View Full Version : Madchester/Britpop

19-05-2015, 02:28 PM
I am going to a "Fools Gold" clubnight in Dunfermline next week. Have been wanting to go for a while as I like quite a few of the "anthems" from that time. But I think there is a lot of stuff I haven't heard.

If this was your era, what was your favourite tunes from the time? And I can get listening on Spotify/iTunes :thumbsup:

19-05-2015, 02:35 PM
I am going to a "Fools Gold" clubnight in Dunfermline next week. Have been wanting to go for a while as I like quite a few of the "anthems" from that time. But I think there is a lot of stuff I haven't heard.

If this was your era, what was your favourite tunes from the time? And I can get listening on Spotify/iTunes :thumbsup:

TO be honest, far to many 90's indie bands to name........googling the top 90's indie bands will prob give you a better idea of the bands to look for, picking the songs from that.

a few examples from me are:

Shed Seven - Parallel lines, she left me on friday, devil in her shoes, speakeasy, disco down, chasing rainbows, ocean pie, casino girl, dolphin (Many More)

Charlatans - How High

bluetones - slight return and IF

19-05-2015, 02:45 PM
TO be honest, far to many 90's indie bands to name........googling the top 90's indie bands will prob give you a better idea of the bands to look for, picking the songs from that.

a few examples from me are:

Shed Seven - Parallel lines, she left me on friday, devil in her shoes, speakeasy, disco down, chasing rainbows, ocean pie, casino girl, dolphin (Many More)

Charlatans - How High

bluetones - slight return and IF

See, I know the ones in bold :greengrin

Godsahibby
19-05-2015, 02:46 PM
Any time I am in the house I have Absolute Radio 90's on, some quality tunes. been blasting out Shed Seven - Disco Down and Super Furry Animals - Something for the weekend today

19-05-2015, 03:22 PM
Divine Comedy's "Indie Disco" should tell you all you need to know :greengrin

19-05-2015, 03:40 PM
I posted a link to Flowered Up's "Weekender" video on the Youtube thread, doesnae get much better than that.

Carter the USM - The only living boy in New Cross.

Stone Roses, The La's, EMF, James, The Farm, The Soup Dragons, Primal Scream, The Shamen blah, blah, blah...!

19-05-2015, 05:03 PM
Any time I am in the house I have Absolute Radio 90's on, some quality tunes. been blasting out Shed Seven - Disco Down and Super Furry Animals - Something for the weekend today

Best radio station out there

19-05-2015, 05:28 PM
Ocean colour scence

19-05-2015, 06:41 PM
Cast. All Change is a great album from start to finish.

19-05-2015, 06:49 PM
Expecting to Fly by The Bluetones and The Charlatans eponymous album from 1995 are probably my favourite albums from that time.

Honourable mentions to Wake up Boo by the Boo Radleys, Free Peace Sweet by Dodgy and Kula Shakers debut album too :greengrin

Godsahibby
19-05-2015, 07:41 PM
Placebo - Nancy Boy
Ocean Colour Scene- Day we caught the train
Seahorses - Love is the law
Longpigs - She said
Blur - shes so high
Super Furry Animals - God show me magic

Best thread on here in ages, love it total reminiscing today listening to old tunes

19-05-2015, 07:44 PM
Love the Bluetones and the Sheds.

Are Pulp and Suede too obvious? Inspiral Carpets?

Off the top of my head - I'm Free by the Soupdragons is a belter. Then there's Jesus Jones - Right Here Right Now and Real Real Real are cracking tunes.

19-05-2015, 08:05 PM
Charlatans are the pinnacle of early 90s stuff for me. If you're including Britpop then obviously most of the others mentioned already fit the bill, Suede, Cast, OCS, Pulp being the obvious ones outwith Oasis.

Another thing to throw in the mix would be recent bands who's music has a similar sound. "The Throw" by Jagwar Ma has a real Hacienda type sound and is an amazing track. Their album is a bit more dancey otherwise but worth a look.

Personal fave at the moment for me are Blossoms. They've supported the Charlatans and Courteeners recently, there's only about 8 songs out there, no album yet but they're gonna be big.

19-05-2015, 08:21 PM
Just realised nobody has mentioned Happy Mondays. Sure they'll play Kinky Afro and Step On at your night.

Inspiral Carpets - Saturn 5

It's not Madchester but Reef Place Your Hands is an old favourite too

19-05-2015, 10:09 PM
Madchester and Britpop are two rather different eras as far as I'm concerned. Madchester was intertwined with rave and is sort of like guitar music for those who like dance. Screamadelica by primal scream is an album to listen to if you haven't heard it before.
Britpop is quite a vague description and lasts all the way up to the very end of the nineties for me. Hurricane #1, supergrass and the verve are ones that also stand out with the others mentioned. Bands have also been active all the way through like the charlatans and the happy mondays/black grape.

I was in my late teens/early twenties when this was going on and associate these tunes with great memories that come from thinking you're invincible. I think it's up to those who discovered the scene later in life to accurately judge how good the actual music was. D'yer know what I mean.

20-05-2015, 09:45 AM
James and Ocean Colour Scene are the two that have best stood the test of time. Two of the best live bands I've seen. James play the Ross Bandstand during the Festival, can't wait.

Another band who probably fit into Britpop and are very underrated are The Music. I have a feeling they will reform in the near future.

20-05-2015, 11:26 AM
Cheers guys. With your help and a couple of google searches, I've created a 130 song playlist on spotify for me to get stuck into in the next 2 weeks! :thumbsup:

20-05-2015, 11:42 AM
James and Ocean Colour Scene are the two that have best stood the test of time. Two of the best live bands I've seen. James play the Ross Bandstand during the Festival, can't wait.

Another band who probably fit into Britpop and are very underrated are The Music. I have a feeling they will reform in the near future.

I really like James, saw they were playing during the festival, but the tickets were pretty expensive I thought.

Godsahibby
20-05-2015, 12:07 PM
Going to see Shed Seven in Glasgow on the 4th December, gig is sold out already. Shed Seven supported by the Inspiral Carpets will be amazing!

Matty_Jack04
20-05-2015, 01:53 PM
I really like James, saw they were playing during the festival, but the tickets were pretty expensive I thought.

i saw franz ferdinand at the bandstand about 5/6 yrs ago paid about £60ish for me and the mrs at the time to go and was left peeping over the hedge at the side with about 1000 others whilst they paid more attention the the folk on the roofs across the road watching for free ...put me off even attempting to get tickets for james hopefully its better organised than that

20-05-2015, 02:54 PM
Going to see Shed Seven in Glasgow on the 4th December, gig is sold out already. Shed Seven supported by the Inspiral Carpets will be amazing!

The Sheds are my favourite band of that era. Met the boys in York in 99 before a gig and still have the signed Maximum High sleeve from that day. Saw them a few times in the 90s and been to a few of their comeback gigs over the years as well. Were never given the credit they deserved I feel.

The 90s was was my era and love listening to all the songs from that era, although I find it hard to believe it was 20 year's ago when a lot of my favourite songs came out.

Godsahibby
20-05-2015, 03:55 PM
The Sheds are my favourite band of that era. Met the boys in York in 99 before a gig and still have the signed Maximum High sleeve from that day. Saw them a few times in the 90s and been to a few of their comeback gigs over the years as well. Were never given the credit they deserved I feel.

The 90s was was my era and love listening to all the songs from that era, although I find it hard to believe it was 20 year's ago when a lot of my favourite songs came out.

Agreed mate definitely my favorite band, going to my grave with Disco Down playing!

20-05-2015, 04:12 PM

Its a a painful experience I can relate to buddy :greengrin

great music and times, seems like yesterday. Struggle to accept it was half my lifetime ago

20-05-2015, 05:42 PM
The Shamen :agree:
Make it mine
Move any mountain
Phorever people
LSI

20-05-2015, 05:45 PM

I always liked shed 7 but I think the thing that held them back from greater success was Rick Witter being such an almighty helmet. Sad but true :greengrin

Edina Erin
20-05-2015, 07:43 PM
Paris Angels [emoji6]

20-05-2015, 09:12 PM
Northside albums class

20-05-2015, 09:35 PM
Northside albums class

Chicken Rhythms :agree: take 5 and shall we take a trip? classic tracks

bringbackbenny
21-05-2015, 12:03 PM
Northside albums class

they are back touring again, saw them in Glasgow last year. top toons lol!

see they are playing the Liquid Rooms on 10th October

24-05-2015, 12:34 PM
What night is Madchester on, Callum?

I'm out with my work in Dunfermline on Friday so could be tempted to hit the clubs for something like this. Went to indie clubs all the time back in that era.

24-05-2015, 10:47 PM
I watched "Class of '92" the other night.

The main thing that struck me was how absolutely brilliant a time that was to be young. I was 18 in 1995 at the height of the "Britpop" craze and it was just magic. There were so many good bands around it was unbelievable (before you even get started on dance music and the djs) and there just seemed to be an air of optimism around. I was never much of a Man Utd fan but they were players that you kind of grew up watching on tv. Football was changing, politics was changing, lots of things were changing. Unfortunately it led us to where we are now though….

Madchester was that wee bit earlier but that is still probably the music I listen to the most. Do they still do the night at the Liquid Rooms on the last weekend of the month? Then the big bash every boxing day? They used to be superb. Their posters were always top notch - some important iconic scene with (at the very least) Shaun Ryder's head grafted onto it (sometimes with other guests too).

Delighted to hear that Northside are touring, Chicken Rhythms is a superb album. I see Black Grape are going on tour as well - they were class too.

I often find it hard to tell whether it is just that I'm getting old or if it actually is the case that there is less worth listening to these days. It's quite easy to avoid new music with radio stations like Absolute radio 90s around now.

25-05-2015, 03:32 PM
I often find it hard to tell whether it is just that I'm getting old or if it actually is the case that there is less worth listening to these days. It's quite easy to avoid new music with radio stations like Absolute radio 90s around now.

I was 20 in 95 and often think the same myself, but came to conclusion that most of the music is s**t these days and yes the 90's was by far the best decade for music and real music bands. Need to think of a playlist for my 40th!

25-05-2015, 10:02 PM
I wrote this a few months ago:

http://hibscomebackison.blogspot.com/2014/11/keeping-out-of-date-with-music.html

It's about the impact britpop and indie had on me.

25-05-2015, 10:23 PM
I wrote this a few months ago:

http://hibscomebackison.blogspot.com/2014/11/keeping-out-of-date-with-music.html

It's about the impact britpop and indie had on me.

Good read, shame your missing A Maximum High from your list!

25-05-2015, 10:36 PM
Good read, shame your missing A Maximum High from your list!

Good shout! That's a cracking album!