View Full Version : The Ashes

02-07-2015, 11:43 AM
Thoughts on this everyone?

I think Aus will win but got good odds on drawn series so stuck a small bet on it. Was at the cricket at Yorkshire the other day but don't have a ticket for the Ashes.

Off the bar
02-07-2015, 12:32 PM
Looking forward to it got 2nd day ticket for lords and a first day ticket for edgebaston. Aussies to win 2-1 or 3-1 depending on the weather!

02-07-2015, 03:22 PM
Im going to a couple of Scotland T20 WC Qualifiers next week, link posted on the Eng v NZ 1 day thread.

02-07-2015, 10:03 PM
2-1 England. Home advantage is huge

02-07-2015, 10:04 PM
England 2, Australia 3.

02-07-2015, 11:48 PM
England will lose. 3-1 at best.

03-07-2015, 12:52 AM
I am determined to revive my interest in cricket.

It's such a wonderful game but I stopped watching after the 2005 series because it ceased to be shown on terrestrial TV.

Well - I can get it now so Come On England! (KP ought to be playing though).

03-07-2015, 12:33 PM
1- 2 Aussies and 1 - 3 Aussies are my bets

Stonewall
03-07-2015, 09:35 PM
Im going to a couple of Scotland T20 WC Qualifiers next week, link posted on the Eng v NZ 1 day thread.

Going to try and get to the game on Thursday. Not working till 4.

03-07-2015, 10:47 PM
Tell me again why England are not playing KP.

I think a team should always incluse its best players - no?

07-07-2015, 08:11 PM
Tell me again why England are not playing KP.

I think a team should always incluse its best players - no?

Cos he's a bawbag and not welcome in the team!

07-07-2015, 10:58 PM
Knee operation today so its feet up resting watching the 1st test for me. Cannae wait!

08-07-2015, 11:22 AM
Terrible start to the series for England. Need Root Ballance and Stokes to score big

08-07-2015, 11:34 AM
Terrible start to the series for England. Need Root Ballance and Stokes to score big

Shocker. :rolleyes:

08-07-2015, 01:08 PM
103-3 now. Going ok.

08-07-2015, 02:01 PM
150 up. Root and Balance look OK. Hope that's not going to jinx it.

08-07-2015, 03:14 PM
Ballance out for 61, 196-4.

08-07-2015, 03:20 PM
Another ton for Root, what a player! :not worth

08-07-2015, 03:50 PM

Bell is a total disaster. He's supposed to be the senior man in a young side supporting his captain. Pathetic.

Root, Ballance and hopefully Stokes can steady the ship here. Root is a player I like a lot - real talent and character there. Ballance I'm not so sure about yet, though he shows a lot of promise. Stokes I like very much - big honest middle-order bat and a more than useful bowler. Gives it a fair whack, the boy.

Jos Buttler I like as well.

Off the bar
08-07-2015, 05:50 PM
343-7 at the close of play, honours about even I reckon.

08-07-2015, 07:51 PM
I would say 400 would be a good score from here?

We won't know until both teams have bat to be fair.

Stonewall
08-07-2015, 08:28 PM

Think you're right about 400 being a good score. The bounce looks surprisingly uneven and that will get worse as the game goes on so it was a good toss to win.

England's top order does look vulnerable, especially with Bell looking half the player he was 3 or 4 years ago. I really wonder if he's finished at this level. Shame if so as I have loved watching him bat.

08-07-2015, 08:52 PM
I doubt The Aussies will fancy batting last on that wicket.

08-07-2015, 08:56 PM

400 in the first innings of a test match is always a good score

08-07-2015, 09:08 PM

I reckon they'll be around 370. Fantastic considering the shambles at the beginning.

09-07-2015, 08:11 AM
Looking forward to another day with my foot up resting watching the test. Yesterday was excellent. Root was superb. The Aussie bowlers looked ok at times but also sprayed the ball about a bit. 400 in the first innings should mean that England at least don't lose the match. Big first hour today and hopefully Moeen can get some runs.

09-07-2015, 10:14 AM
400 in the first innings of a test match is always a good score

Especially from 3 down for 43.

Root, Stokes, Ballance, Buttler, Moeen all done very well. Depends how the tail plays, but 400 isn't out of the question, and that would pose serious questions to the Aussies. Anderson and Wood might like this pitch.

09-07-2015, 10:39 AM
7 for 384. Going well.

Moeen has his 50.

09-07-2015, 11:39 AM
430 all out.

09-07-2015, 11:40 AM
430 all out, great effort. Early wickets would be nice? :agree::greengrin

09-07-2015, 02:10 PM
430 all out, great effort. Early wickets would be nice? :agree::greengrin

England really need them, I think. If the Aussies get a start they could score big here. But if I were a betting man I think I'd be thinking of a draw.

Unless England suffer a second-innings collapse ....

Aussies are one down for 123 after 29 overs. Broad's going for 8 an over. Oh dear.

Poor pitch - not good enough for the Ashes.

145 for 2.

Warner gone for 17, Smith for 33. Rogers 74 n.o.

I take it back. This could get interesting if England get another couple of wickets fairly quickly.

185 for 3 - Rogers out for 95. Another wicket in the next hour and England will be thinking of a first innings lead.

204 for 4. This could be fun.

Voges gone for 31. 5 for 258 and the night-watchman's in.

264 for 5 at stumps.

09-07-2015, 11:17 PM
How many times did you update that post Doddie? ;-)

10-07-2015, 10:10 AM
Watson out for 30 lbw Broad 265-6

Off the bar
10-07-2015, 10:24 AM
Lyon gone! lbw to Wood 265-7 great start for England, especially with the new ball due soon.

10-07-2015, 11:08 AM
308-9 now.

10-07-2015, 11:18 AM
308 All Out

10-07-2015, 12:04 PM
Cook gone for 12 21-1 at lunch

10-07-2015, 12:19 PM
How many times did you update that post Doddie? ;-)

Half a dozen or so.

It's my naturally considerate and helpful nature, dontcha know? :greengrin

That was a very good bowling performance by England, especially bearing in mind the way the Australians started out. 308 all out from 180 for 2 is a major achievement. Two days and two sessions left, so they need to knuckle down and build themselves a decent lead I'd think 360-390 would be adequate.

Maybe if Mr Bell condescends to actually stay at the crease for more than 5 or 10 minutes this time? :devil:

10-07-2015, 01:08 PM
Terrible shot for Cook to play less than 10 mins before lunch.

10-07-2015, 01:34 PM
Terrible shot for Cook to play less than 10 mins before lunch.

I sometimes wonder what that boy has inside of his head. :agree:

11-07-2015, 08:51 AM
Nice and easy - even the T20 addicts will be able to work it out (duh! :greengrin).

Australia have 2 days to score 412 runs; England have two days to bowl them out.

http://treasure.diylol.com/uploads/post/image/901758/resized_evil-plotting-racoon.jpg

11-07-2015, 11:37 AM
Think Australia could do this!

11-07-2015, 11:40 AM
Think Australia could do this!
Almost 1/4 of the way there! England MUST win this test from here if they want to get the ashes back. Need a wicket before lunch. Smith and Warner could easily make a big partnership

11-07-2015, 11:46 AM
Yeah if England don't win this I can't see them winning the ashes. HUGE day for England

11-07-2015, 02:50 PM
Too easy for England will be over today 👍🏼

11-07-2015, 04:07 PM
Been a great days cricket. Watch the T20, ashes till lunch, down to the Arns to watch a bit of Clackmannan 2nd XI, in the nets with my son who has his first ever match tomorrow, back in time to watch England polish off Australia. Awesome!!

11-07-2015, 04:39 PM
Well, that was a comprehensive victory. England outplayed Australia throughout - except maybe the first hour when they went to 43 for 3 and looked in trouble.

One of the more pleasing things about it is the absence of prima donnas in the team - everyone seemed to be pulling for his mates - and the way the younger guys like Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali stepped up to the mark.

Well done to them. Winning by 169 runs - I don't think anyone expected that.

11-07-2015, 05:13 PM
I doubt The Aussies will fancy batting last on that wicket.

As I was saying. :-)

11-07-2015, 05:50 PM
As I was saying. :-)

You were right. They didn't.

And I have to say that Ian Bell had a good second innings with the bat and a couple of good catches to start the ball rolling.

He's been worse than a man short lately, but if he plays the rest of the series as he can play ...

Terrific match and a terrific performance from England.

Who's that guy Pietersen that someone mentioned earlier? :greengrin

11-07-2015, 05:58 PM
Will watch the highlights when I eventually get home, doubt I'll remember much about it. Tennis and golf only on the tellies in the boozers I've visited so far, hic!

12-07-2015, 04:41 PM
Good effort by England, roll on Thursday.

Stonewall
12-07-2015, 06:58 PM
Been a great days cricket. Watch the T20, ashes till lunch, down to the Arns to watch a bit of Clackmannan 2nd XI, in the nets with my son who has his first ever match tomorrow, back in time to watch England polish off Australia. Awesome!!

How did your son get on today?

14-07-2015, 08:12 PM
How did your son get on today?

They played in a round robin tournament and won. He took two wickets, two catches and scored a heap of runs. Won the first match 4 runs after he hit six from the last ball of the innings. More importantly though he had a ball and loved every minute of it.
They were playing at Stirling 2nd eleven pitch as Canada and Oman played on the other pitch in the world T20 match. Got to see some of it and met all the players afterwards and they were all great. Thanks for asking

14-07-2015, 09:37 PM
They played in a round robin tournament and won. He took two wickets, two catches and scored a heap of runs. Won the first match 4 runs after he hit six from the last ball of the innings. More importantly though he had a ball and loved every minute of it.
They were playing at Stirling 2nd eleven pitch as Canada and Oman played on the other pitch in the world T20 match. Got to see some of it and met all the players afterwards and they were all great. Thanks for asking

Cricket is a great game for kids. What age group is your laddie in?

Sent from a phone

14-07-2015, 10:21 PM
[QUOTE=Cropley10;4412839]Cricket is a great game for kids. What age group is your laddie in?

Under 11. He just started playing a few weeks ago but has wanted to for the last couple of years. I played from I was 12/13 and loved it. My son is really enthusiastic about it too now that he has started.

15-07-2015, 10:54 AM
[QUOTE=Cropley10;4412839]Cricket is a great game for kids. What age group is your laddie in?

Under 11. He just started playing a few weeks ago but has wanted to for the last couple of years. I played from I was 12/13 and loved it. My son is really enthusiastic about it too now that he has started.

All the best to him. Hope things go really well.

16-07-2015, 12:46 PM
Were back on. Good start for Aus. :agree:

16-07-2015, 02:27 PM
Just started watching, seems like a good toss to have won.

16-07-2015, 03:50 PM
Well this is going so well.

16-07-2015, 07:24 PM

Yep it is and I wish I had the chance to play when I was at school - however Cricket in East Edinburgh schools wasn't on the agenda in the 80's.....

My daughter got some lessons for a few weeks at her school last year and has a decent bowling action on her, but she's a walking wicket with a bat in her hand :greengrin

As for the test, another slow, flat road of a pitch. If the Aussies can rack up close to 600 then bowl well they have to hope England chuck it as they did in Cardiff.

16-07-2015, 07:50 PM
Yep it is and I wish I had the chance to play when I was at school - however Cricket in East Edinburgh schools wasn't on the agenda in the 80's.....

My daughter got some lessons for a few weeks at her school last year and has a decent bowling action on her, but she's a walking wicket with a bat in her hand :greengrin

As for the test, another slow, flat road of a pitch. If the Aussies can rack up close to 600 then bowl well they have to hope England chuck it as they did in Cardiff.

Wee59 loves it. He is in to his third season now and he just gets more and more obsessed with the game.
Did I spot you in the crowd at the Grange for the Afghanistan game? If it wasn't you then you've got a twin.

17-07-2015, 12:18 PM
England can't win from this position, if they bat defensively they could get a draw. The slow wicket isn't making this very exciting.

17-07-2015, 01:13 PM
England can't win from this position, if they bat defensively they could get a draw. The slow wicket isn't making this very exciting.

I'm struggling to maintain interest, could be down to attending a few t20 matches over the last couple of weeks I suppose. We'll know more about the wicket after England have batted too.

17-07-2015, 03:15 PM
Declared on 566, lyth out for a duck, 2nd ball.

17-07-2015, 03:25 PM

Sent from a phone

Sorry - I totally disagree & I'm out (please excuse the pun :wink:)

17-07-2015, 03:57 PM
England 29-3, oh dear! :rolleyes:

17-07-2015, 04:04 PM
Oh dear. Root goes for 1. 30-4.

17-07-2015, 04:17 PM
Holy ****. That batting is absolutely diabolical. Good bowling but terrible shots and technique

18-07-2015, 11:47 AM
The floodgates are about to open...

Stokes gone. Saturday afternoon collapse on the cards. :agree:

18-07-2015, 12:11 PM
The floodgates are about to open...

Stokes gone. Saturday afternoon collapse on the cards. :agree:

Maybe. Buttler, Moeen and Broad can all do OK with the bat.

Joe Root can be excused for this one failure, but there are a couple of other top-order men who need to take a long hard look at themselves. Bell's a walking disaster.

It's a long way to avoid the follow-on, though, and I'll very be surprised if Lyth and Cook aren't back at the wicket for the second innings before stumps.

18-07-2015, 03:37 PM
England all out for 312, Aussies don't enforce the follow on

18-07-2015, 03:50 PM
Would have been amazed if FO had been enforced. Need a super human effort from the bowlers to have any chance of saving this match

18-07-2015, 04:10 PM
Cricket commentators are the best in the world. Hilarious stuff from the boys.

18-07-2015, 04:20 PM
TMS or Sky? Not that it matters they are all excellent. Football commentators are very poor in comparison.

18-07-2015, 04:55 PM
TMS or Sky? Not that it matters they are all excellent. Football commentators are very poor in comparison.
I'm watching on sky. I agree, football commentators don't get close.

19-07-2015, 08:54 AM

Been like that as long as I can remember.

Brian Johnson, Henry Blofeld, Fred Truman, John Arlott, Jim Laker, Richie Benaud - the BBC's Test Match Special and TV coverage set the standard. It's like being privileged to listen in on a group of knowledgeable friends discussing the match over couple of bottles of good wine.

For them the game's always been more important than which team's winning, IMO. That, and the cakes listeners would send in to TMS, and the colours of the trains passing back and forth at Old Trafford or the buses behind the Kirkstall Lane end at Headingley. (I think I have that right)

And then there was the late and much-mourned Bearded Wonder, Bill Frindall ...

But the present bunch are shaping up very nicely.

PS - England look to be utterly sunk. London weather - 5% chance of rain today, tomorrow overcast but rain unlikely after early morning.

Oh dear. Overcast tends to make the ball swing?

19-07-2015, 02:11 PM
47-3. Might get to tomorrow lunch if they are lucky.

19-07-2015, 02:44 PM
47-3. Might get to tomorrow lunch if they are lucky.

You think? 5 down for 64 and their fate in the hands of Buttler and Root. They only need another 445 runs to win, mind. :no way:

How on earth did this lot draw with the Kiwis?

Blofeld (I think) on TMS said just now "The English batsmen are in a very bad place right now."

He was right - they're at the crease.

BAD BAD place for them to be.

19-07-2015, 03:00 PM
Hey, they haven't lost a wicket for about quarter of an hour!

Oh, right - it's the tea interval. :greengrin

19-07-2015, 03:04 PM
OOPS! Buttler gone. 6 down for no addition. 64 for 6.

Sorry. 68 for 7. Moeen's gone.:faf:

Mitchell Johnston now trying to kill Broad.

Broad reacting well - he's now England's top scorer on 15.

Root on to 17.

Broad gone for 25 - top score. 8 for 101.

Root gone. 9 fir 101.

All out for 103.

Aussies win by 405 runs.

England rolled over and gave up TBH.

19-07-2015, 05:17 PM
Great response to the 1st Test from the Aussies.

England's turn to look at selection - to be 1-1 after two Tests against Australia isn't a bad thing but there's seeds of doubt been sown around a number of players - Lyth and Bell obviously, but potentially Ballance as well, while with the ball there's got to be questions about Moeen and Wood.

Good to see Johnson getting back into form and I'm impressed with Hazlewood - he's quietly getting on with a very good job.

19-07-2015, 05:37 PM
Some pretty gutless batting from England, in particular Lyth, Bell, Ballance. Bell I think needs to be dropped as he just isnt doing it at all. Brilliant in the past but struggling badly now. Ballance has poor technique for test level, as does Lyth but at least he has scored a century this summer already

19-07-2015, 06:48 PM
1- 2 Aussies and 1 - 3 Aussies are my bets

Happier today. Engerland collapse was spectacular :greengrin

Stonewall
19-07-2015, 08:20 PM
Happier today. Engerland collapse was spectacular :greengrin

Ain't that the truth.

Hard to see England coming back at Edgbaston the way the Aussies did at Lords. Hope they do as it will make for a fantastic series.

19-07-2015, 08:25 PM
One in the eye for the triumphalists after Cardiff. As if the Aussies were finished!

19-07-2015, 08:33 PM
Ain't that the truth.

Hard to see England coming back at Edgbaston the way the Aussies did at Lords. Hope they do as it will make for a fantastic series.

No chance. England should have come out fighting to prove themselves in this series. This sort of defeat will break the spirit as I don't think the senior players can handle the pressure on them (especially Cook). It is also the sort of win that will spur on Australia, they have a will to win and the ashes is basically war to them.

4-1 Oz over all now. Cant see England coming back from that at all.

19-07-2015, 08:34 PM
One in the eye for the triumphalists after Cardiff. As if the Aussies were finished!

Triumphalists? The coverage of cricket is probably as fair as it gets. Who said the Aussies were finished?

19-07-2015, 08:36 PM
Ain't that the truth.

I think the mental scars of this defeat will be too much. Hope I'm wrong.

19-07-2015, 08:39 PM
I think the mental scars of this defeat will be too much. Hope I'm wrong.

You'd like to think it'll motivate them but I agree with you.

The boy Lyth should be dropped.

19-07-2015, 09:54 PM
You'd like to think it'll motivate them but I agree with you.

The boy Lyth should be dropped.

The SKY team did a piece about Lyth and Ballance. These guys keep getting out the same way over and over and over - Lyth gets done by line, Ballance by length. Both are talented young players in Test terms, but the batting coaches should have been working with them to prepare them much more effectively to deal with Johnson, Starc and Hazelwood - especially Johnson.

How many of those England batsmen were dismissed today playing deliveries that didn't need to be played? I would spend the next week working with Lyth and Ballance to sort out the faults that have crept into their game - actually, if I were either of them I'd take myself off back to my county and get a senior batsman I trust to work with me, reason being I'm not convinced that Mark Ramprakash is the best person to be preparing batsmen for an Ashes series. My memory of him is as a batsmen who promised great things and never ever delivered on the Test arena - he always looked good, but never seemed to get much beyond 40 before being sent back to the pavilion.

English cricket people always react to really fast bowlers the same way. They fail to coach their batsmen to play against them, and then when their batting order collapses as it did today, they start harrumphing about how it's "intimidation" and "not really cricket". They did it when Lillee and Thomson (and to a lesser extent Brett Lee and Graham Mackenzie and Merv Hughes and Glenn McGrath) came along; they did it when the Windies produced Roberts and Daniels and Holding and Croft and Garner and Marshall and Bishop and Walsh and Ambrose; they did it when Pakistan found Wasim and Waqar and Sarfraz and Shoaib. Actually there are English cricket writers who still whinge about each and all of the above-named great cricketers.

Johnson is in the long and honourable tradition of the "demon" fast bowler, going right back to Fred Spofforth who was the first bowler to take 50 Test wickets and the scourge of MCC batsmen around the turn of the 19th-20th centuries.

This you may find interesting:

Fred Spofforth - https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e5/Ranji_1897_page_143_F._R._Spofforth%2C_the_demon_b owler.jpg/220px-Ranji_1897_page_143_F._R._Spofforth%2C_the_demon_b owler.jpg

Dennis Lillee - http://images.mid-day.com/2012/sep/dennis-lillee.jpg

Merv Hughes - http://www.virginmedia.com/images/merv-hughes-insurance-431.jpg

Mitchell Johnson - http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02760/mitchell-johnson_g_2760514b.jpg

Notice anything?

20-07-2015, 06:37 AM
England can't continue to be 3 wickets down so early in an innings. There was a graphic I saw on sky showing how many times it's happened recently.

20-07-2015, 08:26 AM
England can't continue to be 3 wickets down so early in an innings. There was a graphic I saw on sky showing how many times it's happened recently.

Oh yes they can. But if they do, they'll get more hammerings like this one.

It looks to me as if every time Mitchell Johnson even looks like getting the ball in his hands, blind panic sets in.

Most of those dismissals yesterday were down to the batsman playing at deliveries that could quite safely have been left alone.

Buttler was a perfect case in point. First ball after tea, the ball nowhere near the stumps, and he goes fishing. Stupid.

And Ben Stokes. I've watched Ashes series since Ray Illingworth and Ian Chappell were the captains and I don't think I've ever seen such utter stupidity on the part of the batsman. If the commentator was right and he was scared of Johnson hitting him with the ball, he shouldn't be in the side. As Atherton (I think it as Atherton) was yelling, "Slide the bat, Ben! SLIDE THE BAT!" Two feet over the crease, bounding gracefully through the air, neither his feet nor his bat in contact with the ground. Stupid.

"The aim of English cricket is, in fact, mainly to beat Australia". Jim Laker.

20-07-2015, 12:42 PM
Oh yes they can. But if they do, they'll get more hammerings like this one.

It looks to me as if every time Mitchell Johnson even looks like getting the ball in his hands, blind panic sets in.

Most of those dismissals yesterday were down to the batsman playing at deliveries that could quite safely have been left alone.

Buttler was a perfect case in point. First ball after tea, the ball nowhere near the stumps, and he goes fishing. Stupid.

And Ben Stokes. I've watched Ashes series since Ray Illingworth and Ian Chappell were the captains and I don't think I've ever seen such utter stupidity on the part of the batsman. If the commentator was right and he was scared of Johnson hitting him with the ball, he shouldn't be in the side. As Atherton (I think it as Atherton) was yelling, "Slide the bat, Ben! SLIDE THE BAT!" Two feet over the crease, bounding gracefully through the air, neither his feet nor his bat in contact with the ground. Stupid.

"The aim of English cricket is, in fact, mainly to beat Australia". Jim Laker.
Its not just against Australia though, it's happened in each of the last 3 series.
Ben Stokes dismissal was bizarre , I've never seen that happen before. It looked like England chucked it tbh.

20-07-2015, 02:42 PM
Its not just against Australia though, it's happened in each of the last 3 series.
Ben Stokes dismissal was bizarre , I've never seen that happen before. It looked like England chucked it tbh.

Yup. It certainly looked like it. Right now I can't see where they go from where they are - I was wondering last night just exactly what guys like Atherton, Hussein and Boycott would have said if they'd told us what they were really thinking ...

They're a young side with a great deal of potential, but there's a lack of senior players with the character and experience to mentor the younger guys in pressure situations like an Ashes Test against a wounded and determined Aussie team like that one.

Cook is a good batsman and (I think) has the capability to captain the side well, but it does seem to me that he's getting little support from the older guys, Bell, Broad and Anderson. Not that Broad and Anderson are exactly in a position to sit down with Lyth or Ballance about their problems in the top order.

Bell hasn't been pulling his weight for a long time now and 14 runs in a total of 81 minutes at the crease in this match doesn't suggest anything's likely to change soon. Who they replace him with is another question, of course, but I can't help feeling that promoting Root to #3 and bringing in Jonny Bairstow lower down might be a positive option - though not one that seems entirely fair to Bairstow.

I also can't help feeling that there are too many 'old lags' from previous administrations still hanging about the team for anyone's good.

A bit like a committee of Mr Petrie's.

Stonewall
20-07-2015, 07:48 PM
Yup. It certainly looked like it. Right now I can't see where they go from where they are - I was wondering last night just exactly what guys like Atherton, Hussein and Boycott would have said if they'd told us what they were really thinking ...

They're a young side with a great deal of potential, but there's a lack of senior players with the character and experience to mentor the younger guys in pressure situations like an Ashes Test against a wounded and determined Aussie team like that one.

Cook is a good batsman and (I think) has the capability to captain the side well, but it does seem to me that he's getting little support from the older guys, Bell, Broad and Anderson. Not that Broad and Anderson are exactly in a position to sit down with Lyth or Ballance about their problems in the top order.

Bell hasn't been pulling his weight for a long time now and 14 runs in a total of 81 minutes at the crease in this match doesn't suggest anything's likely to change soon. Who they replace him with is another question, of course, but I can't help feeling that promoting Root to #3 and bringing in Jonny Bairstow lower down might be a positive option - though not one that seems entirely fair to Bairstow.

I also can't help feeling that there are too many 'old lags' from previous administrations still hanging about the team for anyone's good.

A bit like a committee of Mr Petrie's.

I would agree with you, however you would hope that by the time a player gets to test level their technical faults would have been ironed out and no more than a bit of fine tuning should be required.

Ballance's technique looked very suspect even when scoring runs previously and has unravelled under the pressure exerted by the Aussies.

20-07-2015, 11:26 PM
I would agree with you, however you would hope that by the time a player gets to test level their technical faults would have been ironed out and no more than a bit of fine tuning should be required.

Ballance's technique looked very suspect even when scoring runs previously and has unravelled under the pressure exerted by the Aussies.

Yup. I think that's a very sound assessment of what's been happening with him.

We'll just have to wait and see what happens at Edgebaston - maybe they'll swing back and find a bit of form again.

Or then again, maybe not.

21-07-2015, 04:12 PM
Ballance out, Bairstow in.

Bell now 3, Root at 4 and Bairstow at 5.

23-07-2015, 02:15 PM
Ballance out, Bairstow in.

Bell now 3, Root at 4 and Bairstow at 5.

Is that confirmed as he doesn't want to bat #3?

29-07-2015, 10:59 AM
Aussies 34-3, great bowling display by Finn, Broad and Anderson so far.

29-07-2015, 01:14 PM
77-4 now.

29-07-2015, 01:22 PM
82-5 Anderson flying!

29-07-2015, 01:32 PM
85-6 Anderson again

29-07-2015, 01:46 PM
94-7

29-07-2015, 02:18 PM
Right, I'm going to sit down in front of the TV to try and understand the intricacies of this game.

Never been a cricket fan but it's obviously popular in some quarters so I'll give it another go. Now then , what do you call they stick things?

29-07-2015, 02:26 PM
110-8

29-07-2015, 02:34 PM
119-9

29-07-2015, 02:50 PM
136 All Out

29-07-2015, 02:53 PM
The Aussie bowlers are going to love this pitch as well. Time for the England openers to produce a performance.

29-07-2015, 04:29 PM
I'm in France and surprisingly the ashes is not easy to get on TV here. Please can the educated chaps amongst us keep the cricket updates coming. Thanks

29-07-2015, 04:36 PM
England 76-2

29-07-2015, 06:37 PM
That's it then. England are gonna win the series now.

Off the bar
29-07-2015, 09:07 PM
On the train back to London, probably the best days cricket I've been to, great atmosphere lots of bevvy. Big group of Aussies behind us who got quieter and quieter as the afternoon wore on! Would definitely recommend a day at a test match to anyone who's not been.

29-07-2015, 09:43 PM
On the train back to London, probably the best days cricket I've been to, great atmosphere lots of bevvy. Big group of Aussies behind us who got quieter and quieter as the afternoon wore on! Would definitely recommend a day at a test match to anyone who's not been.

The crowd sounded great on radio and TV.

30-07-2015, 10:06 AM
Bairstow bounced out, 142-4

30-07-2015, 10:09 AM
142-5, Johnson flying now.

30-07-2015, 10:09 AM
Cave in on the cards.

30-07-2015, 10:11 AM
What a start to the day.

30-07-2015, 10:57 AM
Root gone for 63, 182-6.

30-07-2015, 10:59 AM
Root out for 63 182-6

30-07-2015, 11:22 AM
Lyon does it again! 190-7

30-07-2015, 11:24 AM
Lyon does it again! 190-7

Aussies 5/4 still. Worth a punt.

derekHFC
30-07-2015, 11:42 AM

If they can get a lead of 100+ going into England's batting, I'd fancy them.

30-07-2015, 01:17 PM
8th wicket down, England lead by 142.

30-07-2015, 01:21 PM
Ali out for 59, same lead applies.

30-07-2015, 01:26 PM
Skittled for 281.

30-07-2015, 01:27 PM
Anderson gone, 281 All Out. The England bowlers will still fancy bowling on this wicket.

30-07-2015, 01:45 PM
Anderson gone, 281 All Out. The England bowlers will still fancy bowling on this wicket.

Aussies started well.

30-07-2015, 01:49 PM
Aussies 1st wicket down. Rogers gone.

30-07-2015, 01:52 PM
Aussies 1st wicket down. Rogers took too long to challenge, replay will be fun.

Took some time deciding whether to appeal!

30-07-2015, 01:56 PM
Took some time deciding whether to appeal!

Once the umpire has given the batsman out it has to have been a very bad decision to be overturned, although it does happen I suppose. He did take a ridiculous length of time to decide to review though.

30-07-2015, 02:19 PM
Warner on fire.

30-07-2015, 02:31 PM
Smith gone for 8, 62-2

30-07-2015, 03:10 PM
Clarke gone for 3, 76-3

30-07-2015, 03:13 PM
Voges out first ball, 76-4

Off the bar
30-07-2015, 03:51 PM
92-5 Finn running through the Aussies now

30-07-2015, 04:13 PM
Warner gone, might be finished tonight now, 111-6

30-07-2015, 05:26 PM
Johnson gone, 153-7, 5 wkts for Finn. Aussies lead by 8 runs.

31-07-2015, 05:04 PM

Be honest now. ;-)

31-07-2015, 07:27 PM
With Anderson out of the 4th test and maybe the 5th.. What odds can u get on Australia winning 3-2?

31-07-2015, 07:34 PM
Be honest now. ;-)

I never.

While I enjoy watching it and keeping track of it, I have no real expertise on it and such statements back that up! :greengrin

31-07-2015, 08:10 PM
With Anderson out of the 4th test and maybe the 5th.. What odds can u get on Australia winning 3-2?
100/30 with bet 365

01-08-2015, 03:50 AM
Is my draw still on? :-)

01-08-2015, 08:59 AM
I have to say the quality of batting is poor. This is from someone who stopped watching cricket ten years ago after terrestrial TV lost their contract to put it on. The only players I'm familiar with are Anderson, Bell, Clarke and Haddin. So I'm coming to it fresh as it were.

It's getting to the stage where you'd be mad to buy a ticket for the 5th day of a test. I blame the dominance of the one-day/20/20 stuff and subsequent lack of concentration and patience at the crease.

It's entertainment but is it cricket?

01-08-2015, 05:33 PM
I have to say the quality of batting is poor. This is from someone who stopped watching cricket ten years ago after terrestrial TV lost their contract to put it on. The only players I'm familiar with are Anderson, Bell, Clarke and Haddin. So I'm coming to it fresh as it were.

It's getting to the stage where you'd be mad to buy a ticket for the 5th day of a test. I blame the dominance of the one-day/20/20 stuff and subsequent lack of concentration and patience at the crease.

It's entertainment but is it cricket?

Absolutely not, old chap.

What Holding, Marshall, Garner and Croft would have done to these batsmen doesn't bear thinking about. Or Ambrose and Walsh. Or Lillee and Thommo or Warnie.

And I would have loved to see the Chappell brothers, Gordon Greenidge, IVA Richards, Botham or Hadlee getting stuck into the bowling. Even Gooch, Gower, and Atherton ...

It's significant, I think, that the best bowlers on show are mostly in their 30's, and the batting, as you say, lacks composure and concentration. How many batsmen have got themselves out in this series playing at deliveries a novice would have known to leave well alone?

01-08-2015, 08:24 PM
Absolutely not, old chap.

What Holding, Marshall, Garner and Croft would have done to these batsmen doesn't bear thinking about. Or Ambrose and Walsh. Or Lillee and Thommo or Warnie.

And I would have loved to see the Chappell brothers, Gordon Greenidge, IVA Richards, Botham or Hadlee getting stuck into the bowling. Even Gooch, Gower, and Atherton ...

It's significant, I think, that the best bowlers on show are mostly in their 30's, and the batting, as you say, lacks composure and concentration. How many batsmen have got themselves out in this series playing at deliveries a novice would have known to leave well alone?
I think it's just the way the game is evolving. Cook was looked at being one of the best batsman in the world less than 2 years ago. Today he's struggling to keep up and his best shot is the leave. For better or worse the game has moved on from a 5 day war of attrition to a game that is more tailored for a TV audience.

02-08-2015, 09:18 AM
I think it's just the way the game is evolving. Cook was looked at being one of the best batsman in the world less than 2 years ago. Today he's struggling to keep up and his best shot is the leave. For better or worse the game has moved on from a 5 day war of attrition to a game that is more tailored for a TV audience.

It's evolution right enough. So be it. I must admit it could be a trial sitting watching Boycott or Graveney grinding out an innings back in the sixties.

The crowd was better behaved then though. No football chants or - god forbid - patriotic music over the tannoy. We were allowed on the pitch at lunch to look at the wicket close up. Kids could play scratch games in the outfield. Happy days.

04-08-2015, 12:56 PM
It's evolution right enough. So be it. I must admit it could be a trial sitting watching Boycott or Graveney grinding out an innings back in the sixties.

The crowd was better behaved then though. No football chants or - god forbid - patriotic music over the tannoy. We were allowed on the pitch at lunch to look at the wicket close up. Kids could play scratch games in the outfield. Happy days.

On the other hand I don't see innings nowadays like the innings people like Greenidge or Richards or the Chappell brothers or Zaheer played back then.

The quality of the batting in this series has been diabolical, and I don't enjoy watching the sort of match we saw at Edgbaston where the bowlers hardly had to think about what they're doing and the batsmen were lining up like lemmings to commit suicide.

And while I don't mind a good ODI or 50-over Cup match between county sides, T20 isn't anything other than hit and hope a lot of the time.

Can't stand it, can't watch it.

04-08-2015, 10:50 PM
On the other hand I don't see innings nowadays like the innings people like Greenidge or Richards or the Chappell brothers or Zaheer played back then.

The quality of the batting in this series has been diabolical, and I don't enjoy watching the sort of match we saw at Edgbaston where the bowlers hardly had to think about what they're doing and the batsmen were lining up like lemmings to commit suicide.

And while I don't mind a good ODI or 50-over Cup match between county sides, T20 isn't anything other than hit and hope a lot of the time.

Can't stand it, can't watch it.

Not a huge fan like some of you guys but I prefer the test matches as well - the shortened version is just a simplistic version of the game for those with no attention span.

I liken t20 to rugby sevens - lots of runs/tries don't make it more exciting for me.

06-08-2015, 10:04 AM
Cook wins the toss @ Trent Bridge and decides to have a bowl. Good luck Mark Wood, big shoes to fill.

06-08-2015, 10:07 AM
Rogers gone for a duck in the first over.

06-08-2015, 10:11 AM
2nd wicket for Broad in the 1st over, Smith gone, 10-2

06-08-2015, 10:13 AM
Warner gone, 10-3

06-08-2015, 10:16 AM
Class start by England.

06-08-2015, 10:21 AM
15-4. 3 ducks so far.

06-08-2015, 10:29 AM
21-5, a quite fantastic catch from Stokes.

06-08-2015, 10:33 AM
This is absolutely mental.

06-08-2015, 10:33 AM
Broad is 4-6

06-08-2015, 10:37 AM
Clarke onto 10. The Aus player to reach double figures :-)

06-08-2015, 10:40 AM
Broad now has 5 for 6. 29-6.

Clarke now out 29-6.

Broad is now 5-6. Wow.

29-6 broad now 5-7
sorry 5-6

06-08-2015, 10:54 AM
33-7

06-08-2015, 10:55 AM
33-7 Finn this time

06-08-2015, 10:56 AM
What's the lowest total ever?

06-08-2015, 10:58 AM
Well, that was a mad first 10 overs!

06-08-2015, 11:01 AM
What's the lowest total ever?

NZ 26 v England

06-08-2015, 11:03 AM
NZ 26 v England
What about the lowest score in ashes history?

Off the bar
06-08-2015, 11:05 AM

I was wondering that, surprised they've not mentioned it on the radio yet!

Amazing mornings cricket! I was going to go to the gym, but decided to catch up on some emails etc and head out later very glad I did!

06-08-2015, 11:08 AM
What the **** is going on?!

06-08-2015, 11:12 AM

I was wondering that, surprised they've not mentioned it on the radio yet!

Amazing mornings cricket! I was going to go to the gym, but decided to catch up on some emails etc and head out later very glad I did!

The were all-out for 36 in 1902 at Edgbaston.

06-08-2015, 11:12 AM
Broad takes another one, 46-8

06-08-2015, 11:14 AM
47-9.

Broad 7 for 11.

06-08-2015, 11:15 AM
And another one from Broad 47-9

06-08-2015, 11:16 AM
Who needs Jimmy Anderson? :-)

this is a warm up surely?

My bet is screwed now I would think. Ha.

The were all-out for 36 in 1902 at Edgbaston.
It was a good year that one :greengrin

06-08-2015, 11:20 AM
Australia's leading scorer is 'Extras' with 13 :rolleyes:

06-08-2015, 11:39 AM
60 All Out, Broad 8-15

06-08-2015, 11:42 AM
'Extras' high scorer with 14 :faf:

06-08-2015, 11:44 AM
Will they still take lunch at 1pm?

06-08-2015, 11:49 AM
Get your Australian batsman name by simply adding 'b Broad' to your surname.

derekHFC
06-08-2015, 11:57 AM
Not that they have, but a question that was put to me.

Could England have declared without striking a blow and put the Aussie's back in to bat for their 2nd innings?

liamh2202
06-08-2015, 12:53 PM

Could England have declared without striking a blow and put the Aussie's back in to bat for their 2nd innings?

I have never been a follower of cricket but a quick question if I may. What is the benefit of declaring? Is it something to do with a time limit of the game ?

06-08-2015, 01:00 PM

AFAIK they could forfeit their first innings as opposed to declaring.

06-08-2015, 01:01 PM
It's a bit of a joke really. The test will be over by tomorrow night!

06-08-2015, 01:08 PM
I have never been a follower of cricket but a quick question if I may. What is the benefit of declaring? Is it something to do with a time limit of the game ?

Aye, thats basically it. If adverse weather has been involved that can influence it too.

06-08-2015, 01:30 PM
34-2, Lyth & Bell out.

06-08-2015, 02:32 PM
England lead by 36.

06-08-2015, 03:01 PM
Cook gone whilst I was dropping the kids off at the pool! ;-)

06-08-2015, 03:52 PM
England 100 runs ahead.

06-08-2015, 04:46 PM

To win a match you have to bowl a side out twice. Declaring is essentially a calculation that you have enough time to take the necessary wickets and enough runs in the bank not to be overtaken (especially if declaring in your second innings).

It's usually done nowadays from a position of advantage but you might see a declaration going into the fourth innings that sets a reachable target in an attempt to get the opponent to go for the victory (and hence be more adventurous and therefore more likely to concede wickets).

06-08-2015, 04:52 PM
I wandered into my living room shortly after play had started and turned my TV on from the other side of the room. It was on mute and I didn't have my lenses in so it was a bit of a squint, but I could make out Clarke's name on the screen at bat.

I thought to myself "Go on son, you've been under criticism for your performance so you've decided to be bold and convinced the selectors you should lead from the front and open the batting in this critical match. It's unorthodox but at this stage in the series it's maybe worth that massive gamble".

Trudged back out to put my lenses in and came back through to see in actual fact they were already three wickets down :greengrin

06-08-2015, 04:54 PM
Another ton for Root, great player.

06-08-2015, 05:38 PM
Bairstow out for 74, 274-4 at close of play.

06-08-2015, 06:35 PM
Australia are in a right mess like

06-08-2015, 06:35 PM
This is becoming really silly.

The Australians DO realise that they're playing for the Ashes, don't they?

Cook said that the decision to put the Australians in wasn't 'straightforward' - he must be awfully glad he did.

That last time I saw an Australian side blown away like that was in the fourth innings at Headingley in 1981 - Bob Willis 8 for 43 off 15.1 - the Australians all out for 111, which must be the most significant Lord Nelson in Ashes history.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZzWcfg4_sc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImvkgSVfhSk

They'll never take the mickey out of Stuart Broad again.

06-08-2015, 07:29 PM
I very much doubt England wil need a 2nd innings

06-08-2015, 08:15 PM
I very much doubt England wil need a 2nd innings

Can't see it unless there's an England bitting collapse tomorrow which is to say the least unlikely. Even then the Australians would have to find an awful lot to force a fourth innings.

Just watched the highlights and I have to say I haven't seen an England bowler bowl as well as Broad did today. The Australians didn't bat well, but Broad was just magnificent. The conditions were in his favour, but he was absolutely spot on. I don't think he bowled a bad ball.

Only one England bowler's bettered that performance - Jim Laker at Old Trafford twice in the same match - 9 for 37 in the first Australian innings, and then 10 for 53 in the second.

06-08-2015, 08:50 PM
Can't see it unless there's an England bitting collapse tomorrow which is to say the least unlikely. Even then the Australians would have to find an awful lot to force a fourth innings.

Just watched the highlights and I have to say I haven't seen an England bowler bowl as well as Broad did today. The Australians didn't bat well, but Broad was just magnificent. The conditions were in his favour, but he was absolutely spot on. I don't think he bowled a bad ball.

Only one England bowler's bettered that performance - Jim Laker at Old Trafford twice in the same match - 9 for 37 in the first Australian innings, and then 10 for 53 in the second.
They mentioned Jim Lakers record in the commentary, has anyone ever taken all 20 wickets?

06-08-2015, 09:25 PM
They mentioned Jim Lakers record in the commentary, has anyone ever taken all 20 wickets?

Don't think so - certainly not in Test matches.

Thinking about the Headingley Test of 1981 and Bob Willis blowing the Aussies away in the fourth innings - Australia were all out for 111 - a highly significant Lord Nelson.

Well, Australia were bowled out in 18.3 overs today - and 18.3 overs comprise 111 deliveries. Nelson strikes again.

Creepy! :devil:

06-08-2015, 09:29 PM

Not at Test level and it's almost impossible to imagine anyone ever would.

Honourable mentions go to Anil Kumble, an Indian spinner who took all ten wickets against Pakistan in their second innings in a game. Kumble was a lovely bowler - didn't necessarily spin it much but was deadly accurate and must have won so many games for India.

Also Bob Massie - slightly before my time but he took eight in both innings in an Ashes Test on debut at Lord's, with Lillee taking the other wickets meaning that only two bowlers took all twenty. Despite such a ridiculously impressive start I think he only played a handful of Tests. Competition for places would have been fierce I imagine, with Lillee and Thomson as nailed-on starters and a few good other pace bowlers in the mix.

06-08-2015, 09:32 PM
I'm sure they mentioned that it was the lowest amount of deliveries in which a nation has lost all ten wickets in test match history.

Hank Schrader
06-08-2015, 11:15 PM
Not at Test level and it's almost impossible to imagine anyone ever would.

Honourable mentions go to Anil Kumble, an Indian spinner who took all ten wickets against Pakistan in their second innings in a game. Kumble was a lovely bowler - didn't necessarily spin it much but was deadly accurate and must have won so many games for India.

Also Bob Massie - slightly before my time but he took eight in both innings in an Ashes Test on debut at Lord's, with Lillee taking the other wickets meaning that only two bowlers took all twenty. Despite such a ridiculously impressive start I think he only played a handful of Tests. Competition for places would have been fierce I imagine, with Lillee and Thomson as nailed-on starters and a few good other pace bowlers in the mix.

Kumble was a wonderful bowler to watch. Even though he was technically a leg spinner he looked more like a very accurate medium pacer. Possessed a wonderful wrong un.

07-08-2015, 12:21 AM
Bishan Bedi was another lovely bowler to watch. He had a very relaxed, economical action which meant he literally could bowl all day.

266 wickets at 28.7 in Tests.

And Lance Gibbs (WI). 309 at just over 29. Another class act.

Neither of them came anywhere near taking all 20 wickets, though, but then neither did Shane Warne.

708 at 25.41. :not worth

Or Murali, who was the best of them all. 800 Test wickets at 22.72 - :not worth:not worth:not worth

07-08-2015, 12:51 AM
I'm sure they mentioned that it was the lowest amount of deliveries in which a nation has lost all ten wickets in test match history.
It was just on the news saying that. 111 balls was all it took to bowl them out.

07-08-2015, 12:59 AM
Bishan Bedi was another lovely bowler to watch. He had a very relaxed, economical action which meant he literally could bowl all day.

266 wickets at 28.7 in Tests.

And Lance Gibbs (WI). 309 at just over 29. Another class act.

Neither of them came anywhere near taking all 20 wickets, though, but then neither did Shane Warne.

708 at 25.41. :not worth

Or Murali, who was the best of them all. 800 Test wickets at 22.72 - :not worth:not worth:not worth

I would love to have watched Bedi or Gibbs.

Much envy :greengrin

It's probably fair to acknowledge those guys played in an era where they didn't get anywhere near as many Tests as Murali or Warney. It's scary to think what they would have done within a modern schedule.

Then again, modern players achieving those records still have to do it successfully, year in, year out, for a very long time to make those records. They've earned it IMO.

Since we seem to have shifted towards talking about spinners, I would add Saqlain to the mix. Warne reinvented and re-established spin but Saqlain caught my imagination, and no doubt many others, with his style and with the doosra.

07-08-2015, 07:29 AM

It's probably fair to acknowledge those guys played in an era where they didn't get anywhere near as many Tests as Murali or Warney. It's scary to think what they would have done within a modern schedule.

Since we seem to have shifted towards talking about spinners, I would add Saqlain to the mix. Warne reinvented and re-established spin but Saqlain caught my imagination, and no doubt many others, with his style and with the doosra.

You've got to wonder how many more wickets these guys would have if Hawk-eye was available in their day. The "Umpire's call" gives umpires much more scope to give batsmen out that would never have been given out before the technology was available. Mr Warne sounds particularly frustrated when he talks about it.

07-08-2015, 10:24 AM
Root out for 130, 297-5.

07-08-2015, 10:34 AM
Wood the nightwatchman goes for 28, did his job.
306-6.

07-08-2015, 10:45 AM
320-7 Buttler gone, Starc takes his 6th wicket, looks like the England players have been told to go out and score quick runs, although Stark is flying.

07-08-2015, 10:52 AM
Stokes gone now, 332-8

07-08-2015, 10:58 AM
I would imagine Broad is bout to get the treatment

07-08-2015, 11:31 AM
Great catch there by Smith, 390-9.

07-08-2015, 11:46 AM
England have declared on 391-9

07-08-2015, 01:57 PM
You've got to wonder how many more wickets these guys would have if Hawk-eye was available in their day. The "Umpire's call" gives umpires much more scope to give batsmen out that would never have been given out before the technology was available. Mr Warne sounds particularly frustrated when he talks about it.

Good point :agree:

liamh2202
07-08-2015, 02:00 PM
As I said earlier nor usually a fan of cricket but enjoying watching a fair bit of this one. Is it still possible if Australia can have a long innings that they force a draw from this match.? How long is there left in the game ?

DarrenSQH
07-08-2015, 02:15 PM
As I said earlier nor usually a fan of cricket but enjoying watching a fair bit of this one. Is it still possible if Australia can have a long innings that they force a draw from this match.? How long is there left in the game ?

3 and a bit days left. no chance of batting that out really.

They need to aim 500+ and hope england fall apart.

07-08-2015, 03:51 PM

You can never quite say that a team has lost a Test until they've actually lost it.

I can think of matches which looked as if they were all over until one or two players suddenly found their form and turned the game around and brought about an a totally unexpected result - the 'Botham Test' at Headingley that I'm always going on about is probably the best-known example, and there have been a number of quite spectacular fight-backs in Ashes matches, but I really can't see anything but utter defeat and humiliation for the Australians here.

They'd need to score substantially over 550 to have the faintest chance of making a contest of it. Just can't see it.

BTW - Starc's figures? 6-111? What a naughty Admiral! :greengrin

PS - it's possible. Geoff Boycott once batted for 573 minutes - that's nine and a half hours - for 246 not out against India but that wasn't to save the match; it was just Boycott being bloody Boycott.

Mike Atherton batted for 10 hours and 43 minutes for 185 not out to force a draw against South Africa in Johannesburg in 1995, which was a superb performance and one of the great Test innings of all time.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2009/dec/06/michael-atherton-johannesburg-185-1995

But these Aussies don't have the guts or the testicles to do anything like that.

07-08-2015, 04:11 PM
5 down for 187. Clarke c Bell b Wood 13.

England could take an extra half-hour if they get a few more.

07-08-2015, 04:11 PM
Aus 178-5

Trail by 153. Could be over tonight

07-08-2015, 05:22 PM
You can never quite say that a team has lost a Test until they've actually lost it.

I can think of matches which looked as if they were all over until one or two players suddenly found their form and turned the game around and brought about an a totally unexpected result - the 'Botham Test' at Headingley that I'm always going on about is probably the best-known example, and there have been a number of quite spectacular fight-backs in Ashes matches, but I really can't see anything but utter defeat and humiliation for the Australians here.

They'd need to score substantially over 550 to have the faintest chance of making a contest of it. Just can't see it.

BTW - Starc's figures? 6-111? What a naughty Admiral! :greengrin

PS - it's possible. Geoff Boycott once batted for 573 minutes - that's nine and a half hours - for 246 not out against India but that wasn't to save the match; it was just Boycott being bloody Boycott.

Mike Atherton batted for 10 hours and 43 minutes for 185 not out to force a draw against South Africa in Johannesburg in 1995, which was a superb performance and one of the great Test innings of all time.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2009/dec/06/michael-atherton-johannesburg-185-1995

But these Aussies don't have the guts or the testicles to do anything like that.

That was a fine innings :agree:.

As for this series, I don't want to diminish what the England players have done. Root and Broad have had fine performances and I say that even though I find them both equally unlikable for some reason :greengrin

England do seem to have finally got to grips with ensuring their pitches suit their bowlers though. Apart from Lord's we've had surfaces that suited them to a tee. This is something the Australians have done for a long time - how many times have their opponents started at Brisbane and been rolled over by the pace attack bowling on a tailored wicket?

I read an article where someone suggested England should start Ashes series at Edgbaston as it is probably the happiest Ashes hunting ground for them over the last few decades. They've had success at the Oval but so often it was in the 5th Test of a series that Australia had already won. Saying that, victory in this Test means three on the bounce at Trent Bridge I think.

I suppose it's more complicated in England, in that they have to rotate matches around more grounds whereas in Aus the five venues really pick themselves.

07-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Reckon they called that because they want another day of boozing at the ground! :greengrin

07-08-2015, 07:33 PM
Reckon they called that because they want another day of boozing at the ground! :greengrin
They better hit the doubles early as I can't see it making it past lunch :greengrin

07-08-2015, 08:47 PM
They better hit the doubles early as I can't see it making it past lunch :greengrin

Surprised my local colonial made an appearance in the boozer tonight. :greengrin

07-08-2015, 11:54 PM
Never saw any SKY coverage after lunch, I can only imagine Beefy was less than complimentary about the over-stepping.

08-08-2015, 08:43 AM
Michael Clarke has played like a man who knows his time is up. I think he might retire at the end of the series.

08-08-2015, 11:15 AM
All over with an innings to spare.

Clarke to retire after the next test.

08-08-2015, 12:33 PM
That was a fine innings :agree:.

As for this series, I don't want to diminish what the England players have done. Root and Broad have had fine performances and I say that even though I find them both equally unlikable for some reason :greengrin

England do seem to have finally got to grips with ensuring their pitches suit their bowlers though. Apart from Lord's we've had surfaces that suited them to a tee. This is something the Australians have done for a long time - how many times have their opponents started at Brisbane and been rolled over by the pace attack bowling on a tailored wicket?

I read an article where someone suggested England should start Ashes series at Edgbaston as it is probably the happiest Ashes hunting ground for them over the last few decades. They've had success at the Oval but so often it was in the 5th Test of a series that Australia had already won. Saying that, victory in this Test means three on the bounce at Trent Bridge I think.

I suppose it's more complicated in England, in that they have to rotate matches around more grounds whereas in Aus the five venues really pick themselves.

Oh yes. Australia have been so abject it's easy to underestimate the quality and determination of the England team, but I'd have to say England have played exceptionally well and have matured and grown as a team through this series.

Cook seems to have found himself as captain once again. Getting his touch back with the bat as well.

Bell's started contributing again - some very good fielding and his dismissal in this match was unlucky, I thought. On another day with another umpire he'd have been not out.

I'm still not convinced by Adam Lyth, but there's enough there to suggest he'll come good if he's given time. New opening batsmen need time to settle. Remember Graham Gooch?

And after all, Ben Stokes didn't exactly look impressive in the last Ashes series, and look at him now.

Buttler, Moeen and Wood all look good prospects. Great to see Finn back in the side and taking wickets - once Jimmy Anderson's back there'll be a bit of a selection problem in the lower order. Broad bowled magnificently throughout, too.

Joe Root is already very good, but I think he's going to be VERY VERY VERY good VERY VERY VERY soon. A genuine Test batsman who can dig in when necessary, and smack it all over the pitch when he gets a chance.

Ben Stokes is another really tasty prospect - his bowling last night was awesome, he fielded so well, and his batting ...

Nearly forgot Jonny Bairstow. Maybe not as technically gifted as JR, but a good gutsy batsman and a cracking keeper. Buttler's pretty impressive behind the sticks as well.

I don't often gush over an England team in any sport, but these guys have played very well and thoroughly deserve their success.

ACLeith
08-08-2015, 01:38 PM
Am I right in thinking that everyone in the team is a "genuine" Englishman? No South Africans now?

hibee62
08-08-2015, 02:05 PM
Am I right in thinking that everyone in the team is a "genuine" Englishman? No South Africans now?

I think Stokes was born in New Zealand... I don't particularly care though!

09-08-2015, 10:59 AM
Michael Clarke has played like a man who knows his time is up. I think he might retire at the end of the series.

Turns out that this is what has happened. A bit of a shame as he was a great player, I suppose everyones career comes to an end at some point though.

11-08-2015, 11:35 AM
I think Stokes was born in New Zealand... I don't particularly care though!

He was born and raised in Christchurch, NZ, but moved to the UK when he was 12.

Not the same as the South African mercenaries. Cracking prospect!

ACLeith
11-08-2015, 12:28 PM
He was born and raised in Christchurch, NZ, but moved to the UK when he was 12.

Not the same as the South African mercenaries. Cracking prospect!

Maybe not a coincidence that team spirit is obvious? Though winning always helps! Remind me - who was the guy called KP?

20-08-2015, 11:48 AM
Attritional stuff this at the start of the 5th Test, all the intensity seems to be gone now that The Ashes have been won.

20-08-2015, 11:50 AM
Attritional stuff this at the start of the 5th Test, all the intensity seems to be gone now that The Ashes have been won.

I dunno about that. Australia will be pretty keen to win this game. If they tank England it will mean something.

20-08-2015, 11:54 AM
Everything about it is flat, particularly the crowd. The lassie singing Jerusalem was quite good though. :-)

20-08-2015, 01:57 PM

Then again, modern players achieving those records still have to do it successfully, year in, year out, for a very long time to make those records. They've earned it IMO.

Talking of spinners, may I mention Freddie Titmus who turned his arm over for Middlesex and England. He had a little skip to the wicket and a brief pause before bowling his off-spinners. He certainly inspired me!

Interestingly he played football too. He was at Chelsea as a youth.

21-08-2015, 02:00 PM
Aussies 481 All Out. Decent effort.

21-08-2015, 02:58 PM

IIRC the umpires were expected to give the batsman the benefit of any doubt in those days, which certainly worked against the bowler's interests. With the technology they seem to give the decision against the batsman more readily, knowing he can appeal and any mistake rectified.

But it's got rid of the rampant injustices suffered by certain batsmen who were the serial victims of the umpire's bad eyesight.

Geoffrey Bloody Boycott for one. :rolleyes:

Looks like the Aussie batsmen have finally wakened up to the fact that they're in an Ashes series ...

... too late.

21-08-2015, 02:59 PM
Talking of spinners, may I mention Freddie Titmus who turned his arm over for Middlesex and England. He had a little skip to the wicket and a brief pause before bowling his off-spinners. He certainly inspired me!

Interestingly he played football too. He was at Chelsea as a youth.

Yup, and Derek Underwood was another I could watch for hours. :agree:

21-08-2015, 03:30 PM
Yup, and Derek Underwood was another I could watch for hours. :agree:

Deadly Derek! Those were the days when test sides had a twin spin attack. The West Indies blew all that away in the 70s.

I liked watching Gary Sobers bowl. He had a lovely loose-limbed approach to the wicket and he could either bowl slow left arm or quite pacy cutters. This was apart from his supreme accomplishments as a batsman of course.

People forget now but Sobers was a real superstar in the 60s.

21-08-2015, 03:59 PM
IIRC the umpires were expected to give the batsman the benefit of any doubt in those days, which certainly worked against the bowler's interests. With the technology they seem to give the decision against the batsman more readily, knowing he can appeal and any mistake rectified.

But it's got rid of the rampant injustices suffered by certain batsmen who were the serial victims of the umpire's bad eyesight.

Looks like the Aussie batsmen have finally wakened up to the fact that they're in an Ashes series ...

... too late.

Up until the end of the Aussie 1st innings there have been 33 TMO referrals in the series, with the decisions overturned twice, it would be interesting to see how many were umpires call, which probably wouldn't have been made if the technology wasn't there. They are much more likely not to give a batsman the benefit of the doubt due to the technology being a reliable assistant, its the technology aiding their guesswork.

21-08-2015, 04:58 PM
England 86-6, had a funny feeling something like this would happen.

21-08-2015, 07:02 PM
It's too late to affect the result of the series, but doesn't exactly speak well of the England 'revival', does it?

I didn't see any of this as I'm in the middle of moving house, but it sounds pretty grim from the England perspective, and even allowing that the series is decided it must be bitterly disappointing for the folks who turned out to watch.

By the way - I must have been asleep when it went through, but WTF is this 'Kia' Oval business?

What next - "Lord's, Sponsored By The Andrex Puppy"?

21-08-2015, 07:20 PM
It's too late to affect the result of the series, but doesn't exactly speak well of the England 'revival', does it?

I didn't see any of this as I'm in the middle of moving house, but it sounds pretty grim from the England perspective, and even allowing that the series is decided it must be bitterly disappointing for the folks who turned out to watch.

By the way - I must have been asleep when it went through, but WTF is this 'Kia' Oval business?

What next - "Lord's, Sponsored By The Andrex Puppy"?

I'll tell you a better one than that. I was doing a restaurant review in Knightsbridge this afternoon and there was a single woman sat at the next table sipping a martini and reading a book. At about 5pm, what I now know to be her husband and daughter arrived and sat and joined her. We got chatting and it transpired that they were Australian and were over to watch the cricket. Husband and daughter had been at The Oval and had left at 4pm as the only booking they could get at the restaurant was for 5pm.

I had a word with the maitre d and asked if the would kindly put the cricket on for them on the TV in the corner. You should have seen the looks on their faces when they saw England were 70 odd for 6 :greengrin

21-08-2015, 09:19 PM
I'll tell you a better one than that. I was doing a restaurant review in Knightsbridge this afternoon and there was a single woman sat at the next table sipping a martini and reading a book. At about 5pm, what I now know to be her husband and daughter arrived and sat and joined her. We got chatting and it transpired that they were Australian and were over to watch the cricket. Husband and daughter had been at The Oval and had left at 4pm as the only booking they could get at the restaurant was for 5pm.

I had a word with the maitre d and asked if the would kindly put the cricket on for them on the TV in the corner. You should have seen the looks on their faces when they saw England were 70 odd for 6 :greengrin

It's been a really strange series. England have done well with a side with a fair number of young players in it, but I can't help feeling that the Aussies didn't take the business seriously enough from the start?

But it was kind of you to take pity on the souls, Sergey. It's like leaving a football match with an hour gone, 3-0 to the bad, and finding out later that your team fought back to win 4-3 ...

21-08-2015, 09:38 PM
It's been a really strange series. England have done well with a side with a fair number of young players in it, but I can't help feeling that the Aussies didn't take the business seriously enough from the start?

But it was kind of you to take pity on the souls, Sergey. It's like leaving a football match with an hour gone, 3-0 to the bad, and finding out later that your team fought back to win 4-3 ...

One really shouldn't laugh, but this family had flown over from Australia and had tickets for the first 4 days of the test. Two of the party left at the tea interval (the other didn't even bother attending and went sightseeing) and subsequently missed the best session after enduring two days of 'old school test match cricket' (purists stuff). I don't know what the score was at tea, but I can assume it was moribund with little clue in the way of what later transpired.

They were really nice people, BTW and I hope for their sake the Aussies wrap it up tomorrow.

22-08-2015, 09:07 PM
One really shouldn't laugh, but this family had flown over from Australia and had tickets for the first 4 days of the test. Two of the party left at the tea interval (the other didn't even bother attending and went sightseeing) and subsequently missed the best session after enduring two days of 'old school test match cricket' (purists stuff). I don't know what the score was at tea, but I can assume it was moribund with little clue in the way of what later transpired.

They were really nice people, BTW and I hope for their sake the Aussies wrap it up tomorrow.

Looks as if it's all over bar the shouting now. If Cook had still been around for start of play tomorrow it might have been different. England would have had a better chance of making it through to the onset of rain forecast for tomorrow afternoon. As it is, it's going to be a matter of backs-to-the-wall and avoiding getting out.

BTW - part of test cricket (as opposed to slash and hope as practised in T20 and such stuff) is just that - grinding out an innings when you're out of form and the wicket favours the bowlers and time's against you. This afternoon was compulsive as far as I'm concerned. Very sorry for Cook to be out 5 minutes from close, but he relaxed when Clarke brought Smith on to bowl. BAD mistake - I've lost count of the number of times I've seen an 'amateur' bowler break a long stand where the first-line boys have failed.

It's like Wellington at Waterloo - 'Give me night or give me Blucher ...' Sometimes you win (or avoid defeat) by bloody-minded, stubborn defence that's not pretty in an aesthetic sense but my goodness it can be compelling to watch.

You hold out - just - until the rain or the Prussians arrive.

31-08-2015, 02:31 PM
England 37-2 after 7 overs in todays T20 match v The Aussies.