View Full Version : No goalie

29-05-2015, 06:26 PM
Just noticed on the back of the EEN that we now have no goalkeepers on our books.

West hamBERNIAN
29-05-2015, 06:30 PM
Maybe a ploy to get other teams to attack us?

29-05-2015, 06:39 PM
It's still only May, and yet the EEN thinks that is a lead story?

29-05-2015, 06:50 PM
Maybe a ploy to get other teams to attack us?

Stubbsy can GTF if he thinks this is a sensible way to set a team up.

Ken
29-05-2015, 06:52 PM
The taller outfield players could just take 15-20 mins each

29-05-2015, 06:54 PM
We need a goalie who can chip in with 1/2 goals at least each season

29-05-2015, 06:55 PM
Backie in was fine when I was a kid

29-05-2015, 06:58 PM
Stevenson is up for the gig apparently.

29-05-2015, 07:01 PM
It's still only May, and yet the EEN thinks that is a lead story?

They need to come up with a 'Hibs' and a 'Hearts' lead every day, you can't blame them for struggling at this time of year!

29-05-2015, 07:05 PM
Maybe we just play and 'backie an"......

29-05-2015, 07:18 PM
To be fair I'm not sure we had a goalie this season

29-05-2015, 07:21 PM
Any man save and score

29-05-2015, 07:33 PM
Monkey keeper was how I played as a youth.

29-05-2015, 07:35 PM
Not concerned by the absence of a goalie

I think its an excellent motivation tool for the current outfield players.

Its always the pishest player who is forced to go in goals so they will be bursting their ***** not to be that man.

29-05-2015, 07:35 PM
All very funny, but, when have we ever not actually had a goalkeeper on the books? I was a bit surprised to see this, to say the very least. I will go on the assumption, that we will have a goalie, next season and that he meets the fullbacks, before our first game.

29-05-2015, 07:41 PM
All very funny, but, when have we ever not actually had a goalkeeper on the books? I was a bit surprised to see this, to say the very least. I will go on the assumption, that we will have a goalie, next season and that he meets the fullbacks, before our first game.

Well not since last close season I believe when we had no keeper until late June/early July. Absolutely nothing to worry about, last close season we had no manager either. If Stubbs is not making efforts to keep Cerny or Oxley then I think it's safe to assume he has other targets in mind.

29-05-2015, 08:38 PM
Do zibbie or Simon Brown count as goalkeepers?

We should have one next season but you never know

Feed McGraw
29-05-2015, 08:48 PM
Backie in was fine when I was a kid We called it " Goalie and " round our way / my era.

29-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Jak Alnwick has been released by Newcastle. Wouldn't be a bad signing?

29-05-2015, 08:57 PM
If we're still without a goalkeeper at the end of July then I'll start to worry, not in May when we've just finished the season and our goalkeepers from last season were all either on loan or their contracts were up at the end of the season.

29-05-2015, 11:25 PM
Well not since last close season I believe when we had no keeper until late June/early July. Absolutely nothing to worry about, last close season we had no manager either. If Stubbs is not making efforts to keep Cerny or Oxley then I think it's safe to assume he has other targets in mind.the bit that worries me, is what if our current manager is not with us ,come July ? and don't tell me that is not possible ! him and his current backroom staff are all on short term contracts, they all share a flat, don't have their families up here and could be interested in a job in the English first/second or whatever league, without having a goalie sorted before they bolt! don't tell me, that a club like Hibernian, should leave itself having absolutely without any goalies at all. we have nane, nixi, no even a laddie wi a pair o' gloves. unheard of.

29-05-2015, 11:30 PM
Zaluska.

29-05-2015, 11:31 PM
We called it " Goalie and " round our way / my era.

We said "goalie an".

Still don't have a clue what it means.

30-05-2015, 12:33 AM
All very funny, but, when have we ever not actually had a goalkeeper on the books?

Last season?

30-05-2015, 12:35 AM
"Any man" it was called in my days.

30-05-2015, 12:54 AM
Sean Brennan.

Northern Hibby
30-05-2015, 01:01 AM
2 and in we called it

30-05-2015, 05:16 AM
No goalies = no wages being paid.

We don't need any until time to report back for pre-season.

I think we have a good chance of signing them.

30-05-2015, 05:28 AM
No goalies = no wages being paid.

We don't need any until time to report back for pre-season.

I think we have a good chance of signing them.

Do you think we'll be back in for Oxley?

30-05-2015, 06:32 AM
the bit that worries me, is what if our current manager is not with us ,come July ? and don't tell me that is not possible ! him and his current backroom staff are all on short term contracts, they all share a flat, don't have their families up here and could be interested in a job in the English first/second or whatever league, without having a goalie sorted before they bolt! don't tell me, that a club like Hibernian, should leave itself having absolutely without any goalies at all. we have nane, nixi, no even a laddie wi a pair o' gloves. unheard of.

I haven't seen the EEN article but IMO you're giving it far too much credibility. I believe Sean Brennan remains on our books & technically Cerny will still be under contract at least until end May & possibly end June. If Stubbs leaves, which I doubt & sincerely hope not, then I trust the new infrastructure at ER to have both a continuity & contingency plan in place.

malagahibby
30-05-2015, 06:34 AM
Seemingly oxley said he would guarantee at least 3 goals a season .Thats why he's gone.

30-05-2015, 07:04 AM
Do you think we'll be back in for Oxley?

Heard a wee whisper we had made him an offer.

son of haggart
30-05-2015, 07:08 AM
We said "goalie an".

Never thought about that before - that's what we called it in Northfield in the early 60's though 'goalie and' as in the post above makes sense as a derivation

linlithgowhibbie
30-05-2015, 08:12 AM

It was a "Backie an" in my part of Leith in the early 60s- mid70s

30-05-2015, 08:55 AM
We said "goalie an".

Ditto on both of the above.

30-05-2015, 11:45 AM
its all part of Sepp Blatter's freash new start - teams can now play games with a goalie an

30-05-2015, 01:09 PM
Sean Brennan.

Sean is nowhere near first team material yet IMO.

30-05-2015, 04:48 PM
Heard a wee whisper we had made him an offer.

Really hope not, better keepers out there. Oxley is/was, nothing more than "adequate" imo.

30-05-2015, 05:05 PM
Really hope not, better keepers out there. Oxley is/was, nothing more than "adequate" imo.

I keep reading that on here but no one ever comes up with the name of one of these "better keepers". Funny thing that.....

30-05-2015, 05:06 PM
Jak Alnwick has been released by Newcastle. Wouldn't be a bad signing?
Who is he and why would he not be a bad signing?

30-05-2015, 05:07 PM
I keep reading that on here but no one ever comes up with the name of one of these "better keepers". Funny thing that.....

We're not football scouts, how would we know who was available or within our price range?

30-05-2015, 05:10 PM
We're not football scouts, how would we know who was available or within our price range?

If you don't know what is available within our price range you can't make make the assertion that there are better keepers out there than Oxley. That's my point.

30-05-2015, 05:12 PM

Less than 4 a side and it was goalie "rush"

30-05-2015, 05:13 PM
Thon Falkirk goalie might be available......

30-05-2015, 05:19 PM
If you don't know what is available within our price range you can't make make the assertion that there are better keepers out there than Oxley. That's my point.

It's not a great point though. If I was playing in goals for hibs I think it's fair to say hibs could get better, I couldn't give you a list of targets though.

There'll be hundreds of keepers available this summer, the vast majority I wouldn't have heard of or seen play, I'd hope our scouts or management team were aware of a lot of them though.

30-05-2015, 05:23 PM
If things get really bad all the club have to do is send me a PM and I'll play for nowt :)

West hamBERNIAN
30-05-2015, 05:23 PM

Rather get McNeil back

30-05-2015, 05:25 PM
It's not a great point though. If I was playing in goals for hibs I think it's fair to say hibs could get better, I couldn't give you a list of targets though.

There'll be hundreds of keepers available this summer, the vast majority I wouldn't have heard of or seen play, I'd hope our scouts or management team were aware of a lot of them though.

You tell me that my point isn't great then use yourself as the Hibs goalie as an analogy. Seriously ? Oxley was on the books of an EPL club - again, I'm all ears to hear examples of who is available within our budget. It would be a lovely change from meaningless, generic statements with no basis in knowledge.

30-05-2015, 05:30 PM
You tell me that my point isn't great then use yourself as the Hibs goalie as an analogy. Seriously ? Oxley was on the books of an EPL club - again, I'm all ears to hear examples of who is available within our budget. It would be a lovely change from meaningless, generic statements with no basis in knowledge.

Had you heard of Oxley last season?

There'll be loads of English premiership clubs with 3rd or 4th choice keepers available this summer that I won't have heard of. Having watched Oxley all season I think it's a safe bet that some of them will be better than Oxley.

gaz1875
30-05-2015, 05:38 PM
I thought the Queens keeper is very good, some cracking saves against the huns. Looks a little like Oxley funnily enough (facially).

30-05-2015, 05:45 PM
I thought the Queens keeper is very good, some cracking saves against the huns. Looks a little like Oxley funnily enough (facially).

He was on loan from st Johnstone and I think they want him back for next season.

gaz1875
30-05-2015, 05:47 PM
He was on loan from st Johnstone and I think they want him back for next season.

I thought he might have been on loan, pretty sure someone will make a move for him if he's not first choice next season.

30-05-2015, 05:49 PM

They do, and Queens have replaced with Thomson the Cowdenbeath goalie

30-05-2015, 05:52 PM
I thought he might have been on loan, pretty sure someone will make a move for him if he's not first choice next season.

Can't see him being 1st choice at Saints, behind Manus. Saints have also got a cracking young goalie, who plays for Scotland under 21's

30-05-2015, 06:00 PM

killie bound I heard

gaz1875
30-05-2015, 06:02 PM
Can't see him being 1st choice at Saints, behind Manus. Saints have also got a cracking young goalie, who plays for Scotland under 21's

I wondered that, shame if he's a bench warmer he did look good in most games I saw him.

31-05-2015, 12:42 AM
Thon Falkirk goalie might be available......nah, judging by yesterdays performance, he like to give other teams a chance:wink:

31-05-2015, 12:56 AM
Who is he and why would he not be a bad signing?

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jak_Alnwick

6 apps for the Newcastle first team at 21/22 years old, a few of which were this season too.

31-05-2015, 01:05 AM
Maybe we just play and 'backie an"......

That's what they called it my days playing in the Graigentiiny primary playground

Kavinho
31-05-2015, 01:14 AM
Rather get McNeil back

I used to quite like him..

Have no idea if he's good or bad now

31-05-2015, 01:37 AM
nah, judging by yesterdays performance, he like to give other teams a chance:wink:

Going to Kilmarnock