View Full Version : Match Updates Berwick Rangers 0 v Hibernian 3 (Gray, Cummings, S Allan) FT

14-07-2015, 12:23 PM
So it's our first game of the season and I'll get us off to a good start by beginning the first match thread!

Any team news? Will Kiss be playing?

14-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Good to see Martin and Handling starting.

14-07-2015, 05:47 PM
@HibsOfficial: #Hibs Oxley, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Fyvie, Martin, Handling, S. Allan, Cummings, Malonga #BRFCvHFC http://t.co/s8hGxhtC7M

14-07-2015, 05:48 PM
Don't suppose this is on telly anywhere?

14-07-2015, 05:48 PM

Commentary on Hibs TV

The Sundance Kid
14-07-2015, 05:50 PM
Oxley, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Martin, Scott Allan, Fyvie, Handling, Malonga, Cummings

Subs: Reguero, Dunsmore, Forster, Crane, Stanton, Harris, Lewis Allan

14-07-2015, 05:52 PM
Oxley, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Martin, Scott Allan, Fyvie, Handling, Malonga, Cummings

The team against Rangers in the Petrofac cup, won't be too far away from our starting 11 tonight, unless our injuries improve

14-07-2015, 05:54 PM

I can see us scoring a few tonight. Pretty strong team.

14-07-2015, 05:56 PM
Footballs back :partyhibb

14-07-2015, 05:57 PM
The "my impeccable sources tell me that Filip Kiss will definitely definitely play as a trialist" rumours were pish then.

14-07-2015, 05:59 PM
The "my impeccable sources tell me that Filip Kiss will definitely definitely play as a trialist" rumours were pish then.

Someone mentioned on the other thread that Motherwell and Hearts were holding talks. Or the likes

14-07-2015, 06:14 PM
The team against Rangers in the Petrofac cup, won't be too far away from our starting 11 tonight, unless our injuries improve

Hope we've got a couple more in at least before then.

Promising start to pre season but I'd hoped to have more New faces in by now, Dissapointed there's not a trialist playing.

14-07-2015, 06:17 PM
Good to see Martin and Handling starting.

Don't think we have any choice. Looking forward to seeing Martin. Heard good things about him.

14-07-2015, 06:20 PM

Agreed Billy. Think 9 of that 11 will start. Up to Handling and Martin to play their way in IMO.

14-07-2015, 06:24 PM
Don't think we have any choice. Looking forward to seeing Martin. Heard good things about him.

Is Martin from the under 20s ?

14-07-2015, 06:28 PM
Is Martin from the under 20s ?

Yes, Scott Martin. Has been on bench and made his debut against Falkirk away last season

14-07-2015, 06:29 PM
Yes, Scott Martin. Has been on bench and made his debut against Falkirk away last season

How do you think he'll do in the first team, Nikki?

14-07-2015, 06:33 PM

What kind of midfielder is Martin?

14-07-2015, 06:34 PM

We don't have "trialist" down on the team sheet. Is he there or not?

Badge
14-07-2015, 06:35 PM
Agreed Billy. Think 9 of that 11 will start. Up to Handling and Martin to play their way in IMO. Forster for Martin or Handling and go 3-5-2

14-07-2015, 06:41 PM

He reminds me of Scott Brown. Nice lad too sat with him at the sponsors night.

14-07-2015, 06:47 PM
He reminds me of Scott Brown. Nice lad too sat with him at the sponsors night.

That's not a bad player to be likened to!! :aok:

14-07-2015, 06:48 PM
We would be crazy to play a trialist in public view. I am glad there are no trialists playing. should all be done behind closed doors.

14-07-2015, 06:48 PM
Are we winning yet !?

Twiglet
14-07-2015, 06:49 PM
Anyone else listening on Hibs TV struggling to hear what they're saying?

14-07-2015, 06:50 PM
We don't have "trialist" down on the team sheet. Is he there or not?

None

14-07-2015, 06:50 PM
Are we winning yet !?

Naw. Petrie oot 😀

Cammy
14-07-2015, 06:51 PM

Yeah, really bad!

14-07-2015, 06:53 PM

Not just you, Feed is really poor, they're trying to improve it, Edit, improved audio now.

Twiglet
14-07-2015, 06:56 PM
Not just you, Feed is really poor, they're trying to improve it, Edit, improved audio now.

Yeah, it improved a minute ago. It was like the mike was really far away.

14-07-2015, 06:59 PM
Is Keatings and Carmichael injured?

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 07:03 PM
@HibsOfficial: 13: #Hibs try to build up attacks, but Berwick are holding firm so far #BRFCvHFC...sounds incredibly similar to last season already haha

Goal, David Gray

bill the hibby
And I'll eat my words or take credit for the goal

H18S NX
Yes,not risking them

14-07-2015, 07:04 PM
Goal Gray!

Twiglet
14-07-2015, 07:06 PM
Doesn't sound good for Danny Handling. :-/

Stuarty27
What a ball fi scott allan 1'0

Handling studs caught in the Turf, about to be stretchered off..

14-07-2015, 07:07 PM
Danny Handling getting stretchered off. :worried::worried:

Good to get an early goal, shame for Danny Handling though.

Stanton replaces the injured Handling.

14-07-2015, 07:09 PM
And so it starts...

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 07:10 PM
Caught on the turf? Potential knee ligaments, unlucky for Danny...I really think this emphasises the point that we need more signings im afraid

14-07-2015, 07:14 PM
Just heard Oxley hit the post with an overhead kick from his own goal line

14-07-2015, 07:16 PM
Pre season injury crisis. Nightmare.

14-07-2015, 07:20 PM

His post or theirs lol

14-07-2015, 07:21 PM
The curse continues. We must be the most unlucky team in Scotland by a country mile.

14-07-2015, 07:22 PM

The ball hit the post or did Oxley hit the post?

14-07-2015, 07:23 PM

I think Scotty will do well, yes he is small but has strength. I hope Stubbs keeps him here and no out on loan so he can progress and learn with the first team squad.

What kind of midfielder is Martin?

As someone else said he reminds me of Scott brown, a nippy wee player who is always at the heels of the opposition wanting the ball back, or when we have the ball he drives at the defence pushing us up the park, he is always looking for the pass and isn't scared to be vocal with his team mates. Captain material in my eyes. :thumbsup:

14-07-2015, 07:26 PM
I think Scotty will do well, yes he is small but has strength. I hope Stubbs keeps him here and no out on loan so he can progress and learn with the first team squad.

As someone else said he reminds me of Scott brown, a nippy wee player who is always at the heels of the opposition wanting the ball back, or when we have the ball he drives at the defence pushing us up the park, he is always looking for the pass and isn't scared to be vocal with his team mates. Captain material in my eyes. :thumbsup:

I don't think there's any chance he'll be going out on loan unless we get another 2, probably 3 midfielders in.

14-07-2015, 07:30 PM

Sounds similar to mcgeoughs style of play as well. Stubbs must rate the laddie, so fingers crossed!

14-07-2015, 07:39 PM
Half time

At the game - started off quick.

Amazing pass by Allen and decent finish by Gray for the goal - since then we have dropped tempo of play.

Handling hurt knee in earlier challenge and looked like he twisted either ankle or same knee.

Pitch pretty slow.

Would like to see us play quicker in middle and final 3rd. We also need to defend set pieces better.

Decent Hibs support at game too!

14-07-2015, 07:41 PM
Half time

At the game - started off quick.

Amazing pass by Allen and decent finish by Gray for the goal - since then we have dropped tempo of play.

Handling hurt knee in earlier challenge and looked like he twisted either ankle or same knee.

Pitch pretty slow.

Would like to see us play quicker in middle and final 3rd. We also need to defend set pieces better.

Decent Hibs support at game too!

How's Martin playing?

14-07-2015, 07:57 PM
Sounds similar to mcgeoughs style of play as well. Stubbs must rate the laddie, so fingers crossed!

Have only seen him play twice and liked what I saw . I know a couple of the men who coached him in the Borders and they told me me that
" Alan Stubbs really rates the lad and says if he is prepared to apply himself and work hard there is no reason he cannot go far in the game "
Sounds promising !!

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:00 PM
2-0 cummings

Billy
14-07-2015, 08:03 PM
3-0 Scott Allan

14-07-2015, 08:07 PM
Undoubted treble coming up.

Scratch that quadruple.

Gordy M
14-07-2015, 08:10 PM
See the jam tarts are continuing their great pre-season form, getting beat 2-1 by the mighty binos!!:thumbsup:

14-07-2015, 08:12 PM
I hope S. Allan isn't snapped up before the window closes...

14-07-2015, 08:12 PM
Two assists and a goal from Allan

Take that every week !!

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:14 PM
Two assists and a goal from Allan

Take that every week !!

So would other teams too :(

BoltonHibernian
14-07-2015, 08:14 PM
Can we see the goals anywhere?

14-07-2015, 08:16 PM
Waw this draining chat about SA leaving continues...

Gordy M
14-07-2015, 08:18 PM
Waw this draining chat about SA leaving continues...

Exactly, its almost like folk want other teams to come in for him so they can have something to moan about.....??

14-07-2015, 08:18 PM
Almost Whole team changed now.

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:19 PM
Haha calm down guys I was only poking a bit of fun

14-07-2015, 08:23 PM
First coupon up of season hope it's no last cashed out 96 for 6, with all teams winning think Killie drew in the end, happy days

14-07-2015, 08:24 PM
Stirling Albion 2-1 Hearts FT
QOS 2-2 Killie FT
Dumbarton 1-3 Stranraer FT
Falkirk 2-3 Hamilton - FT

14-07-2015, 08:24 PM
I know a little early but how is Harris playing

14-07-2015, 08:27 PM
Can we see the goals anywhere?

Berwick Rangers tend to put them on their site. Don't know when.

14-07-2015, 08:28 PM
Hearts playing again tomorrow. Weird

14-07-2015, 08:28 PM
Champions League qualifers

Hibernians 2 - 1 Maccabi Tel Aviv

:hibees

14-07-2015, 08:34 PM
Scott Allan off...

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:34 PM
See scott Allan's been taken off and we're finishing with 10 men...could be his diabetes? I hope not an injury

14-07-2015, 08:35 PM
Is he injured?

14-07-2015, 08:36 PM
See scott Allan's been taken off and we're finishing with 10 men...could be his diabetes? I hope not an injury

You're not related to John Laurie are you? We're doomed, doomed I tell you!

Lee Marvin
14-07-2015, 08:36 PM

How are we finishing a pre season friendly with 10 men!!!

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:37 PM

I don't have a clue who that is but I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one gutted if it was an injury to one of our best players...

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:37 PM
How are we finishing a pre season friendly with 10 men!!!

He was brought off

14-07-2015, 08:40 PM
He was brought off

No subs?

14-07-2015, 08:41 PM
[QUOTE=bill the hibby;4412783]I don't have a clue who that is but I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one gutted if it was an injury to one of our best players...[/QUOT

You started off with a supposed joke about other teams noting his performance tonight. Then in one post you ask if he's coming off because of his diabetes, really! or injury. Much more likely that having used all 7 subs he may have felt a slight niggle in his first 90 mins for months & came off as a precaution.

14-07-2015, 08:42 PM

Was thinking just the same! :-)

Lee Marvin
14-07-2015, 08:42 PM
He was brought off

Thanks, I get that. I mean how do we not have a big enough squad to have a replacement when you have unlimited subs?? These injuries are not helping us one bit

14-07-2015, 08:43 PM
Thanks, I get that. I mean how do we not have a big enough squad to have a replacement when you have unlimited subs?? These injuries are not helping us one bit

We didn't have unlimited subs, we had 7 & they were all used. We don't know if SA has an injury.

14-07-2015, 08:44 PM
I don't think Stubbs took the whole squad and the development squad. It wasn't unlimited.

He was brought off

Surely if it's a bounce game we could just put a previously subbed player back on?

Anyway hopefully it's not serious.

bill the hibby
[QUOTE=bill the hibby;4412783]I don't have a clue who that is but I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one gutted if it was an injury to one of our best players...[/QUOT

You started off with a supposed joke about other teams noting his performance tonight. Then in one post you ask if he's coming off because of his diabetes, really! or injury. Much more likely that having used all 7 subs he may have felt a slight niggle in his first 90 mins for months & came off as a precaution.

Both posts were about completely different subjects, I fail to see the problem with my post genuinely hoping that the guy isn't injured...

14-07-2015, 08:45 PM
No subs?

Think we had used all the 7 subs . Hope it's nothing untoward.

14-07-2015, 08:46 PM
FFS who cares that we finished with 10 men? We comfortably won a pre season friendly. Move on.

Lee Marvin
I don't think Stubbs took the whole squad and the development squad. It wasn't unlimited.

That's the answer then. Cheers.

Still think we are very light in midfield considering the season is 10 days away. An injury to Fyvie or Allan and we are toiling

[QUOTE=brog;4412788]

Both posts were about completely different subjects, I fail to see the problem with my post genuinely hoping that the guy isn't injured...

The gist of it is you're coming over as a doom and gloom merchant.

14-07-2015, 08:47 PM
FFS who cares that we finished with 10 men? We comfortably won a pre season friendly. Move on.

Seemingly Allan was pointing to his groin? So I was told anyway, wasn't there.

14-07-2015, 08:47 PM
That's the answer then. Cheers.

Still think we are very light in midfield considering the season is 10 days away. An injury to Fyvie or Allan and we are toiling

We are short and Stubbs has already said he's working on getting more in.

Delboy4
14-07-2015, 08:51 PM
No subs?

You wouldn't put a sub back on after coming off 10 mins before as there's a chance of pulling hammys etc since they're cooled down

No big problem anyway!

Lee Marvin
14-07-2015, 08:52 PM
We are short and Stubbs has already said he's working on getting more in.

I know that. This game has really highlighted it. Hopefully Martin can make the step up, as he clearly doesnt see either Stanton or handling as good enough (due to both being free to leave)

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 08:54 PM
Doom and gloom merchant because I'm hoping our best player isn't injured. Wow.

14-07-2015, 08:55 PM
Good start.

14-07-2015, 08:57 PM
I know that. This game has really highlighted it. Hopefully Martin can make the step up, as he clearly doesnt see either Stanton or handling as good enough (due to both being free to leave)

Apart from Handling starting tonight and came off injured?

14-07-2015, 09:00 PM
Doom and gloom merchant because I'm hoping our best player isn't injured. Wow.

We all hope that. Your first supposed joke about him leaving was a tad feeble & your comment about SA coming off because of diabetes was crass at best! Maybe just try & think for a minute before rushing to be the first with news.

Lee Marvin
14-07-2015, 09:01 PM

He has been told he can leave if he wants. What part of that suggests Stubbs rates him?! Starting tonight is irrelevant, we have hardly any fit midfielders

14-07-2015, 09:03 PM
Well played , happy with clean sheet , and seems we played good

bill the hibby
14-07-2015, 09:04 PM
We all hope that. Your first supposed joke about him leaving was a tad feeble & your comment about SA coming off because of diabetes was crass at best! Maybe just try & think for a minute before rushing to be the first with news.

Fair enough man, I'll take it on board.

KSA Hibee
14-07-2015, 09:05 PM
He was brought off

do you mean the same as a "extra services happy ending"?

14-07-2015, 09:05 PM
Fair enough man, I'll take it on board.

Good on you!

14-07-2015, 09:06 PM

Couldn't give a monkeys about how many men we finished with . But when our best player goes off with 3 mins remaining . I for one am hopeful it's nothing serious .

14-07-2015, 09:08 PM
We did this once whe I was at Craigroyston in a friendly, deliberately played with 10 men to practice in a game situation for when a man got sent off in a real game...relax people, there may be method in the madness.

14-07-2015, 09:14 PM
We did this once whe I was at Craigroyston in a friendly, deliberately played with 10 men to practice in a game situation for when a man got sent off in a real game...relax people, there may be method in the madness.

Planning For a Player Being Sent OFF. it will never catch on !!! :greengrin

14-07-2015, 09:19 PM

Exactly. There is some garbage spouted on here almost daily about these players. He wouldn't have been starting tonight if Stubbs didn't want him!

14-07-2015, 09:25 PM

Of course, the best thing about having a man sent off is that it takes away the fear of having a man sent off

14-07-2015, 09:28 PM

It falls into the 'losing an early goal takes away the pressure of going behind' category.

14-07-2015, 09:36 PM
You wouldn't put a sub back on after coming off 10 mins before as there's a chance of pulling hammys etc since they're cooled down

No big problem anyway!

I didn't realise we'd use all our subs up.

Stuarty27
14-07-2015, 09:44 PM
It was 3 going on 33.

Played some nice stuff,Fyvie and Allan best players on the pitch, back four were solid. Martin done ok, Stanton looked sharp and played well. Front two worked hard and on other day could of had at least two each.

Young crane when he came on looked a player, granted only 15 minutes.

Harris is a lost cause.

14-07-2015, 09:50 PM
Exactly. There is some garbage spouted on here almost daily about these players. He wouldn't have been starting tonight if Stubbs didn't want him!

Who else do we have to start in midfield at the moment?

Injury aside, I'd be astounded if Danny Handling starts the season in central midfield.

Saturday Boy
14-07-2015, 10:03 PM
Berwick were reduced to 10 men when one of their many subs had to go off injured. Scott Allan came to the touch line and spoke to Stubbs, it looked to me that he was withdrawn just to make it 10 v 10. He looked tired, but not injured.

TheFamous1875
14-07-2015, 10:09 PM
It was 3 going on 33.

Played some nice stuff,Fyvie and Allan best players on the pitch, back four were solid. Martin done ok, Stanton looked sharp and played well. Front two worked hard and on other day could of had at least two each.

Harris is a lost cause.

Care to elaborate?

priorparkhibby
14-07-2015, 10:10 PM
Berwick were reduced to 10 men when one of their many subs had to go off injured. Scott Allan came to the touch line and spoke to Stubbs, it looked to me that he was withdrawn just to make it 10 v 10. He looked tired, but not injured.

I didn't see Scott speaking to Stubbs but when he went off I thought it was to even the sides up too

Pete70
14-07-2015, 10:10 PM

I was sitting a few rows behind the Hibs dugout and that is exactly my take on Scotty being taken off.

I thought we were treated to a Scott Allen master class tonight.

Saturday Boy
14-07-2015, 10:12 PM
I was sitting a few rows behind the Hibs dugout and that is exactly my take on Scotty being taken off.

I thought we were treated to a Scott Allen master class tonight.

You must have been sitting near me (ha ha).

Green-Hibee-7
14-07-2015, 10:20 PM
Was an enjoyable enough game. Didn't think the boys got out of 1st gear but when they did add some tempo to the attacks always looked capable off scoring.

Scotty Allan looked very good as did Fyvie. Defence weren't overly troubled. On observation not that they were tested but id like to see a more natural right sided centre half in our team. I like Hanlon, but at times I feel he doesn't look comfortable but for the division we find ourselves in should be ok. Hopefully Forster is challenging for that spot.

Really disappointing for Danny handling. Started of in that deeper role that everyone has been debating about if he could play in. For me he keeps the ball very well and was linking defence and midfield and looks bigger physically. Looked a bad one, stretchered off.

Other worries were the Ox having ice strapped on his thigh and Scott Allan did point to his groin but as someone else mentioned, he was brought off because Berwick were down to 10 as well.

Crowd was just over 1000 I'd imagine 75% if not more were hibees, so good turnout!

14-07-2015, 10:25 PM
It was 3 going on 33.

Harris is a lost cause.

Your view, but I disagree. Harris was involved throughout the entirety of his time on the pitch. Linked well with Gray and then Dunsmore and put in a few challenges. Not sure what else you expected of him?

Scott Allan was immense at times and young Martin played well but for me the best Hibs player on the pitch was Fyvie. Man of the Match goes to the Berwick goalie

14-07-2015, 10:28 PM
Just back...

Read a few posts and my view is that the 1st half team played pretty much like last years team - the good thing about this is they know each other so most of the time there was good understanding - the challenge will be becoming less predictable as teams have seen us play.

The game was comfortable for Hibs - mostly watching thier legs not to pick up injuries where possible.

Oxley hardly touched ball.

Back 4 hardly troubled.

Midfield kept ball well at time - Handling was doing well when on, Martin looked energetic (needs games = experience), Fyvie and Allen best players on pitch - even though Allen didn't even play his best. Stanton did well when he came on - technically good and can be tricky.

Malinga and Cummings - usual from both - Malonga great feet before goal was scored - Cummings took goal well - looked busy.

Subs - not loads of time to impress but all added some freshness and speed to the attack. Harris I thought did ok.

We 100% need more players though - especially in midfield. It's not ideal our possible 1st choice wingers are both injured. We did the usual pass the ball a lot and we sometimes just need something different to break teams down - we can't rely on Allan all the time to make things happen.

We didn't really need one tonight but a player who is good in air and can play defensive midfield is important too.

Berwick didn't create much but we looked little vulnerable at set pieces - corners - free kick and even a simple throw in where Fontaine was turned.

A decent work out and goals scored but my worry is relying on same players to win us games - we need to add just a little more and more to the bench..and hopefully our injuries clear up.

14-07-2015, 10:29 PM
Was an enjoyable enough game. Didn't think the boys got out of 1st gear but when they did add some tempo to the attacks always looked capable off scoring.

Scotty Allan looked very good as did Fyvie. Defence weren't overly troubled. On observation not that they were tested but id like to see a more natural right sided centre half in our team. I like Hanlon, but at times I feel he doesn't look comfortable but for the division we find ourselves in should be ok. Hopefully Forster is challenging for that spot.

Really disappointing for Danny handling. Started of in that deeper role that everyone has been debating about if he could play in. For me he keeps the ball very well and was linking defence and midfield and looks bigger physically. Looked a bad one, stretchered off.

Other worries were the Ox having ice strapped on his thigh and Scott Allan did point to his groin but as someone else mentioned, he was brought off because Berwick were down to 10 as well.

Crowd was just over 1000 I'd imagine 75% if not more were hibees, so good turnout!

Agree wth most of that.

Don't expect to see Handling back on the pitch any time soon, looked a bad one. Also, I didn't think he started in the 'holding' role as such. They seemed to just be alternating to me.

It was as if nothing has changed really. Allan still gives the ball away 4 times in a minute but then comes up with an absolutely unbelievable pass. Cummings still generally frustrates then pops up with his goal.

Thought Malonga showed some good touches. Fyvie will be a big player this year.

14-07-2015, 10:30 PM

Yes he would. We are currently short in that area and it's about giving players that are in the plans the right amount of minutes. The team he has in mind can't play all of all these friendliest at this stage.

The garbage as you call it about these players came straight from Stubbs.

14-07-2015, 10:34 PM
Yes he would. We are currently short in that area and it's about giving players that are in the plans the right amount of minutes. The team he has in mind can't play all of all these friendliest at this stage.

Exactly this.

OTJ started a number of pre season games last year. And Nelson started the first league games. Stubbs didn't want them though did he.

Tonight just underlines our need for midfielders. That's not negative or anything like that. Just realistic.

14-07-2015, 10:53 PM
Anyone know of the goals will be put online at any point?

15-07-2015, 09:18 AM
Stubbs' thoughts about last nights game.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLiBp67rieM

15-07-2015, 09:45 AM
linked interview above confirms that Allan was taken off as a precautionary measure because he felt a tightness in his calf..sounds as though it;s nothing to worry about..Danny H's injury sounds much worse though. Being scanned today.

15-07-2015, 11:32 AM

I'll type this one more time and then duck out as we just go tound in circles. Stubbs has not told the players to leave. He has clearly told them they cannot expect to be in the first 11 every week, so if they don't like that they can find other clubs. He also said if they want to stay and work hard to change that he would be happy. As for OTJ playing last seasons freindlies, Stubbs had no idea about the quality of the squad at that point.

steve75
15-07-2015, 02:08 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wECrmX_kG2I

15-07-2015, 02:16 PM
I'll type this one more time and then duck out as we just go tound in circles. Stubbs has not told the players to leave. He has clearly told them they cannot expect to be in the first 11 every week, so if they don't like that they can find other clubs. He also said if they want to stay and work hard to change that he would be happy. As for OTJ playing last seasons freindlies, Stubbs had no idea about the quality of the squad at that point.

It seems like years and years since OTJ played for us. I remember him in the friendly at Vale of Leithen. Weird to think that his playing career would be over so soon after but the number and quality of performances he put in for us should have given us a clue that there were problems.

So much has changed at Hibs in a short space of time. We should be very grateful.

15-07-2015, 02:21 PM

He has told them they CAN leave. Something you appeared to be suggesting was just the case with every player. Not true. Other players he wouldn't allow to leave. These ones he isn't bothered about keeping.

15-07-2015, 02:24 PM
It seems like years and years since OTJ played for us. I remember him in the friendly at Vale of Leithen. Weird to think that his playing career would be over so soon after but the number and quality of performances he put in for us should have given us a clue that there were problems.

So much has changed at Hibs in a short space of time. We should be very grateful.

Don't know about that. Players can and are getting injuries which was it turned out the issue was with him.

15-07-2015, 02:29 PM

When at the game last night I thought what a pass by Allan for 1st goal - seeing it again...he basically splits 5 players for Gray to finish. :top marks

15-07-2015, 02:30 PM
I didn't see Scott speaking to Stubbs but when he went off I thought it was to even the sides up too

He had a long conversation with Stubbs, smiled, and took a seat on the bench.
The game was in full flow on the shed side at the time.

Bearders
15-07-2015, 02:41 PM
Your view, but I disagree. Harris was involved throughout the entirety of his time on the pitch. Linked well with Gray and then Dunsmore and put in a few challenges. Not sure what else you expected of him?

Scott Allan was immense at times and young Martin played well but for me the best Hibs player on the pitch was Fyvie. Man of the Match goes to the Berwick goalie

Agree with those sentiments but would also add that Sam played really well when he came on for Danny. Pass completion percentage must have been very good and was unlucky not to score and then Harris with the rebound from keeper's initial save. On another day that could easily have been 5/6/7. Very early days yet and given that we have injuries to strikers, I'm hoping the low (IMO) ratio of goals scored to chances created does not prove an issue this season?

15-07-2015, 02:45 PM
Both Fyvie and Allan have now scored in pre-season matches. More of this please!

Hibstrooper
15-07-2015, 04:23 PM
I know it's only our first real pre-season game however our conversion rate from chances created to goals scored needs to improve from last season.

I'm confident it will, particularly with our strike force, however just something that I think needs a bit of focus if we are to improve on last season.

15-07-2015, 04:48 PM

That first is the best ball I've seen from Allan yet. How on earth he managed to pick out the man then execute that pass is beyond me.

15-07-2015, 04:52 PM
That first is the best ball I've seen from Allan yet. How on earth he managed to pick out the man then execute that pass is beyond me.

What. A. Ball.

15-07-2015, 04:54 PM

Was that a serious question? :-)

15-07-2015, 07:29 PM
When at the game last night I thought what a pass by Allan for 1st goal - seeing it again...he basically splits 5 players for Gray to finish. :top marks

This is the season for him to becoming a modern day icon for the club, sign a one year extention, give us some amazing football with a full pre-season under his belt, get us promoted and if he wants to, leave for a big money fee. Imagine the good will if he gets us promoted and has the decency to sign the extention to ensure we get a fee for him when a big club down south come in for him.

15-07-2015, 08:07 PM
Did anyone else at the game last night think we were more productive/dangerous after Stevenson went off? This isn't a criticism of anyone, I just thought we seemed a bit more fluent down that side.

PS Was it heart monitors that fell from under the players jerseys last night? Saw it happening with both Hanlon and Forster.

15-07-2015, 09:20 PM
What. A. Ball.

Agreed. Just utter class.

He's just better than anyone he plays with. Simple as. Pure class and a joy to watch.

KdyHby
16-07-2015, 12:50 PM
http://www.berwickrangers.com/berwick-0-3-hibernian-highlights/

patlowe
16-07-2015, 12:58 PM

The most gifted player we've had since Latapy IMO - let's hope he stays and stays fit all season. We could be in for a special season if so.

16-07-2015, 01:31 PM
Again a barrow load of chances created but still the conversion rate is pretty poor, some of the shooting and free kicks were woeful to say the least.

16-07-2015, 04:41 PM
http://www.berwickrangers.com/berwick-0-3-hibernian-highlights/

Good highlights

Created loads of chances

Scotty Allan looked excellent

16-07-2015, 04:48 PM
Allan's passing vision is absolutely tremendous and the best I have seen since Beuzelin by some distance.

ScottM1875
16-07-2015, 05:03 PM
Notice from the highlights that Allan seems to be trying a lot more shots on goal than usual, maybe something stubbs has been encouraging?

16-07-2015, 09:26 PM
Good highlights

Created loads of chances

Scotty Allan looked excellent

Some amount of chances there, we could have got double figures!

I think we were guilty of not capitalising on our chances last season, hopefully we take a higher percentage this season.