View Full Version : Match Updates The Rangers 2 v Hibs 0

Pages : 1 2 [3]

20-05-2015, 08:30 PM
Jammy lucky *******s getting break again

GlasgowHibee
20-05-2015, 08:30 PM
scott allan has really let himself down tonight

Whenever we need him most, he disappears.

20-05-2015, 08:31 PM
Craig can do one with his shooting anaw

Stuarty27
Liam Craig gtf gtf gtf

Hate him

muzzando
Why is craig shooting

wonder how much time will added for all the mucking about with the ball?

Craig can get to **** wasting good positions like that

20-05-2015, 08:32 PM
Cannot conceded again that's for sure.

Chasing 3 would be waaaayyy too much

Lift the ***** baw gray ffs man

ED Hibee
Have I missed the 2nd leg?

I think given our history you can excuse folk for their negative thoughts at this moment in time. We look like we could play for another 90 minutes and not threaten their goal!

Have I missed the 2nd leg?

Apparently so, a lot of bed wetting on here.

high bee
Fairs must've lost a leg cause why you wouldn't give him a go is beyond me.

Liam Craig gtf gtf gtf

Hate him

That's a bit strong...keep your hate for the opposition..he's wearing the jersey, no place for hate

Huns workman-like grafters have been more than enough to beat a powder-puff Hibs who think they're still on holiday. None of our key players have turned up. Settles the argument about the Spanish trip and Huns running out of steam.

Why is craig shooting

Because we need a goal and we can't create a chance?

20-05-2015, 08:33 PM
If we ever get as classless as that lot, I'll stop watching hibs........have they only got one ball ffs.

lugz
FFS, have a ****ing word with yourself. We've beaten them by two goals three times this season.

They've also won the last 2 games by 2 goals under McCall.

Stubbs fails once again with his substitutions, we are putting balls in the box yet persisting with Cummings and Malonga.

Never a penalty Jason, get up FFS.

Why is craig shooting

I would like to us score 2 goals in the last 2 mind that would break them.

Can ram Saturday up their arse

What a complete loser mentality. Away and DO ONE!

20-05-2015, 08:34 PM
Something that continues to let stubbs down, he never tries to influence a game after its started!!! Both players up front are honking especially cummings and yet they stay on. Such a weak performance from hibs, wrong set up today.

high bee
Get Deeks on this...

4 minutes added apparently.

about 2 minutes to few.

Because we need a goal and we can't create a chance?

Yip that's what we've got.

We cannot conceded again.

I'm also fed up of Allan trying to play that slide ball into the channel that has never worked.

Could have 40 mins injury time and we won't score. :rolleyes:

RamblingJack
20-05-2015, 08:35 PM
That's a bit strong...keep your hate for the opposition..he's wearing the jersey, no place for hate

Like!

WillowbraeHibby
Stubbs fails once again with his substitutions, we are putting balls in the box yet persisting with Cummings and Malonga.

Another glorious failure I am afraid... Just not got it have we? :boo hoo:

Corner 354...

4 mins

Btw MacGregor should of seen Rec. That was just like Handlings tackle near start of season and he was Red carded

They've also won the last 2 games by 2 goals under McCall.

I didn't say we might not get beat. I was challenging some of the girl's blouses that are whinging about the game being over.

20-05-2015, 08:36 PM
Craig booked

QOS gave them more of a game at Ibrox than us. Gutted.

Btw MacGregor should of seen Rec. That was just like Handlings tackle near start of season and he was Red carded

But he was wearing blue. You have to card down in those situations.

I didn't say we might not get beat. I was challenging some of the girl's blouses that are whinging about the game being over.

Hope the players don't go to ER with the same attitude

20-05-2015, 08:37 PM
i'm astonished stubbs saw fit that no more subs were needed...i just don't get it

Not even a foul for that?!!

hibbymick
Have we actually won any of these crosses into the box ? I love how we keep hearing rangers are shi*e, but that shi*e are pumping us.

If we do lose on Saturday and stay in the championship next season I think we can make a positive out of it. It will give stubbs and his staff a chance to get the players he wants and have a proper pre season and win the championship. When the team start winning most weeks the fans will start coming back again just like in 1998

The The Rangers have done us with the basics.

How is that a free kick to them? FFS.

You are 45 and should know better.

"SHOULD HAVE". NOT "SHOULD OF" FFS!

20-05-2015, 08:38 PM
Unaware where Hanlon is my ****ing arse. He knew exactly what he was doing.

Shut yur ****ing Hun pus McAllister.

Thank **** for Oxley - that was a superb strike from Foster.

QOS gave them more of a game at Ibrox than us. Gutted.

:top marks And the Huns have been worse against us. Really poor, but pretty typical.

muzzando
Disappointing after such build up. Shame but we still need to get behind the team on Sat, an early hibs goal and anything could happen

But he was wearing blue. You have to card down in those situations.

I keep forgetting this. Silly me

20-05-2015, 08:39 PM
Have we actually won any of these crosses into the box ? I love how we keep hearing rangers are shi*e, but that shi*e are pumping us.

Having 13 corners and not even threatening a goal is *****.

JJP
Absolutely gutted with this. Not relishing sitting through another 90 mins of this on Saturday.

Ok it's now a huge task, But... We were 2-0 up and lost to Hamilton. The Rangers will sit in again this sat! What I will say is our forwards need a good boot up the arse! Malonga has done a lot of work but by god missed a great chance and Jason needs a slap and a haircut!

It's not over yet.

You are 45 and should know better. "SHOULD HAVE". NOT "SHOULD OF" FFS!

How do you Ken ma age like

Full time.

pennyhibee
OK so we go again on Saturday Not giving up hope yet

Berwickhibby
We bottled it tonight .... Those Hun ****s wanted it more .... Players let us down tonight

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

How is that a free kick to them? FFS.

Exactly mate..that's incredible

Some nice football but an over all gutless performance in yet another big game, utterly pathetic.

I'll be there on Saturday for another bout of crushing disappointment.

How many times do we have to go through this ****?

well, that was rather easy for sevco :(

Well the manager cant be watching the same game, Farid can get up and head the ball yet corner after corner and cross after cross and he's sitting on his arse on the bench. Stubbs again shows us his naivety as a manager.

20-05-2015, 08:40 PM
Very disappointing but it ain't finished. We missed Boyle's pace big style.

Well that's that for tonight, plan b required for Saturday. It's not over yet

How do you Ken ma age like

Classic hibs really. Does anyone expect anything else?

Forever_Green93
Our performance in the 2nd half was gash!

Those ****s really are ****ing ****s of the highest order.

McHibby
Arrggghhhhhh. We never, ever do anything the easy way.

20-05-2015, 08:41 PM
Absolutely gutted with this. Not relishing sitting through another 90 mins of this on Saturday.

Now we understand why folk were waiting until after tonight. Don't expect a final rush for tickets.

GlasgowHibee
They'll come to Easter Road on Saturday and just sit in a 5-3-2, and play for 0-0. And they'll probably get it, because we've got spineless cowards as players.

WillowbraeHibby
Well the manager cant be watching the same game, Farid can get up and head the ball yet corner after corner and cross after cross and he's sitting on his arse on the bench. Stubbs again shows us his naivety as a manager.

Sadly, I have to agree with you.

Mmmmm!!!

broonie27
jeesh what a miserable shower on here. This tie is far from dead. We've beaten this mob 3 times this season.

Can nobody else take corners

Not by a country mile is this tie over. We just need to get it together in the final third.

Arrggghhhhhh. We never, ever do anything.

Sorted that for you.

Scunnered. It's going to be difficult from here.

If we do lose on Saturday and stay in the championship next season I think we can make a positive out of it. It will give stubbs and his staff a chance to get the players he wants and have a proper pre season and win the championship. When the team start winning most weeks the fans will start coming back again just like in 1998

I dont think we can take a positive out of it at all. We could have Rangers in this league again, if not it will be difficult to attract players when we are in this league. I wouldnt be surprised if we lose the likes of Scott Allan if we remain in this league. I dont think the fans will come streaming back either, we wont have the players like we did in 98 and because of the continued let downs fans have had to take the past few years it will take more than a good winning streak against championship opposition!

20-05-2015, 08:42 PM
i've had a thought, maybe stubbs thinks it's still the rules from the 1940's and only one sub is allowed....i'm maybe just clutching at straws

:)

Yep, can't really add more to that.

Some nice football but an over all gutless performance in yet another big game, utterly pathetic.

Get used to it ( you don't actually!) 45 years and can still be devastated!!

Got what we deserved there, I can't remember their keeper making a save.

Nowhere near good enough, need a massive performance on Saturday now. Gutted.

McKenzie
Nothing between the teams. They scored their chances, we missed ours. Simple. Need a huge performance come Saturday

When all's said and done, it was an uninspired Hibs performance against mediocre opposition. I can't see people rushing to buy tickets for the second leg.

Can nobody else take corners

our manager doesn't like change :wink:

We were toothless upfront and the defence was a bit dodgy. I thought we had a lot the ball but didn't do much with it.

Not by a country mile is this tie over. We just need to get it together in the final third.

And in defence by the looks of things.

Just think about how good it will be on Saturday when the third goal for His goes in in the 85th minute to put us 3-2 up. You heard it here first.

20-05-2015, 08:43 PM
Just warming up.

Its gut wrenching the amount of disappointment we take in these big games im f##### sick to death of it.

hibIBZ
2 terrible pieces of defending has cost us dear. We retained possession well and looked dangerous at times. This tie is not over!!! Let's not crap ourselves and not show up on Saturday. They are not a good team and are there to be beaten

The New Huns were pretty pish, the ref was fair enough ... nobody to blame but ourselves. Depressing :(

high bee
I just can't see us overturning this. Stubbs seems unable to influence the game when it's not going our way.

We keep pumping balls in but don't win any. They aren't in the form we were in when we lost the final last year and they are well organised now.

We aren't very good.

20-05-2015, 08:44 PM
They'll come to Easter Road on Saturday and just sit in a 5-3-2, and play for 0-0. And they'll probably get it, because we've got spineless cowards as players.

No we havent.
We are 2-0 down at half time. No need to turn on OUR
players like that.

exactly, we all know what happened last year when we were 2 nil up after the 1st leg

Definitely doable. Hopefully they'll tire on Saturday.

We bottled it tonight .... Those Hun ****s wanted it more .... Players let us down tonight

Pish. We just never created enough with the final ball.

AL-Qaholik
Incapable of turning up when it REALLY matters. Starting to wonder why I bother turning up either...

ED Hibee
Nothing between the teams. They scored their chances, we missed ours. Simple. Need a huge performance come Saturday
Unfortunately there was a big difference on the night, they took their chances we just didn't really have any. Very disappointing

Got to say that the Rangers wanted it far more than us tonight. You can't train in desire.

Matty_Jack04

This is balls.

20-05-2015, 08:45 PM
First goal at ER will be pivotal. Hibs score, game on, Ranger score tie over.

Green&White
Alot of similarities to the falkirk semi for me. Loads and loads of the ball but not alot done woth it and completely clueless in final 3rd. And it seems because of all that possession the defense switch off

Gerard
It appears to be all over....... I wonder if our team have the desire to win at ER and then play Motherwell.

Ronster117
We aren't very good.
What a load of tosh....... We are disappointed.... But we know now what we have to do

Powder puff possession. Fur coat and nae knickers.

Bottled it again! The trip to spain was worth it! Theres always saturday. Weve beaten them 3-0 before so maybe will again

Can we beat them by 2 goals at Easter Road? Yes.

Bring it on.

Got what we deserved there, I can't remember their keeper making a save.

Nowhere near good enough, need a massive performance on Saturday now. Gutted.

I fear its beyond us, today was a typical hibs performance when the chips are down, creativity goes out the window and defense looks iffy. Stubbs deserves flack for that tonight, how the 2 forwards remained on is a mystery, gray offered nothing down the wing nor did stevenson. The shape needed changing and there definately needed more subs. We could be playing from now until saturday with that shape and team and we still wouldnt score.

Missiles at corners and literary keeping the ball.

What will these idiots who wanted to give them their full allocation say now?

inglisavhibs
Both strikers have been pish tonight - Malonga has wasted some amount of chances and Cummings non-existent.

YOu are having a laugh, Malonga is one of the four or five players who did well tonight.

20-05-2015, 08:46 PM
How the f##k did Cummings play the whole game,shocking decision from Stubbs, not good enough

Still all to play for but I fear for us now. They will pack their defence.

2-0 down with what I can only remember as having one shot on target and somehow Cummings doesn't subbed for El Alagui?

Never looked like scoring all night... Can't understand it. Midfield were absent yet again and we are far too reliant on Scott Allan to play a blinder.

They have a tactically aware manager and he's showed yet again what experience brings.

McKenzie
Unfortunately there was a big difference on the night, they took their chances we just didn't really have any. Very disappointing

Cummings first half from Malonga's pass and Malonga second half x2. Created enough imo

huge hill to climb now

one massive plus is Rangers looked dead on there feet at the end

sneak an early goal and its game on

wasnt much in the game - but they took our chances, we didnt

ive said that so much this season

No idea why Farid wasnt brought on with 15 to go - Cummings was rank, and rangers just sat back, no we were never gonna get in behind

Rangers played to their strengths, allowed us to have the ball without hurting them and then were clinical when given a chance. They will employ the same tactic on Saturday. It's going to be extremely tough for us.

Don't think we bottled it, more a matter of organised grafters being more than good enough to beat 11 players who left their A game in Spain. Hugely disappointing and settles once and for all any arguments about 18 day breaks, extra matches, momentum. Allan, Fyvie, Gray, Cummings were all off their game. Craig and Robertson were... Craig and Robertson.

The big disappointment is just how bad this (The) Ranger team is :rolleyes:

I think Hibs will have to score 3 to get extra time

20-05-2015, 08:47 PM
jeesh what a miserable shower on here. This tie is far from dead. We've beaten this mob 3 times this season.

They have beat us twice, hardly one sided!

Stubbs needs to learn to use his bench. Can't believe we only made one sub. Shambles,thought he might have learned after the semi debacle.

They have beat us twice, hardly one sided!

Now thrice.

20-05-2015, 08:48 PM
Don't think we bottled it, more a matter of organised grafters being more than good enough to beat 11 players who left their A game in Spain. Hugely disappointing and settles once and for all any arguments about 18 day breaks, extra matches, momentum. Allan, Fyvie, Gray, Cummings were all off their game. Craig and Robertson were... Craig and Robertson.

The big disappointment is just how bad this (The) Ranger team is :rolleyes:

We bottled it, no one tried anything creative, no one played without fear.

20-05-2015, 08:48 PM
on seeing the reply of cummings chance - its an absolute sitter -no idea how he wasnt just tapping that home

thats the difference im afraid

muzzando
20-05-2015, 08:49 PM
I think what we had to do tonight was avoid getting beaten especially by more than one goal and then I think most would have been confident of turning that around at ER but to lose by two goals and in the way that we did its ultimately not good enough and we wouldn't deserve promotion based on that performance. Still 90 mins to turn it around, an early hibs goal and you never know

20-05-2015, 08:49 PM
WE ARE STILL IN THIS!!

Let's get down to ER on Sat and get right behind the team.

20-05-2015, 08:50 PM
What a load of tosh....... We are disappointed.... But we know now what we have to do

We knew what we had to do today. Bottled it. Rangers aren't a good side yet we barely threatened them and gave away two terrible goals as has been happening all season. Another season in this league beckons.

inglisavhibs
Having 13 corners and not even threatening a goal is *****.

One thing that annoys me is we keep taking out swinging corners from the right when we have Craig who has great delivery from that side.

Cummings missing the ball at the back post first half, Dom half chance header from a corner. That was about it. They had one wee bit of skill for the first goal and a lucky break plus a good finish for their second.

It's not totally over but I wouldn't expect a ticket rush ...

Minded to agree with that. Tough decision to start JC or Farid but surely a change was needed.

Nonsense Scott Allan tried plenty creative, but gets slated left right and centre for the Hollywood pass if it doesn't come off.

Ronster117
I hate this "we bottled it ". We played well...... But they took their chances ... We are still in this tie... Bring it on

20-05-2015, 08:51 PM
I can't comprehend how we have the leagues top scorer, top creative midfielder and another ten plus goalscorer yet regularly look so void of ideas up front. Stubbs not gambling after the second and adding another striker is at best risky.

20-05-2015, 08:51 PM
I hate this "we bottled it ". We played well...... But they took their chances ... We are still in this tie... Bring it on

Losing to a team you lost your last game to is not bottling.

20-05-2015, 08:52 PM
One thing that annoys me is we keep taking out swinging corners from the right when we have Craig who has great delivery from that side.

You'd have thought the training camp in Spain would have included mixing up set pieces a bit.

20-05-2015, 08:52 PM
Bottled it again! The trip to spain was worth it! Theres always saturday. Weve beaten them 3-0 before so maybe will again

If Hibs win the tie from this position, all other contenders are off. It will be the performance of the season by a country mile. Sadly, think we'll put up a decent fight but it will be a glorious failure ....

Ronster117
20-05-2015, 08:53 PM
Losing to a team you lost your last game to is not bottling.
Agree 100%

Why the **** are we still in this stadium? Is there a Rangers lynch mob outside?

Me too. It's a lame piece of melodrama, and it helps nobody other than the opposition.

Even Stuart McCall said 2-0 flattered Rangers. And he's right.

Ronster117
20-05-2015, 08:55 PM
Mc cool just said 2-0 flatters their team.....totally agree.....half time....:gwa:

The same spineless cowards that finished above them in the league? Thrashed them 1-3, 4-0, 0-2? Beat Hearts 2-0 in the last derby?

Those spineless players? Get a grip of yourself! All still to play for.

I thought it was a pretty even game TBH, I agree with one or two who thought Sevco seemed to want it more. I didn't think Malonga was that bad but Cummings was really poor. I still think there's plenty to play for as we're certainly not out of it. I thought we actually looked a bit rusty, but much as I hate Sevco, I think Vuckic is a very good player and his part in their first goal was class. We were fine in midfield, but they took their chances. Tactically McCall got it right and that's the 2nd time. Stubbs will have to try different tactics on Saturday, because this 'allowing the team to express themselves' thing isn't going to work against a rejuvenated Sevco, however mediocre we'd like to think they are. We're certainly not out of it though.

West hamBERNIAN

Correct, never felt Hamilton had a chance last year even when we were that rank. Come Friday I'll be full of hope again. Ggtth

hibs fans still locked in, hopefully they get out in time for the 2nd leg

Even Stuart McCall said 2-0 flattered Rangers. And he's right.
So do I, I think it's all to play for.

20-05-2015, 08:56 PM
Honestly have no idea how we've lost that 2-0. They are awful. As for the lack of subs, wtf was that all about???

20-05-2015, 08:56 PM
Me too. It's a lame piece of melodrama, and it helps nobody other than the opposition.

It's no melodrama, it's years and years of falling over at the final hurdle. Playing well and ultimately doing nothing.

20-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Baffled why farid wasn't brought on. In a game where we had a ridiculous amount of corners and crosses the best header of a ball is on the bench. Very dissapointed with mcgeough coming on who offered nothing. Robertson poor tonight along with cummings who was awful. Malonga played well and did his best to link up imo, Allan tried his best to lift us but was just hounded out.

Need to lift ourselves and pray we get ourselves an early goal saturday. Don't see it myself though. Think the tie is finished sadly.

Ronster117
20-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Stubbsy " far from over"....... Hibees.......:flag:

20-05-2015, 08:58 PM

We'll have to disagree. I've seen plenty Hibs teams bottle it in big games, look beat before a ball was kicked, collapse when we went 1 down, sat deep and hoped for the best. We did none of that. Had Cummings of Malonga taken one of their chances, would have been a very different game.

Ronster117
20-05-2015, 08:58 PM
It's no melodrama, it's years and years of falling over at the final hurdle. Playing well and ultimately doing nothing.
We've all seen hibs over the years..... Chin up....cummon the hibs

20-05-2015, 08:59 PM
I thought it was a pretty even game TBH, I agree with one or two who thought Sevco seemed to want it more. I didn't think Malonga was that bad but Cummings was really poor.

Dom was one of our better players - shame he was basically upfront on his own

Is Gray injured again - didnt drive on like ususal

We definitely missed having pace out wide

Im also perplexed with DjeDje doesnt get more of a chance too....if Farid is still touch and go....hes fairly mobile, and is more than decent in the air (and with us playing high balls for the last 15 mins, I cant understand why him, or farid wasnt brought on)

2-0 did flatter them - tie isnt dead, we need to start like a house on fire (and get the goal when ontop)

Exactly!

Sadly for me the tie is over, we couldn't lose tonight imo and we have.
They just need to sit back and soak up Hibs which they will do all day long

Paloschi
20-05-2015, 09:00 PM
Missed Boyle tonight as hes an outlet. Scott Allan the only player trying to make things happen. Poor performance.

20-05-2015, 09:00 PM
I would guess that Farid wasn't fit and was only on the bench to make up the numbers

baggio70
20-05-2015, 09:01 PM
Think we really need a bit of imagination when it comes to corners , that's for sure .
Target practice required in the next few day.

The team playing at Ibrox can only be held responsible for their own performance tonight, not whatever misery other Hibs' teams have put you through.

shetlandhibee
Dom was one of our better players - shame he was basically upfront on his own

Is Gray injured again - didnt drive on like ususal

We definitely missed having pace out wide

Im also perplexed with DjeDje doesnt get more of a chance too....if Farid is still touch and go....hes fairly mobile, and is more than decent in the air (and with us playing high balls for the last 15 mins, I cant understand why him, or farid wasnt brought on)

2-0 did flatter them - tie isnt dead, we need to start like a house on fire (and get the goal when ontop)

Hibs did not play well. We were poor. People can point to Hamilton all they like, but they had guts, determination and the will to win and I don't see that in this team.

The reason people keep saying we bottle it, is because we do.

We should have had a break in Hamilton not La Manga.

20-05-2015, 09:02 PM
I would guess that Farid wasn't fit and was only on the bench to mate up the numbers

i would think that would be pretty poor management if that was the case, mind you though i'm still raging/baffled at the lack of a substitute and at this present time i reckon i'm a better rookie manager than stubbs :greengrin

Nonsense Scott Allan tried plenty creative, but gets slated left right and centre for the Hollywood pass if it doesn't come off.

One player trying to be creative wont do anything, you shoud be looking for all your midfielders to try different things to get passes into our forwards. You dont need the big hollywood passes to be creative, a reversed pass, a nice interchange of passes, taking a player on around the box to open space up for a pass, thats the difference. We just didnt try anything creative tonight, if you have to rely on one player being creative we will never succeed as the opposition will just man mark him out the game.

Thankfully for me, you have zero bearing on whether the tie is over or not.

Our players frequently get the 'spineless/bottlers' tag thrown at them on here. Pretty ironic given that, compared to some on here, they're fearless warriors with nerves of steel.

JJP
20-05-2015, 09:03 PM
Everyone is questioning Farid not coming on but none of you know what sort of condition he is in.

erskine-hibby
Why didn't Stubbs take off Cummings and Malonga?? Surely he saw they were like 2 men down??????

ok then

Ronster117
20-05-2015, 09:04 PM
When Hibernian are doon and oot...... They will surprise everyone.... Cummon lads we are the Hibs... At Easter road we play

20-05-2015, 09:04 PM
Everyone is questioning Farid not coming on but none of you know what sort of condition he is in.

Why put him on the bench if he is in any sort of condition that means he cant come on and play 10 or 15 mins?

Kavinho
20-05-2015, 09:05 PM
We can definitely turn this around. They're poor. No doubts

We CAN f@!@ing do this.

C'MON

20-05-2015, 09:05 PM
3 key moments in the game swung it in Rangers favour:

1. Cummings' missed chance early in the game;
2. Stevenson's crazy defending at their first goal; and
3. Collectively static defending from Hibs at their 2nd goal.

As ever it's a fine line that leads to a win or a defeat. Apart from that Hibs controlled the game without ever looking like scoring. A lack of a cutting edge in the final 3rd has already cost us a Cup Final place and looks like scuppering our chances of promotion.

20-05-2015, 09:06 PM
Hibs have to keep some hope. Get a goal back, and let's see how this piss poor Sevco side reacts. IMO they looked tired and will not be looking forward to another hard 90 mins at ER. Also a chance the Hun players will think it's job done and that they're better than they really are. Could be one of the games of the season on Sat !

Matty_Jack04
20-05-2015, 09:06 PM

Any sub up front would have been good it wasn't working dje dje/handling would have gave us a runner sevco where blowing out there hoop towards the end there we needed to make them work harder JC and Dom weren't doing that

inglisavhibs
20-05-2015, 09:07 PM
When in history have we been expected to beat Rangers in Glasgow? Even when we had a really good team in the early seventies Rangers were always favourites at Ibrox. Most other Scottish teams fail against the old firm in big games, that's the way it is in Scotland. Dundee United and Aberdeen bucked the trend for a while under McLean and Ferguson but the big 2 dominate and always will. A mountain to climb on Saturday but you never know.

inglisavhibs
20-05-2015, 09:10 PM
Why didn't Stubbs take off Cummings and Malonga?? Surely he saw they were like 2 men down??????

THank Christ you are not the manager. Take Malonga off?

20-05-2015, 09:10 PM
Thankfully for me, you have zero bearing on whether the tie is over or not.

Our players frequently get the 'spineless/bottlers' tag thrown at them on here. Pretty ironic given that, compared to some on here, they're fearless warriors with nerves of steel.

Loving the sarcasm

20-05-2015, 09:11 PM
ok then

He's 100% correct! We were the better team by a country mile, we just can't get the break of the ball and cannot finish like the jammy bŁ&t@rds...

Here's hoping on Saturday.

erskine-hibby
20-05-2015, 09:12 PM
THank Christ you are not the manager. Take Malonga off?

So what did he do then??

20-05-2015, 09:12 PM
Any sub up front would have been good it wasn't working dje dje/handling would have gave us a runner sevco where blowing out there hoop towards the end there we needed to make them work harder JC and Dom weren't doing that

:agree: Not trying a different striker was a crazy call by Stubbs - makes zero sense at all when an away goal could would have changed everything for the 2nd leg. Baffling non-decision that would have done TB proud. Crazy !

20-05-2015, 09:13 PM
He's 100% correct! We were the better team by a country mile, we just can't get the break of the ball and cannot finish like the jammy bŁ&t@rds...

Here's hoping on Saturday.

So you need to be jammy to be able to finish? Better team by a country mile???? Really?

20-05-2015, 09:13 PM
We were disappointing up front in the second half and defended poorly for the goals, but we passed the ball and took possession in tight areas all night.

Was disappointing not to utilise them, but 14 corners to one tells you a lot about how much we were on the front foot tonight.

Very disappointing result, but anyone who claims that we bottled it is way off the mark.

20-05-2015, 09:14 PM
Ahem......our neighbours were 0-2 down to The Rangers, with 10 minutes to go and nowt to play for just a few weeks ago.........just sayin :coffee:

Tie is only at half time, no away goal rule........plenty football left in this game.......The Rangers looked shattered. First goal vital, we get it, we'll be all over them.:aok:

20-05-2015, 09:15 PM
We should have had a break in Hamilton not La Manga.

The beach is to small :wink:

high bee
20-05-2015, 09:16 PM
We're not bottling anything, it was 0-0 before the game so nothing was bottled.

It's simple - opposition managers (of teams of similar quality) make tweaks to their tactics to nullify our threat. We change nothing and feel like we were the better team when in fact we have lots of corners or lots of shots off target but not what matters, hitting the target and scoring goals.

If I was Stubbs I would have them practicing their finishing every minute of the day cause we never seem to work the keeper enough.

I know it's far from people's minds after the result but Miller was definitely booked after his celebration wasn't he?

Had a bet on Rangers to have more bookings and it's been settled as a loser, notice BBC don't have his booking in the stats?

Not really wanting to discuss the game in detail other than that.

scooby

Totally agree, we were toothless up front - reminiscent of the semi final, loads of possession but no end product.
If we get in about them on Saturday and score first we've definitely got a chance of turning this around, because they're nothing special.

20-05-2015, 09:18 PM
When in history have we been expected to beat Rangers in Glasgow? Even when we had a really good team in the early seventies Rangers were always favourites at Ibrox. Most other Scottish teams fail against the old firm in big games, that's the way it is in Scotland. Dundee United and Aberdeen bucked the trend for a while under McLean and Ferguson but the big 2 dominate and always will. A mountain to climb on Saturday but you never know.

That Rangers team isn't a shadow of any Rangers team from the last 30 years, it's a completely different prospect, all I know is we lost to a team that we finished above over the course of the season. We should be more than capable of beating them no matter what stadium it's in.

20-05-2015, 09:18 PM
I know it's far from people's minds after the result but Miller was definitely booked after his celebration wasn't he?

Had a bet on Rangers to have more bookings and it's been settled as a loser, notice BBC don't have his booking in the stats?

Yes, Miller Shiels and McGregor all booked. Vuckic should've joined them

20-05-2015, 09:19 PM
Yes, Miller Shiels and McGregor all booked. Vuckic should've joined them

Thanks mate - knew it. Now just to prove it to betfair :rolleyes:

Allan45
20-05-2015, 09:21 PM
Ahem......our neighbours were 0-2 down to The Rangers, with 10 minutes to go and nowt to play for just a few weeks ago.........just sayin :coffee:

Tie is only at half time, no away goal rule........plenty football left in this game.......The Rangers looked shattered. First goal vital, we get it, we'll be all over them.:aok:

Gutted, we need the first goal and its game on b4 half time.:rolleyes:

20-05-2015, 09:21 PM
The game tonight was on a knife edge. Two individual errors have lead to two goals against, and our top goalscorer has missed a really good chance, it happens. I'm as gutted as anyone else but we weren't battered tonight, and we didn't look beaten or broken at any point.

Score first on Saturday and it resets the entire tie. The 2-0 scoreline tonight means we'll probably have to do it in extra time if we're going to go through but we're not dead and buried yet.

What do you think the Hamilton players and staff said to themselves after the first leg last season, did they just give up the ghost and accept defeat?

20-05-2015, 09:24 PM
:agree: Not trying a different striker was a crazy call by Stubbs - makes zero sense at all when an away goal could would have changed everything for the 2nd leg. Baffling non-decision that would have done TB proud. Crazy !

Away goals not worth anything more in the play offs.

20-05-2015, 09:25 PM
We're not bottling anything, it was 0-0 before the game so nothing was bottled.

It's simple - opposition managers (of teams of similar quality) make tweaks to their tactics to nullify our threat. We change nothing and feel like we were the better team when in fact we have lots of corners or lots of shots off target but not what matters, hitting the target and scoring goals.

If I was Stubbs I would have them practicing their finishing every minute of the day cause we never seem to work the keeper enough.

The only tweak opposition managers need to make is - when Hibs have the ball, drop deep and let them play in front of you.

It's obvious. We have no plan B.

As for the corners tonight, they're no even worth talking about. Amateur efforts.

The tie isn't over though, it's only half time. I've nae doubt McCall will set them up to drop deep from the 1st min on saturday, hopefully we're working on a Plan B.

inglisavhibs
20-05-2015, 09:28 PM
So what did he do then??
well in the first half in particular he was the best striker on the park by a country mile. Took the ball regularly under pressure, dragged defenders all over the place, two or three penetrating runs one of which created our best chance of the game, hardly lost possession all night, great first touch, yes he missed a couple of chances one of which he created himself with a great first touch. The problem tonight wasn't,t just up front where Cummings had a poor night. Stevenson did little right , was solely to bame for the crucial first goal and generally looked like a wee laddie against men. Robertson and Craig struggled a bit in midfield despite huge effort. Hanlon was a bit hesitant compared with this seasons form and Gray just about held his own. To blame just the two strikers is way off the mark.

LALthehibeeGAL
20-05-2015, 09:31 PM

According to ft report on BBC it is two a piece (McGregor & Shiels - Robbo & Craig) ,but they don't list Miller and he was defo booked for his celebration on the TV so I would say it is a winner!!!

Rangers

01 Bell
23 Foster
24 McGregor Booked
26 Zaliukas
05 Wallace
34 Murdoch
22 Shiels Booked (Black - 76' )
07 Law
10 Vuckic
14 Clark (Smith - 74' )
18 Miller (Boyd - 79' )

Substitutes

02 Smith
06 McCulloch
08 Black
15 Boyd
25 Robinson
29 Ferguson
48 Walsh

Hibernian

01 Oxley
02 Gray
04 Hanlon
05 Fontaine
16 Stevenson
08 Robertson Booked (McGeouch - 65' )
22 Fyvie
10 Craig Booked
20 Allan
24 Malonga
35 Cummings

Substitutes

09 El Alagui
11 Stanton
19 Handling
23 McGeouch
29 Dja Djedje
30 Cerny
32 Dunsmore

Ref: Calum Murray

20-05-2015, 09:35 PM
According to ft report on BBC it is two a piece (McGregor & Shiels - Robbo & Craig) ,but they don't list Miller and he was defo booked for his celebration on the TV so I would say it is a winner!!!

Rangers

01 Bell
23 Foster
24 McGregor Booked
26 Zaliukas
05 Wallace
34 Murdoch
22 Shiels Booked (Black - 76' )
07 Law
10 Vuckic
14 Clark (Smith - 74' )
18 Miller (Boyd - 79' )

Substitutes

02 Smith
06 McCulloch
08 Black
15 Boyd
25 Robinson
29 Ferguson
48 Walsh

Hibernian

01 Oxley
02 Gray
04 Hanlon
05 Fontaine
16 Stevenson
08 Robertson Booked (McGeouch - 65' )
22 Fyvie
10 Craig Booked
20 Allan
24 Malonga
35 Cummings

Substitutes

09 El Alagui
11 Stanton
19 Handling
23 McGeouch
29 Dja Djedje
30 Cerny
32 Dunsmore

Ref: Calum Murray

Thanks - exactly what I said and everyone else who watched the game agrees with. But every report/list of stats on the web don't have any sign of Miller's booking. Very strange :confused: and very frustrating!!

20-05-2015, 09:42 PM
Gutted.

20-05-2015, 09:44 PM
The weaknesses which Hibs have shown on several occasions throughout the season came back again tonight, when it really mattered, to haunt them and the supporters, i.e. conceding a bad goal through poor defending, and the inability to put the ball in the back of the net (13 corners to nil I think, and Hibs lose 2-0).

It's a terrible result, lets not kid ourselves, but it's not over yet. Hibs must score first in the return leg at ER, preferably early in the match, to have any chance of pulling this out of the fire.

If they don't, and the Huns score first, it's all over and another season (at least) in the Championship beckons with all the repercussions that may have for the club.

Tonight's result won't have done anything to encourage a large attendance on Saturday either. Hibs needed to keep it to at the very worst a 1 goal defeat tonight. I'm way beyond disappointed.

erskine-hibby
20-05-2015, 09:48 PM
He's paid to score is he not?
As I said he was not the only culprit, Cummings was like a man down, as was Allan. The defence was a joke too. Not tackling, standing off...All in all a pretty poor show, but to my mind had either Malonga or Cummings been anywhere near on song, we would have scored. It was so obvious yet Stubbs failed to see this???

20-05-2015, 09:48 PM
Vile *******s. Subjected to a dismal tube ride full of ****s singing about fenian blood and the queen, drinking buckfast and giving the word "****" a bad name.

"Is that a Celtic scarf?" Witty. The death of their club is a drop in the ocean compared to the societal issues they represent.

hibbymick
20-05-2015, 10:04 PM
The game tonight was on a knife edge. Two individual errors have lead to two goals against, and our top goalscorer has missed a really good chance, it happens. I'm as gutted as anyone else but we weren't battered tonight, and we didn't look beaten or broken at any point.

Score first on Saturday and it resets the entire tie. The 2-0 scoreline tonight means we'll probably have to do it in extra time if we're going to go through but we're not dead and buried yet.

What do you think the Hamilton players and staff said to themselves after the first leg last season, did they just give up the ghost and accept defeat?

Unfortunately it happens in another big game, the other one im thinking is Falkirk semi final which IMO was pretty similar to tonights game.

20-05-2015, 10:10 PM
Unfortunately it happens in another big game, the other one im thinking is Falkirk semi final which IMO was pretty similar to tonights game.

Was actually similar to their 2-0 win at Easter Road.......Fontaine scores with header, different game......Wallace nicks one just before half time and half time team talk changes......same tonight.

Hibs need real cutting edge.......more importantly they need to sign wingers so there is a 'plan B'.......we have none.

20-05-2015, 10:19 PM
Based on that - I fancy Motherwell to stay up

Rangers looked a tired team...if they get through over us, think they will struggle big time against well

7Hero
20-05-2015, 10:27 PM
The weaknesses which Hibs have shown on several occasions throughout the season came back again tonight, when it really mattered, to haunt them and the supporters, i.e. conceding a bad goal through poor defending, and the inability to put the ball in the back of the net (13 corners to nil I think, and Hibs lose 2-0).

It's a terrible result, lets not kid ourselves, but it's not over yet. Hibs must score first in the return leg at ER, preferably early in the match, to have any chance of pulling this out of the fire.

If they don't, and the Huns score first, it's all over and another season (at least) in the Championship beckons with all the repercussions that may have for the club.

Tonight's result won't have done anything to encourage a large attendance on Saturday either. Hibs needed to keep it to at the very worst a 1 goal defeat tonight. I'm way beyond disappointed.

Couldn't agree more. . :applause:

7Hero
20-05-2015, 10:32 PM
3 key moments in the game swung it in Rangers favour:

1. Cummings' missed chance early in the game;
2. Stevenson's crazy defending at their first goal; and
3. Collectively static defending from Hibs at their 2nd goal.

As ever it's a fine line that leads to a win or a defeat. Apart from that Hibs controlled the game without ever looking like scoring. A lack of a cutting edge in the final 3rd has already cost us a Cup Final place and looks like scuppering our chances of promotion.

True.....

20-05-2015, 10:35 PM
Couldn't agree more. . :applause:

20-05-2015, 10:48 PM
A disappointing result ... if we had kept it to a one goal deficit we would have been well in the tie, as it is, if we can turn this around it will be the best result we have achieved in the last 30 years IMO

I don't think Hibs were poor, but in the last 3rd we just have to create more .... only Stubbs can explain why El Alagui or Dje Dje wasn't brought on for the last 20 minutes when we were winning corner after corner and Cummings was doing nothing .. I just don't get it.

As for the Huns throwing stuff at our players with absolutely nothing being done to stop it by the Rangers or their security ( joke ) The answer is to ban the Huns from Easter Road on Saturday and give refunds to their idiot fans who have already bought tickets. If it was up to me Hibs would make a formal protest and ask for the game to be replayed ... I don't care if it influenced the result in reality or not, it was incessant and the Rangers did nothing about it.

Anyway ... This isn't over, if we can get an early goal on Saturday its game on !!!

20-05-2015, 10:52 PM
As many have no doubt stated on here it was small margins that lost us that game. Cold comfort though. We have missed width and pace for seasons now and the lack of either was really shown up. Malonga was the one player who really played to 100% of his ability.

I can't see us keeping a clean sheet on Saturday but as always I'll be there cheering them on. I'll be amazed if the winner of this doesn't stuff Motherwell.

Off the bar
20-05-2015, 11:11 PM
****ing hun ****s **** sevco **** their fans **** it all to **** ****ers

21-05-2015, 07:28 AM
I'll be amazed if the winner of this doesn't stuff Motherwell.

Really? If sevco go through, I fancy motherwell to do them.