View Full Version : Queens Speech.
27-05-2015, 09:59 AM
Watching Sky News and I thought they were showing an episode of Game of Thrones! Seems like it's the House of Lords fancy dress day with pomp, pageantry and dignitaries.... What a load of utter bollocks!!! :rolleyes:
liamh2202
27-05-2015, 10:25 AM
I can't believe we still partake in this dross
27-05-2015, 10:35 AM
This is utter nonsense... But I Cannae stop watching!!! "Close the door!!!" (Slams the door on "Black Rod". - bit racist but we move on.) Black Rod bangs on he door 3 times, (the door they just slammed in his face!! :confused:) "This is Black Rod!!"
Sorry I cannae type for laughing!!!! :faf::faf::faf::faf:
liamh2202
27-05-2015, 10:37 AM
Do we pay these unelected twats to sit in their robes?
27-05-2015, 10:45 AM
Do we pay these unelected twats to sit in their robes?
I dont know for sure but I think they don't get paid but claim "expenses" for attending a sitting. Maybe someone more clued up could inform us.
27-05-2015, 10:50 AM
I dont know for sure but I think they don't get paid but claim "expenses" for attending a sitting. Maybe someone more clued up could inform us.
http://www.parliament.uk/about/mps-and-lords/about-lords/lords-allowances/
Fatty Foulkes only managed to claim £11k for November and December last year.
http://www.parliament.uk/business/lords/whos-in-the-house-of-lords/house-of-lords-expenses/#jump-link-0
27-05-2015, 11:08 AM
http://www.parliament.uk/about/mps-and-lords/about-lords/lords-allowances/
Fatty Foulkes only managed to claim £11k for November and December last year.
http://www.parliament.uk/business/lords/whos-in-the-house-of-lords/house-of-lords-expenses/#jump-link-0
A nice wee bonus for auld pishy breeks just before Christmas eh?! £300 for attending a sitting?? That's a weeks wage for me!! So today's pantomime must have cost a few quid eh!! :crazy:
liamh2202
27-05-2015, 11:10 AM
Yeh then in the central bit of today they promise to cut spending.. Maybe start by scrapping all this pish
27-05-2015, 11:18 AM
Yeh then in the central bit of today they promise to cut spending.. Maybe start by scrapping all this pish
27-05-2015, 12:21 PM
Man we live in cynical times...nothing wrong with the occasional piece of pomp and pageantry in my mind, helps to remind us where we have come from and the historical significance of the events.
I'm no fan of the House of Lords or royalty but I can appreciate our institutions and their history none the less.
27-05-2015, 12:49 PM
Man we live in cynical times...nothing wrong with the occasional piece of pomp and pageantry in my mind, helps to remind us where we have come from and the historical significance of the events.
I'm no fan of the House of Lords or royalty but I can appreciate our institutions and their history none the less.
Your fighting a losing battle with many posters on here. Anything from the Westminster Establishment will be ridiculed no matter what it is.
liamh2202
27-05-2015, 01:01 PM
Your fighting a losing battle with many posters on here. Anything from the Westminster Establishment will be ridiculed no matter what it is.
I am actually pro royal family, I just think that was very OTT today, and I'm very interested in Westminster and politics in general but from my limited understanding of the house of Lords I see no reason why we should waste taxpayers money on them
27-05-2015, 09:47 PM
I'd reform the House of Lords for sure but the pageant is all right. It's tradition. What will we do in Scotland after Indy? Carry a ceremonial haggis into the parliament?
27-05-2015, 11:34 PM
Watching Sky News and I thought they were showing an episode of Game of Thrones! Seems like it's the House of Lords fancy dress day with pomp, pageantry and dignitaries.... What a load of utter bollocks!!! :rolleyes:
I agree. Sadly our opportunity to get away from all this nonsense was missed last September.
For 5 years at least.............:devil:
I'd reform the House of Lords for sure but the pageant is all right. It's tradition. What will we do in Scotland after Indy? Carry a ceremonial haggis into the parliament?
Scottish parliament isn't old enough to have traditions unless you take a Sevco approach and nick some from the pre-1707 set up.
31-05-2015, 08:31 AM
The fact that some senile miserable old cow that was born into a life of privilege and can't be voted out by her 'subjects' is the Head of State is just unbelievably archaic.
31-05-2015, 08:36 AM
I did a tour of Westminster Palace a couple of weekends ago and it was like a step back in time.
I was absolutely horrified to learn that if an MP wishes to speak in Parliament during any debate/MP's questions, they have to turn up to 'prayer' beforehand :confused:
The guide seemed less than impressed when I asked how atheist MPs get around this and I was curtly informed that they turn up to prayer anyway. Ludicrous!
31-05-2015, 08:38 AM
"We are one nation" says old lady whilst sitting on a gold throne and announcing further austerity measures.
31-05-2015, 09:48 AM
Scottish parliament isn't old enough to have traditions unless you take a Sevco approach and nick some from the pre-1707 set up.
We can just make it up as we go along. This had me welling up big style.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hudNoXsUj0o
31-05-2015, 07:30 PM
It's all about symbolism. When Black Rod has the door shut in his face and has to knock the door it serves to remind us of the House of Commons independence from the Lords and Sovereign. Yes, it's all a bit old fashioned but it is important symbolism.
There are many other things I'd reform before changing the state opening, more to do with debates and the requirement to address other MPs in the third person and the archaic language, things which actually matter.
If anything it's an interesting spectacle.
02-06-2015, 10:34 AM
It's a Fascist regime, they made you a moron, potential H-Bomb.
1789, 1917 were great years.
02-06-2015, 04:16 PM
It's all about symbolism. When Black Rod has the door shut in his face and has to knock the door it serves to remind us of the House of Commons independence from the Lords and Sovereign. Yes, it's all a bit old fashioned but it is important symbolism.
There are many other things I'd reform before changing the state opening, more to do with debates and the requirement to address other MPs in the third person and the archaic language, things which actually matter.
If anything it's an interesting spectacle.
Independence? How does that work when every MP has to swear allegiance to the Monarch? What makes it even more galling is that self same Monarch is both Head of State and The Church of England.
We need full separation of Church and State and an end to this inherited privilege.
03-06-2015, 08:23 AM
I'm cringing for you with that one...
03-06-2015, 06:29 PM
Independence? How does that work when every MP has to swear allegiance to the Monarch? What makes it even more galling is that self same Monarch is both Head of State and The Church of England.
We need full separation of Church and State and an end to this inherited privilege.
Ok, I'm massively republican. Can't stand the concept of monarchy, but when was the last time a monarch interfered with the House of Commons, other than summoning the leader of the largest party to form a Government or asked them to attend the Queen's Speech?
liamh2202
03-06-2015, 07:44 PM
Ok, I'm massively republican. Can't stand the concept of monarchy, but when was the last time a monarch interfered with the House of Commons, other than summoning the leader of the largest party to form a Government or asked them to attend the Queen's Speech?
I'm sure it was said during the g.e that this was just a show and the new pm didn't need to meet the Queen anymore
05-06-2015, 09:03 PM
Thought-provoking speech by Lucy Frazer in the Commons discussing the Queen's speech.
Check out video & Paul Steele's article in 'A True Independent Scotland'
What a right 'slaver' she is.
Behave, woman!
05-06-2015, 09:42 PM
http://t.co/AakEBHHJrM
Good on her I say. Her rant about slavery has made all sorts of people look back in history about how the Scots were treated by Cromwell. It's opened a new line of History I never knew occurred.
Every day's a school day.
05-06-2015, 10:24 PM
Or a future monarch sought to sway Government opinion on a variety of matters with an intensive letter-writing campaign...oh, hold on...:greengrin
jockodile
05-06-2015, 11:46 PM
Or a future monarch sought to sway Government opinion on a variety of matters with an intensive letter-writing campaign...oh, hold on...:greengrin
Swearing allegiance to someone supposedly neutral who purred down the line last September. Yes the Commons is really independent, not.
Even Blair waited until exit before daring to become Catholic for fear of upsetting the palace.
Im sure the Lords do some good revising work on laws drafted by the Commons but it is an afront to democracy and one we could have been shot of forever.
06-06-2015, 09:48 AM
If an MP refuses to take the oath they are barred from parliament and their seat becomes vacant. The requirement to swear loyalty to the royal family takes precedence over the democratic rights of the voters.
In view of that, if they wish to represent their constituents many MPs first act after election is to tell a lie .... :faf:
liamh2202
06-06-2015, 09:53 AM
If an MP refuses to take the oath they are barred from parliament and their seat becomes vacant. The requirement to swear loyalty to the royal family takes precedence over the democratic rights of the voters.
In view of that, if they wish to represent their constituents many MPs first act after election is to tell a lie .... :faf:
Quite unbelievable isn't it .