View Full Version : WWC first semi final USA v GER

30-06-2015, 11:08 PM
Two very strong teams. Germany have more pace, USA good from dead balls. Keepers could win this. Going for 2-1 USA.

30-06-2015, 11:09 PM
I've got it on the TV too. Been watching the tournament as it progressed. USWNT been a bit stuffy, hoping we come to fruition tonight though!

30-06-2015, 11:11 PM
I've got it on the TV too. Been watching the tournament as it progressed. USWNT been a bit stuffy, hoping we come to fruition tonight though!

They are due a performance. Morgan and Rapinoe big players for them tonight. Germany wearing RED is weird!

30-06-2015, 11:15 PM
Should have been a goal from Morgan... fluffed the left foot shot.

30-06-2015, 11:18 PM
Should have been a goal from Morgan... fluffed the left foot shot.

Yup, massively so. Necib missed a big chance for France against Germany in the quarters. Hopefully this one doesn't come back to haunt Morgan!

30-06-2015, 11:19 PM
Yup, massively so. Necib missed a big chance for France against Germany in the quarters. Hopefully this one doesn't come back to haunt Morgan!

USA tweet said "Big Time Kick Save" :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

30-06-2015, 11:25 PM
Anyone else think we'd (Hibs men) beat both sides? :tin hat:

30-06-2015, 11:30 PM
Nasty clash of heads,

30-06-2015, 11:34 PM

Its not the point...there is no doubt they would. Just enjoy a cracking game of WOMENS football. :aok:

30-06-2015, 11:43 PM

This debate has been done to death, and is still being cracked out all over the internet regarding any men's team playing a women's team.

At the end of the day the quality of team on show is the best you could hope for. 1st in the world vs 2nd - a huge clash. Both teams have played differing styles in the World Cup so far, and as we approach half time it has been a fantastic game. How it is 0-0 is anyone's guess!

I'm not going to lie and say that I find women's football as entertaining as the men's, but it is football all the same and looks more graceful and elegant, a lot of good passing movements and team work. It's been a joy to watch for these qualities.

30-06-2015, 11:43 PM
Its not the point...there is no doubt they would. Just enjoy a cracking game of WOMENS football. :aok:

Fair enough, I don't suppose the artificial pitches are ideal for the sides either.

30-06-2015, 11:44 PM
Alex Morgan is just perfect.

30-06-2015, 11:46 PM

Behave Steve. She is marrying me.

30-06-2015, 11:49 PM

You're both too late. Kreiger is mine tho! In other news. Anyone suggesting you don't get hard tackles etc isn't watching this game. Popp of Germany has mullered a few already!

30-06-2015, 11:49 PM
This debate has been done to death, and is still being cracked out all over the internet regarding any men's team playing a women's team.

At the end of the day the quality of team on show is the best you could hope for. 1st in the world vs 2nd - a huge clash. Both teams have played differing styles in the World Cup so far, and as we approach half time it has been a fantastic game. How it is 0-0 is anyone's guess!

I'm not going to lie and say that I find women's football as entertaining as the men's, but it is football all the same and looks more graceful and elegant, a lot of good passing movements and team work. It's been a joy to watch for these qualities.

Sorry I've not seen any debate about it and haven't folloeed the tournament, I'm just watching this game but not wanting to cause offence. Kind of like a derby in the sense it's a tight game with a lot of fouls in the midfield which when you're rooting for one side or the other is exciting. I can see individual class or a bad mistake changing this also like a derby.

30-06-2015, 11:50 PM
You're both too late. Kreiger is mine tho! In other news. Anyone suggesting you don't get hard tackles etc isn't watching this game. Popp of Germany has mullered a few already!

She would have to divorce her fella first obviously.

Cracking football player as well.

30-06-2015, 11:52 PM
Sorry I've not seen any debate about it and haven't folloeed the tournament, I'm just watching this game but not wanting to cause offence. Kind of like a derby in the sense it's a tight game with a lot of fouls in the midfield which when you're rooting for one side or the other is exciting. I can see individual class or a bad mistake changing this also like a derby.

You missed the usual "its pish" on the board during other games. Its daft to rate it against Mens. Simply Men are stronger than women. BUT there has been some fantastic football played through the tournament. Some of the Japan technical work is a joy to watch.

Wasn't having a go so apologies if you thought that :aok:

It has been tight and tense, it's a huge game for both teams. Hopefully Morgan does not continue to fluff her lines as she gets a sight of goal.

Mate she dumped you for me. :agree:

Can't wait to take her to the blackbull in Dalkeith for our first date. :greengrin

30-06-2015, 11:56 PM

Can't wait to take her to the blackbull in Dalkeith for our first date. :greengrin

The Black Bull eh. You'll knock her bandy.

Anyway she's no interested in men.

01-07-2015, 12:00 AM
You missed the usual "its pish" on the board during other games. Its daft to rate it against Mens. Simply Men are stronger than women. BUT there has been some fantastic football played through the tournament. Some of the Japan technical work is a joy to watch.

I'm used to ignoring those opinions about Scottish football :greengrin

01-07-2015, 12:02 AM

Wasn't having a go so apologies if you thought that :aok:

It has been tight and tense, it's a huge game for both teams. Hopefully Morgan does not continue to fluff her lines as she gets a sight of goal.

No offence taken pal :aok:

01-07-2015, 12:04 AM

She's already sworn to me that she's mine. She loves the fact that I am half-American and was swayed when I offered her a lunch date at Snax before venturing to the Grapes. :wink:

01-07-2015, 12:06 AM
She's already sworn to me that she's mine. She loves the fact that I am half-American and was swayed when I offered her a lunch date at Snax before venturing to the Grapes. :wink:

Nah man. She can't stand you. She just said. ;)

01-07-2015, 12:12 AM
Nah man. She can't stand you. She just said. ;)

You misheard her. She said that she couldn't stand after being with me. That's why she was out with injury for the first few games of the World Cup :cb

01-07-2015, 12:14 AM
You misheard her. She said that she couldn't stand after being with me. That's why she was out with injury for the first few games of the World Cup :cb

Hannah_hfc
01-07-2015, 12:20 AM
Germany miss a penalty - dire miss!

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

01-07-2015, 12:20 AM
Germany miss a penalty. Some of the shooting is woeful.

01-07-2015, 12:22 AM
Awful defending from Johnston to concede the penalty. Sasic should have buried it, a huge player for Germany and a great goal scorer to boot.

01-07-2015, 12:23 AM
Germany miss a penalty. Some of the shooting is woeful.

I thought some of my shooting was bad. :wink:

01-07-2015, 12:25 AM
If i had a shot on Solo i'd probably fire it wrong too!

01-07-2015, 12:27 AM
Hope Morgan is okay. :hyper

Hannah_hfc
01-07-2015, 12:29 AM
USA I nil penalty!

Hannah_hfc
01-07-2015, 12:29 AM
Much better strike for that one

01-07-2015, 12:30 AM
Thats how to take a pen.

01-07-2015, 12:32 AM
Great penalty from Carli Lloyd, even if the foul was just outside the box.

dmc1875
01-07-2015, 12:37 AM
Really entertaining game! Although both penalty decisions v questionable. The German penalty was a shocker. Girl up front for the USA is a decent player

01-07-2015, 12:38 AM
I'd bring on Wambach or Sydney for Morgan now.

01-07-2015, 12:39 AM
Really entertaining game! Although both penalty decisions v questionable. The German penalty was a shocker. Girl up front for the USA is a decent player

I felt Johnston should have been red carded for the Germany penalty, thankfully she wasn't. Morgan was definitely fouled outside the box, and thankfully a penalty was awarded.

As you say, it's been really entertaining and hugely enthralling.

01-07-2015, 12:44 AM
Great goal. Cracking hold up from Wambach.

Hannah_hfc
01-07-2015, 12:45 AM
2 nil now. USA have deserved to win this one.

01-07-2015, 12:47 AM
Hopefully that is game, set and match now!

01-07-2015, 12:51 AM
would love to see a Jap v USA final...

01-07-2015, 02:01 AM
would love to see a Jap v USA final...

Japan are the Barcelona of women's football....play possession game, while USA and England tend to be more direct and physical in their approach.

01-07-2015, 07:29 AM
Some "interesting" comments from supporters of the womens game on this thread, I take it that its ok for you guys to be patronising since you've declared an interest in it? If it was BH for example making these comments people would want to hang him from the nearest lamppost.

01-07-2015, 08:03 AM
Some "interesting" comments from supporters of the womens game on this thread, I take it that its ok for you guys to be patronising since you've declared an interest in it? If it was BH for example making these comments people would want to hang him from the nearest lamppost.

Well I'm struggling to find the 'interesting' comments.

01-07-2015, 08:21 AM

eh? Were are the patronising comments on here?

01-07-2015, 08:24 AM

To small up front for me.

01-07-2015, 08:36 AM
eh? Were are the patronising comments on here?

Plenty of them whilst the game was taking place but, I'm not overly bothered one way or the other.

01-07-2015, 09:01 AM
Plenty of them whilst the game was taking place but, I'm not overly bothered one way or the other.

If you mean commenting positively on someone physical appearance then that is not condescending. You think female fans of the mens game don't comment on the guys? Condescending is when someone comes on and says they should make the goals smaller! Or that girls don't tackle.

01-07-2015, 09:06 AM
If you mean commenting positively on someone physical appearance then that is not condescending. You think female fans of the mens game don't comment on the guys? Condescending is when someone comes on and says they should make the goals smaller! Or that girls don't tackle.

My wife's best friend watches the Mens games purely to see them changing shirts at the end (she has a special liking for Spanish & Italians). Her mate said she loves it when it rains during matches, as the guy's shorts get wet and clingy.

Condescending bitches, the pair of them.

01-07-2015, 09:20 AM

I just think if people that had previously been critical of the womens game had made the same comments (I enjoy commenting on the female form as much as the next guy) you guys would be all over them like a rash.

Who should I be Googling from the 2nd Semi Final? :dunno:

01-07-2015, 10:15 AM
I just think if people that had previously been critical of the womens game had made the same comments (I enjoy commenting on the female form as much as the next guy) you guys would be all over them like a rash.

Who should I be Googling from the 2nd Semi Final? :dunno:

Not at all. Im all for everyone admiring the skills and the looks. ;-)

Re the 2nd semi. Nothing in the USA \ Germ quality. Toni Duggan if you like the scouse brow look. :greengrin

01-07-2015, 10:02 PM
Anyone staying up to watch the 2nd semi?

Hopefully Japan pump England.

01-07-2015, 10:29 PM

I don't really care but it'd be amusing if they lost on pens!

01-07-2015, 10:33 PM
Will try and stay up but struggling after 4 hrs kip last night. JAP to win 3-1. England have dropped Cairney which is a big mistake from Sampson. Duggan a great player but id rather have her and Cairney attacking through the middle. Looks like he's going two up front and still playing the holding 2 in midfield. Japan will control the ball and pass it into the net. Be a big night for Lucy Bronze at RB.

01-07-2015, 10:53 PM

A lot of women watch football to ogle at the bodies. I know this because they told me.

01-07-2015, 11:19 PM

What time is it on?

01-07-2015, 11:26 PM
bbc1 for the last 30 mins!

01-07-2015, 11:33 PM
1-0 JAP. silly pen for Eng to give away.

Denverhibby
01-07-2015, 11:34 PM
bbc1 for the last 30 mins!

Japan up 1-0

01-07-2015, 11:35 PM
Ja-pen.

01-07-2015, 11:39 PM
Pen-gland!

01-07-2015, 11:39 PM
Looked a dive there.

01-07-2015, 11:42 PM
engerlund player dives in box shocker

Denverhibby
01-07-2015, 11:44 PM
I thought Olympic Divingbevent was next year. Never a PK

01-07-2015, 11:45 PM
another soft pen. 1-1

01-07-2015, 11:47 PM
another soft pen. 1-1

Was a dive, IMHO. Two very well taken penalties though.

MoscowHibs
01-07-2015, 11:48 PM
I see the Japs have a bint called ohno, I'll bet thats no wot she said wi the Englandshire pen, mair like oh f***

01-07-2015, 11:48 PM
gerrard, she's just a steve gerrard

01-07-2015, 11:51 PM
thunder and lightning has just taken out my sky box!!

MoscowHibs
02-07-2015, 12:01 AM
thunder and lightning has just taken out my sky box!!
Aye. got it here in Forfar tae. Thot it hit the hoose as it shook a bit. but it was only Mrs Chopper falling oot o her bed. Saves phoning insurance at least.

02-07-2015, 12:17 AM
日本に来てください。 :agree:

02-07-2015, 12:22 AM
Aye. got it here in Forfar tae. Thot it hit the hoose as it shook a bit. but it was only Mrs Chopper falling oot o her bed. Saves phoning insurance at least.

:greengrin Hopefully Mrs Chopper doesn't read this.

02-07-2015, 12:22 AM
Own up who shat theirselves during the thunder and lighting? :greengrin

02-07-2015, 12:23 AM
Own up who shat theirselves during the thunder and lighting? :greengrin

You. :greengrin

02-07-2015, 12:28 AM
This has been a really good game :agree:

C'mon England.

02-07-2015, 12:31 AM
C'mon Japan.

02-07-2015, 12:34 AM
Ebgland have really impressed in the 2nd half. Need to bring on Cairney.

02-07-2015, 12:37 AM
japanese keeper keeps kicking the ball out for a line-out...it's not rugby hen

02-07-2015, 12:42 AM
uncle sams girls will wipe the floor with the winner of this game

02-07-2015, 12:47 AM
OG from engerlund :greengrin crackin shot though

02-07-2015, 12:47 AM

Hannah_hfc
02-07-2015, 12:48 AM
What a sore one to concede! Feel for the English lassy

02-07-2015, 12:48 AM
Oh dear. :greengrin

Jonathan Pearce. :thumbsup:

02-07-2015, 12:49 AM
They think it's all over....it is now.

02-07-2015, 12:49 AM
well i'm in tears

http://www.halfpriceperfumes.co.uk/img/p/1/4/7/4/4/6/147446-large.jpg

02-07-2015, 12:51 AM
Why does Jonathan Pearce rattle on about England in 1990. :confused:

02-07-2015, 12:52 AM
Classic England, always find a way to talk themselves in to a frenzy and chuck it away

02-07-2015, 12:53 AM
Why does Jonathan Pearce rattle on about England in 1990. :confused:

Because he's a clock. :aok:

02-07-2015, 12:56 AM
Kevin Kilbane looks gutted.

02-07-2015, 12:57 AM
Kevin Kilbane looks gutted.

Who?

02-07-2015, 01:08 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/33358549

*sigh*

02-07-2015, 02:59 AM
Karma from that 1966 goal that bounced of the bar onto the line.

02-07-2015, 06:45 AM
I would call that a peach of an own goal. The English ladies did really well to get to the semi finals and hopefully the exposure the ladies game has been given will benefit girls football in the UK. As per usual for me the players of England are deserving of respect but the pundits and commentators need to tone it down a little imho with their bias given it is a UK based audience not just England.

hibeesboii
02-07-2015, 06:53 AM
Great finish though.

02-07-2015, 08:38 AM
I would call that a peach of an own goal. The English ladies did really well to get to the semi finals and hopefully the exposure the ladies game has been given will benefit girls football in the UK. As per usual for me the players of England are deserving of respect but the pundits and commentators need to tone it down a little imho with their bias given it is a UK based audience not just England.

I thought the coverage from commentators was largely patronising but you expect that unfortunately.

The womens game has taken a real boost from this tournament. What a contrast in the standard of play from say ten years ago. This class of football will grow and grow from here.

For what it's worth I thought England were lucky to be awarded a penalty in the first half but very unfortunate to go out in the way they did.

02-07-2015, 08:57 AM
I thought the coverage from commentators was largely patronising but you expect that unfortunately.

The womens game has taken a real boost from this tournament. What a contrast in the standard of play from say ten years ago. This class of football will grow and grow from here.

For what it's worth I thought England were lucky to be awarded a penalty in the first half but very unfortunate to go out in the way they did.

The one thing I don't like about the coverage has been the lack of questioning the tactics of the coaches. Sampson taking off Williams last night was a huge error. His setup against France was poor. They have won games without actually playing decent football yet its hardly been mentioned.

02-07-2015, 09:08 AM

Pierce - 'She was clearly pulled down' ?? - didn't even retract it despite slow-mo proving she WASN'T !!. And the disbelief at Japan's winning-goal - 'and the referee's GIVEN IT ??' - almost as if he was expecting it to be disallowed because it went AGAINST England !!. As per, their commentators totally unable/unwilling to hide their bias !

02-07-2015, 09:10 AM
I don't really usually watch women football, so this world cup has been my first chance to really compare it to the mens game. I'm all in favour of women playing football (to be honest I'm all in favour of women playing any sport they fancy) but below are what I see as the drawbacks from a TV spectators point of view.
( this is not criticism of the women game it is a honest assessment of how thew womens world cup compared to watching mens football on the TV as a neutral)

terrible diving - had hoped the women game wouldn't mimic the mens game in this respect, but if anything it seems worse.

short goalies - seems that every shot that is just going in under the bar ends up as a goal, reminded me of playing boys football on senior pitches at times

Lack of pace, looks a little bit like the are running through treacle at times

I'm sure I would have enjoyed it more had it been Scotland rather than England who had reached the semi, (I was going mental at the telly when the Scottish ladies were winning the curling at the winter olympics and i don't even like curling) but all in all it felt a bit like watching women tennis..skillfull and competitive, but a level below the mens game because of a lack of power and pace. (and that England penalty was utterly cringeworthy)

Great crowds though, FairPlay !

02-07-2015, 09:23 AM
Pierce - 'She was clearly pulled down' ?? - didn't even retract it despite slow-mo proving she WASN'T !!. And the disbelief at Japan's winning-goal - 'and the referee's GIVEN IT ??' - almost as if he was expecting it to be disallowed because it went AGAINST England !!. As per, their commentators totally unable/unwilling to hide their bias !

The commentator said "and the referee's given it" - the referee had given it. Don't understand how that's bias?

02-07-2015, 09:23 AM
I don't really usually watch women football, so this world cup has been my first chance to really compare it to the mens game. I'm all in favour of women playing football (to be honest I'm all in favour of women playing any sport they fancy) but below are what I see as the drawbacks from a TV spectators point of view.
( this is not criticism of the women game it is a honest assessment of how thew womens world cup compared to watching mens football on the TV as a neutral)

terrible diving - had hoped the women game wouldn't mimic the mens game in this respect, but if anything it seems worse.

short goalies - seems that every shot that is just going in under the bar ends up as a goal, reminded me of playing boys football on senior pitches at times

Lack of pace, looks a little bit like the are running through treacle at times

I'm sure I would have enjoyed it more had it been Scotland rather than England who had reached the semi, (I was going mental at the telly when the Scottish ladies were winning the curling at the winter olympics and i don't even like curling) but all in all it felt a bit like watching women tennis..skillfull and competitive, but a level below the mens game because of a lack of power and pace. (and that England penalty was utterly cringeworthy)

Great crowds though, FairPlay !

That's your mistake. Do not compare it to the mens game. The womens game cannot compete with the mens games and it isn't trying to. Also half the goalies are 5ft10 plus. Diving has been minimal not sure why you picked up in that. A couple last night but you see very few in the majority of games....you'll see about 30 - 40 dives in almost every sernior mens games.

BS44
02-07-2015, 09:38 AM
Great finish though.

Willie Miller scored a similar but better og against Dundee Utd in the last minute at Tannadice. He somehow managed to put it in the top corner from about 20 odd yards, and we lost 1 0.....

02-07-2015, 09:43 AM
That's your mistake. Do not compare it to the mens game. The womens game cannot compete with the mens games and it isn't trying to. Also half the goalies are 5ft10 plus. Diving has been minimal not sure why you picked up in that. A couple last night but you see very few in the majority of games....you'll see about 30 - 40 dives in almost every sernior mens games.

I think it's naive to suggest that people won't compare it to the mens game. (I compare Hibs with teams like Arsenal and Chealse and we are slow and less skilful by comparison, doesn't mean I don't want to watch Hibs though)

if half the goalies are over 5'10 that means the other half are under 5'10" which was kind of my point. (I honestly think they should just make the goals a little bit smaller, would that be such a bad thing ? women golfers play on shorter courses.)

You may well be right about the diving thing as I have only watched about 3 and a half games, so not really in a position to judge properly...the England one last night was horrendous though.

Like it or not the women game IS competing with the mens game..TV channels have only so much money for sport and they have to make decisions about where to spend that money.

02-07-2015, 10:01 AM
You. :greengrin

Worse thunder and lightning since I was on holiday in Dumfries many years ago when it lasted for ages and it was very scary. Didn't shhht myself but was a wee bit shaken but not stirred.

02-07-2015, 10:06 AM
Classic England, always find a way to talk themselves in to a frenzy and chuck it away
Defeat from the jaws of victory. Only watched the highlights later and from them they looked unlucky to go out. Such small margins as with the Germans missing their pen against USA. Some pretty skilful players on show but the ott coverage of engerlund spoils it for the rest of the UK. They seemed unlucky.lol. Btw I see Andy Murray is British in all the papers. Seem they are expecting him to win again. Don't you just love the engerlund meedya.

02-07-2015, 10:12 AM
Scotland population 5 million

England population 53 million

Do those watching the England game expect something different regarding coverage ?

The World Cup has been great and I reay hope the game continues to grow in the UK. The quality of players is improving rapidly and hopefully Scotland can qualify for the next euros in France.

02-07-2015, 10:24 AM
I think it's naive to suggest that people won't compare it to the mens game. (I compare Hibs with teams like Arsenal and Chealse and we are slow and less skilful by comparison, doesn't mean I don't want to watch Hibs though)

if half the goalies are over 5'10 that means the other half are under 5'10" which was kind of my point. (I honestly think they should just make the goals a little bit smaller, would that be such a bad thing ? women golfers play on shorter courses.)

You may well be right about the diving thing as I have only watched about 3 and a half games, so not really in a position to judge properly...the England one last night was horrendous though.

Like it or not the women game IS competing with the mens game..TV channels have only so much money for sport and they have to make decisions about where to spend that money.

We should have had smaller goals when Goram was in goals then... :greengrin

02-07-2015, 10:25 AM
The storms put my sly box out last night, I just had an early night instead of watching big brothers bit on the side.

02-07-2015, 10:27 AM
Scotland population 5 million

England population 53 million

Do those watching the England game expect something different regarding coverage ?

The World Cup has been great and I reay hope the game continues to grow in the UK. The quality of players is improving rapidly and hopefully Scotland can qualify for the next euros in France.

If Scotland don't qualify for the Euros there is something badly wrong. They have an easy group and a fantastic group of young players now. Im looking forward to a French holiday.

Group 1: Iceland, Scotland, Belarus, Slovenia, FYR Macedonia

I expect them to win every single game.

02-07-2015, 10:35 AM
I I thought the coverage from commentators was largely patronising but you expect that unfortunately.

The commentary was so bias that I had to switch the telly off at 1-1.
The mute button wasn't even a consideration.
Felt heart-sorry for the o.g. girl and the girls in her team but absolutely delighted that the Ingurlund media got it stuck right up them. What joy.

03-07-2015, 08:44 AM
The commentator said "and the referee's given it" - the referee had given it. Don't understand how that's bias?

Sorry, should've made it clearer - it was the way/tone that he voiced it. He sounded absolutely shocked that the goal was given, like he couldn't believe it.

GreenOnions
03-07-2015, 09:22 AM
That game was the first women's game I've watched. I had heard a lot of good things about the quality of football during this world cup so I was looking forward to it. Sorry to rain on this particular parade but I have to say - to my eyes it looked high on effort but pretty low on technique and skill I'm afraid. Also - as an earlier poster also pointed out - it looked like the players were running through treacle and the pace of the game was slow. I am pleased the event is a success but won't be watching any more games.

03-07-2015, 09:26 AM
That game was the first women's game I've watched. I had heard a lot of good things about the quality of football during this world cup so I was looking forward to it. Sorry to rain on this particular parade but I have to say - to my eyes it looked high on effort but pretty low on technique and skill I'm afraid. Also - as an earlier poster also pointed out - it looked like the players were running through treacle and the pace of the game was slow. I am pleased the event is a success but won't be watching any more games.

You must absolutely despise kids football then.

GreenOnions
03-07-2015, 09:29 AM
You must absolutely despise kids football then.

Well - I wouldn't pay to watch it, I wouldn't watch it on tv and i wouldn't watch it unless one of my kids was playing. I suppose that makes you correct :wink:

03-07-2015, 10:10 AM
Well - I wouldn't pay to watch it, I wouldn't watch it on tv and i wouldn't watch it unless one of my kids was playing. I suppose that makes you correct :wink:

I can only assume you also decided to give Hibs a miss half the time. The fenlon / butcher years are worse than any sunday morning kids games that i watch.

GreenOnions
03-07-2015, 10:19 AM
I can only assume you also decided to give Hibs a miss half the time. The fenlon / butcher years are worse than any sunday morning kids games that i watch.

:greengrin If you get the bug for something then you get the bug don't you? I haven't got the bug for women's football so my viewing decisions will be guided by that. Many others seem to be enthusiastic about it and I'm genuinely pleased about that as anything that encourages participation in sport is a good thing IMO

03-07-2015, 10:39 AM
the biggest problem for women football is that women don't watch it! The vast majority of men in the UK like football. The vast majority of women in the UK don't like football. A percentage of men will watch womens football. Unfortunately it will continue to be difficult for the sport to grow its viewing figures.

04-07-2015, 08:29 PM
Germany v Engurland on BBC3 or BBC3 HD.

Hope it goes to penalties.

04-07-2015, 08:31 PM
Germany v Engurland on BBC3 or BBC3 HD.

Hope it goes to penalties.

Definitely - and I hope England win it.

04-07-2015, 09:38 PM
England must win this. They have won the hearts of 50,000,000 it seems.
And next week no-one will give a toss about any of them.

04-07-2015, 09:39 PM
England must win this. They have won the hearts of 50,000,000 it seems.
And next week no-one will give a toss about any of them.

?
I hope they do win it.

04-07-2015, 09:44 PM
Have they mentioned 1966 yet?

04-07-2015, 10:23 PM
Get right in there, 1-0 England :thumbsup:

04-07-2015, 10:24 PM
Get right in there, 1-0 England :thumbsup:

You were quick. :greengrin

04-07-2015, 10:26 PM
Have they mentioned 1966 yet?

We do that more than they do now in order to wind ourselves up.:greengrin

04-07-2015, 10:26 PM
You were quick. :greengrin

I'm watching five minutes or so behind on iPlayer :greengrin

04-07-2015, 10:34 PM
I'm watching five minutes or so behind on iPlayer :greengrin

Well it's now 2-1 for Germany. :greengrin

04-07-2015, 10:36 PM
Brilliant achievement, that. Been a great tournament for the womens game, some very good football on show and some cracking matches.

Might need to make it along to a Hibs ladies game soon.

04-07-2015, 10:48 PM
Sorry but the coverage that the women's World Cup has got is absolutely ridiculous. So disproportionate. That England team wouldn't get within three goals of a Conference North team.

04-07-2015, 10:52 PM
Sorry but the coverage that the women's World Cup has got is absolutely ridiculous. So disproportionate. That England team wouldn't get within three goals of a Conference North team.

Troll or sexist or pished? Do we need a poll? :greengrin

04-07-2015, 11:30 PM

I've watched a few of the games, and I've enjoyed most of what I've seen. Men's football has been around a LOT longer and is hugely more developed world-wide; male footballers are a lot stronger, generally speaking, than women footballers and allowances should be made for that, but the games in this tournament have been competitive and the tournament itself well-organised and I'm looking forward to watching the final tomorrow evening.

It IS shocking, I agree, that women should dare to aspire to playing a game normally considered to be the private preserve of macho-men and dinosaurs, or that a TV company should take a chance on making a tournament like the Women's World Cup available to those who fancy watching it.

So much so that I checked the fine print on my SKY contract before I switched over to 410 tonight, just to be sure I wasn't breaking any laws. I wouldn't want anyone to be offended by my viewing habits.

There were still lots and lots of other channels for folks to watch who didn't fancy the football ....

05-07-2015, 12:02 AM
I've watched a few of the games, and I've enjoyed most of what I've seen. Men's football has been around a LOT longer and is hugely more developed world-wide; male footballers are a lot stronger, generally speaking, than women footballers and allowances should be made for that, but the games in this tournament have been competitive and the tournament itself well-organised and I'm looking forward to watching the final tomorrow evening.

It IS shocking, I agree, that women should dare to aspire to playing a game normally considered to be the private preserve of macho-men and dinosaurs, or that a TV company should take a chance on making a tournament like the Women's World Cup available to those who fancy watching it.

So much so that I checked the fine print on my SKY contract before I switched over to 410 tonight, just to be sure I wasn't breaking any laws. I wouldn't want anyone to be offended by my viewing habits.

There were still lots and lots of other channels for folks to watch who didn't fancy the football ....

Oh did i miss it?

05-07-2015, 11:07 PM
2-0 USA after just 5 mins...game over for the japs me thinks

cracking goal for the 3rd after 14 mins

awww wow 4-0 after 16 mins with a superb lob from the halfway line incredible

then missed a sitter for number 5

05-07-2015, 11:18 PM
Amazing stuff. US should be 5 up after 17 mins. They're on fire!

05-07-2015, 11:24 PM
no goals for 7 mins, quite a close game now

05-07-2015, 11:27 PM
comeback is on 4-1 good goal again

05-07-2015, 11:43 PM
Just stuck a couple of quid on the draw.

What's Japanese for Gerrard?

05-07-2015, 11:44 PM
comeback is on 4-1 good goal again

Thought the goalie's positioning wasn't good. Oxley would have saved that. :duck:

05-07-2015, 11:45 PM

Captainkasi.

05-07-2015, 11:46 PM

ジェラード

Thought the goalie's positioning wasn't good. Oxley would have saved that. :duck:

she didn't have a hope of getting it :wink:

HT 4-1, time for a couple of bacon rolls

05-07-2015, 11:53 PM
I can't believe that all us guys are watching women breaking into a sweat at this time of the night. Oh wait a minute. :greengrin

Hopefully Japan can get an early goal in the second half and make it interesting.

06-07-2015, 12:03 AM
England celebrating failure.

Accepting mediocrity.

06-07-2015, 12:10 AM
Game on. 4-2

Oh well 5-2 now

06-07-2015, 12:16 AM
japanese sub looks about 3ft 7"

06-07-2015, 12:54 AM
The substitute Japanese goalie looks about 7 feet tall. Maybe they should have played her instead of playing the smallest person on the park there.

(((Fergus)))
06-07-2015, 09:24 AM
England celebrating failure.

Accepting mediocrity.

Let's just be grateful Scotland/Hibs are so far above them.

06-07-2015, 09:28 AM
Yanqui fans no better than their European counterparts, it seems.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-33405094

I suppose it was inevitable, given the way the game went.