View Full Version : Your 1st Ever Hibs game

Torto7062
22-04-2015, 10:10 PM
When did you first grace the terracing or shed ?

I was discussing this earlier and my 1st ever visit to Easter Road was a game in the auld league cup section
Hibernian 1–1 Clydebank on the 25th August 1982.

God I feel auld

22-04-2015, 10:14 PM
First game i remember was Strasbourg 1978ish.First game i went to was v celtic. I barely remember anything about it or when it was.Guess i was too young though i think the score was 4-1 (could be wrong)

22-04-2015, 10:16 PM
Skol Festival Trophy, August 1979, Hibs 2 Hearts 1, followed by Coventry (chocolate brown strips) v Man City.

22-04-2015, 10:53 PM
The 2006 Scottish Cup semi final. The less said, the better.

22-04-2015, 11:00 PM
Versus Hearts @ ER Sept 1970 0-0

22-04-2015, 11:06 PM
Airdrie 1971 , 3-1

22-04-2015, 11:10 PM
Semi final against Livingston.

Was a great game I remeber Le God flicking the ball over a livi boy in our half. Was risky but sheer class

22-04-2015, 11:14 PM
First game I went to was Hibs 1 Aberdeen 4 in 3rd Round of Scottish Cup 1983. That was Aberdeen team that went on to win European Cup Winners Cup that season. Our consolation goal was a screamer of a free kick by Gordon Rae.

Incredibly, upon watching a Kevin Keegan 101 Greatest goals video I picked up in a charity shop in Leith, one of them was Gordon v the Sheep. Truly born to be a Hibby.

22-04-2015, 11:55 PM
Circa 1952/53, on my dad's shoulders way at the top of the old east terracing - no idea who against.
I was approx. 5 yrs old.

Hannah_hfc
23-04-2015, 12:10 AM
A 2 nil defeat to Aberdeen @ ER November 2000. I was still hooked after that and promptly got a child's ST the following season.

23-04-2015, 12:11 AM
A 2 nil defeat to Aberdeen @ ER November 2000. Despite the defeat , I was still hooked after that.

Same!

23-04-2015, 05:33 AM
When did you first grace the terracing or shed ?

I was discussing this earlier and my 1st ever visit to Easter Road was a game in the auld league cup section
Hibernian 1–1 Clydebank on the 25th August 1982.

God I feel auld

November 1965, Hamilton at ER, 11-1.

You feel auld!!!

First away game, Ibrox 1969, 3-1 McBride & Marinello x2. Never missed a game in the UK for years after that.

My late dad was a Jambo and wouldn't let me travel to games outside Edinburgh until I was 13. :grr:

No wonder I'm so critical with the standard of recent years!

23-04-2015, 05:53 AM
A nil nil draw against aberdeen january 1988.

Glesgahibby
23-04-2015, 06:24 AM
Pat Stanton's testimonial 1978.
Hibs 2 Celtic 1.
Pat scored the winning goal.

23-04-2015, 06:31 AM
Hibs v Dunbarton feb 1988. Won 3-0

23-04-2015, 06:39 AM
1990 can't remember who the opposition were as thought it was a one off look at Scottish football. Never dreamt I would be moving to Edinburgh two years later and having a ST bought for me!

23-04-2015, 06:56 AM
13 April 1968Easter Road v Motherwell and a 2-1 win
Duncan
Davis
Stanton
Madson
McGraw
Scott
Quinn
Stein
Cormack
Stevenson

Great players and they looked smart as a galvanised bucket in their newly pressed strips. They even wore fresh strips after half time and it all looked fantastic in the spring sunshine. My brother and I were back with my older cousin two weeks later to see the same team draw 3-3 with Kilmarnock and thought it would always be like that, great players, great entertainment, big crowds and fantastic atmosphere.

23-04-2015, 07:18 AM
1985 against Dundee at Easter Road we lost 1-0.

Hillsidehibby
23-04-2015, 07:21 AM
Sept 68

3-2 v Falkirk. Cormack 2 Stein 1.

I even have the programme!

23-04-2015, 07:34 AM
March 1979, Scottish Cup Quarter Final.

Hibs 2 - 1 Hearts.

Att. 22,000

Hearts Fans rioting in the Dunbar End (well, beating up lone Policemen, as was their hobby at the time)

Even though segregation had started a couple of years earlier, I watched the game from a pretty mixed South Enclosure

Oh and for those that thought taking 16,000+ to a SC Semi Final at the weekend was 'nothing special', we played Aberdeen in the Semi Final that year in front of a grand total of 9,387 at Hampden. :wink:

23-04-2015, 08:12 AM
January 2nd 1978 ..hibs 2 Clydebank 0 (Ally McLeod & Alex McGhee ..att - 8284

23-04-2015, 08:28 AM
Against Aberdeen in March 1997, it was Paul Tosh's debut if I'm not mistaken? He obviously scored in a 3-1 win and I'm sitting in the terracing as a 12 year old thinking this is great, what a signing this lad is :greengrin

23-04-2015, 09:20 AM
2-1 loss to the yams at ER. Was season 92/93 I think.

23-04-2015, 09:25 AM
Honestly can't remember an exact game. Would have been very late 80s/early 90s though.

A lot of that period jumbles into a big mass. Sitting on wooden benches behind the goals, swèets, crisps, pies, Keith Wright and Darren Jackson, always wanting to go and stand with the radges on the old terracing, moving to the 'main' stand when the FF was built, beating Hearts at about 4 o'clock on a Tuesday afternoon around the same time, away trips to weird and wonderful stadiums (a bit like this season), The Pink, JAG reading the results on the radio post game, a decent Sportscene programme with 2 or 3 English games tacked on at the end......

Great days.

23-04-2015, 09:33 AM
Must have been around 1974 Hibs 2-1 v Dundee. I think Alan Gordon had just signed for the dark blues, 1-0 at H-T and up popped Paddy Stanton to score the equaliser. Can't remember who scored the winner.

spudhib
23-04-2015, 09:52 AM
First I remember v Raith in first division circa 1980 at ER beat 0-1.

23-04-2015, 10:24 AM
V Bolton Wanderers in a pre season friendly August 1963

Now that's auld!

23-04-2015, 10:29 AM
V Bolton Wanderers in a pre season friendly August 1963

Now that's auld!

Is it true the game was played in black and white? ;-)

Torto7062
23-04-2015, 10:46 AM
Circa 1952/53, on my dad's shoulders way at the top of the old east terracing - no idea who against.
I was approx. 5 yrs old.

Thats a lot of year's of Ups and Downs mate....well done

23-04-2015, 10:56 AM
I'm not sure about my first game, but the first I remember is Hibs v Rangers Skol cup semi the year we won it. Keith Wright header to win it. I'd have to ask my old man of id been to any before that.

23-04-2015, 11:16 AM
1975 or 76 ... not too sure, the first game I remember going to on my own was against Dundee Utd .. I think it finished 1 - 1 or 1 - 0 to Utd and Hamish McAlpine scored a penalty.

23-04-2015, 11:21 AM
March 1979, Scottish Cup Quarter Final.

Hibs 2 - 1 Hearts.

Att. 22,000

Hearts Fans rioting in the Dunbar End (well, beating up lone Policemen, as was their hobby at the time)

Even though segregation had started a couple of years earlier, I watched the game from a pretty mixed South Enclosure

Oh and for those that thought taking 16,000+ to a SC Semi Final at the weekend was 'nothing special', we played Aberdeen in the Semi Final that year in front of a grand total of 9,387 at Hampden. :wink:

Yup ... I was at that match :agree:

The Sundance Kid
23-04-2015, 11:28 AM
a 2-0 win at home to St Mirren in August 2000, Stuart Lovell with both goals

berwickhibee
23-04-2015, 11:29 AM
Skol Festival Trophy, August 1979, Hibs 2 Hearts 1, followed by Coventry (chocolate brown strips) v Man City.

my first trip to easter road with my dad too:thumbsup: hooked from then:gwa:

23-04-2015, 11:41 AM
my first trip to easter road with my dad too:thumbsup: hooked from then:gwa:

I was at the midweek match of that tournament at Tynecastle. It was wierd, as Hibs played Coventry City first then, when the match was finished, Hearts played Man City.

IIRC, it was played 'Saturday - Wednesday - Saturday', with the Saturday games played at ER.

23-04-2015, 11:42 AM
First game was pre season vs Preston at Deepdale in 2003. First game in Scotland was League Cup Final v Livingston and my first game at ER was in 2005 (I think) vs Dundee Utd.

ManBearPig
23-04-2015, 11:43 AM
Hibs 2-0 against Kilmarnock circa 1995 1996 from what I remember we scored first I missed the goal think it was Darren Jackson

berwickhibee
23-04-2015, 11:44 AM
I was at the midweek match of that tournament at Tynecastle. It was wierd, as Hibs played Coventry City first then, when the match was finished, Hearts played Man City.

IIRC, it was played 'Saturday - Wednesday - Saturday', with the Saturday games played at ER.

I was only at the Saturday. my dad bought me the hibs strip on Leith walk,changed straight into it for the games.

remember ian Wallace playing for Coventry,ginger and chocolate look awful together and also remember kaz deyna playing for man city. also a bit of fighting outside the ground on the day.

23-04-2015, 11:46 AM
I was only at the Saturday. my dad bought me the hibs strip on Leith walk,changed straight into it for the games.

remember ian Wallace playing for Coventry,ginger and chocolate look awful together and also remember kaz deyna playing for man city. also a bit of fighting outside the ground on the day.

Same at the midweek match.

Pretty sad, considering it was supposed to be a friendly, and there was hardly anybody there.

Salt N Sauzee
23-04-2015, 11:57 AM
The 2-0 defeat to Livi in the cup final in 2004. My Granda' thought he'd take me along to witness the Hibs lift a cup for my first game of Football. Get a real taste for what it's all about.. But it was of course the beginning of a long and miserable 11 years of being a Hibs fan. Start as you mean to go on eh!
:scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf::scarf:

muzzando
23-04-2015, 11:59 AM
Think my first was a 2-2 draw with dundee united in 2003. We got a 90th minute OG equaliser

23-04-2015, 12:00 PM
Christmas Day 1965.....Hibs 2 v St. Johnstone 5. Xmas "treat" from my dad. Snow on the terracing. Freezing in my shorts. Mums could not get long trousers for wee boys (I was 6). Loved the roars from the crowd and all the men had half-bottles in their coat pockets. Anyway off to Falkirk next Saturday. GGTTH.

23-04-2015, 12:03 PM
http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/1997-08-03%3A+Hibernian+2-1+Celtic,+Premier+Division

Galahibby
23-04-2015, 12:06 PM
I think it was George Best's first game at Easter Road. I also remember a Skol Cup game against East Fife as a bairn but think that was a bit later on. First ever game was H****s v Rangers RIP thanks to Hibby D's big brother!! 😩

23-04-2015, 12:40 PM
My first home mátch was this http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=75320.

A 6-0 win against Stirling Albion in 1966. Scorers that day were Joe Davis, Big John (dinnae mess with me) McNamee, Peter Cormack, Jimmy O'Rourke and Eric Stevenson. Managed by Bob Shankly.

Great team as well.

23-04-2015, 12:56 PM
13 April 1968Easter Road v Motherwell and a 2-1 win
Duncan
Davis
Stanton
Madson
McGraw
Scott
Quinn
Stein
Cormack
Stevenson

Great players and they looked smart as a galvanised bucket in their newly pressed strips. They even wore fresh strips after half time and it all looked fantastic in the spring sunshine. My brother and I were back with my older cousin two weeks later to see the same team draw 3-3 with Kilmarnock and thought it would always be like that, great players, great entertainment, big crowds and fantastic atmosphere.

That was the game played on the same day as the Cup Final when Dunfermline beat Hearts 3-1? Stein scored a hat-trick IIRC.

Real Madrid 1965 was mine - all downhill from there, I'm afraid.

23-04-2015, 01:18 PM
That was the game played on the same day as the Cup Final when Dunfermline beat Hearts 3-1? Stein scored a hat-trick IIRC.

Real Madrid 1965 was mine - all downhill from there, I'm afraid.

Surely it was only downhill for 45 minutes.

Good first match to be at.

wazoo1875
23-04-2015, 01:35 PM
My easter rd debut corresponded with George bests home debut. A 2-1 win vrs Partick in front of around 21000. I was 5

Seekyit
23-04-2015, 01:49 PM
Hibs 2 Dundee 0. League Cup, August 1975. Nearly 40 years ago...

23-04-2015, 01:58 PM
I'm sure mine was beginning of 1989/90 season and a 2-0 win over Dundee United.

23-04-2015, 02:05 PM
V Kilmarnock in 1979...1-1..great volley from Ally McLeod to equalise.

23-04-2015, 02:24 PM
About 1970, went along with my then girl friends father, sooking in, she became my wife, he became a respected father in law and I fell in love with one of the best football teams of its day.

7-Heaven
23-04-2015, 02:46 PM
Can't remember my first ever game at Easter Road, it was a reserve game at the age of three, so my father told me, but i do remember my first away game without my Dad. It was 1st Jan 1973 at Tynecastle with a mate of mine, what a day :greengrin

MM19
23-04-2015, 02:51 PM
Hibs vs Nottingham Forest a pre season friendly in 1966 3-2 Hibs Joe Baker scored Nottingham Forest's two goals.

Team was Alan, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, McNamee, Cousin, Cormack, Stein, Scott McGraw and Stevenson. Think the scorers were Davis (penalty) Stein and McGraw

Hibby Gav
23-04-2015, 03:05 PM
Hibs v FC Besa 1972 (so google says :) ) I do remember they scored first then we scored 7.....
I thought It was always gonna be that way !....

Still....life as a Hibby, it's in your soul...and it's still WAY better than the option

ACLeith
23-04-2015, 03:10 PM
Not sure if my first game but fIrst programme i have is October 1956 v Queens Park. Score was 1-1. I wrote in it that Gordon Smith replaced John Fraser in the team lines in the programme. Think he may have been returning after a broken leg?

23-04-2015, 03:48 PM
Surely it was only downhill for 45 minutes.

Good first match to be at.

Naw. We won the toss, first half was uphill, then in the second Willie Hamilton decided to out-Puskas Puskas and we won nicely.

(Rumour hath it that Willie was sober that night - he was surely firing on all cylinders, which anyone who saw him play will agree was a totally awesome sight to behold http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif. Peter Cormack was pretty good as well - Hamilton to Martin out on the left, inside to Peter and a 20-yarder into the net.)

I thought I was about to start following European giants.

I'm sick to my back teeth of seeing teams Hibs beat well in the 1960's and 70's contesting Champions' League quarters and semis while we cannae get out of the Championship.

Oh, and it wasnae 1965, It was 64, and I was 14, and I'm now old and I think I'm going down with the mad cow ....

23-04-2015, 03:53 PM
I can't remember yesterday but I do remember my first game being against Middlesboro in a pre season friendly around about 1971... Nobby Stiles was playing for Boro and Joe Baker was wearing white boots, I sat and played with my Esso animal stickers, the centre stand smelt of stale whiskey and cigar smoke. Think we got beat 2-0

Yuillsy
23-04-2015, 03:59 PM
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=2745858

Hibs v St Mirren January 87. I'd just turned 9 and we were in the old main stand as guests of Hibs.
Christmas eve 86 and my Mum went to get myself and my brothers christmas presents only to find the lock up where they were hidden had been broken into and everything had been stolen.
The story made the newspapers and our pictures were in the Evening News and Daily Record.
Me and my brother were wearing Hibs strips in the picture. A player read the story and pointed it out the Chairman Kenny Waugh.
We were invited to ER for a full guided tour, met all the players and they also tried to replace as many of the missing presents as possible.
My parents were devastated that Christmas eve but the generosity of Hibs in the following week more than made up for it in my eyes.
We keep hearing the phrase Hibs class but that truly was!!!

Newcastlehibby
23-04-2015, 04:12 PM
Mid 60s. Can't remember who against. John McNamee was centre half and my abiding memory of the game was the crowd chanting 'Big John, Big John' when we got a corner. My first programme is dated 3rd Dcember 1966 and was against Stirling Albion. The team was Allan, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, McNamee, Cousin, Scott, O'Rourke, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson. We won 6-0!!! We had already put 7 past Partick Thistle and beaten Dunfermline 6-5.

23-04-2015, 04:26 PM
1967 at ER against Dundee which we won 2 - 1 with goals from Stanton and Stevenson. Remember being thrilled with the atmosphere and occasion, and being very impressed with Thomson Allan our goalie.

23-04-2015, 04:30 PM
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=2745858

Hibs v St Mirren January 87. I'd just turned 9 and we were in the old main stand as guests of Hibs.
Christmas eve 86 and my Mum went to get myself and my brothers christmas presents only to find the lock up where they were hidden had been broken into and everything had been stolen.
The story made the newspapers and our pictures were in the Evening News and Daily Record.
Me and my brother were wearing Hibs strips in the picture. A player read the story and pointed it out the Chairman Kenny Waugh.
We were invited to ER for a full guided tour, met all the players and they also tried to replace as many of the missing presents as possible.
My parents were devastated that Christmas eve but the generosity of Hibs in the following week more than made up for it in my eyes.
We keep hearing the phrase Hibs class but that truly was!!!

That's a terrific story. Hibs class indeed.

Ronster117
23-04-2015, 04:40 PM
My first ever Hibs game was 15th march 1975.... my dad took me to see the Hibs...we won 5-1 best day out ever.:flag:

23-04-2015, 06:07 PM
Off the top o ma wee heid, I know it was 26thSept 1976 against St Johnstone, and I know we scored 9, but I'm no sure if they got 2 or 4.
I do know I thought it would be like that every week...aw well!

23-04-2015, 06:12 PM
Sept 68

3-2 v Falkirk. Cormack 2 Stein 1.

I even have the programme!

i was at that game we were 2-1 down with a minute to go and scored twice in the last minute ( mind no extra time added on in these days)

23-04-2015, 06:30 PM
Hibs v either Clyde or Thirds in 1948 with my grandad then 1953 against Motherwell at New Year.We scored 7 with Lawrie getting 3.This was the first time my mother let me go because of the size of the crowds.

23-04-2015, 08:02 PM
Despite growing up a Hibs fan, my first game wasn't until after I'd left uni which would make it autumn 1990. Think it was against Aberdeen as I had a friend who followed them.

23-04-2015, 08:07 PM
Skol cup final 1991. Glory fan me ha.

23-04-2015, 08:09 PM
First game was in Oct 1962 - Hibs v Dundee at ER - 2-2 draw.

I didn't realise it at the time (I was only 4 after all) but the great Gordon Smith was with Dundee at that time. What I've never found out is was he playing that day. Might explain why my dad took me that day. My dad saw the FF in their heyday and often waxed lyrical about Smith and Reilly in particular.

Anybody know how I could find out if the great man played that day? I've tried searching the fitbastats.com website but the historic records for Dundee FC are not as comprehensive as those for Hibs.

Any ideas where I could look further for the answer guys?

weedgiehibbie
23-04-2015, 08:30 PM
At home to Partick Thistle in a 2-0 win in the Scottish Cup 3rd round January 92 :greengrin

Oh and couldn't believe it when the sportscene highlight popped up on youtube a while back - big thanks to this HFC1974 :agree:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkjK4sf04wc&index=5&list=PL711656B41C1EB9EC

23-04-2015, 08:39 PM
26th of December 1987. 0-0 vs St Mirren. Iain Fergusons bleached hair, and the sway of the east terrace as viewed from the shed (or whatever it was called) are all I can remember. Mesmerised from day 1.

23-04-2015, 08:48 PM
1972 against Ayr loads of goals and a cup getting paraded, I thought that happened every week!

InterviewLoI
23-04-2015, 08:59 PM
March 2012 lost 0-2 at home to Dundee Utd. Fenlon had just come in and O'Connor and Griffiths started just after the reports of a fight in EM during the week. Fell in love with ER that day

23-04-2015, 09:10 PM
Hibs v Motherwell 31st January 2009, game finished 1-1. Deeko scored for us, can't really remember the game however but I fell in love with the club and although we are ****, Im glad to be a Hibee

23-04-2015, 09:58 PM

I didn't realise it at the time (I was only 4 after all) but the great Gordon Smith was with Dundee at that time. What I've never found out is was he playing that day. Might explain why my dad took me that day. My dad saw the FF in their heyday and often waxed lyrical about Smith and Reilly in particular.

Anybody know how I could find out if the great man played that day? I've tried searching the fitbastats.com website but the historic records for Dundee FC are not as comprehensive as those for Hibs.

The Cuban missile crisis. It could easily have been your only game!

hibbybrian
23-04-2015, 10:10 PM

Gordon Smith played in that game

23-04-2015, 10:24 PM
December 1940 My uncle an ex Hibs goalkeeper took me along
V Rangers Jock Cuthbertson scored the winning goal
I was 8 years old and don't remeber much about it other than Jimmy Kerr gave me an old jersey as a keepsake !!

23-04-2015, 10:26 PM
I was 8 years old and don't remeber much about it other than Jimmy Kerr gave me an old jersey as a keepsake !!

Respect is due, sir. That's impressive!

Ottawa Hibs
23-04-2015, 10:46 PM
I'm going to say 74, and I know I should know better. It was Jimmy O'Rourke's first game back at Easter Road. We should have won, but he scored (I think) in a 1-0 St. Johnstone win. Biggest memories, other than the awe of seeing the turf for the first time, was wondering why there was no commentary (lol), the smell of smoke and pies and booze all mixed together, and feeling the whole of the North Stand shake as everyone stamped their feet and shouted "Hibees". But i was in love for life, and the score certainly set the tone for the last 40 years :) ....

JoeT
24-04-2015, 08:03 AM
In the old cow shed, aged 10 for Hibs 4 Chelsea 1 – August 5th 1986.
Willie Irvine hat-trick and Kano getting the 4th, Joe McLaughlin got the Chelsea consolation and ended up with us a few years later.
Durie played and had not long been sold to Chelsea. Think I remember David Speedie getting some abuse.

Four days later we beat Rangers 2-1 when Souness was sent off on his debut but I wasn't allowed to go to that one…..

24-04-2015, 09:09 AM
Respect is due, sir. That's impressive!

Thank you for your kind remarks
I played a little pro football and actually got to play " down the slope" at ER against what was that day " The Famous Four" - Johnston was injured .
Has been the roller coaster of all roller coaster rides even more so than doing ones thing at Blackpool :greengrin

P.S . Hoped this was to be the " Cup" year - not to be sadly !!
At 83 am running out of time :wink::rolleyes:

DaveSo
24-04-2015, 11:02 AM
Centenary Match against Derby County which I have just found out was on 4 August 1975 so thats close to 40 years ago now (gulp).
Derby were English Champions so a top side in their day.
All I can remember was it was a very sunny midweek game, stood right down the front of the huge East terracing right on the half way line with my dad a few steps further up.
Oh and the score, 1-0 to Derby. Didn't seem to matter to many though on that glorious evening.

24-04-2015, 11:10 AM
pre-season friendly against Newcastle. 1967?

I would have been 9 years old.

stood at the very top of the old main terracing and was amazed at the size of the place and the number of people.

game finished 0-0 I think, but I was hooked!

AndyM_1875
24-04-2015, 01:17 PM
1978 East Of Scotland Shield Final vs Hertz at Easter Road.

The jams were in the first division and we won 1-0. I recall a guy walking up and down the Terrace selling Chewits sweeties and chocolate. Oh and the crowd was mixed as there were fans on the huge bowl terrace wearing Hearts colours too. A Hearts player was sent off for an atrocious foul and some Jambo behind us shouted "Come on the Ten men" and then Hibs scored and that was pretty much it.

Oh and the carry outs on the Terrace, there were beer cans everywhere.

24-04-2015, 02:21 PM
Hibernian 4 Motherwell 2 (I think, may have been 4-1).

I was 5 so either at the end of the 94/95 season or the first half of the 96/97 season.

24-04-2015, 02:39 PM
Not 100% sure but I think it was vs Livi in 2005. We either won 3-0 or lost 3-0. I can honestly barely remember. :greengrin

24-04-2015, 02:47 PM
Not 100% sure but I think it was vs Livi in 2005. We either won 3-0 or lost 3-0. I can honestly barely remember. :greengrin

We won 3-0 of course.

McIntosh
24-04-2015, 02:57 PM
I was 8 years old and don't remeber much about it other than Jimmy Kerr gave me an old jersey as a keepsake !!:not worth:not worth:not worth

24-04-2015, 03:06 PM
Hibs v Dunfermline 1961

24-04-2015, 03:12 PM
Versus Celtic in February 74. Lost 2-4 but as a 5 year old I was absolutely head over heels in love with those beautiful green jerseys. So much classier than those hooped things that always looked to me like they had been washed too often

The_Sauz
24-04-2015, 04:58 PM
First ever game I went to, was in 1964 Hearts 0 V Hibs 1

btw, I had no Idea who was playing, but just wanted the team in green to win, as I loved the colour :agree:

Black Kyle
24-04-2015, 05:17 PM
v Malmo, pre-season friendly around 1970, 0-0.

24-04-2015, 05:26 PM
Up in aberdeen, we drew 0-0 possibly 1994

24-04-2015, 05:31 PM
Dundee, '79, won 5-2. Spent as much time going up and down the East Terracing as watching the game.

Norrieg
24-04-2015, 05:34 PM
My first real memory was at 8 years old (1958) and the late great Joe Baker scoring a hat trick against, I think, Aberdeen. I'd been going to see the Hibs since 5 years old, don't remember much about the games but loved the atmosphere, smell of fags, shouting, getting lifted over the turnstyles, sitting up in the old wooden stand watching the old boys pass their hip flasks along to each other. Great memories. I'll have to go and have a wee lie down now!!

24-04-2015, 05:51 PM
v Malmo, pre-season friendly around 1970, 0-0.
I'm sure that was marginally better than my son's first game at ER against the same opposition a good few years later...

24-04-2015, 05:53 PM
We won 3-0 of course.

Hope so. Although I'm sure we did get pumped 3-0 at ER by them aswell?

24-04-2015, 06:56 PM
Hope so. Although I'm sure we did get pumped 3-0 at ER by them aswell?

Had to have a wee look and you are correct. They beat us 3-0 at ER in April 2005 and we got revenge by beating them at ER by the same score line a few months later.

24-04-2015, 08:26 PM
Hibs v Partick 1969.

24-04-2015, 08:56 PM
Against Airdrie at ER in 1968/9.

1959 Hibby
24-04-2015, 10:10 PM
My first was at the pink bus shelter (although it wasn't pink then!) Hearts 0 Hibs 2 September 1971 - what a goal by Alex Cropley!:lolyam:

AK86
24-04-2015, 11:30 PM
V Morton at ER. 1975. 0-0 half time , Hibs won 5-0 I was hooked at half time
i love hibs. I hate what we accept as acceptable now.

Islington Hibs
25-04-2015, 07:21 AM
v Aberdeen 0-0 Ally MacLeod missed a sitter. Would probably have been circa 1977. Stood at top of old massive terrace.

25-04-2015, 08:49 AM
Hibs v Partick 3-0 win in Scottish Cup 1977

25-04-2015, 08:56 AM
2nd August 1974

Hibernian v NEC Nijmegen

5 - 0 to Hibs. Joe Harper got all 5 goals.

JimG
25-04-2015, 05:14 PM
1970 0-0 v the Yams, so long ago I don't remember much but maybe that was due to the score - was only 9 at the time

26-04-2015, 02:50 PM
1970 0-0 v the Yams, so long ago I don't remember much but maybe that was due to the score - was only 9 at the time

New Year game. Peter Marinello had just been sold and a frustrated Peter Cormack was sent off for retaliation against Peter Oliver.

Bobo
26-04-2015, 03:47 PM
1967 2-0 v Dunfermline at Easter Road.

Don't remember much about the game but can remember getting a lift-over with my elder sisters and being in awe with the size of the ground, the noise and my first sight of those beautiful green & white jerseys.

26-04-2015, 03:50 PM
1967 2-0 v Dunfermline at Easter Road.

Don't remember much about the game but can remember getting a lift-over with my elder sisters and being in awe with the size of the ground, the noise and my first sight of those beautiful green & white jerseys.

sure this was the game were peter cormack scored from half way line and roy barry scored og

portycabbage
26-04-2015, 03:56 PM
My first game was Dundee Utd at home 1996, 1-1 with Harper scoring. Bit of a late starter as I'm 38 now! My son's first game was yesterday (first competitive game for my older daughter too, after Sunderland 0-0 preseason game a few seasons back).

26-04-2015, 04:23 PM
Pretty sure it was Hibs 2 - 0 Aberdeen at Easter Rd on 17th Dec 1977. Once bitten forever smitten :flag::flag::flag::agree:

Bobo
26-04-2015, 04:41 PM
sure this was the game were peter cormack scored from half way line and roy barry scored og

To be honest I really couldn't say, was just a nipper and sat on the wall at the bottom of the terracing facing the crowd as much as the pitch 😀

P.s. Just looked the game up and you're right 👍🏻

26-04-2015, 05:23 PM
Gordon Smith played in that game

Thanks hibbybrian.

I can now say I saw the wing maestro play albeit not in green and white. My dad never made a big thing about it at the time and certainly never mentioned it later. My memory of that day as you've guessed is patchy to say the least but surprisingly I do recall the bald guy who played centre forward for Dundee (Alan Gilzean) and also the blonde headed centre half (Ian Ure). Both of them Scottish legends and definitely folically challenged in completely different ways. :wink::greengrin.

Strangely, none of the Hibs players from that day stuck in my mind, but it still hasn't stopped what has become a 52 year obsession with the Hibees. GGTTH.

26-04-2015, 05:43 PM
To be honest I really couldn't say, was just a nipper and sat on the wall at the bottom of the terracing facing the crowd as much as the pitch 

P.s. Just looked the game up and you're right 

I was also in the east that day and had a great view of the goal.

26-04-2015, 06:09 PM
New Year game. Peter Marinello had just been sold and a frustrated Peter Cormack was sent off for retaliation against Peter Oliver.

And then the game just petered out.

26-04-2015, 06:31 PM

Another game I was at. IIRC it was snowing that day and I was with a mate and his dad.

26-04-2015, 06:34 PM
Late 60s 69 probably being taken
Up the stairs of the old east stand when they opened the gates 15 minutes before the end, my grandparents lived in Albion Road

26-04-2015, 07:30 PM
Is this just a test to find the old buggers on here 😂😂😂😉

1978, Hibs v DundeeUtd, ended 1-1
Foĺlowing game saw Hibs beat hearts 2-1 in the cup, amazing

26-04-2015, 07:40 PM
Can't remember my 1st Hibs game, and neither can my dad, but sometime in the 1970's. Remember playing at Ayr, fans switched ends at half time.
Can remember both my daughters 1st Hibs games, oldest one was Scottish cup semi against Celtic at Ibrox in 1995, and youngest one was against Dundee Utd at ER in December 1996

26-04-2015, 07:44 PM
My first game at ER was a cup replay I think between Aberdeen and Clyde I think around 1952 and all I really remember was getting to sit on the police horse underneath the old stand . My other early memories are of Gordon Smith heading the ball over a defenders head then keeping it up on his head as he ran then volleying it into the middle for Reilly to score and then Reilly being played on the wing to allow Joe Baker to play at centre.

26-04-2015, 07:50 PM
Is this just a test to find the old buggers on here 

1978, Hibs v DundeeUtd, ended 1-1
Foĺlowing game saw Hibs beat hearts 2-1 in the cup, amazing

Yes !!!!!
If I was the oldest was hoping to get a free ST for life - Think I would deserve it for the traumas I have been through in 75 years of supporting the Hibees !!
:wink::greengrin:aok:

heidtheba
26-04-2015, 08:02 PM
Mate from uni took me to my first game...

This one - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aik-uZbOfR4

Loved every minute of it (even though we lost...shouldda had an inkling of what was in store for me...). Did learn a few things, most important was that clapping a good opposition goal by Rangers wasn't really part of the ethos!

26-04-2015, 08:13 PM
Came down from findochty to stay with my auntie,our primary school for some reason played in a green strip with white sleeve's,
Saw hibs heehaw some European team 6-0 with Joe Harper scoring all the goals(??)
Got Alec Edwards garter band as I was sitting on the wall next to the dugout,he got totally clattered ,got up,took off his shinpad,looked at the guy.

Me and another wee guy(we were both about 7)looked at the garter and went"that's mine"

Anyhoos I really must ask my uncle where it is :-)

Septimus
27-04-2015, 09:31 AM
My first game is lost in the mists of time but I was taken to a Hibs Hearts match by a childless Jambo who lived on the same landing in Brunton Terrace. The master plan was that I should become a Jambo but I came away a dedicated Hibby after applying a little intelligence to what I had seen. I must have been about five.

27-04-2015, 03:27 PM
Think mine was a friendly v Newcastle around 1968 at ER. Colin Stein quickly became a favourite player only to make the well traveled path westward soon after. Think the game was a goalless draw.

PeeKay
27-04-2015, 03:36 PM
League Cup game vs Motherwell, 15th August 1959. Hibs lost 1-3 but I was hooked, and it's been a rollercoaster ever since.

pennyhibee
27-04-2015, 07:14 PM
My first game was a 2-1 win over Morton in 1962 or 63 I think All I can remember is Willie Wilson tipping the ball over the crossbar was really impressed Aye I would give jdships and ancient hibee Free Lifetime STs Real Hibees

Nitten Hibee
27-04-2015, 07:57 PM
First game was Cowdenbeath 1992/93 in the Scottish Cup my auld man took me, Now here I am about to take my 4 year old laddie to his first game this weekend at Falkirk :thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
27-04-2015, 08:21 PM
My first game was against Dundee in the old League Cup group stage.
We lost 2-4 but the overall green-ness of the occasion was so overwhelming.

The match was on August 26, 1967.

heidtheba
27-04-2015, 08:46 PM
I can't work out how to add one of those wee surveys but here's something I've always wanted to ask on here...

1/ Did Hibs win or lose in your first game? (In my case they lost but I still wanted more)

2/ What brought you along - a/family member b/friend c/just fancied it d/marketing or advertising

Would be interesting to see what the reality was in terms of how we attract new fans and supporters.

27-04-2015, 09:25 PM
Came down from findochty to stay with my auntie,our primary school for some reason played in a green strip with white sleeve's,
Saw hibs heehaw some European team 6-0 with Joe Harper scoring all the goals(??)
Got Alec Edwards garter band as I was sitting on the wall next to the dugout,he got totally clattered ,got up,took off his shinpad,looked at the guy.

Me and another wee guy(we were both about 7)looked at the garter and went"that's mine"

Anyhoos I really must ask my uncle where it is :-)

5 - 0 v Nijmegen? (See earlier post)

SuperAllyMcleod
27-04-2015, 09:43 PM
5 - 0 v Nijmegen? (See earlier post)

I've still got the program for that game!

The first game I remember was very early 70s against East Fife - a 1-0 win.

Lee
27-04-2015, 09:59 PM
Hibs v Rangers, Souness debut.

I was 6 and my main memory was asking my dad why everyone in the ground was going mental and why the Hibs players were all on the deck! Learned of Rangers thuggish ways from a young age lol.

First game in the cowshed was vs Aberdeen in 88 or 89 if I recall (think it was Houchen‘s 2nd game for us after debut vs hearts the week before - sure he scored vs Aberdeen that day too!)

Stax
27-04-2015, 10:01 PM
My first game was against the Huns in 75/76, can't remember the score but remember the East terrace size / sunshine & trouble after the game. I have a vivid memory of a mounted policeman being pulled of his horse by a skinhead! I was six at the time, thought it was mental but the strip that day struck me as the most beautiful thing I'd ever seen.

27-04-2015, 10:02 PM
1-1 v Clydebank 1999 when I was about 7. Think Paul Hartley scored that day!

Vaguely remember me being really angry at John Rowbottom for being a terrible referee.

Guess ref standards don't change much :greengrin.