calderwood
Stubbs
all defenders and not one of them could do anything about our benevolent defence, i don't expect it to change anytime soon, stop gifting goals and it's half the battle
First driving run from SA. Show us what u got son.
I don't think you can blame Oxley for that one. It was a cracking strike, off the bar and in, it could have been further away from him.
Halliday had the freedom of Easter Road to hit the strike. All our players were sucked towards the man out wide and left him in acres of space in a dangerous position.
You can't defend the way we have today and expect to win anything, ever. Falkirk, Raith and St Mirren and most of the teams in the first division will have a field day against this defence if they keep playing like this.
There's quite a difference in fitness. Apart from picking up a few more injuries / injured am beginning to wonder what the nature of our pre season was.
25-07-2015, 12:56 PM
Why can't Stevenson hit that with the outside of his left or his right foot towards the goal, he's so close to it!!
TowerHibs
Lot of wife's on suicide watch tonight
Jesus this placers depressing at times. Glorified friendly to go, few signings to come in.
Defence is a ****ing shambles:confused:
ArmadaleHibs
I know we have a handful of players absent today and many of them we don't know how they will fit in but at this point I don't see us being much further ahead than last year at this point. Granted today is a weekish hibs side but my god wee are vulnerable and Rangers will not fear us
Oxley has to be second choice from now on. Is the Spanish chappie any good?
Nope.
Who says his head isn't in it, what a run by Allan and commitment too.
Already head and shoulders above the rest. Stevenson had to have a shot there, surely?
25-07-2015, 12:57 PM
Delete duplicate
25-07-2015, 12:57 PM
Missed the third, was Oxley looking dodgy there as well?
HibernianJK
25-07-2015, 12:58 PM
Rangers look like they are going to score everytime they go forward. Scott Allans agent in the rangers end.
25-07-2015, 12:58 PM
Lot of wife's on suicide watch tonight
Jesus this placers depressing at times. Glorified friendly to go, few signings to come in.
Not to mention 8 injured. It's just easier for some to throw tantrums and shout abuse.
25-07-2015, 12:59 PM
No
Looking like a bit more of the same then. Maybe we can swap Allan for a keeper or two?
Missed the third, was Oxley looking dodgy there as well?
Dear god no, close angle shot that went through his arms.
ArmadaleHibs
25-07-2015, 12:59 PM
Not to mention 8 injured. It's just easier for some to throw tantrums and shout abuse.
Or just express opinions.
25-07-2015, 01:00 PM
Cummings has played well,worked hard and linked up play well.
25-07-2015, 01:01 PM
Just landed. Twitter feed suggests Oxley at fault for goals 3 and 4 😩
25-07-2015, 01:01 PM
In the grand scheme of things i'm not bothered about this cup, what is galling is the mistakes that are being made. And made by the experienced players who we are building the team around especially the defenders and keeper.
Each and everyone of the back 4/5 and keeper have had a day they will all want to forget, although forget it they might its just ANOTHER case of the team not defending as it should.
Its just excuse after excuse, and here we are again in a new season hoping its just a blip and we improve it through better coaching. :faf:
The lack of yellow cards in this match is a joke! And just encourages them to foul even more
25-07-2015, 01:02 PM
hopefully the buns get a tougher tie in the next round
Bring on Harris for Martin and use his pace.
Or just express opinions.
The opinions will always be taken more seriously if there is content to them. Personally I can't get myself to to the intellectual level of "we're sh@@e .....
Dear god no, close angle shot that went through his arms.
I really hope Reguero gets a go. Oxley's technique is very, very poor IMO.
Allan playing well since coming on.
Unless we tighten up at the back and make the most of our new signings, we'll struggle to beat this lot over the season.
hibbymick
25-07-2015, 01:03 PM
Why can't Stevenson hit that with the outside of his left or his right foot towards the goal, he's so close to it!!
Because hes not very good.
25-07-2015, 01:03 PM
Yip, one of only a couple i have been impressed with, his all round game has improved and he's more comfortable on the ball, used it better and held it up better.
25-07-2015, 01:04 PM
Just landed. Twitter feed suggests Oxley at fault for goals 3 and 4 😩
3rd be saved a nothing ball into the net. 4th he was miles off his line and let a chip go over him
Grant Murray impressed with hibs :Ummm:
Waw this is brutal hibs
Because hes not very good.
better wear this :tin hat:
Have we given up?! This is a disgrace
25-07-2015, 01:05 PM
5-2 easy ******* peasy....
Capitulated.
Ffs
Fontaine and Hanlon especially have been terrible today, that pass was a joke.
Embarrassing, thanks hibs, is terry butcher back?
25-07-2015, 01:06 PM
Good half hour then pish
63 year old kenny miller helps himself to a goal
We're falling apart at the back. Even Fontaine is shocking.
Well this hasn't quite gone to plan...what a beamer.
****ing *****, utterly woeful from Hibs
Wonder what else is on telly
Shambolic. Could we have had a worse start to a long season??
Hannah_hfc
For those not bothered about the cup, I'd be bothered letting them score 5 against us, no matter what team we are putting out. Second half has been disgraceful
Unbelievable. Hibs are going to have their work cut out to get up this season on this showing.
25-07-2015, 01:07 PM
Lewis Allan needs another couple of years in the development squad. We need first team players in the squad, not numbers.
5-3 game on :)
Comebacks on.
Offside, but where?
Berwickhibby
Fontaine just gave the ball away ...... What was he thinking about
The opinions will always be taken more seriously if there is content to them. Personally I can't get myself to to the intellectual level of "we're sh@@e .....
To concede 5 goals at home is pathetic, but this defending has been going on for years.. You can keep turning a blind eye to it if you want but unless it's sorted quickly well be here for another season
25-07-2015, 01:08 PM
Comebacks on.
Nope
Unbelievable. Hibs are going to have their work cut out to get up this season on this showing.
Not to worry, there's league re construction happening next season.
coco22
Back in it....😉
Dan Sarf
Two bright spots today. David Grey and their goalie.
25-07-2015, 01:09 PM
If this is us setting out our stall for the season - its gonna be one hell of ride.
No idea what's happened but we are a ****ing gang! The whole team were rotten.
Pinkie
They look fitter faster stronger and better organised. On the plus side we have only had two injuries.ffs.
stubru59
Pretty basic about sums us up.
Off the bar
25-07-2015, 01:10 PM
What was wrong with that goal my Gaelic's not up to much
Might as well let Allan go to Sevco, they will walk this league with or without him.
Looks like it will be the play offs for us again, but then again we might not even manage that.
I agree.
There's a lot to be worried about today but his performance has been superb.
**** off
and the embarrassment continues 3-6
Hibee_Craig7062
Ffs pish poor defending again
6 now this is beyond awful, Stubbs needs to give answers
hibbymick
So this new manager comes in and has them looking much sharper than us within 2 months. La manga no more.
2-6
This is our strongest back 5 and goalie
No doubt they are Miles ahead of us just now. The defence gives you the Fear.
They have absolutely shafted us.
liamh2202
25-07-2015, 01:11 PM
Not usually one to slate the club but everything from Stubbs interview onwards has been embarrassing
2-6 - our 3rd was chalked of for offside
Oh dear, where the **** is our defence?
That's our 6.2 song gone then
this is absolutely shambolic
AL-Qaholik
Unacceptable. Simple as that.
Oxley, Stevenson and Hanlon are as poor as they ever were and will continue to cost us games and points throughout the season.
We have half a team missing through injuries so our season will be over before it's started as usual, you really couldn't make it up ... only ****** Hibs!
whiskas
6-2 a carbon copy of the 5th
To concede 5 goals at home is pathetic, but this defending has been going on for years.. You can keep turning a blind eye to it if you want but unless it's sorted quickly well be here for another season
I've said it umpteen times on this forum for the past 4 years or so, the one mainstay in our defence is Hanlon, he's just not a good defender, ball watching yet again as the 6th goal goes in, ****ing disgraceful, the lot of them.
Expected this at the start of last season, utterly terrible all over from hibs, worst I've seen us play in a long time.
25-07-2015, 01:12 PM
They have absolutely shafted us.
They haven't shafted anything, we've shafted ourselves in this game
Didn't care about this cup but this is embarrassing
Changed my mind on summer football if I'm guaranteed to miss seeing games like this.
Oh dear, where the **** is our defence?
Non-existent
Because of our narrow midfield the full backs are being forced to provide the width and push on which is leaving massive gaps and the back 2 exposed. If I can see that it's worrying Stubbs can't!
2-6
lol i thought it was chalked off at the time but alba put it up as a goal :embarrass
Off the bar
Jesus Christ
Still 7 minutes left too, god help us.
Wouldn't bet on that.
HibernianJK
25-07-2015, 01:13 PM
BBC Alba coverage is ****ing rank. No replay to see if our goal was actually offside, and the same with theirs which looked offside.
Is Oxley watching this game on BBC Alba too? He's been on a 2 second delay all match.
They look fitter faster stronger and better organised. On the plus side we have only had two injuries.ffs.
Can take getting best by a better side, but our fitness is nowhere near them!
And they had the least worst goalie.
Glasgow Hibee
Two months of positivity down the day drain in 90mins.
Disgusted. We've been bullied physically in the second half and don't look fit enough or fast enough. At the best and of the preseason that is disgraceful.
Berwickhibby
25-07-2015, 01:14 PM
Sadly this team is very fragile at the back
hibbymick
Oxley, Stevenson and Hanlon are as poor as they ever were and will continue to cost us games and points throughout the season.
We have half a team missing through injuries so our season will be over before it's started as usual, you really couldn't make it up ... only ****** Hibs!
Get your tin hat on mate but i agree. Same players making same mistakes.
BBC Alba coverage is ****ing rank. No replay to see if our goal was actually offside, and the same with theirs which looked offside.
Gray fouled the defender before scoring.
25-07-2015, 01:15 PM
At least we are in a better position now than we were last season at this point.
Have we given up?! This is a disgrace
As of the 36th minute onwards, yes
Dumbarton will throw everything at us next week, we must win by any means otherwise the alarm bells are ringing.
I hope so, it was a ridiculous song sung by mongos anyway. We have never beaten them 6-2.
I think that pretty makes up my mind about getting a season ticket or not. What a farce!
25-07-2015, 01:16 PM
At least we are in a better position now than we were last season at this point.
I'm not sure now tbh
Yep. Don't think our recruitment or preparation has been good enough to this stage. Why have we not been able to get s single semi fit outfield player?
Let's hope we get people in or fit quickly because we look a shambles.
Gray fouled the defender before scoring.
He was flagged offside.
25-07-2015, 01:17 PM
We have a very strong injury list and we bonded in la manga. All good.😠
GlasgowHibee
25-07-2015, 01:17 PM
Why the **** would Scotty even consider staying?
Scott Allan booked.
how many fouls has Halliday conceded? 5,6? No booking there though
25-07-2015, 01:18 PM
Get your tin hat on mate but i agree. Same players making same mistakes.
Greenworld
A shambles I know there are many players still to come in and some hopefully signing but deary me thats sore to watch....
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Hannah_hfc
Management team need a long hard look at the team after this
Yep. Don't think our recruitment or preparation has been good enough to this stage. Why have we not been able to get s single semi fit outfield player?
Let's hope we get people in or fit quickly because we look a shambles.
In what way has our recruitment not been good enough, its just unfortunate that most of our new players are injured. Todays performance proves that some of the back up players arent good enough though
25-07-2015, 01:19 PM
On the plus side I'm now fluent in the Gaelic phrase "Goal for Rangers"
Our passing has stunk. They're way fitter than us, and even when they're not closing off our passes, we're under-hitting them. Really hacked off.
coco22
New season positivity drowned by another famous scoreline...Malmo style.
We have a very strong injury list and we bonded in la manga. All good.😠
He was flagged offside.
Well, the replay stopped at Gray body checking the defender implying a foul.
25-07-2015, 01:20 PM
embarrassing. has to be some serious positive activity in the transfer market this week. the fitness is shocking as well compared to them
In what way has our recruitment not been good enough, its just unfortunate that most of our new players are injured. Todays performance proves that some of the back up players arent good enough though
It's the defence that's been the problem today and that's the one area of the team where it was all first team players.
It was all first choice defenders and goalie though
Should've seen this coming, we didn't have enough pre season friendlies, swanning off to Spain was a big mistake, they should've been playing games against smaller teams to gain match fitness and get a good few goals in, winning breeds confidence. The signs were there when we struggled to beat Dunfermline, then drew 0-0 with Ayr.
YAAAAAS
full time
I'm not sure our first pick matches Rangers, sadly.
25-07-2015, 01:22 PM
It's the defence that's been the problem today and that's the one area of the team where it was all first team players.
Thats still nothing to do with player recruitment though
We've barely strengthened a side that finished just ahead of a shambolic Rangers that have since shed much of their overpaid huddies and comedy managers.
The injured new boys better turn out to be much better than they seem, if we have any serious ambition to fight for the title.
players already looking forward to the next jaunt to La Manga
Defend from the front and midfield, apart from 1st ten minutes, Martin was missing, Stanton had a goal and that was it, Malonga looked like he bruised his leg and wanted out, Cummings was the only one up top doing some work, whereas Rangers were pressing high all game long.
25-07-2015, 01:23 PM
Even if it is the challenge cup to lose 6 goals is a farce.
Rangers has sussed us playing 3-5-2. It just doesn't work. Stubbs has to sort out a formation we can use. They are not good! Just a shame we are worse!
Some of them were recruited injured!
players already looking forward to the next jaunt to La Manga
Are any fit enough to fly?
Back up players, FFS Stevenson, Hanlon and Oxley dont look like they'd ever kicked a ball before. And the other defenders hardly looked average.
Same players, same mistakes.
The manager chose to resign or extend the contract of the entire backline and today they looked shambolic.
First time we've conceded 6 at home in a domestic game since 1960. Says it all.
25-07-2015, 01:24 PM
I thought the turning point was Forster going off, seemed to upset our defence completely.
25-07-2015, 01:24 PM
We haven't recruited any better ones.
And it's not great when not one new outfield player you have signed seems close to bring fit. That's bad recruitment so far.