View Full Version : I've cried 4 times because of politics
27-04-2015, 07:34 PM
I didn't cry in '79 because I was (secretly) a wee bit pleased that we'd elected a woman, and because I knew the Tories would be out shortly, as was the way in UK politics. I wish I'd had a crystal ball. :rolleyes:
First time I cried was when Major beat Kinnock. I loved Neil Kinnock (I hated Militant) and I still exclusively use the wallet I bought at the Playhouse after a speech he gave in the mid 80's. The rose on the wallet is long gone, but I still know the significance. I'd been campaigning for Alistair Darling in Edinburgh Central, and while he won, I was inconsolable that Labour had blown it.
Second time was tears of joy when Labour won in 1997. When the announcement came that Stephen Twigg, an openly gay young man, had beaten the heavyweight Thacherite, Michael Portillo, I knew then that Labour had won. Although that result came in relatively early, I thought that maybe our country was going to start demonstrating the values I thought, and still do think, were important. Labour won by a landslide.
The next, and third, time was when Nicola Sturgeon blew everyone off the stage in the first leader's debate this year. I've craved to hear someone credible say the things she said since Blair's second term. However, I still wasn't sure who I was going to vote for though: I'm a Labour man, after all.
But the fourth time was tonight. I watched/heard the Party political broadcast on behalf of the Labour party minutes before the interview with Sturgeon.
Despite the efforts to keep her from speaking, she was magnificent. She's natural, credible and genuine. She's inspirational. Incomparable to Murphy's stilted broadcast and empty words.
The SNP are going to walk the election in Scotland, and although I was a card carrying member of the Labour Party initially, then New Labour, I'm going to help them do so.
As much as I respect the views of many Labour supporters on here, Mibbes Aye in particular, my decision is made.
That's the first time I've said that in the whole campaign. Committed now.
I wonder if I'll cry on 8 May.
27-04-2015, 07:57 PM
Your words are pretty much exactly how I feel D.
I'm even considering joining the SNP!!!
Unthinkable even a few years ago!!!!!
27-04-2015, 08:07 PM
Your words are pretty much exactly how I feel D.
I'm even considering joining the SNP!!!
Unthinkable even a few years ago!!!!!
Stranraer
27-04-2015, 08:33 PM
I cried when Labour lost in 2010 after Brown's goodbye speech. I won't be crying this time round regardless :greengrin
27-04-2015, 09:09 PM
D, do you mind if I copy and paste that?
27-04-2015, 09:29 PM
I didn't cry in '79 because I was (secretly) a wee bit pleased that we'd elected a woman, and because I knew the Tories would be out shortly, as was the way in UK politics. I wish I'd had a crystal ball. :rolleyes:
First time I cried was when Major beat Kinnock. I loved Neil Kinnock (I hated Militant) and I still exclusively use the wallet I bought at the Playhouse after a speech he gave in the mid 80's. The rose on the wallet is long gone, but I still know the significance. I'd been campaigning for Alistair Darling in Edinburgh Central, and while he won, I was inconsolable that Labour had blown it.
Second time was tears of joy when Labour won in 1997. When the announcement came that Stephen Twigg, an openly gay young man, had beaten the heavyweight Thacherite, Michael Portillo, I knew then that Labour had won. Although that result came in relatively early, I thought that maybe our country was going to start demonstrating the values I thought, and still do think, were important. Labour won by a landslide.
The next, and third, time was when Nicola Sturgeon blew everyone off the stage in the first leader's debate this year. I've craved to hear someone credible say the things she said since Blair's second term. However, I still wasn't sure who I was going to vote for though: I'm a Labour man, after all.
But the fourth time was tonight. I watched/heard the Party political broadcast on behalf of the Labour party minutes before the interview with Sturgeon.
Despite the efforts to keep her from speaking, she was magnificent. She's natural, credible and genuine. She's inspirational. Incomparable to Murphy's stilted broadcast and empty words.
The SNP are going to walk the election in Scotland, and although I was a card carrying member of the Labour Party initially, then New Labour, I'm going to help them do so.
As much as I respect the views of many Labour supporters on here, Mibbes Aye in particular, my decision is made.
Thanks for sharing that, it's right up there with some of the best posts on Hibs Net.
Me, I was close to tears after the referendum, when all the hope of making a change to the way things are done here had died. The thought that the status quo that has failed us again and again would remain in place and any hope of creating a world where the established parties would have to begin a new and actually earn the trust of the people who voted for them, who would be held accountable if they failed or were driven on by the urge to serve them to the best of their abilities instead of being restricted by party allegiances. It was for me a dark day. I knew that if the strive for democratic independence was lost it would mean the last chance to have an amiable divorce. Independence will come but now it will be ugly, dirty and possibly even violent. I hope I'm wrong but the willingness of the Westminster machine to demonize a section of the people they represent in the hope of gaining power is the start of a downward spiral that can only fuel hate amongst the right wing leaning elements on both sides.
27-04-2015, 09:36 PM
The funny thing is, D - I know two politicians personally.
Graham Stewart, who is currently the Conservative MP for Beverley & Holderness gave me one of my first jobs in England when he ran a small publishing company in Cambridge. He was a decent geezer with a lovely wife and he and I had some wonderful times together. He's a Carlisle Utd fan and we used to watch them together when they played in or around the South of England. By sheer coincidence, he's now the standing MP in my fathers constituency. I'm still in touch with him today and I've been his guest a few times in the Houses of Parliament.
I also know Bob Blizzard who is the Labour candidate for Waveney. He and I have travelled together many times watching Lowestoft Town play. In fact, there's been several instances where we've had to be poured off the train when we reach our destination (and that's before the match). He's so amiable, that he agreed to do an online interview with my sons school a few years ago that must have taken him days to answer the questions.
That's one Conservative and one Labour candidate and I would vote for them both if either were standing in my constituency. That doesn't make me me a supporter of either party. I'd probably vote SNP if they were fielding a candidate in my area...which they're not. But other than spoiling my paper in what is a safe Tory seat (hate the current incumbent) I'm going to probably put my X in the UKIP box.
So what party do I actually support?
I don't have a clue, but surely that is what politics is about. Not the broken promises of Cameron/Clegg/Miliband et al.
27-04-2015, 09:47 PM
The funny thing is, D - I know two politicians personally.
Graham Stewart, who is currently the Conservative MP for Beverley & Holderness gave me one of my first jobs in England when he ran a small publishing company in Cambridge. He was a decent geezer with a lovely wife and he and I had some wonderful times together. He's a Carlisle Utd fan and we used to watch them together when they played in or around the South of England. By sheer coincidence, he's now the standing MP in my fathers constituency. I'm still in touch with him today and I've been his guest a few times in the Houses of Parliament.
I also know Bob Blizzard who is the Labour candidate for Waveney. He and I have travelled together many times watching Lowestoft Town play. In fact, there's been several instances where we've had to be poured off the train when we reach our destination (and that's before the match). He's so amiable, that he agreed to do an online interview with my sons school a few years ago that must have taken him days to answer the questions.
That's one Conservative and one Labour candidate and I would vote for them both if either were standing in my constituency. That doesn't make me me a supporter of either party. I'd probably vote SNP if they were fielding a candidate in my area...which they're not. But other than spoiling my paper in what is a safe Tory seat (hate the current incumbent) I'm going to probably put my X in the UKIP box.
So what party do I actually support?
I don't have a clue, but surely that is what politics is about. Not the broken promises of Cameron/Clegg/Miliband et al.
UKIP are opportunistic and horrible.
If you haven't got deep set political principles, I'd suggest you vote for the Monster Raving loony Party, G.
I haven't laughed so much for ages as when I read their manifesto last week. I was literally screaming with laughter. You know those moments when you really can't even speak for laughing?
It's never as funny in the cold light of day, but it just gets you. Comedy genius.
Nectar points for tax payers from HMRC...
27-04-2015, 09:56 PM
UKIP are opportunistic and horrible.
If you haven't got deep set political principles, I'd suggest you vote for the Monster Raving loony Party, G.
I haven't laughed so much for ages as when I read their manifesto last week. I was literally screaming with laughter. You know those moments when you really can't even speak for laughing?
It's never as funny in the cold light of day, but it just gets you. Comedy genius.
Nectar points for tax payers from HMRC...
Of course they are - but being based in the South of England, immigration is a key point that I tend to agree with, certainly as there are 13 different first languages spoken in my lads class of 30. All but a couple are on benefits.
As I said, my vote will do no good as the Tory incumbent is a shoo-in.
I don't think the Loonies are even bothering in my area.
28-04-2015, 12:59 PM
So that Radge doesn't feel lonely I think we all should listen to this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZgu0KichKE
Always brings a tear to my eye.
28-04-2015, 01:00 PM
I've cried 4 times because of politics
Ya big woose! :wink:
The first political thing I remember was the injustice of the 79 referendum (I was just about to turn 9) and was off school sick on the day. 92 was the bleakest for me, possibly even including the indyref, although it's close. I just couldn't believe the Tories had scraped back in and I pretty much despaired we'd ever get rid of them. I was a student in Glasgow at the time but travelled back through to vote against Malcolm Rifkind. He scraped back in as well. :rolleyes:
97 was brilliant. Every time I was about to go to bed they would shift to another Tory heid-yin's count and they'd lose. Oops, there goes Portillo, now it's Michael Forsyth ... and Rifkind. Schadenfreudish delight!
This time looks like a repeat except it'll be Scottish Labour's finest getting gubbed, never thought back then I'd be delighted about that. Won't make up for the Indyref but a useful staging post towards Indyref2. Onwards and upwards. :wink:
28-04-2015, 01:06 PM
Ya big woose! :wink:
The first political thing I remember was the injustice of the 79 referendum (I was just about to turn 9) and was off school sick on the day. 92 was the bleakest for me, possibly even including the indyref, although it's close. I just couldn't believe the Tories had scraped back in and I pretty much despaired we'd ever get rid of them. I was a student in Glasgow at the time but travelled back through to vote against Malcolm Rifkind. He scraped back in as well. :rolleyes:
97 was brilliant. Every time I was about to go to bed they would shift to another Tory heid-yin's count and they'd lose. Oops, there goes Portillo, now it's Michael Forsyth ... and Rifkind. Schadenfreudish delight!
This time looks like a repeat except it'll be Scottish Labour's finest getting gubbed, never thought back then I'd be delighted about that. Won't make up for the Indyref but a useful staging post towards Indyref2. Onwards and upwards. :wink:
'79 was my first time voting.
'92 was the only time I stayed up all night and there was a family wedding on the Saturday, with the bride's family all jubilant and our wee group of depressed folks. The wedding was at Gleddoch House and the drink was so expensive we found an off licence and got a carry oot!!
I had the chance of being at our count but gave it a miss, I'm on Polling station instead.
28-04-2015, 03:14 PM
I was very upset when Harold Wilson lost to Heath in 1970. But he got his own back - twice!
28-04-2015, 06:04 PM
Got married in 79 a couple of months after the election. Harry Ewing, Dennis Canavan and Terry Fields were at my wedding so always been a bit to the left. However I was a member of the SNP at the time as that was the only way I could see Scotland becoming a socialist utopia. 😁. Still do but not a member of political parties any more. CPGB scunnered me. Having said that, my barber, when I have hair, Johnny McNally is standing here so looking forward to him representing us instead of that ass hole Eric Joyce.
I've never cried because of politics.
Anyone that does so is a big Jessie.
I've never cried at football either. People that do so should be ejected from the ground (or pub).
01-05-2015, 06:31 AM
I've never cried because of politics.
Anyone that does so is a big Jessie.
I've never cried at football either. People that do so should be ejected from the ground (or pub).
I will however be voting SNP, unthinkable just a few years ago. Scottish Labour are just such a nothing political party these days. Donald Dewar and John Smith will be spinning in their graves !!
01-05-2015, 10:29 AM
I will however be voting SNP, unthinkable just a few years ago. Scottish Labour are just such a nothing political party these days. Donald Dewar and John Smith will be spinning in their graves !!
I totally admired John Smith but I'm afraid the Dewary's still out regarding that other chap.
HiBremian
01-05-2015, 03:52 PM
Cried on September 19th of course, but what's happened since has been totally inspiring.
I'll be crying tears of joy after the Holyrood elections next year if it turns out that the SNP need the Greens to form a majority and Patrick Harvie and Nicola form the next government.
Don't suppose you'd consider giving the Greens your list vote next year?? :-)
HiBremian
01-05-2015, 03:54 PM
I was very upset when Harold Wilson lost to Heath in 1970. But he got his own back - twice!
I was in Trafalgar Square that night :-(
04-05-2015, 08:31 AM
I had the chance of being at our count but gave it a miss, I'm on Polling station instead.
That will be a long and boring day GF - good luck with that! :greengrin
I was at the count collation centre in September and, by the time the result was confirmed, I felt like crying. Mind you it was about 6am and I'd been up for 24 hours straight!
04-05-2015, 09:22 AM
I cried with laughter when I saw Jim Murphy trying to say fundamentally.