View Full Version : Challenge Cup first round draw, today at 2:30pm. Hibernian v The Rangers

29-06-2015, 10:57 AM
****in embarrassment, disgrace, joke cup, play the kids, not paying to watch this pish I don't care etc etc etc.

Now that we've got that out of the way, who would we like for our first competitive game of the season? East Stirlingshire/Stenhousemuir away please. :aok:

29-06-2015, 11:00 AM
Sevco at ER

29-06-2015, 11:28 AM
Presenter Caroline Henderson is joined by former St Mirren star Tony Fitzpatrick and a live studio audience of football fans who have won pairs of tickets to attend the event as part of Petrofac’s Golden Ticket promotion.

People are actually seeing the draw as entertainment. Holy smoke.

29-06-2015, 12:00 PM
Some PT mob from the bottom league at home. That'll do me.

29-06-2015, 12:18 PM
Who is the closest team to England? Them away please :agree:

29-06-2015, 12:20 PM
What about the England based team?

29-06-2015, 12:23 PM
Just realised that the Falkirk based teams are for whatever reason in the North draw.. :rolleyes: Make it Clyde away then please.

29-06-2015, 12:47 PM
Is the cup top up valid for this?

29-06-2015, 12:48 PM
Is the cup top up valid for this?

29-06-2015, 12:51 PM

Cheers Matty

29-06-2015, 01:26 PM
If I'm right in thinking that the first round is July 25th then I'm on holiday, so as unattractive a tie as possible please, and certainly NOT Annan away. Thanks. :thumbsup:

29-06-2015, 01:27 PM
Anyone at home will do me.

29-06-2015, 01:37 PM
Live here;
http://petrofactrainingcup.com/news/watch-petrofac-training-cup-live-r1-draw-here

29-06-2015, 01:37 PM
Caroline - Wid.

29-06-2015, 01:39 PM
Caroline - Wid.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

29-06-2015, 01:39 PM
North Section being drawn first.

Didn't realise Edinburgh City were in the south draw

29-06-2015, 01:42 PM
Edinburgh City v Queens Park

29-06-2015, 01:43 PM
Hibs V Rangers

29-06-2015, 01:43 PM
SevCo at home.

ElginHibbie
29-06-2015, 01:44 PM
HAHAHAHAHA, what a bloody fix

**** me, not again.

Haha typical.

Should have put money on it! At least it's a home game - everyone still wanting to play the kids? :greengrin

29-06-2015, 01:45 PM
Only day I could make this one was the Saturday so no doubt they're going to move it to Monday or some ungodly time. :aok:

29-06-2015, 01:45 PM
I just knew it.

A good start for anyone with a cup top up.

29-06-2015, 01:47 PM
I could not care less about this tournament. The fact we play them at ER makes it no more important. I think we should play our fringe players

Nice wee money maker

Ya beauty. Bring it on.

Salt N Sauzee
When's the game to be played?

Saturday 25th July, but I suppose that's now subject to TV coverage.

Hibbie_Cameron
Linlithgowhibee is too blame for us drawing Rangers

25th July... probably get moved though.

Hibs V Rangers

The game will be moved for TV I would presume.

29-06-2015, 01:48 PM

Please 12:30 on Saturday. The only game scheduled to be on TV at that time is the "Intercontinental Cup", though surely no one will want to watch that pish.

29-06-2015, 01:50 PM

Friday night would do me! :greengrin

29-06-2015, 01:52 PM
I wonder if they will allow cup top ups.

andrew70
Friday night would do me! :greengrin

I'm hoping that happens in the first league fixture. Got a wedding on the 22nd then fly to Ibiza on the Sunday so Friday night it needs to be. :greengrin

Edit: just realised the guys stag is on the 25th July!! Ah well if it's the early game I can meet them in GLasgow post-match

Cant make the Saturday as still on holiday. If it's moved to the Sunday or later I'll go. Should be a decent earner for the club if nothing else.

29-06-2015, 01:53 PM

He had a shocker there.....:rolleyes:

29-06-2015, 01:53 PM
I wonder if they will allow cup top ups.

Well it is a cup so can't see why not.

29-06-2015, 01:54 PM
I could not care less about this tournament. The fact we play them at ER makes it no more important. I think we should play our fringe players

Why?

Good chance for a hard pre-season work out for our team and the opportunity to show them how much better we are than them. Yes, it is a diddy cup but a chance for a step up in preparation.

Bet you Hibs are delighted. Money to be made as well.

29-06-2015, 01:56 PM
No more than 100 tickets for them...

29-06-2015, 01:58 PM
If anything, its an extra 100k in the coffers.

MartinfaePorty
29-06-2015, 01:59 PM
I'll be in the middle of the Australian outback so they can play it whenever they like!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

29-06-2015, 02:00 PM
Why?

Good chance for a hard pre-season work out for our team and the opportunity to show them how much better we are than them. Yes, it is a diddy cup but a chance for a step up in preparation.

Bet you Hibs are delighted. Money to be made as well.

Because it's a crappy wee cup that is off no interest.

29-06-2015, 02:03 PM

So you would rather play meaningless friendlies to get our fitness up?

29-06-2015, 02:03 PM
Sevco at ER

Good shout danger mouse 👍

29-06-2015, 02:05 PM
its a good chance to beat the huns and lay down a marker for the season.

29-06-2015, 02:06 PM
It's a tricky one. Of course we want to beat them but not at the risk of any of our players sustaining any injuries. I know that they are a dirty team and they might see injuring someone as more important than the match itself.

andrew70
29-06-2015, 02:10 PM
Can almost guarantee we'll play them in the midweek after.

Hearts host Everton on same day so can't see the police letting us play the Huns.

29-06-2015, 02:12 PM

Hearts host Everton on same day so can't see the police letting us play the Huns.

Friday then please.

29-06-2015, 02:20 PM

Mr Stubbs and the players would disagree with you, they will take this crappy wee cup seriously and will want to win it.

29-06-2015, 02:24 PM

Our game is an official cup fixture. Hertz is a friendly. Get them to move.

Turkish Green
29-06-2015, 02:25 PM
Diddy wee cups are still diddy wee Cups regardless of who the opposition are. The result cannot affect the start to the league season.

29-06-2015, 02:29 PM
It's a tricky one. Of course we want to beat them but not at the risk of any of our players sustaining any injuries. I know that they are a dirty team and they might see injuring someone as more important than the match itself.

I doubt that will be on there minds when they come to play us, yes they can be a dirty side but there main aim just like us will be be to go out and win the game and don't pick up any stupid bookings or red cards will be the managers words, can't see him in his team talk saying i want that Stevenson/Cummings/Allan going home in a ambulance. :greengrin

29-06-2015, 02:31 PM
Take it it's still a 'Nothing tie', 'diddy cup', 'play the kids' scenario and those trotting out they lines won't be going, aye?

**** the Rangers

29-06-2015, 02:34 PM
Mr Stubbs and the players would disagree with you, they will take this crappy wee cup seriously and will want to win it.

Thankfully.

I want Hibs to win every game they play and thus every tournament they are in

29-06-2015, 02:39 PM
Already regretting not getting cup top up.
Should we still play the kids ?

29-06-2015, 02:41 PM
I just heard the draw for the first round.

This has gotta be a wind-up, surely?

29-06-2015, 02:44 PM

That would be a mistake IMO. It would be stupid to get any injuries, suspensions or even tiredness from playing the later stages of this p1shy competition that results in us dropping any points in the league. Promotion is a must and we can't let this p1sh get in the way of that.

Suppose now we might get beat in the first round after making a wad of cash though.

I don't accept the laying down a marker/psychological edge theory either as regularly pumping the huns in the league last season didn't do us any good when it really mattered.

29-06-2015, 02:44 PM

Mr Stubbs doesn't agree with you thankfully

29-06-2015, 02:46 PM
Take it it's still a 'Nothing tie', 'diddy cup', 'play the kids' scenario and those trotting out they lines won't be going, aye?

**** the Rangers

Aye.

29-06-2015, 02:50 PM
Aye.

Really ? This is a chance for us to stick it to them early doors. Chance to lift our confidence and dent theirs.

29-06-2015, 02:50 PM
Aye.
If you're being a wideo its going right over my head and if not can I ask why?

First competitive game in weeks, at home against that lot? Personally I cannot wait.

29-06-2015, 02:52 PM

First competitive game in weeks, at home against that lot? Personally I cannot wait.

Me neither. If we were playing them blow football I would still be there.

A cup is a cup and it's not as if we don't have the space in our cabinet.

29-06-2015, 02:53 PM

Dont think anyway we will be playing the same day as Hearts Everton. One will be moved prob to the Sunday.

29-06-2015, 02:53 PM
I'm still of the opinion that this competition should be very low on the list of priorities for Hibs but this will be a very good warm-up for the season, so we should play our first choice 11.

Given the draw, we should also get the bonus of a wee bit extra cash.

29-06-2015, 02:58 PM

Not being a wideo, to me the opposition makes no difference. It's still a p1shy competition and I still couldn't care less if we won it by scoring 7 in the final. It'd still be the challenge cup.

There is a chance that games in this competition could impact on our results in the league, and as such I don't think we should be risking any first team regulars.

29-06-2015, 03:00 PM
Not being a wideo, to me the opposition makes no difference. It's still a p1shy competition and I still couldn't care less if we won it by scoring 7 in the final. It'd still be the challenge cup.

There is a chance that games in this competition could impact on our results in the league, and as such I don't think we should be risking any first team regulars.

even pre-season?

29-06-2015, 03:01 PM
Good shout danger mouse 

Thanks Alf.

A good competitive tie to get the season started and get one over on them early. We have nothing to fear when Der Hun come calling anymore.

29-06-2015, 03:03 PM

Well we're in this pishy cup 'on merit' you could say so how pish does that make us??

29-06-2015, 03:07 PM
Thanks Alf.

A good competitive tie to get the season started and get one over on them early. We have nothing to fear when Der Hun come calling anymore.

I'm confident that we'll do them 😊 #GGTTH

29-06-2015, 03:10 PM
Lets set down an early marker and keep them in our pocket at least 5 times this season. :flag:

29-06-2015, 03:13 PM
Well we're in this pishy cup 'on merit' you could say so how pish does that make us??

I agree that we deserve to be where we are. Where I disagree is that we should risk any first team players whatsoever playing in this competition when promotion is absolutely vital.

This is probably the first and hopefully the last time i'll say this, but we should do what Hearts did last season and play the kids and concentrate on the league.

29-06-2015, 03:16 PM
Admittedly it takes on a new dimension now. Full strength team against sevco and treat it like a serious game. Kids after we beat them though.

29-06-2015, 03:18 PM
I agree that we deserve to be where we are. Where I disagree is that we should risk any first team players whatsoever playing in this competition when promotion is absolutely vital.

This is probably the first and hopefully the last time i'll say this, but we should do what Hearts did last season and play the kids and concentrate on the league.

I'd agree with this. Rangers will definately be fired up for this and the last thing we need is getting an injury to a Allan or a Fontaine before the leage has event started.

The Petrofact cup means absolutely nothing and I could not care less if we got knocked out early.

29-06-2015, 03:18 PM

How the heck are Hearts playing Everton at home and we have Stubbs with all his connections...yet we get pishy away low league friendlies. Bizarre.

Hibiza
29-06-2015, 03:19 PM
Servco (11) Scotland Ltd.

29-06-2015, 03:26 PM
I can see where Bring Back Frank and others are coming from, it is a diddy cup, but I remember this fixture last season and we were all over them and should've won that one as well, until a disgraceful decision for Handling's sending off. Dunno how I feel about this, I'm not frightened of playing Sevco at any time, and I don't think they'll be looking forward to the fixture either, but I live in the west and work evenings, so if it's a rearranged midweek game I won't be able to go anyway.

Chibs
29-06-2015, 03:27 PM
Servco (11) Scotland Ltd.

Is this a crossword clue? :greengrin

29-06-2015, 03:31 PM
Is this a crossword clue? :greengrin

and the answer is 5 letters starting with a c and ending in an s

Chibs
29-06-2015, 03:47 PM
and the answer is 5 letters starting with a c and ending in an s

You got that right.:aok:

A post from the rangers media confirms it.
GOAT

HALF-TIME, TEA-TIME, BOW-TIME!
http://rangersmedia.cl.ipsdns.com/uploads/profile/photo-thumb-9331.jpg?_r=1362338503
Club Legend
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/public/style_extra/team_icons/stare.gif
23,220 posts

Posted Today, 01:10 PM
Sket, on 29 Jun 2015 - 3:08 PM, said:http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/public/style_images/tctc91_pulse/snapback.png (http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?app=forums&module=forums&section=findpost&pid=1062758997)
Hope to **** we tell them to ram their tickets up their ****ing arse btw.

Lets hope we don't, and lets hope we sell the away end out as usual and get tore into the *******s on and off the pitch.

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 03:47 PM

I agree mate.we deserve no better so we should be treating every competition with respect until we earn the right not to be in it

patlowe
29-06-2015, 03:49 PM
It's just been pointed out to me that, after this season, we will have played the Rangers at least 12 times in two years. It's like we are the butt of some sort of sick joke after the two previous years of (relative) bliss without their presence.

29-06-2015, 03:51 PM

GOAT

http://rangersmedia.cl.ipsdns.com/uploads/profile/photo-thumb-9331.jpg?_r=1362338503
Club Legend
23,220 posts

Sket, on 29 Jun 2015 - 3:08 PM, said:http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/public/style_images/tctc91_pulse/snapback.png (http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?app=forums&module=forums&section=findpost&pid=1062758997)

Lets hope we don't, and lets hope we sell the away end out as usual and get tore into the *******s on and off the pitch.

29-06-2015, 03:57 PM
I'd agree with this. Rangers will definately be fired up for this and the last thing we need is getting an injury to a Allan or a Fontaine before the leage has event started.

The Petrofact cup means absolutely nothing and I could not care less if we got knocked out early.

This game against Rangers is ideal preparation for the league.

A proper competitive game in a decent atmosphere. The players will get much more out of it than playing a friendly.

29-06-2015, 04:00 PM
This game against Rangers is ideal preparation for the league.

A proper competitive game in a decent atmosphere. The players will get much more out of it than playing a friendly.

One of the 2 top teams in the competition will be knocked out in round 1, wonder who it will benefit in the long run, the winners or the losers

29-06-2015, 04:06 PM
Diddy cup that the youngsters should be played to gain experience but seeing it's the New team, a full strength team should be put out to hammer them and gain a psychological advantage for the rest of the season, bring it on.

29-06-2015, 04:11 PM
One of the 2 top teams in the competition will be knocked out in round 1, wonder who it will benefit in the long run, the winners or the losers

I'd use it as part of pre season to get the first team properly fit. They'll get so much more benefit from this game than from any friendly. I wonder if this was Stubbs plan regardless of the draw given we aren't exactly overloaded with friendlies?

If we progress, I'd use it to get players a game that need it.

29-06-2015, 04:18 PM
Hearts are playing Everton the same day so maybe the Hibs game will get moved to the Sunday?

Chibs
29-06-2015, 04:19 PM

And it continues.

GOAT

Club Legend
23,222 posts

Posted Today, 02:33 PM
See to top it all off aswell, we're playing a club we all despise more than anyone in Scottish football, other than the bheggers and the sheep ****gers. Anyone that says they don't care if we win this or not, need to take a look at themselves.

Bear cub1 likes this

29-06-2015, 04:19 PM
Nice wee money maker
You mean we are not having a debate first about how many tickets they should get .this should be a walk in the park for us as they will still be trying to gelll as a team ,and we will be able to field players that have a point to prove after the playoffs .
Forget about playing the kids in this one ,let's look to beat them ,and deprive them of further income from that source

29-06-2015, 04:25 PM

GOAT

Club Legend
23,220 posts

'Goat' isn't his/hers/its name - quite a prolific poster and by the standards of the posts, it's a description !

29-06-2015, 04:32 PM
'Goat' isn't his/hers/its name - quite a prolific poster and by the standards of the posts, it's a description !

Herd this one before probably ,but Goat played a great set at Glastonbury over the weekend Far more interesting .

29-06-2015, 05:24 PM
I care not a jot about this tournament and would have happily put the development team out but as we have drawn the new Rangers it's a chance to put early pressure on their new manager and new players.

29-06-2015, 05:29 PM
We pull Sevco in the Cup, and "some"don't care if we win....WOW!!!!!!!!!! A new low imo

29-06-2015, 05:33 PM
We pull Sevco in the Cup, and "some"don't care if we win....WOW!!!!!!!!!! A new low imo

Attention seekers.

29-06-2015, 05:41 PM
Attention seekers.

Aye that's one phrase I suppose:wink:

29-06-2015, 05:44 PM
Attention seekers.

What you slavering on about?

I honestly don't care about the Petrofact cup, makes no difference to me if we go out. Others may be different which is fair enough.

Bit ironic from someone with over 7000 posts on an Internet forum to class someone as an attention seeker for providing an opinion.

29-06-2015, 05:51 PM
Wee word in the tache's ear.

If Scott Allan lines up for the new Rangers, the Hibs areas will be empty.

End of.

29-06-2015, 05:55 PM
I'd like us to try and win the game, but as last year when we lost through there in Glasgow, i'd not be bothered in the slightest if we lost.

This season promotion is a must, winning this trophy is way down the club's list of priorities.

29-06-2015, 06:04 PM
I'd like us to try and win the game, but as last year when we lost through there in Glasgow, i'd not be bothered in the slightest if we lost.

This season promotion is a must, winning this trophy is way down the club's list of priorities.

It's not about winning a trophy though is it.It's about laying down a marker for the season.We don't want to lose and be the ones to say it doesn't matter do we?

29-06-2015, 06:09 PM

I honestly don't care about the Petrofact cup, makes no difference to me if we go out. Others may be different which is fair enough.

Bit ironic from someone with over 7000 posts on an Internet forum to class someone as an attention seeker for providing an opinion.

29-06-2015, 06:13 PM
It's not about winning a trophy though is it.It's about laying down a marker for the season.We don't want to lose and be the ones to say it doesn't matter do we?

We lost in this game last year, what kind of a marker did sevco lay down by winning that night? :confused:

29-06-2015, 06:15 PM
We lost in this game last year, what kind of a marker did sevco lay down by winning that night? :confused:

I know what yer saying but I think this is different.

29-06-2015, 06:19 PM

I dont think winning or losing this game will make any difference over the course of the season. If we win we might play a few more games, but if we dont go as far in the league cup and Scottish cup it could even itself out.

Of course we all want to beat them, but in the grand scheme of things this game is way down in the club's priorities this season.

29-06-2015, 06:21 PM

Let's all be honest, it's not the biggest of competitions but a cup is a cup and our priority should be going out to win every game and if that means success in the Petrofact then that's fine with me

29-06-2015, 06:27 PM
Hibs v The Rangers in any cup is a game I want to see and in my opinion is a massive marker to put down by beating them.

29-06-2015, 06:35 PM
I want us to win no matter what cup it is. A great start to the season is what we need.

29-06-2015, 06:41 PM
Hibs v The Rangers in any cup is a game I want to see and in my opinion is a massive marker to put down by beating them.

29-06-2015, 06:42 PM

Why would any Hibs fan, not be bothered if we lost a game?

29-06-2015, 06:44 PM
Wee word in the tache's ear.

If Scott Allan lines up for the new Rangers, the Hibs areas will be empty.

End of.

Two things to highlight here:

1) Does LD now sport a tache?
2) We WILL NOT be selling SA to Derhun

OK?:aok:

29-06-2015, 06:46 PM
Two things to highlight here:

1) Does LD now sport a tache?
2) We WILL NOT be selling SA to Derhun

OK?:aok:

Should they not be called The Derhun now? Or Derhun 5088?

29-06-2015, 06:47 PM
Should they not be called The Derhun now? Or Derhun 5088?

Sorry R, Sevco then.....

29-06-2015, 07:03 PM
Why would any Hibs fan, not be bothered if we lost a game?

Of course every Hibs supporter is disappointed when their team loses a football match.

But IMHO it's a question of the degree of how disappointed, and how important the particular fixture happens to be. For example, I would rather Hibs lost to The Huns in the Challenge Cup than, lets say, a play off game at the end of the season. Which of the two would you say was the more important?

You seem to place a great deal of importance on this tournament, but like it or not, many others do not.

And yes, I will attend this particular fixture and of course hope Hibs win. If it had been one of the tournament big guns like Edinburgh City, then possibly not. No offence meant to Edinburgh City - a fine club.

It's not the end of the world if Hibs lose this fixture, because (as I've posted previously) I firmly believe this competition should come come right at the bottom of this club's order of priorities for this crucial season, i.e. crucial that Hibs get promotion at the end of this season. That's far more important than this unimportant competition, in the greater scheme of things.

29-06-2015, 07:07 PM
No way will this be a Saturday 3pm.......

29-06-2015, 07:09 PM
I'm very much of the opinion, if we're in it, let's try and win it

29-06-2015, 07:11 PM
Of course every Hibs supporter is disappointed when their team loses a football match.

But IMHO it's a question of the degree of how disappointed, and how important the particular fixture happens to be. For example, I would rather Hibs lost to The Huns in the Challenge Cup than, lets say, a play off game at the end of the season. Which of the two would you say was the more important?

You seem to place a great deal of importance on this tournament, but like it or not, many others do not.

And yes, I will attend this particular fixture and of course hope Hibs win. If it had been one of the tournament big guns like Edinburgh City, then possibly not. No offence meant to Edinburgh City - a fine club.

It's not the end of the world if Hibs lose this fixture, because (as I've posted previously) I firmly believe this competition should come come right at the bottom of this club's order of priorities for this crucial season, i.e. crucial that Hibs get promotion at the end of this season. That's far more important than this unimportant competition, in the greater scheme of things.

Read Stubbs views on the game, they won't be taking it lightly, nor should they.....

I want Hibs to win EVERY game they play in.......

29-06-2015, 07:12 PM
I'm very much of the opinion, if we're in it, let's try and win it

Indeed:agree:

29-06-2015, 07:12 PM
Read Stubbs views on the game, they won't be taking it lightly, nor should they.....

This :agree:

29-06-2015, 07:25 PM
OK let's summarise the summer..... For the record I am not calling any of the naysayers out in this post.

We have a whole load a fans complaining we are too soft as a club and need to stand up for our selves more.
There are fans complaining we might take this tournament seriously.

Our biggest rivals in the league this year and the excuse is "Not a trophy I'd lose sleep over"

So it's ok to be selective about our internal fortitude or do we play every game to win?

Imagine the chant from the East, "We don't care if we go out today" That's setting the benchmark for the team.

Then we get to the players. Development team runs out and gets humped 0-9 by the F£$%^&g H***. No worry lads - we'll still support you evermore? Aye right. This place would be in meltdown. The Rangers are everything that's wrong with Scottish Football. Giving them their erse to play with in the first game should only be the first priority.

29-06-2015, 07:26 PM
Everyone who goes should get double loyalty points

29-06-2015, 07:28 PM

I wouldn't expect Stubbs to say anything else. He's never going to state publicly that Hibs will take this, or any other tournament, lightly.

I also want Hibs to win EVERY game they play in.

What I'm saying is that the Challenge Cup isn't, and shouldn't, be this club's priority. Nowhere near it. It should be bottom of the priorities this season.

29-06-2015, 07:36 PM
OK let's summarise the summer..... For the record I am not calling any of the naysayers out in this post.

We have a whole load a fans complaining we are too soft as a club and need to stand up for our selves more.
There are fans complaining we might take this tournament seriously.

Our biggest rivals in the league this year and the excuse is "Not a trophy I'd lose sleep over"

So it's ok to be selective about our internal fortitude or do we play every game to win?

Imagine the chant from the East, "We don't care if we go out today" That's setting the benchmark for the team.

Then we get to the players. Development team runs out and gets humped 0-9 by the F£$%^&g H***. No worry lads - we'll still support you evermore? Aye right. This place would be in meltdown. The Rangers are everything that's wrong with Scottish Football. Giving them their erse to play with in the first game should only be the first priority.

29-06-2015, 07:36 PM
I wouldn't expect Stubbs to say anything else. He's never going to state publicly that Hibs will take this, or any other tournament, lightly.

I also want Hibs to win EVERY game they play in.

What I'm saying is that the Challenge Cup isn't, and shouldn't, be this club's priority. Nowhere near it. It should be bottom of the priorities this season.

Was AS lying then? Interesting:cb

29-06-2015, 07:37 PM
Everyone who goes should get double loyalty points

You and your points:wink:

29-06-2015, 07:40 PM
Hibs priority should be to try and win every competition they enter. Lets not start dismissing certain cups like the maroon goons do. Winning and success breeds more.

29-06-2015, 07:41 PM
Hibs priority should be to try and win every competition they enter. Lets not start dismissing certain cups like the maroon goons do. Winning and success breeds more.

Exactly, winning games early is a great trait, and will make us hungrier, and more confident.....

29-06-2015, 07:48 PM

No, he wasn't lying, as far as I know. Why would he tell lies? He was saying what any manager would say to the media IMHO.

But I wonder what AS would prefer? Winning promotion this season, or winning the Challenge Cup? Maybe ask AS which he, the CEO, the Hibs board and the Hibs support would prefer.

I think I know what the answer to that question would be. That's what I mean by priorities.

29-06-2015, 07:49 PM
Not read the thread but I for one am looking forward to this.

It's a chance to beat Rangers, a chance to make ourselves hot favourites for a trophy and a chance to land the 1st psychological blow in a huge season.

Bring it on and **** the Rangers.

29-06-2015, 07:51 PM

It didn't do them any harm last season.

I've heard from a Hearts supporter that what Levein says, goes, at PBS. That came from him last season. He was not interested in the Challenge cup.

29-06-2015, 08:00 PM
It didn't do them any harm last season.

I've heard from a Hearts supporter that what Levein says, goes, at PBS. That came from him last season. He was not interested in the Challenge cup.

Couldn't give a flying ****, I want my team to try and win every comp they enter. Always been my opinion even with Liverpool.

linlithgowhibbie
29-06-2015, 08:02 PM

Guilty as charged!!!!!!:gwa:

29-06-2015, 08:03 PM

He's a football manager, they ALL lie. I'd say he's being very economical with the truth, yes he like all of us wants to win the tie. Yet if we lose but get promoted, nobody will be remotely bothered about losing a first round tie in the petrofac cup.

29-06-2015, 08:09 PM
Couldn't give a flying ****, I want my team to try and win every comp they enter. Always been my opinion even with Liverpool.

That's fine, you're entitled to your opinion. It's not shared by many I'm afraid, because a lot of Hibs supporters (and supporters I know of some other clubs) couldn't give a flying **** about this tournament either.

I seem to be having trouble getting my point across here. If Hibs win this second rate tournament then that's fine too. My point is simply this. It's not as important as winning promotion this season, winning the Scottish FA Cup, or the Scottish League Cup. In that order.

This competition, for me anyway, comes bottom of the list.

29-06-2015, 08:13 PM
That's fine, you're entitled to your opinion. It's not shared by many I'm afraid, because a lot of Hibs supporters (and supporters I know of some other clubs) couldn't give a flying **** about this tournament either.

I seem to be having trouble getting my point across here. If Hibs win this second rate tournament then that's fine too. My point is simply this. It's not as important as winning promotion this season, winning the Scottish FA Cup, or the Scottish League Cup. In that order.

Thats it pretty well summed up for me, would still like to win it though, but won't lose sleep over it if i dont.

29-06-2015, 08:14 PM

Why didn't you just say that then ;-)

29-06-2015, 08:15 PM
Thats it pretty well summed up for me, would still like to win it though, but won't lose sleep over it if i dont.

:agree: :aok:

29-06-2015, 08:16 PM
Why didn't you just say that then ;-)

Cos I'm a donkey. :greengrin :aok:

29-06-2015, 08:17 PM

Strange post...I've not read one post where anyone has put this cup before promotion but plenty saying that winning it would be good for the club and would spur the team on to promotion if a winning mentality was created...think negative then ultimately your aspirations are low

29-06-2015, 08:20 PM
Correct

29-06-2015, 08:23 PM
Strange post...I've not read one post where anyone has put this cup before promotion but plenty saying that winning it would be good for the club and would spur the team on to promotion if a winning mentality was created...think negative then ultimately your aspirations are low

Some good points, although there are a lot of clubs who blood a few of their youngsters in the early rounds of the league cup.

This cup is below the league and Scottish cup, i don't think there is any denying this. I'd have thought if we'd drawn one of the minnows in this, we'd have done the same.

The draw pretty much knocks that on the head.

Hibbie_Cameron
29-06-2015, 08:28 PM
Guilty as charged!!!!!!:gwa:

To be fair you never looked best pleased:greengrin

29-06-2015, 08:34 PM

Strange in what way? You seem to have totally missed the point I'm making.

It's got nothing whatsoever with thinking negatively. My point all along has been about the club's priorities, in which the Challenge Cup comes bottom IMHO.

My hopes and aspirations are very high - that means winning promotion. That is a far higher aspiration, and takes priority over, what is effectively a competition for lower league teams. Once Hibs are back in the Premier division nobody will give this tournament a second thought.

Winning the Challenge Cup may, or may not, as you say "spur the team on to promotion if a winning mentality was created". Who knows? It would be great if it did. Is that positive enough?

On the "negative" side though, what if Hibs get beaten by The Rangers in the first round? Would that mean Hibs would not win promotion? Of course not. What nonsense.

EDIT: Time for me to call it a day on this I think.

linlithgowhibbie
29-06-2015, 08:59 PM
To be fair you never looked best pleased:greengrin

We drew Clyde at ER in the practice draw with Sevco going to St Mirren. Tony Fitzpatrick thought it was the real draw and was delighted till he was reminded it was a practice!!!

PS 10/10 for Tony F he was a true gent and dead easy to talk to. Said to me " I wish I had your height as a player," I replied that I wish I had had his ability when I played!!!

:gwa:

29-06-2015, 09:12 PM
We drew Clyde at ER in the practice draw with Sevco going to St Mirren. Tony Fitzpatrick thought it was the real draw and was delighted till he was reminded it was a practice!!!

PS 10/10 for Tony F he was a true gent and dead easy to talk to. Said to me " I wish I had your height as a player," I replied that I wish I had had his ability when I played!!!

Good job Brian, did you get to keep the petrofac t-shirt? Any other goodies?

29-06-2015, 09:14 PM
Strange in what way? You seem to have totally missed the point I'm making.

It's got nothing whatsoever with thinking negatively. My point all along has been about the club's priorities, in which the Challenge Cup comes bottom IMHO.

My hopes and aspirations are very high - that means winning promotion. That is a far higher aspiration, and takes priority over, what is effectively a competition for lower league teams. Once Hibs are back in the Premier division nobody will give this tournament a second thought.

Winning the Challenge Cup may, or may not, as you say "spur the team on to promotion if a winning mentality was created". Who knows? It would be great if it did. Is that positive enough?

On the "negative" side though, what if Hibs get beaten by The Rangers in the first round? Would that mean Hibs would not win promotion? Of course not. What nonsense.

EDIT: Time for me to call it a day on this I think.

It's a trophy, and may very well be the first of our quadrupole ?:flag:

29-06-2015, 09:24 PM
Some good points, although there are a lot of clubs who blood a few of their youngsters in the early rounds of the league cup.

This cup is below the league and Scottish cup, i don't think there is any denying this. I'd have thought if we'd drawn one of the minnows in this, we'd have done the same.

The draw pretty much knocks that on the head.

I'm not so sure we would have. There is only 3 games listed for the first team in pre season. I think Stubbs might have been planning to field a near full team and use it to get them ready for the first league game regardless of the draw.

Be interesting to see how he treats it if we progress.

linlithgowhibbie
29-06-2015, 09:29 PM
Good job Brian, did you get to keep the petrofac t-shirt? Any other goodies?

Yes, Scabby Petrofact T shirt and also blagged the leather ball off the counter. Tried to get a couple of hospitality tkts for the tie off the Hibs director who was there (name slips my mind but he was quite pleasant/polite) with no success!!!!

All the Petrofact guys were pleasant as was my co presenter in red:wink::agree::thumbsup:.

Also spoke to Ian Murray who was really pleasant as always.(except when he gave us the fingers at hunbrox!!!)

PS spoke to Airdrie, QoTS, DAFC, FFC and Annan fans who all said they wanted us to beat the gers. Then spoke to two sevco fans ,,,,, they were almost polite but didn't want us !

Me and the missus are going to be in the Buddies match day magazine hopefully when Hibs visit, the St Mirren officials were really nice folk

29-06-2015, 09:34 PM
Yes, Scabby Petrofact T shirt and also blagged the leather ball off the counter. Tried to get a couple of hospitality tkts for the tie off the Hibs director who was there (name slips my mind but he was quite pleasant/polite) with no success!!!!

All the Petrofact guys were pleasant as was my co presenter in red:wink::agree::thumbsup:.

Also spoke to Ian Murray who was really pleasant as always.(except when he gave us the fingers at hunbrox!!!)

PS spoke to Airdrie, QoTS, DAFC, FFC and Annan fans who all said they wanted us to beat the gers. Then spoke to two sevco fans ,,,,, they were almost polite but didn't want us !

Me and the missus are going to be in the Buddies match day magazine hopefully when Hibs visit, the St Mirren officials were really nice folk

Excellent, not everyday you get to do a football draw.....

linlithgowhibbie
29-06-2015, 09:40 PM
Excellent, not everyday you get to do a football draw.....

Still got my hand in the fridge after burning it on the current buns baw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GRANTON_HIBS
29-06-2015, 09:43 PM
I'd like to see us playing our strongest team and beating the vermin, then not showing any more interest in the cup by playing our 19s in the future rounds

29-06-2015, 10:42 PM
It's a trophy, and may very well be the first of our quadrupole ?:flag:

I like this chat, we go out to win every game and we can have 4 open top bus processions down ER next season. :agree: :greengrin

29-06-2015, 10:44 PM
I like this chat, we go out to win every game and we can have 4 open top bus processions down ER next season. :agree: :greengrin

Fab, would even shout you and suzy to a V&C.........:greengrin

29-06-2015, 10:45 PM
So what will the prices be for this game. £12 adult, £6 concessions.

That seems fair enough.

29-06-2015, 10:54 PM

That seems fair enough.

:worms::greengrin

29-06-2015, 11:03 PM

That seems fair enough.

Surely free for ST holders who are uberfans and support the club regardless. The rest can pay to subsidise us.

29-06-2015, 11:20 PM

You missed 16 V&C :greengrin Each.

29-06-2015, 11:23 PM
:worms::greengrin

:cb

29-06-2015, 11:46 PM

That seems fair enough.

Those with 300 points get in for free. :hyper

30-06-2015, 12:53 AM

**** the Rangers

:agree: **** the Sevco.

Buzzing for this tie in a few weeks! :thumbsup:

We're gonnae hump The Rangers!

30-06-2015, 06:31 AM

Greedy pair:greengrin

30-06-2015, 07:28 AM

That seems fair enough.

I would expect no more than 15 and 5 for the first round of the challenge cup?

30-06-2015, 09:16 AM
I would expect no more than 15 and 5 for the first round of the challenge cup?

Is this game included in cup top up ?

woodythehibee
30-06-2015, 09:26 AM
Is this game included in cup top up ?

It's a cup game so I would expect it to.

30-06-2015, 09:34 AM
I hope we hammer Rangers. But ONLY as I think it will give us an edge over them for the upcoming season.

However, I wouldn't mind going out in the next round. People surely can't count this as a cup to be celebrated, should we win it. Cups worth winning are ones that have all the teams in it, including the top teams.

And it's not because I think Hibs are too big for it. I don't think the likes of Alloa, Livingston etc should count it as a major honour if they win it.

30-06-2015, 09:49 AM
I hope we hammer Rangers. But ONLY as I think it will give us an edge over them for the upcoming season.

However, I wouldn't mind going out in the next round. People surely can't count this as a cup to be celebrated, should we win it. Cups worth winning are ones that have all the teams in it, including the top teams.

And it's not because I think Hibs are too big for it. I don't think the likes of Alloa, Livingston etc should count it as a major honour if they win it.

Cups worth winning are the ones that we're in, IMHO.

We're not going to be releasing a DVD or commemorative shirts or that, but we need to get experience of winning competitions so we should take advantage of this opportunity and go and win it.

We haven't performed to expectations for a number of years (the majority of last season excluded), here is a tournament where there are two, maybe three clubs if you include St Mirren, with a distinct quality advantage over the rest of the competitors.

If we win it, we will get experience of playing and winning a semi-final and a final. Something we've struggled with consistently over my lifetime.

The Rangers fans will expect to win it, the expectations at The Rangers, Hearts, Celtc, and probably Aberdeen now is that they win their games - even if that expectation is unrealistic, it's still there.

We shouldn't have a culture where we pick and choose when we're going to compete or win games, we need a culture where when there is something up for grabs, we are the ones that grab it.

Winning is, if cliches are to be believed, a habit, so consciously doing something that breaks that habit probably isn't a route to go down.

Go out to win, no matter the competition, no matter the opposition. If you take that approach then you set expectations and standards that are aimed at success.

30-06-2015, 11:13 AM

Never helped the huns last season as we proceeded to skelp them in retaliation for their cup win over us :greengrin MULTIPLE times :thumbsup:

Anyways, I suggest we start as we mean to go on and as we left off....by playing those sectarian, biggoted shower of unemployable radges off the park and onto the scrap heap.

Their going bust would be sweeter if we they didn't record a single win against us over a whole season :aok:

30-06-2015, 11:42 AM
I won't be able to attend as I will be on holiday. However, I hope the Club actually put our opponent's proper name on the scoreboard unlike last season! It is 'The Rangers' not 'Rangers'.

01-07-2015, 06:17 AM
Rumours that the hearts v Everton friendly will be moved or postponed as our game takes priority.

01-07-2015, 06:47 AM
Another rumour doing the rounds is that Hibs game will be on the Sunday live on BBC Alba.

01-07-2015, 06:53 AM
Another rumour doing the rounds is that Hibs game will be on the Sunday live on BBC Alba.

I don't think it will be the Saturday 3pm that's for sure.

01-07-2015, 07:43 AM

I guess by that logic that the only league worth winning is the one with all the top teams?

01-07-2015, 07:48 AM
I guess by that logic that the only league worth winning is the one with all the top teams?

Good shout, let's play a weakened side every week, as we shouldn't even be participating in this league. Let's hope for reconstruction:greengrin:greengrin

01-07-2015, 09:49 AM

:tee hee: Still waiting on Choo Choo getting them in :rolleyes: :greengrin

01-07-2015, 09:57 AM

Or perhaps the league we are in is worth winning as it puts you back in the top league in the country?

Comparable to winning the Petrofact cup of course which obviously reaps a similar reward.

Scottiedog007
01-07-2015, 10:29 AM
Pie and Bovril retweeted
Heart of Midlothian ‏@JamTarts 18m18 minutes ago
Folks, due to the Petrofac Cup draw, our friendly v Everton will be moving from Sat 25th July. More details to follow.

01-07-2015, 10:41 AM
Pie and Bovril retweeted
Folks, due to the Petrofac Cup draw, our friendly v Everton will be moving from Sat 25th July. More details to follow.

Good.

01-07-2015, 10:46 AM
Pie and Bovril retweeted

Saturday 3pm would be nice

01-07-2015, 11:09 AM
@jamiekborthwick: Hibs v Rangers Petrofac Training Cup match moved to 12.30 kick off Sat 25th. Hearts v Everton friendly at Tynecastle to move day as result.

Scottiedog007
01-07-2015, 11:12 AM
oh well looks like it will be pub at 9am before this fixture now early start travelling from the west !!!

01-07-2015, 11:46 AM
@jamiekborthwick: Hibs v Rangers Petrofac Training Cup match moved to 12.30 kick off Sat 25th. Hearts v Everton friendly at Tynecastle to move day as result.

Oh dear, that's folks' boozing time reduced

:duck:

Do any of you stattos out there know Hibs win ratio for Saturday lunchtime kick-offs?

01-07-2015, 12:04 PM
Going on holiday from Falkirk to Lochgoilhead same day so this is the perfect kick off time for me. Plenty of time to get to the game and drive up. :aok:

01-07-2015, 12:22 PM
Or perhaps the league we are in is worth winning as it puts you back in the top league in the country?

Comparable to winning the Petrofact cup of course which obviously reaps a similar reward.

Ofcourse it is worth winning.Howeverit was said that the cup was not worth winning as it did not have the top teams in it.Same logic applies. Ipersonally want Hibsto win absolutely every game they pay.By extension that means I want them to win the Petrofac. Again,quite obviously if given the choice between the two,Iwould go for the league but I would not be unhappy to see us win the Petrofac too.

01-07-2015, 12:24 PM
oh well looks like it will be pub at 9am before this fixture now early start travelling from the west !!!

11am in the BTG will be early enough for me. Three pints and I'm anybody's. Well almost.

01-07-2015, 12:28 PM
Has the game been confirmed as 12.30 or is it a rumour?

01-07-2015, 12:30 PM
Has the game been confirmed as 12.30 or is it a rumour?

1230 confirmed Saturday 25th July.

01-07-2015, 12:41 PM
1230 confirmed Saturday 25th July.

Do you get BBC Alba in England? im in York that weekend

01-07-2015, 12:48 PM

I'm afraid not :na na:

01-07-2015, 12:51 PM
I'm afraid not :na na:

Surely I can through my virgin media online account?

01-07-2015, 02:37 PM

Yep, never had a problem.

01-07-2015, 03:31 PM
Hope the pricing's sensible

01-07-2015, 03:50 PM
Hope the pricing's sensible

As it's such a valid competition for Hibs to be in, I expect it'll be Category A pricing.

:devil:

01-07-2015, 03:52 PM
Anyone got a clue where I'd be able to watch in Oludeniz, Hisaronu or Fetiyhe in Turkey? I'm away on honeymoon 😡

01-07-2015, 03:56 PM
Anyone got a clue where I'd be able to watch in Oludeniz, Hisaronu or Fetiyhe in Turkey? I'm away on honeymoon 

And you plan on watching the TV?!?!?!

:shocked:

01-07-2015, 03:56 PM
Is this included in your cup top up?

01-07-2015, 04:06 PM
Is this included in your cup top up?

Yes

01-07-2015, 05:08 PM
And you plan on watching the TV?!?!?!