View Full Version : Match Updates UEFA Champions League Final - Juventus v Barcelona

06-06-2015, 03:16 PM
I realise that it's early, but hopefully the kind admins will allow this to stand as there are no otheer threads about tonight's game which should be a cracker.

Barcelona are clear favourites at 8/13, but I'm not so sure it will be a stroll in the park for them.

Juventus won Serie A by a country mile, beating Roma by 17 points, and, just like Barca, they also won their domestic cup. And, let's not forget, they disposed of Real Madrid, who were huge favourites in that tie.

The best price available for a Juve win is 5/1 - it was 11/2 earlier in the day and Paddy Power has been bet down to 9/2.

There's not much value in backing Barcelona, unless you go for a big correct score, so I might have a wee interest bet on Juventus. Bet Victor is offering 21/1 for a 2-1 Juve success to win 2-1 within 90 minutes.

Does anyone else think that Juventus have an earthly?

06-06-2015, 03:20 PM
I've got 3-0 for barca. Coral also have a good offer for new customers that are giving you 10/1 for barca to win and messi to score anytime, £20 free bet if it doesn't come in.

Imo juve will miss Chiellini, he's a big awkward looking defender but I think he's absolutely brilliant. I think if they were to win they needed him.

06-06-2015, 03:22 PM
Got a £10 free bet with PP so lumped it all on Barca.

06-06-2015, 03:22 PM
I signed up to marathon bet, they were giving enhanced odds of 5/1 for Barca in 90 mins as an introductory offer if you use their mobile site

06-06-2015, 03:23 PM
Juve might score but i dont think they will. 2 or 3 nil Barca, just cant see anything else. I dont think there is a team in the world that can stop that front 3 when they really want to play, and tonight they will imho stroll it.

06-06-2015, 03:26 PM
Juve might score but i dont think they will. 2 or 3 nil Barca, just cant see anything else. I dont think there is a team in the world that can stop that front 3 when they really want to play, and tonight they will imho stroll it.

You're probably right. There's little or no chance that the three of them will have off nights, and if even one of them is on song, they're a match for anyone.

Still, it's football...

06-06-2015, 03:30 PM
You're probably right. There's little or no chance that the three of them will have off nights, and if even one of them is on song, they're a match for anyone.

Still, it's football...

Never rule out the possibility of an Italian defensive masterclass. (I've no idea if any Italians will be playing in defence for juve but you know what I mean)

06-06-2015, 03:31 PM

Still, it's football...

Yes its still football, and we only have to look to our own game at hampden to see how a team can have all the play, but none of the goals.

Still 2 or 3 nil for me. :greengrin

06-06-2015, 03:31 PM
Suarez 2-1 & 3-1 (28/1)
Neymar 2-1 & 3-1 (40/1)
Here's hoping 👍

BH Hibs
06-06-2015, 03:34 PM
Juve 6/1 bet before the second leg of the semi.

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 03:42 PM
I have messi to score a brace,tevez to score, and pogba to be carded 60/1 and yes I was bored

06-06-2015, 03:46 PM
Can't see past Barca. They don't lose champions league finals.

06-06-2015, 04:13 PM
Jusy my opinion but I hope Barcelona do win. Most of the time they're great to watch and even though Juventus are a good team, and have been a brilliant team in the past, they have also been one of the most corrupt. As I said though, it's just my opinion.

Just_Jimmy
06-06-2015, 04:14 PM
Forza Juve.

Hannah_hfc
06-06-2015, 04:32 PM
Got Juve to win and Pirlo to score anytime 33/1 with Paddy Power as an outside bet.

Barcelona to win and Neymar to score anytime has won me quite a bit this season so got it as my safe(r) bet @ 13/5.

Hoping for a good match!

06-06-2015, 04:50 PM
Difficult to see past Barcelona and Messi, but that's the great thing about the game of football: it doesn't always end up the way "it should" on paper - here's to a great game anyway! Think I'd like to see Pirlo finish off his career with a winner's medal ...

Fantastic weather here in Berlin at the moment - here's a link with some impression of the fans here in Berlin prior to the game:
http://www.morgenpost.de/

06-06-2015, 04:51 PM
People very much underestimating Juventus in here. Best midfield in the world IMO and Barzagli is a top defender who can fill in for Chiellini no problem. It could easily go either way.

06-06-2015, 04:53 PM
Think Barca will win this by 2 goals.

06-06-2015, 05:00 PM
Jusy my opinion but I hope Barcelona do win. Most of the time they're great to watch and even though Juventus are a good team, and have been a brilliant team in the past, they have also been one of the most corrupt. As I said though, it's just my opinion.

I'm finding it difficult to even care about this collection of multi-millionaires and their attempts to make even more money but I suppose hatred for a cheating Club will make me look at the score.

Sorry for the downer, just pretty much had it with 'top level' football, with it's stupid wages, bungs and bribery.

06-06-2015, 05:05 PM
I think Juve will win, hope so off to Milan next week for work dealing mostly with Juve fans [emoji460]️[emoji460]️

06-06-2015, 05:11 PM

I hope you are right G, had a sizeable bet on Golden Horn - Barca -1 double.

06-06-2015, 05:15 PM
Messi first and 4-0 Barca, 45/1. Fiver on.

06-06-2015, 05:19 PM
I realise that it's early, but hopefully the kind admins will allow this to stand as there are no otheer threads about tonight's game which should be a cracker.

Barcelona are clear favourites at 8/13, but I'm not so sure it will be a stroll in the park for them.

Juventus won Serie A by a country mile, beating Roma by 17 points, and, just like Barca, they also won their domestic cup. And, let's not forget, they disposed of Real Madrid, who were huge favourites in that tie.

The best price available for a Juve win is 5/1 - it was 11/2 earlier in the day and Paddy Power has been bet down to 9/2.

There's not much value in backing Barcelona, unless you go for a big correct score, so I might have a wee interest bet on Juventus. Bet Victor is offering 21/1 for a 2-1 Juve success to win 2-1 within 90 minutes.

Does anyone else think that Juventus have an earthly?

I've taken them at 5/1.

Also a wee side bet correct score of 2-0 Juve at 43/1 on the betfair exchange :thumbsup:

06-06-2015, 05:20 PM

What a finish by Golden Horn :aok:

06-06-2015, 05:30 PM
4.0 Barca Suarez first goal

06-06-2015, 05:34 PM
Ladbrokes will be offering 6/4 for Barca to win the trophy from the moment the game kicks off until the first goal is scored, tenner max bet.

Check the website for t&cs

06-06-2015, 05:48 PM
Never rule out the possibility of an Italian defensive masterclass. (I've no idea if any Italians will be playing in defence for juve but you know what I mean)

3 Italians, a Swiss and a Frenchman probably.

I think Juve will score, but Barca will win reasonably comfortably. I'm going to go 4-2 Barca as an outside bet.

06-06-2015, 06:17 PM
I just have this sneaky feeling Juventus will sneak it and at 5/1 i've taken that and Tevez to score any time.

renato
06-06-2015, 06:23 PM
Sky bet have a great offer for Vidal first scorer (Juve's penalty taker) and 1-1 or 2-0 Juve, 85-1 I think....

06-06-2015, 06:28 PM
Thank God this match is on STV, can't bear listening to Jamie Carragher much more.

Hope Patrice Evra goes right through Luis Suarez tonight.

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 06:28 PM
Might be worth a fiver on a evra red after that interview about suarez haha

06-06-2015, 06:31 PM
Might be worth a fiver on a evra red after that interview about suarez haha

I hope Evra boots that horrible little cheat 50 feet in the air... :greengrin

06-06-2015, 06:36 PM
Messi first and 4-0 Barca, 45/1. Fiver on.

What betting company was that with?
I've got messi first goalscorer and Barça to win 3-1 @ 110/1 with marathon bet

SJNB Hibby
06-06-2015, 06:41 PM
Just hope its a good game--likely need Barca to score first for that
Not too bothered about who wins--hope its not 0-0 and pens

06-06-2015, 06:42 PM
Thank God this match is on STV, can't bear listening to Jamie Carragher much more.

Hope Patrice Evra goes right through Luis Suarez tonight.

Evra will not get any where near him.

06-06-2015, 06:43 PM
Sky bet have a great offer for Vidal first scorer (Juve's penalty taker) and 1-1 or 2-0 Juve, 85-1 I think....

I think Tevez or Marchisio usually take the pens.

06-06-2015, 06:44 PM
Mon Barca !

06-06-2015, 06:44 PM
I think Tevez or Marchisio usually take the pens.Nope, always Vidal if he is on the park.

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 06:46 PM
Its not right how many neutrals are given tickets to this game. Supporters of the teams playing actually become a minority

06-06-2015, 06:52 PM
1-0 Barcelona, Rakitic

06-06-2015, 06:52 PM
Yaaasss!

06-06-2015, 06:53 PM
Ooft... Iniesta.... He must be the most composed player ever!! Love watching him play.

06-06-2015, 06:57 PM
After seeing the ads on TV for 1st goal scorer etc my 11 year old son says " I think Rakitic will score the first goal". I asked him why when Messi, Neymar,Suarez etc were playing. He says I just know he is going to score first. Any ideas what price he was anyone?

06-06-2015, 06:59 PM
Evra will not get any where near him.

We'll see... :greengrin

06-06-2015, 07:00 PM
After seeing the ads on TV for 1st goal scorer etc my 11 year old son says " I think Rakitic will score the first goal". I asked him why when Messi, Neymar,Suarez etc were playing. He says I just know he is going to score first. Any ideas what price he was anyone?

No idea but any chance you could ask him what tonight's lottery numbers will be?

06-06-2015, 07:02 PM
Great stop there from Buffon.

06-06-2015, 07:03 PM
No idea but any chance you could ask him what tonight's lottery numbers will be?

I asked him an he says 41, 29, 17, 11, 32, 12. If these are right I may throw myself under a bus!!

06-06-2015, 07:03 PM
Vidal should be taken off before he's sent off.

He's already on a booking and he's committed three fouls inside the first 15 minutes!

No way he's going to last 90 minutes.

06-06-2015, 07:04 PM
I asked him an he says 41, 29, 17, 11, 32, 12. If these are right I may throw myself under a bus!!

Cheers. :aok:

06-06-2015, 07:05 PM
Vidal will get sent off here!

06-06-2015, 07:06 PM
In answer to to radge, nut.

06-06-2015, 07:07 PM
Vidal will get sent off here!

Madness for a pro to get so wound up in a game like this and let himself get booked so early

06-06-2015, 07:08 PM
We'll see... :greengrin

Is Evra on the bench :-)

06-06-2015, 07:21 PM
Madness for a pro to get so wound up in a game like this and let himself get booked so early

He's still at it as well!

Weststandwanab
06-06-2015, 07:28 PM

Does it matter after the event ?

06-06-2015, 07:29 PM
Barcelona are some side. So fast when they have the ball in forward positions. The could be three or four up in this game

06-06-2015, 07:31 PM

Just out of interest would be my guess. I'd be interested to know in similar circumstances tbh even though it makes no difference whatsoever.

06-06-2015, 07:32 PM
Yes. I don't gamble anyway. And your point is?

06-06-2015, 07:35 PM
How do you go about applying for tickets for the final?

06-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Yes. I don't gamble anyway. And your point is?

Some comments are better off ignored on here mate...

06-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Half time. Stroll in the park for Barcelona, Juve not offering much so far and they'll be happy only to be a goal behind.

06-06-2015, 07:37 PM
Did Messi drop back into middle to try and get Vidal sent off , 'cause he kept trying to face him up.

06-06-2015, 07:39 PM
Some comments are better off ignored on here mate...

Especially from someone who was predicting very confidently for weeks that hearts would be liquidated!!! It would seem that my laddie is better at predictions than him😝😝

06-06-2015, 07:39 PM

There's a ballot - you just stick your name down and hope you get picked. I got them for the Uefa cup final a few years back when it was at Hampden.

06-06-2015, 07:40 PM
Especially from someone who was predicting very confidently for weeks that hearts would be liquidated!!! It would seem that my laddie is better at predictions than him😝😝

Bet your boy is ***** at multi-quoting though :greengrin

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 07:40 PM

You offer the wife's of eufa officials 'gifts'

06-06-2015, 07:43 PM
Is Evra on the bench :-)

He's doing ok.... Suarez no really running that right channel much...:greengrin

To be honest I love watching Barcelona. Who wouldn't? I just Cannae stand Suarez's antics. Infuriating thing is he doesn't need to resort to all that pish cause he's so talented. I just can't stand the cheating, diving, biting, trying to get players sent off crap.

06-06-2015, 07:43 PM
Two certs for the second half - Barcelona to get the second and then Vidal to get sent off.

06-06-2015, 07:49 PM
Did Messi drop back into middle to try and get Vidal sent off , 'cause he kept trying to face him up.

Yep. If Juve had any sense they would let pogba go with him and keep Vidal away from him.... Easier said than done though!! :agree:

06-06-2015, 07:53 PM
Pirlo for next goal. You heard it here first. The boys reputation is on the line now🙅

06-06-2015, 08:00 PM
1-1, Morata.

1 each. Game on!

BOOM!!! Game on!!

06-06-2015, 08:01 PM
Half time. Stroll in the park for Barcelona, Juve not offering much so far and they'll be happy only to be a goal behind.

I can see that. :wink:

Hannah_hfc
06-06-2015, 08:01 PM
Game on!

06-06-2015, 08:02 PM
Two certs for the second half - Barcelona to get the second and then Vidal to get sent off.

Oh well, got that wrong. Vidal will still get sent off.

06-06-2015, 08:03 PM
Oh well, got that wrong. Vidal will still get sent off.

:faf::faf::faf:

06-06-2015, 08:10 PM
Rakitic was 12-1

06-06-2015, 08:12 PM
Rakitic was 12-1

Thanks. As I say not a gambler, just curious

06-06-2015, 08:13 PM
2-1 Barcelona, Suarez.

06-06-2015, 08:14 PM
Ooh seen those given. 2-1 Suarez

Penalty denied and Messi delivers a deathblow against the run of play.

:faf::faf::faf:

Told you Barcelona would get their second. :-)

06-06-2015, 08:17 PM
Neymar goal ruled out for handball.

06-06-2015, 08:17 PM
Neymar tries a Maradona

06-06-2015, 08:18 PM
Could that be classed as deliberate?

06-06-2015, 08:19 PM
The goal should have stood. I'm not sure how anyone could say that was intentional hand ball.

06-06-2015, 08:19 PM
Could that be classed as deliberate?

Nope..... but it was the deflection that beat Buffon. In that light, it's justice that it wasn't allowed.

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:20 PM
Are these commentators having a laugh . handball all day long. Its time the rule was changed. If it hits your arm below the shoulder it should be a handball full stop. No silly caviats ,no opinions just black and white. Same with the offside rule .

Poor decision not to give the goal.

Goal all day long

Gordy M
Although its prob not deliberate, if someone scored against us with his hand in a cup final id be raging!!!!

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:21 PM
The goal should have stood. I'm not sure how anyone could say that was intentional hand ball.

Does the rule even say it has to be delibrete or are the commentators making it up ?

06-06-2015, 08:21 PM
Itv commentators keep debating whether it was deliberate or not and saying if it's nit deliberate it should be given.

Is that not pish? Doesn't have to be deliberate for it to be a free kick?

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:22 PM
Itv commentators keep debating whether it was deliberate or not and saying if it's nit deliberate it should be given.

Exactly what I thought. You see unintentional handballs given as fouls every week

06-06-2015, 08:22 PM
Does the rule even say it has to be delibrete or are the commentators making it up ?

Commentators are wrong I think.

06-06-2015, 08:23 PM

Yep.

Touching the ball with your arm should not be a foul unless it is deemed to be deliberate.

liamh2202
When is xavi being unveiled at em?

Are these commentators having a laugh . handball all day long. Its time the rule was changed. If it hits your arm below the shoulder it should be a handball full stop. No silly caviats ,no opinions just black and white. Same with the offside rule .

And we would descend into players kicking the ball at defenders trying to win a penalty. It was not deliberate and it should have been given.

Imagine being able to bring Xavi on as a sub.

06-06-2015, 08:25 PM
Cannae believe I brushed past the telly on the way to get a cup of tea and Suarez fell down!! He really is a diving wee prick eh?!

Exactly what I thought. You see unintentional handballs given as fouls every week

That's down to interpretation. It's always been that handballs have to be deliberate

So why is it not a penalty every time the ball hits a defenders arm in the box, even from close range? Interpretation of the goal/free kick could have gone either way. As someone said earlier, it should be black and white. Ball hits arm below the shoulder should be fee kick or pen every time.

06-06-2015, 08:27 PM

Yes it does.

http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct.aspx

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:28 PM
And we would descend into players kicking the ball at defenders trying to win a penalty. It was not deliberate and it should have been given.

Then so be it? At least a decision would be clear , it would be up to defenders to keep their hands out of the way

06-06-2015, 08:29 PM
Plenty of kicks on Suarez but he isn't biting.

06-06-2015, 08:30 PM
Neither was Neymars "header". So why was it disallowed?

06-06-2015, 08:30 PM
Then so be it? At least a decision would be clear , it would be up to defenders to keep their hands out of the way

That's just daft.

Defenders would be playing with their arms behind their back all the time. :greengrin

06-06-2015, 08:31 PM
It's not about it being deliberate or not it's about the player getting an advantage from it and he did by scoring.

Correct decision to disallow goal.

That's why the commentators were asking that very question. :greengrin

liamh2202
Ibwould rather have a penalty against me for a player deliberately winning it via a handball than losing a goal like the one tonight

06-06-2015, 08:32 PM

Because the player got an unfair advantage. Regardless of it being deliberate or not

I'm sure that a lot of these guys are fully paid up members of Equity as their antics beckons belief. Pathetic is the word.

It's not about it being deliberate or not it's about the player getting an advantage from it and he did by scoring.

Correct decision to disallow goal.

The law doesn't say anything about gaining an advantage.

Yes it does.

http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct.aspx

I'm not going to read through those rules but I'm pleased common sense won the day regardless of what was technically correct.

It wouldn't have gone in if he hadn't hit it against his own hand. It was a significant enough contact to warrant a free kick being given imo.

06-06-2015, 08:33 PM
The law doesn't say anything about gaining an advantage.

Does it not! Thought that was indeed the case. Mes bad!! :-)

liamh2202
That's just daft.

Defenders would be playing with their arms behind their back all the time. :greengrin

If its totally obvious you could cover that with the unspormanlike conduct rule

I'm not going to read through those rules but I'm pleased common sense won the day regardless of what was technically correct.

It wouldn't have gone in if he hadn't hit it against his own hand. It was a significant enough contact to warrant a free kick being given imo.

It's half way down a very brief page FGS :greengrin

06-06-2015, 08:34 PM
Because the player got an unfair advantage. Regardless of it being deliberate or not

You will have to show us where it mentions that in the rules. It does mention it has to be deliberate though

06-06-2015, 08:34 PM
It's half way down a very brief page FGS :greengrin

I've had half a dozen beers and I'm very very lazy.

06-06-2015, 08:35 PM

How could you tell if a player booted the ball deliberately at a defender's arms? :wink:

Again why are pens not given every time the ball hits aceefenders arm. Surely they too are gaining an unfair advantage even if not deliberate

You will have to show us where it mentions that in the rules. It does mention it has to be deliberate though

Gonnae be showing nowt unfortunately. This is how I interpreted what had taken place

06-06-2015, 08:36 PM

So we would be back to interpretation of the rules then? Just like it is now in fact?

06-06-2015, 08:36 PM
Again why are pens not given every time the ball hits aceefenders arm. Surely they too are gaining an unfair advantage even if not deliberate

**** knows. Shows what I know! NOWT!!
PS folk are allowed to be wrong????

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:37 PM
So we would be back to interpretation of the rules then? Just like it is now in fact?

I just think it would be wrong for that goal to have stood ( although it should have iaw the rules) like I said above I would prefer it to be black and white

06-06-2015, 08:38 PM
SOMEONE BOOT SUAREZ UP IN THE AIR..... PLEASE!!!!! :greengrin

06-06-2015, 08:39 PM
**** knows. Shows what I know! NOWT!!

Me and you both then!!! All I know is that if it had been a Hibs player and it was disallowed I'd be raging and if it was against us and given I would be raging😀

06-06-2015, 08:41 PM
Me and you both then!!! All I know is that if it had been a Hibs player and it was disallowed I'd be raging and if it was against us and given I would be ragingdde00

Exactly. Same day yeah some say nah!

Similar example in the EPL with Defoe v Everton.

06-06-2015, 08:41 PM
SOMEONE BOOT SUAREZ UP IN THE AIR..... PLEASE!!!!! :greengrin

Agree, he is a complete embarrassment to football, cheating little f@@@@r

06-06-2015, 08:42 PM
3-1, Neymar.

06-06-2015, 08:42 PM
I'm willing to bet that when the referee sees that on telly he will want to give his assistant a kick in the nads....

06-06-2015, 08:43 PM
Should we really be watching this Final when one of the teams is blatantly sponsored by Qatar airlines? Surely this is politically sensitive? It's time to turn off the TV guys.

Full time;

Barcelona 3-1 Juventus

Hannah_hfc
Ooft thought that was neither of my bets coming through....

Happy now! Cheers Neymar ;)

06-06-2015, 08:44 PM
Offside for 3rd

Fantastic viewing, a joy to watch.

Best team has won it. Just a pity that Suarez has a winners medal. Great player, horrible cheat

06-06-2015, 08:45 PM
Barcelona deserved to win, but Juventus pushed them more than expected.

Should we really be watching this Final when one of the teams is blatantly sponsored by Qatar airlines? Surely this is politically sensitive? It's time to turn off the TV guys.

Fair enough - I will turn off right after the trophy presentation :)

Thank **** for that, by far the biggest bet I've had on in a wee while but a nice tidy profit :greengrin

06-06-2015, 08:47 PM
Erm....when did the final whistle blow? Should the game not have had to restart after the goal? What's the rules on that,

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 08:47 PM
The best team in Europe won it so you can't complain . just wish they would get rid of Suarez and alves .

06-06-2015, 08:48 PM
Agree, he is a complete embarrassment to football, cheating little f@@@@r

Correct... :top marks

Best team has won it. Just a pity that Suarez has a winners medal. Great player, horrible cheat

06-06-2015, 08:50 PM

Never in doubt! managed to back Neymar ew too!

06-06-2015, 08:50 PM

Also sponsored by a company who actively advocate drug cheats,

Nike. They have proven form...

06-06-2015, 08:51 PM
Great game, absolutely loved it.

Barca over the last 5-10 years have to be up there as one of the best teams ever.

06-06-2015, 08:51 PM

I don't think that Neymar is a whole lot better to be honest

PiemanP
06-06-2015, 08:55 PM
Naymar and suarez are both horrible cheats. There's plenty others nearly as bad on that pitch too which is why I find it pretty painful to watch two foreign teams playing each other in a game of this importance.

Sooner there is a rule in place banning surrounding the referee the better also. Every decision the ref makes he is hounded - no respect.

Game was actually pretty good second half. Buffon sold himself a little bit for the winner.

06-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Champions League winners in last ten years:

Barcelona
Milan
Man Utd
Barcelona
Inter
Barcelona
Chelsea
Bayern Munich
Real Madrid
Barcelona

:yawn:

SonOfDavidFrancey
06-06-2015, 09:01 PM
I don't think that Neymar is a whole lot better to be honest

Neymar not even booked for taking his shirt off... FIFA, corrupt from top to bottom...
Or for wearing that stupid headband.

06-06-2015, 09:01 PM
Also sponsored by a company who actively advocate drug cheats,

Nike. They have proven form...

You're right. My conscience is now bothering me. Please help.

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:03 PM
Neymar not even booked for taking his shirt off... FIFA, corrupt from top to bottom...

Suarez should have been booked and subsequently sent off for jumping the barriers as well

06-06-2015, 09:04 PM

Support a team that is sponsored by somebody whose ethics are a little less suspect.

Like one that makes its money from exploiting the gambling addictions of working-class men.

:cb

06-06-2015, 09:05 PM
Never in doubt! managed to back Neymar ew too!

Made a few bob on
" Barca 3-1 and Neymar Jr to score "

Hannah_hfc
06-06-2015, 09:06 PM
Support a team that is sponsored by somebody whose ethics are a little less suspect.

Like one that makes its money from exploiting the gambling addictions of working-class men.

Nae danger... Marathonbet are p*sh :greengrin :wink

06-06-2015, 09:07 PM

I can't possibly think whom you mean but I would of course raise moral objections to such an appalling scenario.

Barcelona deserved to win, but Juventus pushed them more than expected.:faf:

Juventus will be gutted, they are better team than they showed tonight not some diddy team making up the numbers. Really don't understand people who are surprised they are there, watch them regularly, they are very good.

Barcelona
Milan
Man Utd
Barcelona
Inter
Barcelona
Chelsea
Bayern Munich
Real Madrid
Barcelona

Money breeds money. There will never again be Celtic, Forrest, Villa, Steaua, Red Star, Feyenoord, Ajax even who will win the European Cup. Quite depressing to see the rich get richer to the detriment of the rest

06-06-2015, 09:09 PM
Think Barca will win this by 2 goals.

Glad I was right. :)

Barca deserved winners. Been a joy to watch. That 1st goal was absolutely exquisite.

06-06-2015, 09:10 PM

I will cite:

Armstrong
Rupp
Tiger Woods
Gatlin
A-Rod
Carl Lewis
Marion Jones
Rio Ferdinand

And...

and...

Tell me that those two are clean!

06-06-2015, 09:14 PM
I will cite:

Armstrong
Rupp
Tiger Woods
Gatlin
A-Rod
Carl Lewis
Marion Jones
Rio Ferdinand

And...

and...

All of the drugs tests they undergo say they are. Unlike the likes of Armstrong there has, as far as I know, been no rumours about them either. Some athletes just work extremely hard at being fit, toned and good at what they do

06-06-2015, 09:16 PM
I will cite:

Armstrong
Rupp
Tiger Woods
Gatlin
A-Rod
Carl Lewis
Marion Jones
Rio Ferdinand

And...

and...

14994p

*hit, and to think I've purchased a couple of the said polo shirts. I have sinned and another sleepless night beckons.

06-06-2015, 09:22 PM
All of the drugs tests they undergo say they are. Unlike the likes of Armstrong there has, as far as I know, been no rumours about them either. Some athletes just work extremely hard at being fit, toned and good at what they do

Not sure what you're insinuating. They are clean. or are spiked?

If you honestly think the Williams sisters are clean then your head must button up the back.

I listed eight athletes that have been proven (Rupp aside - but he's as guilty as sin) of admitting drug use the authorities. I could probably list more if you really want me to.

06-06-2015, 09:23 PM
*hit, and to think I've purchased a couple of the said polo shirts. I have sinned and another sleepless night beckons.

Absolve yourself by immersing yourself in a bath of Coca Cola.

06-06-2015, 09:30 PM

It's a UEFA competition.

They must have been playing 'next goal wins' too.

06-06-2015, 09:39 PM

If you honestly think the Williams sisters are clean then your head must button up the back.

I listed eight athletes that have been proven (Rupp aside - but he's as guilty as sin) of admitting drug use the authorities. I could probably list more if you really want me to.

I would add Djokovic to your list. The boy never gets tired even though earlier in his career his stamina was suspect.

06-06-2015, 09:42 PM
I will cite:

Armstrong
Rupp
Tiger Woods
Gatlin
A-Rod
Carl Lewis
Marion Jones
Rio Ferdinand

And...

and...

Rafael Nadal's been a professional for 14 years and Serena Williams for 20 years and both have been at elite level for many years. I'm pretty sure that if either of them were into taking anything dodgy then it would have been uncovered by now.

06-06-2015, 09:43 PM
Nadal's been a professional for 14 years and Serena Williams for 20 years and both have been at elite level for many years. I'm pretty sure that if either of them were into taking anything dodgy then it would have been uncovered by now.

The Williams' are quite clever at picking and choosing their tournaments though aren't they?

06-06-2015, 09:45 PM
The Williams' are quite clever at picking and choosing their tournaments though aren't they?

Tennis players don't just get tested during tournaments though, the drugs testers can turn up at any time.

I would add Djokovic to your list. The boy never gets tired even though earlier in his career his stamina was suspect.
:rolleyes: Changed his diet to gluten and dairy free. That's why he possesses the edge on his opponent's now.

Rafael Nadal's been a professional for 14 years and Serena Williams for 20 years and both have been at elite level for many years. I'm pretty sure that if either of them were into taking anything dodgy then it would have been uncovered by now.

You have great faith in the sporting authorities.

06-06-2015, 09:48 PM

Lance Armstrong never failed a dope test. So what is your point? One is only guilty of doping if they fail a test?

Blow me - for once I agree with one of your posts!

06-06-2015, 09:50 PM
And I suppose Tiger Woods is a case of where the continued use of drugs may have resulted in failure? Who knows, it's all conjecture.

06-06-2015, 09:54 PM
Tennis players don't just get tested during tournaments though, the drugs testers can turn up at any time.

Athletes are quite good at going to a training camp in the middle of nowhere to prepare.

06-06-2015, 09:55 PM
Lance Armstrong never failed a dope test. So what is your point? One is only guilty of doping if they fail a test?

Blow me - for once I agree with one of your posts!

You've definitely agreed with me before.

06-06-2015, 09:55 PM

Aye, and can I mention Lance Armstrong........

Not having a pop but, " I'm the most tested athlete ever....." was Lance answer to everything.

And the biggest UCI/Nike/TdF lie ever.

Sportspeople lie. Get used to it.

06-06-2015, 09:58 PM

So my head buttons up the back if I think that elite sportsmen and women can get to the top of their sport without drugs? So Murray, Messi, Mayweather, Redgrave, etc etc are or were all taking drugs. Clearly you know better than everyone else. Just like the time when the Jambo's were going tits up!

06-06-2015, 09:59 PM
And I suppose Tiger Woods is a case of where the continued use of drugs may have resulted in failure? Who knows, it's all conjecture.

It's only conjecture if you're not willing (or able) to look at the facts of the matter.

I resurrected an old thread on the PM board earlier today where you personally questioned me when I flagged Rupp up as a drug cheat (hope that reads right, Your Honour).

I could refer you to research Operation Puerto - many sportsmen were implicated in blood transfusions, but only cyclists were implicated.

I cite the two images I referred to earlier as being known clients of Dr. Fuentes.

06-06-2015, 10:00 PM
Meanwhile ........... weren't Barca excellent tonight! Juve gave them a good game but the best team won :agree:

06-06-2015, 10:01 PM
So my head buttons up the back if I think that elite sportsmen and women can get to the top of their sport without drugs? So Murray, Messi, Mayweather, Redgrave, etc etc are or were all taking drugs. Clearly you know better than everyone else. Just like the time when the Jambo's were going tits up!

They did :wink:

06-06-2015, 10:04 PM
It's only conjecture if you're not willing (or able) to look at the facts of the matter.

I resurrected an old thread on the PM board earlier today where you personally questioned me when I flagged Rupp up as a drug cheat (hope that reads right, Your Honour).

I could refer you to research Operation Puerto - many sportsmen were implicated in blood transfusions, but only cyclists were implicated.

I cite the two images I referred to earlier as being known clients of Dr. Fuentes.

Yip. Personally I blame it all on your Lithuanian special agent, the lassie was obviously on something.

06-06-2015, 10:07 PM

No, obviously not. However Lance Armstrong was quite an unusual case in that he and his team put a lot of effort into covering up the doping programme that they were carrying out.

I would be shocked and genuinely disappointed if it turns out that either Nadal or Serena Williams had ever taken a banned substance in order to aid their performance.

Athletes are quite good at going to a training camp in the middle of nowhere to prepare.

Yes but they need to provide details of where they are going to be for one hour per day, every single day so that the drugs testers can turn up at any point.

06-06-2015, 10:17 PM
No, obviously not. However Lance Armstrong was quite an unusual case in that he and his team put a lot of effort into covering up the doping programme that they were carrying out.

And who was the main backer behind the programme throughout...

...Nike.

They backed him from the outset of his career and were the pivotal player in ensuring the drug testing was clean.

I can't believe you honestly believe the Williams sisters are clean.

06-06-2015, 10:24 PM

...Nike.

They backed him from the outset of his career and were the pivotal player in ensuring the drug testing was clean.

not looking for an argument here serg, but can you show me/us clear proof of that?

its a fair point to say that they backed him, and arguably its not a huge assumption to say that they may have known about his drug use, but to say they were the key component to ensuring his testing remained clean is a massive claim.

i can see logic behind that claim (they want to have their athletes be the best), but being caught in doing so would finish them as a company. Doesn't really strike me as worth the risk, especially when they have the financial clout to sponsor the elite athletes (plural) in any sport they wish to.

06-06-2015, 10:27 PM
Sergey, a serious question this time. I'm what you would you call a golf addict yet most certainly not a Tiger Woods fan. However for all my knowledge of the game, I've yet to come across anything that suggest that Tiger has ever had any involvement in drugs. So can I ask you where your suspicions lie and where you can provide concrete evidence?

06-06-2015, 10:33 PM

...Nike.

Can you give me one piece of evidence that points to the fact they were doping?? I'm honestly really curious.

Big Ed
06-06-2015, 10:39 PM
Meanwhile ........... weren't Barca excellent tonight! Juve gave them a good game but the best team won :agree:

Yes John.

I thoroughly enjoyed the game tonight.

You are correct: the best team won.

06-06-2015, 10:40 PM
Made a few bob on
" Barca 3-1 and Neymar Jr to score "

Fitbaw folk ken what its aboot! Well done sir! :-)

06-06-2015, 10:43 PM
not looking for an argument here serg, but can you show me/us clear proof of that?

its a fair point to say that they backed him, and arguably its not a huge assumption to say that they may have known about his drug use, but to say they were the key component to ensuring his testing remained clean is a massive claim.

i can see logic behind that claim (they want to have their athletes be the best), but being caught in doing so would finish them as a company. Doesn't really strike me as worth the risk, especially when they have the financial clout to sponsor the elite athletes (plural) in any sport they wish to.

I'll dig out what I have tomorrow as it's in written format somewhere in my office. I don't want to post something now that is inaccurate...I'm also tired :agree:

Sergey, a serious question this time. I'm what you would you call a golf addict yet most certainly not a Tiger Woods fan. However for all my knowledge of the game, I've yet to come across anything that suggest that Tiger has ever had any involvement in drugs. So can I ask you where your suspicions lie and where you can provide concrete evidence?

Here's one link - there are hundreds out there if you look.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/more-sports/tiger-woods-spent-200k-hgh-guru-doc-new-book-article-1.1860280

The best places to look are cycling forums. The real dirty stuff is discussed there and the same names crop up time and again in investigations.

Little surprise that the names in the article are Nike sponsored.

He seemingly shot an 85 today - so he's maybe getting the same injections as I am :greengrin

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 10:48 PM
I'll dig out what I have tomorrow as it's in written format somewhere in my office. I don't want to post something now that is inaccurate...I'm also tired :agree:

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/more-sports/tiger-woods-spent-200k-hgh-guru-doc-new-book-article-1.1860280

The best places to look are cycling forums. The real dirty stuff is discussed there and the same names crop up time and again in investigations.

He seemingly shot an 85 today - so he's maybe getting the same injections as I am :greengrin

A cycling forum ??? I'd rather sit in a dark room with interrogation music

06-06-2015, 10:50 PM

Fair enough mate, I'm genuinely interested to read that 😊

06-06-2015, 10:51 PM

In Scots law that would go down as 'not proven' m'Lord and in any case any golfer will tell you that the use of drugs is more likely to be a hindrance rather than an advantage.

06-06-2015, 10:52 PM
What a mental match tonight! It was quite unlike a European final. Both teams threw caution to the winds and went for it. Neither defence looked secure. On this evidence the era of tippy-tap football is over.

06-06-2015, 11:12 PM

Barcelona
Milan
Man Utd
Barcelona
Inter
Barcelona
Chelsea
Bayern Munich
Real Madrid
Barcelona

7 different winners in the last 10 years? That's pretty good going if you ask me!

07-06-2015, 07:37 AM
7 different winners in the last 10 years? That's pretty good going if you ask me!

Only 6 different winners.

07-06-2015, 07:40 AM
Only 6 different winners.

Milan, inter, barca, real, chelsea, man u & bayern = 7.

07-06-2015, 07:41 AM
Milan, inter, barca, real, chelsea, man u & bayern = 7.

Ok cheers:aok: Still half asleep. :greengrin

07-06-2015, 08:26 AM
I thought Hearts were supposed to have won it in last ten years.

07-06-2015, 11:42 AM
In Scots law that would go down as 'not proven' m'Lord and in any case any golfer will tell you that the use of drugs is more likely to be a hindrance rather than an advantage.

Does it not depend just how bad you are to start with? :greengrin

07-06-2015, 11:55 AM
Does it not depend just how bad you are to start with? :greengrin

Now that could be true. :greengrin

There was actually a case on the PGA tour last season when a certain high profile professional golfer "disappeared" from the scene for a few months after allegations of heroin abuse were made against him. It's not considered to be a major problem in golf although I'd be very surprised if everyone was 100% clean.

07-06-2015, 01:43 PM
Well the best team won, and the team that wanted to kick the other team off the park got what they deserved. How that ref did not book and send off some of those Juve players is beyond me, he gave the team who were trying to play the right way no protection at all?

On a side not, we were sitting in the pub and my mate who is a broad glaswegian said he was going over the road to put a bet on, i said i fancied 3-0 and so did he.

I gave him £20 to put on, and he said he'd do the same bet. He came back and we watched the game, and when Juve scored i threw my bet away.

He kept his because he'd also had £20 Barca half time and full time. When the game finished we all went over to the bookies to pick up his winnings, and the woman behind the counter who wrote his slip out for him had written 3-1 instead of 3-0 at 9-1.

I shot back over to the pub and searched the floor for my betting slip and when i found it she'd done the same on mine. :greengrin

08-06-2015, 09:17 AM
Now that could be true. :greengrin

There was actually a case on the PGA tour last season when a certain high profile professional golfer "disappeared" from the scene for a few months after allegations of heroin abuse were made against him. It's not considered to be a major problem in golf although I'd be very surprised if everyone was 100% clean.

It was cocaine, said "gentleman" is also a serial ****ger with the spouses of Jason Duffner & Jimmy Walker being a few of his alleged many conquests.

Don't know if you watched Memorial last night but the Duffner pairing looked a bit tense and as far as I could see they never exchanged a word or nod and certainly didn't breathe the same air whilst walking up the fairway.

An accident that the individuals disappearance coincided with the Ryder Cup........ who knows.

I also heard an interesting story regarding a hooker, glass topped table and broken engagement.

Just_Jimmy
08-06-2015, 11:33 AM
It was cocaine, said "gentleman" is also a serial ****ger with the spouses of Jason Duffner & Jimmy Walker being a few of his alleged many conquests.

Don't know if you watched Memorial last night but the Duffner pairing looked a bit tense and as far as I could see they never exchanged a word or nod and certainly didn't breathe the same air whilst walking up the fairway.

An accident that the individuals disappearance coincided with the Ryder Cup........ who knows.

I also heard an interesting story regarding a hooker, glass topped table and broken engagement.

There have also been a few stories around St Andrews of student parties and such like. Well Known.

08-06-2015, 12:43 PM
What a mental match tonight! It was quite unlike a European final. Both teams threw caution to the winds and went for it. Neither defence looked secure. On this evidence the era of tippy-tap football is over.

I think Juve would have retreated into their shell had they not conceded so early. Goals change games!

09-06-2015, 07:12 AM
See that Barca have signed Aleix Vidal. Nice to see their transfer ban is working.
Also adds to the myth, yeah he is a good young Catalan player but when your spending over 20 million on a player, anyone can get them. Yes he played for their youth team but you've still paid 20+ million to sign him.

09-06-2015, 10:21 AM
Well the best team won, and the team that wanted to kick the other team off the park got what they deserved. How that ref did not book and send off some of those Juve players is beyond me, he gave the team who were trying to play the right way no protection at all?

On a side not, we were sitting in the pub and my mate who is a broad glaswegian said he was going over the road to put a bet on, i said i fancied 3-0 and so did he.

I gave him £20 to put on, and he said he'd do the same bet. He came back and we watched the game, and when Juve scored i threw my bet away.

He kept his because he'd also had £20 Barca half time and full time. When the game finished we all went over to the bookies to pick up his winnings, and the woman behind the counter who wrote his slip out for him had written 3-1 instead of 3-0 at 9-1.

I shot back over to the pub and searched the floor for my betting slip and when i found it she'd done the same on mine. :greengrin:faf: did you watch the game? there wasn't a malicious challenge in it, closing a team down and getting in their faces isn't trying to kick them off the park.

09-06-2015, 11:10 AM
See that Barca have signed Aleix Vidal. Nice to see their transfer ban is working.
Also adds to the myth, yeah he is a good young Catalan player but when your spending over 20 million on a player, anyone can get them. Yes he played for their youth team but you've still paid 20+ million to sign him.

He can't play for Barca until 2016 - when the ban is up.

Unsure what point you're trying to make afterwards - but they haven't spent over £20 million on him.

09-06-2015, 11:28 AM
:faf: did you watch the game? there wasn't a malicious challenge in it, closing a team down and getting in their faces isn't trying to kick them off the park.

Vidal was taken off before he was sent off. Just in time because I was just about to put a few quid on a red card.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2TbNVZXr8Ok

http://www.mundodeportivo.com/img/345b9d7e-0c7f-11e5-8cc5-9b0fc48d3eca/lowres/el-arbitro-perdona-la-expulsion-a-vidal.jpg

09-06-2015, 11:34 AM
Vidal was taken off before he was sent off. Just in time because I was just about to put a few quid on a red card.

http://www.mundodeportivo.com/img/345b9d7e-0c7f-11e5-8cc5-9b0fc48d3eca/lowres/el-arbitro-perdona-la-expulsion-a-vidal.jpg

Case closed. Guilty m'lord. :)

09-06-2015, 04:41 PM
He can't play for Barca until 2016 - when the ban is up.

Unsure what point you're trying to make afterwards - but they haven't spent over £20 million on him.

My bad,I was meaning 20+ million euro not pounds. Think it still works out at around £16 million though.

09-06-2015, 06:04 PM

http://www.mundodeportivo.com/img/345b9d7e-0c7f-11e5-8cc5-9b0fc48d3eca/lowres/el-arbitro-perdona-la-expulsion-a-vidal.jpgHe still didn't actually make any dangerous tackles, mainly mistimed ones. To say he was trying to injured people and kick them off the park is pretty daft tbh.

09-06-2015, 06:27 PM
He still didn't actually make any dangerous tackles, mainly mistimed ones. To say he was trying to injured people and kick them off the park is pretty daft tbh.

I'm convinced you must have listened to it on the radio, with Italian commentary.