View Full Version : World Championship Snooker

03-05-2015, 08:54 PM
I know snooker has had it's tough times in recent years but Shaun Murphy and Stuart Bingham are serving up a very decent final.

9-8 Murphy after the first day, set up for an exciting finish tomorrow.

woodythehibee
03-05-2015, 08:59 PM
Brilliant match so far. Looking forward to tomorrow. Excellent atmosphere too.

03-05-2015, 09:02 PM
I've had it on constantly for the last two weeks in my makeshift office at home. There has been some fantastic matches and the level has risen a notch from previous years.

I had a small wager on Murphy before the tournament started at 11/1 and have hedged out to make a small profit. I actually hope that Bingham wins as he seems a 'good guy' who has worked hard to get to where he is.

Alas - I'm eating out tomorrow and will miss the afternoon session. Hopefully it's still a live match in the evening.

The Trump match last night was one of the all time great games.

03-05-2015, 09:06 PM
Fantastic match so far, considering that it's none of the pre-tournament favourites contesting the final this year.

I would like to see Stuart Bingham win, it just seems like it would mean so much to him to lift the world title and he comes across as a likeable guy as well.

Looking forward to watching this tomorrow.

03-05-2015, 09:27 PM
I watched it from 8-4 tonight. Bingham played well.

04-05-2015, 09:26 AM
Alas - I'm eating out tomorrow

Lucky you, too much info though! :-o

04-05-2015, 10:22 AM
Brilliant match so far. Looking forward to tomorrow. Excellent atmosphere too.

How come? Have they changed the rules so folk in the crowd can speak?

I could never go to watch this - guaranteed to fall asleep and get told to be "quiet please" when the snoring kicked in.

woodythehibee
04-05-2015, 11:02 AM
How come? Have they changed the rules so folk in the crowd can speak?

I could never go to watch this - guaranteed to fall asleep and get told to be "quiet please" when the snoring liked in.

:greengrin It's more that when a great shot has been played, or a century break, the crowd are very loud and vocal. Highly unusual for snooker.

04-05-2015, 02:14 PM
Bingham has been immense so far this afternoon.

Three frames in a row so far and now leads 11-9 and he's now won seven out of the last eight frames.

He also came close with a 147 attempt, breaking down on the final red.

04-05-2015, 02:26 PM
Binhham is on fire. Great to watch.

04-05-2015, 02:27 PM
Make that 12-9.

04-05-2015, 04:45 PM
My love for the game of snooker has been restored this year. There's been some great matches and the final is building up to an exciting climax. I've nothing against Shaun Murphy but would love to see Stuart Bingham win.

04-05-2015, 05:12 PM
I was a bit sceptical when Barry Hearn said he would get snooker back on track but looking at the figures on the BBC today it looks like he's getting it right. Number of tournaments are up, more ranking tournaments, prize money up, more nationalies represented, audience numbers up etc. A World Championship like this one will keep the momentum going hopefully.

Wonder if he fancies the SPFL?

04-05-2015, 06:46 PM
I was a bit sceptical when Barry Hearn said he would get snooker back on track but looking at the figures on the BBC today it looks like he's getting it right. Number of tournaments are up, more ranking tournaments, prize money up, more nationalies represented, audience numbers up etc. A World Championship like this one will keep the momentum going hopefully.

Wonder if he fancies the SPFL?

He was up at an SFA convention a few months ago and told those who run football in Scotland a few home truths.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30317051

04-05-2015, 08:12 PM
Shaun Murphy coming back into this again at 15-15.

Far too close to call.

BarneyBreslin
04-05-2015, 08:13 PM
Nerves beginning to show. 15 all now. Hope it goes all the way.

04-05-2015, 08:50 PM
How unlucky was that there?

04-05-2015, 08:53 PM
How unlucky was that there?

With luck like that, I'm sure Stuart must be a Hibby.

04-05-2015, 09:14 PM
Not sure I've seen that before. Frame has gone on so long Bingham has to leave whilst it's ongoing to go to the toilet.

04-05-2015, 09:22 PM
What a frame that was. Some brilliant safety play.

04-05-2015, 09:24 PM
Bingham won 40 odd points in safety shots.

I really like Shaun Murphy but i hope Bingham wins it.

04-05-2015, 09:24 PM
Great stuff. I enjoy watching the tactical battles.

04-05-2015, 09:29 PM
Not sure I've seen that before. Frame has gone on so long Bingham has to leave whilst it's ongoing to go to the toilet.

I'm sure it must have happened before but I've never seen it.

04-05-2015, 09:47 PM
Bingham within one frame. Hope he does it.

04-05-2015, 10:00 PM
Well done Stuart Bingham. :not worth

18-15.

04-05-2015, 10:01 PM
Great stuff.

Lovely to see a guy look like it means so much to him.

04-05-2015, 10:04 PM
Brilliant.

Break building all week has been immense.

Knocking out O'sullivan Trump and Murphy is nae mean feat.

04-05-2015, 10:07 PM
What's Jimmy White thinking sitting there behind Bingham?! Ha Ha!

04-05-2015, 10:07 PM
What's Jimmy White thinking sitting there behind Bingham?! Ha Ha!

Ken eh...What was it 7 finals and lost them all ?

04-05-2015, 10:09 PM

He said in an interview the other day he's not finished trying yet!

04-05-2015, 10:09 PM

I think so mate. Did he not go out on the piss when he was cruising against Hendry one year and then lost 10 on the bounce?!

04-05-2015, 10:11 PM
He said in an interview the other day he's not finished trying yet!

A liked the whirlwind but no dangers is he ever getting close to winning it again.

04-05-2015, 10:13 PM
I think so mate. Did he not go out on the piss when he was cruising against Hendry one year and then lost 10 on the bounce?!

Though he had it sewn up.. His autobiography is a very good read.

04-05-2015, 10:14 PM

Six. Four of those were against Stephen Hendry.

04-05-2015, 10:16 PM
Six. Four of those were against Stephen Hendry.

Hendry wasnae half looking old eh ?.. That beard puts 10 years oan him.

Bingham was a 50/1 shot..Hindsight eh :rolleyes:

04-05-2015, 10:21 PM
I was on YouTube earlier. Anyone remember this?

http://youtu.be/JYjIV54egio