View Full Version : Match Updates Pars 1 v Hibs 2 (S. Allan, Stevenson) FT

18-07-2015, 01:08 PM
Oxley, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Fyvie, Stanton, S. Allan, Malonga, Cummings

Looks like 352 today

18-07-2015, 01:10 PM
No Bartley at all?

18-07-2015, 01:12 PM
subs: Reguero, Harris, Martin, Dunsmore, Crane, L. Allan, Duthie, Sinclair

Young bench, squad looking thin

DownInAlbion
18-07-2015, 01:23 PM
Oxley, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Fyvie, Stanton, S. Allan, Malonga, Cummings

Looks like 352 today

If this team came out against rangers in a few weeks I wouldn't have any complaints. the bench would need to be strong though.

:gwa:

18-07-2015, 01:24 PM
subs: Reguero, Harris, Martin, Dunsmore, Crane, L. Allan, Duthie, Sinclair

Young bench, squad looking thin
Being saying hibs are light in terms of squad numbers for a week or 2 now.

18-07-2015, 01:26 PM
No Bartley at all?

No new signings in the team at all.

18-07-2015, 01:27 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/18/a3faa1ee98caf8772deef50e561c782a.jpghttp://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/18/47d8b5a4bee232060d2d7f2d39684a03.jpg

Not too bad weather at the moment a bit blustery though [emoji4][emoji460]️[emoji460]️

18-07-2015, 01:29 PM
No new signings in the team at all.

Apart from the goalie who's on the bench. Quite unbelievable tbf.

18-07-2015, 01:30 PM
Apart from the goalie who's on the bench. Quite unbelievable tbf.

I know injured or not make them play.

18-07-2015, 01:32 PM
Crazy that we don't have any of the new boys fit playing. Yes Oxley, Fontaine and Fyvie have signed on but no new faces at this stage of pre season on the pitch actually worries me.

GlasgowHibee
18-07-2015, 01:34 PM
What's up with Keatings?

18-07-2015, 01:34 PM
Usual farce at East end park for Hibs fans. Seemingly a kiosk selling tickets, then only a double turnstyle for cash customers! What's the difference! Going to be queues. My dad goes in the oap gate, I go through the other one. They give us tickets and tell us to sit in it seats. I get row N and he gets row Z. You couldn't make it up

18-07-2015, 01:37 PM
Crazy that we don't have any of the new boys fit playing. Yes Oxley, Fontaine and Fyvie have signed on but no new faces at this stage of pre season on the pitch actually worries me.

Not necessarily worrying in that retaining and resigning the core of the team from last year may actually be enough to win this league. Just a shame there are no new faces to augment that team and interest the fans in pre season.

MountcastleHibs
18-07-2015, 01:42 PM
Usual farce at East end park for Hibs fans. Seemingly a kiosk selling tickets, then only a double turnstyle for cash customers! What's the difference! Going to be queues. My dad goes in the oap gate, I go through the other one. They give us tickets and tell us to sit in it seats. I get row N and he gets row Z. You couldn't make it up

Same thing happened here. We've just sat together anyway.

18-07-2015, 01:43 PM

Telling folk to sit in allocated seats for these types of games is just stupid.

18-07-2015, 01:51 PM
Very few are sitting in the correct seats. Doubt we will have much more than 1500 in a 3000 stand so it's not an issue

Wee Ian
18-07-2015, 01:58 PM

Kiosk gave us tickets for me and my 7 year old and put us two rows apart?!? Can't be that difficult...

Hibs1992
18-07-2015, 02:02 PM
Being saying hibs are light in terms of squad numbers for a week or 2 now.

Bear in mind we currently have Carmichael, Keatings, Farid and Boyle out injured who should all be fit within a couple of weeks.

Bartley has only been training on his own so will need a couple weeks to catch up.

I would be worried if the league started next Saturday but it does not start until August 8th and I am sure we will be in a far stronger position then.

Glesgahibby
18-07-2015, 02:20 PM
How's it going?

18-07-2015, 02:21 PM
Dunfy man sent off

18-07-2015, 02:21 PM
Dunfermline player sent off, potential leg breaker on Malonga I assume.

Never seen that in a friendly before.

Glesgahibby
18-07-2015, 02:22 PM
Is malonga ok

He's fine.

Shocking challenge, 2 footed on Dom

007 Mickey Weir
Super Joe versus Man Utd. Got sent off within 5mins for a horrendous tackle on Gordon Strachan I think.

MountcastleHibs
18-07-2015, 02:23 PM
Can have no arguments about the red card. Awful tackle that would've really hurt Dom if he'd made proper contact.

Glesgahibby
18-07-2015, 02:23 PM
He's fine.

Phew!!

18-07-2015, 02:25 PM
Shocking two footer off the ground even though he made contact with the ball it was a straight red

18-07-2015, 02:26 PM

That's absolutely crazy in a friendly.

portyhibernian
18-07-2015, 02:28 PM
Same guy that nearly took that Hearts players head off last season at Livi, guys obviously a nutter. No need for it, especially in a friendly.

Have to say the Pars look pretty decent

Twiglet
Who's their number 10? Really tricky.

I remember Tortolano got a straight red v Man Utd in Alan Sneddons ( think ) testimonial. Am sure it was in the first 10 mins . He halved Gordon Strachan .

18-07-2015, 02:29 PM
God shot from Stevenson saved for corner

18-07-2015, 02:29 PM
Was Talbot not the Livi player that nearly beheaded Sam Nicholson last season?

18-07-2015, 02:30 PM
Forster missed an open goal just couldnt reach the cross

James.
18-07-2015, 02:31 PM
Was Talbot not the Livi player that nearly beheaded Sam Nicholson last season?

:agree: Guy clearly has a screw missing.

18-07-2015, 02:32 PM
I remember Tortolano got a straight red v Man Utd in Alan Sneddons ( think ) testimonial. Am sure it was in the first 10 mins . He halved Gordon Strachan . GGTTH

He didn't get a red he just got taken off. Sure it was Gordon Raes testimonial though!

Dobosz83
18-07-2015, 02:32 PM
Nowhere near our best. Dunfermline causing a few problems and we look static at times up front. We've come more into it since the red card (which was a horror tackle) but I'm really concerned when I look at the bench today and see very little. We look like we've been on holiday imo

18-07-2015, 02:33 PM
Corner Hibs

The_Sauz
I remember Tortolano got a straight red v Man Utd in Alan Sneddons ( think ) testimonial. Am sure it was in the first 10 mins . He halved Gordon Strachan .

Gordon Rae :wink:

This is the type of thing that puts me off going to football matches.
You think they actually make it as hard as possible for you to go.

Long ago - simples. You paid your money at the gate and stood where you wanted.

18-07-2015, 02:34 PM
Cummings kicks the ball into the Dunfermline crowd.

18-07-2015, 02:36 PM
Magnificent goal from Allan.

Allan cracking goal

1 nil hibs

Goal by S. Allan 33 minutes ... 0-1

Stanton great run and just about makes it 2

18-07-2015, 02:37 PM
1-0 Hibs wi a cracker from Scott Allan. Nearly go 2 up but Dunfermline keeper makes a good save

18-07-2015, 02:37 PM
He didn't get a red he just got taken off. Sure it was Gordon Raes testimonial though!

Yes it was big Gordon's . He did get red carded tho . We then lost the game 3-0 .

Dobosz83
18-07-2015, 02:38 PM
Oh Scotty Allen, stoap it!!

All sounds a bit disappointing so far.

Another storming Allan run and shot just wide of post

18-07-2015, 02:39 PM
Free kick on edge of box for Hibs

18-07-2015, 02:40 PM
Cummings skies it over

18-07-2015, 02:44 PM
Said it a few times but Faissall El Bahktaoui (Dunfys no. 10) is a good player, really rate him.

18-07-2015, 02:44 PM
Great header from Dom just over the bar

18-07-2015, 02:45 PM
Malonga close with a header, good cross from Lewis

18-07-2015, 02:48 PM
Half time

Twiglet
18-07-2015, 02:50 PM
They got microphones in the home stands? Sounds way louder than it should at times.

18-07-2015, 02:53 PM
Said it a few times but Faissall El Bahktaoui (Dunfys no. 10) is a good player, really rate him.

Agree he's looks their best player but don't think he'd improve Hibs

18-07-2015, 02:54 PM
Cummings does not look interested today just for a change

18-07-2015, 02:54 PM

Yip. Sneddon's was v Aston Villa with Kenny Dalglish playing for Hibs.

IainA
18-07-2015, 02:55 PM
They got microphones in the home stands? Sounds way louder than it should at times.

What u saying?
Cant hear you and Im 2 foot away!!!!

18-07-2015, 03:04 PM
Scott Allan scores when he wants. Great news if he starts chipping in more regularly.

We need Jason and Dom to find their form too because we'll be relying on these 2 to start with.

18-07-2015, 03:09 PM
2-0 Stevenson.

18-07-2015, 03:09 PM
louie :thumbsup:

18-07-2015, 03:10 PM
Well worked goal

007 Mickey Weir
18-07-2015, 03:10 PM
Is there radio coverage? At work

18-07-2015, 03:11 PM
How it wasn't 3 I just don't know!

18-07-2015, 03:11 PM
Goalmouth scramble, Cummings almost over the line.

18-07-2015, 03:12 PM
Great play by Dom in the lead up

18-07-2015, 03:14 PM
Good to see wee Lewis on the scoresheet again !!

18-07-2015, 03:15 PM
Hibs really turning the screws now

18-07-2015, 03:17 PM
Thanks to everybody for the match updates by the way

Much appreciated down under.

18-07-2015, 03:21 PM
Hanlon Fyvie and Cummings subbed Harris, Martin and Lewis Allan now Ox and riguero swap

18-07-2015, 03:22 PM
Great Dom header just over

18-07-2015, 03:26 PM
Louie has a pop at goal blocked

18-07-2015, 03:28 PM
Sounds like superior fitness is beginning to tell.

18-07-2015, 03:29 PM
Allan s booked for diving in the box

18-07-2015, 03:29 PM
Sounds like superior fitness is beginning to tell.

The extra man we have no doubt helping too

18-07-2015, 03:31 PM
The extra man we have no doubt helping too

Ah - I've not read the entire thread obviously!

18-07-2015, 03:31 PM
Have to Say Lewis Allan has looked pretty good so far

18-07-2015, 03:33 PM
Have to Say Lewis Allan has looked pretty good so far

Good to hear the Borders lad is doing ok.

There was a good Hibs following there when I lived there in very early 60's

18-07-2015, 03:34 PM
Good play and shot by Harris saved

18-07-2015, 03:34 PM

Yep would not be surprised if he scored

18-07-2015, 03:35 PM
Dom, Scotty and David off now

18-07-2015, 03:36 PM
God shot from Stevenson saved for corner

You're confusing him with Sauzee! :wink:

18-07-2015, 03:36 PM

He hails from Earlston in Berwickshire I think.

18-07-2015, 03:37 PM
The Dunfermline trialist looks decent.

18-07-2015, 03:37 PM
Pars shot back off the inside of the post!

18-07-2015, 03:40 PM
Listening to BBC Scotland and Liam Craig at East End, when asked if he thought Scott Allen would move on before the end of summer transfer window, replied no he will stay as he has good coaches helping him following disappointing period down South and he enjoys playing with hibs and his hibs team mates.

18-07-2015, 03:40 PM
Pars coming more into it now

18-07-2015, 03:41 PM
He hails from Earlston in Berwickshire I think.

Always thought the connection was with my boyhood town of Melrose.

18-07-2015, 03:42 PM
Pars shot back off the inside of the post!

Oops!

18-07-2015, 03:43 PM
2-1.

Pars score

Their #10

18-07-2015, 03:44 PM
Harris should have had a penalty

18-07-2015, 03:45 PM
Harris should have had a penalty

Clear pull in the box. Ref looks to be trying to make up for the red card.

18-07-2015, 03:45 PM
Their #10

To be fair the number of changes made obviously is going to cause disruption.

The aim really is match fitness for as many as we can, as opposed to the result I guess.

Nice to win though still

18-07-2015, 03:51 PM
FT. Pretty boring but we were solid.

18-07-2015, 03:52 PM
Preston saying on Radio Scotland that Hibs are, in his opinion, favourites to win the Championship this year.

He's been hitting the bevvy early today.!

18-07-2015, 03:54 PM
Preston saying on Radio Scotland that Hibs are, in his opinion, favourites to win the Championship this year.

He was 1 of 2 last year to tip Hearts. About 10 others all tipped Der Hun.

18-07-2015, 03:55 PM
FT. Pretty boring but we were solid.

wasn't there but what are folk expecting from a preseason friendly.

dalkeith stu
18-07-2015, 03:55 PM
Ian Murray said the same in an interview played earlier.

18-07-2015, 03:58 PM
Meanwhile the big team down 1-0 to Preston. Mistake by the Jambo keeper for the goal. Jambos haven't even threatened the Preston goal in the second half.

I know it's only a friendly but I take joy in any Hearts defeat even if it was blow fitba.

18-07-2015, 04:21 PM
Always thought the connection was with my boyhood town of Melrose.

If it was he would be playing rugger, deffo an Earlston laddie :greengrin

18-07-2015, 04:26 PM
Meanwhile the big team down 1-0 to Preston. Mistake by the Jambo keeper for the goal. Jambos haven't even threatened the Preston goal in the second half.

I know it's only a friendly but I take joy in any Hearts defeat even if it was blow fitba.

I'm with you on that one :greengrin

A poor pre-season and a turnover from St J in the first league game (I'll be backing that with hard cash) should smack them down a bit and wipe those creepy smiles off their faces:yw:

18-07-2015, 04:45 PM
Just back from game - could pretty much copy and paste same summary from Berwick game.

Pretty comfortable throughout - playing like a settled team.

My concerns for the season are...

1 - will we have the patience and quality to break teams down who just sit in (Allans goal out of nothing today was exactly what we need more of). Teams are going to park bus and try hit us on break.

2 - Our starting 11 is pretty strong but the bench isn't currently due to injuries. Some players look in a bit of comfort zone as they know they won't be dropped.

Next Saturday will give us a real idea how we will do this season - yes it's early but if we are serious to go up then beating Sevco and putting a marker down will boost confidence and also be psycholigical helpful before we play them in the league.

Great Hibs fan turn out - useless turnstile operation with only 3 open for cash and 2 for tickets?!!! (nothing about this previously). Pitch much better than the heavy pitch at Berwick.

BIGK
18-07-2015, 05:18 PM

A certain teenager called Lee Sharpe tore us a new one that night. One of the top 3 worst tackles I have ever seen on a football pitch (and
include Sunday armature games).
If I ever get the chance to ask Gordon Strachan one question it will be what he said to Tortolano to make him do that. Must have been real tasty.

Happy at the 2-1 against a team that has been scoring plenty preseason but a little concerned about the strikers not on the score sheet. Didn't make the game , was wondering about there all round game from anyone that was there?

18-07-2015, 05:19 PM
I didn't think we were that great today, though we still won comfortably enough.

I think Fyvie turned the game around with his reaction to the challenge that saw the boy red carded. Delighted to see him jump in for his team mate like that, and it probably kicked us into gear a bit.

Scott Allan played really well other than his dive - I don't know what he was thinking there.

I think Cummings has to improve to keep his place when all the other strikers are fit, he didn't impress today.

Hard to judge the last half hour or so of the match because of all the changes but overall that was a fairly routine win punctuated by a couple of splendid goals.

Bobo
18-07-2015, 05:28 PM
I thought we were pretty poor against a 10'man Dunfermline side. Very little threat or creativity in a game that was played at quarter pace!

Maybe I'm too hard to please but I thought It was below the standard of performance that I expect from a Hibs team.

18-07-2015, 05:37 PM
Pretty poor I thought. It's all a bit slow and disjointed. We do need our quicker players to get fit.

Squad looks pretty thin too when you see the bench.

18-07-2015, 05:46 PM
I thought we were pretty poor against a 10'man Dunfermline side. Very little threat or creativity in a game that was played at quarter pace!

Maybe I'm too hard to please but I thought It was below the standard of performance that I expect from a Hibs team.

Opinions eh, I enjoyed the game, played it just right, kept it tight at the back passed the ball well through midfield and at a pace we dictated stepping it up when/if needed. [ Maybe I am just glad the close-season is over with and the fitba' is back. ] :wink:

Bobo
18-07-2015, 06:02 PM
Opinions eh, I enjoyed the game, played it just right, kept it tight at the back passed the ball well through midfield and at a pace we dictated stepping it up when/if needed. [ Maybe I am just glad the close-season is over with and the fitba' is back. ] :wink:

Yeh suppose so, I'm always the glass half empty type so wasn't overly impressed 😏

18-07-2015, 06:03 PM
Anybody manage to hit a seagull?

RCNG
18-07-2015, 06:10 PM
Anybody manage to hit a seagull?

Almost! 2nd half, Pars right back cleared a ball and sent it very high. From where I was sitting there were a few s******s given the previous incident.

18-07-2015, 06:13 PM
[QUOTE=BIGK;4414970]A certain teenager called Lee Sharpe tore us a new one that night. One of the top 3 worst tackles I have ever seen on a football pitch (and
If I ever get the chance to ask Gordon Strachan one question it will be what he said to Tortolano to make him do that. Must have been real tasty.

There was an interview with Strachan inside the program , with GS saying he was a massive Hibs fan and hoping the Hibs players take it easier on him . Pretty sure he said he wanted to play for us one day .

18-07-2015, 06:21 PM

Same happened to me, i paid for my sister and i and was given two tickets, when going to get our seats the steward tells me im in row u, then he says no it w then i look at the ticket and its row Y! My sister is in row X away at the other end of the row from me!
Then a friend who came in later had the ticket next to me in Y?

Every time we go through there pre season its the same, they can never seem to estimate the no of supporters that Hibs will bring.

It was just weird today though1

18-07-2015, 06:44 PM
Still think we look like lacking pace going forward. Hopefully Boyle and Carmichael will sort that out.

18-07-2015, 06:49 PM
Still think we look like lacking pace going forward. Hopefully Boyle and Carmichael will sort that out.

And Keatings....

18-07-2015, 06:51 PM
And Keatings....

He was at the game today, didn't realise how small he is

18-07-2015, 06:54 PM
He was at the game today, didn't realise how small he is

Still bigger than you though?:greengrin

18-07-2015, 06:55 PM
Still bigger than you though?:greengrin

But not as good looking😀

18-07-2015, 07:01 PM

Nah, he's a patronising wee p!ss taker.

18-07-2015, 07:04 PM
The only thing I can take from today's game is very few if any of the youngsters are anywhere near the first team and we are still a bit short on numbers. I include Stanton and Harris in that. Lewis Allan is less of a lump of wood than I thought but bench at best. Martin might get there. Crane is the only one I would be anywhere near comfortable in the first team but I've not really seen anyone test him defensively. I suppose that's what friendlies are for. We need to also remember there are still five first teamers to come into this squad of players.

18-07-2015, 07:05 PM

I gave it a bye for the first time in years.. EEP an absolute. Shambles on every occasions. The Pars couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery. Utter amateurs.

18-07-2015, 07:08 PM
The only thing I can take from today's game is very few if any of the youngsters are anywhere near the first team and we are still a bit short on numbers. I include Stanton and Harris in that. Lewis Allan is less of a lump of wood than I thought but bench at best. Martin might get there. Crane is the only one I would be anywhere near comfortable in the first team but I've not really seen anyone test him defensively. I suppose that's what friendlies are for. We need to also remember there are still five first teamers to come into this squad of players.

Surely a bit harsh to come to that conclusion based on half an hour of a pre season friendly??

Stuarty27
18-07-2015, 07:09 PM
That was horrific today.

Played well vs Berwick, terrible today epically with them down to ten

18-07-2015, 07:11 PM

Just back from the game. We could and should have got a good few more goals today. We looked the same as last season, lots of pretty football but struggle to score. Crosses still causing our defence problems. Young substitutes not near the level of those they replaced. We need those injured to recover quickly and another couple of signings. We can't rely on Scott Allan as our sole source oinventive play. Team spirit looks great though and excellent support for a friendly.

18-07-2015, 07:12 PM
But not as good looking

Obviously, honey:aok:

18-07-2015, 07:13 PM
Surely a bit harsh to come to that conclusion based on half an hour of a pre season friendly??

18-07-2015, 07:15 PM
Same happened to me, i paid for my sister and i and was given two tickets, when going to get our seats the steward tells me im in row u, then he says no it w then i look at the ticket and its row Y! My sister is in row X away at the other end of the row from me!
Then a friend who came in later had the ticket next to me in Y?

Every time we go through there pre season its the same, they can never seem to estimate the no of supporters that Hibs will bring.

It was just weird today though1

Fair enough handing tickets at turnstyles but don't have a seat or row on it, saves time and hassle

18-07-2015, 07:16 PM
We got there early so had no bother getting in or getting our seats together. You could see it was coming though.

18-07-2015, 07:18 PM
That was horrific today.

Major improvement required. We are extremely short squad wise.

18-07-2015, 07:24 PM
Major improvement required. We are extremely short squad wise.

19 played today and 6 out injured, how much more of a squad do we need?

18-07-2015, 07:26 PM
Hibs were pissing about in general. Poor at the back.

18-07-2015, 07:26 PM

Nope not at all. I don't think they are ready. Stanton in Particular should have been busting a gut to grab that game by the scruff of the neck. Particularly when the last 20 he was the most senior and experienced in the middle if the park. It's only my opinion but having seen them at under 20 level and in two pre season friendlies they are not ready for the first team. Don't confuse me by saying they will never be ready.

18-07-2015, 07:46 PM
19 played today and 6 out injured, how much more of a squad do we need?

Look at our bench today. Do you feel what we have is strong enough to get us through a season? Take in to account injuries and suspensions.

I didn't think we were good at all today. Very reliant on Allan IMO.

portyhibernian
18-07-2015, 07:49 PM
Wasn't at the game but looking at our bench before kick off was worrying, I know we have injuries but the quality in depth isn't there yet IMO. Hope we don't have to rely too much on the younger guys in such an important season.

18-07-2015, 07:52 PM
Look at our bench today. Do you feel what we have is strong enough to get us through a season? Take in to account injuries and suspensions.

Carmichael, Keatings, Bartley not far away from being fit.....Certainly not worrying at the moment

18-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Carmichael, Keatings, Bartley not far away from being fit.....Certainly not worrying at the moment

Good players. We have a good team. Squad is still short though.

18-07-2015, 08:02 PM
Good players. We have a good team. Squad is still short though.

Sure we will add to squad, but we don't have a bottomless pit of money

18-07-2015, 08:03 PM
A pretty much typical pre season friendly. The arse fell out of the game after all the subs. Went through for a few beers. Pity the casuals wrecked the toilets in the Monty but a good day out.

high bee
18-07-2015, 08:04 PM
Wasn't at the game but looking at our bench before kick off was worrying, I know we have injuries but the quality in depth isn't there yet IMO. Hope we don't have to rely too much on the younger guys in such an important season.

Agreed, hopefully this loan signing is true and we could really do with another couple when you consider our injury situation. Not that I think we will sign many more however there is scope for a couple of loanees I would imagine.

18-07-2015, 08:08 PM
Fair enough handing tickets at turnstyles but don't have a seat or row on it, saves time and hassle

No hassle at all, directed by a steward to purchase a ticket, purchased it walked past massive PATG queue and straight in. Tickets had numbers on but was told free seating so most people did without any fuss.

18-07-2015, 08:15 PM
I gave it a bye for the first time in years.. EEP an absolute. Shambles on every occasions. The Pars couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery. Utter amateurs.

Must have regretted it when the 1st tee off wasn't til 6?! :na na:

18-07-2015, 08:21 PM
Having seen that challenge for the sending off again on the tellybox. That laddie has a screw loose.

davidw
18-07-2015, 08:23 PM

I wasn't there today but a Dunfermline pal said we were a one man team who would struggle badly without Allan. That's obviously a bit unfair, given who we were missing today, but I do worry about games without Allan - especially if McGeough ain't coming back. Any thoughts from those who were there?

18-07-2015, 08:26 PM
I wasn't there today but a Dunfermline pal said we were a one man team who would struggle badly without Allan. That's obviously a bit unfair, given who we were missing today, but I do worry about games without Allan - especially if McGeough ain't coming back. Any thoughts from those who were there?

We have a very strong squad of player's IMO, couple more if AS wants to bring more in, but think we will skoosh the league this Season

Stuarty27
18-07-2015, 08:32 PM
I fully support the job stubbsy is doing but how he can say he was happy with that is not acceptable imo.

Apart from Allans goal we were poor throughout.

when they were down to ten men we stuck to 5-3-2 when they were playing one up top was unacceptable.

Foster was miles off it, and in general we have no pace.

Major improvement required..

18-07-2015, 08:37 PM
I fully support the job stubbsy is doing but how he can say he was happy with that is not acceptable imo.

when they were down to ten men we stuck to 5-3-2 when they were playing one up top was unacceptable.

What was 'acceptable' in a friendly?

18-07-2015, 08:43 PM

Wow, what utter pi$h............Forster miles off what ???????

18-07-2015, 08:54 PM

Ah, at least we've found out early. Now that Liam Craig has departed the Club you need a new hate figure and "Foster" will be your target.

dunfyhibby
18-07-2015, 08:55 PM

You talk utter p***. End off!

18-07-2015, 08:58 PM
I cant believe people come away from these games worrying about how we're gonna play in competitive matches. These are glorified training sessions and fans are only there to make the club some cash. I go because I've missed the footie, but it certainly doesn't make me think about what our performances will be like in the coming weeks. It was clear in the opening minutes that the Pars were treating it more as a "game" than we were (as the red card proved). All these players on the pitch for us, stubbs knows what they can do so its about getting up to match fitness.

BIGK
18-07-2015, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=BIGK;4414970]A certain teenager called Lee Sharpe tore us a new one that night. One of the top 3 worst tackles I have ever seen on a football pitch (and

There was an interview with Strachan inside the program , with GS saying he was a massive Hibs fan and hoping the Hibs players take it easier on him . Pretty sure he said he wanted to play for us one day .

Tortolano did take it easy, he managed to walk of the pitch with only a bad limp if memory serves.n :agree:

18-07-2015, 09:15 PM
I cant believe people come away from these games worrying about how we're gonna play in competitive matches. These are glorified training sessions and fans are only there to make the club some cash. I go because I've missed the footie, but it certainly doesn't make me think about what our performances will be like in the coming weeks. It was clear in the opening minutes that the Pars were treating it more as a "game" than we were (as the red card proved). All these players on the pitch for us, stubbs knows what they can do so its about getting up to match fitness.

Absolutely.....:top marks

18-07-2015, 09:46 PM

You're absolutely right, can't believe we've got someone on here saying the performance wasn't acceptable. :faf:

I went today for exactly the same reason as you Callum, and had no expectations of watching anything other than a glorified training match.

18-07-2015, 09:48 PM
I quite enjoyed the game and banter.

Stuarty27
18-07-2015, 10:22 PM
Some people on here are truley pathetic. Any sort of critiscm and people jump on the defensive.

I give my honest opinion, credit the team when they do well and say when they haven't.

Anyone who thinks we are gonna win the league if we play like we did the day then they know nothing about football.

Berwick on Wednesday was like night and day. On Wednesday we looked sharp and quick. Today we were sluggish. The shape was all wrong for that type of game.

To be honest you wouldn't have known they were down to ten men.

I think the new signings will defo make a difference when they are fit, so not all doom and gloom but a massive step us is required to beat Rangers in only 7 days time with that starting 11

18-07-2015, 10:26 PM
Some people on here are truley pathetic. Any sort of critiscm and people jump on the defensive.

I give my honest opinion, credit the team when they do well and say when they haven't.

Anyone who thinks we are gonna win the league if we play like we did the day then they know nothing about football.

Berwick on Wednesday was like night and day. On Wednesday we looked sharp and quick. Today we were sluggish. The shape was all wrong for that type of game.

I think the new signings will defo make a difference when they are fit, so not all doom and gloom but a massive step us is required to beat Rangers in only 7 days time with that starting 11

What's pathetic is some criticising the team based on a friendly....Rather tedious in fact

18-07-2015, 10:33 PM
Must have regretted it when the 1st tee off wasn't til 6?! :na na:

Haven't seen a single shot today :wink:

18-07-2015, 10:48 PM

If you don't like it here you know what you can do...

18-07-2015, 10:55 PM

What a load of pish you spout, you talk about folk knowing nothing about football yet think you can predict our level this coming season from a pre season friendly!

18-07-2015, 11:03 PM
If it was he would be playing rugger, deffo an Earlston laddie :greengrin

Not according to a recent article quoting the man himself.

Born in Melrose and still lives with his Mum there, but went to Earlston High.

Not worth pistols at twenty paces, and I can't post the link cos I'm an admitted numpty:greengrin

gegs70
19-07-2015, 12:53 AM
Typical friendly with a number of potential 1st teamers not in the squad. Harris looked good and a little nore confident! Dunfermline number 10...I think looked quite good what was his name?

19-07-2015, 06:17 AM
Typical friendly with a number of potential 1st teamers not in the squad. Harris looked good and a little nore confident! Dunfermline number 10...I think looked quite good what was his name?

Faissall El Bahktaoui

19-07-2015, 06:48 AM

The shape was all wrong you say?? The shape we played is how we will setup against The Rangers IMO and that's why we stuck to it even when they went down to 10 men. If that was a competitive game where the result mattered we would have changed to 4 at the back a lot sooner than what we eventually did.

These games are bounce games to get us up to fitness levels that are ready for the real games starting and for us to work on different shapes we will be using.

For you to come on here and slate the performance of the team in a friendly match that lost any sort of competitiveness edge when the boy was sent off and then claim that folk in here know nothing about football is a bit ironic.

19-07-2015, 09:34 AM
Quite enjoyed yesterday. Wasn't a classic but good to see the boys have a run out and I had £40 Hibs ht/ft @ 6/4 so it was quite nervy but enjoyable..

Thought Dunfermline played some decent stuff, played the long ball too often which Fontaine mopped up every time but there's nothing much in that league and they look a standout bet at 4/1

19-07-2015, 09:38 AM

you do get that the results from these types of games is completely meaningless to the season? No one has ever won the league or cup off of a preseason friendly result.

Games like this are about fitness, giving youngsters a chance in the first team, and getting new signings a chance to play alongside the longer term players, and trying out new things/routines.

I'd cheerfully accept poor performances from preseason friendlies if AS and the players get from what they need from it, and have a great season off the back of that.

Taking your thinking, do you think that's it's just as possible we could have looked amazing today, got complacent and then been walloped by the Rangers?

stantonsboots
19-07-2015, 10:09 AM
Faissall El Bahktaouivery good player

19-07-2015, 10:12 AM
Faissall El Bahktaoui

That's easy for you to say......

19-07-2015, 10:13 AM

Were u at the same match as me?? We strolled it and it was a FRIENDLY...get a grip!!

19-07-2015, 10:34 AM
Were u at the same match as me?? We strolled it and it was a FRIENDLY...get a grip!!

This:top marks

19-07-2015, 10:34 AM
That's easy for you to say......

Cut and paste job:greengrin

19-07-2015, 10:38 AM
Some people are absolutly bonkers.. Folk moaning about players being off the pace in a pre season friendly... Folk moaning that young laddies who are trying to make the breakthrough arent ready yet..

We are in the championship, a league where we really shouldnt be carrying a massive squad, stubbs said he wanted a good player for every position with a young laddie given the opportunity if they are unavailable. How can someone without first team experience be deemed not ready for the squad? Fair doos they arent ready to play every week, but how else do u become first team ready?

Folk need to calm down and stop the moaning. We have the best first eleven in the league , a few decent squad players , and a batch of young laddies looking for a chance due to injuries or suspension...

19-07-2015, 10:38 AM

I bet you sit in the house in a tracksuit with " coach " written on the back

19-07-2015, 10:49 AM

19-07-2015, 10:50 AM
I don't know a team in the division who's squad wouldn't look 'thin' if they had 5/6 high profile injuries. Our bench would have looked pretty strong had the following players been fit:

El Alagui
Keatings
Carmichael
Boyle
Bartley
Handling

Edit: I realise all aren't injured but in terms of fitness, for whatever reason, they are unavailable for selection

19-07-2015, 10:55 AM
Not according to a recent article quoting the man himself.

Born in Melrose and still lives with his Mum there, but went to Earlston High.

Not worth pistols at twenty paces, and I can't post the link cos I'm an admitted numpty:greengrin

I stand corrected .... this is why I'll never make the grade as an 'in the know' poster :greengrin

I see you are in Sydney .... If you are ever unfortunate enough to be admitted to A & E and are treated by a small pretty Scottish nurse called Hayley you will be in the hands of a dyed in the wool Hibby :greengrin

19-07-2015, 10:56 AM
I don't know a team in the division who's squad wouldn't look 'thin' if they had 5/6 high profile injuries. Our bench would have looked pretty strong had the following players been fit:

El Alagui
Keatings
Carmichael
Boyle
Bartley
Handling

Exactly.....Some don't see the bigger picture.....

19-07-2015, 11:00 AM
Cut and paste job:greengrin

19-07-2015, 11:27 AM
Exactly.....Some don't see the bigger picture.....

Or alternatively, others do see the bigger picture.

We will have injuries and suspensions over the course of a season. We have a good team. Our squad isn't strong enough at the moment though.

19-07-2015, 11:32 AM
Or alternatively, others do see the bigger picture.

We will have injuries and suspensions over the course of a season. We have a good team. Our squad isn't strong enough at the moment though.

Whose squad would be with that number of missing players? Or do you think we should have a much larger first team squad, several of whom will not be involved most weeks?

We need three more players - a defender (Watson?), a midfielder (McGeouch? Stanton?) and a winger (Harris?).

19-07-2015, 11:35 AM
Whose squad would be with that number of missing players? Or do you think we should have a much larger first team squad, several of whom will not be involved most weeks?

We need three more players - a defender (Watson?), a midfielder (McGeouch? Stanton?) and a winger (Harris?).

I think our squad need to be stronger than it is now. The point of a squad is to be able to cope with injuries and suspensions. At the moment ours can't do that.

19-07-2015, 11:43 AM
Just watched the goals. Who was in goals for the goal? Could have done better IMHO.

19-07-2015, 11:44 AM
Just watched the goals. Who was in goals for the goal? Could have done better IMHO.

The new boy.

19-07-2015, 11:45 AM

I'm more concerned as to why we have so many injured players before the season even starts and one of our targets (Watson) is also injured just now and picked up a few injuries last season.

19-07-2015, 11:47 AM
The new boy.

Glad I checked, I was about to jump in and moan that that is exactly the type of save that Oxley often fails to make. :-)

19-07-2015, 11:53 AM
I'm more concerned as to why we have so many injured players before the season even starts and one of our targets (Watson) is also injured just now and picked up a few injuries last season.

Farid and Boyle injured end of season.

Carmichael and Keatings niggles nothing more, just an annoyance.

Handling pure bad luck.

Batley needs to catch up fitness wise.

It's definitely not as bad as you're trying to make out and the doom and gloom goes a bit OTT at times, we needed 2 midfielders before Handlings injury but even with Batley coming, we need another 2 for cover.

My main concern is the dependability of Farid, who seems to be permanently injured, add Cummings inconsistency and we could have a problem with strikers, they're not exactly banging them in pre season are they.

19-07-2015, 12:07 PM
Ozy, where did you see the highlights??????, ive looked in youtube but its only a snippet of AS interview

19-07-2015, 12:08 PM
Ozy, where did you see the highlights??????, ive looked in youtube but its only a snippet of AS interview

On the Hibs Facebook page.

19-07-2015, 12:09 PM
ok cheers

19-07-2015, 12:10 PM

:agree: said before the match that Reguero looked less than impressive when the team where doing the shooting warm up, didnt stop anything that went his way and so it ended up being the case in the match.

Very impressed with Lewis Allan when he came on though, put himself about and didnt get bullied off the ball like a lot of our youngsters do when they first break through to the first team, has more than a hint of Garry O'Connor about him and his style of play.

19-07-2015, 12:18 PM
I've just realised that Dunfermline had a man sent off and I was at the game! :faf:

19-07-2015, 01:13 PM
Ah, at least we've found out early. Now that Liam Craig has departed the Club you need a new hate figure and "Foster" will be your target.

Maybe the targeters should be scapegoated? How about a Hibs.net scapegoat poster of the week?

19-07-2015, 01:19 PM
I stand corrected .... this is why I'll never make the grade as an 'in the know' poster :greengrin

I see you are in Sydney .... If you are ever unfortunate enough to be admitted to A & E and are treated by a small pretty Scottish nurse called Hayley you will be in the hands of a dyed in the wool Hibby :greengrin

Photos please

19-07-2015, 01:21 PM

Under the kitchen table in front of the telly with a bucket and sponge.

19-07-2015, 02:16 PM
Boyle is back in training.

19-07-2015, 02:37 PM
Boyle is back in training.

Yep, posted this on FB, kicking the ball today and said he hoped to be taking part sometime tomorrow.

Twiglet
19-07-2015, 02:38 PM
I've just realised that Dunfermline had a man sent off and I was at the game! :faf:

I was there too and had to ask someone beside me. We got the free hosting kick and the next thing I know Fyvie is over at Talbot, Malonga's standing dusting himself off and then goes over. We were unsure if he was going off as No-one seemed to be leaving. Think the tunnel being in the far corner made it less obvious too.

19-07-2015, 02:43 PM
:agree: said before the match that Reguero looked less than impressive when the team where doing the shooting warm up, didnt stop anything that went his way and so it ended up being the case in the match.

Very impressed with Lewis Allan when he came on though, put himself about and didnt get bullied off the ball like a lot of our youngsters do when they first break through to the first team, has more than a hint of Garry O'Connor about him and his style of play.

Out of all the young guys I've seen recently Lewis Allan has stood out for me. Yesterday he fitted in well when he came on and has a very strong build.

I understand people who say our squad isn't strong enough currently as next week I would imagine a similar bench and it will be all young players. A lot to ask for any of these guys to change a game.

My worry is the starting 11 players become too complacent as they know they will keep their place.

Also free kicks... Cummings nears scores then Hanlon takes next one (like Berwick and Falkirk end of last season - doesn't even hit target). We need to put someone on them who will work the keeper.

19-07-2015, 02:48 PM
I was there too and had to ask someone beside me. We got the free hosting kick and the next thing I know Fyvie is over at Talbot, Malonga's standing dusting himself off and then goes over. We were unsure if he was going off as No-one seemed to be leaving. Think the tunnel being in the far corner made it less obvious too.

I have no recollection of that incident at all.

Can't believe I missed it.

hibeemikey21
19-07-2015, 02:49 PM
Having now had a chance to see the challenge on Malonga, it wasn't as bad as first made out, in my opinion.

19-07-2015, 03:21 PM
Agreed, hopefully this loan signing is true and we could really do with another couple when you consider our injury situation. Not that I think we will sign many more however there is scope for a couple of loanees I would imagine.

Do we have anyone lined up for a loan deal ? If we have - who ?

19-07-2015, 03:41 PM
Farid and Boyle injured end of season.

Carmichael and Keatings niggles nothing more, just an annoyance.

Handling pure bad luck.

Batley needs to catch up fitness wise.

It's definitely not as bad as you're trying to make out and the doom and gloom goes a bit OTT at times, we needed 2 midfielders before Handlings injury but even with Batley coming, we need another 2 for cover.

My main concern is the dependability of Farid, who seems to be permanently injured, add Cummings inconsistency and we could have a problem with strikers, they're not exactly banging them in pre season are they.

What injuries do Carmichael and Keatings have and are you sure they are niggles? Plus I dont think we depend on Farid, how can we when he has hardly played? And in terms of goals per games I think Jason is very consistent.

19-07-2015, 03:49 PM
What injuries do Carmichael and Keatings have and are you sure they are niggles? Plus I dont think we depend on Farid, how can we when he has hardly played? And in terms of goals per games I think Jason is very consistent.

FRom what has been said Carmichael and Keatings don't have anything serious, groin strains or similar, usually 2-3 weeks.

We do rely on Farid if Stubbs insists on playing 2 up top, he started like a house on fire at the start of last season but has hardly featured since and starts this season with an injury from last season, take him out of things and we have 3 main strikers and a laddie coming up from the development squad.

Cummings is inconsistent as far as his game play is concerned, yes he bagged a lot of goals but both he and Malongo missed a bucket load as well, he scores goals but his all round game needs to be improved.

19-07-2015, 03:54 PM
Out of all the young guys I've seen recently Lewis Allan has stood out for me. Yesterday he fitted in well when he came on and has a very strong build.

I understand people who say our squad isn't strong enough currently as next week I would imagine a similar bench and it will be all young players. A lot to ask for any of these guys to change a game.

My worry is the starting 11 players become too complacent as they know they will keep their place.

Also free kicks... Cummings nears scores then Hanlon takes next one (like Berwick and Falkirk end of last season - doesn't even hit target). We need to put someone on them who will work the keeper.

Hanlon?! Why is he on free kicks?! I would rather see Allan, Cummings, malonga fyvie and Stanton have a go rather than him

19-07-2015, 03:57 PM
FRom what has been said Carmichael and Keatings don't have anything serious, groin strains or similar, usually 2-3 weeks.

We do rely on Farid if Stubbs insists on playing 2 up top, he started like a house on fire at the start of last season but has hardly featured since and starts this season with an injury from last season, take him out of things and we have 3 main strikers and a laddie coming up from the development squad.

Cummings is inconsistent as far as his game play is concerned, yes he bagged a lot of goals but both he and Malongo missed a bucket load as well, he scores goals but his all round game needs to be improved.

Thats the best case scenario with Carmichael and Keatings. I still cant see how we are depending on Farid and I hope Jason has another inconsistent season with another 20 odd goals.

19-07-2015, 04:00 PM
Having now had a chance to see the challenge on Malonga, it wasn't as bad as first made out, in my opinion.

I disagree. The slow motion shows that the guy had 2 feet off the ground so was not in control. Which by the letter of the law is a red. And is a totally daft challenge in a friendly.

19-07-2015, 04:10 PM
Hanlon?! Why is he on free kicks?! I would rather see Allan, Cummings, malonga fyvie and Stanton have a go rather than him

Coz he has a great left foot on him and scores loads of them in training?

19-07-2015, 04:11 PM
Thats the best case scenario with Carmichael and Keatings. I still cant see how we are depending on Farid and I hope Jason has another inconsistent season with another 20 odd goals.

Going to go out on a limb here brooster and say I think we are still a striker light and Scott McDonald, for his experience alone, would be a good shout.

I'd like a centre half/utility defender more reliable (injury wise) than Watson, McGeouch back, and a right dirty bar steward in the middle - for me we need 4 players to make a decent shout of finishing champs, with Harris and Stanton probably on the way out - I really expected Sam to 'fill out' and work on strength but for me he is too light for this and the top league - Alex sadly, his confidence is absolutely shot - which is a crying shame as again, for me, he is the most talented and gifted of the lot. I'm desperate for him to click back into gear but something just is not right with him. He's lost that impudence he had when he broke into the side. He's now scared to make errors.

19-07-2015, 04:14 PM

He has a good left foot on him for a centre half but wouldn't say he is technically better than any of the players I said. Fair enough he maybe scores them in training but it's different attempting it in a game. Stanton is normally pretty handy from them

Watch him score a cracker next week now :D

19-07-2015, 04:17 PM

Think he's hit 3 and not hit the target yet. Set playsis something we really need to improve this season.

19-07-2015, 04:17 PM
Going to go out on a limb here brooster and say I think we are still a striker light and Scott McDonald, for his experience alone, would be a good shout.

I'd like a centre half/utility defender more reliable (injury wise) than Watson, McGeouch back, and a right dirty bar steward in the middle - for me we need 4 players to make a decent shout of finishing champs, with Harris and Stanton probably on the way out - I really expected Sam to 'fill out' and work on strength but for me he is too light for this and the top league - Alex sadly, his confidence is absolutely shot - which is a crying shame as again, for me, he is the most talented and gifted of the lot. I'm desperate for him to click back into gear but something just is not right with him. He's lost that impudence he had when he broke into the side. He's now scared to make errors.

I think we have plenty of strikers and would rather a wage elsewhere. I think we currently lack creativity but once Boyle and Carmichael are back that will change a lot. I hope so anyway as there seems a lot of pressure on Allan. I would like 1 more defender and another box to box midifielder - kiss.

19-07-2015, 04:21 PM

He has been on them for a few games - though Cummings, Allan, Malonga are always wanting a pop also.

I'm not really bothered who takes them as long as they at least test the opposition keeper.

Obviously Hanlon has done well in training and shown he can take them - though not seen it yet in a game.

19-07-2015, 04:31 PM
I think we have plenty of strikers and would rather a wage elsewhere. I think we currently lack creativity but once Boyle and Carmichael are back that will change a lot. I hope so anyway as there seems a lot of pressure on Allan. I would like 1 more defender and another box to box midifielder - kiss.

I think McGeouch would bring added creativity and he has knowledge of his team mates and they way Stubbs wants the game to be played. This is not a dig at him but can we rely on Farid coming back strong and not picking up another injury ? Someone like McDonald looks after himself and is a good foil and link up player - who chips in with important goals. He also went from hero to villain in The Rangers fans eyes too :aok::greengrin I think Jason needs guidance on where to be on the pitch at times - he has a habit of dropping a little deep for me, when he is at his best and sharpest in the box and on the edge. Mind I will happily take another return like last season :agree:

I'm intrigued by the Paton link - you do need a player like that, someone who lets the creative players play, yet the opposition players know they're in for a right hard game and battles - the sort that 'takes care' of their creative players.

Are there any games this season that Dom might be away too ?

19-07-2015, 05:00 PM
I think McGeouch would bring added creativity and he has knowledge of his team mates and they way Stubbs wants the game to be played. This is not a dig at him but can we rely on Farid coming back strong and not picking up another injury ? Someone like McDonald looks after himself and is a good foil and link up player - who chips in with important goals. He also went from hero to villain in The Rangers fans eyes too :aok::greengrin I think Jason needs guidance on where to be on the pitch at times - he has a habit of dropping a little deep for me, when he is at his best and sharpest in the box and on the edge. Mind I will happily take another return like last season :agree:

I'm intrigued by the Paton link - you do need a player like that, someone who lets the creative players play, yet the opposition players know they're in for a right hard game and battles - the sort that 'takes care' of their creative players.

Is Bartley not that player?

19-07-2015, 05:01 PM

We surely don't need any more strikers?? we have 5 CFs!!

19-07-2015, 05:05 PM
We surely don't need any more strikers?? we have 5 CFs!!

You wouldn't have thought so but with Farid being constantly injured, Keatings out also and only a very young Lewis Allan as backup, any more injuries or indeed suspensions and we could be stuck.

19-07-2015, 05:08 PM
Is Bartley not that player?

Yep

19-07-2015, 05:13 PM
Yep

That's what I thought, people talking about a strong enforcer type midfielder and here's me thinking we've just signed him. :greengrin

19-07-2015, 05:32 PM
You wouldn't have thought so but with Farid being constantly injured, Keatings out also and only a very young Lewis Allan as backup, any more injuries or indeed suspensions and we could be stuck.

That was my argument :agree: in this league we will have the bulk of possession and create the bulk of the chances - scoring plenty of goals is what will be key for me. Defensively we were good last season but we were rarely tested for large swathes of games - the Falkirk semi final still irks me as that was a good summing up of many a game last season where we didn't finish teams off in the first 45/60 minutes.

There's a fair bit of pressure on us getting off to a flyer and at this stage we only have 3 fit strikers, two 'proven' and one a young player yet to really cut his teeth.

What's impressed me both games last week was Scott Allan having the belief to shoot more - again, that was lacking last season - someone who wasn't afriad to put the laces through it.

Weststandwanab
19-07-2015, 05:53 PM

Were you in the very slow queue to get a famous steak bake ?

That caused me to muss the first goal -steak bake was good to be fair.

19-07-2015, 06:03 PM
Maybe the targeters should be scapegoated? How about a Hibs.net scapegoat poster of the week?

It would give another sub group of fan the "Playing for the club" experience.

We've got the walking football guys. The Fit(fat) club, Marathon bet challenge, 10 second challenge, we could maybe have a category for arm chair managers/coaches. Get's my vote :thumbsup:

19-07-2015, 06:05 PM

Mcgeouch would be a massive boost if we could get him! Mcdonald as well as he is a quality striker imo but for that to happen we would need one of our strikers to leave as we couldn't justify having 6 first team strikers!

I would take Paton but like others have said I think Bartley will fill that role. I think kiss would the better option as he is more box to box and adds goals and height to the midfield

19-07-2015, 06:08 PM
Were you in the very slow queue to get a famous steak bake ?

That caused me to muss the first goal -steak bake was good to be fair.

Nope, I was there for the whole game which makes it even more bizarre!

19-07-2015, 06:52 PM
When everyone's fit our squad looks good. The sad fact is I doubt there will be many occasions this season when we have no injuries judging by our luck in the last 12 months. I would like to see Kiss join the club, I really rate him as a player and higher than Paton. But that's if we play the Diamond. We have the players to play with 4 across the middle as well with Boyle, Carmichael, and Harris being wingers and even Stanton could fill in there.

My worry is I don't know if Stubbs has fully decided his system yet. Is it a 4 at the back with a diamond? Then he'll need another midfielder.

Two banks of four? Then he'll need to start using the formation at some point to see if it works and our wingers won't be fully fit for another few weeks at least.

3-5-2/5-3-2 (depending on your outlook)? Then we'll probably need to sign another defender because one injury and we're back to looking at the other two options but the same problems will show up.

high bee
19-07-2015, 07:01 PM
Do we have anyone lined up for a loan deal ? If we have - who ?

Can't remember if I read it here or on Twitter, said we were trying to get a loanee. Speculation was that it may be Mcgeouch or Paton.

19-07-2015, 07:21 PM
When everyone's fit our squad looks good. The sad fact is I doubt there will be many occasions this season when we have no injuries judging by our luck in the last 12 months. I would like to see Kiss join the club, I really rate him as a player and higher than Paton. But that's if we play the Diamond. We have the players to play with 4 across the middle as well with Boyle, Carmichael, and Harris being wingers and even Stanton could fill in there.

My worry is I don't know if Stubbs has fully decided his system yet. Is it a 4 at the back with a diamond? Then he'll need another midfielder.

Two banks of four? Then he'll need to start using the formation at some point to see if it works and our wingers won't be fully fit for another few weeks at least.

3-5-2/5-3-2 (depending on your outlook)? Then we'll probably need to sign another defender because one injury and we're back to looking at the other two options but the same problems will show up.

It's not been a good pre season for Stubbs, he would of wanted to experiment with different formations/ tactics and players in positions but because of injuries he has been really restricted.

19-07-2015, 07:31 PM
It's not been a good pre season for Stubbs, he would of wanted to experiment with different formations/ tactics and players in positions but because of injuries he has been really restricted.

Absolutely not panning Stubbs for it. He's been unlucky. Just the reality of the situation is all, but I trust him and believe he has a plan or a few players lined up.

19-07-2015, 07:55 PM
When everyone's fit our squad looks good. The sad fact is I doubt there will be many occasions this season when we have no injuries judging by our luck in the last 12 months. I would like to see Kiss join the club, I really rate him as a player and higher than Paton. But that's if we play the Diamond. We have the players to play with 4 across the middle as well with Boyle, Carmichael, and Harris being wingers and even Stanton could fill in there. My worry is I don't know if Stubbs has fully decided his system yet. Is it a 4 at the back with a diamond? Then he'll need another midfielder. Two banks of four? Then he'll need to start using the formation at some point to see if it works and our wingers won't be fully fit for another few weeks at least. 3-5-2/5-3-2 (depending on your outlook)? Then we'll probably need to sign another defender because one injury and we're back to looking at the other two options but the same problems will show up.

Think there will be quite a bit of changing of formations dependant on who we are playing

Can see us going 4-3-3 now and again as well as stubbsy previous favourites of3-5-2 and the midfield diamond

Good thing is we have options for different formations and once Keatings, Boyle and Carmichael are fit a lot more pace than we had last season

19-07-2015, 08:12 PM
Can't wait until the new guys are up to speed, we will have a really strong team/bench imo

19-07-2015, 08:50 PM
I think a 433 of

Oxley

Gray hanlon fontaine stevenson

Fyvie bartley

Carmichael Allan. Boyle

Farid

Would be a very strong team for that formation. If it was the diamond I would go for

Bartley
Fvyie. Stanton/allan
Allan/carmichael

Cummings malonga

19-07-2015, 09:02 PM
There are few teams against where we'd need more than 3 at the back

Sent from my SM-G901F using Tapatalk

19-07-2015, 09:05 PM
Against Berwick it was a 4-4-2 ( diamond).

Yesterday it was 3-5-2 but did it not change to 4-3-3 for the last 20 mins ?

Anyway we can talk formations all day but it's about players.

It's an interesting point about Cummings learning off experience - I like JC and Malonga - even though at times they can be frustrating they both bring different qualities to the team.

What I think Cummings may be missing in games is an experienced player really talking him through games - don't think Dom does this.

I have noticed Allan has stepped up and is talking to players more and nearly coaching them during the game. Anyone else noticed this ?

cmcd
19-07-2015, 09:11 PM
That was horrific today.

It was pre season and 8 subs came on Some people have nk idea Lets see what happens when the real stuff begins

19-07-2015, 09:34 PM
I think a 433 of Oxley Gray hanlon fontaine stevenson Fyvie bartley Carmichael Allan. Boyle Farid Would be a very strong team for that formation. If it was the diamond I would go for Bartley Fvyie. Stanton/allan Allan/carmichael Cummings malonga

Is that first team a 4-2-3-1 ???

20-07-2015, 10:37 AM

What was the score on Wednesday?

20-07-2015, 10:53 AM
Apologies if already posted. Saturdays highlights.

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/teams/milwall/9917795/dunfermline-1-2-hibernian

20-07-2015, 11:27 AM
Apologies if already posted. Saturdays highlights.

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/teams/milwall/9917795/dunfermline-1-2-hibernian

Not enough to give you too much of an idea how we played, good goal from Allan, what was Stevenson doing in the CF position :greengrin and the long diagonal ball overhead does the defence again but the keeper was poor there too.

20-07-2015, 11:56 AM
Interestingly, Stevenson, in a post match interview, joined the 'don't sell Scott Allan' lobby, saying that "Hibs board know better than to sell our best player."

patlowe
20-07-2015, 12:36 PM
Not enough to give you too much of an idea how we played, good goal from Allan, what was Stevenson doing in the CF position :greengrin and the long diagonal ball overhead does the defence again but the keeper was poor there too.

Not that it's an excuse for the defence but number 10 deserved that goal - he was skilful and industrious throughout.

20-07-2015, 01:11 PM
Not that it's an excuse for the defence but number 10 deserved that goal - he was skilful and industrious throughout.

a hibs were playing only 2 at the back at that point....and 8 teenagers!

TheFamous1875
20-07-2015, 01:22 PM
Interestingly, Stevenson, in a post match interview, joined the 'don't sell Scott Allan' lobby, saying that "Hibs board know better than to sell our best player."

Link, m'lud?

Dan Sarf
20-07-2015, 01:56 PM
Link, m'lud?

Allow me...

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/hibs-board-knows-better-than-to-sell-scott-allan-1-3835067

TheFamous1875
20-07-2015, 02:00 PM
Allow me...

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/hibs-board-knows-better-than-to-sell-scott-allan-1-3835067

20-07-2015, 02:30 PM
a hibs were playing only 2 at the back at that point....and 8 teenagers!

Still a scrappy goal to give away.