View Full Version : I'm Still an MP Quits Hearts

28-05-2015, 11:37 AM
I see our MP for South Edinburgh is jumping ship.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/ian-murray-quits-as-hearts-director-foh-chairman-1-3785453

28-05-2015, 11:41 AM
TBF, as the only Labour MP left in Scotland, he must be kinda busy at the moment.

He probably thinks his work at Hearts now is pretty much done. Him and Alex Salmond managed to pull quite a few strings to get them where they are now.

28-05-2015, 11:44 AM
odious little creep

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 11:53 AM
Edinburgh south West mp just spent two mins raving about them in Westminster ,, and how they pay a living wage..

28-05-2015, 11:57 AM
Hertz dick.

Hibs History
28-05-2015, 12:00 PM
Edinburgh south West mp just spent two mins raving about them in Westminster ,, and how they pay a living wage..

How he got re-elected is a mystery to me.

And with regards to Hearts, fair play to them with the living wage scheme - it's amazing what you can do when you don't pay your debts

28-05-2015, 12:01 PM
Do any of you actually know him ? He may be a fan of the other mob but as he said to me what football fan would not want to help their team at a time of need. He also wanted Hibs to get promoted. He's not a bad guy.

28-05-2015, 12:03 PM

And with regards to Hearts, fair play to them with the living wage scheme - it's amazing what you can do when you don't pay your debts

Probably a combination of the fact that he is apparently a good constituency MP, and the SNP candidate made a tit of himself by insulting old people (doesn't go down well in areas like Morningside unsurprisingly!).

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 12:06 PM

This was not Ian Murray but the female snp mp for Edinburgh south West

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 12:07 PM
Do any of you actually know him ? He may be a fan of the other mob but as he said to me what football fan would not want to help their team at a time of need. He also wanted Hibs to get promoted. He's not a bad guy.

I actually think he comes across as a decent mp. Who he supports shouldn't matter..

28-05-2015, 12:10 PM
I actually think he comes across as a decent mp. Who he supports shouldn't matter..

Careful now...non blinkered common sense doesn't have a place on this board :greengrin

28-05-2015, 12:11 PM

So did Nicola Sturgeon at Tynecastle the other day. They are leading the way for us all to follow.:greengrin

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 12:11 PM
Careful now...non blinkered common sense doesn't have a place on this board :greengrin

Sorry won't let it happen again 😁

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 12:12 PM
So did Nicola Sturgeon at Tynecastle the other day. They are leading the way for us all to follow.:greengrin

I read an article saying that most of the staff they use are not hearts employees so it's kind of a false claim, I have no idea if there's any truth in it though

28-05-2015, 12:19 PM
odious little creep

Bigot

28-05-2015, 12:40 PM
I read an article saying that most of the staff they use are not hearts employees so it's kind of a false claim, I have no idea if there's any truth in it though

I understand that to be an accredited Living Wage Employer it has to apply to all your suppliers and sub contractors as well. So, that being the case, we have to assume they top up the minimum wages paid to the G4S guys for a start.

28-05-2015, 12:41 PM
Paying a living wage. Big deal. To me it's the equivalent of just slapping someone about the head instead of kicking his teeth in.

28-05-2015, 12:42 PM
Actually, he works quite hard for his constituents in Edinburgh South. The regeneration of Gracemount where the flats used to be has been pretty decent. All the old biddies in that area respect him as he attended lot of working/steering committees to add a local voice and help lots of folks through the regen. Seems like a good guy with the best intentions. However, SE is predominantly jumbos! lol ;)

BTW, anyone noticed the amount of jumbos on here lately? :cb

28-05-2015, 12:43 PM

Is she a Yam anaw then ? Got that look about her ! :greengrin

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/05/26/543f2fd6ea30b71be6a30110d7327530.jpg

28-05-2015, 12:45 PM

Pretty sure Ann Budge is. :greengrin

28-05-2015, 12:47 PM
Pretty sure Ann Budge is. :greengrin

Defo ! :faf:

son of haggart
28-05-2015, 12:48 PM

Said in an interview pre election that she's not much of a footie person but if anyone it's Ary United she supports

Ayr United fan.

Heart of Midlothian.. Paedos and Politicians

liamh2202

I can't believe there is a picture of their tunnel on the wall., hardly a glamorous entrance to the theatre of dreams 😂

28-05-2015, 12:49 PM
I can't believe there is a picture of their tunnel on the wall., hardly a glamorous entrance to the theatre of dreams 😂

Surprised it's not a photo of the 1918 trophy presentation.

Newry Hibs
28-05-2015, 12:51 PM

There's got to be a joke here about Hearts and no cups .....

28-05-2015, 12:54 PM
TBF, as the only Labour MP left in Scotland, he must be kinda busy at the moment.

He probably thinks his work at Hearts now is pretty much done. Him and an Alex Salmond managed to pull quite a few strings to get them where they are now.

Cannae be that busy, he didn't turn up to debate zero hours contracts in the new Parliamentary session this week, in fact only 6 labour MPs turned up, 8 tories bothered their ar$e about it, and 56 SNP MPs were there for the debate. He must be busy with other stuff, like filling out his expenses forms :wink:

28-05-2015, 12:59 PM
Hertz dick.

28-05-2015, 12:59 PM
I understand that to be an accredited Living Wage Employer it has to apply to all your suppliers and sub contractors as well. So, that being the case, we have to assume they top up the minimum wages paid to the G4S guys for a start.

I don't think the living wage will apply to the ancillary staff at the PBS.

First it applies only to over 18's, that will be half of the catering staff excluded. Second, to be included requires to work a minimum number of hours in 8 consecutive weeks of a year.

I doubt they have a game every week for 8 consecutive weeks.

Budge, of course , may well be paying everyone the minimum regardless of the actual rules, if so, good for her.

28-05-2015, 01:02 PM
Bigot

divi

28-05-2015, 01:03 PM
Cannae be that busy, he didn't turn up to debate zero hours contracts in the new Parliamentary session this week, in fact only 6 labour MPs turned up, 8 tories bothered their ar$e about it, and 56 SNP MPs were there for the debate. He must be busy with other stuff, like filling out his expenses forms :wink:

As he currently IS Scottish Labour, he surely must have a lot of work to do

Does the 'Living Wage' apply to all the Bosnian Metalworkers with no pensions and the Lithuanian Bank Account holders who saw their savings disappear..... all for the benefit of businesses like Hearts?

28-05-2015, 01:07 PM
[QUOTE=keekaboo;4385537]As he currently IS Scottish Labour, he surely must have a lot of work to do

28-05-2015, 01:43 PM
As he currently IS Scottish Labour, he surely must have a lot of work to do

Scottish Labour's Westminster leader and Shadow Scottish Secretary. Far too busy to worry about trivialities like making sure FoH pay back Budgie for saving their skins.

28-05-2015, 01:47 PM
Hearts pay the Living wage. How to pay as little as you can and make it look like your doing a really good thing.

28-05-2015, 01:59 PM
Hearts pay the Living wage. How to pay as little as you can and make it look like your doing a really good thing.

Budgie tells staff: "I'm increasing your wages from minimum wage to living wage but you're only needed 16 hours a week instead of 20. AND you still have to do the same amount of work."

Allisbarry announces in EEN: "Hertz are trailblazers and Budgie is wonderful."

28-05-2015, 02:10 PM
He's obviously got his eye on a bigger job - leader of the Scottish Labour MP's in the Houses of Parliament springs to mind. He can devote all his time to their needs, like he did for all his constituents during the yams little difficulty.

28-05-2015, 02:46 PM
He got the Hearts supporters vote that's why he still is a mp

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 02:48 PM

Or more realistically he got the vote of his constituents no matter what team they support

green.and.white
28-05-2015, 02:51 PM
Sturgeon's husband is a Hibby I believe so if she was ever to have an allegiance in Edinburgh, it wouldn't be to that lot!

28-05-2015, 02:51 PM

Even Hearts supporters would allocate their vote to the candidate they thought most worthy rather than going by football allegiances. I didn't notice the Unionist vote being any larger in Glasgow so even Rangers fans saw beyond their match day chants.
Even if he did get a large vote for saving a business in his city then he was doing his job, would anybody here have raised a voice in protest if he was saving jobs at an engineering works?
He is a bit of a creep though.

liamh2202
28-05-2015, 02:55 PM
Even Hearts supporters would allocate their vote to the candidate they thought most worthy rather than going by football allegiances. I didn't notice the Unionist vote being any larger in Glasgow so even Rangers fans saw beyond their match day chants.
Even if he did get a large vote for saving a business in his city then he was doing his job, would anybody here have raised a voice in protest if he was saving jobs at an engineering works?
He is a bit of a creep though.

Agree with you apart from the rangers vote is more likely to affect the rest of Scotland than Glasgow 😁

28-05-2015, 02:59 PM
Mp for South Edinburgh spent most of his time getting involved in Edinburgh West affairs. I didn't see any other politician get involved.

28-05-2015, 03:02 PM
Mp for South Edinburgh spent most of his time getting involved in Edinburgh West affairs. I didn't see any other politician get involved.

Apart from Salmond?

28-05-2015, 03:03 PM
Apart from Salmond?

Who is another one of them

28-05-2015, 03:03 PM
On a similar note, where's Fatty Foulkes these days, not heard him spouting his usual crap for ages.

28-05-2015, 03:31 PM
On a similar note, where's Fatty Foulkes these days, not heard him spouting his usual crap for ages.

Latest I saw was him dubbing The National "McPravda" when it was first launched. So behind with the times it's comical.

28-05-2015, 03:39 PM
Someone must be questioning his commitment as an MP at Westminster as he spent more time giving out funny handshakes to those who let this disgusting club get away with daylight robbery.

A classic yam slimebag acting as if nothing happened and isn't it funny how he's the only Labour MP for miles around, a rigged vote no doubt.

A complete waste of space.

28-05-2015, 03:40 PM

Propping up the free bar at the Houses Of Parliament no doubt.

28-05-2015, 03:40 PM

Only 1 Nat spoke. Keep peddling the myth it might come true 1 day

28-05-2015, 03:44 PM
Someone must be questioning his commitment as an MP at Westminster as he spent more time giving out funny handshakes to those who let this disgusting club get away with daylight robbery.

A classic yam slimebag acting as if nothing happened and isn't it funny how he's the only Labour MP for miles around, a rigged vote no doubt.

A complete waste of space.

Seriously?

Did you see the conduct of the SNP candidate during the campaign? That will tell you why IM is an MP. He's there because the other guy cocked it up, not because of any vote-rigging.

28-05-2015, 03:48 PM
Seriously?

Did you see the conduct of the SNP candidate during the campaign? That will tell you why IM is an MP. He's there because the other guy cocked it up, not because of any vote-rigging.

I would certainly say that yams that have never voted in their lives did so to keep him in.

28-05-2015, 03:53 PM
I would certainly say that yams that have never voted in their lives did so to keep him in.

Or you could stick to the facts :greengrin

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/572544/Nicola-Sturgeon-refuses-sack-Edinburgh-candidate-Neil-Hay-Twitter-outburst

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/snp-candidate-sorry-over-twitter-trolling-1-3751958

28-05-2015, 03:56 PM

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/572544/Nicola-Sturgeon-refuses-sack-Edinburgh-candidate-Neil-Hay-Twitter-outburst

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/snp-candidate-sorry-over-twitter-trolling-1-3751958
Stick to facts? On Hibs.net? You being serious? :greengrin

28-05-2015, 03:57 PM
Stick to facts? On Hibs.net? You being serious? :greengrin

:doh:

28-05-2015, 04:13 PM

Your obviously a Labour supporter then?

28-05-2015, 04:14 PM
Your obviously a Labour supporter then?

Nope.

Try again :wink:

28-05-2015, 04:15 PM
Politics aside I'm sure we can all agree that he's a fat hearts tube.

28-05-2015, 04:20 PM

This....

28-05-2015, 04:25 PM
Had him up in my flat the other month there and he is a right wee creep.

28-05-2015, 04:29 PM

Actually, no, we can't all agree that.

He's a pretty decent guy with a good sense of humour who works very hard. Exactly the sort of person you'd want as your MP when you need help. Working class background, no airs and graces, not a career politician. He just supports the wrong team.

For what its worth I found the SNP candidate Hay pretty approachable too despite what he had tweeted and the effect that had on his chances.

28-05-2015, 04:34 PM

If youd heard the prospective SNP candidate on radio Scotland (he of subsequent OAP gaffe) then the reason is crystal - the competition was rank, whilst he (against my expectation) came across well.

28-05-2015, 06:23 PM
Seriously?

Spot on. The other guy - AKA Paco McSheepie - got found out.

Vote rigging. :faf:

28-05-2015, 07:09 PM
odious little creep

Definitely THIS!

28-05-2015, 07:40 PM

Here he is :greengrin1493714938

28-05-2015, 08:23 PM

A radge fat hearts tube I'd say.

edwards
28-05-2015, 08:29 PM
Come to my door to canvas for my vote politely told him I was busy and when he tried to hand me one of his leaflets I nearly took his hand off. :na na:

Lucky_Jim
28-05-2015, 09:43 PM
I honestly don't get some of the utter hostility towards IM on this thread. He's a yam and a Labour man....so what? Lots of people support H****s and lots of people (although admittedly fewer than for many a year!) support Labour. Surely in a pluralist and tolerant society like Scotland that's to be welcomed?

I also don't get those who are suggesting such a strong link between politics and football allegiance. As has been pointed out by others, if football allegiance was the key factor in voting reasons last month then surely someone like Ian Davidson losing his seat in what is a predominantly Rangers supporting constituency wouldn't have happened. I sit in the West stand at ER a few rows away from Kenny McAskill on one side and Iain Gray on the other...if supporting Hibs is such a key criteria in voting for a politician then who should I be supporting when both Gray and McAskill come to my door canvassing?!

It's utter garbage to suggest that IM only held his seat cos of Hearts supporters backing him in light of his involvement in saving the club. Give him some credit for the job he's done as an MP and for his campaigning qualities. I'm not a Nat (you may have guessed by now!) but Margo Macdonald's politics didn't bother me a jot when she used her profile and skills acquired from her political background to help the campaign to save Hibs back in the 1990's. I was eternally grateful to her (and the others) who did their bit to save my club but her involvement in Hands Off Hibs had absolutely no bearing whatsoever when it came to my voting (or not as is the case) when she wanted my vote for the Scottish Parliament (although I hasten to add that I did vote for her when she was an independent candidate, not that that's particularly relevant).

Is 56 not enough??? Let IM get on with his job of opposing both the Tory Govt and the mass block of Nat MPs. It's actually healthy to have a voice, however reduced, that offers an alternative toScottish nationalism!

28-05-2015, 10:07 PM
I honestly don't get some of the utter hostility towards IM on this thread. He's a yam and a Labour man....so what? Lots of people support H****s and lots of people (although admittedly fewer than for many a year!) support Labour. Surely in a pluralist and tolerant society like Scotland that's to be welcomed?

I also don't get those who are suggesting such a strong link between politics and football allegiance. As has been pointed out by others, if football allegiance was the key factor in voting reasons last month then surely someone like Ian Davidson losing his seat in what is a predominantly Rangers supporting constituency wouldn't have happened. I sit in the West stand at ER a few rows away from Kenny McAskill on one side and Iain Gray on the other...if supporting Hibs is such a key criteria in voting for a politician then who should I be supporting when both Gray and McAskill come to my door canvassing?!

It's utter garbage to suggest that IM only held his seat cos of Hearts supporters backing him in light of his involvement in saving the club. Give him some credit for the job he's done as an MP and for his campaigning qualities. I'm not a Nat (you may have guessed by now!) but Margo Macdonald's politics didn't bother me a jot when she used her profile and skills acquired from her political background to help the campaign to save Hibs back in the 1990's. I was eternally grateful to her (and the others) who did their bit to save my club but her involvement in Hands Off Hibs had absolutely no bearing whatsoever when it came to my voting (or not as is the case) when she wanted my vote for the Scottish Parliament (although I hasten to add that I did vote for her when she was an independent candidate, not that that's particularly relevant).

Is 56 not enough??? Let IM get on with his job of opposing both the Tory Govt and the mass block of Nat MPs. It's actually healthy to have a voice, however reduced, that offers an alternative toScottish nationalism!

Excellent post. Just to say, I think we miss Margo like anything. I thought she had the worst politics and at the same time was one of the best human beings in politics.

28-05-2015, 10:18 PM
He's a pretty decent guy with a good sense of humour who works very hard. Exactly the sort of person you'd want as your MP when you need help. Working class background, no airs and graces, not a career politician. He just supports the wrong team.

I actually knew Ian before he became an MP and know all about his background. I haven't spoken to him for years but I can quite believe your description of him as he did indeed work hard to get where he is. Steelier than he looks.

However, when I post on here I have my Hibernian hat firmly on at all times so I stand by my description.

Lucky_Jim
28-05-2015, 10:30 PM
Excellent post. Just to say, I think we miss Margo like anything. I thought she had the worst politics and at the same time was one of the best human beings in politics.

Margo is a massive miss from political and civic life in Scotland. I'm genuinely sad that the Scottish Parliament voted just yesterday against Margo's assisted suicide Bill - very ably taken forward on her behalf by the very capable and worthwhile Patrick Harvie. Margo was a genuinely principled and genuine politician. I had the pleasure of her company on a few occasions and it was a genuine privilege.

29-05-2015, 06:58 AM

Why would a Labour MP oppose the Tory Govt? They have given up their position as official opposition to HM Government by agreeing with their policies. Surely their job now is to convince the world that "SNP BAD".

29-05-2015, 07:13 AM

seems to be an absence of cups to drink their tea............cuts biting hard at the PBS? :greengrin

timewilltell
29-05-2015, 07:15 AM
A radge fat hearts tube I'd say.

Classy..

29-05-2015, 07:20 AM
Why would a Labour MP oppose the Tory Govt? They have given up their position as official opposition to HM Government by agreeing with their policies. Surely their job now is to convince the world that "SNP BAD".

Utter nonsense.

29-05-2015, 08:05 AM
Utter nonsense.

Austerity, benefit cuts, Trident renewal....

What Tory policy will Labour oppose?

29-05-2015, 08:16 AM

Bravo. Straight from the SNP playbook.

The SNP are so 'progressive' that they've systematically transferred resources from the poorest to the richest while running Scotland for the last 8 years.

29-05-2015, 08:38 AM

In this chilly May weather, does that luxury Tynecastle suite have it's own calor gas heater, or did they have to wheel the one from The John Robertson Lounge round?

29-05-2015, 08:53 AM
Utter nonsense.

:agree: Complete and utter ill informed nonsense.

29-05-2015, 09:15 AM
The Lib Dem vote in Edinburgh South was decimated at the election.

One of the things their candidate put this down to was a "Unionist tactical vote" and that a lot of Conservatives and Lib Dems gave their votes to Labour on this occasion to keep the SNP out.

Personally I think it is probably a combination of this (although not much), the mobilised Jambo vote, the SNP guy making a royal mess of things with those twitter comments (it's mental that he did as well as he did in spite of this) and the fact that Ian Murray is (all political and football allegiances aside) a decent guy and a decent local MP.

And he still only won it by a ba' hair.

29-05-2015, 09:18 AM
Bravo. Straight from the SNP playbook.

The SNP are so 'progressive' that they've systematically transferred resources from the poorest to the richest while running Scotland for the last 8 years.

Evidence please. :)

29-05-2015, 09:21 AM
seems to be an absence of cups to drink their tea............cuts biting hard at the PBS? :greengrin

no Cups at Tynie, thare are no cups at Tynie :wink:

_hucks_
29-05-2015, 09:24 AM
The Lib Dem vote in Edinburgh South was decimated at the election.

One of the things their candidate put this down to was a "Unionist tactical vote" and that a lot of Conservatives and Lib Dems gave their votes to Labour on this occasion to keep the SNP out.

Personally I think it is probably a combination of this (although not much), the mobilised Jambo vote, the SNP guy making a royal mess of things with those twitter comments (it's mental that he did as well as he did in spite of this) and the fact that Ian Murray is (all political and football allegiances aside) a decent guy and a decent local MP.

And he still only won it by a ba' hair.

The Lib Dem vote was decimated across the UK. This was down to their time spent in coalition with the Tories. How do your explain their vote collapsing outside of Scotland if it was to do with stopping the nationalists?

29-05-2015, 09:42 AM
Evidence please. :)

Council tax freeze. Free prescriptions. Decimated College places to maintain no student tuition fees. All disproportionately benefit the wealthiest at the expense of the poorest.

Put it another way, the SNP can't name one re-distributive policy they've implemented from their 8 years in power.

29-05-2015, 09:49 AM
The Lib Dem vote was decimated across the UK. This was down to their time spent in coalition with the Tories. How do your explain their vote collapsing outside of Scotland if it was to do with stopping the nationalists?

Not my words - those of the Lib Dem candidate for Edinburgh South.

https://www.gdpuk.com/news/bloggers/pramod-subbaraman

I don't think this had a major impact but it may have had a small one in this locality.

Edinburgh DID produce a resounding "no" vote in the referendum so I don't think it's beyond the realms of possibility that people might vote in this way but I reckon it would only extend to a couple of hundred votes max.

The main reason for their collapse across the UK is the one you mentioned.

29-05-2015, 10:26 AM
Council tax freeze. Free prescriptions. Decimated College places to maintain no student tuition fees. All disproportionately benefit the wealthiest at the expense of the poorest.

Put it another way, the SNP can't name one re-distributive policy they've implemented from their 8 years in power.

The council tax freeze is a good thing for local people but is difficult for the council however, I welcome it.

As I work in the FE sector, I can tell you there is more to this than just places. The SNP should never have redirected funding towards Uni,s as they are wealthy in their own right. However, there is duplication in the FE sector, far too much with little employment opportunity at the other end for students. Most FE colleges are now rationalising and trimming the fat to ensure target groups are placed. Right now, I have students refusing to do work because they can't be arsed! A failing on my behalf at interview stage however there is no recourse to collect wasted public money from the student. This should be mandatory.

Free prescriptions I welcome too as figures show it was more wasteful in admin to collect than to free up.

For me as a former Labour voter, I feel the SNP has made Scotland stronger and more inspired, we are healthier and will come back into our in given time.

29-05-2015, 10:39 AM
Only 1 Nat spoke. Keep peddling the myth it might come true 1 day

Exactly what myth and I peddling here? Seriously, what myth did I mention in my post? I posted the facts as recorded in parliamentary record. On a debate about zero hours contracts, something that effects a hell of a lot of people in this country, negatively, All elected SNP MPs turned up for the debate, whereas the two largest parties MPs deemed it unimportant to show up. I stated fact, not myth.

29-05-2015, 11:01 AM
Paying a living wage. Big deal. To me it's the equivalent of just slapping someone about the head instead of kicking his teeth in.

I'm sure the folk that are getting the living wage (or maybe even their spouses and kids) rather than the minimum wage aren't quite as dismissive of it as you are.

Do the more rabid of the SNP supporters online get a crib sheet every morning so that they know what to say when parroting the SNP line?

29-05-2015, 11:29 AM

The bit in bold is just so ludicrous I don't know where to start. I prefer not to get involved in political debate / arguments so I'm going to just shake my head in disbelief and leave it at that.

Just as a passing thought though. Alex Salmond only just recently said he would stand alongside the Tories to keep Britain in the EU - despite constantly criticising the Labour party for joining the Better Together campaign to save the union. Labour were "standing with the Tories" was the constant Salmond /SNP mantra. What sheer hypocricy.

I also don't know what the SNP expected Labour to do during the referendum campaign. Labour are a UK party and believe in the union. Was the Labour party supposed to say nothing during the referendum, and not take part in case they were accused of "standing with the Tories"? Its just more nonsense and people are falling for it.

29-05-2015, 11:39 AM

Good post.

Agree with most until the last paragraph.

As the Shadow Scottish secretary, I would have thought he would be seeking common cause with likeminded people in parliament to support issues which affect the Scottish people.

29-05-2015, 12:06 PM
The council tax freeze is a good thing for local people but is difficult for the council however, I welcome it.

Its a great thing for wealthy people because it advantages them disproportionately at the expense of the poorest.

As I work in the FE sector, I can tell you there is more to this than just places. The SNP should never have redirected funding towards Uni,s as they are wealthy in their own right. However, there is duplication in the FE sector, far too much with little employment opportunity at the other end for students. Most FE colleges are now rationalising and trimming the fat to ensure target groups are placed. Right now, I have students refusing to do work because they can't be arsed! A failing on my behalf at interview stage however there is no recourse to collect wasted public money from the student. This should be mandatory.

Predominantly middle class university students pay no tuition fees - at the expense of 130,000 lost places in the college sector which is where working class kids are most likely to go for further education or qualifications. How students conduct themselves at either type of institution while they are there or afterwards is beside the point. The investment has gone to the wealthiest at the expense of the poorest. Scotland is the only part of the UK where borrowing is highest among students from poorer backgrounds.

Free prescriptions I welcome too as figures show it was more wasteful in admin to collect than to free up.

The SNP government can appoint a non parental guardian for every child in Scotland and create a database with everybody in Scotland on it but somehow can't distinguish between millionaires and people on low pay when handing out free medicines. Free medicine for the wealthiest at the expense of the poorest.

For me as a former Labour voter, I feel the SNP has made Scotland stronger and more inspired, we are healthier and will come back into our in given time.

The Tories have been running the UK for 4 years and the SNP running Scotland for 8 years.

The SNP have managed to spend less on the NHS than the Tories. In the 8 years they have been in power our educational attainment has dropped. Bairns not Bombs? More like Bairns can't read and write.

The only thing the SNP seem to have managed to do is create a superb spin machine. That won't educate anyone or improve anyone's health.

Still, they're going to lock the Tories out of Government apparently. Wonder how that's going....

Weststandwanab
29-05-2015, 01:22 PM
The Tories have been running the UK for 4 years and the SNP running Scotland for 8 years.

The Tories have been running the u.k. for a few weeks and The SNP has been running Scotland - subject to the pocket money constraints - for four years.

The SNP have managed to spend less on the NHS than the Tories. In the 8 years they have been in power our educational attainment has dropped. Bairns not Bombs? More like Bairns can't read and write.

Maybe that has nothing to do with any Government.

The only thing the SNP seem to have managed to do is create a superb spin machine. That won't educate anyone or improve anyone's health.

Still, they're going to lock the Tories out of Government apparently. Wonder how that's going....

If you remember correctly The SNP appealed from help from Milliband to lock out the Tories and that only failed because Milliband failed.

29-05-2015, 02:46 PM
The SNP have managed to spend less on the NHS than the Tories.

NHS spending in scotland is dependant entirely on NHS spending in England and Wales. I believe that's one of the things that the SNP would like to see changed.

In the 8 years they have been in power our educational attainment has dropped.

What's that based on?

(Genuine question, as I don't know one way or the other)

As far as I understood it, they offered to help Labour keep the Tories out of power, if possible. Any formal or informal alliance was rejected by Labour.

I can't remember reading about anybody in the SNP say they would manage to keep the Tories out of power all by themselves.

If they did, and you can produce the evidence for it, I will happily admit I was wrong.

29-05-2015, 03:58 PM
Exactly what myth and I peddling here? Seriously, what myth did I mention in my post? I posted the facts as recorded in parliamentary record. On a debate about zero hours contracts, something that effects a hell of a lot of people in this country, negatively, All elected SNP MPs turned up for the debate, whereas the two largest parties MPs deemed it unimportant to show up. I stated fact, not myth.

If the SNP turn up in large numbers for every single adjournment debate I will be truly impressed. A nice wee stunt and photo op by the SNP but when the business of actually debating and voting on legislation to deal with zero hours contracts begins I think you will find that members from all parties will be in attendance.
I voted SNP because I think they will do an excellent job down there for Scotland and the UK as a whole of holding the Government to account. Petty point scoring like this helps nobody though.

30-05-2015, 11:52 AM

The Tories have been running the u.k. for a few weeks and The SNP has been running Scotland - subject to the pocket money constraints - for four years.

1. David Cameron has been Prime Minister of a Tory led and dominated coalition for 4 years. Alex Salmond was First Minister of the SNP Government for 7 years and Sturgeon has now taken over in their 8th year of power. You can try and weasel it any way you like these are the people and parties who have been in charge of the country for the last 4 and 8 years respectively.

Maybe that has nothing to do with any Government.

2. You are trying to argue that NHS spending and/or educational attainment has nothing to do with Government policy and spending? That's the NHS spending levels which SNP Ministers have decided and the educational policies, teacher numbers, classroom sizes, curriculum and education spending that SNP Ministers have decided and been in charge of for the last 8 years. That has EVERYTHING to do with government.

If you remember correctly The SNP appealed from help from Milliband to lock out the Tories and that only failed because Milliband failed. [QUOTE=Weststandwanab;4386905]

3. No, I have the SNP leaflet. It told people to vote SNP to lock out the Tories. There was no small print. There were no conditions or sub clauses. It said "Lock the Tories out. Vote SNP."

We've 56 SNP MPs, they're not locking out the Tories.

Worse than that they've been running Scotland for 8 years and haven't implemented a single redistributive policy. Not one. Actually that's not accurate, the redistributive polices they have implemented redistributed wealth from the poorest to the richest.

30-05-2015, 12:07 PM
NHS spending in scotland is dependant entirely on NHS spending in England and Wales. I believe that's one of the things that the SNP would like to see changed.

1. No it isn't. We get a Barnett consequential for health based upon the level of NHS spending in England and Wales. What we then do with that is up to us. We can spend all of it on health, some of it on health or we can spend all of it on health plus add other Barnett money into our health spend too if we choose. In the most recent five years Cameron's Tories will have increased spending on health by 6% in real terms while Salmond/Sturgeon's SNP will have increased it by just 1% in real terms. That's all the more staggering when you consider that because of the way Barnett works we have taken a lower level of cuts than the rest of the UK. In other words, with lower cuts the SNP have still managed too spend less on the NHS than the Tories. Put it yet another way, the SNP government has spent less on the NHS than they were given for health spend by Cameron's Tory government.

What's that based on?

(Genuine question, as I don't know one way or the other)

2. A 19% drop in educational attainment in the most recently available figures. That sits alongside a broken SNP election pledge to reduce class sizes, a massive fall in the number of teachers in Scotland under the SNP, a fall in literacy and numeracy levels and the massive disparity in attainment between children from the poorest and welathiest areas. From memory something like 2% of kids from the poorest areas get three passes at the equivalent of what used to be called higher grades as compared to something like 19% of kids from wealthy areas.

As far as I understood it, they offered to help Labour keep the Tories out of power, if possible. Any formal or informal alliance was rejected by Labour.

I can't remember reading about anybody in the SNP say they would manage to keep the Tories out of power all by themselves.

If they did, and you can produce the evidence for it, I will happily admit I was wrong.

3. See reply above on the SNP election leaflet.