View Full Version : 2015 British Open, St Andrews

01-07-2015, 03:42 PM
Going Thursday and Friday on the hospitality :cheers:

Bets placed already £25 e/w on Jordan Spieth @ 13/2; and £25 e/w (free bet) on Oosthuizen @ 25 /1

Cannae wait..

01-07-2015, 04:13 PM
Not the British Open it is The Open.

Would have thought a Golf Club committee man would not have made a schoolboy error like that!

Seriously, on holiday then so doubt I will see a ball being hit. Love a day at the Open too.

01-07-2015, 04:58 PM
Going Thursday and Friday on the hospitality :cheers:

Bets placed already £25 e/w on Jordan Spieth @ 13/2; and £25 e/w (free bet) on Oosthuizen @ 25 /1

Cannae wait..

Gaun on the Friday. Got Spieth @ 10's, only a fiver though. But then again, I do pay my way! :o)

01-07-2015, 05:20 PM
Good luck to all spectators - whether they're on a freebie or not!

In my humble opinion St Andrews is by far and away the worst of the Open venues for spectating and the course itself is no longer fit for purpose to host a Major Championship. If the wind fails to blow then I shudder to think what the winning aggregate could be.

Personally, I wouldn't touch this one with a barge pole. I'll content myself with a visit to Gullane next week for the Scottish Open.

02-07-2015, 08:14 AM
When is it

02-07-2015, 08:16 AM
When is it

Thursday 16th July to Sunday 19th July.

02-07-2015, 08:38 AM
Gaun on the Friday. Got Spieth @ 10's, only a fiver though. But then again, I do pay my way! :o)

Whaur did you get Spieth @ 10s??

02-07-2015, 08:41 AM
Good luck to all spectators - whether they're on a freebie or not!

In my humble opinion St Andrews is by far and away the worst of the Open venues for spectating and the course itself is no longer fit for purpose to host a Major Championship. If the wind fails to blow then I shudder to think what the winning aggregate could be.

Personally, I wouldn't touch this one with a barge pole. I'll content myself with a visit to Gullane next week for the Scottish Open.

Defo worst north of the border.. I might no leave the hospitality :cb

02-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Not the British Open it is The Open.

Would have thought a Golf Club committee man would not have made a schoolboy error like that!

Seriously, on holiday then so doubt I will see a ball being hit. Love a day at the Open too.

Your username is nearly an anagram of Pedant :wink: But you are right of course .. I simply added British as there was a thread re the US Open.

02-07-2015, 06:35 PM
I said I would not return to St Andrews for an Open due to the difficulty and comfort of the spectator experience. However, I took the family up for the day a few weeks back one Sunday, and wandering about the course with the stands being erected and sitting on the Swilcan Bridge with my girls, the magic of the place engulfed me, and I resigned myself to falling into St Andrews' charms once again and attending the Open.

Godsahibby
02-07-2015, 08:07 PM
St Andrews is shocking for watching the golf. If you do head up best to go on a practice day.

02-07-2015, 08:37 PM
St Andrews is shocking for watching the golf. If you do head up best to go on a practice day.

I agree.

TV is definately the best option to view an Open from St Andrews.

02-07-2015, 09:34 PM
Whaur did you get Spieth @ 10s??

Skybet.

03-07-2015, 07:37 AM
Your username is nearly an anagram of Pedant :wink: But you are right of course .. I simply added British as there was a thread re the US Open.

:-). Sorry didn't mean to be smart but couldn't resist it!

03-07-2015, 12:26 PM
Skybet.

03-07-2015, 05:04 PM

Put it on during the 2nd or 3rd of the US. Think he went to 7/1 that night....no sure what he is now.

Had to check I had 10's after I said. I do! Ha Ha!

04-07-2015, 02:29 PM
McILroy to win. E/w bets would be Tommy Fleetwood. Bernd Weisberger. Branden Grace. Patrick Rodgers (if he gets in) Max Keiffer and Gary Woodland.

hibeenicol
04-07-2015, 07:50 PM
Got a ticket for the Thursday, I've never been to a golfing event anywhere so really looking forward to it. Going on my own though so any advice to make sure I get the most enjoyment from the day would be very much appreciated :thumbsup:

04-07-2015, 08:36 PM
Louis Oosthuizen will be this year's winner. Get your money on now.

04-07-2015, 09:02 PM
Got a ticket for the Thursday, I've never been to a golfing event anywhere so really looking forward to it. Going on my own though so any advice to make sure I get the most enjoyment from the day would be very much appreciated :thumbsup:

The stands at the seventh, eleventh and seventeeth greens are the best places to view the action. There's normally a "Red Route" on the course which is a way of guiding the spectators round the course in an organised fashion. This "route" will be well signposted
and each hole will have plenty of stewards to help you if required.

It's also worth visiting the practice area as there's always plenty happening.

Good luck and a pair of binoculars won't go wrong!

05-07-2015, 07:09 PM
Louis Oosthuizen will be this year's winner. Get your money on now.

One of my two bets .. so far

06-07-2015, 10:19 AM
Spieth clear favourite on Oddschecker now at 6s (best price) and McIlroy out to 9s (best price) after an injury playing football..

06-07-2015, 10:34 AM

06-07-2015, 10:37 PM
15120 ****ing Idiot. Ill no be touching him now even if he does play. He cant possibly give it 100%

08-07-2015, 08:42 AM
****ing Idiot. Ill no be touching him now even if he does play. He cant possibly give it 100%

Spieth is the man anyhoo :cb

08-07-2015, 08:53 AM
Spieth is the man anyhoo :cb

Not this time TQM. Oosthuisen is the man for St Andrews.

Betcha.

08-07-2015, 02:20 PM

Betcha.

Hope so :greengrin as I'm on Spieth and Oosty .. £25 e/w the pair

08-07-2015, 05:37 PM
Rory is out of the open oficially now

10-07-2015, 02:04 PM

Betcha.

Hope so :greengrin as I'm on Spieth and Oosty .. £25 e/w the pair

Trustin' Justin.:thumbsup:

derekHFC
10-07-2015, 04:06 PM
Going up for 2 of the practice days.

Any idea what time is best to go at?

Greenworld
11-07-2015, 09:32 AM
Early 8am train check the forecast first though if its pissing down can be like a ghost town on the course during practice

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

DarrenSQH
13-07-2015, 09:18 AM
After watching them at the Scottish Open, I think Kuchar might have a good chance in this next week. Obviously Fowler too.

13-07-2015, 10:17 AM
Oosthuisen to win.

Each way bets on "rock on" Tommy Fleetwood, JB Holmes, Bernd Weisberger, Shane Lowry & Branden Grace.

It's a mixed weather forecast for the duration of the Championship and those golfers with a morning start on Thursday and an afternoon start on Friday look like benefiting most from the conditions.

http://www.weatherforecast.co.uk/scotland/fife/st-andrews-open-championship-16387.html

13-07-2015, 10:18 AM
After watching them at the Scottish Open, I think Kuchar might have a good chance in this next week. Obviously Fowler too.

You can't back them all though.

Godsahibby
13-07-2015, 10:22 AM
If the weather stays calm then Dustin for me. Was hearing from one of the caddies that the course will definitely suit long hitters perfectly. Maybe even Molinari not as long as DJ but best driver on tour.

Godsahibby
13-07-2015, 10:23 AM
Was tempted to go up on Wednesday for the final practice day but £40 to get in. Robbery for that.

DarrenSQH
13-07-2015, 02:01 PM
Was tempted to go up on Wednesday for the final practice day but £40 to get in. Robbery for that.

£80 for a championship day and £15 to park is just way too expensive for me. Shame as I love going

13-07-2015, 03:09 PM
£80 for a championship day and £15 to park is just way too expensive for me. Shame as I love going

It could be argued that with a first tee off time of 6:32am and the last at 16:13pm, then you could feasibly spend about 14 or 15 hours on the course.As far as value for money is concerned then it stands up well with other big sporting occasions.

However St Andrews is a very poor venue with few good spectating vantage points and I'll quite happily watch the action on TV.

13-07-2015, 08:31 PM

It could be argued that with a first tee off time of 6:32am and the last at 16:13pm, then you could feasibly spend about 14 or 15 hours on the course.As far as value for money is concerned then it stands up well with other big sporting occasions.

However St Andrews is a very poor venue with few good spectating vantage points and I'll quite happily watch the action on TV.

Booked my train tickets today. Arrive at 9am and leave at 6.30. Decent, might see what the tickets say and see if I can get a later train if the tee off as late.

Meant to be raining though.

14-07-2015, 07:04 AM
Each way bets on Lowry, Rose and Fowler. Sticking my neck out and saying Spieth won't be in the first six.

Iceman1875
15-07-2015, 07:44 PM
Heading up tomorrow for the day, hope the rain stays off!

At Easter Road we play...

15-07-2015, 08:13 PM
Heading up tomorrow for the day, hope the rain stays off!

Hope you're arming yourself with a good sturdy pair of binoculars!

Iceman1875
15-07-2015, 08:18 PM
Planning on going for a walk and pitching myself at the 18th John!

15-07-2015, 08:25 PM
Planning on going for a walk and pitching myself at the 18th John!

Enjoy! I'll be watching the action from the comfort of my settee with a few bottles of Millers as company.

16-07-2015, 06:49 AM
Tiger to win this one as the winds pick up over the weekend :wink:

DarrenSQH
16-07-2015, 08:39 AM
David Lingmerth just played the front nine in 29 strokes.

amazing. The old course looks to be playing wasy this morning. If the weather gets worse the bottom half of the draw will struggle.

16-07-2015, 11:08 AM
The standard of this morning's golf has confirmed my thoughts that the Old Lady is no longer fit for purpose as a Major venue. Modern technology has taken many of the previous hazards out of play and the only defence that the course has is the wind.

So please - let it blow, let it blow, let it blow - at least it makes for interesting viewing!

16-07-2015, 01:22 PM
Westy having putting problems. No shock there.

16-07-2015, 01:31 PM
Tiger to win this one as the winds pick up over the weekend :wink:

Tiger won't be here at the weekend if he keeps this up!

I played St Andrews in 2010 off the back tees just before the Open (it was odd as the grandstands were up!) and I shot a better scratch front 9 than he did today.

I fancy Dustin Johnson too if things stay benign as he's looked extraodrinary so far today. So has Paul Lawrie :agree:

McSwanky
16-07-2015, 02:23 PM
Tiger won't be here at the weekend if he keeps this up!

I played St Andrews in 2010 off the back tees just before the Open (it was odd as the grandstands were up!) and I shot a better scratch front 9 than he did today.

I fancy Dustin Johnson too if things stay benign as he's looked extraodrinary so far today. So has Paul Lawrie :agree:

How was your back nine? :wink:

16-07-2015, 03:02 PM
Zach Johnston is looking like he could be a real contender this year. He has a low ball flight as well as being a great putter.

16-07-2015, 06:33 PM
You'd think it was December judging by the way they are wrapped up!

16-07-2015, 08:21 PM
After the 1st round Tiger Woods and Tom Watson are joint last on 4 over. Whoever would have guessed that?

It will be an emotional day for Tom tomorrow as it will be his last Open

16-07-2015, 08:38 PM
After the 1st round Tiger Woods and Tom Watson are joint last on 4 over. Whoever would have guessed that?

It will be an emotional day for Tom tomorrow as it will be his last Open

Is 'Sir Nicholas' not worse off than 4 over? He he was 10 over through 15.

16-07-2015, 08:46 PM
Crowds looked really poor today watching it on TV, commentators even mentioned that £80 was too much and wondered if the crowds didn't pick up that they should lower the price, with the weather looking pretty nasty for the next few days it won't attract big numbers and struggle to get folk to come to The Open, thinking about going up on Sunday but if the weather is pish then it will be in da house watching it.

16-07-2015, 08:55 PM
Is 'Sir Nicholas' not worse off than 4 over? She he was 10 over through 15.

Could well be then! I looked at the scores on the ESPN webpage so just presumed they were all included. It did seem strange that Faldo was
drawn to play with 2 quality golfers!

Just checked elsewhere :- Nick the prick scored 80.

16-07-2015, 09:02 PM
£80 is too much IMO.

Heard Alliss mention it as well. He thought £50 was enough.

16-07-2015, 09:03 PM
£80 is too much IMO.

Totally agree.

16-07-2015, 09:09 PM
£80 is too much IMO.

He's spot on. Add on £15 for car parking as well and it's likely priced a fair few fans out of going.

Sadly more and more big sporting events are moving out of reach of a lot of regular punters.

16-07-2015, 09:13 PM
He's spot on. Add on £15 for car parking as well and it's likely priced a fair few fans out of going.

Sadly more and more big sporting events are moving out of reach of a lot of regular punters.

I've been to 4 Opens and the last 3 times I used the rail service as it's much easier.

I love being there sampling the whole atmosphere. You obviously see more on the telly but it's pretty special when you're there.

Too pricey for my pocket nowadays though which is sad.

16-07-2015, 09:18 PM
I've been to 4 Opens and the last 3 times I used the rail service as it's much easier.

I love being there sampling the whole atmosphere. You obviously see more on the telly but it's pretty special when you're there.

Too pricey for my pocket nowadays though which is sad.

I'm the same been to 4 Opens over the years and always enjoyed it. Likewise usually use public transport. Was at Gullane last weekend and thought £35 a day was well priced.

No way could I justify £80 for a day at St Andrews with all the additional extras that go with it as well.

16-07-2015, 09:30 PM
As an aside I was in Ladbrokes earlier and they still had Paul Lawrie at 40/1 and a quick check suggests Hills have him at 50s.

With the weather forecast tomorrow and Saturday a strong first round looks crucial and he's 6 under. I think I might have a wee each way on him.

16-07-2015, 10:19 PM
I was planning to head down tomorrow with my 9 year old step son but putting it off to Sunday now in the hope the weather improves. £80 for both of us (kids go free) is actually no bad when you consider it's not that much less for the two of us to go to Hampden for the Scotland qualifiers. 2 hours at the football versus 12 hours at the golf.

One or two days at the Open every few years is worth the ticket price IMO.

17-07-2015, 07:58 AM
Play suspended due to rain. Summer football anyone?

17-07-2015, 08:08 AM
Press conference scheduled for 9:30am.

17-07-2015, 08:22 AM
Play to resume at 10am according to the Open website.

17-07-2015, 08:26 AM
I saw an advert from Betfair earlier on Facebook that had 3/1 for Spieth to make the cut! I'm not a betting man but that seems like a license to print money!

£80 would definitely put me off going to be honest - I get that there's a pretty special atmosphere being there but you see much more on the TV these days.

17-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Surely everyone won't get their round in today. How will that work for the rest of the weekend?

derekHFC
17-07-2015, 09:02 AM
I saw an advert from Betfair earlier on Facebook that had 3/1 for Spieth to make the cut! I'm not a betting man but that seems like a license to print money!

£80 would definitely put me off going to be honest - I get that there's a pretty special atmosphere being there but you see much more on the TV these days.

Suspect there'll be some conditions attached.

It will be for new members, probably £10 max stake and you may even have to stake 20x your £10 before you can withdraw.

17-07-2015, 09:44 AM
Crowds looking poor again today.

17-07-2015, 09:59 AM
Wish Sky could cover the Open, BBC's coverage is pish. Same with Wimbledon, Eurosport's tennis coverage is excellent but the gig goes to the celebrity-obsessed Beeb.

And what kind of accent Hazel Irvine has I've no idea.

I wonder about Paul Lawrie, always had a good reputation for playing in bad weather. If he can hole the puts then he could go close.

17-07-2015, 10:09 AM
Wish Sky could cover the Open, BBC's coverage is pish. Same with Wimbledon, Eurosport's tennis coverage is excellent but the gig goes to the celebrity-obsessed Beeb.

I wonder about Paul Lawrie, always had a good reputation for playing in bad weather. If he can hole the puts then he could go close.

You will get your wish soon. Sky have the rights from 2017, which despite their no doubt excellent coverage, is sad IMO.

17-07-2015, 10:14 AM
You will get your wish soon. Sky have the rights from 2017, which despite their no doubt excellent coverage, is sad IMO.

Yeah I know it's not the way it should be but it's just selfish on my part!

The Beeb does my head in.

17-07-2015, 10:19 AM
Surely everyone won't get their round in today. How will that work for the rest of the weekend?

I can't possibly see all the players completing their round today. Some are not scheduled to start until after 6pm so they'll have to finish it of tomorrow morning.

17-07-2015, 10:46 AM

76,200 before today (practise days and yesterday) which is a few thousand up on 2010. Surprised to hear that TBH.

pogo
17-07-2015, 11:11 AM
I can't possibly see all the players completing their round today. Some are not scheduled to start until after 6pm so they'll have to finish it of tomorrow morning.

Last tee time is 19:27, so not sure how they plan on completing the round.
Weather dry here just now, but think there is more rain forecast for later this afternoon/evening.

17-07-2015, 02:09 PM

Personally, I just wish the BBC would revamp their format and up their game - I think it's great that I can sit here at work and watch the game on my second screen, something I wouldn't be able to do if it were on Sky. I wish more sport was available on free-to-air outlets.

17-07-2015, 02:19 PM

Seems decent to me SdGP.

17-07-2015, 02:31 PM
Over the years the Beeb deserve to be commended for their coverage of the Open Championship and when news broke that SKY had been awarded the broadcasting rights I was initially disappointed. However the R&A have stipulated that no more than 3 x 1 minute commercial breaks are to be allowed each hour so I daresay I can live with it. Whether the switch is a good thing for the game of golf is another matter.

17-07-2015, 02:37 PM

Overheard stewards talking about tomorrow. Some of them were asked to come in earlier.

17-07-2015, 03:00 PM
Personally, I just wish the BBC would revamp their format and up their game - I think it's great that I can sit here at work and watch the game on my second screen, something I wouldn't be able to do if it were on Sky. I wish more sport was available on free-to-air outlets.

Yeah I totally agree but I can't see it happening any time soon.

Good coverage for Marc Warren today, great round.

17-07-2015, 04:04 PM
Seems decent to me SdGP.

You up watching 3.

liamh2202
17-07-2015, 04:14 PM
As long as sky's coverage is nothing like the us open; I found it gimmicky and irritating.. Out of interest is the coverage along with the BBC or instead of?

17-07-2015, 04:46 PM
As long as sky's coverage is nothing like the us open; I found it gimmicky and irritating.. Out of interest is the coverage along with the BBC or instead of?

As far as the US Open was concerned then I presume that Sky's coverage was to a large extent dependent on what was shown by the host US broadcaster. I can't remember which US TV company did have the broadcasting rights but I think they were relatively new to golf and the US Open was their first major tournament.

In this country, the R&A have awarded exclusive rights to SKY wef 2017 - their bid was more than double than the BBC so it's hardly surprising I suppose.

pogo
17-07-2015, 05:07 PM
Overheard stewards talking about tomorrow. Some of them were asked to come in earlier.

That's what is planned, I'm working for a Japanese TV station, and one of their guys has a fairly late tee time, so we will be in earlier tomorrow to cover the end of his second round.
Can't see any of their guys making the cut, so could be a boring couple of final days sitting in the TV compound!

pogo
17-07-2015, 05:24 PM
Maybe I spoke too soon, Matsuyama has just birdied the first 2 holes, so I may be kept busy after all!

17-07-2015, 08:15 PM
You up watching 3.

Was mate aye. It was a good day.

17-07-2015, 09:40 PM
Maybe I spoke too soon, Matsuyama has just birdied the first 2 holes, so I may be kept busy after all!

Now -6, WTF, this guy is killing me for a few bob, hope he has a howler in the morning and hits a few triple bogeys :thumbsup:

17-07-2015, 09:42 PM
Was mate aye. It was a good day.

Good stuff, thinking about going up on Sunday with my lad, wait and see what weather is looking like first.

17-07-2015, 09:51 PM
Good stuff, thinking about going up on Sunday with my lad, wait and see what weather is looking like first.

Looks a bit grim in the morning, similar to today. Good in the afternoon.

I put shorts on, the thinking being if it lashed down then wet shorts are not as bad as wet jeans. Was a good decision. Decent brolly, waterproof, decent top underneath and hat and job done.

17-07-2015, 10:08 PM
Glad I took my own advice and popped a tenner each way on Lawrie at 50s. He's going well.

pogo
17-07-2015, 10:44 PM
Now -6, WTF, this guy is killing me for a few bob, hope he has a howler in the morning and hits a few triple bogeys :thumbsup:

They all seemed to have a decent front 9, but then drop loads on the back 9. Pretty sure they were the same last year, so I'd say you should be safe enough!

18-07-2015, 07:02 AM
Farcical is the only word to describe proceedings this morning. Play suspended in the meantime due to the gale force winds. Some of the players are distinctly unhappy and saying that play should not have started in the first place.

We could be heading for a Monday finish I reckon.

18-07-2015, 07:22 AM
The forecasts have the winds not easing up until about 4pm so that's the earliest we'll see any golf I'd think.

Monday finish a certainty now, IMO.

18-07-2015, 08:20 AM
The forecasts have the winds not easing up until about 4pm so that's the earliest we'll see any golf I'd think.

Monday finish a certainty now, IMO.

:agree: - shocked they started this morning in all honesty - conditions were grim even as they were getting underway.

Dustin Johnson will arguably be more annoyed than anyone as he was sent out in unplayable conditions and it cost him a shot!

18-07-2015, 08:37 AM
As far as the US Open was concerned then I presume that Sky's coverage was to a large extent dependent on what was shown by the host US broadcaster. I can't remember which US TV company did have the broadcasting rights but I think they were relatively new to golf and the US Open was their first major tournament.

In this country, the R&A have awarded exclusive rights to SKY wef 2017 - their bid was more than double than the BBC so it's hardly surprising I suppose. FOX Sports GB. (a Murdoch company) They got better as the week went on but the first day wasn't great. I think the BBC should still get to cover The Open but to be fair to SKY they are there every week on the European Tour and IMO deserve to get a slice of it, if not all. The R&A are the ones who should have a long hard look at themselves. They are taking the cash which is fine if its reinvested in the grass roots of the game but I do wonder how many kids will have access to viewing it. I know from personal experience that watching it as a kid inspired me to want to go out and actually play the game even if it was one club and one ball up the public park where I lived. Is giving it to SKY the best to promote and foster the game? I doubt it.

18-07-2015, 10:56 AM
No golf will start until around 3pm today.

Will folk get a refund if they have paid £80 for today's golf.

18-07-2015, 11:20 AM
No golf will start until around 3pm today.

Will folk get a refund if they have paid £80 for today's golf.

Point 5.

http://www.theopen.com/Legal/Terms-and-conditions/Internet-Sales

18-07-2015, 03:07 PM
Projected starting time is now 5pm for today.

Final round now scheduled for Monday -------------- £10 admission but I'll still be watching the conclusion on TV.

liamh2202
18-07-2015, 03:11 PM
Projected tee off times now 5pm for today.

Final round now scheduled for Monday -------------- £10 admission but I'll still be watching the conclusion on TV.

Is that a patg sort of scenario? I'm on leave Monday

18-07-2015, 03:14 PM
Is that a patg sort of scenario? I'm on leave Monday

Will be I'd imagine.

http://www.theopen.com/

18-07-2015, 03:18 PM
Yet another update ------------------ they now hope to start at 5:30. High winds still causing havoc apparently.

liamh2202
18-07-2015, 03:27 PM
Thanks GB

18-07-2015, 03:44 PM
Chances on a Tuesday finish? 😉

18-07-2015, 03:52 PM
I took a guy up there earlier, cost him £150 plus his entrance fee. He must be either paralytic or pissed off by now.

18-07-2015, 03:55 PM
Bloody wimps. I had to play in our club medal today, nae postponements for us guys.

18-07-2015, 04:01 PM
I got to golf in short sleeves and shorts down in Hampshire today. What's all the fuss? :greengrin

19-07-2015, 08:50 AM
£10 entry on.the gate tomorrow.

Pity I'm stuck in Lincolnshire until 6.30.

19-07-2015, 09:40 AM
Tenner entry fee sounds too good to miss.

19-07-2015, 11:00 AM
Benign conditions this morning. If it's the same all day then I fully expect a few rounds in the low sixties.

19-07-2015, 11:43 AM
Lashing rain now. What a climate we live in!

19-07-2015, 02:40 PM
These slo-mo replays of nothing are doing my nut in.

There's tons off golf going on yet the keep showing us this crap!!!!

19-07-2015, 02:58 PM
It looks too easy today. They'll need to shoot 4 under just to stay in contention.

19-07-2015, 03:14 PM
Pretty crap coverage this afternoon imo. All they're doing is jumping from one player putting to another player putting.

19-07-2015, 06:22 PM
Pretty crap coverage this afternoon imo. All they're doing is jumping from one player putting to another player putting.

As Mark James said, it's a birdie buffet, but I was getting indigestion watching it.

19-07-2015, 07:48 PM
Paul Dunne was 66/1 after 10 holes this afternoon. A quid each way doesnae hurt! :greengrin

19-07-2015, 08:18 PM
These slo-mo replays of nothing are doing my nut in.

There's tons off golf going on yet the keep showing us this crap!!!!

I couldn't agree more. Also the golf itself takes ages to appear on screen at the start of the day. We have to sit through dire chit-chat with Hazel Irvine. I won't miss her when Sky takes over. Likewise Mark James and his monotonous voice.

19-07-2015, 08:18 PM
Anyone got any links for rail services tomorrow.

I can't find anything

19-07-2015, 08:20 PM
Anyone got any links for rail services tomorrow.

I can't find anything

I had a look but there was no 'golflink' option. Look at trains to Leuchars.....sure there will be buses running again.

20-07-2015, 08:52 AM
... £25 e/w (free bet) on Oosthuizen @ 25 /1

... Oosthuisen is the man for St Andrews. :greengrin

Let Us Pray :pray:

20-07-2015, 09:15 AM
Just turned on the TV to find that the BBC coverage doesn't start till 1.45....WTF??!??

hibeenicol
20-07-2015, 09:54 AM
Just turned on the TV to find that the BBC coverage doesn't start till 1.45....WTF??!??

The coverage has been terrible. Shocking that players teed off this morning at 0745 and we're not getting any coverage until 1345.

Massive events imo should always be free to air but when coverage is this bad I'll be glad when it moves to sky in 2017.

20-07-2015, 10:27 AM
The coverage has been terrible. Shocking that players teed off this morning at 0745 and we're not getting any coverage until 1345.

Massive events imo should always be free to air but when coverage is this bad I'll be glad when it moves to sky in 2017.

Aye you wonder just how much it would cost them to screen the morning's play. Are Alliss & co's wages that big? Never mind, we can enjoy repeats of Council House Crackdown, Homes Under The Hammer and Bargain Hunt. What an absolute joke :grr:

20-07-2015, 11:00 AM
I am sure BBC coverage of The Open used to show more action from different parts of the course and was broadcast earlier in the day. Several commentators were employed.

The poor performance this time must be down to cost which is understandable I suppose. But the programme is looking tired. The slomo stuff to ambient music bit is hackneyed now and all the whimsical ho-hum remarks of Messrs James, Alliss, Brown and particularly the Scots guy (Corbett?) are starting to grate on this viewer at least.

The Sky golf package tends to be snappier and more professional and much as I hate to put money into Murdoch's coffers, I'd rather suffer an ad break than another excruciatingly dull chat between Hazel Irvine and Sir Nick Faldo.

20-07-2015, 11:07 AM
Paul Dunne is still available at 16/1 which seems a decent price for the joint leader, 1/4 odds on first 3 worth £10 e/w

20-07-2015, 11:57 AM
Paul Dunne is still available at 16/1 which seems a decent price for the joint leader, 1/4 odds on first 3 worth £10 e/w

It's a bit twisted that you'll get more back for winning than he will. :greengrin

20-07-2015, 12:06 PM
It's a bit twisted that you'll get more back for winning than he will. :greengrin

Yes, he'll get hee haw for winning but, when he turns pro in the near future, his stock will be sky high and he'll start his pro career running.

20-07-2015, 12:22 PM
Yes, he'll get hee haw for winning but, when he turns pro in the near future, his stock will be sky high and he'll start his pro career running.

Aye, he'd do very well from sponsorship etc. - it just seems very unfair that amateurs get zip.

20-07-2015, 12:34 PM
Let Us Pray :pray:

At this stage of the proceedings I'd say that your each way bet comes into the "NAP" category.

I've backed Shrek to win so here's hoping!

Danny_Hibee
20-07-2015, 12:45 PM
Aye, he'd do very well from sponsorship etc. - it just seems very unfair that amateurs get zip.

Surely by the very definition of amateur they are not going to get any prize money?

20-07-2015, 12:47 PM
Surely by the very definition of amateur they are not going to get any prize money?
If I win a competition at the golf club I get a prize and I'm not a professional

Danny_Hibee
20-07-2015, 01:05 PM
If I win a competition at the golf club I get a prize and I'm not a professional

I'm sure that's probably the same in a lot of cases. All I was saying is that an amateur sportsman is someone who doesn't compete for money and because of that I personally wouldn't expect an amateur to be getting any prize money.

liamh2202
20-07-2015, 01:47 PM
I'm sure that's probably the same in a lot of cases. All I was saying is that an amateur sportsman is someone who doesn't compete for money and because of that I personally wouldn't expect an amateur to be getting any prize money.

They were saying he has been pro before and only recently got his application for amatuar status accepted.. I bet he is regretting that now

20-07-2015, 02:03 PM

Not a monetary prize though. At least you shouldn't be.

20-07-2015, 02:19 PM
The good thing about The Open moving to SKY is that I won't need to listen to Mark James. :greengrin

20-07-2015, 02:38 PM
The amateur lad is a real slowcoach. It's time someone had a word with him.

20-07-2015, 02:50 PM
The amateur lad is a real slowcoach. It's time someone had a word with him.

:agree: Getting on Oosty's thrupny bits I think..

20-07-2015, 03:07 PM
Zach Johnson on fire. He's not missing. If he continues, he ain't losing!

liamh2202
20-07-2015, 03:36 PM

Yup GB should be right. We win monetary value but it has to go on to our account in the pro shop. I'm sure the same applies to open competitions .

20-07-2015, 04:52 PM
Leishman drops back to -15 alongside Johnson. Always liked Zach Johnson so if it's him or Leishman, I hope it's him.

20-07-2015, 04:58 PM
Amazing end to come.

20-07-2015, 05:25 PM
Come on you Shrek! All is not yet lost.

20-07-2015, 05:58 PM
Oh yes! Shrek in the 4 hole play off. My bet survives in the meantime.

20-07-2015, 06:11 PM
Put a £1 on Leishman just minutes before he started his final round. He was 50/1.

Close but not quite!

20-07-2015, 06:20 PM
Oh yes! Shrek in the 4 hole play off. My bet survives in the meantime.

20-07-2015, 07:01 PM
Grrrr!

20-07-2015, 07:06 PM
Nae luck as usual! Got a good run for my money though.

20-07-2015, 07:12 PM
The R&A's committee Christmas night out looks like it'd be a laugh....

20-07-2015, 11:29 PM

In my opinion they should receive prize money for opens.

I wouldn't expect an amateur to play on the professional tour.

Edit: Thinking about it, my definition of an amateur would be someone who doesn't play the game for a living.

20-07-2015, 11:31 PM

Is that just a golf thing?

Cash prizes are very common in bowls. And I'm not certain but I don't think everyone who plays tennis would be professional.

21-07-2015, 07:12 AM
In my opinion they should receive prize money for opens.

I wouldn't expect an amateur to play on the professional tour.

Edit: Thinking about it, my definition of an amateur would be someone who doesn't play the game for a living.

I always thought they were given the opportunity to turn professional and accept the winnings but I must be way of base with that based on the comments both here and during commentary.

Poor lad will be having nightmares about his final round for months to come!

DarrenSQH
21-07-2015, 08:06 AM
Loved my day at the golf yesterday.

The roars for Sergio when he got birdies are amazing. Shame he had a poor back 9. Also impressed with how Speith came back from the 4 Putt. I was standing at the side of the 8th green and it was a shocker.

21-07-2015, 08:18 AM
Is that just a golf thing?

Cash prizes are very common in bowls. And I'm not certain but I don't think everyone who plays tennis would be professional.

Would the winning of relatively small cash prizes at bowls not be controlled by the bowls governing body? Of-course anyone winning regularly and 'earning' a fair sum of cash would be expected to act accordingly in terms of declaration for tax purposes.:rolleyes:

21-07-2015, 11:54 AM
For anyone who is that interested, here is the R&A's judgement/definition of Amateur status.

http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Amateur-Status/Rules-of-Amateur-Status1.aspx#/amateur/

Everyone who plays the game are well aware of "the rules" and it doesn't seem to cause too much consternation for your average hacker/club member.

22-07-2015, 10:48 AM
Nae luck as usual! Got a good run for my money though.

I was e/w on Oosty :greengrin

25-07-2015, 08:21 AM
And so the final curtain, the sentiments of which I entirely agree.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/british-open-2015-old-course-too-short-championship-golf?xid=golf_social

28-07-2015, 10:41 AM
And so the final curtain, the sentiments of which I entirely agree.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/british-open-2015-old-course-too-short-championship-golf?xid=golf_social

Yup great piece on the Heros and Zeros .. hard to disagree with any of it.

14-08-2015, 08:57 PM
The PGA is shaping up to be as exciting as The Open. Lovely course.

15-08-2015, 10:43 AM
The PGA is shaping up to be as exciting as The Open. Lovely course.

2nd round suspended with Jason Day as joint leader. I've backed him for this one - surely he's got to win a Major soon.

I've seen very little of the tournament so far but the scoring suggests that nobody is going to run away with it.

15-08-2015, 10:52 AM
2nd round suspended with Jason Day as joint leader. I've backed him for this one - surely he's got to win a Major soon.

I've seen very little of the tournament so far but the scoring suggests that nobody is going to run away with it.

Golf's in a great place at the moment. Day, Johnson, Spieth, Watson, Fowler....the list goes on.

15-08-2015, 11:13 AM
Golf's in a great place at the moment. Day, Johnson, Spieth, Watson, Fowler....the list goes on.

Yip. I think I read last season that sponsorship of every PGA Tournament has been secured for the next 5 years.

Amazing in the turbulent economic times we live in.