View Full Version : Jamie McDonald (signs for Kilmarnock)

21-06-2015, 03:19 PM
will sign for Hibs at some point next week.

21-06-2015, 03:20 PM

i really hope not

21-06-2015, 03:20 PM
Interesting........

21-06-2015, 03:23 PM
i really hope not

Why?

21-06-2015, 03:23 PM
Good signing.

21-06-2015, 03:26 PM
If memory serves, thon Pistol laddie has got a few right before. Interesting.

hibeeleicester
21-06-2015, 03:27 PM
Was on the cards from last year. Will be happening.

Matt92
21-06-2015, 03:27 PM
I've always liked him?? Good shot-stopper although maybe a bit blunder-prone sometimes. He always showed real class whenever playing against us given all the stick he used to get, always took it with a smile on his face.

We could do much worse, he IMO is better than the Championship.

Hibstrooper
21-06-2015, 03:30 PM
I always thought he was over rated on here. Would much rather Williams however will get my full support if it turns out to be true

21-06-2015, 03:30 PM
Why?

cause

21-06-2015, 03:31 PM
Thought he was Killie bound Pete ?

Better option than Oxley or Williams.

He was very, very close to signing last year so wouldn't surprise me at all.

21-06-2015, 03:33 PM
Believe it when I see it.

Stokesy's on fire
21-06-2015, 03:33 PM
Not a bad shout more chance of zaluska signing though

21-06-2015, 03:35 PM
Thought he was Killie bound Pete ?

Andy , there was a 3 year contact on the table for him but nothing has been signed as of yet...

21-06-2015, 03:36 PM
Andy , there was a 3 year contact on the table for him but nothing has been signed as of yet...

Cool mate :aok:

I'd take him , Very reliable decent keeper.

21-06-2015, 03:38 PM
Cool mate :aok:

I'd take him , Very reliable decent keeper.

yeh so would I.. Regardless if he used to play for Her7z

21-06-2015, 03:42 PM
yeh so would I.. Regardless if he used to play for Her7z

Plus MacDonald signing for us would make many of my hearts mates seething. :wink:

Iceman1875
21-06-2015, 03:53 PM
I can't stand him but if he helps us win the league then I'll get over it [emoji23]

At Easter Road we play...

21-06-2015, 03:56 PM
He can show all our players his cup medal whilst doing the 5-1. I will be raging if we sign him. He's a **** keeper and a hearts *******.

21-06-2015, 03:57 PM
Least it would mean we couldn't play against him.

Always been excellent against us and can't say i watched many other falkirk games last season. Season before hearts fans I know rated him.

21-06-2015, 03:59 PM
He can show all our players his cup medal whilst doing the 5-1. I will be raging if we sign him. He's a **** keeper and a hearts *******.

Couldn't agree more ! :greengrin

21-06-2015, 04:00 PM
Least it would mean we couldn't play against him.

Always been excellent against us and can't say i watched many other falkirk games last season. Season before hearts fans I know rated him.

I watched him lose his team the cup final

21-06-2015, 04:03 PM
Would prefer Ben Williams as I think he is a better keeper and not a Jambo but would take McDonald, decent keeper.

GlasgowHibee
21-06-2015, 04:13 PM
Decent keeper but has his limitations, just watch the cup-final highlights.

liamh2202
21-06-2015, 04:15 PM
Can't help but be underwhelmed by all the suggested keepers we are signing. Would definitely take oxley or Williams before the other two though

21-06-2015, 04:17 PM
We were linked with him last season and when we didn't sign him stubbs said we were never interesed.

I'd be very disappointed if we signed him. He's pish

21-06-2015, 04:17 PM
He's made some amazing saves against us over the years but is error-prone and sold the jerseys in the cup final.

If signing, he should be a decent enough option for the Championship and he'll be relatively cheap.

21-06-2015, 04:20 PM
Hopefully his superhuman performances every time he plays at Easter Road extend to when he plays for us.
Would rather have Williams or oxley.

21-06-2015, 04:20 PM
No thanks

21-06-2015, 04:22 PM
He's *****.

Bronson
21-06-2015, 04:26 PM
Please no, we can and should do better.

21-06-2015, 04:35 PM
I was talking to my Falkirk-supporting mate about him the other day.

He's not too unhappy to see him leave, reckons they can do better. He wasn't awful for them, was generally decent and had a few great games but the howler in the cup final has tipped it the other way for him.

21-06-2015, 04:36 PM
First **** up he makes and the fans will be on him constantly. Don't rate him myself and don't think this is a good move.

21-06-2015, 04:39 PM
We can do better haha. Have folk seen our goalies over the last 10 years. He is an ok goalie, not brilliant, not rubbish. I think he will do a decent job for us without breaking the bank if its true.

21-06-2015, 04:41 PM
The boo boys will be happy with that news.

21-06-2015, 04:41 PM
No thanks

21-06-2015, 04:42 PM
We can do better haha. Have folk seen our goalies over the last 10 years. He is an ok goalie, not brilliant, not rubbish. I think he will do a decent job for us without breaking the bank if its true.

Is that the standard we're setting these days? We seem to be aiming a bit higher with the players we've signed since Stubbs arrived, why should we settle for a stop gap keeper like him unless he's going to be 2nd choice.

liamh2202
21-06-2015, 04:45 PM

Yes and jamie MacDonald is not the standard we should be aiming for. We had better last season

21-06-2015, 04:47 PM
Is that the standard we're setting these days? We seem to be aiming a bit higher with the players we've signed since Stubbs arrived, why should we settle for a stop gap keeper like him unless he's going to be 2nd choice.

We don't have an infinite amount of money, considering how much we dominate games in this league maybe he's decided to go for a cheap goalie that we know is more than capable at this level and the difference us better spent on other areas of the pitch?

If McDonald had never played for hearts I don't think there'd be so much negativity about him abd I doubt Stubbs will let that cloud his judgement.

21-06-2015, 04:51 PM
He's a pishy hearts tramp. No thanks

21-06-2015, 04:53 PM
The Hearts ******* can get to ****.

21-06-2015, 04:54 PM
Hope no . Only looks decent against us . but wasn't to clever when we drew 3-3 last season .

Ryan69
21-06-2015, 04:55 PM
Yes and jamie MacDonald is not the standard we should be aiming for. We had better last season

Absolutely no chance Oxley is better! Oxley couldnt catch a cold standing naked in Siberia mate.

Id be very interested to know also how many games the first shot on target against him was a goal? Its unbelievable how often this happened! And when the score is 0-0....It kind of messes things up a little! Oxley was a liability that instilled absolutely no confidence with his defenders or the fans!

21-06-2015, 04:55 PM
As our back up keeper fair enough. First choice I'd be hoping for better.

21-06-2015, 04:57 PM
We don't have an infinite amount of money, considering how much we dominate games in this league maybe he's decided to go for a cheap goalie that we know is more than capable at this level and the difference us better spent on other areas of the pitch?

If McDonald had never played for hearts I don't think there'd be so much negativity about him abd I doubt Stubbs will let that cloud his judgement.

Other teams seem to be able to bring in better keepers for less money. He's a keeper who is prone to mistakes(frequent mistakes) and is tainted by his association with that mob. If he was a great player who would make me forget he'd played for them then I could maybe find it easier to take, but he's not, he's bang average, when we're looking for quality.

21-06-2015, 04:58 PM
Absolutely no chance Oxley is better! Oxley couldnt catch a cold standing naked in Siberia mate.

Id be very interested to know also how many games the first shot on target against him was a goal? Its unbelievable how often this happened! And when the score is 0-0....It kind of messes things up a little! Oxley was a liability that instilled absolutely no confidence with his defenders or the fans!

Do you think McDonald would fare any better?

21-06-2015, 04:58 PM
Rather play with ten men and nae keeper than sign that Hearts ****

dmc1875
21-06-2015, 05:05 PM
Well if it happens he will get my full support.

21-06-2015, 05:06 PM

I think McDonald is better than Oxley and would do better.

In saying that, despite all my defence of him, after thinking about it I do agree it'd be better all round if he didn't sign, he'd be an instantly unpopular player abd any mistake would be pounced upon. I don't think it's healthy for keepers to have that sort of pressure on them.

21-06-2015, 05:07 PM

They were hardly howlers, what about the defending for the goals, that was worse especially for the 2nd

He was also the 1 that got them into the final.

21-06-2015, 05:09 PM
I think McDonald is better than Oxley and would do better.

In saying that, despite all my defence of him, after thinking about it I do agree it'd be better all round if he didn't sign, he'd be an instantly unpopular player abd any mistake would be pounced upon. I don't think it's healthy for keepers to have that sort of pressure on them.

If he was good enough then he wouldn't have that pressure. Football fans are fickle(even me believe it or not:greengrin) and only want to see a winning team.

21-06-2015, 05:10 PM
They were hardly howlers, what about the defending for the goals, that was worse especially for the 2nd

I think they were howlers,if you asked him in sure he would say he should've stopped both of them.

Pat 0-7
21-06-2015, 05:12 PM
Not for me. There must be better keepers out there.

21-06-2015, 05:15 PM
At least he'll take the heat off LS 😀

21-06-2015, 05:18 PM
Neither up nor down if he does or doesn't sign. I said last year he was better than what we had. His howler in the final is the same as at least 2 of the Falkirk goals in "that semi". Keeper saves but puts it back into a dangerous area. I liked Ben but to compare like for like he's one worse off in the against column.

21-06-2015, 05:27 PM
Judging by the comments here, it seems JM would be walking a tightrope without a net in every game he played for us. I hope there's no substance in the rumour.

liamh2202
21-06-2015, 05:28 PM

Definitely howlers

Ryan69
21-06-2015, 05:28 PM

Id rather we didnt go for McDonald....but he certainly installs more confidence than Oxley.

Im sure there must be a descent Goalkeeper that is just needing that chance somewhere! We live in hope!

21-06-2015, 05:31 PM
Well if it happens he will get my full support.

If Alan Stubbs thinks he can do the business here, then he has my full backing.

21-06-2015, 05:36 PM
He'll have my support until he makes one fairly basic error: then he will be hounded mercilessly and uncompromisingly from that point on.

21-06-2015, 05:38 PM
I've always felt he struggled at crosses but was a decent shot stopper. It was always covered as the Yams had big centre halves to make up for this deficiency.

I don't want him simply because of his history. I think he would do a decent job but surely we can find a keeper in our budget that will do the same that wasn't part of the opposing team in that final.

21-06-2015, 05:52 PM
He'll have my support until he makes one fairly basic error: then he will be hounded mercilessly and uncompromisingly from that point on.

My problem is that if Keating's misses a sitter and McDonald lets one in, who should I direct my foul mother tirade towards? Do we really need this sort of stress? Sometimes I wish Liam Craig had signed on again.

woodythehibee
21-06-2015, 05:59 PM
I think he's murder. Nothing to do with him being a former hearts player, based purely on ability.

liamh2202
21-06-2015, 06:05 PM
I think he's murder. Nothing to do with him being a former hearts player, based purely on ability.

Yeh I'm with you on this

AL-Qaholik
21-06-2015, 06:06 PM
If we are serious about winning this division, we need FAR better than him! Regardless of his Hertz****ness, he simply isn't good enough. He MIGHT be slightly more capable of dealing with crosses than Oxley but, IMO, neither are good enough to be our first choice keeper.

Hibby Gav
21-06-2015, 06:08 PM
[QUOTE=lord bunberry;4400439]My problem is that if Keating's misses a sitter and McDonald lets one in, who should I direct my foul mother tirade towards?

the poor coaching at the pbs !

21-06-2015, 06:08 PM
He's a total flapper in my opinion. The fact that he's a hearts prick doesn't help but his ability is very questionable too. No better than Williams or Oxley.

21-06-2015, 06:28 PM
I'd be underwhelmed if we sign MacDonald.

He's a solid enough keeper based on his games against us, but I have faith that we can find better.

And as others have pointed out he'll have the boo boys on his back as soon as he makes his first mistake.

21-06-2015, 06:30 PM
I think he is a very decent keeper and much better than Oxley

21-06-2015, 06:31 PM
As a few have already said, I'd be fine with him signing for us if he was back-up and we got better in as #1. On the other hand, I'd imagine he'd be a pretty expensive back-up.

21-06-2015, 06:33 PM
Good player. Would be happy with this, but would prefer Williams.

21-06-2015, 06:38 PM
As our back up keeper fair enough. First choice I'd be hoping for better.

Exactly my thoughts. Unfortunately if he does sign I expect him to be 1st choice. I have no problems with his history, I have many concerns over his ability.

21-06-2015, 06:38 PM
I didnae want him when he left hearts and I dinnae want him now. He's made a few good saves against us through the years, but he's average, makes plenty **** ups, and is a hearts ****.

Much rather have Oxley back.

21-06-2015, 06:40 PM
Interesting thread.

21-06-2015, 06:41 PM
He is much better than Oxley and imo better than Williams.
There is also the bonus that there is no relocation involved so the club don't need to worry about the player or his family settling well here. This can be very important.

21-06-2015, 06:42 PM
I'd take him. Would rather big Ben though.

21-06-2015, 06:56 PM
I'd be disappointed if we signed him as our number 1 keeper. I've never rated him and we can get better on our budget IMO.

21-06-2015, 07:04 PM
I think he's decent enough. Would back him if he was in a Hibs jersey.

21-06-2015, 07:07 PM
I think he's decent enough. Would back him if he was in a Hibs jersey.

we would all need to back him but first cock up and then the moans would start, so for his sake and ours he be better staying away.

21-06-2015, 07:21 PM
I think there are a few on here on the juice today. He is not a flapper, he is a solid keeper in our price range. A nice guy btw, lives in Edinburgh and has a young family. Probably partly why he would prefer Hibs to Killie.

All keepers playing at our "level" will make mistakes. JM will do a decent job for us.

Some of the stuff on this thread is very poor imo.

21-06-2015, 07:29 PM

Good. I wish we had signed him last season. A solid keeper and one of the games good guys.

21-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Good keeper I always thought. Was mystified why we did not sign him before Falkirk.

Anyone wearing a Hibs jersey has my support.

TowerHibs
21-06-2015, 07:32 PM
If he was good enough then he wouldn't have that pressure. Football fans are fickle(even me believe it or not:greengrin) and only want to see a winning team.

you seemed to have strung him up before he is in a losing team though.......

my view, not the best but not the worst. Everyone saying no isnt coming up with any other names. It would be the same people saying the would be angry about us signing Hull City's 3rd choice keeper........oh wait

21-06-2015, 07:49 PM

That's what I like to hear. No messing about or sitting on the fence.

He was considered last close season apparently so it wouldn't be the most surprising news ever.

21-06-2015, 07:50 PM
He will link up well with Fontaine.

21-06-2015, 07:53 PM
The Hearts ******* can get to ****.

Given your pontificating on how pish Hibs supporters are, I hope you don't have that attitude if he does sign.

On a related note, how come we didn't get all this general gnashing of teeth over Keatings?

21-06-2015, 07:58 PM
Given your pontificating on how pish Hibs supporters are, I hope you don't have that attitude if he does sign.

On a related note, how come we didn't get all this general gnashing of teeth over Keatings?

Because its double standards mate. Some folk don't know if they are coming or going.

21-06-2015, 08:05 PM

Pish. They were never ahead in the game at any point.

21-06-2015, 08:10 PM
Would be more than happy with signing JM, always performed well against us......In Stubbs I trust

21-06-2015, 08:12 PM
Good keeper I always thought. Was mystified why we did not sign him before Falkirk.

Anyone wearing a Hibs jersey has my support.

This for me. :agree:

Impressed by the number of goalkeeping experts on here. Seems some are expecting a world class goalkeeper to sign for a Scottish Championship club?

If Stubbs and the club deem him good enough I'll be more than happy. I seem to remember him being very competent and respectful. Shame many on here aren't.
As much as I hate the yams, I won't let that cloud a footballing decision.

21-06-2015, 08:17 PM
I thought when he was at the yams he was a decent keeper.

When he signed for Falkirk I was surprised as thought he was better.

Yams and Falkirk fans say he isn't great with his feet but pretty good shot stopper.

When I watched him against us every game last season he was pretty solid.

Though I always thought Oxley was better.

He's a yams fan but seems have always conducted himself with decent respect towards us.

I would imagine that if he leaves Falkirk we will pay a similar wage and still bring another keeper in with both wanting to be No1.

H18S NX
21-06-2015, 08:22 PM
Not fussed,but if Stubbs wants him,that's good enough for me.

21-06-2015, 08:26 PM
Good keeper but sh*t person. Would rather we went for someone who doesn't take pleasure poking fun at us.

hibee1875
21-06-2015, 08:28 PM
Good keeper but sh*t person. Would rather we went for someone who doesn't take pleasure poking fun at us.

Have you got examples of how he's a **** person and when he's taken pleasure in poking fun at us?

21-06-2015, 08:30 PM

You clearly don't know him then?

I'd love to hear your justification....

(If it's because he celebrated after beating us then I'd expect that from any opposing player)

Many ex-Hibees have celebrated scoring against us.

21-06-2015, 08:31 PM
Have you got examples of how he's a **** person and when he's taken pleasure in poking fun at us?

After we lost to killie which secured us to a play off spot he posted pictures of him with a killie scarf. Plus all the 5-1 nonsense

21-06-2015, 08:32 PM

This . Hell of a nice laddie :agree:

21-06-2015, 08:33 PM

Keating's didn't play in that final and will probably start the season as 4th choice striker. Keating's is a punt, McDonald is a first team starter if he signs.

21-06-2015, 08:35 PM

(If it's because he celebrated after beating us then I'd expect that from any opposing player)

Many ex-Hibees have celebrated scoring against us.

Hope this photo works

hibee1875
21-06-2015, 08:36 PM
After we lost to killie which secured us to a play off spot he posted pictures of him with a killie scarf. Plus all the 5-1 nonsense

Pretty sure we still goad about 0-7. That was their 0-7.

If Stubbs wants him fair enough. He's not exactly a skackel mould of jambo.

21-06-2015, 08:38 PM
Solid enough goalie couldn't care less who he used to play for.

21-06-2015, 08:40 PM
Pretty sure we still goad about 0-7. That was their 0-7.

If Stubbs wants him fair enough. He's not exactly a skackel mould of jambo.

Yeah but we are not footballers. I get what your saying. But for me id rather we went for someone who doesn't have a dislike for our club

21-06-2015, 08:44 PM
Thousands of goalkeepers out there....don't want him at Hibs. It's not as if he's Peter Shilton or something.

mentalhibee
21-06-2015, 08:44 PM
Hope this isn't true, can't stand McDonald!

21-06-2015, 08:47 PM

Grow up. That's what people do. Scott Brown deliberately 'over-celebrates' against the yams when he plays for Celtic for 'our' benefit.

5-1 nonsense? He was in a team that gubbed us? I'd have expected our players to do exactly the same had the result been the reverse.

The fact is he's a very decent guy and a professional, so if (and a big if) he signs for us, then I'm sure he will give 100% every time he puts our shirt on. I'd possibly say he'd even try that wee bit harder to prove how much of a professional he is.

21-06-2015, 08:47 PM
Thousands of goalkeepers out there....don't want him at Hibs. It's not as if he's Peter Shilton or something.

Who do you want as a keeper? Honest question

21-06-2015, 08:49 PM
Why did Hearts punt him?

21-06-2015, 08:55 PM
Why did Hearts punt him?

Wages

21-06-2015, 08:55 PM
Don't think he is better than Williams but in this league he is good enough for us

21-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Grow up. That's what people do. Scott Brown deliberately 'over-celebrates' against the yams when he plays for Celtic for 'our' benefit.

5-1 nonsense? He was in a team that gubbed us? I'd have expected our players to do exactly the same had the result been the reverse.

The fact is he's a very decent guy and a professional, so if (and a big if) he signs for us, then I'm sure he will give 100% every time he puts our shirt on. I'd possibly say he'd even try that wee bit harder to prove how much of a professional he is.

Not a case of growing up mate just my opinion of a footballer who took the mick out my team. If we sign him I will give him all the support I can id just rather we went for someone who didn't have that kind of past.

21-06-2015, 09:02 PM
Yeah but we are not footballers. I get what your saying. But for me id rather we went for someone who doesn't have a dislike for our club

He doesn't have a dislike for Hibs.

21-06-2015, 09:03 PM
Not a case of growing up mate just my opinion of a footballer who took the mick out my team. If we sign him I will give him all the support I can id just rather we went for someone who didn't have that kind of past.

Fair enough. Just thought you said he was a sh*te person. I disagreed with that point.

I'm easy either way, if he signs I will be quite happy knowing the kind of professional he is. If he doesn't, then I'm sure Stubbs will bring in someone who will do a job.

It's just frustrating when people put blinkers up and miss what could improve our club.

21-06-2015, 09:03 PM
He doesn't have a dislike for Hibs.

This :agree:

21-06-2015, 09:04 PM
Wages

Falkirk offered him more than Hearts?

21-06-2015, 09:05 PM
Fair enough. Just thought you said he was a sh*te person. I disagreed with that point.

I'm easy either way, if he signs I will be quite happy knowing the kind of professional he is. If he doesn't, then I'm sure Stubbs will bring in someone who will do a job.

It's just frustrating when people put blinkers up and miss what could improve our club.

The **** person remark was regards to the killie scarf thing in the pub with hearts fans. Don't know him personally so couldn't tell you what he was like that was just a thing that annoyed me.

21-06-2015, 09:07 PM
Was news to him when asked earlier.

And for the record, he's not a Hearts fan.

21-06-2015, 09:11 PM

He's a Hun is he not?

21-06-2015, 09:13 PM
Hearts, Huns, they're all the same.

Be dissapointed in Hibs if we signed him :(

21-06-2015, 09:13 PM

Good. We can get better.

21-06-2015, 09:17 PM
I want MacDonald to sign for us just to see the reaction from some posters on this thread.

21-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Falkirk offered him more than Hearts?

I never said that.

21-06-2015, 09:22 PM
I never said that.

So what was the issue with wages?

Stranraer
21-06-2015, 09:23 PM
Pleased with this, he's a god keeper and performed well (mostly) for Falkirk.

21-06-2015, 09:29 PM
So what was the issue with wages?

Offered ridiculously less than he was getting. New regime banked on Alexander (who thought he was getting big pay day from Ibrox)

Hun/Yam link still financial from previous deals (ironically)

21-06-2015, 09:29 PM
Seems McDonald turned into the worlds best goalie when playing against us.Some incredible shot stopping and fingernail saves, all at the worst time possible for us, Like he's been planked on earth by something strange for reasons only to defy us the glory we crave.
However if the club think he could do it FOR us then (in true Hibernian spirit) i'm happy to accept him and see what happens.

21-06-2015, 09:33 PM
Offered ridiculously less than he was getting. New regime banked on Alexander (who thought he was getting big pay day from Ibrox)

Hun/Yam link still financial from previous deals (ironically)

Why did they offer him ridiculously less?

21-06-2015, 09:34 PM
Seems McDonald turned into the worlds best goalie when playing against us.Some incredible shot stopping and fingernail saves, all at the worst time possible for us, Like he's been planked on earth by something strange for reasons only to defy us the glory we crave.
However if the club think he could do it FOR us then (in true Hibernian spirit) i'm happy to accept him and see what happens.

Agree 100%

I trust our club

Lets back their decision on any player

(been quite good so far?)

21-06-2015, 09:35 PM
Stubbs has done pretty good with the players that he has brought to Hibs over the last year. I'll back whoever he signs, Dje Dje was probably the worst signing that AS has made but even that's a wee bit harsh given the game time he had.

21-06-2015, 09:37 PM
Good shot stopper but terrible at dealing with crosses, can't wait for the reaction the first time he flaps at a cross in a Hibs jersey at Easter Rd.

21-06-2015, 09:38 PM
Why did they offer him ridiculously less?

I assumed my last post kind of explained that?

I'll type slower next time

21-06-2015, 09:41 PM
I assumed my last post kind of explained that?

I'll type slower next time

Ok so he was deemed not good enough. Got it.

21-06-2015, 09:43 PM
Who are these better keepers available for us to sign?

21-06-2015, 09:44 PM

Oh dear

21-06-2015, 09:44 PM
Good. We can get better.

Who, within our budget?

21-06-2015, 09:45 PM
Who are these better keepers available for us to sign?

It's ok, we have a huge list apparently...

21-06-2015, 09:46 PM
It's ok, we have a huge list apparently...

So I keep hearing.

Delboy4
21-06-2015, 09:58 PM
Who, within our budget?

Probably not many out there within our budget. What's our budget? Around £2k per week??
If the gaffer does want JMAC I'm happy with his decision and will cheer him on whilst wearing the Hibs Jersey.

I know now he played for them but I do know him and he's a really nice laddie.

21-06-2015, 10:03 PM
Who do you want as a keeper? Honest question

Honest answer is I am not a football scout or coach. There are literally hundreds if not thousands of goalkeepers out in the narketplace. We have several members of backroom staff who could surely identify a keeper or two. Any guy in the pub could lazily say Jamie MacDonald but realistically we can do better we could do worse but I do know I don't want him near Hibs.

21-06-2015, 10:04 PM

Obviously not a like for like example but I'm sure there's a player in Italy who was "deemed not good enough for a team" who is now "deemed good enough" for most teams in the world...

Face fits or it doesn't. Where there's money there's politics...

It seems in this discussion you are actually backing what Hearts do?

Which is fine... If you agree with what they think I have no problem with that,

21-06-2015, 10:06 PM
He was 3rd choice keeper at hearts before he was thrust into the first team due to the other 2 keepers leaving. He looked good for 1 season because he was constantly under pressure and made lots of good saves, but as anyone who has ever played in goals will tell you he was in a no lose situation. It's why keepers love penalty shoot outs. If he was that good he would've stayed at hearts, I refuse to believe that Alexander was getting less money than McDonald was getting at Falkirk.
I suspect this story isn't true just like last year, and I don't mean that in anyway to be disrespectful to the guy posting the info.

21-06-2015, 10:10 PM
Honest answer is I am not a football scout or coach. There are literally hundreds if not thousands of goalkeepers out in the narketplace. We have several members of backroom staff who could surely identify a keeper or two. Any guy in the pub could lazily say Jamie MacDonald but realistically we can do better we could do worse but I do know I don't want him near Hibs.

You've just contradicted yourself. I am not a football scout or coach either like you.

"We have several members of backroom staff who could surely identify a keeper or two"

Agreed, so why not let them decide?

"Any guy in the pub could lazily say Jamie MacDonald"

I refer to your previous point...

"We have several members of backroom staff who could surely identify a keeper or two"

21-06-2015, 10:16 PM
You've just contradicted yourself. I am not a football scout or coach either like you.

Agreed, so why not let them decide?

"Any guy in the pub could lazily say Jamie MacDonald"

I refer to your previous point...

Mate I'n a bit pissed and a bit confused with your last post so to avoid contradiction let me be clear....I don't want that ****er at Hibs and there are plenty more goalies available.

21-06-2015, 10:18 PM
Probably not many out there within our budget. What's our budget? Around £2k per week??
If the gaffer does want JMAC I'm happy with his decision and will cheer him on whilst wearing the Hibs Jersey.

I know now he played for them but I do know him and he's a really nice laddie.

:aok::aok:

He was 3rd choice keeper at hearts before he was thrust into the first team due to the other 2 keepers leaving. He looked good for 1 season because he was constantly under pressure and made lots of good saves, but as anyone who has ever played in goals will tell you he was in a no lose situation. It's why keepers love penalty shoot outs. If he was that good he would've stayed at hearts, I refuse to believe that Alexander was getting less money than McDonald was getting at Falkirk.
I suspect this story isn't true just like last year, and I don't mean that in anyway to be disrespectful to the guy posting the info.

Fair enough. I never said Alexander is getting less. I said Jamie was offered less.

Why would you accept reduced wages and then know you would be demoted?

Potter had him agreed as part of a "financial agreement"

He's on less wages than he was but at a club that respects him. Lets not forget our boy James McDonaugh speaks highly of Jamie

21-06-2015, 10:21 PM
He's alright but can't say i'd be overly excited if we signed him.

As mentioned above though, if he does sign then he will have my support.

edwards
21-06-2015, 10:22 PM
Great signing if it goes ahead better than Williams and Oxley top keeper and would help the cause next season. Remember being down at the Hibs club when Stubbs arrived and must have got the shock of his life when about 40 folk turned up. George Craig was there and said the Mcdonlad would have signed if he hadn't agreed to have gone to Falkirk.
We really need to get over the fact he was successful at the big PBS and would love to see him sign. :aok:

147lothian
21-06-2015, 10:24 PM
I would be happy to see Jamie MacDonald at Easter Road simply because he's a good shot stopper, of course the cup final, was a high profile blunder that he will want to get out his system, reality is we might not be able to get better, on our budget, his game could improve if deals better with crosses, if he can add that to his game, IMO it would be a great signing, I would cheer him on

21-06-2015, 10:28 PM
It doesn't matter what people want or don't want. If Stubbsy wants him then that's good enough for me.

Personally I think he's a good keeper and a much better shot stopper than Williams or Oxley.

21-06-2015, 10:30 PM
Fair enough. I never said Alexander is getting less. I said Jamie was offered less.

Why would you accept reduced wages and then know you would be demoted?

Potter had him agreed as part of a "financial agreement"

He's on less wages than he was but at a club that respects him. Lets not forget our boy James McDonaugh speaks highly of Jamie
If he was offered less then we can only presume that hearts didn't think he was good enough.
For all my opposition to us singing him he will get the same support from me that I give to every other player playing for us. I just refuse to believe that we can't do better. I actually don't mind him, I remember a few derbys at the pbs when he was getting dogs abuse and he was having a good craic with us.

21-06-2015, 10:34 PM
I would be happy to see Jamie MacDonald at Easter Road simply because he's a good shot stopper, of course the cup final, was a high profile blunder that he will want to get out his system, reality is we might not be able to get better, on our budget, his game could improve if deals better with crosses, if he can add that to his game, IMO it would be a great signing, I would cheer him on
Every goalkeeper who has ever played football is a great shot stopper, it's the ones that do everything else well that stand out. McDonald doesn't fit the bill.

21-06-2015, 10:42 PM
If he does sign for us he would have to play like a cross between De Gea and spiderman to be accepted .... who needs that pressure?

21-06-2015, 10:56 PM
If he does sign for us he would have to play like a cross between De Gea and spiderman to be accepted .... who needs that pressure?

Neuer and Batman. After suffering the likes of Zibi and Brown you've let your standards drop.

21-06-2015, 11:38 PM
If Stubbs wants him that is good enough for me.

I keep hearing ''we can do better'' than Williams, Oxley and McDonald but still haven't seen anyone name a keeper better than all 3 who is available and willing to join a Scottish second division team.

22-06-2015, 12:34 AM
Every goalkeeper who has ever played football is a great shot stopper, it's the ones that do everything else well that stand out. McDonald doesn't fit the bill.

Except Oxley.

liamh2202
22-06-2015, 06:09 AM
It seems like a couple of guys on here know him personally and that's fair enough. Its nothing to do with hearts or him as a person for me . I just think he is a rank keeper

liamh2202
22-06-2015, 06:10 AM
Except Oxley.

Do you have any examples of where oxley has failed to save a shot? As in went through his hands ?

Col_0762
22-06-2015, 06:28 AM
Do you have any examples of where oxley has failed to save a shot? As in went through his hands ?

Alloa away.

22-06-2015, 06:28 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/30156919

Lmc2105
22-06-2015, 06:39 AM
Much better than Oxley IMO and would be a great signing, as others have said can only base what I have seen of him and mostly against us he has been motm with some of his saves.

22-06-2015, 07:00 AM
Alloa away.
And Alloa at home

22-06-2015, 08:21 AM
I always thought MacDonald was alright. He's good enough for the championship so don't care if he used to be a yam.

22-06-2015, 08:22 AM
I take it everyone who's moaning about the 5-1 stuff wants us to get rid of Jason. Least McDonald played in that game.

patlowe
22-06-2015, 08:42 AM
He's a good shot-stopper who there is no doubt would do a job at Hibs. I also quite like his character and think he would be a decent influence on the team.

He is definitely not perfect, and I'm not overly fussed if we sign him or not, but it's nothing to do with low expectations to suggest that we are not going to find a flawless keeper to sign for Hibs in the next few weeks. They barely exist, at any level.

To flag up the cup final against ICT as proof of his ineptitude, after his heroics on the way to the final, is akin to blaming Craig Gordon for Celtic going out to Inter in the last 32 and basing your judgement on him around those mistakes.

22-06-2015, 09:02 AM
In the games he has played against us for yams and bairns, he has made some exceptional saves, would be happy to have him in our team

22-06-2015, 09:15 AM
Evening news today he's not signing for us.

Despite defending him on this thread I think that's fir the best.

The hearts ****

22-06-2015, 09:15 AM
@edinburghsport: Ex-Hearts man Jamie MacDonald set to sign for Kilmarnock. Hibs made contact weeks ago but was no more than enquiry. http://t.co/FUpUrvntkw

22-06-2015, 09:18 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/kilmarnock-to-sign-ex-hearts-man-jamie-macdonald-1-3808905

22-06-2015, 09:20 AM
@edinburghsport: Ex-Hearts man Jamie MacDonald set to sign for Kilmarnock. Hibs made contact weeks ago but was no more than enquiry. http://t.co/FUpUrvntkw

Yaaaaaasss ya beauty!!

Wellbankhibby
22-06-2015, 09:23 AM
In the games he has played against us for yams and bairns, he has made some exceptional saves, would be happy to have him in our team

Like others on this site Im not keen on ex hearts players but lets not be small minded. My opinion is he is a class keeper and has made unbelievable saves against us. I would much rather have him playing for us than against us. We have to look past this issue because he is ex hearts, Gordon Smith, Alan Gordon to name a couple were great Hibs men but also played for them. What does it matter if he does well for us. The big issue here is when he makes a mistake some of our so called fans will be on his back. Lets sign him he is a class keeper in my opinion. :flag:

kentao
22-06-2015, 09:25 AM
I would rather have Williams back over McDonald but i still cant believe he managed to keep this strike out from Scott Robertson.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOjBHJeUwto

25 Seconds in.

I think McDonald is a safe pair of hands and would be decent at this level but being a ex hearts player in such an important position any mistake would ruin him.

22-06-2015, 09:29 AM

Good. The Hearts **** can go join those other Hearts ****s at Killie.

22-06-2015, 09:58 AM
Evening news today he's not signing for us.

Despite defending him on this thread I think that's fir the best.

The hearts ****

Good . We have dodged a bullet imo .

hibeeleicester
22-06-2015, 10:01 AM
Maybe this thread was self fabricated from within the club to see fan reaction before deciding to make an offer..... 😉

22-06-2015, 10:06 AM
Maybe this thread was self fabricated from within the club to see fan reaction before deciding to make an offer..... 

I'd hope not. If Stubbs has had a player watched 10+ times and decided he is a player, has met the guy and decided he'd be a fit for the team, then I'd hope he'd have the courage of his convictions and get him signed.

There is a lot of nonsense on this thread. Folk that are not that bright set on cutting off their noses to spite their faces. If that sort of input went into building our team it is no wonder we're in the doldrums.

22-06-2015, 10:12 AM
Good job a lot of you were not around when we signed Willie Hamilton -one of our best ever players.

22-06-2015, 10:13 AM
I don't understand people that are saying we can do better than Williams. When he was with us I rated him as second best in the country behind Forster. He is also much better than Oxley and McDonald.

22-06-2015, 10:16 AM
I'd hope not. If Stubbs has had a player watched 10+ times and decided he is a player, has met the guy and decided he'd be a fit for the team, then I'd hope he'd have the courage of his convictions and get him signed.

There is a lot of nonsense on this thread. Folk that are not that bright set on cutting off their noses to spite their faces. If that sort of input went into building our team it is no wonder we're in the doldrums.

Or......Stubbs knew, having watched MacDonald a few times this season, that he was bang average, and that there are plenty better players out there for the money. So despite a lot of nonsense on this thread from folk, who aren't that bright, who seem to think he's some kind of goalkeeping superstar, we aren't bothering to actually sign him. Maybe.

22-06-2015, 10:17 AM
Good job a lot of you were not around when we signed Willie Hamilton -one of our best ever players.

or when Hearts signed him back from us!!!!!

22-06-2015, 10:19 AM
I don't understand people that are saying we can do better than Williams. When he was with us I rated him as second best in the country behind Forster. He is also much better than Oxley and McDonald.

I his first season I can understand your comment.

In his second season he was nowhere near as good.

22-06-2015, 10:25 AM
Or......Stubbs knew, having watched MacDonald a few times this season, that he was bang average, and that there are plenty better players out there for the money. So despite a lot of nonsense on this thread from folk, who aren't that bright, who seem to think he's some kind of goalkeeping superstar, we aren't bothering to actually sign him. Maybe.

We'll that would be the other angle. You'd have been as well quoting hibee leicester though as it adds up to the same thing. We know little about putting a successful team together and our input should reflect that.

22-06-2015, 10:29 AM
Why all the hate? I'd take him.

22-06-2015, 10:35 AM

I've no hate for him, seems a decent bloke...just doesn't particularly excite me as our number one keeper..doesn't seem any better than we have had...

22-06-2015, 11:05 AM
I've no hate for him, seems a decent bloke...just doesn't particularly excite me as our number one keeper..doesn't seem any better than we have had...

Think he is miles better than Oxley

22-06-2015, 11:10 AM

No hate at all from me. By all accounts he's one of the more decent ex-hearts players. I just wouldn't have been particularly excited if we had signed him.

22-06-2015, 11:20 AM

Can't see why Killie need him. Samson was in the last Scotland squad and i'd imagine they'd be up the higher end of Killie's wage bill.

22-06-2015, 11:26 AM
Can't see why Killie need him. Samson was in the last Scotland squad and i'd imagine they'd be up the higher end of Killie's wage bill.

I've always thought Samsom was keek, especially when at St Mirren

HappyHanlon
22-06-2015, 11:27 AM

The bit in bold still baffles me. Hopeless keeper.

22-06-2015, 11:36 AM

Maybe we are signing Samson. :cb

22-06-2015, 12:40 PM

Rather have Delilah :duck:

22-06-2015, 01:43 PM
Not fussed about Him going to Killie.
I'm sure Stubbsy &Co have players on the Hibs radar.

22-06-2015, 02:43 PM
or when Hearts signed him back from us!!!!!

Never happened Scoop. We sold him to Villa & he went back to them after that! The point is well made though, I have absolutely no problem with signing ex Yams, I do have a problem with signing players who will not improve us as a team & IMO J McD comes into that category.

22-06-2015, 03:08 PM
Never happened Scoop. We sold him to Villa & he went back to them after that! The point is well made though, I have absolutely no problem with signing ex Yams, I do have a problem with signing players who will not improve us as a team & IMO J McD comes into that category.

I never realised that brog, that's the something new I should be learning for today.

Did he stay at Villa long?

The_Sauz
22-06-2015, 03:17 PM
Rather have Delilah :duck:
My, My, My

E10 Rifle
22-06-2015, 03:32 PM

God give me strength

22-06-2015, 03:35 PM
I never realised that brog, that's the something new I should be learning for today.

Did he stay at Villa long?

I think he was pretty much a regular for best part of 2 seasons then returned to Yams after being involved in a car crash. At one time I was friendly with Willie's wife Carol & Jim O & Pat S would often also regale me with Willie stories! A wonderful player but a tragic figure, dead before he was 40 - too sad for words.

22-06-2015, 03:56 PM

Depends on how you look at it. J McD is better than our current keeper (none). He is arguably better than Oxley so might also have been an improvement in that regard. Is he better than other keepers available to us? With keepers like Makalamby, McNeill, Zibi, and Brown not distant enough a memory I'm not sure I'm happy to gamble on that.

For me he was a decent shout. As long as Stubbs is getting a better than fair shot at getting the players he wants though we will be alright.

22-06-2015, 03:57 PM
@BarryAnderson_: Confirmed: Jamie MacDonald joins Kilmarnock on a three-year deal. #Killie

Gerard
22-06-2015, 03:59 PM
In AS we trust.:wink:

22-06-2015, 04:10 PM
@BarryAnderson_: Confirmed: Jamie MacDonald joins Kilmarnock on a three-year deal. #Killie

Good!

HappyHanlon
22-06-2015, 04:14 PM
Dodged a bullet.

22-06-2015, 04:17 PM

Thank goodness

22-06-2015, 04:26 PM
Jambo b******

22-06-2015, 04:28 PM
I his first season I can understand your comment.

In his second season he was nowhere near as good.

Who was any good in that season though? He wasn't as good but certainly still saved us a lot of points.

22-06-2015, 04:47 PM

Lets see the op answer to that one.

22-06-2015, 04:55 PM
Lets see the op answer to that one.

He was wrong it happens.

22-06-2015, 05:11 PM
Jambo b******

That would've been the 1st thing most fans would have had said every time he conceded a goal whether it was his fault or not

maturehibby
22-06-2015, 05:24 PM
What a lot of tripe is /has been said on this post - next thing we will hear is that Santa is alive and is signing for Hibs - about the only person that so called people in the know have not quoted as signing .
Wait till it comes up on the OFFICIAL SITE
as thats the only one I read and TRUST

22-06-2015, 05:25 PM

Thoughts?? 😁

bill the hibby
22-06-2015, 05:28 PM
OP sort of landed himself in it making such a blunt statement as he did.

22-06-2015, 05:31 PM
Wasnt even a rumour, it was a definitive statement... 😂

vanNISHtelroy
22-06-2015, 05:36 PM

Across the season, and in particular the long losing streak, Samson was costing us about a goal a week.

22-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Across the season, and in particular the long losing streak, Samson was costing us about a goal a week.

I recall Leigh Griffiths saying in interview that it was well known that Samson makes one big mistake a game...often with the ball at his feet...after taking the ball of him and knocking it home....

He is as bad as some we have had!

22-06-2015, 06:00 PM

think he'll get binned?

22-06-2015, 06:07 PM
Killie Link. http://t.co/CGtiHW4Uq3

22-06-2015, 06:10 PM
So we can add PISTOL1875 to the list....

22-06-2015, 06:14 PM
What a lot of tripe is /has been said on this post - next thing we will hear is that Santa is alive and is signing for Hibs - about the only person that so called people in the know have not quoted as signing .
Wait till it comes up on the OFFICIAL SITE
as thats the only one I read and TRUST

And your source is? :greengrin

22-06-2015, 06:15 PM
Think he has had spot on info before. Guy has got one wrong, hey ho it happens.

22-06-2015, 06:18 PM
The OP might have got it wrong but he put his nads right on the chopping block with the statement. I liked that tbh.

bill the hibby
22-06-2015, 06:18 PM
The OP might have got it wrong but he put his nads right on the chopping block with the statement. I liked that tbh.

And what big nads they must be

E10 Rifle
22-06-2015, 06:26 PM
Wasnt even a rumour, it was a definitive statement... 

Surely it couldn't have been a definitive MB statement as he didn't finish it with the word 'FACT'

22-06-2015, 06:36 PM
In other news Ronaldinho is once again a free agent......

22-06-2015, 06:56 PM
In other news Ronaldinho is once again a free agent......

Going to stick my bits on the block also and say " we will not be signing Ronaldinho FACT 😄😄 would love to be wrong tho 😄😄

22-06-2015, 07:00 PM

So your post was basically "man has a dislike of a player from that team who has nothing to do with Hibs".

Keep up the good work, Beefster :aok:

vanNISHtelroy
22-06-2015, 07:24 PM
I recall Leigh Griffiths saying in interview that it was well known that Samson makes one big mistake a game...often with the ball at his feet...after taking the ball of him and knocking it home....

He is as bad as some we have had!

With the ball at his feet, hands, arms, when he lets it through his body, when he pulls out of challenges (although that one has been more since he broke his toe and had the bone sticking through the skin following a challenge this season) etc.

think he'll get binned?

Hope so and would assume so, both will be on reasonable money (for us anyway) and GL has said in the paper that his budget has been slashed

22-06-2015, 07:28 PM
Thoughts?? 

you win some , you lose some...

22-06-2015, 08:00 PM
Jamie MacDonald would rather have his baws cut off than play for Hibs.

I heard it in the boozer from the man himself.

I'd be gutted if Hibs were ever interested in this walloper.

22-06-2015, 08:09 PM
So your post was basically "man has a dislike of a player from that team who has nothing to do with Hibs".

Keep up the good work, Beefster :aok:

If you respond to my post with some zany witticism for the third time, do I win a prize?

hibee316
22-06-2015, 08:50 PM
Jamie MacDonald would rather have his baws cut off than play for Hibs.

Well, it does sound like a clause Petrie would put in a contract.....

"Sign for Hubs, or it's yer baws!"

anon1875
22-06-2015, 08:53 PM
So glad he won't be playing for Hibs.